Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Head Inn 4 stars

The Green, Bledington, OX7 6XQ, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Bledington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Best of both worlds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This visit there was a very noisy family next door. It’s sad when this happens but, aside from beating on the wall, what can you do?

    We stay at the Kings Head every time we visit the Cotswolds. It’s an ancient building so if you get a room above the pub- Watch your head! There is a newer annex that is very charming and modern but we prefer the character of the original building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful stay in Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently some issues with booking.com payments reaching hotel. Although inn will do all they can to accommodate guests woh have run into this issue. Inn has beautiful website. Highly recommend booking directly through there.

    Absolutely lovely historic inn immaculately maintained and beautifully decorated. English cottage style room over pub with thoroughly contemporary bathroom fixtures. We ate all of our meals in the garden area patio, although charming pub inside.Creative menu and drinks, very well prepared and served by friendly and well trained staff. Manges to maintain historic character, while catering tomodern idea of comforts Easy to get to via Kingham train station 1 mile away. A very pretty and easy .walk one morning, or hopped on a convenient bus that stopped outside of inn another Beautiful quiet Cotswold village without the hub bub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Tradional pub with rooms in a beautiful village
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second time staying here in a few weeks which tells you everything you need to know, wonderful pub in the middle of a picturesque village that serves great food that has comfortable, clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely cottage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is a bit small so if arrival right after lunch, hard to find parking space, the cottage isnt very sound proof so i could hear people in the restaurant quite loudly from my bedroom, but that did stop after 11pm which was nice.

    the breakfast is excellent, and the cottage very country charm. I liked the "walks map" available at reception which are great to get out and about! The area is stunning and the food at the restaurant was excellent too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely bed. probably best we have ever had. New shower room looked great but was missing some basic essentials - shower tray was very slippery , no where for the soap, & instead of a toilet roll holder, a hygiene bag dispenser!! The toilet roll was behind the loo & difficult to reach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay and eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tired looking and needs a refurb but still adequate. I think the owners should look at the facility to have shower units rather than bath with shower attachment but I understand the problems with making the decision to go shower only ie you can't please everybody.

    Nice homely feel. Quirky and quaint. The staff are friendly and efficient. The food is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    Sadly the most dissapointing stay at this establishment, would never book room above pub again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing and the radiator didn't work- I had to ask for extra heaters. The room had no view what so ever and was poorly decorated. It was also very very noisy as straight above the bar. The room was very basic and a real disappointment, I would've left if I had somewhere else to go.

    The pub is very cosy and serves delicious food, it is in a picture perfect location and is very quaint.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    An excellent overnight stay meeting old friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    Delightful country pub, with decent real ale and good food. Most pleasant room in the courtyard with comfortable bed. Hearty breakfast was much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, cosy, warm would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not access the internet with the code given on the back of bedroom door

    The beds are amazing so comfortable with lovely fluffy pillows, lots of toiletries and little thoughtful extras like cotton wool etc. Generous supply of Tea & Coffee and lovely chocolate biscuits. Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast lovely atmospheric warm bar area, very cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Great atmosphere, good to return to. Lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great if there was a shower to stand under rather than the bath rinse arrangement. Laundry facilities would be good too especially considering the number of hikers/ramblers who stay . There are no options for that in the town.

    The pub atmosphere, the breakfast selections, management, historic period features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Overaul we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the bedroom we had did not have a proper shower it was a hand held shower from mixer taps over the bath without a shower curtain.

    Breakfast was very nice plenty of choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    A Real Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faint smell of damp in the bathroom, but I guess that's to be expected from a 16th century building.

    Staff were great. Food was great. Rooms were lovely and decorated well. Lovely to stay in a 16th century building, loved all the nooks and crannies, low beams etc all added to the experience. Lovely area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    We stayed for one night. The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    winter duvets on the bed during summer and no top sheet

    A nice establishment - ceilings very low if you are tall - the bed was comfortable but the room was hot especially with a winter duvet and not top sheet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming and Stylish Historic Pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the bar so after a long day sightseeing it was difficult to fall asleep before 12 - 1300 either with the jovial patrons or the chatty cleaning staff!!! But we understand this is a Historic Pub but maybe a little bit of acoustic work is needed in the bar ceiling! The town has no alternative shop, cafe or restaurant so dining somewhere else is a 10-15 minute drive but the hotels food was very enjoyable if a little limited ! 😀

    Beautiful location on the edge of the Cotswolds- the old section of the property has been renovated over the years and although our room was small it was adequate and quaint. Lovely detail in the bedrooms and welcoming lotions in the bathroom. Pub rooms upstairs via a narrow staircase and low ceiling but there are back stairs from outside that proved easier. Additional accommodation off the attractive planted courtyard. We had bedroom 2 in the old pub and it was certainly quaint but the smallest we were told in the Hotel. Breakfast was impressive with cold and hot alternatives with welcoming display. Staff friendly and local - rooms immaculate! Upstairs a communal lounge in country tones was provided for guests, a lovely touch with its prints and artifacts. Wonderful walking tracks in the area which we were unable to fully use but started a few

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    A really nice venue with superb beer garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steak was OK but I was expecting better due to my expectations from the rest of the food which was very good. There was an incinerator at the rear of the premises where our room was located and sometimes the smell blew in through the open windows.

    Comfy bed. Nice bar area. Nice breakfast room. Nice real ales.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, conveniently located and also close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only downside is the shower, not very strong flow.

    Beautiful setting, conveniently located and also close to main train station. Lovely pub and nice pub food. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel With Great Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in very hot room. Hand held shower with v v poor water pressure. Breakfast service starting at 8.00 is no good for workers.

    Exceptional staff, location, service and ambience. Beautiful hotel homely feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant Stay in a Quiet Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent foods. Kind attentions. Very Good house back parking. 8km to Stow-on-the-Wold, 10km to Chipping Norton, 12km to Burford. Don’t miss St Leonardo Abbot, Bledington, beautifully decorated by flowers, equipped with hand-made kneeling cushions of pretty embroidery (See the photos).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice place to stay for a step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly, when being taken to our room please do not state 'this is the smallest room in the hotel'. It made us feel like we were receiving second best! The room was so small and it was made the focus of our visit. I think the decor needs updating - a dusty cloth canopy over the bed did not really add charm, it made a small room seem crowded and claustrophobic.

    The courtyard and hotel setting was lovely. The bathrooms were clean, and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was nice with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Highly reccommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The same thing that we do not find in any of the pubs where we have stayed: No music at all! That is a pity because we think that if there would be some music people would stay more time after dinner. We like to have some drink after dinner but surprisingly, at 10 pm there was nobody there! and we were dissapointed by that, after dinner everybody go out and there is no way of having some little and quiet fun.

    We have liked everything! The room was very nice, well illuminated, and very confortable. The toilet very well too and everything was very clean. Breakfast super! We have had dinner every night in their pub and food was very good and very well served. We shall repeat. The owners and staff were very helpful and nice with us. The surroundings were very agreable and we could go for a stroll after dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    A good country pub to stay in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed only queen size and room too warm. Above pub noise but did not bother us at night.

    Nice old country pub with a lot of character. Close to lots of Cotswold towns

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Can't go go wrong with this place, superb stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday night food service wasn't as good as it could have been. However the excellent food made up for this completely.

    Great location, lovely outside beer garden and excellent food. Great country walks from the pub. Perfect for a short stay in the beautiful Cotswolds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was upgraded as standard doubles only have handheld showers. Tired and dated bathroom in upgraded room with mould on grouting and bathroom so small it was difficult to avoid burning oneself on hot towel warmer. Extremely loud plumbing noises in pipes when bathroom was used several times during night in adjacent room, so had very little sleep. Don't think restaurant worthy of two rosettes based on meals we had.

    Setting is idyllic. It was nice to have coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    A Night in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cotswolds are a an expensive area by comparison with other very attractive parts of the UK and Europe. This pub was at the lower end of the Cotswolds price range and provided good quality throughout. By Cotswolds standards it was good value for money but I had the feeling that, by comparison with other areas, I was paying too much.

    Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The staff were amazing! Could not fault them in the slightest. The B and B was welcoming, Cosy and professional! I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Accommodation lovely, food bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast ok, poached eggs cooked with way too much vinegar which there was a lot on my plate also the eggs were undercooked . Overall I was not impressed. My partner had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and that was very badly presented as the salmon was just put on the side with no finess. The salmon when served with scrambled eggs should be finely cut and mixed into the scrambled eggs not served in a lump on the side. No instructions on how long toast takes to cook yourself so 2 people burnt it and everyone smelt of burnt toast, just not good enough in this day and age. I know this is not breakfast but the evening meal was dreadful!!!! I had risotto with asparagus and blue cheese as they had run out of the goats cheese which was not a problem. The rice was undercooked, it was luke warm, and I'm being kind saying that. There were only 3 small pieces of asparagus which was very woody snd not edible and to add to the disappointment the food was served on a cold plate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay, breakfast and dinner menu needs some tweaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you have to turn both your dorky and/or handle the fact of you using both hands to hold the lock and door latch back to push the door open, the door is on spring hinges and will shut behind you if you don't have your key The breakfast is not bad but they need more choices and my food could've been warmer. I had the Hake for supper. Unfortunately it was for lead very poorly and when I got was 90% bone. I'll consider it an off night for the kitchen.... however the fish was hard to eat what little I did get and the bones were definitely a hazard I picked them out of my teeth for 20 minutes..... if I were them I would find a heartier thicker fish to fry that fish was certainly not worth even bothering to eat all bones and scale

    Very comfortable stay, very clean, staff were very engaging and a lot of fun. The location was great the pope is cozy and warm. They provide you with just about everything you need

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Excellent location and very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food whilst excellent was a little limited but was overall good for what you paid

    Location and facilities are very good. Staff were friendly and upgraded our rooms as they had better ones free at the tie of our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Cotswold winter getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small. No rugs either side of bed - on a flagstone floor in winter! Small TV & needs to be in centre of wall.

    Very comfy bed. Excellent decor. Excellent restaurant/food/service. Attractive garden.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had originally booked a king size room with booking.com but were told later it had gone and did we still want to go and have a double room. The double room was very disappointing but the king size room was available for the first night so I asked to be moved. The staff then persuaded the manager to let us have that room for the second night. My meal on the first night (crab Thermidor) was cold and sent back, asked for a steak and they had run out. By this time my husband had finished his meal. We were given half a carafe of wine to compensate. That said we had a lovely time and the meal on the second night was first class.

    The breakfasts were good and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't able to connect to the internet, although in saying that I didn't pursue it with the staff as it wasn't that much of an issue due to our short stay. Ab fab in every other way!

    Bed and bedding extra cosy, and loved the sympathetic decor touches.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Head Room and access to rooms very difficult especially for older or tall/average height persons. Couldn't stand in bath to shower due to beams, only hand held shower Food was good but very limited selection and overpriced, as was drinks.

    Nice village location with a green for children to play. Very nice courtyard at rear with comfortable seating, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    7.1
    Booked a 'comfort' double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a 'comfort' double room. Was very disappointed. Room did not reflect the photos. Room very 'tired'!! For what it cost I Wish i'd spent another £50 and stayed nearby. Such a shame as really is lovely old pub. Cannot fault the food... the evening meal was absolutely delicious but wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little tired. And there wasn't a stand in shower, just a nozzle over the bath. The room was pretty pokey and I didn't feel it was good value for money in that sense.

    The breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    simply beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the stairs were a bit dark could do with a little light

    every thing the bedding was brilliant white and crisp best I have seen for a long time food excellent delicious breakfast well worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Cosy rustic style and cleanliness as well as efficiency of...
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was boiling hot and made it very difficult to sleep and the water which came out of the shower was a trickle.

    Cosy rustic style and cleanliness as well as efficiency of staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Lovely pub, very good food, relaxing stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have cake or scones with afternoon tea.

    The location of the hotel was good. Lovely room, very clean and fresh. Lovely touches - bespoke bathroom products. Food good too. Staff fantastic. Very helpful. Definitely recommend +would visit again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. We should have stayed longer.

    We had an excellent stay. Our room had everything we needed and the staff were a pleasure. Breakfast was perfect, we will stay again if we are in this area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Big bedroom, comfy bed, total blackout at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bumping my head on low beams er... I know it is 16 century.)

    Big bedroom, comfy bed, total blackout at night. Quiet. Excellent evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet village ,, no other shops or pubs , quaint old pub with low ceilings and beams . Pleasant staff , good food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable room and bed. Restaurant and breakfast food and service very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    More than met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been bigger

    Architecture & Garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, and the food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I forgot to enquiry about walk in shower in room, so if we book again I will remember to ask if that is possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices on the menu

    The food though pricey was very tasty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely friendly pub with very friendly staff and excellent food, in a very pretty part of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chest of drawers in the bedroom would be useful.

    The breakfast was delicious and my husband loved the kippers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Would love to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being warned about a low beam when following a staff member upstairs - banged on the head!

    Attention to detail - particularly at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well looked after

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout and a mug that was dirty.

    Comfortable bed! Nice cosy pub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Good food and cosy bedroom with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in the morning

    quirky with friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay. Beautiful old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great accomodation. Excellent food. Loved our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Really efficient service at dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really efficient service at dinner. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dark and need a bit of updating

    Good food, friendly staff, lovely cosy old pub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    I would definately return on a liesure break.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and facilities were very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    I will go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best staff, great bar and atmosphere and perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy, dirty cups, bathroom needed attention and there were lots of cobwebs. The toilet was leaking. There was no parking.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low ceilings!

    Ambience Food Very good selection of drinks Quality surroundings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    The inn is a lovely 16th century building. It is in a great setting and has a lovely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Bed was extra large and really comfy. Lovely bedroom with great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful patio area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower. Some of the furnishings shabby rather than shabby chic

    Beautiful patio area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    A delightful hotel in country with a great restaurant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs

    Very old but Charming, lovely garden outsidr

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, nice ambience however actual rooms need an update especially the dated bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordinary bathroom, no shower furniture looking a bit knocked around. Needs an update

    Nice breakfast, lovely staff & real old English pub feel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Cosy little inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to walk around.

    Nice stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff & excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was poor

    Helpful staff & excellent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Traditional room - great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy SuperKing or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything excellent.

    Traditional room - great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful English elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish but simple decor in keeping with this wonderful old English Inn.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Great stop over for Cotswold hikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms from nearby rooms can be noisy at times.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Would certainly revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy King size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shower, but happy to bathe instead.

    Local products used for all meals. If makes it a little pricey but all beautifully cooked and presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Quirky, lots of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, noisy, hand held shower, upholstery needs a good clean

    Quirky, lots of charm Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful pub in stunning surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentleman that served the breakfasts and booked us out needs to smile more.

    Lovely owners made to feel very welcome and given a free upgrade to boot 😁

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Good quality,good value in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful. Food was good. Rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Excellent break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soooo comfy bed,friendly staff and good atmosphere in the bar and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at the King's Head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy Superking or Twin Room with Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything. Landlord and all staff were exceptionally helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Clean and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean . spacious and comfortable, well done!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Night away for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Very Comfy King Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little dated, but functional.

    Very comfy bed, good shower pleasant staff, excellent food. open fire, warm bedroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: