Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bloomsbury Palace Hotel 4 stars

29- 31 Gower Street, Camden, London, WC1E 6HG, United Kingdom

#824 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3112 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived quite late and was shocked at the small size of my room. It wasn’t clean- silver fish in the shower and I watched a jumping bed bug on my sheet. The lock on the inside of the door was broken so I didn’t feel safe all night. Blind was dirty and hanging off. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was only 1.5m wide and 2.5m long . The bathroom door handle was hanging off and the taps in the bathroom were loose .

    That I was only there for one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - a single bed in a room that would not fit a double bed in it. the bathroom was clean but again very small. I think they have tried to squeeze this room into the floor space because of the location of the hotel (to bring in more dosh) but its kinda too small and the blinds/ pull down curtains needed mending. There was a door to a court yard that only you had access too which would have been a very nice touch if it wasnt neglected and had a moss filled chair sitting out there. If they cleaned this up that would make it quite nice - give the extra room the room needs to be able to enjoy the space.

    It was a good location with a good breakfast. You got what you paid for but I expected a little more elbow room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never stayed in such a small room. No hanging space for clothes. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't move at all easily within it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room with a bed crammed in it left me with very little sleeping room plus I had to sleep at an angle to actually fit properly as I am longer than the bed. I was basically to get than the lengle of the room. Not for anyone over 6ft.

    The location was good not too far from any main attractions but spending a couple of pounds extra down the road might be a better option if you not on a tight budget.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. I’m a celiac emailed the hotel regarding breakfast, asked when I arrived & Asked the server. Never received half the breakfast I paid for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or proper lounge area. Returning to the hotel at around 10.15 in the evening they were unable to supply a coffee, let alone a drink.

    Room was a good size, if a little basic, although all the essentials were provided including tea/coffee making and TV. Shower room was small but adequate. Full English breakfast was good, and the staff pleasant and helpful. Location was excellent close to tube station and a short walk from the west end.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really tiny (2meters/2meters). If you have any suitcase, it's very complicated to stand next to it so the bedroom is small. The equipment is old and the bed uncomfortable

    The breakfast and the localisation are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. Room smelled of smoke. Tight quarters especially the tiny bathroom.

    Breakfast was quite good. Great location. You get what you pay for and it was cheap for central London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Burnt oil smell in the morning inside my room from their breakfast room +!carpets all over please from entrance to room (make smell bad)

    Location, cost and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was extremely small, very tight squeeze to fit 2 people with bags in and very hot. There was a fan in the room but it didn’t help much. It was clean though, lovely friendly staff and great location.

    Great location,lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay at the Bloomsbury. Our room was a great size for two adults and one child. The bathroom was clean as was the room itself. Breakfast was delicious and the perfect start to a day spent exploring the city. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took a single room which was more then tiny. I did not have enough space to open my suitcase. I really did not expect the room to be that tiny.

    The breakfast was nice,more then I expected. The service was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so had to drag suitcases up 3 floors - no help was offered. Room at the top of the building very hot - fan broken. Breakfast ended at 9 - when you are on holiday 9.30 for breakfast is fair. Got down late and was refused breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    These rooms are *tiny*! There wasn't even enough room for a trash can in the main room so I had to use a grocery sack stored in the closet!

    The staff was outstanding, moving me to a larger room upon request and storing my perishables in the fridge for retrieval at different times. Very human and approachable and kind. And perfect location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our original room was tiny. Kettle didn't work.

    This small hotel is in an excellent location. The kettle didn't work in our tiny room and we were offered a much bigger room beside the kitchen but the noise didn't worry us, so very happy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small and there was a club or hotel down the road that played music and had people laughing until 2 in the morning. I couldn't open a window despite the heat.

    It was cute, not too far from where I needed to go. There was a fan in the room and an en suite that I could use to cool down. There was lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit on the small size with one or two things needing some attention

    A good breakfast and an ideal location, 10 minutes walk to Theatres & Covent Garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement room, very near the kitchen. Found the stairs a bit steep. Dining room was small. First day I had my breakfast in my room!

    Location,cleanliness,staff Good breakfast Quite Good restaurants close by Walking distance to British museum where my meeting was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cistern noise

    There was a noisy plumbing cistern going on and off all night long We had to put in ear plugs due to the noise. It was a very disrupted night’s sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a big disappointment and a terrible location being in the basement without any fresh air or air conditioning. I had been told to ask for gluten free options but unfortunately the waitress didn't understand what gluten free was so I thought it best to avoid breakfast altogether. If you're looking for a simple, well-located hotel to rest your head and aren't too fussed about eating facilities, this hotel is a good option at a good price. If you like a little more comfort and have special dietary requirements, perhaps best to look elsewhere and pay a little more.

    The single room was perfectly adequate and once I found the air conditioning, made for a comfortable stay although difficult to do anything in the room other than lie on the bed! Everything was very clean. Reception staff were extremely helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Well positioned near good bus routes, bacon well cooked and room even air conditioned. Just up the road from the theatres and some good restaurants not far away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single rooms are facing the street with a lot of noisy traffic outside. The rooms have no ventilation or air condition. Either you have window open and listen to noise of the traffic all night or you sleep in room with bad air.

    Very good location, not to long walk to Piccadilly Circus Nice restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 70 year old mother found the stairs up to floor 3 a little tiring. No lift was available.

    The room was very comfortable for a 1 night stay. Plenty of room, clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon malfunctioned on second night, room was stuffy and lacked ventilation. No escalators or lifts, staircase was narrow and difficult to move luggage.

    Reception desk was accommodating and helpful. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situtated on a main road, double glazing broken, so very noisy. Breakfast only after 8.00 on Sunday (and had to be at event by then!). No bedside light (switch for main light buried in the back of the bedside shelf). No hairdryer.

    Bed comfortable, bathroom great. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was advertised as a 4 star hotel - it was a tiny box room you could barely move in. It was not that clean and I had to ask for toilet roll for the room.

    Convenient location, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I've never seen such a small room in my life. A quick measurement proved that it was smaller than my bathroom at home. Not such a big problem as I didn't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, phone coverage was poor and I couldn't make or receive calls there. That might be a Vodafone problem though.

    Clean, good location for my visit. Friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure everything was right. Excellent breakfast facilities and waiting staff. Prompt and efficient service, all requests swiftly dealt with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny tiny room, the bed is next to the window (not isolated) impossible to sleep with street noise... This is not a 4 start hotel at all

    Petit déjeuner complet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is incredibly noisy and the single room is too small for a man to live even for a day. You cannot open your suitcase and there is no cupboard for hanging clothes. There is also a drainage problem in the sink. No air conditioner,of course. It is unbearably hot some time; you cannot open the window wide enough for the outside air to come in. Overall, it is really uncomfortable. I don’t recommend this hotel at all.

    Location and breakfast are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for breakfast is too small for the amount of guests staying. I didn’t eat because I couldn’t have a table that’s why I didn’t put value for money as ‘excellent’

    Comfy bed, nice shower, hotel nice and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows had neck ache when we woke up

    Nice room, very clean, peaceful, Nice breakfast Lovely being able to have window open to let in fresh air

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, tv was right side of bed. Coffee table up against the bed, so hit it when getting out of bed. Dust behind tv and dust other side of bed which was right up against the window. Not good night sleep very noisy traffic all night. Very disappointed especially as it is rated 4star

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was adjacent to both the kitchen and the breakfast room, so was woken at 6am as part of the breakfast preparation activity. Apparently there was a member of staff leaving party in the breakfast room on the evening we checked-in, so we were kept awake until after 1.30am. The staff did apologise the next day, and discounted the 2-night accommodation cost.

    Excellent full English breakfast, and very nice, efficient, breakfast staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "small single" room we booked for our son who is 15, was totally inadequate. The "room" was closet sized with only enough room for a small single bed and about 8 inches of space between the bed and the wall! It was so small that he couldn't keep his standard sized suitcase in the room unless it was wedged between the door and the bed. This is absolutely criminal and when the only exit to the room is blocked, this in my view constitutes a fire hazard. When I complained I was advised that this is the room we booked and that was that. After "making noises" about getting the authorities to investigate, I was informed that the receptionist spoke to management who agreed to "upgrade" the room to a standard single at no charge (!) In our room the door to the bathroom was broken and hung open unless it was locked from the inside and they cut our electricity off over an hour before we checked out on time. NOT recommended!

    The breakfast staff were friendly, attentive and helpful - top marks to them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the (single) room is appalling, like entering into a cupboard. There is nowhere to sit not even stand. The whole room is a 'corridor' leading to the bed in a Gamma shape. Its not *that* cheap, comparative to what it offers. On a warm day, prepare to roast

    Relatively clean; decent shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, more than small, impossible to be inside, hot, no air, without a wardrobe, in the bathroom you don't know where to put the towels, they did not replaced the hand soap for three days, you can't have a fresh bottle of water, and London was very hot in those days, and I believe there are many other warm days in a year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet at night and walking distance to everything. Also, breakfast included excellant! Efficient friendly staff. Resident is on Gower rd so London buses at front door direct to London Trafalgur Sq etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, boiling hot, ground floor right by the entrance so door slammed every time someone left or enterered. Traffic noise was loud too .. lady on reception ‘didn’t work there’ so didn’t know anything ...

    shower was great, location was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was far too early!! Quite noisy on ground floor at the back. Two men sitting in a garden area playing music quite early in the morning??

    Bed was comfortable. Tea & coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    excellent location for theatres and Euston train station. Great value, friendly staff, clean comfortable room of good size, good bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good quality bacon sandwich and coffee. Quality bedding and mattress. Clean facilities though bathroom on the small side. Great location for the buses towards Euston and Oxford Street. Local area had a variety of quality, reasonably priced restaurants. Safe in room at not extra cost was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sounds from street disturbed my sleep (small room at the front). No way to cool room.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice fireplace was blocked by a sofa but other than this it was functional and nice for an evening

    The hotel was very clean and bay convenient for the theatre district

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, not a big problem but something for people to be aware of

    Location was excellent, room was excellent, staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was cooked English which set us up for the day. I willl be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed in a single room but it was extremly small, not even a drawer or tiny closet to put your stuff away. The shower space also very limited, I am a short person and still struggle to move so I cannot imagine for a bigger person. The bed was not comfortable either, you could feel some of the springs.

    Breakfast was amazing and location is good with access to public transportation and easy to walk around as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny a prison cell is probably bigger, the bed was small my feet were out the end of it and I’m small I’m only 5ft 3inch. My room was right beside the stairs so very very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room full of dust. I got very bad allergy in the room. Window doesn’t open so there’s no chance to air the room. Felt like there was a layer of dirt all over the room.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room definately not a double!!! Old bed very worn. Blinds very dirty, lots of noise in the night.

    Great location for local hospital. Tube stations close by for quick commute into the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has no elevators where your room could be on the third floor and you have to carry your luggage on the stairs! Breakfast location and smell is not good as well. Not up to the expectations at all where we stayed for one night only and left in the morning after we reserved in another hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To pay £85 per night and get a room with no cupboard or hanger for my clothes and to have to walk to reception twice once to ask for hand soap and once to ask for a spoon is unacceptable. To be asked to pay extra to get a room with a cupboard is even more unacceptable. I asked twice if this can be brought to the attention of the manager or duty manager but no one seemed interested and no managers got back to even say sorry!

    Location was near to my business

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not family friendly no lifts for prams etc. My son is 1 yrs old and they put a single bed out for him rather than a cot and he has just had major brain surgery. Room all on a slant no bath to wash my son. No drinking facilities

    My bed was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely tiny room not even suitable for a child. It was more of a cuplboard. Could not go th eloo and close the door. Was just awful. Tried to change it as well as card details and wasnt allowed to.

    Nothing about it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small single room and pillows were flat. Window did not lock. glass panel above door let light into room, and big gaps around door. Was not asked if I wanted white or brown toast. no staff to welcome you to breakfast, all just chatting and eating in kitchen when I went down.

    Location is excellent. heater and A/C(fan) provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room were so small. I’m 5 ft and my feet were hanging over the bed. The headboard was next to the front door so I heard and felt it bang all night. The light switch and lamp sparked when I tried to turn it on causing the fuse to trip. The staff then tried to flick the switch and the light blew again and the staff said he could do nothing about it tonight and I was left in the room The other room that we had was so tiny that it made it impossible to dry after the shower from the steam. My uncle who is a lot taller than me felt the bed was so small he said he had to pick his arm off the floor a few times in the night

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, could of been better room, constant traffic noice and sounds of drainage running through the wall and key card didn’t work for electricity straight away. Hard to communicate at breakfast, was almost full English or nothing, overall not much choice. Bathroom is cramped and room could do with a clean and serious decorating and double glazing.

    The speed of check in and out and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, cracks in walls, flaking paint. Small room, sloping floor, very hot in the room, faulty shower in a tiny ensuite room, average breakfast, overpriced (you pay for location) and receptionist that didn't seem bothered.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remove glass panel in bathroom door as it lights up the bedroom in the night.

    Breakfast was delicious, room very spacious, bed comfortable, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem is the absence of the table or something to work with notebook.

    Tee in the room with cookies free of charge. Good location and nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, breakfast didn't start until 7.30 which was too late for me as had an early start

    Location was very central, clean and good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift to the second floor. Triple room was cramped but fine for sharing with my daughter and teenage granddaughter for two nights. Small shower room; water was slow draining from small sink

    Location. Tea/coffee making facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the hotel rooms are facing a noisy road. When people close the doors to their room the whole building shakes. The floor is uneven and rickety and the carpet, while it looks like it was once plush, is tired and needing replacement. Breakfast doesn’t start until 7:30, which is too late when you are staying for business. The phone didn’t work in the room.

    The hotel had reasonably recently been renovated, so the bathrooms were modern and the linen crisp.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes at 9. Weren't told this at check in and didn't find info on table till after we missed breakfast😔. Having a 3rd person in the room was a little cramped & his bag had been put on the table covering the info.

    Good temperature. Was not too hot like a lot of hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were mega tiny. We extended our stay by nearly a week and when we asked today if we could have a late check out the answer was no - a poor show One remembers and experience by the last moment - and that has not been good

    Breakfast is okay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was beyond tiny, as was the bed. I'm 6' 2" and 15 stone, but I would still have expected the bed to be wider than my shoulders and longer than my body. But sadly not. Maybe that's why there wasn't even a headboard. I also struggled to turn around in the wardrobe-sized en-suite or raise my arms above my head in the 20" wide shower. I'm also dubious about the advertised benefits of the 'garden view', as this consisted of a small yard full of rubbish and a broken, moss-covered dining chair.

    Friendly staff and a great full English breakfast with crispy bacon and freshly scrambled egg served in the pleasant dining room. Also just a short walk from Euston and Warren Street tube, for good access to the Northern and Victoria lines.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Harry Potter had more room in his cupboard under the stairs! The extra bed to allow 3 in the room was ridiculous. Couldn't move. Plus room by reception and front door so kept awake by people talking in entrance and opening/closing for. Hardly slept. Staff very unfriendly with no hello, please or thank you at any stage. Manners would not go amiss. Breakfast was poor and brought it when still eating cereal.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small. No enough clothes hangers. Bedside drawer is dirty and very old.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is very close to the kings cross station which was the reason I stayed there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift which was a problem for some. However by my second day (I was there for 6 nights) I was moved to a room on the ground floor.a

    Freshly prepared eggs were quickly prepared by an efficient breakfast staff. “Full English breakfast” Teapot, tea bags and Scottish shortbread in room every day. Helpful pleasant staff Across from a bus stop with multiple bus lines and a short distance to a tube stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt like I was in a truckers cafe when I went for breakfast in the basement but the staff were good.

    I thought the reception staff were nice on arrival and departure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged before arrival even thou it said pay on arrival. Ended up paying twice however it was quickly refunded once mentioned.

    Really good location only minutes away from tube station! Really comfy bed and really clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arguably the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Good for a night and for those who travel light. The room faced a busy street and traffic noise woke me up at 5am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don't know how this is a 4 star...don't get me wrong the staff were lovely and the location is good,but this was probably the smallest and worst room I've ever stayed in....this is more of a hostel than a hotel

    The staff were lovely and its location is good,close to the underground station and walking distance to oxford circus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling standard of accommodation. The room I was given was tiny, with an outside door and a window which were badly sealed so that it was it was freezing cold and impossible to sleep in. There was no mattress cover on the bed just a single sheet covering a stained mattress, the blind was broken, there was no phone or ironing facilities. When I complained about the standard they fixed the blind but I was told it was the last room and there was nothing else they could do. Thankfully bookings.com staff were extremely helpful the next day and instructed the property to give me a full refund. I'm still awaiting an apology from the property manager who has yet to respond to my email.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bed and room. Very noisy on busy road. Room above bus stop. No lift and difficult to climb a lot of stairs with a case.

    Good location. Good breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bug in bed, cold room (tiny radiator, plus for portable heaters of which none worked for more than 30 seconds). Very uncomfortable bed, (woke up with a panful back), tiny room and tiny ensuite. temperature control on shower did not work so very hot water whilst showering, was quite unbearable. English breakfast was served on a cold plate so most of it was cold and very luke warm.

    Staff were friendly and polite

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bloomsbury Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: