Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Head Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

Market Place, Masham, HG4 4EF, United Kingdom

#10 of 13 hotels in Masham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 994 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our stay the food was amazing staff where friendly and in the woman’s toilets there where tampons for free sanatory towels and even cotton buds deodorant and hand cream which I thought was a lovely touch great on a whole thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic setting, great staff, friendly atmosphere - already looking to book our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its probably about time some of the accommodation had a face lift.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - consistently willing to go the extra mile (e.g. a mid stay room change due to one of our party having an unexpected accessibility problem). The food was very good (with a special mention for the outstanding beef and red wine pie).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Most chilled out stay I have had anywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent position in the quaint Market Square ideal base for walking to any of the local attractions ! Friendly and helpful staff, would definately return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Great staff, great area, very tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room allocated was terrible, the 2nd was far better but not that clean..the shower/bath was terrible the shower valve was faulty and the shower screen leak onto the floor causing a flood! The fan was incredibly dirty and not effective. The cooked breakfast was small and poorly cooked.

    The staff. The area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    What a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were lovely, and the food was excellent. Loved the location, my boyfriend and I drove a short way and found some brilliant places to walk. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for special requests as I was visiting for my birthday. The staff went above and beyond and were all so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Location in centre of Masham is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room as it’s name the hayloft implies had low beams which may discomfort tall people

    Location in centre of Masham is superb. Our room in the courtyard at the rear was good with direct access to the market square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking forward to the evening meal but were informed that the chef had walked out that day. However we were recommended to eat at The Bay Horse 5 mins walk away and this was very good. Liked the professional way in which the staff dealt with the issue

    Hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Masham with parking directly in front of hotel or in the Market Square which the hotel overlooks. Rooms are spacious . Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Started well finished badly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second night I was charged for someone else 's drinks and we were badly let down when the chef walked out and there was no food available.

    The first nights bar meal was excellent and brilliant value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing as the hotel is in prime position but management of room let them down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room very disappointing. Very old furniture and tired decor. Dust and cobwebs over ceiling, walls, skirting and furniture. Housekeeping very economical.

    Location, price, most of the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Masham is a delightful place to visit & The Kings Head Hotel is somewhere we would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small problem water very hot so difficult to have a cool shower. Had a cool bath instead !

    The place was generally really great, staff really friendly, it was ideal with the dog to be in a room that faced out onto the courtyard. We particularly recommend the fish & chips at the hotel very good! One huge plus in this heatwave was how cool our room stayed, I had worried about that but it had a very high ceiling & small windows which meant it was short on natural light but it was perfect in this heat !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom would benefit from being updated and some refurbishment.

    The Kings head is very good value. The staff are pleasant, cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel stay in 20 years.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty - cobwebs everywhere. Toilet didn't flush without removing cistern lid and manually open outlet. Shower tap was loose and changed temperature at will. Shower leaked and flooded floor. Advised by fellow guest not to use the restaurant due to foul mouthed yobs eating there. Group singing happy birthday at 1.00am.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was very tired and not comfortable. The floors were very uneven and the toilet had not been well cleaned prior to our arrival. The breakfast was poor compared to others we have had in the area.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    O erall staff friendly,and central in mashem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels changed.we left them on the floor as advised,but found they were hung back up

    The stay was very good appart from the bed which was hard and a little uncomfortable for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    We love Masham
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was confusion over our booking I booked for 2double rooms and they had only reserved one. My sister and husband had a room with low beams which my brother in law banged his head on several times. There was a long wait for food. Apparently the chef is new!? They kept selling out of menu items. I had previously booked gluten free bread for breakfast which they ran out of on our third breakfast!?

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our evening meal staff on duty were great but the breakfast lets it down,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better, given the location the day before we had a breakfast at a small cafe in Haltwhistle which was half the price and better quality

    We think the Kings Head could do with a makeover

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Low quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of dinner and breakfast was very poor. No normal coffee available. Some bedrooms are situated next to the beergarden. Room and bathroom are old fashioned

    Bed was comfortable. Nice pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but staff are too formal
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome wasn't good and staff weren't particularly helpful

    Lovely old building with classic furniture. The welcome wasn't so good. Not unfriendly but not warm or helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Needs to raise its standards considerably to justify value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned properly, very dusty, dog hairs in carpet from previous occupants, lights didn’t work, no central lighting so very dim anyway, worn decor. Breakfast said fresh fruit and yoghurt, no fresh fruit and yogurt provided, very very weak coffee.

    Nice location, rooms are in outhouses at back of hotel off a small road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Would pay another visit but not to stay in the courtard Rooms need tobe cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom in the courtyard was not clean. The window could not close as there was ivy growing in through the window. The curtains were full of cobwebs and there were holes in the skirting boards. The bed was clean but the overall cleanliness in the suite was poor

    Food restaurant and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Not the first time I've stayed and won't be the last either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything in particular.

    The bed was most comfortable and a great size. The location is excellent. Food is great and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Courtyard room was ideal for us as it meant we were able to easily go outside for a smoke without disturbing other residents. Management were friendly. Like home from home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    Terrible terrible terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My baby’s cot was broken and came with no mattress. A member of staff offered towels as a solution for the missing mattress for my 12 week old baby. This was simply not good enough! The shower did not work and my wife had to shower in another building and walk past a busy commune area. The lamp shade was torn and broken and the sink in the room was blocked. The room was dusty and dirty. It was one thing after another and by the end I simply gave up complaining. I honestly cannot say I’ve stayed in a worse place. Avoid at all costs!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    We went to a concert at the Town Hall so this hotel was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was self service for tea and coffee at breakfast. For the price of bed and breakfast I would prefer either a coffee machine with a choice of coffees and to be served tea in a teapot.

    All the rooms are excellent. The pub is used by locals too which is always a good sign. The food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room but no little extras, which I would have expected for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel or shampoo in the room, only hand wash. Would have been nice to have fresh milk for room use. Breakfast buffet a but limited - fruit salad would have been nice, no muesli or granola.

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.3
    Awful. Bad rooms. Poor value for money. Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom. Paid £145 room rate for an awful room with cobwebs, dust, a view of a staff seating area with cigarettes and litter, and the bathroom had someone's contact lens wrappers, a stained toilet seat with faeces on and bath full of dirt. Reception agreed it has not been cleaned. Breakfast was a long wait as a large party was served before us even though we had been waiting for a while. Breakfast rally not up to much. Awful tasteless coffee. No fruit available as advertised.

    The staff were lovely but hotel cleanliness and overall value for money horrendous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    A very good stay with excelent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble . It was a very good stay and I would definitely visit again . Parking was easy and the food choices very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Lovely food, great location but rooms are just awful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just awful, We paid £138 for a tiny room that smelled fishy and wasn’t cleaned well.....grimy windows, chairs and then for the bed to be so uncomfortable you could feel every spring. Will not be returning!!

    The location was spot on, on the main square. The food was lovely and reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    What a great shame that this happens to a great little pub not the staffs fault, thanks James
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor and over priced food could not even make fresh scrambled egg, factory produced food not kitchen charged at restaurant prices

    Location and bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Good evening meal and good nights sleep
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some staff shortages.

    Excellent dog friendly room. Debbie, John and their staff were very friendly and helpful. They all seemed to enjoy their jobs and this came through and made a great atmosphere. The food was very good, but you could also enjoy a drink in a pub like environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    The bar and restaurant areas were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated was horrible. It hadn’t seen a duster or vac in months!!! The bathroom was very dirty also. The staff were understanding of our complaint and did give us discount on check out. The rooms are obviously in need of renovation.

    The bar and restaurant areas were very nice. Good facilities for a dog friendly place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to return home

    Staff very pleasant and extremely helpful. Felt like you were walking into their home as part of the family. Debbie and John have only been in charge for a few weeks and they certainly know how to make customers feel at ease.Breakfast was good as were the evening meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    On the up, grand :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top tips; Landlady awaiting the arrival of a "proper coffee machine"...me too ! A shower gel dispenser in the actual shower would've been appreciated..it looked as though one had been there in the past ? Prepare for a "leisurely breakfast", as the lass is also covering reception, deliveries, enquiries whilst taking and serving breakfast orders!

    Room 28 - Bedroom clean bed itself very soft...nice. A fan was up and running in the room, nice touch as the bedroom window was locked/sealed ? The relatively new (04/18), Landlady/Lord are pushing ahead to give it their touch, they were excellent hosts, happy to share their knowledge and tips about the local area & facilities..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Another very pleasent annual reunion tour.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The landlady and her staff were very friendly and accommodating, and my little dog was made very welcome. A very well kept bar with good choice of beers (and whisky).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Had an amazing weekend away massive thumbs up to all staff for making our stay a brill one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say they was anything we didn’t like.

    Fantastic location excellent staff cosy but modern hotel with great atmosphere very nice rooms staff went out of there way for us will defiantly be returning for another stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A welcoming pub/hotel in a superb rural location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV a bit small. Enamel bath looked dirty but it wasn't! Just chips in the enamel.

    Friendly staff. Everyone we met smiled and seemed happy to see us. Big bed. Great shower. Good hot cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Location of hotel, room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner lots of cobwebs. Room very warm has a ceiling fan but had no effect as very high TV reception in bedroom needs attention. Hair dryer on wall doesn't work but two more supplied Theskstons best bitter not available on our last night appaulin

    Location of hotel, room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay in Masham at the Kings Head. I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although most of the beams were protected by padding, there was just the one near the window which was quite low. The main window could do with a net curtain to improve privacy, the same as the property opposite.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, spacious room. Comfy bed, good selection of food and drinks. I would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is very central for those wishing to travel the dales and its situation is very peaceful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The addition of the armchair gave space to relax in. The full English breakfast was very good. I had a lovely view of the town from my window - the hotel was very central to the rest of the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Pretty disappointed and prob will not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing in the hotel was not working properly. The toilet would not flush in the room we were originally allocated so were given another room which still had problems with water draining from the washbasin. In the bar area there was a young boy in the ladies toilet as his mother said there was no water in the other one!!

    Good cooked to order breakfast and the two girls in the bar made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful time with family. Accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was too hot to use and the heat was also too strong and we couldn't figure out how to turn either down.

    The location was amazing! Much more than I imagined and perfect for this particular trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Budget hotel in a good location with hard working staff - however some rooms need refurbishing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had room 4 - a small double in need of refurbishment. This is an old hotel so didn't have a problem with the wonky floor. However, the decor is in need of attention and the bathroom could do with an uplift - the loo had a mind of its own when it came to flushing! I understand (from other reviews) there's an annexe which appears to have larger refurbished rooms which is worth asking about if you decide to book. Breakfast finishes @ 9.00 am sharp week days with stewed coffee served in flasks at the breakfast bar.

    The hotel is centrally located in Masham. The staff are friendly and hard working. My room cost was reasonable - given this is a tourist area - and I found the bed comfortable. Plenty of hot water! Tea and coffee making facilitites in room. Breakfast was fine - apart from the coffee. The lounge area has a cosy corner with a fire and the bar had a good range of drinks available. We ate out so can't comment on lunch/evening meals...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Would probably stay in the area again but maybe a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was more shabby than chic and very cramped. Expected the rooms to be much bigger.

    Food was good. Staff were friendly. Good location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    My night in masham
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bag of rubbish outside the door and hoover during the length of stay, door into bathroom rubbing on tiled floor causing a nasty noise every time we open it.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful location, staff were so friendly and welcoming! Child friendly which is a big must for us, room was more of an apartment which we loved! Plenty of space for a family. Clean, lovely beds, two tvs, large bathroom! What more could we want? 😁 we shall be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    We will be back, (soon)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee machine was out of action so couldn't have a decent cup of coffee. The instant on offer was poor.

    Brilliant location, ideal for the walking we had planned. Fantastic courtyard room with bath and a separate shower, (as requested). Room nice and warm even with heating turned off and window open, (not bad for Easter weekend). Good full English breakfast and a fantastic evening menu. So good that we ate there every night. (we had planned on trying other places each night). Good choice of wine, nice selection of hand pulled beer and a good variety of Gin. (just needed a better selection of Tonic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Michelle & William Clinch (Wakefield)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful hotel overlooks the square Staff fantastic very helpful Food good price and presented lovely From checking in to checking out we was made very welcome and as I was celebrating my birthday and our 1st wedding anniversary there was a lovely little surprise in our room card and chocolates Thank you John & Debbie and all the team 😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely room but facilities could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very loud noise coming from the pipes late at night and first thing in the morning. We think this was when someone next door used the shower. We also didn’t have hot water in the shower in the morning. The hotel takes an additional £20 as a deposit when you check-in, which we weren’t expecting. We were reimbursed when we checked out, but there wasn’t a clear reason as to why this was and we felt we should have been made aware of this before we arrived.

    Really nice pub and very nice room - didn’t expect there to be an upstairs section to the room, which was a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay in lovely old country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little lumpy, restaurant food menu a bit basic food more good pub food standard.

    Lovely room warm and cosy with old beams and lots of character, nice bathroom with walk in shower, substantial breakfast, bar and restaurant nice and staff pleasant, good location, value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok but too many things in the accommodation weren’t as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold on arrival - only 2 degrees outside and radiator switched off! Also there was a stale smell in the room. Tea and coffee hadn’t been replenished and the shower gel on the bath was empty - not very good to find this out when the shower had started! Our daughter had a single room and she could smell smoke coming into the room as it was above the smoking area for the pub.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    A reasonably priced, relaxing short break in a beautiful part of Yorkshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Our accommodation was spacious. Breakfast was good value and a great start to the day. Masham is a gem; perfectly located for walking, cycling or touring. The village has many things to offer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Price for room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    English breakfast had everything but had questional taste. Our room was a Little dimly lit and furniture could be updated . Also as an older women I was called Darling by female staff which sounded streng to me.

    Bar was nice and staff in bar area very friendly . Evening meal good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    we always enjoy the North Yorks countryside & the meal experience did not spoil our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tuesday night my partner & myself ordered a main course on our first night had to wait for 1 hour 20 minutes for it to arrive & this was after asking if our order had been misplaced. 1serving staff running between serving bar meals & restaurant meals , Meal was not up to much after it did eventually arrive.

    room was nice enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and adequate for price paid (£68) for 2 people inc breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room décor bit tired and needs refurbishment. (Room 6) Shower very poor water pressure! Photo on Booking.com of twin room is huge. Our room very small nothing like photo! Room noisy from either a gas boiler or extractor fan. Didn't run all night but came on early.

    Bed comfortable, linen/towels superb. Nice breakfast. Excellent location with free parking. (Donation box) Pleasant bar/dining area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Masham is a great location for exploring the Yorkshire Dales
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed was very uncomfortable and pillows were lumpy. Rooms in the courtyard could do with a makeover as very dark, dingy and outdated and we had cobwebs too. Food is typical quality for Chef and Brewer so not really home cooked. Menu makes the food sound amazing, but it really isn't. Overall not bad for the price we paid for 2 nights and breakfast was plentiful.

    Location Good Breakfast Selection of Beers Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Got a half price deal bed and breakfast, was last minute, didn't think about it. just booked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything, the manager even moved his car for us so we could have his parking spot, though plenty of room at front of the hotel in the market square, parked there many times without problems.

    This is our third visit to King's Head, and by coincidence we've had the same room in The Courtyard each time, we love the atmosphere of the room's and especially like the large bath, to sink down and have a soak after out walking. Excellent meal in the bar in the evening, all cooked fresh and hot, couldn't fault.We were booked in by Shannon, who also worked in the bar,she was just learning the job, and was a pleasure to meet, hope she does well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Not a £100 per night hotel. Perfectly pleasant but not in that price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap and shower gel same as last time we stayed. No milk in tea/coffee facilities. Room 19 ceiling was covered in cobwebs and the walls were dirty and stained.

    Good breakfast. Excellent bar and lovely real ales

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    We found it a very comfortable hotel, good home cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet flush/cistern could have worked a little better e.g. it required a stronger flush!

    We found it a very comfortable hotel, good home cooked breakfast and it is over looking Masham market square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant and quite comfortable. Hotel needs an upgrade to some rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bulb out of wall light. Cobweb in bathroom. Only 1 hand towel in room. Bathroom door would not close easily. Poor reception on TV.

    Location. Staff when available were helpful. New manager pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel made for a a lovely, relaxing stay in Masham. Looking forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room possibly a little warm in the night for me, but that's usually a good thing in this weather, TV maybe a bit small (but that's a very minor thing anyway)

    The fantastic location, huge comfy bed, friendly staff on check in and check out (particularly Mark, Debbie and Tracy) tasty food in restaurant and cracking pint of beer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    A comfortable and fair priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything I could fault.

    The property was centrally located, clean and tidy. The staff were excellent, as was the food and drink. Also the cost of accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Great 3 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to dislike cannot comment on food in restaraunt as we didn't eat there only had breakfast which was average.

    Great location right on the market square. Easy free parking, staff very friendly, good beer. Close to both brewery's had a tour round the Theakston brewery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed as it’s usually a very good very friendly very clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a bit friendlier Room was dirty I somehow had a caterpillar in my vegetables which was already on my plate.

    The bed and pillows were fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely location, a lovely hotel with excellant food, drink and staff. Thank you.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in the room could have been a little bigger being difficult to watch comfortably from the bed.

    What was there not to like. The beers were perfect, the food delightful and the presentation of a bouquet of flowers for our anniversary was the final touch to a most enjoyable celebration. The staff were attentive and helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Faulty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster didn't work properly. Severely under staffed. Ling queues at reception and the car as the same member of staff was having to cover multiple areas of the hotel.

    Evening meal was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely pub hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wet room which could have been lovely but was very unattractive. It could be lovely with a nice floor and a bit of decorating.

    Very good sized room and lovely food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff really friendly took time to chat about the area when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillows were a little too bouncy 2 too many 1 not enough but it wasn’t enough to spoil the stay

    Staff really friendly took time to chat about the area when we enquiries about walks to river. Made a fuss of our dog and we felt really welcome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a bit bigger

    Staff, bar, food and very warm hotel when it was really cold outside Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Not what you'd expect for £138 per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very cold with no heating on in February, we mentioned it when we checked in, but nothing was done about it. The matress on our bed was uncomfortable, as we could feel every spring in it. Breakfast was very disorganised, no cups for the coffee, we had to ask 3 times before clean cups were brought out. The food was nice. When we checked out we were not ask how our stay was, was this because they knew the answer? For the £138 for 1 night I felt very dissatisfied and felt like I'd been robbed. We won't be staying again, we'll go back to the White Bear, it's much better and slightly cheaper.

    Great location, good beer, the cheapest in Masham

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    I have stayed there before and will stay there again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, all positive!

    Nice clean room with proper old wooden beams, lovely deluge shower, opening windows for a nice breath of fresh air, friendly cafes and pubs a short walk aay and two breweries to visit! Fab!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    very pleasant,good location,good food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with toilet flush,it was temperamental. Reported it to reception so it could be repaired for next occupants

    Breakfast included in price was excellent. Very pleasant dining room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can feel the uneven floorboards under foot & the bed was a bit lumpy. Needs a little updating e.g. repainting

    Lovely rooms, big bath, lovely window seats & heavy, luxurious curtains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    A very happy 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had a broken ankle and wasn’t sure I’d still be able to make the trip. The staff managed to get me a downstairs room and sit me at an accessible table in the restaurant. They couldn’t do enough to help. The food on New Year’s Eve was great value for money and I would definitely do it again (hopefully on two legs!) we have been here many times before but my husband still said the Old Peculiar was as brilliant as usual!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Pricey high season charge not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No rail on bath to assist getting out Bath stated as slippery but bath mat only available on request fron reception Noisy fan in bathroom could not be switched off No drinking glasses Sloping floor - quirky - old building

    Comfy bed, hot water, good breakfast, useful charge voucher for drinks etc

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: