Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Lancaster 4 stars

Waterside Park, Caton Road, Lancaster, LA1 3RA, United Kingdom

#18 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1287 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location for stop-over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was a bit over-priced, but there is a Brewer's Fayre just across the road, so I had a walk and went over there. Came back to get a drink in the bar but took too long to get served, so just went to bed

    Great location, just off the M6 - ideal for a stop-over when travelling up-north

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Holiday inn Lancaster great hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the connecting room door being unlocked on both sides when we arrived we reported to reception and also told the other room so they could secure their side . Just felt bit nervous about that as we were females guests.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, room big plenty of space , clean, good that iron ,hairdryer, tea coffee facilities are also in the room. Breakfast fantastic plenty of choice . Very happy with hotel would visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Ability to control temperatures of the room.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning was pretty superficial. We had to request a toilet roll at reception who could only provide a large roll designed for public area toilets. Tea bags, etc. were not replaced.

    Ability to control temperatures of the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Would consider using holiday inn again, especially at Weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Weather!!

    The hotel was easy to find at J34 off M6 and on main road into Lancaster. The gym was excellent, one of the best we have used and the pool was also excellent. Breakfast VG and all staff pleasant and free car parking within the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Room was a big size, big bed, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt damp, tv channel selection shocking, expensive compared ( I got an apartment for £30 a night cheaper)

    Room was a big size, big bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waited to place an order for food, after waiting for 15 minutes for either of the two staff on duty to give us any atention, we walked out

    help at check.in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    East to get to from Mway.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    East to get to from Mway. Very close to Lancaster centre and a lovely Towpath and aquaduct walk. Clean, fresh and modern comfortable room. Our dog was clearly welcome and we didn't get some stinky old room cos we had a dog. Appreciated that! good food and wine. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Perfectly adequate to break up our journey North
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t stay here for a weeks holiday - it’s outside Lancaster and near the M6. It’s perfect for short business stays and stopovers

    Nice hotel for a stop over - has everything you need. Staff were nice and happy to see our dog. Nice to take her to a hotel where she wasn’t an inconvenience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Good location, near to town, spa facilities altho a spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member in spa was a bit rude, only one towel for two of us, bed is way too small had a back pain after nights sleep, smelly corridors, hotel is old only baths are nice & tidy

    Good location, near to town, spa facilities altho a spa receptionist was too formal the minute we stepped out of jacuzzi he started cleaning the water & put the sweeper on in so we didn’t feel like going in it again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    A little disapointing considering the price. We expect air con and TV to be working effectively.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning did not work, which made the hot room very uncomfortable. TV was not connected/tuned in to terrestrial channels - very inconvenient.

    Room was a good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Need to upgrade accessible room bathrooms !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an accessible room for disabled and while the room was adequate , the bathroom was horrible and very clinical. There was no walk in shower and my 89yr old mum could not get into the bath. Also there was a huge window with no curtains and so it did not feel private. Black mould also featured around the bath. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the prices are very high for the quality and style of the food. 2 chicken Caesar salads with side of fries, a burger, glass of wine and a bottle of water £78.00!

    Could not fault the level of service , the staff were exceptional. The location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room a bit pointless, switched off with two bottles of water and no instructions as to cost etc.

    Excellent range of food available at breakfast with a serving system which worked well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful riverside location, close enough to walk into town, just off the motorway junction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two types of sausage offered with the breakfast menu, but no option for vegetarians.

    Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room and a good breakfast. Pleasant walk into town along the river path.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    The noise and smell of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise and smell of the hotel. Checked out same night as checked in and was refunded my money. Hotel was very very noisy and rooms smelt of damp and blocked drains.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    The room size and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had made the sofa bed up which we didn't ask for or need and was told I would have to put it back away and then noticed the bedding hasn't been changed like they said they would do so wasn't happy and had to speak to a manager to get it sorted

    The room size and the location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    Shower good, bathroom facilities good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in room poor, no casual sitting area, just a double bed and office chair, breakfast area not clean, we had to clear an area to eat.

    Shower good, bathroom facilities good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Holiday Inn ok, Staff superb!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room had a noisy kitchen extractor, second room the TV and the phone did not work. The third room, an "Executive" room, had it's sofa missing but, I didn't need it and I was tired of changing rooms plus the staff had been wonderful and I had already been overly fussy.

    An above standard Holiday Inn with a swimming pool. The staff were amazing and really went the extra mile to make sure I was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Rude Reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was greeted by a receptionist at around 7pm and was told as I'd used booking.com we were just allocated any room left! We were right at the end of the corridor in an adjoining room right next to the boiler? Something that kept us awake all night.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Swimming pool, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, really uncomfortable, sports channel, asked specifically to watch the boxing, tv signal was shocking and zero sound, couldn’t watch.

    Swimming pool, food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    To break up a long drive back to Scotland it was OK for an overnight stay but we wouldn't rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu is expensive...£14 for a burger! Restaurant was busy and service was poor with our meals arriving at the table separately. We noticed other people complaining about waiting times and food ordered not been served. Bar had no glasses left to serve drinks The hotel was busy and sitting areas were noisy

    Staff were friendly and welcoming Room was clean and comfortable Good sized car park Good choice of food at breakfast and morning waiting staff were attentive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Bathroom sink was blocked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink was blocked. Room was to hot air con not working. Couldn’t get a breakfast on Saturday as there was no room in dining room even though we paid for breakfast for 2 days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable four day break with the family, visiting popular locations in the north-east
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy extraction fan at the rear of the building which usually shuts down around 11.30pm.

    Great location being within forty minutes driving distance for Blackpool and the Lakes. Good breakfast and leisure facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Short distance from city centre and shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    Location good for Travel, Hotel V.Poor not worth more than £60-£80 for a night max.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor for the money, tiered looking hotel ready for a refit, breakfast area like a school canteen . Friday night no room service even though it says 24/7 front desk does not answer the phone either, only towels for one in a double room, no room safe, mini bar had 2 bottles of water and 1 snicker bar - how is that a mini bar!! TV media service/ pay per view not working - At best an £80 hotel certainly not £160 they charge for an exec room, expect to pay this in London, in Lancaster that should get you a great hotel.

    Location good for M6 and getting to Lancaster and Morecambe by car or taxi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is it's location which is a busy main road, of whi h our room was facing.Little road noise but not too bad

    The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious.walls well insulated so nice and private.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    It was fairly clean, the breakfast was great and facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 2pm and our room wasn’t ready until 3:15pm. The beds were a little uncomftable

    It was fairly clean, the breakfast was great and facilities were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    On the whole pleasant stay.No pizza next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ate in restaurant, had pizza the worst we ever had,totally tasteless and at a price of £11 each. Don't know about any other food.

    Room very clean, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    brilliant value for money would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't make full use of the swimming pool as my son was not allowed to use the tot tub, I understand that there may be times some children are unattended and it could be a problem but 5 minutes attended at the end of a swim shouldn't be an issue.

    Very clean room, excellent staff. the breakfast was amazing, they would even cook anything on request e.g.. scrambled eggs, poached eggs. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    No cereal bowls for breakfast on the first morning, had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No cereal bowls for breakfast on the first morning, had to go and ask, which seemed an inconvenience. Mould/mildew on the ceiling of the shower cubicle, not very welcoming I must say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room, very clean, LG flat screen tv, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping knocking on my door around 10 to service the room like they’re trying to get me out of there, ordered a 24hour meal and gave the kid cash and he forgot to come back up to my room as give me the change so had to call reception, then next morning reception said there was outstanding bill so it wasn’t even recorded.

    Spacious room, very clean, LG flat screen tv, comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Holiday Inn decor has gone downhill. Very 'modern', so very boring and 'Premier Inn'. You should tell the guests on external notices that they will not be charged for parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was filthy and not up to standards for the £100 I paid for one night. The hotel was also difficult for me to get to, having to wait at the bus stop for half an hour whilst heavily pregnant and then the next morning having to leave an hour earlier than the latest checkout we were allowed as there was no available buses after checkout time for almost an hour which we were unable to sit and wait for. This was a huge inconvenience as it meant waiting a further half hour at Sainsbury’s for our next bus to morecambe. If the hotel had allowed us a later checkout time we would not have to had gone through these delays. Based on this stay I would not recommend holiday inn Lancaster to friends or family.

    The staff supplied more hot drink supplies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, nice people, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no airco in our room and it was so extremely hot! We bumped into other hotel guests and they said they didn't either and all the fans had run out. The hotel did offer to exchange our rooms which was good.

    The staff are all super friendly and accessible 24/7. The hotel is also really nice and if you drive, everything is within range. Good prices too and breakfast was yummy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    Easy access from the motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel needs a renovation. The corridors were all stained, the carpets looked and smelled old. The room was ok, and seems that the bathroom was renovated. Unfortunately, there was no shower door, it seems that it broke and never was replaced.

    Easy access from the motorway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Stayed overnight to visit Lancaster University Open Day-...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was cheap, very disappointed with the quality and due to exit doors being left open to the children's play area the food and dining area were cold!?!

    Stayed overnight to visit Lancaster University Open Day- well positioned and sign posted off the main road, lots of parking. Alex on reception was very professional, sociable and accommodating- a great welcome after a long journey. We were given a room at the back of the hotel on request overlooking the river which was lovely. Although there was some noise for adjoining rooms we still managed to get a full nights sleep- very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient accomodation on our way through Lancaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit was outside our window which constantly hummed during the night.

    Convenient accomodation on our way through Lancaster. The bed was super comfortable and shower was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Awful hotel, complete waste of money, will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the first Holiday Inn we have ever stayed at and has to be the worst place we have ever stayed. Breakfast stone cold, scant furniture in rooms, old fashioned decor, constant "hum" in room.

    Convenience to the M6

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose as we were attending Morecambe golf club do
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two double rooms my friend ended up in one with no bath she likes a bath I ended up in two twin beds Also bar was shut when we got back to hotel at 11pm

    Breakfast was nice and reasonable price Parking convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay en route to Scotland.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single Beds and room was a little chilly on arrival .

    Return visit for us , convenient place to stay as not far from M6. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Travelling with our small dog so situated on ground floor as requested with view of river .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    My card was charged twice for this stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My card was charged twice for this stay. Once on check-in, then again two days later to my account. I had to spend the morning chasing up this admin error and sending detailed info of banking details to their admin team. Please treble check your account if you stay here. This absolutely shouldn’t have happened.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cold and cutting rubber. Check in took ages and pre booking was not on reception when we arrived 20 minutes to book in. Chipping off a plate found in the cheese slices on the cold buffet.

    Location. Benefits a pool after a long journey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Just what we were looking for - comfortable and affordable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the road side of the building did have quite a lot of traffic noise if the window was open.

    I liked the outside space - tables and chairs. I appreciated the magazines in the lounge area. I thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the range of food available - something for everyone really.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disorganised breakfast, length of time to make up a bed even after 2 reminders, booking not received at the hotel from booking.com (not really a hotel fault), however having another customer walking into your room is totally unacceptable I’ve used them in the past and usually everything is fine but this trip was a bit of a disaster from start to finish, especially as I was only up there to visit my daughter who was in hospital- I will say they did reduce the bill but only after I suggested it

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for standard of the room. The bed was tiny, the room hot, the shower curtain leaked on the floor. The bar was expensive for the location

    It was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    We came for a family funeral but generally our stay was comfortable and in a good location.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridor to our room was old and tired and needs a good lick of paint. The food was just standard fare.

    The helpfulness of the staff on the front desk. Our room was quiet and at the back over looking the river which was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The beds were really comfortable , staff friendly breakfast...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really comfortable , staff friendly breakfast was really lovely . We requested a ground floor room for our elderly parents and they made sure that we had one . Very clean and stylish rooms too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Our hotel was a great base for a lovely weekend in Lancaster area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location just off M6, by the river Lune with a riverside walkway that leads into and out of the city. Welcoming, friendly reception, comfy beds, good shower, fluffy towels, good dining and bar choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, far from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity of the hotel to the city makes it difficult to get into the city without having to drive.

    This is a lovely hotel with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Nothing too fancy just functional. The huge car park made it easy to find parking free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for restful stopover en route from south coast to Scotland
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food was poor - cold fries, no salad yet said it was included, incomplete condiments. Plus side it came quickly but would,have preferred to wait longer for fresher food Please improve the instant coffee in bedrooms - Nescafé awful and a packet of biscuits would have been welcome Allow dogs in bar area please - had to have room service food with resultant additional cost

    Comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom, large room, easy access from motorway but still perfect for walking a dog along the canel. Staff without exception happy, helpful and knowledgeable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, queues to get in l on both days there were not enough staff to clear tables. On second day there was nothing left had to wait for hot food to be brought out. No pastries or fresh bread on both days considering the cost for the buffet it was very poor!

    Clean, good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Clean and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solo lady traveler offered a high floor room very far from the lift and refused as I wanted to be near reception or right by the lift .... should use common sense not to put lone females a long way down corridors especially coming back at night

    Clean and chic holiday inn food loverly amd all day tapas menu

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Short birthday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main negative was the poor choice of food for dinner. Breakfast food was lovely but they need more staff to help the amazing lady who was trying to seat everyone for breakfast as well as trying to clear and reset tables and generally explain the layout for cereals,hot food, hot waiter etc.

    The property was clean, comfortable and we loved the pool and gym. Good base for travelling around area we know well. Beautiful river walk at back of property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    A path you can walk into lancaster which was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so chaotic! No beans- no bread for toast, no croissants, no coffee or tea. 20 min wait for a table. Very noisy road at night. Dead flies in the pool

    A path you can walk into lancaster which was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for what we wanted: a comfy bed, friendly staff, quiet, good evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location very good. So close to the M6, but our room at the back by the river was quiet, and there was a path alongside the river, and outside seating. Good choices for evening meal and friendly and helpful staff in the dining room and in reception. We didn't wait for breakfast as we wanted an early start so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really the mixed berries at breakfast would be better if they were fresh and not frozen

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the evening meal was really good. Good location and very clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Good nights sleep, comfortable, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing in as much as there was a great choice but the hotfood looked as if it had been our under the lights for a long time and everything was very well done. Otherwise no complaints

    Staff very helpful, room lovely, comfortable and clean. Slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, large rooms, nice breakfast most staff helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor security, there was a door to the stairs that was open all night. The staff varied, the majority were great, the odd one spoilt it and were clearly making life more difficult than it needed to be for other staff. No reduction in cost for room only when leavinging in the morning at 5.30. Offered a packed breakfast which was a good idea but didn’t like the idea of this being prepared by staff who were not food hygiene trained (A presumption), ham and tomato sandwich for breakfast and two oldish bananas were a disappointment. Twix biscuit was fine but not good for breakfast. Expected something nicer to eat on my journey home as breakfast on my first day was so nice. Pool tiling and surrounding area a bit tired, grouting between tiles needed cleaning, floating plaster. Lack of info in rooms about leisure facilities and breakfast times. USB chargers instead of plug sockets would be helpful in future. Hairdryer didn’t work, reported to reception who said they would send up another one, I didn’t actually need it but no replacement sent.

    Large comfortable room and good facilities. View of the river from my room. Good temperature for sleeping. Leisure facilities a bonus. 24hr reception Easy parking. Location to M6.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    The swimming pool was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower screen in the bathroom isn't big enough to prevent splashing water onto the floor.

    The swimming pool was wonderful. The room was a generous size. The staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service, the new york club, and it was bland. Bacon was rock hard and looked liked it was from breakfast and we ordersd at 10:30pm! Breakfast was bland.

    The room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    excellent room and facilities, pleasant, welcoming staff. Expensive eating.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality and price of dinner

    Room and facilities were excellent...... better than we had expected. Meal not in the same category...disappointing and expensive. Breakfast much better but still expensive compared with other places we had stayed during the previous week.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Would 100% stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing I can say is the dust around the tv, the rest of the room was spotless.

    The property was nicer then expecting. The staff were amazing and couldn’t do more for you if they tried. Constantly going out of there way. Had a amazing sleep and the busy road didn’t bother me. The pool and spa was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    One of the nicest hotel I’ve stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower for those larger than average people

    Entrance was clean and inviting, customer service very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was amazing fresh food and loads to eat. Staff were very friendly and stopped to chat which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    A VERY PLEASANT AND ABJECT APOLJECTIVE YOUNG MAN AT THE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    OUR FIRST ROOM HAD LARGE HO;ES IN THE DOOR . NO HANDLES.AN UNMADE BED. WET TOWELS ONTHE FLOOR MY CHOICE OF MENU WAS UNAVAILABLE SO TOOK AN ALTERNATIVE RESTAURANT VERY CLEAN BUT TOTALLY FUNCTIONAL AND OBVIOSLY SO

    A VERY PLEASANT AND ABJECT APOLJECTIVE YOUNG MAN AT THE RECEPTION

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Staff were very helpul and found places to keep our bicycles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were very helpul and found places to keep our bicycles secure. Suited us that everything we needed bar and estaurant were on site. With the discount was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids running wild in the dining room from the garden after a wedding. They should have been better supervised..spoiled ours and others evening meal.

    Great room overlooking the river. Comfortable beds, coffee and free WiFi. Everything we needed for a nights stay, very good breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall good with excellent choice of food and friendly efficient staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last entry to pool/sauna area was 815pm on Sunday night and this closed a 9pm which was too early for me not sure if this was just Sunday opening hours or every day? Lift not working which wasn't an issue for me but would have been for older customers or those with more than hand luggage

    Staff were very friendly and helpful there was a good range of food available from restaurant or bar and the food was well priced for a hotel chain

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Cannot wait to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, the room was set up for single occupancy rather than double, so had to keep asking for more towels, toiletries and refreshments, plus the bed was not big enough.

    The shower was amazing, fabulous view of the river and so peaceful; could have the window open!,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    staff were friendly and helpful but th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was dirty plates and some still had water on them ,and being disabled the the lift was not working

    as the lift was not working we were booked on the first floor and being disabled ,but they found a room on the ground floor so that was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay. Lovely walk into Lancaster by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift didn't work which was not good for people with mobility problems or heavy luggage particularly as we were on the third floor.

    Clean and comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Relax friendly atmosphere.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me nothing. It was all good

    The whole experience was a fantastic one. From the staff. To the food. To the room. I couldnt fault anything. Everyone was so friendly and helpfull. I personally would stay again and recomend holiday inn lancaster.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Great choice for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working on the day. It is actually far from the city center (if you need to visit you either need car or a taxi).

    Big room and great shower. Quite hotel, a stone's throw from the M6. Nice breakfast at 7.5 pounds per person. Friendly staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay all round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food and menu choice. More healthy options especially at breakfast.

    The staff were attentive, friendly and polite. The hotel was clean my room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Room spot on,small things very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived sign on reception desk saying no towels for swimming to bring your own,lift was out of order room on top floor.no films to rent on tv.

    The room was spot on clean,tidy plenty of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    The room feels comfortable to live in, and it got almost...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -If only there was tooth brush in the toilet -The transportation was inconvenient

    The room feels comfortable to live in, and it got almost every equipment I need. The fish&chips was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel itself was clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was clean. It's location was well situated for our visit, not too far away from the centre, close enough that it was easy to get to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the stay at this hotel had a very relaxing day and a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot chocolate only tea and coffee no biscuits and no complemtry bottle water.

    Easy to find easy checking good location and a very comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: