Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kirklands Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Kinross, KY13 8AN, United Kingdom

#2 of 8 hotels in Kinross

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    We shall return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    Food quality, great service, comfy room. Folks that know what they are doing. Do not be put off by the slightly scruffy exterior. It is an old Inn in an old town. It has character plus efficiency.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasnt and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The staff were helpful and the pleasant room was quiet in spite of being at the front next to the main road. We had an excellent evening meal in-house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Best poached eggs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slanted floors in our room were indicative that this hotel is located in an older building (that said, our bathroom was nicely renovated). The parking lot is small, but there is ample free parking close by on the street.

    Recommended by a local resident of Kinross. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next morning was incredibly tasty. The breakfast menu has lots of options, including smoked kippers, and the poached eggs were perfect (best we had on our whole trip).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Quite disappointing 😳
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn’t very clean. Cobwebs, black mould around the windows, torn wallpaper, sealant around shower was dirty, the door to the room had a massive gap at the bottom. Have stayed here a couple of times before and it was nice but the rooms desperately need decorating and cleaning.

    Staff were brilliant. Breakfast lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, would go again if I need to stay in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard standing parking at the rear for motorcycles would be better

    Food excellent, staff thoughtful, attentive and really first class. Well done Kirklands

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous, wish we had planned a longer stay. Would like to get to know the facinating owners better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was quite small, but we weren't there for a luxury shower.

    The room was quaint but modernized. The food was great and the service was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was a bit tired and had very creaky floorboards - but we enjoyed our stay

    Location was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. Food was also very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good except for 2 things: the blind allowed a lot of light into the room, so would have preferred curtains. Also, the window couldn't be closed properly and there was a lot of traffic noise. Double glazing?

    Convenient, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    One night at the Kirklands hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice and welcoming. The bedroom was really comfortable and very clean also. And the hotel is close to the airport with a good access by the motorway. It was a very good exerience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould around the window frames.

    Room 7 was very comfortable. Beds were clean and comfortable . The room was very warm and welcoming with adjustable heating and windows that could be opened. I hope they consider renewing or at least painting the woodwork as there was a lot of mould around the window frames.The ensuite looked as though it had recently been upgraded with new shower ,tiling and sink. Shame they didn’t spend another few pounds on a new blind for the window. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Top marks for providing gluten free bread and porridge . Staff were excellent - friendly,helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent and very welcoming service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner and his wife were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was definitely the hands up winning aspect of the meal service. Very family friendly hotel. The walk around Loch Leven was lovely.Nice to see Peter Yealands winery NZ advertised on the outside awning. Thank you for your hospitality. Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was generously large and beautifully decorated with a full-size bathroom. This hotel is clearly a locally popular place for meals which gave a friendly atmosphere in the dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely small hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 6 has very creaky floorboards.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming and were very accomodating with our early morning breakfast requests. Evening meal in the restaurant was tasty and good quality. Restaurant seems popular so would recommend booking a table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel nice with character but let down with room standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 8 was in the roof and at front of hotel and windows are single glazed . Noisy with traffic. Windows a bit mouldy as well on inside. Windy night and roof tiles rattled very badly keeping wife and I awake. No extractor fan in en suite

    STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND GREAT BREAKFAST. BED COMFY AND CLEAN.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money plus the welcome and service was superb.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room window was a wee bit drafty and some of the bedroom furniture was dated+ TV a bit small.

    Staff were great - friendly & chatty. Food was fresh and very well presented- great atmosphere in the bar & restaurant. Breakfast - spot on- & a great choice of local produce.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Great but minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room could have been better, there was a gorgeous church however there was also a dingy car park and half finished housing estate. The attention to detail when cleaning could have been better, there was black mould on the nozel of the taps and also round the inside rim of the toilet. My partner's cup had lipstick on it unfortunately we didn't notice until he had started drinking it. Bed could be bigger and rooms could be warmer as we were both freezing through the night. The radiator made an awful hissing sound constantly throughout the night.

    Our room was isolated which was ideal! (Room 6) The room was stunning, furniture was gorgous and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was stunningly decorated and water heated up instantly. Bath is a great size! The hotel it's self is absolutely beautiful and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was nice and quick. We did not eat here for dinner or lunch so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Our stay was the ideal location to rest for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was the ideal location to rest for a few days. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and gave us plenty of information, including taking us to our room, letting us know how to book for meals and where to go. The meals were consistently excellent. We also received a warm reception at the RSPB a short drive away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation, wonderful atmosphere, amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic accommodation, wonderful atmosphere, amazing locally sourced food (both in the restaurant upon our arrival and for breakfast the following morning), attentive and friendly staff who were always happy to help and have a wee chat and a great location in the centre of Kinross next to Loch Leven. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. We will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended for a welcoming high quality stay at a very reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners have a plan for upgrading the rooms. While this is likely the right thing to do we had no complaints about our room and in particular the bathroom facility was as good as many more expensive hotels.

    The whole experience was very good. In particular the quality of the food was first class. The cake table is an excellent idea and the cakes etc were just smashing. The own blend coffee is delicious. Just a great overall experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay with fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was superb, staff extremely helpful and friendly and the room comfortable . Would stay again if in this part of the world and if passing by would call just for the food! An old building but nicely done up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Adequate for one night, but would't go back and amazed that the hotel has three stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining/breakfast room lacked ambience. Decor of bedroom was depressing. The exterior of the hotel and the common areas apart from the dining room looked neglected.

    Spacious room and en suite facilities. Helpful, friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Will certainly use this hotel for visits to this area in future.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a longer stay, storage in the room is limited. But for a one night/weekend it was adequate.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Food, including the best toasted sandwich ever and a first-class, cooked-to-order breakfast, excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel - Great Location & Bar area, food & Morning Breakfast are Superb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel and clearly knows what makes a stay that little bit more special. Attention to detail is good and the rooms show this. Owners are friendly & make sure all you need is available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, staff great and food excellengt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating in room was on the cool side. A new system, so maybe just some glitches.

    Hotel easy to find. Welcome by staff was excellent. Bar / lounge was a good size. Food excellent. Dinner nice with good selection. Breakfast good and cooked freshly. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    great short break hotel we loved the kirklands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking could be a issue when busy heating in room a bit sporadic

    very nice friendly staff really good food lovelly fresh cooked breakfast good location comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go through the bar to get to the rooms could be a bit uncomfortable late on a weekend with children.

    The apartment type family rooms were great for a family as the kids could all sleep in 1 room while we could have a room to ourselves.Breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Outstanding small venue hotel exceeds the price with a great location to walk around the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had problems with the WiFi and cell phone connections.

    Food and food service outstanding. The bed was outstanding with the room layout very easy to enjoy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    This in a warm, friendly, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent afternoon tea to welcome us! Very friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Good dinner. This was a one-night stopover on our way to a rented house north of Inverness and it served us very well. We would happily go there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful restaurant was a delight and food fantastic the bar is very well stocked in local beers as well as the better known lagers great choice of whisky and great choice of gins overall fantastic would recommend and will defiantly be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    I travelled nd stayed with my daughter at the Kirklands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We both have very sensitive skin and were not sure if the toiletries were O.K. for this. We could not work out the heating in the room and were cold on occassions. We did ask about this and were told how to work it. However, we were unable to do this.

    I travelled nd stayed with my daughter at the Kirklands. We felt all the staff had been very very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Not far from Edinburgh Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our last night in Scotland - shame we didn't plan more time to explore the surroundings.

    Not far from Edinburgh Airport. Tastefully modernised, family-run hotel. Beautiful mix of old and new - especially bar/lounge and restaurant area. Best kippers we've ever eaten!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, 5 stars! Would recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find anything the kirklands should change.

    Staff were welcoming. Restaurant food was excellent. Enjoyed our stay, would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall OK, good position and good food. Let down by very easily remedied points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room wasn't particularly good, the room decor was a little tired and the 'corners' of the room were uncleaned. The shower trim was dirty and the bathroom floor wasn't very clean.

    The dinner we had in the hotel's restaurant was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in Kinross
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything at all.

    Firstly the staff were so helpful, friendly and welcoming - even for a drowned rat of a cyclist arriving minutes before the restaurant closed at 9pm. The decor was lovely and the bar and restaurant really pleasant, food and drink wonderful. Best hotel in my 2 week trip from John O Groats to Lands End. They even had a safe storeroom for my bike indoors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and helpful good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had been upgraded and were very nice and the bar area was great with a lovely menu but the stair case and hall way had not been decorated and looked very tired definitely needs decorating

    Staff very friendly and helpful good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Quite lovely!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything! Gourmet dining including a great breakfast! The staff/owners were wonderful!! Highly recommend!! One of our nicest stays at any hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little hotel run by lovely people serving lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a little TLC to hallways and stairs. A bit off putting at first but really didn't impact on our stay adversely.

    Lovely hotel in a great little village. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast top notch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff at Kirklands were fantastic, very kind and welcoming. All requests made, were met without any problem. The food was lovely and the standard of accommodation was very high. All round, a great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Clean and friendly with a great breakfast - the perfect base for a Scottish wedding weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable room. The well-kept building has that family-run, non-corporate charm but with all the things you need and expect from a good hotel. Delicious breakfast and relaxed, friendly staff. Ideal location to explore Kinross and the surrounding areas. Easy access to the motorway and roads to surrounding castles etc., to get to places, castles, weddings, airport etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.5
    Great Stay in Kinross - Great Hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather - sheesh!

    Kinross may not be the centre of global civilization but it is a great hub for exploration of the surrounding area and even to a very accessible Edinburgh. The Kirklands could not be a better base for such forays with huge Scottish breakfasts to set you up for local trips, lovely morning scones for the lazy and a pleasant and modern lounge and restaurant (and good restorative beverages) for your return. Whilst the hotel exterior and the rooms are not going to give trendy London boutique hotels a run for their money, it is the service, personal touch and dedication of the owners, Anthony and Shona, and their wonderful staff, that shine through and make a visit here like staying with family or friends. Although good value (note - the family 'apartment' is perfect for a family of 5), spotless beds and bathrooms, sheets and towels, are often expected but rarely met in these types of 'provincial' UK hotels, the great bonus here is having proprietors who go the extra mile rather than the extra yard, who add little extra touches over and above the expected, to make the experience different and far better than the average, spiritless stay in a chain hotel. The welcome, level of service and dedication of Anthony and Shona really do add an intangible extra factor that makes a visit to the Kirklands Hotel far more enjoyable and memorable than could have ever been expected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Good one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing onto road with tea coffee, dressing table quite open and visible window to road. Only 1 seat other than sitting on bed.

    Friendly helpful staff, excellent food at evening dinner and breakfast. Fairly priced and going rate for food/drink. Although maybe over priced for B&B

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to stay, good food.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv kept losing signal in the room, and the tv was tiny. The floor in the room felt like it was uneven., parking is very limited.

    The staff was lovely, and very helpful. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great food , Great Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent , friendly staff and very helpful, bedroom was very clean. I will be staying here again , well done to the owners for running a great hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Good welcome from the staff, who were friendly and chatty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking quite restricted (only space for 5 or 6 cars in the 'car park', though free on-street parking available nearby). I ended up in a (single) room on the first floor and there was a lot of noise from the bar below, with no doors to close in corridors to try and seal off the racket. This died down both evenings around 11.30. Decor in the room was a bit tired and scruffy. Also quite a Zen knack to making the room key turn in the Yale-type lock. Overall felt a bit pricey for what I got, though this was a busy mid-summer weekend (Highland Show time).

    Good welcome from the staff, who were friendly and chatty without being intrusive. Good food for dinner, though some of the prices were on the high side and some of the drinks menu made your eyes water! Wide variety available at breakfast - fresh fruit salad, cereals, juices, yoghurts and any combination of cooked breakfast you might imagine. All food was freshly cooked and served quickly. Linen all fresh and clean. Decent shower. Perfectly adequate for a short stay when I was out of the hotel from early till late.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    The only place to stay in Kinross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    From the minute I walked through the door to the minute I left the staff were so polite and professional in every way and would anything to help . There was one of the staff who was called KAYLEIGH she went beyond the call of duty with every customer that morning as I whitnessed her helping brilliantly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and comfortable and we will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance - a tidy up outside and a coat of paint would be good.

    The clean beds and lovely bathroom. The selection and presentation of the breakfast. The friendly staff and nothing was too much bother for them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, very friendly staff and lovely restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was warm and very friendly. We were visiting a relative in Kinross, so the hotel's location was ideal. The hotel staff were very helpful in carrying our bags to our room and making sure we were ok. The room was average, but it more that suited our needs for the one night. We ate in the hotel restaurant as it had been recommended by our relative. We were not disappointed by the food, so that was a good choice.. I would stay again and recommend the Kirklands hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    very friendly hotel , Breakfast was really good, not flashy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perhaps the appearance from the road.

    very friendly hotel , Breakfast was really good, not flashy but every part of the meal was high quality, with great attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived whilst the lunches were still being served so the car park was busy but I managed to get a spot after someone moved.

    The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. In particular the young lady who was on reception when I arrived who got my bag from the car & showed me up to my room personally.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    The owner was wonderful, very helpful, even offering to dry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main course st the restaurant.

    The owner was wonderful, very helpful, even offering to dry our wet cycling clothes. Also, my banoffee desert was unforgettable it was so delicious. A true Scottish crowd and staff. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a lot of stairs but staff offered help with luggage

    The staff/service/food was exceptional Lovely atmosphere in the bar/breakfast area Bedroom windows that actually opened as it was so hot Nice bright decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    There are better hotels in Kinross
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception check in desk and its location is really bad. The stair carpet up to the accommodation was not clean or had not been vacumed, giving a very poor impression. The staff were overwhelmed by the amount of people in the bar area eating and drinking, the noise level was terrible. The bar and restaurant area is not somewhere you would go to relax in or enjoy a meal in quiet and comfortable surroundings. The hotel is close to a busy main road. First impressions on check in was poor overall, disappointed with choice of hotel made.

    The actual bedroom and bathroom were very good, clean, and comfortable. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!!

    Food was excellent.Breakfast was everything we could have wished and the staff were very friendly.Although small the room was spotless and had every thing we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    The old coaching brought up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs hair dryer in bedrooms

    The old coaching brought up to date. DownstIrs in the bar was interesting map of the area. Used as wall paper. Old features still there which is good. Staff where very helpful. BeeakfSt was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel -real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wow! What a tasty treat the Kirklands is. Easy to find, cosy and welcoming from the off, comfy sofas and beautiful rooms to boot😍 Power shower was lovely, tea and coffee facilities on offer and all staff including the lovely owners were very helpful too. Easy check in and out and hubby tells me the breakfast was delicious, fresh and home cooked. Also their menu is varied offering treats for all tastes. My success was having the Chicken and Garlic Mayo sandwich. I have never tasted such a fabulous mayo before with generous portions too. We will be back xx

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Lovely, family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were lovely, the room was clean and comfy. We were given a card and advised to call if there were any issues as the owners reside on site. To top it all off, they cooked the most perfect poached eggs ever for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about our stay couldn't find fault.

    The friendliness of the staff was amazing , they couldn't do enough for you. The family room we had was also first class it has 2 separate bedrooms a living room and bathroom , suits our needs perfectly, the restaurant in the hotel is also excellent I would recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Confortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was very hot, and too noisy to open window. Shower had very little pressure (as often in Scotland), breakfast was not exceptional (which is why we booked) it was nice but definitely not exceptional.

    Lovely staff, very clean and nice design.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    good value comfortable Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hit and miss wifi. Wine list is rather expensive for the modest wines on offer.

    Very friendly establishment run by a young couple who are very motivated and have an enthusiastic young team behind them. The old inn has been extensively renovated to make the interior bright and cheerful. Good varied menu; excellent breakfast cooked to order, as it should be in a small hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Very comfortable modern hotel with fantastic staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of much to put here - the bathroom door was noisy. Just needed some WD40!

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Service faultless. A historic building renovated in a modern and stylish way. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative I can think of!

    Really friendly and helpful staff and owners. Kirklands is the best choice in the area. Visit beautiful Loch Leven, the island castle where Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned, the bird sanctuary, good playground for children, well laid out and signposted walks, an excellent coffee shop and a very fine cashmere factory. All conveniently placed for public transport (Kinross is a hub for St Andrews, Dundee, Perth, Edinburgh, Stirling ...). Kirklands is just minutes away from all this and a really comfortable and welcoming base for all your activities or leisure. We investigated a couple of other restaurants but always opted for Kirklands. It's a great find!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    A treat of stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very stylish stay with a gorgeous menu, comfortable surroundings and lovely staff. Breakfast is local and delicious - incredibly accommodating too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet, spacious room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the church. Staff were so welcoming, and the food was excellent. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent customer service!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Shona and Anthony were very helpful and went well beyond the call of duty to assist us. Everyone at the hotel is very pleasant and so friendly. The evening meal was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Lovely bar area and dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work properly. Dining area cold at breakfast. Breakfast cart could be improved.....eg home made granola, fruit compote, Greek yoghurt.

    Lovely bar area and dining room. Delicious supper.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    A perfect stopping off point during our long journey to Inverness - very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have helped as my husband is not good on stairs. The room was cold on arrival but soon warmed up after we figured out the radiator controls.

    We were very impressed with the way in which all staff members went out of their way to help and meet our needs. The hotel has modern decor with old-fashioned comfort. The food in the restaurant was exceptionally good, and breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Fabulous boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad word to say about this place or the staff.

    Fabulous. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were beautiful, the whole place had a wonderful atmosphere - exactly what you would hope for on a Scottish holiday! Sad we couldn't stay longer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    perfect stay in lovely boutique hotel
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe a firmer mattress

    lovely traditional coaching inn brought into the 21st Century with contemporary decor. Very friendly owners and staff and great breakfast. Very nice recently refurbished room with en suite,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel,the staff were great,breakfast was excellent and the rooms were nice and warm.I would not think twice about recommending this hotel to anyone.No doubt as to where i will stay when i come back to Scotland.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel. Very friendly and helpful. Great food and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only staying for 1 night. Couldn't fault it

    Great hosts. Made us very welcome and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Lovely decor in the bar / lounge / restaurant and room. Great good and interesting modern menu. Really nice vibe in the lounge/bar area and feels like a local "hub". Great stop for good coffee and homemade cakes and scones too !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Cannot fault this hotel at all :-) 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a beautiful hotel, very friendly owner and a lovely atmosphere in the bar area. The room was quiet and comfortable and the poached eggs in the morning were perfect! Unfortunately arrived too late for dinner but, if the breakfast is anything to go by, I would imagine the food is fantastic! Would definately stay there again..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel, super food, warm hospitality, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    We had wonderful stay in the Kirklands Hotel, a perfect place to visit the Kinross and Falkirk area. The rooms were lovely, great value, the staff could not have done more for you, and as a family run hotel it clearly showed as Anthony and Shona cared so much about their customers. The food was exceptional, we had dinner there both nights and it could not be faulted. Scottish breakfast was fantastic. We chose this hotel because of the location, dining and bar, and it was an extremely relaxing end to two busy days for us. We will definitely be back. I can honestly say it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Fabulous small hotel for a lovely break in marvellous countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room spotless - bed comfy breakfast - couldn't ask for anything better nothing was too much trouble, the lady serving breakfast was great. Dinner excellent really good food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Kirklands Hotel Kinross for a friendly small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love this family owned hotel for the friendly service and welcome we always get when we return to stay in Kinross. The location is perfect for touring to eg The Falkirk Wheel, palace of Scone, Falklands Palace or St. Andrews The food is excellent too

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well. I prefer baths to showers and a toilet brush would have been welcome but otherwise all good

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: