Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lakeside Hotel and Spa 4 stars

Lakeside, Lake Side, LA12 8AT, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Lake Side

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The whole experience was excellent. we were made to feel very welcome by all members of staff. Fantastiv location for exploring the Lake District.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are far too soft and therefore not particularly comfortable nor good for my back. I brought a hard yoga mat to put under the mattress cover, which helped.

    The spa is fantastic. The swimming pool is highlight - I spent most of my time using these and felt very relaxed as a result! I enjoyed the food in the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally could do with harder pillows - a choice would be good. Room was extremely hot - a fan would have helped as unable to open window more than a couple of inches.

    Stayed at Lakeside many times. Fantastic location. Great service & atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm, it would have been nice to have a fan. I will add that the weather was unusually hot.

    Location on Windermere, the views were amazing. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Food was very good. Views from the room were lovely ( we didn’t have a lake view) and it was very comfortable, the bathroom was well appointed and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at this hotel a number of times previously and on this occasion I felt that it wasn’t quite up to scratch. -staff membe at check in was a little brusque -was taken on tour of hotel despite answering that I had stayed before -the toilet in our room was a little dodgy - as always the staff were friendly, but service was a little slow. - mix up with names of rooms which was correctly incorrectly. All of the above not major things but not what I have come to expect from previous stays.

    Location, location, location. Absolutely incredible location right on the edge of Lake Windermere and near to the boat to take you into Bowness and Ambleside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slippery shower-tray - both of us very nearly slipped over. Un-adjustable heating from radiator in bathroom - control knob missing and man appeared after our complaint with a view to adjusting with a pair of pliers, but it didn't work. Roasted! (it was a really warm May day). Surprised to find upon arrival that there was no space in the adjacent car park and that we had to submit to valet parking a couple of hundred metres away - after first park-up, no one offered to collect car on subsequent occasions - the walk did us good, but only due to the lovely weather; had it been raining, we would have been disappointed.

    Setting was glorious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the evening meal in the Brasserie and overpriced in my opinion

    Excellent breakfast, lovely quiet position, very clean and beautiful fresh flowerse

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food portion size could have been better.

    Spa experience was very relaxing. Whole facilities were well maintained. Rewind with lazy drink at the conservatory. Parking was not a problem. This hotel is highly recommended for romantic gateway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this hotel. Everything from the moment we arrived was great! The room was lovely, big and very comfortable! Loved the extra touches in the room - chocolate and juice for kids and 4 bathrobes for our family (2 kid size ones!) Dinner was fantastic and breakfast delicious. We used the swimming pool which we all loved!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I made the booking through booking.com. The first time the price that was quoted was the price we paid. The 2nd time, we were charged a £25 infant charge, which took the shine of it a bit. The hotel said it was in the small print. However, if I am paying for a family room that sleeps 4 people, why do I pay a supplement?! I would stay again, but possibly not if there is an infant supplement. I would find another hotel within the same area that does not put on extra charges.

    The hotel is lovely. Great location, room, staff, facilities and food! This is our 2nd stay, we love it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn’t stay longer!

    Truly outstanding stay at this gem of a place! Personal attention to detail and service was superb. Lovely individual decor, fantastic location, amazing staff and absolutely wonderful food both st breakfast and at John Ruskin restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food (dinner) wasn’t as good as it could have been and was definitely overpriced -would eat elsewhere next time. The dining area looks nice but is drafty. Breakfast was better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lakeview restaurant had the same menu as the John Ruskin restaurant but more expensive. It didn’t make sense. The coffee didn’t taste too great either.

    The spa facilities exceeded our expectations. The massages and pedicures were great. The breakfast was tasty. The John Ruskin restaurant had great food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet. Shower water pressure. And walk in shower not over bath shower

    Room was very hot. Even with window open and rads switched off. Night porter kindly supplied us a fan

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walks from the hotel, parking arrangements unclear on arrival, room not ready at check in time

    The rooms were a very good size, the staff wete helpfull and friendly, food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All hotels need to pay attention to corridor areas please. Was a bit shabby. Rooms a little dated but very comfortable. Harsh light in the steam room, could be more atmospheric. Need a water fountain by the sauna and steam room. The nearest is in the corridor outside the changing room.

    Excellent staff. Great food and the spa was wonderful. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a wine lover . I don't mind paying £9/10 for a large glass but please make it so ! They were more medium size that I found somewhat penny pinching for such a fine hotel .

    The staff were unbelievably brilliant! Not overbearing but subtle and professional all round .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mattresses was a little soft and saggy but that was the only downside

    The staff were very friendly and the whole hotel had a lovely relaxed feeling. The evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable - everything lovely.

    Breakfast is absolutely delicious with so much choice. The rooms are beautiful with gorgeous toiletries and really, really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the service in the hotel, the staff are very friendly and professional. The food and afternoon tea is amazing. The views and location are fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like, apart from the fog which enveloped everything and meant that the boats were not working.

    We have been there many times before and, as always, everything was superb. The food was excellent and the choice good. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame our room had no view but then you can't have all the rooms overlooking the lake

    Beautiful property, traditional charm with stunning views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the drinks.

    Location. Food in restaurant excellent. Brunch gorgeous. Staff very accommodating. Four poster bed very comfortable (especially pillows).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am struggling to find anything negative to say about our stay. One thing I would ask is that on arrival guests are made fully aware of the parking arrangements. We were not aware the hotel guests need to park at the back of the aquarium opposite, rather than in the car park at the front of the hotel.

    we stayed in room 12 which looks out over the area at the back of the hotel. The room and bathroom are large and very comfortable and the bed exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa was lovely but the steam room and sauna weren't very efficient at the time we were in there.

    Everything - wonderful traditional hotel with good old fashioned pride in service - fabulous food and great care to detail which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different standards in food quality from Saturday to Sunday evening. Also lake of choice as many things were not available. It was also disappointing that there were not enough staff available for the spa on Monday. Only 1 available out of 6 for the full day and she was fully booked up.

    Warm, friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was rather a long way from the main hotel area. Rather pricey!

    Staff were very helpful and friendly indeed. Great service at all times. Location is excellent just next to the lake with ferry facilities etc Great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and furniture dated for the price. No view from my room although I had requested a room with a view as was hoping to be overlooking the lake and hotel definitely wasn't at capacity so not sure why I ended up in the room I was in.

    Breakfast was nice, spa was nice, view was lovely, location was great, bar, restaurant and communal areas were all nicely decorated and maintained. Open fires were very cosy, piano player was a nice touch. Spa area was nice with a wide selection of really nice products available to purchase. Bar had a good selection of wine, cheese and spirits and staff member (Christian) was very knowledgeable about the wine and the cheeses. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Robes were supplied which was useful for the spa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all the staff were brilliant,room was superb ,bed very comfortable.and the food was excellent. nothing was to much trouble for the staff.the view from the room was fantastic .we would stay here again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing was the parking. Overnight parking was allowed by the hotel, but during the day because the carpark was for the boat trips, train and aquarium, parking was behind the aquarium 50 yards away.

    We booked a superior lake view room which was spacious and tastefully decorated. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. On arrival our luggage was taken from us and brought to our room a few minutes later. Good food and a pleasant and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's looking a little tired now and could do with a revamp. The dinner in the main restaurant was not quite up to the usual standard, and is over-priced. The evening service in the restaurant was also not great.

    We love this beautiful place and have been several times over the years. It's setting right on the banks of Lake Windemere is perfect, and the staff are so friendly. The pool is beautiful and the breakfasts are really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the menu it stated complimentary tea and coffee If you chose the 2/3 course dinner option. we asked for tea after dinner and were charged £10....it didn’t make clear that if you chose the 2 courses for £29 there was no complimentary tea or coffee only if you chose 3 courses for £39 .... this was not clear on the menu

    Privacy, the spa facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this Hotel was First Class and can't really think of anything we did not like. Our only regret is that we did not spend more time in the Hotel, rather than sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally would have preferred a traditional full breakfast as well as the more 'up market' options. Informal bar meal option prices were ridiculous. £21 for a steak pie n £22 for fish n chips, puddings were a further £8 each. Good food but far too expensive, we had to go elsewhere to eat as we couldnt justify those prices.

    Very comfortable bed, peaceful and relaxing despite hotel being fully booked. Swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam n sauna rooms were available all day and they werent overly busy. Really super facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little pricey (Centre Parcs is probably similar price but for a longer weekend stay). Was still excellent though and would absolutely recommend.

    We loved our room. From a family friendly point of view It was excellent. Travelled with our 2 children and expected we would all be in the same room. Very pleasantly surprised to find the kids had bunk beds in a separate space/room off our's and even had there own bathroom. Was fantastic. The whole hotel, including the food is lovely and the pool was a big hit with the kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, you could hear people in to room above walking about and even going to the loo! W e woken up far too early

    The room was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa was uninspiring amd@tonbridge-school.org the steam room was out of order.

    There was an amazing amount of choice for breakfast and the food was prepared to a very high standard.I particularly enjoyed the yoghurt.The service was outstanding too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was too rich, with clashing flavours. We were dissatisfied with the lack of communication concerning the choice of menu, as we were only offered the contemporary menu, and felt let down when we found out there was an alternative menu when it was too late. The steam-room wasn't working. Overpriced.

    The sauna and Jacuzzi The breakfast was excellent. The in-room soap and shampoo, etc. Smelt lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The treatments in the spa were a little pricey. Our room didn't have a view.

    The staff were so Proffesional we felt really cared for throughout the whole stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    The location was lovely, but very busy, due to Lakeside Aquarium being nearby. The hotel itself was very pretty, and the reception staff were lovely. However, we arrived little early, so we decided to have a cocktail. We waited for about 20 minutes before we were served, but allowed to let that go, as they were very busy with a wedding. After our cocktail, we were shown to our room, which initially looked lovely, but quickly became very hot due to the fact that we were above the kitchens. The radiators needed a good dusting, and the furniture was dated, without charm. The bed was ok, but it was far too hot, with a thick duvet, so I had to get a wet towel in the night to cool myself down.We could only access 6 stations on the TV, which was a little annoying, as we wanted to chill in a luxury room before dinner. We tried The Brasserie for dinner, and ordered a meat platter to share, which was disappointing, Aldi could have done better. We ordered steaks, and again, they were pretty tasteless. The waiter was lovely, but for some bizarre reason, he poured our wine, then took the bottle away to the waiter's station. Puzzling. We might have used the main restaurant the next night, but decided against it due to the standard the night before. The breakfast was fancy, but who puts a Cumberland sausage with apple sauce? There was a lovely waitress, who was very young, but charming. We saw her get rebuked by a senior member of staff for no reason. It was a shame. We used the spa and enjoyed it, and I had a lovely facial done by the lovely Gemma, who treated me like a human being. She was amazing. We felt that maybe because we were not the usual clientele, we were treated a bit second best. We left a decent tip for the staff, and I hope it went to the people who deserve it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Extremely comfortable bed and very attractive mood lighting in the Bathroom. Beer was very good as well. Food excellent and not overly plentiful......just the right amount.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very disappointed with the standard of the room it was dark and dismal very dusty and the window was filthy. Very overpriced for standard of accommodation. would never return and certainly wouldn't recommend to friends

    good location .beautiful views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel only offered two or three courses at evening meal. We weren't very hungry, so had to go out in search of a light meal.

    Amazing choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was poor as far as we were concerned,plain hearty food was not there,just over elaborate menu with small portions and very over priced

    The service in the restaurant was very good as also the ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not working! Staff looked stressed. For the star rating the cleanliness should have been much better and breakfast was ok, but no beans?!

    The location is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. The premium double room No. 31 overlooks woodland and is clean and spacious. The swimming pool is large and has views of Lake Windermere. We had dinner from the Bar menu and it was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should be maintained as they are doing now.

    We reached by train. It is a excellent property, staffs were decent. We enjoyed staying there. The hotel is covered with all facility what is required during holidays. Food were delicious and was presented nicely. We are very happy and satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the amount of money we paid we were disappointed by the cleanliness. In the bathroom there was mold on the shower courtain and lots of spider webs throughout the room and bathroom. Very old furniture. This might be intentional to give the impression of classic style but it was poorly maintained. The bellboy took 45 min to bring our luggage to our room and might have been more but I went downstairs for the bags as it wouldn't have bothered me to take them to the room myself. We also went to have lunch in their conservatory and we were invited to go outside because those table were reserved even though there was no sign. Then no one came to take our order so after about 10-15 mins we left. We were also charged a 150£ dinner we didn't have. This was straighten out at the checkout. We stayed at cheaper hotels than this where the services and rooms were much much better. All the money you pay is for the location.

    The location is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult, had to park away from the hotel in a communal park. The bedroom was not in a particular nice location in the hotel (overlooking the road). I would have thought for a payment for a deluxe room it could have had a nicer view, no alternative offered.

    Hotel was very good and as described. Food was exceptional and varied, breakfast was also good. The spa facilities were also good and we took full advantage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft,breakfast buffet should have a chilled section.

    The spa was open early till late, staff very helPaul and friendly,good dining experience, breakfast open very late so need to get up early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath area HORRIBLE, senior Citizens. No handholds in the tub area, no anti slip mats. Air conditioning is a must as none of the rooms offer Air-conditioning. The choice for vegetarian food was very less. Room service very average for the prices that they charge !! Their parking policy for hotel guests was not clearly explained.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food was very good but the menus were a little too contemporary for our taste.

    Room was excellent, even had its own garden. The location is perfect. The bed was a little large but very comfortable. Good tea and coffee facilities in the room. The staff were extremely helpful. Overall, expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little pricey for meals and lunch, although the food and service we received in the main restaurant in the evening was very good.

    Loved the location situated right on the western bank of Lake Windermere with perfect views of the lake and east side of the lake even in bad weather from the comfort of the large conservatory with a beer or cup of tea. The staff were very helpful and in most cases did everything they could to make our stay extra special, Liked the fact we had a personal escorted tour of the hotel on in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a little bouncy

    Superb service from the very friendly staff-we felt very welcome. The spa and pool are also excellent and the view from the hotel across the lake and the very well-tended gardens couldn't be bettered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although overall stuff is very well trained and hospitable there is a slight drop in quality from my last stay - perhaps core staff was on leave. There is something of a weak spot - coffee , as much as tea is beyond reproach - coffee is bordering on bad . I think I ll talk to the management on giving them a bit of master class .

    It is an old style british hotel with uniformed staff somewhat victorian feel and astonishing landscape around it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite difficult to reach without a car - however, a fellow guest gave us a lift back from The Swan Inn after the Cartmel races.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room was large and clean. beautiful location on the edge of lake Windermere. Food was excellent and nicely presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive generally! Struggled to get a bottle of wine under 30quid! Cobwebs and spiders behind blind in bathroom. I did ask whether there could be an acknowledgment of our celebration, but this did not occur. Catalina a little brusque with some non resident diners outside, saying ' I don't make the rules' quite loudly when walking away from them! Felt inappropriate as guests were elderly, although no body should be spoken to in that manner! X

    The bed was comfy as was the temperature in room. Pool beautiful and comfortable. Maybe changing rooms in future?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for an hour after check in time for room to be ready. No hot food available after 9pm ( room service).

    Comfy bed. Great view from room. A very traditional old fashioned English hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the third morning the breakfast plates were not cleared from our table after the cooked course so we ended up with bowls, plates, coffee cups fruit dishes and all the cutlery piled around the table so we finished eating with dirty crockery in front of us and nowhere to put a plate down!!

    Very comfy bed. Rooms were good size. Quality tea and coffee supplied. The spa was really nice with direct access by "the back stairs" fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants are expensive and offer a limited choice. Restaurant staff not very helpful and service quite slow. Outdoor drinks service slow and mistakes made with orders. Feels like they could do with more staff and better training. Location great by car but not possible to walk anywhere safely and it's not in an area served well by taxis.

    Breakfast quality very good. Lake view and outdoor seating area very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not too impressed by the evening meal in the Ruskins brassiere. The portions were very small and lacking flavour. Would opt for the Lakeview Restaurant in future or try in the village.

    This was an excellent hotel in a fabulous location with superb facilities. Elegant, attention to detail, relaxing, joyous. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning made it a bit uncomfortable overnight and in the morning - outside temperatures were between 15-18 degrees.

    Beautiful building, staff friendly, helpful and efficient, facilities look good (but we were only doing an overnight and were unable to use them), food was real quality, surrounding scenery was stunning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was wet, and sadly the land is all privately owned, so walking routes from hotel limited, certainly can't safely walk on the roads.

    Overall magical, attention to detail exquisite, like the napkin to support the handle for the teapot. The lovely race involving locals fell running and rowing across Windermere start and finish at hotel, an unexpected bonus. The closeness of the pier to travel around Windermere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that booking.com charged the full price,then on checkout we were requested to pay again which we did, Now we are battling to have one charge credited Booking . Com needs to make clear its procedures and make sure its suppliers are on the same wavelength

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds in the second room in the suite were not horribly comfortable and were very creaky.

    The staff was exceptional. Due to the remote location, there are not a lot of dining options, so we are at the hotel restaurant two nights in a row, as well as both breakfasts. The staff remembered us from meal to meal, knew what we liked to drink, and even remembered which of my two identical twins was vegetarian. Amazing staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited an hour and a half for our first course We were both so hungry ended up leaving, we thought there was a problem with the chef but the staff told us there was no problems and iur meal will be with us shortly, was so disappointed

    Hotel was very clean and staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The end Bill wasn't broken down clearly and we were charged for something we didn't have. However, the staff were very accomodating and adjusted the bill without any problems.

    The food was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is very old fashioned and a bit worn. The restaurants are overpriced. Michelin star restaurants in London are cheaper and better value. There is a lack of attention to detail. There were no slippers in the room. There is no vanity kit of any sort, not even a shower cap. I would also expect individually packed small cosmetics rather than large bottles re-filed with some dubious quality washing soaps. The staff is a bit on a slow side and the house keeping is just about acceptable. I have left my towels in the bath tab expecting to get a clean set but the cleaner simply folded them and left them on the rail. When I requested a replacement I had to wait over 40 minutes for clean towels. The atmosphere in the hotel is that of a retirement home. I suppose you pay for the location.

    Great location, right on the lake shore, good size room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was disappointing. It was dark. The cups and saucers for the tea-making facility were not clean, and the attempt at bed making was pathetic. The toiletries were not refreshed, there was no heated towel rail and the water pressure seemed very low, it took an age for the washbasin to fill and for water to run hot. The brasserie was just awful; it was expensive, and service was very poor. It ought to have been an acceptable alternative to the formal restaurant but came across as the Manager's whimsy. Whilst all the staff were friendly and helpful, reception could have been much better. It was a little out of the way and seemed inadequately staffed.

    The catering in the restaurant was excellent, if pricey

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very tasty and fantastically presented, but amounts were very little. Hardly enough to stop you feeling hungry

    It was an amazing getaway, lovely accommodation, amazing views, tranquil and peaceful, yet close to other busierr places which are only a drive away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brasserie restaurant food was weird and we have eclectic taste Not in keeping with the hotel and likely clientele....Heston Blumental experimenting didn't work for us at all

    breakfast excellent and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost to stay at the hotel is not worth having to sleep on 2 single beds pushed together. i paid £253.00 for one night and it was meant to be a premium room. but instead i got a small room with 2 single beds pushed together. This left me with little sleep all night and with out comfort

    The food was gorgeous and the staff present

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some stains on the bedroom carpet which had been left also bedroom furniture could have been better room a little sparsely furnished

    Loved the cooked to order breakfast attentive and friendly staff quality of restaurant and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brasserie menu clever idea but too complicated, would be nice to have had a simple menu with "traditional" meals for the bar/brasserie area & the "brasserie" menu included as an option on the main menu in the dining room

    Lovely hotel in a great location on southern most part of Lake Windermere with a great view of the lake from the conservatory & the gardens. With the Lake Widermere boats on your doorstep access to the attractions around the lake could not be easier . Although there are attractions close to the hotel, the hotel itself is a peaceful oasis where you can relax, have afternoon tea & watch the world go by

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast really lovely, lots of choice. Room immaculate and we had a lovely meal in the brasserie. We had the children (6/9) and the hotel is quite formal but I think the atmosphere made them behave better!! I loved the hotel and would return (and I'm very fussy!)

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: