Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Langdon Court Hotel And Restaurant 4 stars

Near Wembury, Plymouth, PL9 0DY, United Kingdom

#5 of 15 hotels in Plymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not hoover our room. STRAIGHTENED the bed sheet instead od MAKING the bed! Breakfast was hit and miss with regard to what deliveries arrived that morning. No vegetarian options on the menu so we ate out for the duration of our stay.

    Great location for me. Husband felt terribly isolated. Beautiful grounds and building. Lovely breakfast staff - friendly and smiling. Though we both felt were all incredibly nervous! Room was spacious, bed comfortable and the TV worked! As did the Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed - Room wasn't clean and breakfast limited and over priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed cleaning, dusting, the floors needed hovering. The breakfast was limited and over priced.

    Disappointed with my stay here, I got a great rate of £89 unfortunately I was put in what can only be described as the back room, the hotel was quiet as it was a Tuesday night but the room wasn't the cleanest. There was dust on the window ledges and I spotted a few small dead flies on the bedside table. How this hotel is a 4* is beyond me. The bed was squeaky and the breakfast wasn't worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location and stunning building, nice staff very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room - and a power socket on the wall that did not work - but neither enough to complain about

    Beautiful location and stunning building, nice staff very attentive even though they were busy with a wedding party

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing and we won't be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was noisy (I think we were located over the kitchen) and when we opened the window, there was a dreadful smell from drains. Bed was lumpy and room was small. There were spider webs on the wall and water stains at the ceiling. We paid over £100 for the room only. There was no air conditioning or view so this seemed a lot. The only tea provided was regular, no fruit or decaf or Earl Grey. Also, the blinds were insufficient and the room was flooded with orange light during the night from outside lighting. We complained but were told as we'd booked through 'booking .com' we couldn't be refunded but if we'd booked directly with them they would have considered our case.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Great for business users and for loving couples.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very quiet location with great country views. We walked to the beach and then to the Eddystone Inn and back. Terrific. The food was plated with style and tasted terrific. Breakfast gives lots of variety and is plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Really pleasant, lovely surroundings making for an enjoyable stay, good bit disappointing!
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be more of an extensive list to chose from and quality been better!

    Accommodation and location, beautiful! Teddy the resident dog, adorable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay - loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The trek to my room was a bit of a laugh and without elevators I decided to keep my larger suitcase in the car rather than hauling it to my room so I had a few trips back and forth however it was great to stay in a place like this and I didn't really mind.

    A really lovely place to stay for a bit of British history and charm. Out of town in the countryside with lovely views, gardens and walks. Great staff, private parking and very nice restaurant fare. The room was very comfortable and the wi-fi, tv - all easy to log on to and use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The beautiful historic building was well maintained and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had quite a soft mattress

    The beautiful historic building was well maintained and cared for by brilliant staff. The gardens were manicured and nothing out of place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and welcoming, glad we only booked one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property tired. Decoration out dated. Staff lacked knowledge on history of property. Dinner over pretentious and inconsistent cooking.

    STaff very welcoming. Garden and walks around.. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to the top where our room was, especially when you have luggage. Dining room was dark and dingy. The whole place needs to spend some money to upgrade appearance.

    Room was comfortable, big and airy. Staff friendly and parking easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Dogs Welcome in Dining Room!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two large single mattresses pushed together, not a kingsize. Ground floor toilets were dirty. Could do with a lick of paint. Conversation & tv noise from next door room very audible. Lots of dogs in dining area & pet hair on seats in bar. Window panes were filthy.

    Beautiful surroundings & the building has a lot of nostalgic charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more choice with fruit at breakfast.

    Excellent chef. 15 minute walk to fantastic coastline. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of history to the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Great experience in a Tudor House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish pillows Poor towels Stains on the carpet Poor selection of teas in the room

    The ambiance and relaxed feeling that the hotel gave .Excellent bar staff who mixed a good G&T and made you feel special. cosy fire. The spaciousness of the rooms . excelent wine list Great dining room Peace and quiet Power shower I felt at home Would come again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel and restaurant, great staff, but some small repairs needed
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needed some repair work: the shower door was partly broken, as was the hot tap, and the toilet seat...

    Lovely building and location. Large peaceful room with view over gardens and countryside. Food very good. Staff excellent, particularly Lee who was extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money. Lovely rooms and place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast. Ran out of orange juice the first morning so we were given some bottled juice from behind the bar as an alternative. Next morning the waitress just said there was no orange juice. When we pointed out we were given bottled juice the day before she said we would have to pay for it, which we queried and were finally given some juice without charge. Also I ordered eggs benedict as a healthy alternative to a full english, and when it arrived it wasn't ham but bacon, and it was totally swimming in so much butter that I struggled to eat it. Also no mobile signal at all.

    Lovely room. Great four poster bed. Welcoming staff and also we were given a free room upgrade (we stayed a Sunday and Monday evening in March) which we did appreciate. Nice bathroom. Very atmospheric country hall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A Hidden Gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is beautiful and all of the amenities and staff were excellent. The bed was very large and comfortable, cleanliness of the room was spot on. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    I won’t stay again but I would recommend it to others.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not getting the check out bills right then arguing about them before eventually getting them right. Saying a drink in the bar is on the house because of the long delays checking out & them being unable to find a receipt then adding it on afterwards because they found the receipt :( who wants to waste time dealing with this stuff? Not me.

    It’s a little piece of heaven.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but it is in a country setting and don't go if your aracnophobic.we had a big beasties in our room

    Made very welcome.room spotless.food good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    A stunning place to escape the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the stay was lovely and we will recommend to friends, I hoped for more consistent service. If it was not for the hospitality and professionalism of Kelly our trip would have been very different! Thank you Kelly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great place for a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed for one night only but we wished we could have stayed longer. The staff were great, the rooms were fabulous. We were given a room upgrade to a deluxe room. It was spacious and spotless. The breakfast in the morning was well presented and served by polite and well trained staff. All in all we are looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A short stay so nothing on this occasion to dislike. Everything was really good.

    Excellent hotel, in beautiful secluded countryside surroundings, the city is close by if needed. The staff are all extremely friendly. The character of the house and its history is fascinating. Somewhere we will return to when in Devon again. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous, relaxing weekend. Already booked to come again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a little lumpy but didn’t spoil our sleep Bath towels not big enough. Bath sheet size would be better.

    Great staff - friendly and helpful Fabulous food Wonderful setting - beautiful views Excellent location for walking Peaceful Really lovely old Manor House

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Historic, romantic and great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything. The drive down to the hotel goes through some very narrow lanes, but you get a great rural experience as a result.

    Setting and ambience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice house and location but drafty and in need of a little updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a premier room with a large bed but due to the toilet not flushing we were moved to a room with a standard double bed. The first room only had a bath, no shower! The second room only had a double bed, which was very small compared to the one we were expecting. But we were told we couldn't have both although the website showed most rooms with showers and the hotel wasn't full. Our first room had robes and slippers the second had very small and tatty towels. When we checked out we were told the rooms rates were the same for both rooms but there was no comparison. After a discussion the breakfast charge was removed from our bill. We won't be returning.

    House and grounds were impressive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel great location little disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonky table with the kettle in the room was a little unsafe.. the WiFi at the hotel was very very slow which made working on my laptop and phone impossible .. we felt we were unable to use the bar at the hotel as other guests were dinning for burns night and wasn’t informed how formal the dress code would be felt a little out of place!!

    Friendly staff .. bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I can think of is there wasn't any bath robes

    The staff were very polite and friendly. The place is absolutely stunning with big rooms and great food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    One night stay at a classy period Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Lovely old building and gardens Attractive interior- well maintained without losing character Spacious and well fitted comfortable room- large comfy bed too! Excellent roomy shower We did not try the dinner or breakfast but our friends who live locally use it and really like it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in an amazing house backed up by a great set of staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I have to be picky, my duck leg at dinner was a bit over cooked for my taste , but still very tasty .

    Langdon House is lovely , an old Manor house , beautifully decorated in preparation for Christmas . Check in was very friendly , easy and welcoming . My room was a very large double , very comfortable bed , and an excellent bathroom . The shower over the bath was very efficient and powerful . The view from my window was overlooking the car parking at the front of the house and also the extended views into the beautiful countryside , idyllic . Dinner was lovely, with enough variation to cater for most . Breakfast is made to order which is always the best .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Disappointing after such a good first visit but we will try again early next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The promised 4 poster bed in a premium room was not available so we had the same room as we had some time ago. The breakfast was good but the evening meal in the restaurant defied descriptive, the starter was good but my main course of Lamb was inedible due to being just gristle and fat, no idea what cut of lamb it was. My wife's pulled pork was nothing like it should have been and was synthetic with a strange pickle and onion taste both were dreadful unlike our meal here some months ago which was outstanding.

    The location is beautiful and the hotel a very unique old manor house. The grounds and surrounding area are also superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, location & great breakfast. Slight niggles left us bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly have to add that wall between our room & next door not adequately soundproofed. Lots noise from next door, from never ending plumbing noises to nose blowing! Bad nights sleep. Also arrived back at 10.45pm to find everything locked up & in darkness. No response to doorbell. Only got in because couple other guests unlocked door to let themselves out for some reason! Found out after if you returning late then you can get side door key. Not sure 10.45 that late for a hotel?

    Beautifully furnished & fantastic views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Brief but beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Ended up getting a much bigger/better room than Booking.com showed. We checked in very late but staff were really friendly and attentive, waiting for our arrival. Breakfast was great too. Hotel and grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful room overlooking green fields and large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful room overlooking green fields and large bathroom. Wonderful lounge area with warm welcoming fire and lovely gardens. Would definitely stay there again. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Had a lovely few days and would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was good however the service was poor had to wait 50 minutes for our starter and the food was not as hot as it should have been. Also scarcity of vegetables. When we complained we were given a reduction on the bill for the restaurant.

    Spacious room with lovely views. A rural location within walking distance of the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful and scenic rural location near the coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having a clearly stated environmental policy is a long way behind the times, eg towels deliberately left on the rail were changed unnecessarily. The bathroom mirror had no light which makes shaving difficult. Music is a big factor in setting the ambience in the dining room but was not well considered, quiet instrumental pieces would be my preference, not endless cheesy ballads playing too loud!

    Peaceful and scenic rural location near the coast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay, good food and comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance area, office and bar could be spruced up a bit aesthetically. It appeared a little worn.

    The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The only difficulty to report, since the hotel is off the beaten track, is that I had difficulty with my SAT NAV (GPS) finding "my final destination" to Langdon Court. It was not actually far from the beach, but once on the road nearer to the hotel, the roads became narrow and hilly, and I was left without a clue where to find the hotel. Once I stopped to ask directions, I found my way and was pleased with my choice. The stone manor house hotel is located near pasture land with a view of grazing cows and woods. My room was comfortable and decorated with warm inviting colors. It appears that the first floor (2nd floor to Americans) bedroom level has been newly redecorated, since everything on this level looked fresh and very attractive. However, the impression upon first entering the building on the ground floor was that it was a little worn, but as an historic manor house, it has many of its original features. Dinner and breakfast were excellent with no complaints. The waiter expertly made great recommendations for drinks and dinner. It was a very nice stopping off point for me to rest and relax before resuming my travels to Cornwall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Escape from everything at Langdon Court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was just too far out of the way. Details of local walk (and instructions) were unhelpful. Wifi repeatedly dropped on and off. Phone signal was non-existent. Decoration (windows, paint, tiles etc) could do with an upgrade. One half of divan mattress in our room was particularly squeaky, which made for an interesting sleep...

    Staff were very knowledgeable, attentive, courteous - could not do enough for us. Room was spacious, with excellent modern shower. Food was well prepared to a high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    I would not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant prices were ridiculous. £15 for a small breakfast and as hotel was miles down a windy lane no other option than to pay the money. Hotel then took £200 from our bank account as they said we soiled the mattress which I dispute. No lifts and my elderly parents struggled using the stairs. Deep pockets needed to fully enjoy.

    Beautiful house and setting. Hotel clean and luxurious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Felt like I was at a wonderful property and had the servants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt like I was at a wonderful property and had the servants quarters, extremely small and a very narrow stairway leading to the attic room. I would be embarrassed if another guest had seen me heading for the attic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.4
    Won't be staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel locks up around 11pm and if it wasn't for a member of staff we heard just about to leave around the back we would not have been able to get in after a night in Plymouth. An outside key was available but we were not told we would need one. Bit of a maze inside with no signage to get us back to the reception. How it rates 4 stars I don't know.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice building and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price ? short of £1000 for two nights three people, 5 dinners and 6 breakfasts - sure rooms where excellent, spacious and nicely decorated, but ... Also, this is clearly a wedding venue - with all the expected abuse the room will receive during these occasions. There is nothing bad about the hotel, just that a building of this age and intricacy is unavoidably hard to maintained - some trace of recent water damages were clearly visible - this did not affect the quality of our stay, but can only make us wonder on the overall operating cost - maybe, justifying the bill (in that case, I am glad I did an act of charity in spirit of preservation of some English Heritage).

    Good Full English Breakfast - Restaurant was nice and food was good - price within expectation. At time service was slow, but this might have been due to recent staff changed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was good and the wine excellent. The hotel is in a delightful old building with beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Very nice country house/hotel - a bit over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea tray was very basic with only UHT milk. Towels were small, worn out and threaded. At breakfast the service was very slow and the were no staff to ask for assistance. The breakfast itself was very average, the pastries had run out by the time we got there and the cooked breakfast was nice but not excellent (they said that the sausages were award winning... it seemed unlikely). The breakfast staff were not attentive and did not ask us if we needed anything e.g. the pepper had run out and there were no sauces offered.

    Huge bed, lots of space in the rooms. Lovely country location and great for a walk in the woods to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No admin staff or management till 9.30 to take our complaint, Room was cold as the heating was not explained on arrival. Our second party felt hurried to vacate after having staff knock their door at 10am when the check out time was 11am

    Poor breakfast which was expensive and not cooked fresh apart from the eggs. Could not have cereal as the hotel run out of milk. Coffee and bar drinks expensive. Roads to the hotel very poor as it was very rural

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room with a comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to top floor, I have mobility difficulties and really struggled with them. Attention to detail needs a bit of work in some areas e.g. worn carpet in reception, holes unfilled around light fittings in our room.

    Spacious room with a comfortable bed. Beautiful garden and surroundings, building full of character and very attractive. Very good bar and restaurant, food was a high standard and well presented. Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    This was clearly always a beautiful and happy house, and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was clearly always a beautiful and happy house, and it has been very subtly and beautifully made into a hotel. It is an enchanting place to live.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely except for taking 45 mins to get someone to open the door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being told about the curfew on arrival and not being locked out in the pouring rain at 11.45pm. I think it was an oversight of reception and detail was in the information in the bedroom but we went straight out.

    Lovely old venue with interesting history. Bedrooms luxurious and stylish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel tucked away in lovely grounds, rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were in the middle of a menu change so a lot wasn't available, food was still brilliant though.

    Beautiful hotel tucked away in lovely grounds, rooms are spacious and food was excellent. A little fawlty towers at points but added to the experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay as a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small size with sloping ceiling, not great if you are tall!

    Staff were excellent. Drinks expensive but dinner was lovely and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    It would have been nice to feel wanted
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very poor. Tables in the garden were not cleared until the next day giving an unkempt feel to the place. At breakfast the service was very slow and gave us the impression our presence was an inconvenience. One member of staff was extremely surly, slapping food down on the table. There was also a general reluctance to serve, particularly at the bar which was closed before midnight on our first evening.

    Hotel was of a comfortable standard in pleasant surroundings and we were generally happy with the accommodation and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit soft for me! Also there wasn't much in the way of food options for children. However the food looked lovely and adults would enjoy the menu.

    The staff were excellent. The manager ( William) was extremely helpful and accommodating and made us feel welcome and valued. The room was more than adequate and the decor in the rest of the hotel was traditional and in keeping with the building. The grounds are lovely for a walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few improvements could have been made to the food but nothing major just small things as staff were new to the business and still learning

    The location was beautiful and the staff were friendly, making for a great stay and wpuld definatlly stay there Again, the views are outstanding and the rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful historic building - disappointing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rather poor quality of cooked breakfast and only little choice, also at buffet, no vegetarian sausages (also on second morning); coffee tasted quite awful; furniture in restaurant a little shabby; rather cheap cutlery; no table cloths; staff at breakfast not especially friendly

    very nice historic building, beautiful garden/park, very quiet, interior nicely designed, large room, stunning view of the garden (from room); staff mostly very friendly and helpful, especially at dinner/bar; wine and most dishes at dinner good quality (except for vegetarian main course), food nicely arranged, excellent deserts and gin and tonic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Near Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred the breakfast to be included and not an extra.

    A very comfortable, good sized room. Ensuite was huge with a bath and shower. The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed. Lovely building spoilt by lack of attention in & out. Needs visit from Alex Polizzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needed an eye level and full length mirrors. Bathroom needed more shelf space for toiletries. Bath towels rather small and needed better laundering (marks and staining apparent). Noise levels from air conditioning and or other machinery very annoying. Noise from floor/room above early in the morning disturbing and very irritating. Continental breakfast very poor in terms of choice. Hardly 4 star to be honest.

    Room very nice but lack of low level (eye level) and full length mirror was unfortunate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice house in the country, very quiet and elegant. The gardens were quite nice and we really enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. A relaxing and peaceful stay, it was just what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Staff training is needed...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist cold welcome and the room facing the parking she offered us saying 'there is no traffic here...' she dowengraded us despite the fact that place was almost empty. As we asked for another room , she 'gracefully' gave us a room, with a very nice view, yet we booked a room with a shower and a bath - a small bath facing busy staircase - is what we received. As we drove away, a (drunken?) member of staff drove dangerously fast in our lane and an accident was prevented last second. This left us shaken for a awhile.

    The building, the Location and the room we ended up at. Most stuff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Langdon Court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe have a dinner bed and breakfast package in the week, as the evening meals where expensive to have on their own.

    Large room, comfy bed good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful hotel but disappointing superior rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room was very disappointing and poorly equipped and was not worthy of 'superior ' status! The hotel need to address this as it was not worth the money that is being charged for this room! It was up 3 flights of stairs (1 flight being twisty and narrow) almost in the attic so no good for the elderly or infirm and had only one coat hanger each in the wardrobe, no shower gel, no extra blanket, no alarm clock, no suitcase stand, an un-usable dressing table in a dark corner with no chair, stained carpet and chairs and it was very dark in the room unless the lights were on!!! Compared to other hotels visited this room was in no way superior!!!!

    Beautiful building and gardens and staff very attentive !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Languishing in Luxury at Langton Court.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the height of the wash hand basin the bedroom was too high. I'm 5ft 6 and it was a real stretch for me to get to the bowl properly. Also there are no blinds on the bathroom window which means if you want to go for a shower or use the loo it's really necessary to drop the roman blind. Minor points really.

    I loved the comfortable bed, spacious room and elegant setting, as well as the peace and quiet of being away from the city. The setting is stunning and the breakfast was plentiful with enough choice for everyone. Staff were wonderful and it was a privilege to be in such a lovely old house. We didn't try the meals this time, but next time hopefully we can eat in the hotel and enjoy the food they are famed for..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    A pretty hotel with rooms and scenery to match!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a pretty hotel in a stunning location and very handy for the beach. The room was very spaciouse with a large window with a view over the hotel grounds and beyond over the fields. The room was very clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and chatty, one young lady particularly recommended a walk around the grounds which was lovely. We had a sharing platter in the evening which was delicious! Overall I would highly recommend (and already have)...the nicest hotel I have stayed at in the UK!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    lovely location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy. Bathroom way to narrow and undersized. Tasteless starter - overcooked steak ( well-done instead of medium) messy slow service,( for dinner & breakfast ) waiters uniform with stains.

    Nice room - amazing view on well manicured gardens. Spacious room. Tea-/coffee facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    2 Night Break in Devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very hard. Glass shelf and mirror in bathroom about to fall off wall, cracked basin, shower delivers far too much unecessary water. Breakfast service rather chaotic, No marmalade at breakfast, 2 days running! Poor selection of non cooked breakfast items. Horrible orange floodlight shines into room after dark, makes sleep even more difficult. Despite paying top price we had one of the smaller rooms with no sofa. Charmingly neglected gardens, slowly reverting to wild.

    Faded grandeur, quiet location, beautiful valley, once beautiful garden. Breakfast cooked very well. Devon feels like another country if you find the right places, such as this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.8
    The hotel itself is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is not quite like the website showed. Simple but staffs are v nice & friendly. Breakfast is good but dinner was just ok.

    The hotel itself is beautiful. Old but got characters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The best hotel I have stayed in for ages! Absolutely brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving!!

    Like stepping into a dream or a film set! This hotel completely exceeded our expectations with its history, idyllic location, views, superb style and attention to detail not to mention professional and friendly staff. Utter bliss! We ate in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our pre dinner drinks chatting with a very new member of staff (young lady of 16) and the barman - both absolutely charming. Our room was 37 - so cosy, superb furnishings, everything thought of and with a view of the garden that could have been from a fairy story! The house has a wonderful atmosphere and the owners should be commended for their flair at choosing such perfect furniture - so totally in keeping and added to the feel of being transported back in time yet with all the modern day luxuries! As you can hopefully feel from my review, this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and next time we are coming back for a few nights and not just one! Thank you so much and a huge WELL DONE to all staff and owners!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful comfy hotel in amazing grounds......but eat elsewhere or live on cream teas!
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food very poor for the price in the evening. Breakfast very mediocre, we had to return the full English the eggs were broken and they nad no yolks....Other diners sent back theirs as it was cold.

    Excellent country house accommodation, and the cream tea was outstanding. Gardens and lake wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A proper country house hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service staff were under pressure somewhat as there didn't seem to be quite enough of them, however they responded very well to all the requests that we made.

    Everything really, spacious room and large bed. Good location, easy walk to the beach. Picturesque surroundings and gardens. Little wonder that it is a popular wedding venue. The wine list included one of my favourite wines! The fact that the weather was fantastic also helped. Also good value for money. We stayed at 3 other properties during our holiday but this one was easily the best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed slightly more attention. Could be amazing if the window sills were re painted as well as the hallways up to the bedrooms.

    Staff were very welcoming and advised on what we could do during our stay there . Beautiful building in a beautiful setting. Hotel has a lot of character and what appear to be original features. I travelled with my father so we're more than accommodating when I requested a twin room. If staying here I highly recommend getting your walking shoes on and walking to the beach. There is a small path located behind the hotel which takes around 30 mins. Once there definitely go walking along the cliff. We went to the left side which led is ( after a good 45-50 min walk) to an estuary. The walk is sign posted with a boat ride sign. Once there you'll be greeted by billy who will take you across the river. Prices are 6 pound for a return trip which We felt was quite steep. once you get to the other side definitely recommend a lunch at the Ship Inn which is a 20 min walk on the other side. Amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    The ambience, the history, the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed at breakfast...ordered the poached eggs, that read with spinach and hollandaise, however, just poached eggs arrived, with 4 chunky pieces of toast. The lovely waitress, took me literally thinking I just wanted the eggs. After a short while, I was told they had run out of spinach, and would I like a small pot of hollindaise. The same eggs eggs arrived back, not so hot by now, with the sauce and the unnecessary chunks of toast. The "cook" came into the dining room talking loudly, and gossiping to the waitress, not impressed with this! Gardens lovely, need to employ more gardening staff though, areas left unattended.

    The ambience, the history, the views. The room very comfortable, evening staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location and great hospitality however there were some comforts lacking. Our room was supposed to have bath robes and a hair dryer. Instead we has quite small towels that had seen better days and no hair dryer. Small but important details when spending so much on a room. The hotel info was also very brief- couldn't see what time the bar opened!

    Comfy room and bed. Bath lovely, location and staff great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Classy country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel to get away from it all, relax and explore the local area. Limited facilities at the hotel otherwise. Evening meal at the restaurant was good quality, but the taster menu was less a taster and more quantity. 2 starters, 2 mains and a desert! Masses of food, that slightly spoilt how good it was.

    Good spacious room, decor fitting in with an old estate house. Good spot to explore gardens and Wembury from. Decent evening meal at the restaurant. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    Over priced food and accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had paint coming off the walls and lots of scuff and chips in other places The toilet had been squeezed into a small place next to the shower which was awkward to use

    Location very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic all round!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Beautiful find, we had a wonderful stay and were upgraded to the bridal suite without even knowing it was my birthday. Staff in particular were wonderful and SO helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    The perfect place to relax and take a moment to enjoy the company of a loved one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The building was tunning as was the setting, the staff couldnt be more polite and helpful. The room was beautiful and elegant and all round it was the perfect place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely scenery. Friendly staff. Maybe just a little more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things. In the morning at breakfast , we ordered coffee then after we ordered tea, but didn't get fresh cups to go with tea, or extra milk. The batteries to the remote control for tv weren't working. The windows were noisy but I appreciate that is age of building, I had ear plugs so I was fine!

    The shower was powerful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few issues with our room but Janet was able to solve the problems in such a professional manner that we will definitely come again

    Staff were outstanding Food was very good Setting is beautiful Rooms were clean

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: