Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Langdale Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Langdale Estate, Ambleside, LA22 9JD, United Kingdom

Review Score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Me and my partner went for a nights break after climbing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Me and my partner went for a nights break after climbing scafell from langdale. The hotel felt like a little luxury holiday resort rather than a hotel. The accommodation is in little blocks surrounded by beautiful trees. It was very peaceful, clean and felt like a real getaway. We stayed in a cosy double room as we were only stayed one night. The room was lovely, no faults and felt cosy rather than than small as I was expecting. If I was to be incredibly picky I would have to say the shower was great but the water didn't go down fast enough and they could have done with an extra shelf to place toiletries on as there wasn't much room for this. (But thid is being picky) The breakfast was lovely very good produce and the staff could not do enough for you. We sat outside overlooking a lovely water feature as we ate breakfast. Although checkout is at 1030am they welcome you to stay and use the leisure facilities so we enjoyed a trip to the gym before leaving although we didn't eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant the restaurant looked lovely. The decor combined a real modern twist but still using lots of traditional cumbrian slates . The only downside is that we stayed only 1 night! . Definitely will be going back and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa was expensive compared to others, Swinton Spa near me offers a wide range of treatments at a variety of prices , rather than just the one rate for the set treatment, however looked to be a 5 star treatment.

    Langdale is a fantastic place and excellence value for money! The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and are very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and furnished to the highest standard. Would 100% recommend, especially for couples.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.8
    The new spa is out of this world luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was a bit odd. Had to stand on the bed to close the curtains and a weird squeaky floor. They knew about both faults and have chosen not to fix them.

    The new spa is out of this world luxury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect, but we went for a meal on the night in the stove restraunt for my partners birthday, and staff who waited our table appeard confused and one forgot to take our order before going home, therefore other staff members did not know we hadn't been served yet. Also I pre booked a birthday platter for my partner which was a suprise, however they had also forgot about that.

    Our room was amazing, which also had a Jacuzzi bath. The scenes around the hotel were beautiful! the leisure centre had amazing facilities. Our meal was delicious on the evening and breakfast was also very good!! We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    We will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast choice was incredible, we never ate the same thing any morning. The room was well equipped with an amazing airjet bath, which was perfect after a day's hiking. The pool and sauna were lovely in the evening. The grounds were beautiful, but natural with excellent walking without needing to move the car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    The place to go for a treat weekend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internal sign posting could have been clearer but once you get your bearings everything was easy.

    Sensational location and buildings are in keeping with location. Excellent food and the shared plate of lamb shoulder was awesome at dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location for relaxing and some beautiful walks. the Brimston Spa is well worth a visit. we found all staff very friendly and helpful. limited mobile connection, hotel wifi good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.1
    Average, maybe, perhaps not quite what we would expect for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a lot smaller than expected. Outside areas could do with refurbishment. Staff a bit on check out a bit disconnected from reality. Told the girl we had to leave early because we had been burgled at home and she said "Excellent, that's all fine". Not really listening I guess.

    Spa and pool were okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Loved my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor view from rooms, poor WiFi in our room 121. Better if large pieces of maintenance machines not laying around, spoils ambiance.

    Lovely rooms, beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, tranquil, comfort, luxury.
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Perfect!

    Beautiful estate rather than just one hotel. Lovely area. Leisure facilities were amazing, exceeded expectation. Room beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds, amazing shower. Lovely little extras like umbrellas etc. Staff very welcome and friendly. Would definitely stay again-just beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.2
    The food was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not being back allowed in the spa before checking out as it closed early on the Monday so we only got 5 hours in the spa assuming we could use it the next day.

    The food was really good. The spa was also exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    excellent accommodation lovely leisure facilities brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff very friendly and helpful excellent location only yards away from car park/pool/restuarant very peaceful and didnt feel overcrowded at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    More than you would have expected at the Langdale Estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could have done with a bit more maintenance, a few minor issues there...but the staff made the place and we want to return.

    Beautiful setting, tranquil and luxurious. The staff were amazing, genuinely caring and helpful. I saw one young man even kneel on the floor to take a breakfast order from an elderly gentleman...above and beyond. Stove restaurant is a good mix of formal and informal areas with lots of cosy wood burners. And the leisure facilities are available to you for the rest of the day after you have checked out, even if you leave the premises. We went sailing each side of our overnight stay...we arrived looking like we had sailed and came back after doing the same the next day to use the sauna and pool. They greeted and welcomed us as if we were royalty. Superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.7
    The staff are very friendly. Room location poor and bit tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were located on a roadway/lane and there was quite heavy footfall and traffic. Although the room was a "roomy" room, very clean, it was standard and a bit tired looking.

    The staff within the Stove restaurant are very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    Had a good time staying in the langdale hotel, hope to return again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air-conditioning, the Radiator was on full. I was sleeping with windows opening and fan on, didn’t sleep well. Disappointed to find that the brimstone spa (main purpose of our visit) was an extra £45 PP on top of our pricey hotel charges.

    Loved the breakfast, staff nice and friendly and all around facilities were brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious country spa break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little too warm for us at night.

    Breakfast was delicious a lot of choice and leisure facilities were great. Room was very comfortable and little extras in the room were nice. Location was good and accessible walks nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay at a unique location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean and tidy. Check in/ check out process was efficient and speedy. We actually got to check in slightly early as our room was ready on time when we arrived early to go into the spa. Spa was AMAZING! It’s a must visit type place. We got straight in for breakfast the next morning. Food was good. Would definitely recommend you visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would highly recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rubber at the bottom of the glass shower screen had perished, so lots of shower water leaked onto the bathroom floor regardless of how careful we were. The WiFi signal in the bedroom was very weak and made for frustratingly slow experience when checking emails / social media.

    Hotel complex was beautiful and fitting with the environment. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent (breakfast and dinner menus) Room was very clean and had a very comfortable feel about it whilst being modernly decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great relaxing short break - loved it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is quite expensive and brimstone very expensive. Can be a wet walk to restaurant if weather bad . Shame sit down breakfast doesn’t last until 11 am instead of 10 .

    Quality resort and hotel. You can eat well ,have quality accommodation and enjoy a world class spa as well as walk freely on the many paths in langdale. Highly recommend it . I have stayed in many hotels in the lakes over 30+ yrs and this all round is one of the best .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful rooms, comfortable & luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we first got into our room we were disappointed. Although it was very clean, it didn't look as nice as advertised on the website & I wouldn't say worth the money. We had also left a comment when we booked that it was our honeymoon... a card had been left on the bed congratulating us... but had the wrong name written inside! As it was our honeymoon we decided to upgrade & pay extra for a nicer room for our 3 nights to which the staff were very accommodating but we weren't made to feel special (a little petty maybe) but would've made our stay that little bit more special!

    Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice. The bathtub in the hotel room (104) was very luxurious. Comfortable bed. Definitely coming back here!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant Stay 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's hard to say, it does have everything, Spa, swimming pool, on-site restaurant and bar, staff were nice, attentive and helpful, however, for us the facilities were not cohesive enough - having said that it was still a 4 out of 5 experience overall - thank you 😀

    Having initially been allocated a dark room with no view or natural light (Room 179) the Duty Manager responded immediately and reallocated us to a more suitable room (Room 144) which was very nice - excellent response to our initial disappointment as we are certainly not a couple who would normally have need to complain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    Over priced and a hair in the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spoke with someone at reception after booking to discuss which room type I wanted so I was disappointed to be in a totally different room. Although it was lovely it wasn't what had been discussed. A hair in the mushrooms at breakfast was off putting to say the least and although the waiter apologised nobody from the kitchen bothered themselves.

    The room layout - an entrance hall with bathroom off, separated from the bedroom. The breakfast was lovely on the first morning. The Wainwright pub was a bonus and great that you could charge everything to the room - the food was delicious too, from a basic sandwich to a main meal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    hotel great location and facilities, very friendly staff and Stoves restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was on the ground floor and people were smoking and talking outside our room in the early hours of the morning which woke me up and the smell of smoke could be smelt in the room

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and made our stay perfect, nothing was too much trouble. The location was great, the facilities were excellent and the food was amazing in Stoves. Definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing but a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have spent too much on making it a more luxurious place for the more affluent guest, need to look at the basics. Breakfast not always a full selection and not piping hot.

    I love the place peaceful and relaxing have been coming for a number of years

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellemnt facilities, great location for outdoor lovers, friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More of a complex than a hotel with excellent facilities. Good free pool and spa facilities for guests, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and also dined one evening in the restaurant, which was outstanding food. For lovers of ale and really good modern pub food, Wainwrights pub, just down the road makes for a great relaxing evening with really well kept ales. Close to some good Lake District hikes in Langdale, or walk from the hotel to the New Dungeon Gill mainly following the river for an easy walk that gives great scenery. For those wanting to get higher you can then hike up into the hills from there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, amazing food, the atmosphere was wonderful. Some rooms do need updating though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though the facilities were very modern our room could of done with some updating, the bathroom was beautiful but the room itself needs a bit of an update.

    Incredible location, beautiful facilities. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    I was really happy with the incredible walking options and the location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could being better , quite basic for what the hotel stands hence I had my sevening meal at the Pub nearby on my second night stay . To my surprise, the hotel did not have Cafetiere coffee :( I though the pool was shallow and water quite cold . The mattress was quite hard and the top of the bed head board was full of dust .

    The area is full of beautiful walking options .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.1
    We had a nice time, but the room was noisey at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The "spa" facilities are not included, only an old pool. Which is not reflected in the pictures.

    The restaurant is lovely! Atosmosphere, staff and food were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Overall, the Hotel really hit the spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a great lunch but unfortunately my dinner experience was not the same.. The starter, baked Camembert, was delicious. I had ordered a burger for main and should have changed when I wasn’t asked how I might want it cooked.... then, when it did come, it also had pulled pork in it ( pulled Port was not written in the list of contents on the dinner menu ) and the burger was really dry and tough..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Going to another building for lesiure facilities and breakfast. It’s only a small point, the breakfast is fantastic and the leisure facilities are really good. It just doesn’t feel luxurious going to other buildings, I used to staying in hotels with everything housed in the same building.

    Very clean, and the room is beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and lush experience, feel like for what we paid we could have gotten a little extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was a bit different to what it looks like on website so we're a bit disappointed. No kids pool meant the pool was taken up so didn't spend much time there. For what we paid for one night it would have been nicer to had a little something else, like a free starter with our meal or free small spa treatment

    Comfy room, nice decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place been going there for last 10 years or more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting charged for steam and sauna when we were sent a email for 50% off we did not return this because my wife had just put here mother in nursing home

    Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing, beautiful location was like checking into heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Selling blue wkds And plum tomatoes back on the menu please. 😀😀

    My second stay at the langdale, beautiful location, staff lovely, would like to see plum tomatoes back on the breakfast menu & blue wkds would be a bonus when I come back in September lol. I stayed in room 102 the bed this time hasn't very comfy at all, everything else was wonderful, the best place I have ever stayed but you need these 2 items on the menu 😀 Can't wait to come back in September now I would love to see blue wkds in the reading room on my next stay would make my year complete lol. as I really don't drink anything else, or amaretto that's it. Overall the best place I have stayed even beats Cyprus. 😀

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel with great facilities in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outdoor areas were not well lit at night. The rooms weren't very sound proof so we were a bit bothered by noise from neighbouring rooms.

    The hotel is decorated to a very high standard. The staff were all extremely warm and helpful. The breakfast was very good and it was great to have the late brunch option so we could have a lie in. The spa was fantastic, one of the best we have visited!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Truly amazing !! Carnt wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely amazing !!! The brimstone spa wow !!! The staff in the stove restaurant were fantastic Carnt wait to return had the best stay came home very relaxed thank you so much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.3
    Very Good but not yet quite Great Langdale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a bit more attention to detail required on the small things - wifi was weak in the room - Radiator wasnt working in bathroom (though was fixed) - lighting in the parking areas not great

    Great Location - walks in every direction. Great spar and good gym Breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful experience - in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints - it was truly a lovely experience.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious, service was lovely and the rooms were cosy. Surrounding area was beautiful and ideal for a nice walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking bays were not big enough for my pick up, but did manage to get parked. Very enjoyable

    The breakfast was very good. The leasure facilities were excellent. Lovely area apart from the rain!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike other than maybe admission to the Brimstone Spa could be a bit cheaper

    We’ve stayed in a feature room in the past and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, this visit was as a Xmas treat to each other choosing our favourite hotel but could only afford a standard room-it was beautiful and immaculate,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    7.5
    We had a lovely, relaxed and comfortable stay at the Langley Spa Hotel and look forward to returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too cold and it took us a while to figure out how to change the temperature.

    The room by the river was lovely, really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    6.3
    Brinstone Spa journey excellent and unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are there but staff and management still need development. Our stay was let down by poor site description, poor customer relations and lack of personal detail and customer attention. I am sure in a couple of years these things will align, for now I would not return.

    Brinstone Spa journey excellent and unique. Facilities great, Stove restaurant lovely. Local area rural and picturesque.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    9.2
    Really relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed for 2 nights and Dinner wasnt that surprising. Stake didnt deserve the paid price so I would go somewhere else. We did do that the second night.

    The little extras like the robes in the room, and the spa itself and access was quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    The food was delicious and staff were so helpful and...
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was delicious and staff were so helpful and friendly, the rooms were fabulous and the spa incredible id definitely advise to pay the extra £90pp for spa and massage because it was the most amazing experience. Such a gorgeous place, we'll definitely be coming again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Gorgeous site, Brimstone spa is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived later in day around 5pm and it was dark. There could have been more light in around the path areas so it was easier to see where we needed to be.

    Room was of great size, quiet location, lovely evening meals. Breakfast buffet was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    The Brimstone hotel is excellent alongside the access to the Spa. A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stopped in the Brimstone Hotel not the Langdale. My score and review for the Langdale would not have been as good although it was still clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant visit to a lovely part of the UK but we wouldn’t rush back to Langdale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was ok but was not really made special (was our honeymoon). Room was really cold on arrival. Didn’t realise you had to pay extra for the spa, I thought access was included. It’s like centre parcs with everything in different buildings so it’s less of a hotel more of a ‘complex’ which is probably nicer in summer than winter but ok if you expect it!

    Really tasty breakfast and big comfortable bed. The view from the restaurant is lovely and leisure facilities were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    100% going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, quality of accommodation. the brimstone spa is exceptional, particularly the private bubble spa. The stove bar & restaurant served great food, great drink and in a very pleasant venue. Staff were very friendly and welcoming all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Comfy , leafy, cosy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor lighting adjacent our accommodation and difficultyfinding it in the dark.

    All the young people working there many of whom were from all around the world- and each and every one delightful to talk to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    5.0
    Honestly.... this was disappointing compared to previous stays. We are not sure we shall be returnin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally, the welcome and the service were not outstanding. Staff did not appear to be polished at their service, sometimes not really sure themselves... certainly far from professional with the exception of one member of staff who looked after us well during our evening meal. The B & B rate did not match this quality of service.

    The new decor in the Stove Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel and great staff. Would 100% recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beautiful peaceful setting of the hotel grounds. The fab Jacuzzi bath. The great friendly staff and the food was excellent and so reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The extras were fantastic! Very good toiletries, bath robe, bottled water, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate in the room. Umbrella, alarm clock, iron, fan! The bath was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.6
    Terrific short break due to meeting up with friends and great locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smaller than expected and the bed was very high and uncomfortable, it was a bit like being on a water bed 😒😒😒

    Gorgeous location, good food and great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Restful and recuperating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Longer!

    The lamb sharing platter was amazing. The location was peaceful and relaxing, which was just what we needed. Pleasant atmosphere and staff were attentive without being obtrusive - this is a very important skill!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    Very good stay, but not as good as I thought it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception. Made to feel uneasy, as 4 desks with staff, but not all reception. Felt awkward, as didn't know who was who!! Expensive hotel, but still had to pay for spa and fitness sessions.

    Breakfast and staff in restaurant very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    The bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi bath in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi bath in our room was amazing. The fridge in the cupboard was very handy. Room service was brilliant and the spa facilities very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location and food, disappointing facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities. The spa facilities available do not match those advertised. To access the nicer spa facilities it is £45 per person per day. Since most of the site is a timeshare the pool/spa area was full of children which was not the relaxing retreat we had hoped for.

    The food in the restaurant was exceptional, including breakfast, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, facilities and restaurant but lacking staff organisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning staff milling around after room change post 3pm check in. Maintenance work (hammering and drilling) and 'wet paint signs' in the middle of August- surely this is an out of season job? Small room for the money

    Location and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    6.7
    Not a hotel in the normal sense!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a hotel in the normal sense! Like a centre parcs with lodges, have to walk outside for breakfast and dinner not so good when raining. Not as expected from website, this needs to be clearer re people's expectations!

    Awe and wonder of scenery, friendly pubs. Great for walkers and active people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    9.2
    Another great stay at Langdale and Brimstone Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room 137 and although the bed was really comfy and the bathroom was spotless, the decoration was definitely tired. Grubby marks on the wall, chipped furniture and a smokey smell...plus dirty trays left on the wall outside. One thing I also need to flag up is the toiletries...I'm pregnant and the hotel knew this, yet they left us toiletries which stated clearly on the back 'unsafe for pregnant or nursing women'. Luckily I spotted this before using many of them, but it seemed like quite a careless or even dangerous oversight on their part. These toiletries were also in situ in all public areas of the hotel, which made it difficult to wash my hands properly. The hotel were kind enough to replace the toiletries in my room with other ones (thank you for that!) but I just thought it was worth flagging up for any other expectant women in the future.

    This was our 3rd visit to the Langdale and we were really excited to try the new Brimstone Spa experience. Definitely worth the money...the spa hosts were really helpful, the treatment rooms were great and the outdoor pool and fire were gorgeous. Can't wait to go back. As usual, the breakfast was 10/10 and we ate at the restaurant this time too...really decent food, fair price, helpful staff and lovely setting. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.2
    Stunning setting and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool was cold and the decor needs updating in the swimming pool area.

    The staff were lovely especially Emma and Emily in the dining room. The food was really good and our room was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location and had some great walks .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps a little expensive for the room we had . Evening meal in restaurant a little limited - lots of fish dishes .

    Beautiful location and had some great walks .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely but expensive!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You spend a lot on the room alone to then have to pay even more if you want to use the new spa facilities. It's a bit excessive

    Everything. I love this place and would recommend it to anyone. Quite expensive but the perfect place for a break away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside area behind the Langsdale rooms (facing the rear car-park and road) was a bit shabby and room 130 could do with a bathroom refurb!

    The Stove restaurant was excellent - I highly recommend the Signature Lamb Sharer, just make sure you are hungry! The hotel was perfectly placed for walks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but over priced rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was let down by the basic room as the website seems to show amazing images but the reality is that the room was very small and clostaphobic. I expected a nicer room for the cost. I have the feeling that booking though booking.com we got a worse room than booking direct.

    Amazing location for walks and increíble facilities as well as nice food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.5
    Good and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit too small, could hear the neighbours very well. And from all the lovely views around the hotel our room had a view of a car park...

    Lovely location, beautiful surroundings , friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing and comfortable lodging amidst glorious Lakeland scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast at the hotel was somewhat disappointing. The smoked haddock did not taste good. There were no cheeses or cold meats but there was a hot buffet, cereals and mostly tinned fruits and pastries. The hotel required payment on arrival.

    The hotel is within a complex of assorted properties (bedroom block, one and two storey villas, swimming pool and spa, restaurant) on a large site in this beautiful and remote area a few miles from Ambleside. Our bedroom was upstairs (no elevator) with parking 80 metres away. The room itself was pleasant, comfortable and contained everything we required. We ate dinner and breakfast on site at the Stove Restaurant. Dinner was tasty and fairly well prepared- home made cottage pie with vegetables, chicken with chips and some very nice desserts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    At last a great UK hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms have been recently updated and to a high standard. Food, which is so often disappointing in UK hotels, was excellent, both at breakfast and dinner. Restaurant and bar staff, many of whom were Spanish, were very friendly, efficient and appeared to enjoy working at the Langdale Hotel. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.2
    Anniversary trip to Langdale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking if you only have a hotel room is a bit of a lottery - the lodges have specific bays for each lodge however the car parks can become busy, then some with newer cars can take up 2 bays just so they can get out easier which isnt neighourly! watch out for the radiators - very very hot - my husband dried his face on towel still on it and burnt his arm!

    The breakfast was fantastic with the usual cereals, juice, yogurt and fruit table even croissants etc. you could then have a full English buffet and then order more delicacies to order from the kitchen like salmon, haddock and waffles! absolutely gorgeous all of it! with tea etc served to you by all attentive staff. It is an expensive place to stay but for our special weekend it was one to remember. We had lunch booked in at the Stove for our wedding anniversary and the staff again were all very attentive and brought a nice cake with a happy anniversary written in chocolate on the plates which was a nice touch. The restaurant food is gorgeous too!. we had a 3 day stay there and upgraded for the first night - ring 48 hours before you go - it was an extra £50 but it was for a special anniversary - we got one at the Waterfront. you get a gown and slippers in a bag on the bed which is a nice touch. There are also 3 ultimate rooms you can try to book. We then stayed in a roomy signature room for the next 2 nights which was gorgeous too - the bed was huge and the headboard even more so. luxurious and plenty of room however we had lots of walks and activities to do during the day so it was nice to relax in luxury on our return. The hotel did not make any comment of our anniversary although they knew which was the only misdemeanor on its part really. as we've had cards etc from other hotels on these occasions. We came in late from the pub, had missed dinner and got a pizza made in the pizza stove- one of the best we've ever shared!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    4.6
    Increasing prices, for declining quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have stayed a few times and the place is getting more and more aged whilst also more and more expensive. The rooms are not quite well maintained. First time I stayed I paid £99 per room. Now I am lucky to book for less than £200. It's not like the place is getting any better...

    Good quality breakfast bakery

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a minimoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a 3 night stay it worked out expensive but perfect for our minimoon break!

    We upgraded our room on arrival to the room with the copper bath and it was amazing!! The restaurants served great food and the leisure facilities were lovely. The spa, albeit rather expensive, is possibly the best spa I have ever seen. if you want to treat yourself to a relaxing break - this is the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    4.2
    A huge disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon arrival we checked in at reception and had to pay the hotel stay straight away (this is a bit weird but not too big of a deal). They showed us the hotel room on a map which was in a building next to the main car park. There comes the surprise, we couldn't find a parking spot at all so we temporarily parked by the building where our room was located. And here comes an even bigger surprise...the room...OMG!! the worst hotel room I've ever seen in my life. A motel in the US is better or the Travelodge here is a 5* comparing to the room we got. The entire room looked very dated, there was a big space in front of the bed, 2 chairs by the window and a desk on the opposite side without a chair! The bed was on the small side, not the promised king size. Now the bathroom...I stepped in to find that there's no bathtub at all...but a very weird open shower. Now we realized that this must be the hotels easy access room. We booked the hotel 3 months ahead via booking.com. I chose the roomy signature room for the bigger bed and more comfy bathroom. On booking.com and the hotel's website both bath and shower are listed for this type of room so we couldn't understand what went wrong. We ended up calling the reception to see if we can get another room but we couldn't due to the hotel was full. I told reception that I won't stay in that room for a dime not £150 a night and asked for solution, they said we can get access to the spa for free. I mean really??? okay they offered something but seriously this just wasn't good enough. We traveled a long way from London to spend a relaxing few nights at the Lake District to celebrate our anniversary so this was a huge shock! My husband has a bad back so a bathtub was essential. The reception told us that we should've requested the bathtub at the time of booking.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    10
    Peaceful stay at Langdale Hotel and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful picturesque location. Professional greeting which made us feel highly valued as customers. Lovely breakfast. Spa facilities and staff are the best I've ever experienced. I would happily book another stay at Langdale Hotel and Spa. Five quality stay in my opinion.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My partner an I stayed here for our four night babymoon break, and it was the perfect relaxing holiday. The estate is located in a peaceful village just a 10 min drive from Lake Windemere, surrounded by beautiful peaks and pasture land. There are several walks directly from the estate itself for which staff kindly provided detailed trail maps for us to follow. The Stove restaurant on site has a great menu (the slow cooked lamb for two was delicious) and the staff are very welcoming. The only downside is that access to the spa is not included in your stay, you can either book a treatment for £85 to gain access or pay an entry fee of £45 for the day without a treatment. However access to the general leisure facilities, pool, gym, etc. are included in your stay. I decided to go for a treatment in the spa and it was well worth it, a relaxing atmosphere with an inside to outside warm relaxation pool, steam rooms, saunas and foot spas (I could only use the relaxation pool and foot spa being pregnant but it was still worth it), and a cafe with free tea, cakes and fruit. We would definitely stay at the Langdale again, highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay and definitely worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking spaces were quite limited but overall not a major problem. Nets in the room looked dated and let the room down a touch. Would recommend first floor room as quite noisey especially when it was bin collection day

    Property is set in great location. Local amenities and 2 pubs within a short walk. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and jacuzzi bath was a real bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay, attention to detail in most areas is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roomy Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress protector and the mattress was stained. We bought it to the attention of the manager who apologised and said she would sort it out. Unfortunately this was discovered on the morning of departure. For this standard of accommodation it should never happen. The pub Wainwrights in which is part of the estate is very unclean, the mens toilets floors were saturated with urine. The flooring had not been fitted correctly. Behind the bar was untidy, and unclean. A large dustbin was in view down the corridor of the bar. Food overpriced for standard of food. The food was of poor quality. Staff not happy in there jobs! Not a warm welcome.

    Loved the bedroom and the whole site. Stove the restaurant was very good. Staff lacked enthusiasm.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: