Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel 4 stars

30 High Street, Amersham, HP7 0DJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Amersham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming, friendly staff, spacious accommodation and good breakfast in the heart of Old Amersham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noisy due to a wedding behind the hotel. The gravel on the car park (outside our room) also meant cars leaving late at night were very disturbing. We did have our windows open, though, since it was very hot.

    Spacious room, helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Would have been a more comfortable stay with air-conditioning. UK getting warmer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard double room on first floor of annexe had very bad ventilation on a particularly hot evening. Attic style roof meant the room was unbelievably hot, impossible to sleep, and the noisy fan didn't help. Some form of air-conditioning would have been nice.

    Pleasant staff, and adequate breakfast. Good position in town to walk around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Fortunately only stayed 1 night and not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park completely full and should just be for patrons. Parked in street. Cleanliness of room not up to expectations as cobwebs clearly visible and curtains even though small did not look like had been washed for a long time. Carpets filthy. 1 Lamp not working out of 2 and shade completely wonky. Cushions, foam and lumpy and when requested feathers was informed had only 2 left. Hairs on dressing gown and bed linen. Bathroom floor was tacky and dirty that seemed had quickly had a mop put over. Toilet plunger broken. Suggest you look at photo's as too many issues.

    Staff, perks and breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful old building steeped in history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful old building steeped in history. If you want clean lines and modern, probably not for you. We loved the exposed oak beams and feel of the place. The staff were warm and welcoming and very knowledgeable about the venue and the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, the hotel was lovely and old, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was small and didn’t seem enough staff as had to ask other people who stayed what to do ie coffe/tea, condiments

    The location was great, the hotel was lovely and old, very beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    If we go back I would insist on checking out the rooms first and getting into the main building!?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were stuck in the annex in the carpark so had to keep curtains shut. The room suffered from cheap construction and the noise from upstairs actually made us jump! The vibration of someone simply walking on the upper floor made our mirror and TV shake. We did report this to management, but as we have heard nothing I am writing this review. The curtain had a ripped hole and the lampshade was burnt. The room was perfectly satisfactory but I felt rather "Travel Lodge" - unfortunately we paid double Travellodge prices! Not the intimate 10th Anniversay stay I had in mind.

    The building, the staff and the general ambience were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t that clean and the bathroom unfortunately smelt quite bad like a sewage smell which we noticed all night. We understand it’s an old building so could be why. The bed was too soft for me but everyone’s different. None of this issues would stop us from staying again.

    Perfect location. Village lovely and quaint with cute shops and amazing pubs. The hotel food that we had was really nice. Different take on a ploughman’s and breakfast plentiful. Staff extremely welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast, quite rooms, great staff on-board.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing breakfast, quite rooms, great staff on-board. You get also free wifi which actually works with good speed. As well as free parking. A little bit pricey place, but in that area nothing comes cheap. I recommend them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable apart from the bacon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing. The bacon was ‘wet’ and unappetising so I couldn’t eat it. There could have been more options for those of us who don’t like eggs!

    Lovely room, helpful staff. I left my ring behind and when I rang through the manager immediately searched the room and found it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full due to a wedding so if we were a little later for breakfast we may not have a seat?! but luckily it was fine nd I am sure they would have a plan for if this did happen.

    The breakfast was great and the rooms very comfortable, we had a nice surprise for my boyfriends birthday when we arrived too! I would book the restaurant in advnce as it was saying full so we went to Cote which was amazing. There was an Irish band on at the bar which was excellent atmosphere!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    A friendly and comfortable hotel with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was quite small. We wanted to use it but both nights it was full. Also as there had been a wedding reception on the Saturday night it made our breakfast service on the Sunday quite slow as it was so busy.

    Comfy bed, clean hotel room, excellent helpful staff. The food was lovely & they catered for me as a gluten free vegetarian.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Fine apart from the restaurant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal. Service very slow and meal was average at best. No explanation as to why the meal took so long to prepare. After the main meal we were told there were no desserts left.

    Comfortable rooms and nice bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Nice stay in a classic hotel in beautiful Old Amersham - Steve M
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a classic tudor building and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were polite and the breakfast was excellent. Old Amersham is cool:-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    The lounge area and the meal in restaurant excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred room in older part of hotel but otherwise good value . Breakfast was only average - quality and choice not best. Also on ground floor and could only open window an inch as opening would not allow to open more.

    The lounge area and the meal in restaurant excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Hotel has plenty of character with friendly staff and is generally clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle was in need of some maintenance

    We had been allocated a disabled room with twin beds . We had requested a standard room with double bed. A very friendly receptionist immediately changed us to a different room on request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel full of character and well appointed rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much!

    Excellent Eggs Royale with all breakfast cooked to order. Proper fresh coffee rather than instant in a pot which some places try to get away with! Room was very nicely appointed, a good size and with lovely White Company toiletries and was very quiet. Bar is great and evening meal menu excellent with a good range of Ales

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old building in lovely Old Amersham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of maintenance issues: shower temperature control was jammed, one electric socket didn't work, hairdryer went up in smoke (literally) but was replaced straight away. Headroom issues in second-floor bedroom.

    Lovely old building in lovely Old Amersham. Friendly staff. Good cooking. Spacious room. Separate shower and bath. Comfortable bed. Excellent parking. Very good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Location very good and the breakfast was very nice with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dated in need of a refurbish. We did notice decorators in the building so perhaps the room is due to be done soon.

    Location very good and the breakfast was very nice with polite young staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    We were goingt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Only there for one night and it suited our requirements. Convenient location for London which was our destination for the day we stayed as we did not want to drive into London. Amersham has good rail links to where we needed to be in London.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast. Good for one night stay. Would have asked to move room if staying lo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room was small and cramped. The carpet in the bedroom was very stained. Lighting in the bathroom was very poor.

    Excellent location as right in the heart of Old Amersham. Good parking. Breakfast was excellent. Great choice and quality. Nice touch having a electric fan in the room. Also iron and ironing board. White Company toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    The location is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rooms in the annex needs a bit of a renovation and the shower was small. Some towels and bathroom carpets probably should be thrown away. The evening coffe in the reception was cold. The prking is just outside the Windows, so it a bit noisy.

    The location is good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Old Amersham is a pretty village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area the next morning had not been cleaned properly from a private party the night before, there will old chips and bits of pizza toppings around the window ledge.

    Venue is very pretty. Majority of staff were very friendly except for an older member of staff who was serving breakfast and working the bar, he was unable to crack a smile.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was broken,the window hinge was also broken,so the window could easily be opened from the outside.The extractor in the bathroom didn't work. I didn't really sleep as the noise from guests upstairs was so loud. Finally, I got The Times newspaper when I'd asked for The Guardian.

    The breakfast was delicious. The tall guy at reception was very helpful and understanding when I explained all of the issues.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    nice ambiance , rooms not consistent with old charming exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms did not reflect the fascade or old traditional feel ( our room could have been any cheap normal chain.. Best Western for example)

    Appearance of the hotel very nice and authentic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Grime but friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dirty. Mould in the sower on the grouting; Mould, dirt and calcium build up along shower door and under shower taps and on sink pipes; A hole in the wall in bathroom. A puddle of urine on the floor in front of the toilet; Bathroom bin filthy on outside; Lifted peeling paint around wall next to shower; Hair in bath; Crumbs on bedroom carpet; Dirt on walls of bedroom (food drip above bin); Bottom sheet did not fit bed, it was too small; No mattress protector on bed; Windows were smeared; After requesting the room be cleaned whilst we were out, the bathroom floor had been bleached, the bed sheet had been changed and the carpet had been vacuumed. Unfortunately cleaning gloves were left on the shelf over the toilet and the mould and dirt was still on the shower, bin, wall, pipes and beneath shower taps. We were offered a refund.

    Reception staff and waiters, were polite, happy and professional and reception saw to our complaint immediately.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in had a window that faced the stoney driveway, so that was a little noisy with cars and people walking up and down.

    Great breakfast options. And a good sized room/bed. Really polite staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Lovely old building and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot after a hot day but we were unable to cool it down. There was noise from the patio to the bar beneath the windows until midnight

    Lovely old building and a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Energised Staff, Tired Room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please read below.

    Staff were a delight. Great location. Rooms a good size. Bed was amazing! Vegetarian option offered on the menue, vegitarian sausages were 'not available' Sadly, room was very 'tired'. Walls marked, grout missing, small shower on bath leaked. Carpet was excessively stained and felt uncomfortable underfoot. For the money paid, shabby you do not expect. In fairness, when I mentioned in the morning, they did say sorry, and added, carpet replacement work in the hotel was planned.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Simply outstanding in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    Everyone one from bar staff to taxi drivers were exceptionally friendly - worth staying just for breakfast - NB other hotels this is how it should be done, freshly cooked and flavoursome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money, better places in the area for far less
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the Kings Arms on the basis of previous reviews and expected a good if not very good experience, was not the case and I'm amazed at the reviews posted as it does not sound like the same hotel I stayed at. I was allocated room 302, a duplex according to receptionist. I believe it is a very expensive option if that room is booked in excess of £200 per night, has two bedrooms which are accessed by spiral staircases, not good quite frankly as bathrooms on ground floor. The room looked dated and neglected, carpets were covered in stains, sofa seen better days. Bar very nice but staff inattentive. Wouldn't have minded if they were busy but bar was pretty much empty. Dinner was an experience, lack of service, a chef who though he was cooking on Masterchef. Rump steak served on a wooden platter not designed for that meal, steak pre sliced and just covered in garnish so steak not actually visible. No staff followed up to collect finish plat or asked if I wanted desert. Nor did any staff check if everything OK or if I needed a drink. Was this stay worth £145, emphatically NO. The hotel is soulless and for less money a Travel lodge or similar would be a better bet. I suspect a bit more management input may help, no one appeared to be the manager or in charge in any way. The review has given a 5 really I would give it a 2.

    Breakfast very nice, would have been better if staff had bothered to point out buffet items and toast making

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    A lovely historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV and remote not working well so we had to put up with this but apart from this all fine.

    Lovely staff. Cosy rooms. Great bathroom. Comfy bed. Good food and a lovely stay. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    2.9
    Tired and overpriced. Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Showers were the size of a closet. Tired all over. Needed repainting. Tardy maintenance response. Internet modem needs updating. Not recommended ..... but seems on par for UK hotels.

    Bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very minor fault I can think of is a lack of a fridge in the room, but for such a short stay (1 night), it is hardly a major concern. View from the windows was a little bit limited.

    The room was very comfortable, and the hotel and surroundings are very picturesque. The included breakfast was delicious. Only a short drive from the train/underground station, so ideal for a trip into London.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    3.8
    Thoroughly disappointing, upsetting, misleading and totally unacceptable.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely horrendous. Extremely dirty, dusty, stained, shabby, rusty and damaged. Fittings, furnishings especially the bed all in a very sorry delapadated state. The room rate of £175 was positively extortionate.

    The robes in the room were the only thing that could be classed as Superior Deluxe Standard, which is the class of room I booked and paid for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    BREAKFAST EXCELLENT - STAFF FRIENDLY - ROOM LOVELY -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM ADJACENT TO SMOKING AREA VERY NOISY DURING THE NIGHT AS THERE WAS A WEDDING OTHERWISE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN OK

    BREAKFAST EXCELLENT - STAFF FRIENDLY - ROOM LOVELY - ALTHOUGH BATHROOM NOT 100% CLEAN AND ROOM WAS A LITTLE DUSTY

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable warm and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was tiny and the lack of choice in drinks let it down slightly

    The room was amazing! The bed was super comfy and we had a spa bath in our room which was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.3
    Short stay at the Kings Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very cosy but the seating was all very uncomfortable. Couldn't stay long because of that. Nice comfy chairs needed. Breakfast was very short of staff. Just one waiter who brought the food and disappeared so hard to get another coffee. No one ever asked if the meals were ok. Just a bit "take it or leave it". Having said that, the meals were very good and well cooked. At dinner, very disturbed by wedding planner and young bride and groom planning every detail of their wedding, at the hotel,very loudly with no concern for the peace of other guests (only us at the time.) We did complain when settling the bill and received apologies and something knocked off.

    Meal very good but same menu each night so ate elsewhere second night. Bed very comfortable but would have been better if larger. Bedroom, clean and basic but nice. Had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable, quiet hotel, with ample parking and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything. If there is anything, having had a quick look at the menu it didn't seem that inspired but as we didn't have an evening meal at the hotel I cannot make any further comment.

    Friendly staff, comfy bed, controllable central heating, room had a bath.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    been loads, always excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here a number of times now and enjoyed them all, the beds are great, the showers are lovely, I recommend staying in the older part of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old Amersham!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not 100% clean. My 11 month old discovered toe nail clippings whilst crawling around in our room!! But that was the only gripe I have. The rest was fab.

    Bed very comfortable & breakfasts delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Very good one night stay everyone very helpful. Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piped music too loud but turned down at my request. Also irritatingly repetitive something more classical might suit rather than male vocals

    Excellent steak perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Dont miss out on this 'jem' of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being picky a more modern flat screen tv.

    Very friendly staff, excellent facilities, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The breakfast was also first class.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Safe and comfortable in the Kings Arms.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One receptionist was rather arrogant and humourless.He would possibly be better suited to a security job.Others made up for this.

    The restaurant was good service and quality food.The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Exceelent overnight stop in an authentic old coaching inn, in a very nice old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in roof of new block, not particularly good for me, being 6' 3". Room was however spacious.

    Old coaching inn, very authentic, log fires, good bar with friendly service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    4.6
    Cost a lot for really basic service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I came in to breakfast I was told I should help myself to the buffet, which I did. I then discovered I could have ordered a cooked breakfast, but I already had my breakfast selected. The staff were friendly but not competent. The room needed redecoration ( walls grubby and marked) The carpet was dirty (stained) and had not been vacuumed properly.

    The bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room but Tv needs to be updated,

    I love the location, old country inn, modern bathrooms, On the High street, very friendly &helpful staff, nice breakfast, eggs were perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit noisey but expected given the age of the property. One of the waiters in the hotel restaurant was quite rude but apart from that, our stay here was more than pleasant.

    We booked the suite and it was brilliant. Huge bath and separate shower, plenty of hot water. Lovely high beams and comfy bed, complimentary drinks and toiletries as well. Well-placed for visiting nearby attractions or even for getting into London on the Tube 20 mins walk away. Don't forget to visit The Crown down the road where scenes from Four Weddings and a Funeral were shot inside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Noise undermines satisfactory stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better noise insulation.

    There was loud TV noise from other rooms, sound of occupant pacing up and down, and I was woken by the noise from other room doors slamming shut ...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel situated on a lovely old high street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows didn't really fit and had gaps at the sides (an old building) so it was a bit draughty and we were woken by noise from the car park.

    The staff were very friendly, and the location good. Amersham old town is very pretty. Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.8
    More attention to inexpensive basics needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan in bathroom didn't work. No cable or batteries in radio. Room safe was locked. Poor attention to dining area .. had to clear our used breakfast plates on one occasion to make room. One coffee cup not clean. (Crumbs on chair twice. One very old orange included on fruit option Bar staff appeared untrained (had to explain to staff what a "port and lemon" was. New staff needed better supervision I think.

    Room was very clean. Hotel staff very friendly.open fire reception. Easy close parking. Good heating

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.1
    Room was lovely, bar was inviting, breakfast was excellent.
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals ordered at 6.30 took nearly 3 hours to come because they had a last minute booking from a very large group. They couldn't accommodate us (a dozen residents) in the dining room so we were served in the bar (that's ok, in itself) but it took so long at least two of our group had already gone to bed by the time our supper arrived. As an apology we were given a few nibbles (after 2 hours) and with the meal two bottles of house wine arrived - by which time we'd already more than enough to drink while we were waiting!

    Room was lovely, bar was inviting, breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking in and out, took ages. Also had to pay extra £50 when booking in 'in case' we had extras, didn't so is returned. Doesn't make much sense.

    Good location, nice little high street. Hotel clean, bar area nice. Staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    4.6
    Fine for just an overnight stopover. Ditch the breakfast. Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't clean enough for me and the bathroom needed TLC. The wash basin was ridiculous. The breakfast was poor. No fresh bread and greasy cooked breakfast. The omelette was very strange and the tea dreadfull. The reception staff were scruffy and very casual on check in, but the receptionist on check out was much better.

    The shower was powerful. The location was great for the purpose of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was freshly cooked, bed was comfy, sat by open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather tired and worn - downstairs room in new block so couldn't open window far so stuffy - could hear every movement upstairs so wouldn't recommend these rooms!

    Breakfast was freshly cooked, bed was comfy, sat by open fire in bar in the evening

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice weekend getaway from the bustle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing I didn't like. Met expectations

    Location. A stones throw from London but still far enough to get the country vibe. The Tudor period hotel and street is the star attraction. Very good cooked breakfast and local restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    4.6
    Booked a double but got a large single bed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a deluxe double room for Christmas night. The room we were given had a large single bed only. Being Christmas the hotel was fully booked and we could not change our room. This was unsatisfactory. I think this may have been the smallest room in the hotel. Be warned - it is room number 8. The room was also not totally clean - stains on the wall by the door and needed a vacuum. We were given a 10% discount as compensation but I felt this was not enough.

    The hotel has a great location on Amersham High Street.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic town with a beautiful historic hotel which we will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our radiator hasn't been on so the room was freezing, however was soon remedied by putting us in the room next door which was lovely and cosy.

    The hotel was above my expectations and loved all the little extras in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    A pleasant stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was made every day, but not much else was done by housekeeping. Given our four-night say, some fresh towels and a vacuum of the floor would have been appreciated.

    Our room (in the newer extension) was comfortable and quiet. The staff were kind and helpful. The food was good. The hotel has a lot of character and is in a perfect location for exploring old Amersham.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures in the website are very deceiving, the rooms look lovely and inviting and my wife and I had been looking forward to our stay for some weeks. Unfortunately our room was small, the bathroom v small and a bit dated. The TVs was ancient and the remote had no back so the batteries kept falling out. The iron in the room was filthy (we were brought a new one). The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable and both myself and my wife woke up with back pain. I have stayed in much more luxurious rooms for less than half the price, I feel that at £120 per night I should at least be able to get a good nights sleep. The staff were very good and we have no complaints there, also the breakfast was excellent. This was supposed to be a treat for my wife so not happy with the quality of our stay.

    The staff were very good and we have no complaints there, also the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel in beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived on the Saturday a pile of dirty dishes and empty wine bottles were in the corridor outside our room. When we left on Sunday they were still there.

    Clean rooms. If fairly simple.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.3
    Not great.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not the cleanest. WC very grim. A little jaded all round. Not sure who awarded this place 4 stars but not up to it. I did ask for the loo to be cleaned but they didn't bother.

    Good location. Average breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice place needs staff training
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff didn't explain about the £50 that is put on bill just incase of problems . We wasn't only couple who didn't know ?

    We stayed on our wedding night , we had a nice time

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Fantstic comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full english breakfast cooked beautifully, fresh coffee and tea served to order. A really good choice of cereal, pastries and toast too. The staff were efficient, very helpful and extremely welcoming. The rooms were clean, spacious and very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.7
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the breakfast was being cleared away early because of a private function that morning. Also the menu for the evening meal was very limited as was the beer range in the bar.

    The girl on reception was exceptionally good ,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.1
    very good food and lovely staff but let down by uncomfortable mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was not at all comfortable and the corridors were noisy late at night so did not sleep well.

    The decor was very smart, the food was good and .the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful quiet hotel with lovely log fires.
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small and pillows too hard. Would have liked fresh milk for the tea tray and also a teapot.

    Excellent choice - e.g. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs , eggs Benedict.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything, we couldn't find any faults! A lovely receptionist (sorry, didn't catch her name) surprised us with a complimentary glass of bubbly each to help celebrate our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful stay. Will definitely recommend this lovely hotel to our family and friends. Thank you to all staff for making our break memorable!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Receptionist incredibly welcoming helpful and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Small room in annexe with only small double bed. High street closed to traffic due to fair. Had to find alternative parking.

    Receptionist incredibly welcoming helpful and charming. Beautiful old building. All staff friendly. Nice atmosphere. Good location in heart of old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    4.2
    Poor visit overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked during a street fair which I did receive an email about but did not give a true description of how awful it would be. Should have closed. Room was ok a little grubby. Party at 2am in room 8 was left to wake everyone up with people running around the hotel with one being sick in the corridor. Girl on the reception desk was dismissive on arrival and not welcoming. Would not pay this amount to stay in this second rate hotel.

    The fish and chips were good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Only there overnight but very pleasant with a good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a walk outside from the bar and breakfast room. Ok on a dry day not good on a wet day

    Only there overnight but very pleasant with a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Close to shops and very accommodating staff with transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking spaces for all people staying Also although a positive in the end 210 room was very loud but the staff as soon as they were advised of noise after midnight they dealt with them straight away

    Close to shops and very accommodating staff with transport

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Ideal for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was disappointing, perhaps due to the volume of guests (there was also a wedding party staying overnight). There seemed to be a lack of attention to detail in the dining room - tables not properly laid up/empty condiments.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable with a contemporary bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, efficient staff, perfect surroundings for a relaxing break and gorgeous food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the shower head that needed changing.

    Excellent, freshly made and locally sourced breakfast. The bacon is recommended! Everyone was super friendly and helpful and wow! What gorgeous surroundings!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommended old world hotel with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were problems with the television in both rooms that we used (we changed rooms because of problems with first).

    The service, the food, the location, the comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing break away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No case on the additional pillow Only one packet of biscuits between 2 people (no choice) Nb. These are only nit picking points which did not really detract from our enjoyment

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff - especially Janhajan(?) the receptionist on our arrival who went above and beyond the call of duty to re-locate our booking after defective TV in original room. Excellent breakfast choices

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: