Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Drummond Terrace, Crieff, PH7 4AN, United Kingdom

#11 of 25 hotels in Crieff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 729 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel &Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with my mattress being very old, then being asked to pay € 30..00 to upgrade to a better room, which i refused, and they did eventually upgrade me, to a Beautiful room with a much better mattress. They need to be aware of old mattress. Apart from that everything was Fabulous

    Over in Scotland for a short break, decided to go to Crieff. The hotel was everything that trip advisor stated. Staff were excellent, beautiful grounds. Would def return Alexandria

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay that complimented what has been an excellent trip around the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the a la carte menu was a little pricey.

    We were wanting a quiet place to chill for a couple of days. Knock Castle was the place to do this. The bar and lounge area was very comfortable, the food was very good without being exceptional and the staff were attentive and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Worst nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very sub standard, did not give us a good nights sleep, hotel could not change mattress to something better , we were offered a room in their lodge, but we book as we wanted to be in the main hotel.

    Athmosphere & hotel was good swimming & jacuzzi, staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place, totally recommended!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My personal opinion: sometimes it looks a little too 'traditional', it would need a little refurbishment to be a 100% top-notch. Service at dinner was good but not great. They looked a little inexperienced.

    Great place. Surrounded by trees and great landscapes, we spent a great night with my wife and our dog. I would definitely come back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and charming but not worth the high prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run-down: Mattresses in the greenhouse right beside where we stayed. Shower a mere trickle and hard to get the temperature right. Decor and facilities in room felt a bit dilapidated.

    Gorgeous period property. Fabulous views. Good spa. Cooked breakfasts were good. Bed firm and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    First class stay,we will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space is a bit limited.

    We had a great stay,brilliant staff,gorgeous room with first class facilities and a lovely breakfast. We will certainly return to this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired. NEVER stay on the lodge part of house. A very NOT converted ex care home. Treated like the poor relative. Will not ever stay there again.....awful.

    Staff and good food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Was ok for a night's stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst made beds I've ever seen or slept in.!!!!! Breakfast was ok but have had nicer at cheaper hotels. Bit annoying that you have to go outside to get to swimming facility.

    Clean, warm and comfy. Staff were extremely helpful when there was a bit of confusion about the type of accommodation. From description when making booking it said it was an apartment with two double rooms and it was actually a family room, which was not suitable for 3 women and 1 man, but they gave us 2 singles free of charge as well as original room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Reception staff were fantastic and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potential to be a good hotel but general upkeep poor, investment into cleaning staff and restaurant staff required.

    Reception staff were fantastic and extremely helpful. Enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Waiter wore dirty waistcoat both at dinner and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiter wore dirty waistcoat both at dinner and breakfast disgusting,also crumbs were left on the floor after being removed from our table before we sat down to breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing night away for our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decoration was in need of updating.

    The hotel was in a very nice, tranquil setting. The spa facilities were excellent and the breakfast was exceptional. The lounge was very relaxing in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.5
    I think that first impressions are important to ensure customers return and this did not happen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the lodge a small walk through a wooded area or use of the road going out of the grounds . The wooded area would have been lovely but spoiled by rubbish dumped by the hotel which was unsightly . I think coming to the end of a season and staff being let go has not helped with these issues . The whole back path to the rear door of the lodge needs spruced up . The bars downstairs were not staffed by bar staff who would know the mixing for cocktails and On a number of occasions customers had asked for cooked food at 3pm and told the chefs do not do it . One person asked for hot chocolate and was also told they did not do this . Hot chocolate was in the rooms . A little bit poor on customer service .

    The meal was enjoyable . Service was ok but felt that there was not enough trained staff in the areas needed .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were brilliant and food was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just thought that for 4 stars, especially in the restaurant and the price of the meal there should have been linen table cloths, much better wine glasses and that all the cutlery matched. Bed very soft, bedroom very warm.

    Staff were brilliant and food was awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    average, for where it is and the cost.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I needed to be at appointements early in the morning which meant leaving before 8am so I was unable to get a breakfast. To be offered a sandwich and water was appaling. I am used to traveling all over the world and was disappointed that the kettle was so far away from the tea making equipment. The lack of cable determined the stretch of the plug. My wife has a hand shake so to make tea was ahazard bringing the kettle to the height of the dresser. She could not go the other way as it meant bending down below he normal height and affecting blood pressure. The plugs aare away from the bed and I use a cpap machine so I had to find a source of power that would allow mw to reach the bed so I could breath at night. A microwave would solve a lot of the problems. Thus I could have had a breakfast. People will still use a resturant as the food is good. But their was a kitchen below and had I cuttlery I could have heted porridge and coffee and been happy. The place has great potential and you could do so much to have self catering appartments and a good garden that has its own habitat. If I had a self catering appartment with washing machine and dryer I would have stayed a week. Thus you would have a good market that would have clients all year around and still maintain the prestige of the castle. The diversification is common with austrial asia marketing and is more friendly to older clients that enjoy comforts but like feeddom of choice. Yours Andy Hynds

    The view from the castle and the quietness of the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    It was a very relaxing stay for my wife and myself and our small dog ha d to be dragged away.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our modern room could have benefited from some characterful touches...such as original paintings on the wall.

    Beautiful location, lovely pool, friendly staff, great views from the dining room over the Perthshire hills and good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff were really helpful and friendly, food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only 2 small issues for me the double bed was two single mattresses pushed together that were different heights so they were different heights. they weren't the most comfortable either. second issue was every time we went to the bar for a drink we had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for some one to come to the bar to serve, staff were really good just covering to many parts of the hotel I think.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly, food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.6
    Practically nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent one night in a family room where the quality of single beds are terrible. Totally rubbish! The breakfast was poor and dirty feeling everywhere.... My kid asked a cacao to the breakfast and it was extra charged..... :(

    Practically nothing.....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    A curate's egg - good in parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool complex looking tired - particularly changing area where several cubicles (in a unisex changing area) had non operating locks on doors - noted that this area was due for refurbishment this autumn. Found rooms very dark in decoration terms which gives impression of being small - also not helped by use of black shower wall finish in bathroom. Mattress on bed was not most comfortable and springs noisy on first lying down. Impression that for an establishment billing itself as 4* that the restaurant staff had not been trained in higher levels of service (they were very friendly and helpful but eg we felt we were being rushed to finish evening meal as the staff were setting up for breakfast around us and also the distracting noise of clearing up in the adjacent kitchen). Breakfast was Ok but uninspiring in choices - eg would have expected more than to be offered miniboxes of cereal as part of this and also for coffee to be served in pots on tables rather than to have to ask for refills.

    Impressive reception area and very warm, professional reception by staff. All staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. Liked that you could mix and match menus in the restaurant. Evening meals were good and good value from the bar menu. Greeting in restaurant reception very good. Good range of facilities on offer - liked "mini cinema" and pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay in a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    great facilities in the room...great shower We enjoyed the pool Restaurant Staff were friendly and efficient Receptionist was especially welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Very relaxing with great walks in surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the walkie-talkie system used in upstairs restaurants/bar staff and others presumably in the building or Kitchen. I was a bit off putting for me anyway.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I had delicious evening meals and good portions. There was a great selection of different seating arrangements/areas to relax in around the bar area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    looking forward to the next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quiet setting , great food, super view, and being able to swim before breakfast in a heated pool in the nice garden was wonderful........we will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lacked atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean in some places, hairs around shower from previous occupants, remained for days. Also very dated, with obvious signs of some DIY decorating. Staff seem nice, but whole atmosphere seems to lack the heart & soul usually associated with a hotel with such character. Would stay again if priced a little less.

    Room very comfortable & facilities were very good. Location & breakfast room view stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    The entrance area is spacious and looked suitably Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from people walking around upstairs & the lift. The restaurant has very odd decor - bright purple walls and tartan everywhere. It bills itself as a fine dining restaurant but I found it massively overpriced for what it was. Maybe the bar menu is better... The pool area functional but in massive need of a facelift.

    The entrance area is spacious and looked suitably Castle like. The downstairs bar also looked cosy but is a long way from the rooftop restaurant so not a natural staging point for dinner. But the restaurant did have good views. The bedroom was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu wasn’t the best. Didn’t eat dinner in the hotel as not many meat dishes a lot of vegetarian dishes

    We had a fabulous stay and will definitely be back! Staff can’t do enough for you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Knock Castle is warm and inviting and feels like a special place to spend a night. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    ladies changing room in the leisure complex now beautiful but the locker area still very tired looking. Hope it's going to get a facelift soon!

    Lovely comfortable room, bathroom/shower beautifully clean, lovely views over Crieff. Bar supper menu excellent and breakfast cooked to order which is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant surroundings and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 dishes not available on the evening bar menu Eggshells in the scrambled eggs

    Room clean and tidy; shower room and toilet beautifully done out. Choice of food excellent at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Mr & Mrs D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in an outhouse about 4 minutes walk away, our room was smelly, the toilet didn't flush, very noisy, the window was jammed open, the roof had wet patches and mould on it. The shower was instant boiling water which scolded you before you could get the cold tap to work. The shower head was broken and sprayed water all over the bathroom and was set at a fixed height. There were no parking spaces at the lodge so we had to park on the road outside. The lift in the hotel smelled of fat from the kitchen.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing time with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room staff not very co-ordinated different people asking same things. Nearly got scalded in shower as became very hot whilst in it

    Beautiful setting. Dining room views amazing. Lovely large bedroom. Very comfy bed. Reception staff very pleasant. Swimming pool lovely and cosy. Fabulous old buildiing with character

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.0
    Ok rooms terrible + overpriced dinner. I definitely won't stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    They claim their chef is among "2018 best in Scotland". This statement is so misleading as the meal we had was overpriced + terrible. Do not eat there!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Old glory
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception. Very bad parking sand difficult parking. No particular ambience although the building was lovely. Sheets on the bed looked as though they had been slept in already. Bedroom Furniture very scratched and old. Not well upkept.sad feel to the place. Needs more spirit.

    View spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    DELIGHTED!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like only getting to the Leisure facilities you have to go down a lot of steep stairs but there's a ramp you can use, other than that it was perfect.

    The breakfast was warm, fresh, and tasty, it was superb! The staff were friendly too. We didn't have dinner so I can't comment on that..... My friend and I are in our late sixties and used the pool in the evening, the pool was quite, we can't swim but we did some exercises in the pool and used the juccussi, we felt so revitalised afterwards.....The views around the hotel were lovely and the grounds were nice also.... We loved the liquid soap and hand cream in our room, it was a beauiful smell and a wonderful quality, we most definitely plan to come back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Castle hotel in Crieff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The work out area and the changing room need more care in keeping them clean. Also, while we loved the hotel, we booked spa services and found them subpar. Would not recommend going there for the spa.

    The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the views are lovely and the dining is fantastic. There is a really nice library bar that is very comfortable to relax in. Great staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The accommodation was a mini suite with separate sitting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was a mini suite with separate sitting area with a TV. There was also a TV in the bedroom. The bathroom facilities were excellent with jacuzzi bath and separate walk- in shower. Good accommodation with leisure facilities and excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pool area is a bit dated but they are doing modernization.

    I liked the Castle and especially our room the "Gleneagle". Very spacious, nice modern bathroom, comfy bed and chairs. Loved the restaurant - especially the degustation menu. Bar menu not that great. Very welcoming staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too soft and the breakfast was a bit disappointing.

    Nice friendly atmosphere. The lounge bar was very comfortable : nice to sit and relax with a drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay at Knock Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the Lodge. Access to electrical sockets eg had to put kettle on carpet , no access to a mirror when drying my hair. Would ask for room in hotel next time, a little bit of a walk to the hotel which is not a problem to us. It was raining when we were leaving hotel after dinner ,we had to borrow a member of staffs umbrella. Maybe umbrellas to be available for guests in the lodge. Thankyou for a relaxing visit to Knock Castle

    Staff were very welcoming and very professional, courteous to our requests, nothing was a bother to them etc. Thankyou David, Barry and Abbie on her first shift in the restaurant. Beautiful scented hand wash, shower gel from the Scottish soap company in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Suited the occasion,out all day. Not much time spent in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of veggie options on the menu. My room could had a bit more TLC shown lumpy Lino in the bathroom, shower pressure not the best. Carpet needs modernising

    Friendliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    A nice stay, but felt the room was a bit shabby for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the room was quite small, even as a single occupant of a double room. If I wanted to walk around the bed I needed to shut the window or duck underneath it. The cushions on the bed were stained, and I found a pizza crust behind the bedside drawers when I went to plug a charger in. I booked the hotel several weeks before travelling, and developed athletes foot before going so was unable to use the pool & spa area (despite a joke from staff saying the chlorine would take care of my foot!)

    The staff were really friendly and helpful on the front desk & in the restaurant, and discovering oaked gin was great! The food in the restaurant at breakfast (one day) and in the evening (2 nights) was really tasty, and the view from the terrace is excellent, makes for a very relaxing evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm and very peaceful and relaxing. Lovely views. Wonderful massage in spa followed by use of very clean and well maintained leisure facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    I found the property to be very clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    I found the property to be very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The room was clean and I had a great nights sleep with very comfy bed. Food very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Wow!!FANTASTIC views ,hotel staff,food,spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Green decor in room but thats only personal.

    The manager night staff and resturant were exceptionally nice ,helpfull,compitent and welcoming to myself and my dog. The gardens are lovely and well looked after by a very helpfull gardener. The view from the resturant /balcony is apsalutly amazing and the food equals the view. Thank you for making my stay so memorable and remember to get your piono tuned . I'll be back . Gill.bath store .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. Fan provided was poor quality, did not work, far too hot and stuffy. Bed uncomfortable. Not enough staff on at night in the hotel. Very bad service in the bar and people ignoring people. Skeleton staff at hotel. Very poor service, no customer care at all.

    The view from the annexe room and the size of the room. A very good breakfast. Not much staff on at breakfast time in the Restaurant. Skeleton staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Love the hotel and it’s location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was disappointing the decor and the people did not match the expectation Confusing offer-and when they decide what they want to be it will make things clearer.

    Love the hotel and it’s location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Great until the last breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our last breakfast went horribly wrong with a cold breakfast, which when sent back, returned piping hot with no warning and burnt my hand. Malcolm was great and refunded us the breakfast, but the owner ignored my email complaining about it. Food is supposed to be cooked from fresh, but our bacon and tomato were old and cold. Not good.

    Chat with the owner was great and we got an upgrade. Staff were friendly. Restaurant was good in the evenings only.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!! Exceptional dinner with the chef going out of his way to accomodate all our needs!! The Haggis was a wonderful surprise to one of our guests!! Stunning breakfast with great staff all over. thanks for making this a most memorable day in our holiday!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay in a very good hotel .
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    -Lovely gardens, which also surrounded the pool and gym. Plush public rooms and bedroom. -Friendly and helpful staff. -Excellent breakfasts. -Very good value. -Spectacular setting of the dining room (panoramic views).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Birthday Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didnt have a view! We looked onto a roof & brick walls.

    The location was amazing & the spa was great. The room was lovely with a great rain shower👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Friendly and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel, peaceful and relaxing. Every member of staff was friendly and no request was too much trouble. The food and drinks were excellent and having free use of the spa an added bonus. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a one night stay to break up a long journey but would love to stay longer next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so clean but old , which is how it should be. We stayed in the older part which we loved. Big airy rooms. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Spa amazing.Breakfast fab and dinner even better. Very good cooks!!!! Delightful grounds.... v peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely but the extension decor and some of the artwork needs updating. The extension to the building was clearly added at least a couple of decades ago and really brought down the overall character of the place. The rooms have been decorated to a great standard but the 70’s/80’s staircase and internal doors in the extension were dreadful. Period paintings aside a lot of the artwork was dated and tired. Faded prints and some art works just weren’t in keeping with the properties period. The restaurant had interesting dishes which were very expensive but didn’t find them to be top shelf. For the premium price paid I expected something a little more for both the property and the restaurant.

    Beautiful Location and building (if a little tired in places). Good service from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    A magical stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff a bit rude and service takes too long; and they have a strange process of having you look and choose from the menu in a different room before allowing you in the restaurant. However, food is excellent and all food comes locally off the land. Their chocolate dessert is amazing and the restaurant offers views of the Valley. Please don’t let this restaurant review deter from a lovely stay at this magnificent place.

    Staff goes above and beyond to help out, always there for you. Need anything just ask. Rooms are large and comfortable. The place is beautiful. Large staircase with beautiful stained glass window, many different niches, a massage pod, a pool, sauna, hot tub. A little reading nook above the stairs. The staff are always attentive and will do what they can to help out. I can’t recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    The Staff were Friendly and the peacefulness of the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Living in the Lodge, felt like living in Staff accommodation, no room service in the lodge, you had to walk to the hotel if you wanted anything?

    The Staff were Friendly and the peacefulness of the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent couple of days with first class hospitality and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can.t really fault it.

    The breakfast, and staff serving, were extremely polite and mannerly, and the food was excellent. I have heard mixed reports about differing accommodation, however, our room was excellent. Comrie Suite if I remember correctly. The Spa was nice and clean, and lovely looking out at nature, very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely relaxing day here for my daughters birthday. Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the food choice. Was quite limited for my fussy eater

    Nothing I didn’t like about this hotel. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was lovely. Has dinner and breakfast in the lovely rooftop restaurant. Only thing I would change was the menus. My daughter is a particularly fussy eater and there wasn’t a huge amount of choice for her. Food we did have was great though

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some areas of the hotel were a wee bit dusty. The hotel states that it operates a 'no technology' policy in the dining room (about which I was delighted!) but didn't enforce this as there was a couple clearly using their phones at the table next to us.

    The staff were super - very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean - quite small, but fine. Great curtains which shut out most of the light. Shower was good too. Bottles of water were replaced when finished. The pool is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A last minute booking.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A la carte menu a bit pretentious and expensive. Not a hotel for the those of restricted movement

    A last minute booking. Wonderful staff. Large room on ground floor. Lovely and light. Fantastic massage. Top breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could only stay 1 night!

    The staff were very good, the property is very pleasant indeed, our dog was welcomed and arrangements made for him to be with us when we ate. The pool etc looked great though we didn't have enough time to use it. The evening meal was very pleasant with excellent service. The grounds were a pleasure and all in all we felt well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful traditional style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to climb everywhere

    Not a place for people with walking difficulty. Otherwise excellent in every way. Food was delicious and the rooftop restaurant had spectacular views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Delightful room with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful room with wonderful views. Quiet location, very clean. Good food tho’ a la carte a bit pricey but there are other options. Didn’t get chance to use pool or spa on this occasion but we will go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved the hotel just thought the service lacked a little, not during dinner or breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for coffee and drinks late afternoon. Waiter set coffee on the bar and told us they were there, he didn't come round and put them on our table we had to get up and fetch them ourselves. Is that normal??

    The peaceful atmosphere. Lovely garden. Good food. Hotel itself was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay at the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm, to the point of being uncomfortable. The sun was on our side of the hotel, heating the room up all day. Sleeping was hard to do until we opened the window and placed a fan to blow cool air on us.

    The property was very pretty-lots of flowers. The breakfast was very good and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend staying and hopefully will return again at some point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bright, comfortable and had a great view, even from the pedestal bath, but the decor may look a little dated to some people. My wife would also have liked beans included in the breakfast menu.

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff there to help with all our needs, taxi, bar, spa etc. The spa itself was very welcome and I believe the gents changing area will be upgraded to match the lovely ladies changing area, which it could do with a little.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    So much potential, but owner needs to employ a chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner apparently does the cooking, but we got the feeling he was fed up. The restaurant looked dated and very tired. It's on the top floor and had great views. But could be so much better. The barman/ waiter was very good and polite. The waitress was too but insisted on using the word 'guys' every time she came to our table. My food was awful. My husband's starter was not good, he had the crispy Haggis, but it had been coated in so many breadcrumbs they were soggy and not cooked through. He then had the Risotto of smoked Haddock, that was good. I had the steak pie, big mistake and the vegetables were inedible. I then ordered a Creme Brulee, this had been overcooked and had curdled, you could tell as it had a grainy texture. I sent it back. My husband ordered the Eaton Mess, hmm well this consisted of a ball of ice cream on a plate surrounded by four strawberries, a little-crushed meringue a little-pipped rosette of cream and few dribbles of strawberry sauce, oh, and must not forget the little decoration made from caramelised sugar. We had coffee and drinks in the bar downstairs and while the owner was walking around he did not once come to speak to us or say anything. Not that that bothered us but surely if someone complained about the food, especially if the owner did the cooking. So much potential here if they got the food right. The chap that served us mentioned they had won an award for the hotel. We found the award and it was for the hotel, not the food. Breakfast was good but Bacon was overcooked, and one little pat of butter on the side plate. Coffee was awful as it had been stewed. Breakfast is the last meal most people have in a hotel so why not make it memorable. One other thing the kettle in the room made the water taste of plastic.

    Big bedrooms fantastic views from the room. We stayed in the lodge, 250 yards from the main hotel. Facilities were excellent even had us of a kitchen should you need one, But a big fridge so we could have cold water and milk. Staff were very polite and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was very good, although the bacon was overcooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Wasnt worth £700+ we paidfor three nights. Hote
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy in places, dirty table clothes in bar. Poor menu choice. Either very expensive or poor choice of limited bar menu no middle ground.... Rooms clean and tidy but stains on carpet and very chintzy......

    Quaintness of castle. But needs lots of tlc. Very tired in places and the three days we visited the carpet in hotel didnt look like it had been hovered Very accomadating with dog

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Won’t recommend or return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was uncomfortable. Evening meal was sub standard and overpriced. White choclate and scallops should never been on a plate together. 1 scallop halfed Overall decor is dated and needs refreshed. SPA facilities are dated and need s a good clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice for a two night break, lovely position with gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit disappointed with my starter of scallops and crab. One flattened scallop and a very small bit size piece of crab. Over priced. But food was good otherwise. Bar menu was better value. Our room was underneath the restaurant kitchen and was noisy until 11.00pm and also early morning. The room was Loch Tummel.

    Bedroom small but comfortable, nice pool and the view from the restaurant was lovely. Breakfast very good, freshly cooked and service was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Wouldnt recommend to anyone, disappointed in the overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture very worn,very dated, food was okay but nothing special at all, it was a lot of money for 1 nights stay that wasn’t all that great! Leisure facilities very much need done up, the changing rooms are nicely done up but whilst in the pool/jacuzzi, a lot of visable rust! Would recommend to anyone! I also had to double check we were in a deluxe room... old signs still up apparently and didn’t think it really looked like a deluxe room!

    nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice spot for an overnight stop
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit dated and requires some refreshing

    Location to Crieff town centre and amenities ; wonderful views from the dining room ; breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing,cosy, friendly and luxurious
    • Group
    • Castle Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached eggs weren't very good at dinner (haddock risotto) or breakfast. Whites disintegrated. Not very fresh?

    Swimming pool and changing rooms spotlesss and so relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff providing excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of disabled access at the front door. Hotel decor is jaded and needs refreshed. Although rooms have a fan they could do with air conditioning as the room was very warm overnight and this is only May.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful views from the roof top restaurant and the gardens. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely location, a step back in time, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main door closes at 11pm. No response from door bell.They give you code to get back in after hours, but we were so tired after travelling, we did not remember this info. I suggest they emphasise this information more and advise people to store this code, on their mobile phones. Thankfully they answered the phone and we got the code. Breakfast quite good. Nice fruit, selection of juices and cereal. But I felt that it was a bit greasy, all fried, rather than grilled, the sausages felt pre cooked and just re- fried. No Bar meals available for guests, which people may prefer to full restaurant dining. This hotel could do with a top chef to establish a reputation for themselves. It would certainly draw people both local, national and international. Groups would also enjoy the atmosphere here and could get a first class dining if this were on offer. More signs in the town advertising the hotel and directions would be helpful.

    Really lovely location, a step back in time, very comfortable and peaceful with truly spectacular views, comfy bed, spotless room, luxury bathroom with high quality Scottish toiletries, beautiful and tranquil grounds, with gorgeous plants. Luxury sheets, rooms are all Scottish place names rather than numbers. A nice touch! Dressing gowns provided. A short walk to town. Friendly staff, Lovely atmosphere throughout, bar is great. A real Scottish country feel. Restaurant is very nice on top floor with a separate terrace and has the most wonderful views anywhere! A great alternative to Crieff Hydro for those that want a quiet relaxing time and avoiding lots of children running around making a loud noise! Flexible breakfast times up to 10am were attractive, rather than staying a local guest house with set early breakfast times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Start to finish loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was to late for us as we were going to a wedding that's all wee loved the place.

    Staff were so helpful loved the baronial style of the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, outstanding staff and stunning views. Perfect romantic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was extremely clean and well presented, there was a wee damp patch on the roof and the wallpaper had started to peel.

    Staff were spot on the minute we walked into reception and all throughout our stay. The views were magnificent from all areas. The pool, hot tub and steam room and sauna were lovely and had the luck to have it all to ourselves! The room was very clean (although could do with a wee bit of TLC), bathroom was beautifully done and the shower was great. Amazing views from the bar/restaurant on the upper floor. Breakfast was great in the morning and again, the service was top class. Had a wonderful weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we could moan about was no bread roll with the soup at lunchtime, seems unfair to moan though when everything was so good

    Staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble for them, helpful beyond what was expected of them, room was fab, clean and spacious with a monster sized bed, made our dog very welcome, would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Second best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated a very disappointing room on arrival nothing like website. Had to ask to be moved seemed strange they would use inferior rooms when the hotel was very quiet of guests.

    The spa area was exceptional, loved every minute.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: