Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grange Lancaster Hotel 3 stars

4 - 6 Bedford Place, Bloomsbury, Camden, London, WC1B 5JD, United Kingdom

#409 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1046 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfest is expensive. Staff is not friendly.

    The hotel is very well located, no doubts. However, my room was on the 3rd floor and there was no lift.. lucky me I had no luggage, only a small backpack. The breakfast seemed quite ok but expensive (£17.50), so I prefer to go somewhere else. The staff is ok but nothing except the essential. Would only go back if I had no options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan was not working,nets had holes in them,toilet not part of room.Carpets worn,no air conditioning,no complimentary continental breakfast,no water in bottles in room,that's extra! on a really humid hot night

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that wasn't good was that we were at the front and the staff had to go through the door by our window. All we could hear from 6 am was the door banging shut and the staff members putting in the code to get into the building.

    The bed was really comfortable and big. The bathroom was massive. Room service was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a lot of hair in the trash can, my room didn’t have AC, just a 10 years old table fan, tv not working. 23 pounds for breakfast (!) Somebody walked in my room while i was sleeping with my girlfriend during the afternoon, a lot of structural noises, and clearly needs refurbishment. And today they also sent me a no show mail event though i was there.. ok (?)

    Good position, staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to share toilet, even though it is very clean. A bit inconvenient. Sometimes can hear very loud sexual sounds …

    Very clean hotel with good service. Nice restaurant provide decent breakfast. Next to British museum and bus stations. Underground isn't far at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the toilet was in the room, this would be my preferred hotel to stay in London. But overall, no complaints. Excellent place to stay

    I asked for a quiet room, with a firm bed and a low, soft pillow, and this is what I got. Great! The room was large, with appropriate furniture, and shower and sink. The shared toilets were always super clean, and there were plenty on each floor, near the room. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not soundproofed, so there was some noise disruption from a staff access next to my room - possibly the cleaner. The door to the room also let in a lot of light from the corridor.

    A perfect location in easy reach of things like the British Museum and in strolling distance of lovely parks and the underground. Nice friendly staff, and a simple check-in and out really helped to make a good stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... It was a little older than other places I've stayed but it was cheap so not complaining!

    It was quiet and cheap and staff were helpful... It's rare to find somewhere very quiet and off main roads so I was very happy at being able to get good sleep.... Also close to the Dominion theatre...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    dirty bathroom (my daughter was afraid to wash), ugly room, terrible and expensive food from room service menu, impolite and incompetent service at check-out

    tasty breakfast, very nice service during breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated, could use some new carpets, but everything was clean and comfortable.

    The hotel was clean and staff were pleasant and they held our luggage all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suppose nothing

    The Hotel is really clean, the facilities are rather new and the stuff is polite. Our room was under the maintenance, that is why our room was upgraded for the better one. It was very nice. One more thing, the location is perfect, close to the British Museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building itself is very run down and in need of significant improvements. Some of the staff were friendly, others supremely disinterested and borderline rude.

    The hotel is in a good location for central London.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv not working, net curtains were filthy , grey not white ! Ironing board cover was dirty could only find one socket to plug the iron in and that was behind the bed . Breakfast wasn’t particularly hot . And expensive for what you got

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was wonderful. It is on a very quiet street. The location is great with just a short walk through Russell Square to the tube stop on the Piccadilly line which goes just about everywhere in central London you should visit. Staff was very friendly and the value was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) NO TOILET in the room just shower cubicle and wash basin. Had to share a toilet with other guests....not good! 2) NO Kettle in the room to make a hot drink. 3) Bed was NOT a Double Bed it was Two Single Beds pushed together. 4) Curtains were hanging off the windows.

    Room was a good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Lot's of lock-in for a longer stay (2 weeks). Never book several days via booking.com! No flexibility in terms of upgrading service - always maximally priced! No interest in longer-term guests. No chance to talk personally to management even when obviously on the premises. Booking.com rate obviously is dominated by direct hotel rates which include breakfast (but not booking.com rate)

    Receptionists tried to be friendly - despite management not being interested in customer concerns.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was exceptionally HOT - heating was on full when we arrived and even though we turned it off we were still far too warm.

    Very Clean. Bed comfy. Location ideal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room amenities / toilet was not in room - was shared. Shower landing was carpet: not very appealing from a cleanliness perspective. No lift to the 4th floor... Need to read the fine print!

    Location & friendliness of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I arrived I tried to pay for the room but my card was declined. I called my bank and they said it had nothing to do with my card and nothing is recorded with them. The card machine is the issue but it was so embarrassing that I literally wanted to die.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't have a lift and with bags and a pram it was very uncomfortable. The room service food was far from ideal.

    The hotel is well located and the staff were very brilliant. The room was very comfortable with plenty of space. The breakfast buffet was fresh and well thought out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location near the British Museum, easy walking distance to St. Pancras, Kings Cross and Eustace rail stations, easy walk to Tube. Great walk down Charing Cross Road. Very helpful staff. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade of room due to being transferred to an adjoining hotel! Staff friendly and courteous, very near Holborn (central) and Russell Sq (Piccadilly) stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Window has single glass, its very old and leaking. When I was lying on the bed next to the window I could feel very clearly freezing wind coming from the window. In the room there was no duvet. I had to ask for it on the reception, otherwise I wouldn't stay there, it was almost as sleeping with open window.

    WiFi is very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower is right in the room (like in the photos) which is a bit akward if not travelling alone. our room was on third floor and thus didn't have the high ceiling and big windows that are shown in the photos.

    great location! in a quiet street, close to underground and super close to bus station (No 10). big room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i used the sink a temporary whiff came out of the shower. Water would be lovely - even tap and a tea bag would be wonderful, small things but important.

    The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Bed comfortable, good shower, would definitely use again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar although there was one in a sister hotel over the road. The worst thing was that the location of the room made it very noisy from 6am with staff going up and down the stairs presumably getting the breakfast shift started. This was worse on Saturday, but on Sundays it started at 7am. This may have been the location of our particular room - room 8 at the bottom of the stairs. Would also have been good to have an iron in the room rather than ask for one to be delivered.

    Good location in a quiet street close to amenities and restaurants. Very comfy bed and good sized room and bathroom with shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to the lower ground floor where my bedroom was. These need a better handrail. No mineral water or biscuits (although good quality toiletries in the bathroom).

    Breakfast was excellent. I would have liked a ground floor room, as there is no lift. The bedroom was smaller than expected. The property has explained that it is a listed building and they are limited to the amount of alterations they can make. It is probably fine for younger guests, and everyone seemed happy at breakfast which, as I have said, was excellent - freshly cooked, good choices and efficiently served. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to make an early train journey from Euston or Kings Cross. It's also a short walk to the British Museum. Although I had a front room it was not noisy at night, while only a short distance from one of London's busy through-route main roads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Check-in and check-out were slow and chaotic. Breakfast is overpriced (and there are lots of cafés etc in the area). But we still like the place and will probably stay at the Grange chain again.

    Lovely big room looking over back gardens. Good location to walk to key sights, theatres etc. One of my favourite parts of London so very good for a stay around New Years Eve.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv only had one Chanel No toilet in room but knew that was case so it’s not a complaint it’s just most people like to have everything in the room these days. Two flights of stairs no help with luggage and I have a back condition so that was tough on me! I could feel bugs jumping on me when I finally laid down at night to go to sleep. The bed was clean but carpets looked so dated throughout hotel that I am certain they have been there too long to collect dirt and bugs!!! Desperately in need of change!

    Easy access to everywhere I needed to be walking and close to tube Easy to find Felt safe Nice park to walk through Plenty of shops bars and restaurants near by Staff were friendly 24 hr too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no lifts in the hotel. I stayed on the third floor and struggled to carry my suitcases which was a bit of a pain.

    My stay at the hotel was very pleasurable; just what I needed. I really enjoyed the one night at the hotel for the New Year. The bed was soft and comfortable, the view was good, the room was warm and clean. I was happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not overly friendly, particularly important for a woman travelling on her own with children. No one offered to carry our suitcase down the stairs for us Spare pullout bed was not usable. So uncomfortable, even my 7 year old was unable to sleep on it. Luckily the main bed was just about big enough to sleep 1 adult and 2 children!

    Excellent facilities, beautifully clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a room with a broken window, fixed with tape and card board- and that in winter.... staff was very responsive when I complained and got me another room but why that room is/ was in use in the first place... shower lacked a bit of presssure Shared toilet could have been tended to more It was sometimes very noisy Overall the hotel is a bit tired ...

    Absolut fantastic location, very good wifi, responsive staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed having my own toilet and the shower in the room looked a little worn.

    Kudos to the amazing staff at the hotel! Everyone was incredibly helpful, friendly and caring way above the normal way! A big shoutout to the very caring and engaged nightshift staff who tried their best to help me get a flight back home when mine was cancelled. A big thank you as well to the young lady in training behind the counter. Regarding the room: Very cosy! The only thing missing was the own toilet. Bit it wasn't that bad as only three rooms shared two toilets (m/f).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no toilet in my bedroom! I checked in very late at night after business meetings, and couldn't believe that there was no toilet in my room.

    the location of the hotel was very good for me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t ask for more, travelled with my granddaughter for a birthday treat and absolutely made up to find we had been upgraded to the 4 Seat sister property over the road. Extremely clean and comfortable would definitely recommend to anyone

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't close and it was next to the street. There were security bars but still is not safe AT ALL. People tried to open my door luckily I closed well but I has to call reception to take those people out of my door.

    Location is ok. Staff was kind. It is in general ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have a lift and the stairs are quite narrow is it's hard to bring up your luggage to the room. There are many fire doors on the way to the shared toilet which is a bit of a hassle

    The location is great (in Holburn), the staff is friendly and helpful and the facilities are nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to find that the toilet was shared and outside the room. admittedly it was only shared between 3 rooms but still an annoyance to have to leave the room. I probably wouldn't have booked this hotel had I known this. It's wasn't a massive inconvenience but still not ideal.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was nice and big and, again, clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable; location was quite good, just close to everything: attractions, tube, supermarkets, restaurants and shops. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy room in the basement. If they put you in room 006 (or any other room starting with a 0), ASK FOR A DIFFERENT ROOM!

    Excellent location Very comfortable bed Very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was charged incorrectly when I arrived so had to pay again in the morning which delayed my departure. Was a bit of an odd smell in the room but got used to it. Lots of stairs to get to my room but it was manageable with a small bag for one night. The street cleaner vehicle and bin collections were quite noisy in the morning but not the fault of the hotel.

    Location was excellent, clean room, clean shared toilet facilities, decent smart TV, powerful hot shower in room and sink, provides toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. Was given a double room when i only booked a single.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First world problems, but the Smart TV didn't have any fancy apps on it at all - could've done with some Netflix, etc.

    The room was enormous for a last-minute deal. I spent most of the evening running around it and rolling about on the floor, with a few dive bombs thrown in for good measure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abusive staff. Made me pay at arrival, did not provide an invoice for the payment when requested. "False cheap" room in the breakfast costs £20. Toilets in the corridor, like youth hostels.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I always enjoy the Grange Hotels in the Russell Square area. The location is stellar, with so many fascinating places, gardens, museums, shops, and pubs a few minutes' walk away, and The Lancaster provided a completely comfortable stay for 10 days. Very friendly staff who worked hard to accommodate guests' needs and all in all a great place. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to some sort of machine room (probably for vent) which kept coming on andd was quite noisy. The whole place was pretty dated.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator in the building. While staff were pleasant they were unable to deal with certain requests. Room was very small and hot.

    Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel do not have elivator so bringing up luggage to third flour for woman is not easy..

    Hotel located in the centre, calm street what brings easy to reach a lot in walking distanc and provides good sleep. Nice charming English style hotel. Would love to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    All perfect and could not complement the staff highly enough, it was this above all that I would like to credit....... I saw at least five members of reception staff and they were so helpful and pleasant I would recommend anyone to use this hotel.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That although the room was clean there where socks left in the shower a used toothbrush and a couple of bottles and prior clients scribbles on notepad, but all in all lovely stay and the staff where lovely very polite

    Bed extra comfy and we got upgraded

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs to the third floor but no bother for me. Maybe an elderly or disabled person should ask for a 1st floor room.

    Great location and very comfortable room and such a great price for the city centre!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I upgraded to the premier room that wasn't so premier. I also paid for dinner and breakfast, they couldn't print the coupon at reception and didn't drop it to my room later so I missed these.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower and sink in the room but the toilets are shared with about 5 other rooms, never had to queue to get in. It didn't bother me at all but might be an issue for some. It was so hot and sunny which was great but the big windows made the room like an oven, once we opened them up it cooled off.

    Comfortable beds, nice big bright room with big windows, friendly staff, great location. Pretty quiet area considering we were there for a weekend too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are a bit old but there is a pleasantly classic feeling to these rooms. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was woken at 4.30am by their delivery guys who were shouting to one another outside our front window! We then couldn't get back to sleep! When we then asked the hotel staff if WE could pay extra per hour for an extra 2 hours so we could eventually have a sleep which it states clearly online that you are able too, they at first wasn't willing to allow us too! Although it was their meat delivery men who woke us in the first place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was super hot that day (heat wave) and it was hard to find an outlet to plug in the fan. The breakfast was on the expensive side.

    The location is great, I love the quiet neighborhood that is still in downtown London. The rooms are beautiful, wood trim, nice decorations, simple, a little old fashioned feeling, classic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower inside the room and shared toilets on the floor are not recommended when staying for more than couples of days. Also room is quite small, especially with shower and sink taking up part of the space. Baby-crib is too old. No elevators (but staff is more than happy to help carry heavy luggage upstairs).

    Location is superb. Staff is helpful. Cleaning of rooms is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a pity they have not added a toilet to the room as there was lots of space

    Fantastic location and good price. Hair drier and cooling fan available and very quiet even though in a central location and the room faced the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit hot. It would have been better to have a sheet as well as the doona on the bed to allow us to adjust to temperature better.

    Very helpful and attentive staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    As advertised when booked the toilets are a short walk down the corridor (like 1 minute). Absolutely fine but feels strange.

    Convenient location to my office. Very friendly helpful staff. Good sized room which was comfortable. Perfect for one night as I needed to be in early so meant I could avoid the commute.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too warm in the room, in fact as soon as you went through the door to go downstairs the heat hit you, it was oppressive, maybe it was just our room. No plug sockets near the mirrors which made doing your hair awkward. The breakfast coffee was cold but in fairness was immediately replaced.

    Large room and bathroom nicely furnished

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to spend money to change the bath tubs the are two feet high into a walk-in shower to accomodate senior citizens and all age groups.

    It is very close to the underground station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, really small room if you go for the cheap options but you get what you pay for. Also have to walk outside to get to their sister hotel to use the 'lounge bar' (which is a couple of chairs inside and a patio table outside)

    The location is between two nice, safe and small parks which is nice. Also 2 mins away from the British museum and the tube station is a short walk, great location for the money! Friendly staff. It was very clean and quiet and the shared bathroom wasn't a problem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    but no air condition and weather is very hot, it is a disaste, and the rest room is outsider of room, which is very inconvenient

    location is near British museum, which is good,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift would have been great but then again its an old building so these things cant be expected when paying lower prices.

    Really great value. This hotel is perfect for London, we only slept there and spent hardly any time in the room so it was ideal for what we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room. When I did the reservation I didn think that most of the rooms have shared toilets. And after I realized this mistake I had to pay 30 pounds extra per day in order to have toilet in the room We had good time in London

    The stuff we're very good and polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for bed & breakfast, we're informed at arrival that it did not include breakfast... When we discovered Sunday morning at 10,45 that we could have breakfast the buffet was closed. We complained but did not get any rebate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit more modern look.

    Everything was fine; old building undergoing renovations. Close (no longer than 30 mins walk) to many of the things we wanted to see - Big Ben, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, St Paul Cathedral, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There really wan't anything that I didn't like - but I could imagine that for people who prefer more modern interiors the decor might seem a bit 'rustic' - and some people might object to the shared toilet system.

    This establishment is a cross between a 'hotel' and a 'bed and breakfast' - with a friendly, and homely feel. The location is difficult to surpass. It sits in the Bloomsbury Conservation area and is about one minutes walk from the British museum. Inside it is unapologetically old-fashioned in style. The fact that it hasn't been 'refurbished' adds to the charm. It is a treat to stay in a period Georgian house like this. My room was spacious with lovely period details (original fireplace and original plaster coving) - but also unpretentious with its simple in-room shower cubicle (which worked perfectly) and shared toilet down the hall. My room looked over Russell Square (at the back) and was surprisingly quiet and peaceful for such a central location. I was delighted to be able to open the bedroom window, to let fresh air in (which you can't do in many more modern design hotels). The staff were very smartly presented and courteous. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and slept wonderfully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the toilet was always open and people from the opposite building can see you, though you can lower the window

    The staffs there were very friendly and willing to help, and the room was really big and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge didn't seem to get very cold.

    We were upgraded to the neighbouring Portland so this review is for the Portland. Very nice rooms with kitchenette, best room we have had so far on our trip. It is just around the corner from the British Museum and we found a great local pub, The Swan, for good meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No locked room for your luggage - they lock it only if they have an empty room in the hotel. Otherwise it just stands in front of the reception desk. Not really secure if you want to leave some smaller bag without a lock. THIN walls - woke up on 6.00 am because of somebody's shower.

    Great location, clean room with hair conditioner and body lotion! Have a nice feelling of a decent English hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    workmen standing on scaffolding outside the second floor bathroom window when I needed to use the loo! [hopefully a once-in-a-lifetime experience]

    excellent and convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fine but the stairs and halls were very tired looking. No air conditioning, which was fine for us but if it was very hot it would be uncomfortable.

    We had a large comfortable room with a big bed. For the centre of London it is fairly quiet. Great location in Bloomsbury with lots of lovely parks and gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very warm - no air conditioning so difficult to sleep. Also building work opposite so noisier than usual (not the hotel's fault).

    Bed comfy and hotel in good location - road quiet though see next question. Room good and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit hot in the room

    Excellent location. British museum and oxford street are within walking distance. You can find many coffee shops and one large supermarket nearby. Convenient transportation to other places such as London eye. The common toilet is clean and is not a disadvantage at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: