Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kyle Hotel ‘A Bespoke Hotel’ 3 stars

Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh, IV40 8AB, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 hotels in Kyle of Lochalsh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1010 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Kyle of Lochalsh represented our furthest north on our grand round tour of Scotland by rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chose kipper for breakfast, I thought we were in the heart of kipper country, How wrong can you be! I suspect that the kipper had been cooked in the micro wave - never a good thing with fish but particularly kippers. The porridge scored far better on the traditional cuisine scale. Very temped to go for second helpings but needs be my waistline dictated enough is sufficient unto the day.

    The restaurant staff were always very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    A good value for money hotel, pretty basic, but the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV fell off the wall when I tried to adjust it's position.

    A good value for money hotel, pretty basic, but the bed was comfortable and the shower and other facilities were good. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast offering was great, and included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced average hotel, food okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does nothing special, looks dated and is a little overpriced but is busy due to its location.

    Breakfast is pretty good, plenty options and cooked to order.Hotel is located in the centre of town near to the shops.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, staff was very friendly, breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very tired looking, some water leakage in the bathroom and the halls were very narrow.

    Location is good, staff was very friendly, breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great centre for a touring holiday, nice and near Railway Station and close to Skye Bridge for walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar, lounge etc a bit bare in appearance

    Staff brilliant, food excellent, bedrooms small but comfortable and shower good. Bedroom doors have strong fire door closers which means that doors are noisy also single glazing means consensation on windows. Whole place looked refurbished, carpets furniture etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Good experience but abit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seemed abit pokey, i didnt like the two windows which looked out onto awall and had a walkway past them too. Husband said bed abit hard too but i found it ok, compared to other places we have stayed on our journey think it was abit over priced

    Good clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Memorable!! for the wrong reasons, we moved to the EXECUTIVE room for the second night!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drab room very much in need of a total refurbishment together with the need to install attractive curtains and curtain rail. Homely bedding needed. Lighter furniture needed to replace the dark brown outdated furniture in what is a dark room having a tiny window. The outlook from the window was unattractive and dismal. There was a lot of water damage due to condensation in the window and bathroom. We were offered a second room which was slightly better. (Pictures added). For our second night the staff did their best to improve our stay and so we were offered the executive room which was an improvement but it too was suffering from condensation damage particularly around the windows. The shower curtains were very mouldy due to them never being allowed adequate time to dry properly.

    Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.6
    Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired and in need of complete updating. Room had been cleaned but window was broken and bathroom door did not line up with doorframe so was difficult to close. We were touring Scotland on the North Coast 500 route and stayed in 12 different hotels. This one was by far the worst.

    Location in centre of town,close to Skye Bridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.0
    Bespoke Hotel? Maybe in the 1930’s. Terrible-don’t waste your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. 3 nights here were the worst hotel ever stayed in. Bed was like sleeping on bricks as matress was so used there was no padding left. Torture light above the bed is a 12” round shade encasing a led light which cannot be turned off making it impossible to sleep as it is far too bright for a night light. Great if you are under 7 years old. Only a vanity light in working order in the bathroom as main light did not. Hid a little of the huge rust stains that were down the shower tiled wall where the handrail is with non stainless steel screws holding it on. We were in room 34 and had not 1 not 2 not even 3 but FOUR doors outside our room. A double set leading down to reception, a fire door, a door from the double doors to the fire door and a door from the double doors and the single door leading to the next level. All of these doors were located by our headboard end of the room and the walls were so paper thin it was constant banging and vibration through the headboad when everyone was going out of a morning and again when everyone was coming in at stupid o’clock after a night out along with the large area between the doors (again right by our heads) where people would gather and have a conversation before breakfast or bed. The tv was on constant freeze frame every 2 seconds but that was not a concern as we tried to spend as little time in the hotel as possible. Our view was a white painted brick wall with a bush trying to cheer it up other than that we saw nothing out of the window. No hairdryer in the room but available from reception I was told on check out (could not find info on that in the room). All of this was explained to reception at check out who asked why no compaint had been made earlier and we explained one-we should not have had to and two- they were full so where were the going to move us. We were offered some compensation. We did not eat (even the included breakfast) as we did not trust the behind scenes prep. A bespoke hotel? NEVER!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say "no comment" but the place is so overpriced for the dreary conditions, and it has the gall to call itself "bespoke"!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Fine for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was nothing special, but the breakfast was fine

    I have read some very negative comments about this hotel, however it was fine for a one night stopover during a longer trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Great comfortable bed and freshly cooked breakfast to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entering from the car park people had no regard for fellow travellers and the door banged constantly in the evening. Granted this stopped at 10pm and it was peaceful overnight.

    Great comfortable bed and freshly cooked breakfast to order. Very cheerful helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were terrific, nothing was to much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were terrific, nothing was to much. Food was very good and the view across the bay watching a cruise liner come into dock. Lots of places to visit in the region

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfy bed. Beautifully clean all through. Best of all, we were able to have our window open all night - safe and quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Not the best for price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel. In need of an upgrade. Room was very small. Small window and Not much natural light getting in due to dyke ourside window. Disappointing breakfast.

    Bathroom was clean and shower was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    For 1 night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not comfortable at all, very noisy starting from 7am with the ladies cleaning the empty rooms nearby. The shower cabin was not clea. Does not worth the price at all.

    Well located in front of the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel to start your Isle of Skye day trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were flat.

    Hotel is in a central location with some limited water views. Room size was ok, ensuite was small but tenable. Wi-Fi and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    good hotel, laking in some areas but amazing when compared with the cheap price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    on the whole there wasn't to much wrong but the rooms didn't block sound all that well, the restaurant (as good as it was) was almost always booked up meaning you had to book at breakfast and tourist information was fairly lacking.

    Breakfast was great, particularly The toast, that was fantastic. the evening desserts were especially good, the sides were also great, the room service was well done (particularly the biscuits) and the showers were incredibly pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    very good breakfast. As a whole: OK, but not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments

    Why forget that families usually includes member older than 18 years? Our daughter is 43, and is the best travel companion you can imagine!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bathroom door and the bed creaked and bashed the wall every time you moved. (These are very simple to fix and it’s just apathy on the part of the staff) Went to breakfast after a bus load had been through, table of food depleted and messy. Our evening meal in the bar although tasty was not value for money! Very small portion of salmon (considerably less than 100g). Very narrow corridor littered with linen and towels after bus load had all checked out but the rest of the guests were trying to leave their rooms and get along the corridor with luggage. Lead to believe this establishment was much better than it actually was.

    Parking and level access to rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit too expensive given how dated everything was.

    The location was perfect - right in the centre of town. The room was quite big and had plenty of natural light. We were surprised to find fast and stable wifi in our room. Breakfast was huge and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, couldn’t get warm / hot shower, reported it to desk, overall low quality accommodation for £130.

    Not happy with the quality of this hotel for the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel we have ever stayed in and one of the most expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pushing it calling it "bespoke" . The whole place is tired and dated. The bedrooms are small, uncomfortable, dated and the bedding is worn. It is very noisy . You can hear people all around closing doors and walking and talking half of the night.

    the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again and would recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was welcoming and comfortable. Parking was very convenient and off road and the location was perfect for visiting the Isle of Skye. Food in their restaurant was varied and substantial and their breakfast fare was varied and delicious. Best price for a beer and wine in our travels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was perfect for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny showers. Could use bathroom upgrades.

    The location was perfect for our trip. It was right near the loch and the hotel was in good condition for being an older hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, pleasant, good value and trouble free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and comfortable. They helped me to put my bike somewhere safe and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The decor wasn't new or fancy but everything was comfortable and it worked. I had a pleasant beer in the bar, excellent fish and chips in the restaurant and the early breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of the room was a little on the high side for the design and size of the room. The other rooms we stayed in were larger, better views and lower priced.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were helpful. The food was good with a good range of meals to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Not as bad as it looks at first sight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standing in my cycling wear when checking in, the lady at the counter asked me if I wanted to park my CAR... even twice? The building looks rather old and needs an update. Some spaces are just not functional anymore.

    It is located centrally in town and the food in the restaurant was ok. I was helped well when asking about how the lock on the door functions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated and run down. We supposedly had a double bed but it was two singles pushed together and one of them had a spring poking out and creaked every time you moved! Breakfast was obviously batch cooked as I could’ve played football with the eggs!

    Great location!! Bathroom was clean. Staff were all friendly except the receptionist and the cleaners!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    The Isle of Skye was magnificent even though the weather was very changeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good in centre of Kyle of Lochalsh. Easy access to Isle of Skye by bridge. Good room with easy access from on-location parking at rear of property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location and food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy after 7:15 in the morning; all the doors slammed shut. Difficult to sleep as others got up early and theirs doors slammed as they went out. You could also hear them talking in the corridor.

    Restaurant staff were excellent at breakfast and dinner and reception staff were also good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost was a little excessive for the standard of accommodation. That said compared to Main Land Skye it's cheap at half the price. The hotel is showing her age a little and in need of a face lift. The shower was missing a rail and the décor a little over the top. I get the impression there isn't a lot of return custom, the small issues I'm raising are probably raised a lot but they aren't remedied as people have no choice but to stay there. Like I said, much cheaper than Portree and in easy driving distance.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The little I needed was taken care of with a minimum of fuss. Evening meal and breakfast were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated, 70s / 80s decor in room and public areas. Needs updating. Cooked breakfast very greasy however service was good. Fire doors were held open by fire extinguishers leading to car park! Staff disagreements on table clearance whilst having breakfast (Faulty Towers!)

    Bar area was good, pool table, large TV. Plenty parking spaces. Easy access to rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is located just off the highway and is a 15 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold on the shower curtains, and stains on the bedsheets

    The hotel is located just off the highway and is a 15 minute drive from Eilean Donan Castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    The room in itself would have been OK if refurbished, though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the hotel is rather dated and therefore gives a very "tired" impression

    The room in itself would have been OK if refurbished, though a bit small. The bed was good and there was a good desk. Convenient location. We left for an early train and were offered a tasteful "breakfast package" to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    The reception check in was very unpolite and unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception check in was very unpolite and unfriendly... For 140 pounds a night we would consider more kindness. Anything else was not on a '140 pound' level, more on a hostel level

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    A geat place to stay to take in the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area has a good deal of history and is a great place to walk around. Although the property is old it is in good condition and very clean. A great place to stay and good value. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Off the beaten path with excellent views, food and staff. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sister and I were traveling together and prefer same room but separate beds. There was only one such room and it was taken. We were given our choice of the other rooms which was good.

    We were traveling through Scotland and wanted more than a corporate hotel experience and to stay outside the city limits. With a gorgeous view of the loch from our bedroom picture window, full service breakfast/dinner/bar service a lovely welcoming and acommodating staff - we got the whole package. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    OVERPRICED HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged 115 pounds per night for a very average room only worth 60-70 pounds. The shower door was broken and reported but nothing appeared to be have been done. We would have gone elsewhere but that meant forfeiting 230 pounds. Would not recommend this hotel at these prices. FAR TOO EXPENSIVE.

    Breakfast selection was good. Overp

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff served a brilliant Scottish...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative really. The rooms were small but functional, very clean. Great for an overnight stay whilst touring on our motorcycles.

    Friendly and helpful staff served a brilliant Scottish breakfast. Would stop here again for sure. A big thank you to all your staff who worked very hard but never complained. Very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Unfortunately, we had some car trouble and couldnt make it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we had some car trouble and couldnt make it in time for our reservation but Maggie was extremely understanding and helpful! Great customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.0
    Was ok for just the one night but not longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift bed was uncomfortable

    Staff were good bed was uncomfortable breakfast Was ok, as was the WiFi. The back of the hotel needs some TOC . It was handy as close to bus and rail stations. No lift was a bit of a bind but receptionist was good enough to take the bag to the top of the stairs but not to the room???

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.2
    The worst hotel we have stayed in for decades
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made the mistake of booking into the Kyle Hotel over the internet, but there is a sad lack of choice in Kyle of Lochalsh for those arriving by train to enjoy an evening in the Western Highlands. The whole place was tacky and felt as if it was falling apart. We paid £125 to stay one night in a place worth less than £25. We could not get out of the Kyle Hotel quickly enough in the morning to the extent we caught the 06.11 train back to Inverness. Whoever called it a 'Bespoke Hotel' has pretty low standards!

    The staff were friendly. Our room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    I'll be back. This was my 2nd stay and the location and price are perfect for short stays near Skye!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably because I booked at the last minute with only one or two rooms left, my room view was of a wall. Not a huge issue if you plan to be out and about most of the time!

    Great location for visitors to Skye, nice bar and restaurant, large car park is perfect for touring guests. I had evening meal in the bar and the food was nice, perhaps slightly over priced, but this didn't stop me enjoying the meal. Breakfast was lovely and being available early in the day allows you to check out and head off to explore the surrounding area. I'd recommend staying here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to train station. Room comfortable and clean. Bar was very relaxing place to eat the evening meal. Staff were welcoming and helpful. I wasn’t expecting much but our stay was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable with very poor quality fabric.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor evening meal. Shabby quality of bedroom furniture. Cupboard nearly fell to bits when you opened a drawer. The window had lost its hinges. Paintwork lacked paint.

    The bed was comfortable. Unloading and loading was good. Pleasant staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    A good budget hotel for overnight stops. Lively bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly shabby and run down but acceptable for overnight stops.

    A good budget hotel for overnight stops. I would not want to spend a week here. A lively bar which doubles as the local pub in Kyle. No noise in the rooms though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful hotel, give it a miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is grossly overpriced - the Internet price with booking.com was more than the check in tariff by £15. The room furniture was scuffed and marked, curtains not hung properly and hanging off the rail. The bed was two singles pushed together to make one large (uncomfortable) bed. The duvet cover had small holes in it and the actual duvet inside was OLD, grey and tatty. I had to have a shower in the morning because I felt grubby after sleeping under it. The bathroom was OK with a good shower but the toilet toll holder was appallingly dirty. The 'restaurant' was more like motorway cafe standard and breakfast was not good either in that it had been standing and kept warm for a while. Sorry, but I couldn't find anything positive to report.

    Glad that we weren't booked to stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Was good value and adequate but could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside is off putting and needs some attention. Even the word Kyle is missing so it just says Hotel! Staff could make more effort.

    Convenient for station and town amenities. Good value. Staff pleasant but rather off hand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Well run, comfortable and convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot

    The room was small but comfortable. The food was good,and the service excellent. The hotel is convenient for the station and the town, but in a quiet location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    More than adequate for what I needed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing cold on arrival. The door to the shower was hanging off. The other patrons in the bar in the evening were using loud and foul language. Didn't offend me, just unnecessary.

    Breakfast was fine. The lady on reception was very attractive. It was accessible, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfy, no frills, courteous staff and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only quibble - the floorboards in the corridor right outside the room. Every time someone walked past -what a racket!! Not good if you liked a very early night or a late sleep. However, it was quiet during the night when I was there.

    Fine place to stay to rest and lay your head. If you want frills, then you will be disappointed. Room comfy and clean. Staff very polite and approachable. Great breakfast and attentive service from the courteous staff. Very close to all town facilities, yet it was quiet during the night/early morning and woke up to the sound of birds....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Not nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was just very depressing! It was dark and every time the guests were walking past my room along the narrow corridor, the floor vibrated. It wasn't a very nice room! The cooked breakfast was also awful!

    The bed was comfortable and everything was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Awful never go there again even if free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was shabby, food was poor I had to send mine back as it was inedible. The price was extortionate for what we got If the hotel had been a dog I would have put it down

    The only good thing was the shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    We ordered food in the bar area just before they stopped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was out dated, furniture was old and some shelves were missing. Bathroom was bright pink, water boiling hot in the sink, shower very small, it was difficult to move around.

    We ordered food in the bar area just before they stopped serving at 9pm and it was very nice, breakfast simple but nice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    Disaster. Stay well clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price @ 115£ was ridiculously high for the state of the place. Bed was awful. Room horrendous. Pillows, towels and sheets stained. I nearly left and booked another hotel it was that bad. Probably the worst value for money I have ever experienced. No exaggeration.

    The Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Building needs a bit of tlc but a pleasant stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite dear but that seems par for the course in that part of the world. Our window catch was broken which meant the room was a bit draughty but we solved that ourselves and reported it in the morning.

    Good location and a comfortable room. Had a very good evening meal in the bar and a good breakfast the latter included in the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    breakfast good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tatty, particularly the bathroom with wobbly tiles, cracked and bits of boxing of pipes coming off, handled on drawers lose etc. Expensive for what it was.

    breakfast good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant location in Kyle of Lochalsh, and a very weloming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful old building, but did have trouble with the lock on the room door, very hard to close. Everyone staying in the hotel was slamming their door so assume they also had trouble with the lock. Also the floor boards were very creaky - the insulation between rooms was so thin that when the folk in the next room walked around their room, it sounded as if they were walking in ours! In the dark that was as spooky as anything heard in most haunted!!

    Superb individually cooked breakfast. The staff were wonderfully helpful with all our queries and looked after our luggage really well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Clean and friendly hotel, totally recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. The furnishing is a bit old style however it did not bother me at all. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Everything we hoped it would be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator to the second floor, but that didn't bother us at all.

    The Kyle Hotel is a convenient walk to the train station and the harbor, which was also where we connected to a tour of the Isle of Skye. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The restaurant and bar were very nice and reasonably priced. Helpful hotel staff and wonderfully friendly town residents.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasantly surprised, good start to my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a rabbit warren getting from room to reception, but that's a comment more than a criticism.

    Really really comfy single bed. Great nights sleep. Spacious modern bathroom. Everything was clean and fresh. Good storage. Good placing of TV. Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice quiet short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room was too hot, and also in the bathroom, we did turn it off completley but still wasnt cool enough. Breakfast was ok, but the sausages, bacon and black pudding were overcooked. We visited the hotel bar next door, most of the staff were good, but a few of them were grumpy.

    The bathroom was amazing, huge corner bath, big enough for two, and a bidet as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Adequate, but probably will not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (and hotel generally) was a bit tired and painting bathroom bright pink did not disguise this.The most annoying aspect (aside from calling it room 12A instead of 13, which is just silly) was that the TV was attached to the wall in such a way that TV could not be watched properly from the bed

    Despite being a bit tired the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    A basic hotel but fine for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom - I stubbed my toe badly on the step up to the bathroom floor, and I could not have a shower as the water was very, very hot and could not be adjusted!

    Lots of free parking. Food basic but good. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    No stairs is an impressive extra--should be advertised. Both wife and friend really appreciated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friends didn't like the description of the rooms as bath or shower, and would not have paid an extra $15 for a larger room with a bathtub.

    Nice view, best location of the NC 500 we stayed at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Fine for 2 nights but think that the food could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought that the cooked breakfast was only so so, tinned tomatoes served with bacon and eggs not for me. Ordered pancakes next morning thought I would get a fresh made pancake instead I got a shop bought small thick round pancake so was rather disappointed. I noticed an American lady ordered the same but left it hardly touched. Had an evening meal which was rather disappointing and no way was it value for money.

    The room was adequate probably on the small side but was clean and was fine for our 2 night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Stay was made comfortable by the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures and fittings were well past their date (threadbare carpets and bar seat cushions ripped) Able to hear conversations from adjoining rooms

    Bar food was excellent (haddock and chips) Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Fine for a one night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our mattresses (room 21) had springs one could feel (one on right needs replacing - not comfortable although everyone else (the other 3 )were happy with their bed

    Good position for going to Skye

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At this price nothing to complain about.

    I booked this as a cheap and cheerful stop over for a 6 person motorcycle trip. All needed single occupancy rooms. We were prepared for a very run down, starved of investment hotel like so many Scottish cheaper hotels but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and excellent value overall. There is a large enclosed car park at the back of the hotel which was good for our motorcycles. The rooms are nearer to the car park than reception so it is good advice to go an check in first and then get your bags. My room #14 is the first one in from the car park. The bar was busy and friendly, bar meals excellent and good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok hotel if you want to explore skye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old, not 100% clean, bit to expensive

    Decent hotel, parking spaces directly accessible, breakfast good, pub in the hotel, good location for exploring skye

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, would stay here again if I was travelling this way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets - in need of replacement soon 😁 Room doors need to be better insulated for noise.

    Good service, location, friendly welcome, location, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    A pleasant stay with some great views within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The linen was in Grey and so were the Towels which give a feeling of them not being clean. The rooms are a little small, bur comfortable.

    Location was great. The food was good. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They were kind enough to accommodate us on the floor at the parking level thus avoiding the use of stairs for taking the luggage to the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    It was an OK stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older property. They are trying to upgrade it but it still needs a lot of work.

    Dinner in the restaurant was great. Breakfast was also excellent. We liked the offstreet parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Not the best experience but acceptable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was given my key and went to my room I discovered that it had not been cleaned and the bed was unmade with the previous occupants dirty sheets still on the bed! I went back to reception and informed them. I don't know if it was because another guest was checking in but I was given another room. The hotel is in need of refurbishment. There were signs of damp and the bathroom window had an inch of water between the double glazing.

    Food was reasonable and the room adequate. Staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: