Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lancaster House Hotel 4 stars

Green Lane, Lancaster, LA1 4GJ , United Kingdom

#11 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast price a little bit too high, so we didn't eat at hotel.

    plenty of parking lot. The feul price in nearest station is cheaper than ones on highway service station. The hotel is a little bit old-fashioned but facility is adequate for one night stay. I didn't use the swimming pool and spa so no comments on it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian dinner menu could be more imaginative (burger/salads), but despite that the food was delicious

    Beautiful hotel with well furnished and presented rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suited our purposes perfectly for a quick overnight stay while visiitng relative on way up to Scotland. Very comfortable indeed. Enjoyed the live music in the bar where we had our evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we weren't able to stay longer!

    Our party arrived late in with a pooch and received absolutely brilliant service - this really is a pet friendly hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we liked all of it

    Bed was very comfortable and our room was very close to reception, with a view out over the university campus. It was very quiet, the only noise coming from the birds. An excellent venue overall. It was only a short drive into town, but had a lovely rural feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was a bit small and only had a shower in the bath tub. who actually gets a bath? a good size shower area would be better

    everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable the location and the breakfast were great and the use of the leisure facilities ( pool,sauna, steam room, outside hot tub, gym) was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of a £20 charge for the dogs either in the write up or when checking in, just asked for it as we where leaving. Find £20 expensive for one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyable! Recommend deals that include the breakfast (which was lovely) but might be considered expensive if paid for separately (£16 for my friend who didn’t have it included in his stay)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service at breakfast time. Staff are very helpful but not always on it when it come stocking buffet. Quality of food is excellent.

    I like the breakfast and Sandpiper facilities. Luxury studio was very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ran out of complimentary toiletries (shampoo and body wash) very quickly. It would also have been good to have had hand wash or gel in the bathroom.

    Staff were very warm and friendly towards my young daughter who wants to move in permanently.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, but guy on reception kindly took our cases to our room so no problem.

    Great location for stop over on our way to Scotland. A touch of luxury, love it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy breakfast buffet meant the orange juice, sausages and fried eggs had not been replenished and weren’t until I had finished the rest of my cooked brekkie.

    Friendly staff Pool & spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes!!!

    We liked everything about the hotel. The location was perfect for visiting our granddaughter who is studying at Lancaster university. Attentive staff and good food in the restaurant, spacious comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having stayed there four times now we noticed how the restaurant has gone downhill, we ate there one night and for two breakfasts, the evening meal they forgot our sides with the meal and our wine (although they did discount our bill for the wine)for breakfast we had to send our kippers back as they were cold and the waiting staff were just not on it. The head waiter/supervisors were totally not able to run the restaurant efficiently. I would suggest this needs to be addressed as could cause people to not come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit shambolic. All guests were advised breakfast would be served between 7am and 11am, but the staff had been told it was 7-30 till 11,so it led to a lot of guests being locked out of the dining room.When dining room doors were opened,staff only had limited buffet available.

    bed very comfy, leisure facilities are fantastic and the reception staff as well as the sandeman bar staff could not do enough to make your stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like dogs in dini g room Don't need soft toy on bed

    Pleasant choice to have breakfast in quiet area- Bowland room as well as main dining room- liked the window area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like dogs in dini g room Don't need soft toy on bed

    Pleasant choice to have breakfast in quiet area- Bowland room as well as main dining room- liked the window area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No handwash in the bathroom. I prefer a seperate soap for washing my hands as opposed to the body and hair wash provided.

    The food, the rooms, and the pool and saunas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say I didn't like anything, but, it would be nice to see a fresh variety of cocktails and drinks,there are too many wine and gin choices.

    The service, the food, the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smart tv not smart

    Everything was very good. Was there for The Roses. Good check in. Suite very good. Smart tv wasn't smart that was the only minor fault. Bed comfy breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the food & service in the restaurant was poor. Starter was sent back uneaten as it was inedible (waiter told why, but zero feedback from the kitchen, and it stayed on the bill at end of meal, until queried again), had a 33 minute wait after finishing main course before anybody appeared in the restaurant again - to the extent I nearly went into the kitchen looking for somebody. Could have been so much better very easily so disappointed.

    Nice leisure facilities and good location close to M6. Very friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked about this property. I had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, I will definitely be returning ( next time for leisure ) to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

    What a gem of a hotel this is. Beautiful exterior, very warm and welcoming decor as you step inside and extremely friendly and professional gentleman welcomed me at the reception- what a lovely, warm welcome. Smooth check in, stunning room (nice touch to have the folder open on the bed with a welcoming note) and loved the concept of the do not disturb dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and considerate reception staff. My husband had a leg injury , they changed our room to the ground floor, and Jon carried our bags to our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated doing a load of laundry as this was close to the end of our trip, but only had a few items laundered through the hotel.

    Since I am on a restricted diet I was still able to eat what was available to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing not great, shower with fixed head position, still a good shower though.

    Staff, facilities, quiet dogs allowed in the bar, piano player in reception, cleanliness, food, adjoining rooms, comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of fire escape and exhaust chimney from the kitchen/central heating boiler. Fumes coming in window from chimney. Some staff not very welcoming or helpful.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The level of service seemed to have declined sharply from previous visits - had to chase up for coffee at breakfast both mornings, no apparent action on broken heated towel rail despite reporting it on arrival and again the next day.

    A lovely, comfortable, dog friendly hotel, spacious and spotless rooms, and great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got a little too hot in the room through the night even with the heater turned off. Could have done with some form of air cooling facility in the room.

    The pool and sauna facilities were excellent. The fact that access to these facilities were complimentary for guests at the hotel was a great bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are porters available to take your luggage up stairs, but there are no lifts. A small point, but there are few signs that make it clear where the ordinary exits to the reception and leisure facilities are - there are many many signs showing emergency exits. Which is good, in an emergency. I just found the door numbering and the corridors difficult to judge where we could just go downstairs.

    The pool, gym and food offered for breakfast were excellent standard. I could not fault the comfort of the bed in our room and the bathroom. I would only ask that they consider using some space in the room to put a small fridge in - as opposed to he trouser press and ironing board that are present.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too short staffed. This led to having to ask for glasses, orange juice, plates, bacon and black pudding. Also table was very cramped. Butter on floor got on wifes bag.

    Friendly staff. Spa was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit of a let down as they don’t top up the food quick enough . The second day we ate there we had no eggs ,bacon or black pudding so I just had beans on toast ! Another couple were complaining also .

    This is a lovely hotel with helpful staff and comfortable rooms . The pool and hot tub were really nice . I enjoyed the food in the bar more than the restaurant food .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Me and my friends stayed for 3 nights. Before we arrived, we had called the hotel to check if we need to pay extra if 3 of us stayed in the luxury studio with one double bed and one sofa bed and showing max 2 people on Booking website. We had been informed that there will be no extra cost. On the day we first stayed in the hotel, a staff came and suggested that she would check the reservation and let us know, however we heard back from no one and we thought there weren't be any problem. When we checked out on the last day, we had been informed that we need to pay extra. Appreciated that it is standard practice for charging extra person, we did think that we deserve an apology from the hotel of no sharing the correct information and refusing to even recognize and apologize for their own mistakes. Also if there is information asymmetry on hotel policy and booking policy, customers are supposed to be informed before they pay for everything. The lady who was explaining the policy at the reception when we checked out did not even say a “Sorry” or check with other staff who had communicated with us, but only stressing about the hotel policy, which we think unfortunately shown that the hotel was treating their customers with an attitude far from acceptable for a 4-star.

    All thing is fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location a little far out of Lancaster itself

    Great hotel, wonderful setting with roaring open fire. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent room, very clean and comfortable. Brilliant dinner and breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this once lovely country type hotel is now surrounded by houses and a unviversity complex. So the original charm and atmosphere has been lost

    The staff were very good indeed The food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor procedures when the fire alarm went off meant that I jolted my back on evacuation at 2:30am (poor lighting, visibility and no staff for guidance towards the assembly point which we never found and wasnt displayed on the room door) The resulting pain in my back kept me awake until 4:30am (6 months pregnant)

    Staff were amazing until I tried to raise the issue of the evacuation procedures with reception, where I was met with a standard 'we must follow procedure' response. This wasn't the issue I was attempting to raise. Management did complete a follow up call and i was able to better explain my concerns which they appeared to take seriously, although once again the issue of me jolting my back on exit from the building as a result of the lack of lighting was dismissed. At 6 months pregnant this was meant as a relaxing weekend away before I'm kept awake through the night....ironically this did not happen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is right in the mix of Lancaster Uni and their student accommodation.

    The pool, spa & steam room we're a great way to relax. Room was clean and comfortable. The bus was £2 from town and easy to follow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to evacuate at 2:30am because of the emergency slarm. We did not have any instruction and did not know where to go and when we should go back to the room. We were very tired next day as we had to drive to London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the drains and the bar was closed due to the terrible smell.

    Lovely clean and immaculate room. We have stayed at Lancaster house several time and always enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little “tired”.

    Friendly staff. Great location for uni. Good amount of parking. Good tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion with booking terms. States clearly on booking.com that payment will be taken on arrival. This wasn’t the case and payment was taken in advance which caused significant problems. After disputing this it was resolved; however it was uncomfortable to explain this.

    Comfort and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were not knowledgeable on drinks and could not provide all elements of drinks from gin menu and had run out of the correct glasses. Confusion with room booking meant that to get the twin we had booked we were shown to three separate rooms. Concierge staff were not proactive in providing extra tea when asked even when they ahs half an hour to find some whilst I was in the spa only to have to wait even longer once finished to get some.

    Big spacious facility set on the edge of the university and on the outskirts of town. Spa facilities excellent with pool, hitting, sauna and steam room which were clean. Bedrooms clean, food excellent. Friendly breakfast staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really didn't like the fact that we had to leave! Wanted to stay longer.

    Beautiful hotel very close to Lancaster University so suited us perfectly as we were visiting our daughter. Staff very friendly, food excellent and the warmest pool and hot tub ever! Gorgeous open fire too! Just what you need on a cold day. Beds super comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full length mirror in the room would’ve been an advantage

    The facilities available including inclusive usage of the sauna, steam room & jacuzzis. Very friendly staff, nice and clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in room 27 a total joke, built for a very small person, very little pressure and could not be redirected without turning off. TV is too small and is fixed to wall. Food in terms off breakfast was not as good as previous visits and lunch was very poor and extremely slow un-trained staff!!!

    swimming pool is a big bonus and easy location for lancaster

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price tag is a bit high for north , shower can be more powerful, but overall well worth the money

    Great studio room perfect for family of three clean and very nice design and top quality food even for room service very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, clean and well decorated, with tea facilities. Convenient location, avoiding the need to go in the city itself. Gorgeous open fire in foyer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the room were dated and not quite worth what we paid. We also had issues checking out as they tried to charge us almost £150 for drinks that we had not had. Another guest had charged their food and drinks to our room- it was a little concerning that could even have happened! Then to top it off the staff member didn't seem to believe us and we had to recount where we had been the night before to prove it wasn't us!!

    The evening staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Croissants perfect Very comply bed staff excellent in every area Nothing to say other than excellent stay already booked for August bringing my Grandaughter for pre birthday present

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Morning breakfast seemed short staffed (both chefs and serving staff).Despite this the staff who were serving were very polite and were working very hard. I had to wait approx. 20-25 minutes for gluten free full English breakfast. -Breakfast limited choice as no sausages or black pudding available in gluten free- I was not offered any alternatives but staff did ,when I asked, supplement me with more bacon. Tables too small for all breakfast crockery. Tables not cleared quickly and guests in general seemed to be waiting a long time for staff to restock breakfast items on the heated buffet.

    staff very accomodating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pool area felt cold when sitting at the side. There could have been more places to hang belongings up so that people didn't put them on the seats. The swimsuit dryer was broken in the men's changing room. The soap in the showers didn't lather. It would have been lovely to have free robes if staying in the hotel.

    The bed was amazing. Huge and comfy. The reception area with sofas and chairs around a fireplace was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my third visit to Lancaster House and it never fails to impress me. Its a super hotel with helpful staff and good facilities including a leisure club. There is a lovely wood panelled reception and sitting area with an open fire and a welcoming bar for a drink or light snack. I booked a double room but was upgraded to a suite this time with sitting area and huge bathroom containing both a bath tub and shower- an unexpected surprise to be upgraded and so even more impressed by the room. Will definitely continue to stay here when visiting family in Lancaster. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 options I really wanted on the menu (cheese soufflé and profiteroles) we’re out of stock. I was very disappointed as they were the reason we chose to eat at the restaurant.

    Staff all brilliant. Barman was particularly outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hardly any hot food at breakfast the first morning and had to wait 20 mins for more bacon ect the 2nd morning I had to wait half an hour for a poched egg my tea in the sandman bar made me ill and I was sick all night overall disappointed!

    The leisure was good and also the massage I had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a lot of expectations from the restaurant but I was rather disappointed. Had board of cheeses which is meant to come with celery sticks and grapes. Had 4 tiny sticks, one of the tips had not been removed and 6 little grapes out of which one was rotten. The crème caramel was not creamy and they had run out of raspberries.

    The rooms were comfortable. It was extremely close to the University. The fire place looked amazing. The pub was looked cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone reception?!?!?! How bizarre. Had to use the ancient toon phone to make a toll free call that was on my bill? Had it taken off. Friendly staff at checkout btw.

    Hotel fine in itself, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better buffet quality breakfast

    Poor breakfast service ,and quality of food not up to patch at breakfast Dinner good selection needs improving without you encouraging wastage good wine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was expensive but the service was great. Could have been more put out for breakfast; there was never enough fresh yogurt and the pineapple juice was very popular. The gym was too busy with non-residents and students.

    We were upgraded on arrival. Dinner was excellent; I can highly recommend the mixed grill. The spa/gym/pool was lovely to relax after a busy day but full of non-residents.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to stayed longer

    Large comfortable room, excellent food and a well stocked bar all this with pleasant staff and a warm reception on a very cold winters night after a long day. What more could you ask for?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park lighting was inadequate - sparse and feeble - needs an upgrade for security and safety. WiFi reception was rather weak.

    A very comfortable bed - really good. The tea tray was excellent - good choice, plus tea pot, plus biscuits!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the changing rooms in the pool area were a bit tired & grubby

    Loved the powerful shower & Elemis products. Also had a fantastic meal in the Food Works Had a late checkout which enabled us to have a relaxing morning by the fire with the papers & hot coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vegetarian breakfast was great. The service was so friendly from the moment we arrived. We ordered the bread to share and it was much bigger than expected - great value. The steam room and outdoor jacuzzi were lovely. There was a nice selection of cocktails too. Very big and comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome. Excellent food, good beer and a fabulous pool. Room was very nice - comfortable and clean. What more could you want?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main menu. I understand you had a new menu, although I ate twice my partner couldn't find anything she liked, and I was not excited by the choices.

    The open log fire

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer to be able to book on the day directly.

    We booked on the same day we arrived, which unfortunately meant me couldn't book direct. Instead we used Booking.com. There was a brief bit of trouble finding the booking when we arrived, but it was sorted very quickly and they made sure our room had some extra little things for our dog. Dinner was very good, and after a quick walkies, we sat with our dog by a huge open fireplace. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room service food order was forgotten waited one hour 15 mins in total. Graduation ceremony guests had filled the hotel. The sandwich ordered wasn’t tasty, very bland

    Ambience,food,facilities,reception area was lovely with open fire

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar tender at Sandeman's was a bit overwhelmed, while simultaneously training new staff. They were flustered, but worked it all out.

    The front desk staff was wonderfully helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault a thing

    The Spa facilities where great especially the outdoor hot tub (would have been even better if it had have snowed). The bedrooms where gorgeous and the food served in the restaurant was very good. Excellent value for money all round. Staff in both the Spa and Hotel were brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lights not working. Room needed updating.

    Staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. The reception area was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The bar area was also very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of Breakfast I thought £16 plus rather expensive

    All round excellent stay we go married 3years ago at Lancaster House and return every year on our wedding anniversary the 19th Dec

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came for breakfast just after 9 am - very busy, a little chaotic: no glasses for juice, lack of choice for hot breakfast ( run out of sausages).

    Clean, comfortable room. Bathroom could benefit from refurbishment, but it was clean. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks selection in the bedroom was brilliant-especially the coffee bags - delicious. Breakfast was excellent with a ‘to order’ section and a help yourself buffet that was a good selection of items to choose from or not depending on how hungry/ greedy you feel. I rather liked that the bedroom corridor had notices up to remind people to have consideration for others when going to/ from their rooms and the room itself was super comfy and well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of service in the restaurant sometimes left room for improvement, although over all it was good.

    Delightful Arts and Crafts architecture, down to the smallest details. Helpful, friendly staff. Claire in the restaurant did an outstanding job ensuring that things ran smoothly. She went out of her way to accommodate the needs of our party.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleased with stay generally, but very disappointed with breakfast - lukewarm food on cold plates is not a good combination. Mushrooms appeared and tasted as though boiled. A potentially excellent breakfast ruined - come-on guys you can do better than that!!

    Friendly and helpful staff. Everything generally good. Nice location which feels as though way out in the country but is actually quite close to motorway making access easy. Location has lots of good parking. Nice log fire in reception with excellent comfy seats surrounding it. Spa looks good but did not actually use personally.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was lacking and Not hot enough. Coffee was very good. Dining room was crowded and untidy, dirty plates staked on trolley next to my table and other tables not cleared. Took the shine off a great stay as was expecting a very good breakfast. Had worse but had better at prem inns.

    Out door hot tub was great fun. Bed was very comfortable and room was warm and quiet. Very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treatment different from one person to the other one had a shower in treatment room other had to walk in to public change g room to shower mid treatment not relaxing!!!

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: