Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Knoll Country House 5 stars

Lakeside, Newby Bridge, LA12 8AU, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Newby Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving

    The choice at breakfast was superb (and huge) and the quality of food was outstanding. The room was lovely and the wifi connection good. Shower was superb and the cleanliness over the whole house very good. A superb place to stay and a place which the owners should be very proud of.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Denise was a lovely host & went out of her way to make our stay absolutely superb. Ali & Sheryl were exceptionally helpful & nothing was to much trouble. Thanks ladies looking forward to seeing you all very soon😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Perfect for the start of our holiday in the lakes.....100% recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night!

    The house was absolutely beautiful for its settings and the interior was well kept. The hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive, this made us feel very welcome. The bed was so comfy, especially after a 27 hour flight from New Zealand! Breakfast was 10/10 :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful accommodation. Attention to detail in the room and whole house. Lovely breakfast. Walk to get ferry ride. Quiet, pretty surroundings. Loved sitting in the lounge relaxing having a drink after a busy day around the Lakes. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better view . However we were on the top floor.

    My experience at the knoll country house, bed & breakfast was wonderful. On arrival I was created and offered various option of eating places, including The Knoll, who catered for evening meals, and even packed lunches. The room was gorgeous, and the king size bed an absolute dream to sleep in. Breakfast was priority for me as a vegan, and the knoll offered full vegan options in everything, breakfast was delicious. I couldn't fault the staff or the knoll. Perhaps if I was being picky , the only thing that could have made it perfect in every way, was a better view, but still, it wasn't bad. Thankyou for making my stay enjoyable. We will definatly book again near Christmas. Dr Helen Hewitt Cheshire

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Everyone was really friendly and no request was too much...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was really friendly and no request was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection and one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had in a hotel. I only stayed for one night on business, but will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park a bit tight but not a real problem

    Excellent attention to detail, really comfy room, wonderful breakfast and delicious meat/cheese platter

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bed (double). The person that greeted me was not very welcoming- tried to make me feel bad about the two of us bringing separate cars. The car parking is not great.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very welcoming, and always busy doing things around the hotel to ensure it was up to her standard. She was very friendly, and actually the only staff member we saw when we were there! The breakfasts were amazing, cooked to perfection, and the rooms were beautifully presented. A home away from home!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities. Room was superb. Breakfast was lovely. I highly recommend the platters for evening meal. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Ideal location for Lakeside ferries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great, definitely stay again. Friendly, high quality boutique experience....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking ok, but a bit of a dodgy exit onto a bend, suggest you use the curved mirror opposite the driveway exit. We were ok in my partners Evoque but i am glad i didn't take my A6 Avant as the car park is tight. To walk to nearest pub/ bar you have to walk the road but its ok if you are used to that.

    Very attentive and friendly service. The owners stay out of your way, but encourage you to ask if you need anything. Breakfasts are amazing, very well cooked and tailorable to suit. Great location, southern tip of Windermere and everywhere easily accessible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful, relaxing and perfectly placed for west Windermere walking and the nearby lake itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with Knoll House but the prices for food and drink in the nearby Swan and Lakeside are preposterous. There's recommendations in the room for where to have dinner (Knoll does a limited platter in the evening which we didn't try but if it's as good as breakfast it's going to be great). We'd recommend The Hare and Hounds at both Bowland Bridge and Levens are superb.

    It's a beautiful building in a beautiful location. Rooms are very well appointed, staff are welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable, it is liiterally next door to a beautiful walking route and the breakfasts are fantastic. It's exactly as advertised.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Extremely homely and stunning property, delight to stay here - a hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tadge warmer please.

    This house is absolutely stunningly decorated inside, mixture of original fittings (floor tiles on entrance through to the back) and sympathetic modern furnishings create a fabulous atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous! Cosy, comfortable accommodation in peaceful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the retreat annexe which exceeded my expectations. Booked it as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday and it couldn’t have been more perfect. Cosy, comfortable, beautifully decorated and well equipped and the private hot-tub was fabulous (even in the rain!) Didn’t have much need to venture into the main house (which I can only imagine is just as wonderful!) and were left to our privacy, but the hosts were very welcoming on check-in & check-out & made it clear how we could contact them if needed. The accommodation is only a few minutes walk from Lake Windermere & the Lakeside attractions (boat trips etc) and the surrounding area is very idyllic. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Room was lovely, rest of house also beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely, rest of house also beautiful. Jen was great and took such good care of us. A very relaxing stay. Would definitely recommend and will be back. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Top notch from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Knock-out hotel. Run by lovely people, beautiful room, fantastic breakfast, brilliantly located for boats/ferries across the lake, close to a woodland park. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect The atmosphere with candles and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect The atmosphere with candles and a welcoming sitting room was delightful. Bedroom smalll but perfectly formed with superb shower, shinier than any I have ever used. The staff/owners were lovely, and the breakfast was fabulous - fresh fruit and local jams as well as wonderful full Cumbrian, beautifully cooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a fabulous place. We were made to feel very welcome. The staff were all very lovely and attentive without being intrusive. We had a wonderful relaxed evening sitting in the garden sharing a platter of food and a bottle of wine. No full menu available but that suited us as we thoroughly enjoyed our platter of meat and cheeses etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Denise was extremely welcoming and couldn't have done more for us. She gave us recommendations for walks and great pub lunches introduced us to her dogs and Louis the cat. We were staying in the Retreat so we were left to enjoy our stay in the serene surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A real relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real relaxing break. Rooms were spacious with nice decor. Food was lovely and fresh. Staff were friendly and great fun. Great value for money. The hotel was in a good location - about 330yards from the Lakeside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Staff very helpful with suggestions for local restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very limited, but managed just about, not fault of owners, just the way it is.

    Staff very helpful with suggestions for local restaurants, room was excellent, very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent , freshly prepared and hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking was adequate but could benefit from a bit of re-organisation.

    Breakfast was excellent , freshly prepared and hot. Room was spotless as was the rest of the public areas. Denise was a fine host and we felt she was interested in her guests. We would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A lovely, tranquil surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faultless! A lovely, tranquil surprise. We booked this without too much investigation and were really pleased by this lovely, relaxed boutique hotel. The breakfasts were lovely and the evening platter and wine made for an ideal stay. The hosts were warm, witty and helpful. The decor was modern and beautifully restored and everything was impeccably clean. Its central to everything you'd want to do in the Lakes and you are provided with a great listing of food places to visit; their recommendations were spot on. Would stay again and infact will recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    A lovely place to break our journey to the Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Spacious and very comfortably furnished room.All the members of the hotel staff we met knew and used our Christian names which was a friendly informal touch. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Would love to return and I recommend it strongly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing! Good choice, tasty and fresh. Bed was soft and large. The surroundings were beautiful. Denise and Jenny our hosts were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in the Lake District in a very wonderful guest house with warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not especially powerful but this was a minor minor thing and does not hamper my views on what was a great stay in a wonderful Guest House.

    The accommodation had everything we needed. A lovely room and excellent breakfast. Would definitely visit again and will be recommending to family and friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic Luxury Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The retreat was a gorgeous place to get away from the hustle and bustle of real life, it also helps tha the Knoll is situated far enough off the beaten track so you don’t hear the distant hum of the road that you would in properties closer to the touristy areas. The apartment is completely self contained, and at no point did we need to venture into the other part of the hotel, as everything was conducted in the apartment. The hot tub was gorgeous and easy to access. Would strongly encourage taking your own food and drink supplies so as to really make the most of this self contained apartment. Thank you for having us, we had a fantastic time!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing!!!!!

    Everything was fantastic, the hospitality, the food, the room and facilities. Couldn’t ask for anything more also couldn’t recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations. Sad to come home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home

    Fantastic location, beautifully clean, breakfast was everything you could ask for and more. Staff, Denise in particular went that extra mile and nothing was too much trouble. We will def be returning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous decor, superb food, relaxed atmosphere, attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Fabulous decor, superb food, relaxed atmosphere, attentive staff, and lots of nice touches such as coffee bags in the room instead of instant....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Nostalgic, classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The seating in the lounge could be more comfortable and modern

    The ambience, the warmth of the members of the family business, excellent food. I can confidently recommend this property to anyone who seeks a different experience...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Attention to detail could not be faulted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    liked everything

    Attention to detail could not be faulted. The staff were friendly, help full and provided everything we required with a smile. The room was spotless and cleaned daily. It was home from home ,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    The choice of breakfast was excellent, all freshly cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    access to the front of the house was accessible only from one direction. If you missed it, as i did, you then had to turn around go back up the road, turn around again and try and get it right the second time around. not too bad during the day but unnerving at night :)

    The choice of breakfast was excellent, all freshly cooked. Large room with 4 poster bed was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    perfect weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4 poster bedroom was as beautifully decorated as any 5 star hotel, the owners are so warm & friendly and the location is fantastic.We were up late & didn't do breakfast however we were offered bacon sandwiches to take on our journey home, where else would you get offered that? a perfect weekend away

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot tub was not mentioned in the room pack so not sure if working or not

    Just a lovely ambience with fires in the evening. scented candles, excellent food both breakfast and evening meal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, would I go again hmmm probably not because I think I did it all. 3 days was plenty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved it all but it would be very dull for children I would think, also more pricey than you think down there so make sure you have £5 ready for any pint and around £40 odd for dinner for 2 if you're paying!

    Breakfast was great and filling, which was included in the nights stay. A few good walks if you like that. The lake was down the road only a 10 minute walk, there you could do a few boat trips or visit the aquarium.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    lovely stay and felt very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wiffi and no mobile phone signal in the area.

    The area was divine and the hotel was very cute and friendly staff, but the wifii was poor in the hotel and there was no mobile phone signal in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Happy, welcoming, cosy, treasure of a find. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area is compact. Not an issue if you are a confident driver mind you and it is certainly manageable!

    The wonderful welcome and service from all the staff. The cosy lounge is very inviting too - we had a delicious platter in front of the fire the night we arrived. Music playing is a lovely touch too, adds to the atmosphere. Food was fabulous. Definitely a place worth revisiting in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    We will definitely return, because it is a great little hotel in spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely and the food excellent. The rooms are very nice, and there is a cosy lounge, with a real fire. The location is ideal for exploring the area, a short walk from the Lakeside ferry terminal (for Bowness and Ambleside) and train station, and a short drive to the some of the best the Lakes has to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Without doubt, this was one of the best -if not THE best B&B experience we have had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything! Couldn't have been better! Wifi was a bit weak from time to time, but nothing that we couldn't deal with.

    Fabulous breakfast menu - traditional, veggie and vegan. Everything was freshly cooked, which meant that you might have to wait a few minutes longer. But wow, it was worth it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Alright for one night but would not recommend it.Staff were very nice and friendly.That was all we l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lounge bar for drinks.No evening meals.Decor very drab.In need of recant badly.All room very dark apart from breakfast room.Not much parking area and access right on bend.

    Breakfast cooked to order.Therefore fresh.Lovely.Excellent choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    We felt the stay was poor value for money in view of all the faults. We expected higher standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No full meals were available in the evenings. Meals on the website had been much-hyped. The Wi-Fi didn't work at all. The tv didn't work properly. A number of channels were missing or had no sound. The bedside alarm-radio didn't work, because it had no aerial. The fire doors creaked dreadfully, just for the want of a drop of oil. The stairs creaked loudly. The lighting in the bedroom was so poor it was impossible to read. There was no water available on the Wednesday morning (not their fault .... a mains burst).

    The breakfasts were exceptionally good and well-served.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight. Tricky pulling off property to road.

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely, quiet, comfortable room. Staff very hospitable. Beautiful building. Great attention to details. Bathrobes! Luxury.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Had an amazing weekend with my wife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the private car park at retreat was hard to turn thats all , perfect otherwise

    AMAZING , Hot tub could b a little more discreet like something to cover so windows cant see as was naked mostly ha

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    nice place to stay and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as always the lighting in hotel/b&b's is never what you need no matter where you are.

    lovely breakfast, comfortable rooms although not modern but fitting for the style of property..very nice staff and owners..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    PERFECT, THANK YOU :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful location, the house was cosy and lovely. I have recently been to a 4 star hotel and this guest house is definitely more like 5 stars. High standards, room was very clean, bed was comfy, Breakfast was amazing, good quality food and drinks. Excellent value for money. Lovely staff, extremely friendly and welcoming. Didn't want to leave :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    Warm welcome. Friendly professional staff, comfortable room. Great food the breakfast is amazing. Spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location. Everything was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    A Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not connect to wifi and mobile service was poor. I did not notify the hotel staff I couldn't log on as I only discovered it after 11pm and it wasn't really a problem. My husband considered it a positive!

    We received a very warm welcome. We arrived early so while the room was prepared we were provided with refreshments. The hotel is friendly, cosy and clean. The room was spacious, well furnished and comfortable, with all the facilities you would expect. The breakfast was excellent with a really good choice and I especially liked the Hawkshead preserves. I booked it because it was a perfect location for us attending a wedding at the Lakeside Hotel. I found I had discovered a gem and I will certainly consider it again for a relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Great B&B could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is a bit tight when there are more than 5 cars

    The room facilities, cleanliness, breakfast options are as good as you would get in any 5 star Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything! Lovely accommodation, welcoming staff, well equipped room, comfy bed, good choice breakfast served by a lady who couldn't have been more helpful. Within easy walking distance from Lakeside on Lake Windermere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Superb accommodation & food in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The parking was awkward, especially trying to get out where we sometimes had to back out onto the main road on a blind corner. There was no mobile phone signal and although we sometimes connected to the guest house wifi it kept dropping off so to all intents & purposes was useless.

    Excellent food and very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    wonderful staff, great food, fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the comfiest hotel ever with wonderful, friendly, cheerful staff. We planned an impromptu trip to the lake district and so ended up arriving a little earlier than the check in time but the staff were more than happy to show us our room and make sure we had everything we needed. Our room was lovely with a massive comfy bed and spotless bathroom. It looked onto the side/back of the property so our view was of the surrounding forest. It took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the aquarium and 20 minutes to walk to a wonderful restaurant and a few great pubs. When we arrived back at the hotel at night we were able to get a few drinks and sit in the lounge listening to music and enjoying the peacefulness. The décor is beautiful and we were made to feel like we were at home. In the morning we were served a fantastic breakfast - if/when we return to this part of the lake district I would come here for the breakfast alone! Check out was easy, although I didn't want to leave!! Overall an A++ hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Secluded spot, the people running the guest house were very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a disaster, and there's only patchy mobile reception so it was a bit like being in a communications black hole, which is great if you're on holiday, but not so great when you're working. I arrived at 7pm (after a 5 hour drive from London) to be told that having dinner would be a problem and there was only one dish available. A huge disappointment as much is made in the description of the restaurants use of local ingredients. If orders need to be made early in the day this should be made clear when you book. The food was excellent though.

    Secluded spot, the people running the guest house were very friendly, great breakfast, comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only regret we didn't spend longer

    Everything was amazing! The house itself is enchanting in a beautiful area, they were very welcoming offering tea on arrival, the beds were very comfortable and I would definitely recommend dinner it was absolutely fantastic. I would love to come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Did not dine in the restaurant but if breakfast was anything to go by it would have been excellent. Weather was cold and wet but the heating was on in all rooms which was very welcome after a day braving the elements.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and a lovely room and despite my next comment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficulties and as previously reported difficulties with Wifi we also found that the description was slightly misleading or perhaps we misinterpreted it. Dinner was ordered when a list was left out to complete in the afternoon and no bar was visible a doorbell was available to call staff.

    Friendly staff and a lovely room and despite my next comment we had a lovely time and enjoyed the food would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Pretty !! Perfect !! & Peaceful !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time at The Knoll but won't be our last. Very impressed from the welcome when we arrived, the lovely room and a beautiful evening meal in their restaurant. We enjoyed a full breakfast before we left. The customer service and attention to detail was excellent. Thank you for a very pleasant stay with you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Stay at The Knoll
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. It was absolutely perfect!!

    Fantastic stay. Highly recommend staying at The Knoll. Incredibly welcoming, warm, friendly and every detail thought of and taken care off. Will be staying again very soon! An absolute delightful!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Lovely accommodation and wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had to find something, the only thing I would have to say is that the driveway comes out on a corner, so you need to be careful pulling out, but that's hardly a comment worth even stating. Great place to stay!

    The staff, food and accommodation was lovely, very classic B&B with dinner available too. Lovely little lounge room with a fire going in the evenings and not far from plenty of attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Hotel, Looked Great, smelt great, clean, lovely Decor, brilliant location, excellent food, very welcoming Staff.. poor wifi upstairs.. that was my only problem !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    The Retreat was exactly that beautifully furnished and very private with the wow factor Hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we didn't have an option for Evening meal with the hotel and with being in the out in the sticks we had to travel to nearby Ulverston and buy something to cook ourselves in the small kitchen provided which was fine and nice in the end but would have loved to have a real oven rather than a microwave Grill other than that perfect couple of nights in the Knoll Retreat Thanks

    The privacy of the Retreat was excellent and just what we needed the day after our wedding, it was beautifully furnished and the Hot Tub was amazing. not to mention the breakfast lots of options but I can vouch for the Full English breakfast and the continental cold cut meats and cheese also

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    A relaxing, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome, comfortable room, good breakfast with very helpful service. The Knoll was covered with Christmas lights on our arrival which made it feel very special. Would certainly make a return visit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel made to feel very welcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel made to feel very welcomed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Great experience although booking direct would have been cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bathroom although water pressure was a bit iffy Breakfast was superb and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    It was lovely and secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely and secluded Peaceful Very warm and cosy Amazing location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Really cosy stay. Comfy room, great breakfast, friendly hosts :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every little detail thought about and made perfect. Great hosts, really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Amazing! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy and cosy! Very accommodating and convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Lovely property, full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property, full of character. Gorgeous room. Really friendly owners. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing breakfast and excellent location. Staff really friendly and very accommodating!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Comfy short stay in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was a little cramped and difficult to get in and out of.

    The decor was lovely and inviting. Friendly staff and nice quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Hope to go back one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had a shower worthy of a Lakeland waterfall! Breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Super comfy bed, great breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed, great breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: