Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Lakeside Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

118 Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX14PZ, United Kingdom

#17 of 65 B&Bs and inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    I would still recommend the property and consider to stay there again on my next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next to main road with non stop traffic throughout the night. The car noise is more obvious with windows open at hot summer.

    The location is really convenient and close to the main attractions. Easy walkable distance. The room is fully equipped. The owners are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.4
    no worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at hotel at around 9 pm, what surpurised me the most is there is no hot water for shower after 10 pm. And the space in the room is really small.

    they provide parking place, that is the reason I selected this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location, great breakfast, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main improvement I'd suggest is a wee fridge in the room. It was very hot while we were there and fortunately the owners provided a fan which kept us cool. But although there was bottled water and juice available, they were too warm to drink. Otherwise the facilities were great.

    The location was fabulous - just a short walk into town. Breakfast was also excellent - either cooked or continental. Our room was on the top floor with sloped ceiling, however it was very comfortable and didn't feel too cramped for the two of us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent room, clean and a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it all

    Excellent room, clean and a comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent a fantastic start for a days sightseeing. Very convenient for the city and excellent hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Beautiful guest house in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little background music during breakfast would be great.

    Welcoming host, perfect location and our room was really lovely. We had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Everywhere was so clean including our room. Breakfast was fab and there was so much choice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good, with a small buffet and various...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed a table or small desk to put my laptop on for some work.

    Breakfast was very good, with a small buffet and various cooked breakfasts that you can order. And at 8 pounds a bargain. Room was comfortable, en-suite bathroom very modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.8
    We stayed for one night and were able to leave the car at the hotel and walk I to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small point but no shaving point in the en suite.

    Extensive choice at breakfast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, good choice of cooked dishes. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was on the outside of the main building which was a bit small but still adequate for the limited times as spent in the room.

    Clean, quiet, tastefully decorated in a great location less than ten minutes walk into town. Good selection of breakfast dishes served in a charming dinning room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great value within ten minutes walk of central Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our hosts were lovely, very welcoming and very supportive when we lost our phone (which we eventually found). A comfortable room, very clean and welcoming and a freshly cooked breakfast. The location is fabulous with a lovely walk along the Thames into Oxford and a couple of good restaurants within very easy reach. Compared to many Oxford hotels this was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.7
    Nice but noisy stay near Oxford, could be much better with some more acoustic isolation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very thin ceiling and upstairs room with creaky wooden floor, we could hear everything happening on the stairs and in the room upstairs, even people turning in their bed. Welcome was pretty cold and stiff. It was possible to only open a small part of the window and that meant not enough air flowing inside, also because that was the only point of access for air in the room (and aspirator in the bathroom was not working).

    Cleanliness and attention to details in the room. Gratuities like cookies, teas, and coffees. Netflix included in the room price. Despite arriving outside of check-in time window, they opened to us and checked us in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely B&B, shame about the traffic, which spoilt it a little for me.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above. Only just got last parking space, fortunately, I have a small car.

    Room was very comfortable with a good shower. My only beef was that I didn't sleep very well, as the traffic noise from Abingdon Road still could be heard through the double glazed Windows. It didn't stop till after midnight and then started again early. Shame, as the rest of my stay was fine. Excellent breakfast, lots of fruit choice( which I like) and nice coffee, poached egg ontoast( my choice), fruit juices , pastries etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, luxurious and comfortable stay just a short walk from Oxford city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy to find, park, and just a short walk from Oxford town centre. Very tasty breakfast with a good range of continental and cooked options. Memory foam bed which wasn't to my taste, but nevertheless very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.8
    Within walking distance to oxofrd city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we got on the ground floor had a strong clorine smell. when we told the owner she was very nice to air and deodarise the room that night while we were out for dinner.

    The property was lovely with very tasteful decoration and all amenities were available in the room. The breakfast was excellent and there is free parking within the compound. the hotel is also within walking distance to the city centre which made our stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.7
    Spotless clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in time is strictly limited. The room is smaller than the picture showed. Not high value for money.

    Spotless clean. Modern decoration. Not too far from city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Yummy breakfast, kettle and biscuits in the room, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a long walk from the city centre, especially if u 're coming back after night out.

    Yummy breakfast, kettle and biscuits in the room, beautiful decor, comfy bed, bathrobes in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay. Just wish the weather had been better so that we could have explore more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    Very friendly service and especially nice breakfast. The accommodation was just as described. The private entrance to our room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were in room 6, which although had low ceilings was very cosy and comfortable! Beds were good quality, robes amazing, and the bathroom (which was at the bottom of the stairs outside the room) was big and the shower excellent. Very short walk into Oxford too, so location was perfect! A million times better than Travelodge/Premier Inn's which were over £100 when I looked to book! I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 2 small things. The room was very cold when we arrived and we had to sort out turning on the radiators ourselves. Would have been nice to have arrived to a warm room as we were a bit damp as it had been raining all day and was cold. The pillows we found very hard.

    the mattress was comfy, the room was nicely decorated, clean and tidy, breakfast was good, shower good and clean. Good to have parking and the owners let us leave the car to walk into Oxford which was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.8
    The place was silent and the breakfast room was nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed of room 2 was very uncomfortable. The deformed mattress was absolutely to be changed. The breakfast was too much expensive. Tthe same price (8£) if you take just coffee and toasts and if you take a complete English breakfast.

    The place was silent and the breakfast room was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.3
    Location is great to walk into the centre, We were allowed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in room 1, if you are a light sleeper I wouldn’t recommend this room due to the bed making terrible squeaking noises at the slightest move, the blinds let in so much light and the noise from breakfast will wake you up early this room is also right next to the stairs & front door so expect foot traffic - if you are planning to relax watching the tv in bed you won’t be able to see a lot due to the foot of the bed being so high up.

    Location is great to walk into the centre, We were allowed to check in early which was very much appreciated! Very clean & tidy & nice thoughtful extras - very homely. Parking is a bonus too however there is a car park right next door which if you struggle to park in narrow spaces might be a better option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t feel welcome. We booked the room with breakfast but were told that it was not correct. They honoured the booking anyway but it made us feel awkward. We also had to proof that the booking said including breakfast which put a bit of a damper on the whole experience. Room was freezing when we arrived. (With snow outside a heated room would have been appreciated)

    Great breakfast Very clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was good. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and we were thoughtfully surprised with a couple of glasses of prosecco and a box of chocolates!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    I had a very good experience at Lakeside Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very good experience at Lakeside Guest House. The room is nice and clean, the beds are very comfy, they provide a great breakfast, you can park your car there before check-in and Oxford city center is just a 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    will go back here for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    original English breakfast, very tasty, rich buffet. Staff was friendly. Near a beautiful park and the Thames, just 10 minutes walk to the historic center, very quiet thanks to effective noise reduction measures

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Everything was of high quality and well thought out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was of high quality and well thought out. The bed was comfy, the wifi worked, the ensuite was spotless & had everything we needed. A wide range of breakfast treats. Can't fault it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.8
    Nice big room, comfy bed with large walk in shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear the family in the room below first thing in the morning!

    Nice big room, comfy bed with large walk in shower! Breakfast was very good! Only 15 mins walk to town centre. Good parking without having to drive into town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    10
    It was a good choice and we would be happy to stay at the Lakeside again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double En Suite with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy overhead during the evening.

    A lovely new room, small but beautifully decorated and with many extra luxuries e.g bathrobes and slippers, a microwave and crockery. The most delicious cooked breakfast you could ever imagine and every extra -fruit etc-that anyone could wish for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for easy access to town. Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely looking room, with everything you need (we had room 3). The only downside was a very noisy toilet, when flushed. Breakfast was just the job, a lovely full English that both my husband and I enjoyed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful Guest House, great location next to lake, park and 7mins walk to city centre. Nice spacious rooms, comfortable beds and small details that make room/place unique and Excellent Breakfast😋 Good parking and I Would definitely stay here again😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very clean, lovely staff, easy check in and checkout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in this room was awful. Hot and cold, hot and cold and the shower head needs to be changed as it basically just sprays a light mist with drips. Rest of bathroom lovely. Not quite a big as breakfast as I expected for the money.

    Very clean, lovely staff, easy check in and checkout. Nice tea and coffee amenities in the room. Nice bed and ensuite. WI FI all good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! We were given a free upgrade to a family room. The beds were good quality and beautifully dressed. Soft, fluffy towels, good quality toiletries,fridge and plenty of tea and coffee. Breakfast was to die for!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful stay, it is beautiful, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a wonderful stay, it is beautiful, very clean and comfortable, and it has an excellent location. And the breakfast was one of the best I ever had at a hotel. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    Style of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed - mattress There was some white stuff near the wardrobe which looked like cleaning products and wasn't clean

    Style of the room Location Parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather but unfortunately they don't have control over that!

    I booked this for my husband who was meeting up with a friend. He was very pleased with my selection. Lovely big room and walk in shower. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast and he particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Parking for the car and a 10-15min walk into the centre. This ticked all the boxes. Highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.0
    Great stay, clean, comfortable, good breakfast, good access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in the single room (room 2) is very low pressure, making it difficult to take a shower, and also cycles between hot and cold water very rapidly on its own. Somewhat frustrating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location and excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress of the bed was a bit old and not that comfy.

    I got a free upgrade to a bigger room, which was very nice. The room was just basic, but had everything I needed. The breakfast was excellent! From the property it's just a 10-15 minutes walk to the city center, or alternatively there are several busses that take you to the city just in a few minutes. The bus stop is right in front of the house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice, happy with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could hear some traffic noise from my bed, but I'm not used to that, so probably more of an issue if you're used to silence.

    The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The location is very good, a nice 10 min walk to the centre along one straight, flat road. Staff friendly. Parking was available, although it is first come first served. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay to go into Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom small but adequate.

    Well maintained and clean B&B. Breakfast was typical English breakfast. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We were traveling to the Cotswolds and the owner gave excellent directions and took time to try to find a book for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One minor glitch - the electric shower couldn't decide whether to run hot or cold! I was in Room 2.

    Really nice friendly people, everything was spick and span, the room was clean, quiet and the bed comfortable. Good choice for breakfast and my scrambled egg was just how I like it (soft). Convenient for the city centre - only 20 mins walk and about 30 mins from station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed stay and was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little chilly at first, but gave us an extra heater and were soon lovely and warm.

    Spotlessly clean guesthouse, comfortable bed, modern high spec bathroom. Only short walk to city centre. Good breakfast and young girl who served us was very pleasant. Would stay here again and recommend Lakeside Guest House. Off-road parking provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor boards above our room were creaky and woke us up one morning.

    Very helpful staff; friendly and quick to help. The location was also excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    Ideal base from which to attend daughters' graduation ceremony - comfortable and convenient.
    • Couple
    • En Suite Family Room (3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A couple more hooks on bathroom door would be handy . Parking on site limited to about three cars .

    The room ( for three adults) was very pleasant and tastefully decorated. Beds VERY comfortable . Plenty wardrobe space. En suite small but adequate. Breakfast fantastic! Hosts and staff very pleasant. Short direct walk or longer very pleasant stroll along river into city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    8.3
    Loved Oxford, evening out ruined a bit as unable to shower and wash hair before hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water in afternoon to shower. Told off by staff on arrival like naughty children for arriving outside certain times. Could leave a box with a key in and aliminate time restraint as m25 very unpredictable!

    Location, beds, and room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    6.3
    Food very good. Place very clean. Room and bed very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses were very poor. The heating only came on in the morning so we were very cold in our room in the evening. The room was very small, you needed to be very short or you bumped your head on the ceiling. The bathroom was not an ensuite and you had to walk down a flight of stairs to reach it in the middle of the night! Our bathroom was so small there wasn't room to swing a cat. We saw the one next door and it was at least three times as big.

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    A B&B with 5 star rating in all aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being too popular makes it difficult for us who wish to return unless you book well in advance. BUT real answer is nothing wrong.

    Owner convenience food comfort parking all added to our enjoyment. A B&B with 5 star rating. 5 minute walk to Christ Church 10 minutes to Broad st. More rooms next year being built.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price could have been cheaper for a guest house

    Very friendly staff, clean spacious room,really nice breakfast, only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.2
    pleasant stay in Oxford
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lack of a desk inside the room. Bathroom a little small

    kindness of the owner. The position near the city center. Silent room. Good and abundant breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    9.2
    We got the room for an excellent price and the location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in the top bedroom with low ceiling either side of the room so hit my head a few times. Nicely decorated although the 3 extension leads and sockets were a bit disconcerting. Best hairdryer I have ever used in any guest house/hotel. The bathroom was down a flight of stairs but was exclusively for our use and I didnt find it a problem at all as bath robes and slippers were provided, all lovely and clean. I woke up in the night really thirsty and found the bottle of water left in the room very welcoming but had to open the window as it felt a bit claustrophobic and hot although it was October. It would probably have been unbearable in Summer with the low ceiling.

    A lot of thought had gone into making our stay enjoyable, the little extras in the bedroom and bathroom and plenty of everything, exeptionally clean throughout and comfortable beds. Did not have breakfast as we had a breakfast meeting to go to but we had a glimpse of what was on offer and it did look perfect. Only a 10 minute walk to the centre so perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed our stay in Oxford just felt disappointed with the room and what we had paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the fact our room was on the ground floor-noisy when other people entered the building and also when they rang the bell The room was too small for all the furniture especially on the left side of the bed-felt hemmed in .Did not like als that the bed was a metal bed so creaked even when turning over. The other down fall was that you had to look through the bars of the foot board to see the tv? The room felt very cold when we arrived so we had to put the room heater on

    fantastic location just a 10 minute walk into the city of Oxford. Love the décor and a good breakfast. Although the hotel was situated on the front of the hotel with a very busy main road, the noise was minimal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.3
    We will come back again if we wish to visit our daughter.
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dryer for laundry service nearby not in order and we have to dry cloth on top of the heater of our room.

    All the facilities is in good working condition. Good location near to city centre as well as the bus stop for Oxford Airline which is the bus travel from Oxford city to London Heathrow Airport. My daughter just enrolled into Oxford Brookes University. We can travel to her hostel very conveniently.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with a shelf near/under the mirror for cosmetics etc

    Nice guest house just south of Oxford city centre, within a 15 minute gentle stroll to the centre past a couple of nice pubs on the way. The room was well equipped, although it was on the ground floor by the door at the front of the property, so earplugs would be recommended for light sleepers as this room was also by the dining room (if you don't want to be woken for breakfast). The bathroom was nice and modern too; overall a nice B&B.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long flight of stairs to bedroom, no lift and no help offered re carrying cases up - not good for a couple of old ladies aged 70 and 80! A bit stingy with the milk and biscuits on the hospitality tray in bedroom. There was a dish on reception to help yourself to more, but there was never any milk in it when we tried.

    Very good breakfast. Good sized bedroom. Very clean. Very convenient for town centre, ie 10-15 minute walk and/or excellent bus service from outside the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    7.5
    Good base to visit Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small

    Hotel is located at walking distance from the center of Oxford and includes free parking. Room was ok, clean, rather small but everything was there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    10
    A Gem in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful place to stay near Oxford city center, about 10 minutes walk to town. Very cozy guesthouse with wonderfully decorated rooms and diningroom, very comfortable beds and great breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything was wonderful. Lovely comfortable room, good facilities. Breakfast really good, good choice and perfectly cooked. Lovely friendly and helpful staff. easy to walk in to Oxford.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    7.1
    A good bed and breakfast that is well priced and within a short walking distance of central Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom (3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the top floor and we had to stoop at the top of the landing and to walk into tand out of the room. Lighting could have been better. The property is on a main road which proved to be quite noisy at night.

    Our private bathroom was on the floor below - it was very big and well appointed. Breakfasts were a highlight - one of the best we experienced on our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    7.5
    Nice little guest house with location close to Oxford center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    limited check in time-we rushed only to find out the person to check us in was out anyway. Room 101 has a terrible choice of bed for the size of the room-when in bed the bottom posts are in the way, they also make maneuvering around a little difficult. parking spaces are limited for larger cars. rooms front facing can be noisy due to busy main road, not an issue for us but for those who are light sleepers may be an issue.

    Friendly staff very nice breakfast clean and well maintained rooms great location within walking distance of the town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    10
    Great Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is like new condition, but had character. Very clean and well maintained. Very helpful staff. Very firm pillows and comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, lovely small b&b!
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice rooms, great breakfast, good firm new beds, close to city center, universities and museums walking distance. Lovely Daniela can give you some great inside city tips. Nice city, great ambiance, Nice restaurants, great coffee shops and lunch/tearooms. Small buy nice. Don't miss: botanic Gardens, scones! university tour, vault&garden for a teabreak, TVC roof terrace, Ashmolean museum, one of the great book shops, head of the river terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Perfect guest house in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could have been bigger but I understand that this is impossible in an old building.

    The guest house was comfortable but best of all it was only a half hour walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Inn near the Thames River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was surprised that Lakeside wasn't closer in to the center of Oxford. But it was good that I got a lot of exercise walking to and fro and in Oxford too. And, I shouldn't have chosen the vegan sausage for breakfast--didn't sit well sadly even though it was tasty.

    I enjoyed the nearby walk along the Thames into the Center of Oxford. Loved the decor of my room, too. I enjoyed a meal at nearby Home restaurant. Lovely and delicious. Breakfast at Lakeside were very good. Daniella was gracious and helpful answering all my many questions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being kept waiting at the locked front door for a good few minutes after the owner had already seen us arrive.

    The breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked to order. The girl serving the breakfast was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.8
    Two nights in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really - just the shower :(

    The location of the hotel - only about 15 minute walk to the centre of Oxford. The river runs through the field opposite, which you can walk along as an alternative for a more scenic route into town. We didn't have breakfast here as we were short on time and wanted to get out to explore so I can't comment. We had a room overlooking the road, noise isn't a problem as the windows are double glazed. The bathroom is a small ensuite but works, but hubby had issues with the water not draining away quickly enough in the shower. The car parking area is small but appears to be sufficient. Wifi was ok, I had no problems with it. Overall this was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    6.7
    Ok location to walk into city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Room (3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location of b and b was a bit rough

    Clean and in a good area to walk into the city. Car parking in very limited. The actual area of the b and b was a bit undesirable with a few suspect characters around. Wouldn't feel safe at night walking back but in day time it's ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely English Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Narrow entrance to carpark area. Limited space. However, thank you for accomodating us.

    Spacious, clean, comfortable room. We stayed in the superior king room and it was marvelous. Nice view overlooking a children's playground, nice park and houses. Good breakfast and appreciate the vegetarian menu.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, comfortable hotel not far from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'en-suite' was located outside the room down a short flight of stairs. Not so good for men needing to go to the loo during the night!

    Although not centrally located it was still within walking distance of the city center and the sights. The room was quirky, but comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    10
    fantastic - the icing on the cake is a fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    -

    the breakfast was something out of the ordinary. Delicious and with healthy products. As good as it can bee ;-) In addition it was possible to choose between several sorts of breakfast. The LandLord Daniela is a very obliging and kind person. Thank you for 9 fantastic days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a bit tight but that's just the nature of the property - there isn't much room in the grounds but it works just about!

    Great host and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    Room position ruined the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like being on the ground floor right next to front door and directly opposite breakfast room. also didn't like the fact that we had to keep the blinds shut so that everyone on the street could see in our room. It was noisy as people were in and out and woken early by people going for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely B&B just a ten minute walk from the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything not to like!

    Lovely B&B just a ten minute walk from the centre of Oxford. Great location! Quite and very comfortable. Room was decorated very nicely and the bed was super comfy. Very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Had a really nice weekend stay over a would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have preferred if there had been a guarantee for on-site parking considering that the location is slightly away from the centre, and we had to rely on the park and ride after all.

    Excellent breakfast spread by the hosts! Lovely room, and despite the fact that we were triple sharing, it was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This isn't a negative - just be aware that for the 2 rooms on the top floor, though each room has its own bathroom (also scrupulously clean) they are separate from the bedroom down a small flight of stairs. This is stated on the website & slippers & bathrobe are thoughtfully provided for you to use.

    Spotlessly clean Comfortable, pleasant room V good breakfast Convenient location Towelling robe provided

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor- no toast even though we asked for it and mushrooms had sugar on them ! obviously a mistake by the chef. Staff not friendly at all. Not even asked if our stay was ok when we checked out

    room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    Couldn't fault it! Fab place. Will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault it! Breakfast was delicious, and staff friendly. My room was very comfortable and clean, with little extra touches in the decor, like they really wanted it to have an individual touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    10
    Absolutely Perfect B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolute treasure, will definitely visit again next time I'm in oxford. Restful, comfy, ensuite room with all toiletries provided and amazing breakfast spreads :)

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: