Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Langley Castle Hotel 4 stars

Langley -On -Tyne, Allendale Town, NE47 5LU, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Allendale Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at dinner was to say the least chaotic. We decided to splash out and go for the fine dining option (£45). First problem, we had one wrong starter brought to the table. Then we had two wrong main courses and when the correct dishes were brought, one of them had items missing which had to be served separately!

    Very comfortable accommodation in a fascinating historic setting. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel staff were very friendly. Will hope to stay again (but will avoid the restaurant dinner).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a fantastic hotel. The castle is set in its own grounds which are a sight to behold by themselves. We stayed in the castle view rooms, and we found them extremely comfortable. The bed was soft, the room was large, the shower and bath facilities were excellent. We ate in the restaurant, and although it was pricey, we were very satisfied with the food, and the service we received. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tindale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear next door most of the night. We had room with adjoining door. Not really the hotels fault we had noisy neighbours though

    Restaurant food was excellent , best We’ve had for a while. Could not fault it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok but not as good as the rest of the hotel,

    From booking to check out it was great. Great location and atmosphere. staff all excellent. Local taxi company Haydon Taxis good for getting around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was magical. We stayed in the Castle View Suite, the room was steeped in history but all modern facilities. We have already rebooked through this site to go back at the end of July - but staying actually in the castle - can’t wait. We did not eat here - the restaurant was a bit to fancy for my plain pallet!! We did have drinks in the drawing room, the service was excellent. All staff at the hotel were excellent. I honest can’t recommend this hotel highly enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of the male staff involved in the Dining Room have an attitude problem. They need to smile and lighten up!

    We liked the overall ambience of the facility. We wanted a castle experience and largely got one. Enjoyed the grounds and the community activities which occurred on the day we arrived. The food for the evening meal was fabulous and a highlight of our visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited menu extremely well presented but only one vegetarian option. Unable to cool bedroom as there was too much road noise with the windows open and the air conditioning didn't seem to work.

    Friendly staff, very helpful, loved the peacocks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly more attention to detail would make it perfect. ( For example cleaning behind bedside table and round the bath, tea spoons on table and plates cleared more quickly in dining room)

    A beautiful building and grounds in a very good location. We were visiting Hadrian's wall and forts which were just a short drive away. Excellent breakfast in lovely dining room. Our room was in the Castle View block and, as the weather was good we enjoyed having the short walk to our room through the grounds watching the peacocks and rabbits. Friendly staff. The tour of the castle, battlements and short historical video was very informative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • The Greenwich Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like loved everything about the castle every thing was spot on

    The castle it's self was amazing the grounds are lovely the food is fabulous staff were greatly nice definitely going to go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry I have no negative feed back , it meet all our needs x

    Evening meal was amazing. My partner and I had the steak , also loved my vegetarian breakfast, thank you so much x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Greenwich Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal in the main castle is terrible!! Which was a pain because the local mobile coverage wasn't brilliant either. But everything else was brilliant.

    The hotel was amazing, they have made such a great job of retaining the original features. The staff were really helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough for you. And the dining in the restaurant in the evening was amazing. Fully recommend booking a table here. We stayed for my partner's 50th birthday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relaxed dining for evening meal, short of rib-eye steaks, but happy that hotel agreed to fillet off restaurant menu for same price. No hot milk available for coffee

    It's a great get-away from it all place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cosy castle view room. Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Bar and restaurant in the castle, we recommend the G&Ts! Breakfast made to order - Eggs Benedict, yum! Dog friendly. And a castle tour around 10am with a great view from the top.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disappointing. Carpet in need of cleaning and a duvet rather than a rather old looking blanket on the bed would have been appreciated. Seemed to be in need of redecoration. It would have been nice to have an a la carte menu - three courses are really too much for us and we felt £45 per person rather excessive.

    Impressive building, main lounge area nicely furnished. Dining room also nicely furnished. Pleasant, friendly staff even if some were a little lacking in professionalism.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tower Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant menu could have been more varied with a wider choice or different selections on different days. We stayed 4 night sand found it a bit limited. We stayed at Langley Castle for our 25th anniversary and were snowed in. Although staff were helpful we sometimes felt a bit of an inconvenience and it was sometimes difficult to get attention although at one point we were the only guests in the hotel. It did spoil our anniversary a bit as we were left to our own devices when snowed in and sometimes had to go in search of staff for drinks etc.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive food. Poorly presented breakfast. Not really switched on to catering for a visit from a customer called Langley!

    Character, decor, staff, grounds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Greenwich Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were lots of little niggles for a room that cost so much per night: - 2 lights not working in the bathroom; - 3 lights not working on the dressing room mirror; - the carpet in the dressing room was dirty and smudged with make-up etc; - cob webs in the bedroom chandeliers; - grouting coming away from the tiled bathroom floor; - sealant mouldy and in need of replacement at the back of the washbasin/vanity unit; - body fat and mould in the shower behind the sliding doors; - TV reception is poor.

    We stayed in the Greenwich Suite for two nights and at first glance everything looked just like the photos. It's a quirky room with plenty of space and the window seating area looks over the main entrance. The heating was fine and the room warm enough for a February break. Newspapers were provided each day to the room. The breakfast choice was excellent and we enjoyed an evening meal from the 'relaxed' menu. The hotel is well placed for Haltwhistle, Hexham and Kielder Forest and there's plenty of parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tindale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nicer to have a bottle of sparkling water in the room as well as still.

    Beautiful place with interesting history, you can learn it thanks to morning tour around the castle. Great views from the top roof. Huge thank you for Sophie from the reception, she made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. Food was absolutely delicious, highly recommend salmon and pigeon as starters, venison as main and pineapple as dessert. Good value for money I think.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi performance not so good for a business traveller. The hotel is certainly an interesting place to stay. The decoration (suits of armour) and various other "castle" oriented stuff was not particularly to my taste - but im sure lots of visitors like it.

    Excellent food and friendly staff - comfortable rooms and good value. It was very quiet at the time of my visit (and I was happy with that). I would expect it to be a busy with tourists and wedding parties later in the year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cadwallader Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the history tour in the morning getting to learn more about the castle. Food was 5 star and our room was lovely the bed was a dream to sleep on. Nice and relaxing evening and night the staff were fantastic. Would go again but for longer and I'll be telling people to go there to stay or for the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving the Hotel... Could have quite happily stayed here for a long time

    From the moment of arrival we just knew this would be a great memorable experience for the two of us.. Call it intuition, Call it the feel good factor. Call it what you want .All we knew was that this was hopefully a great choice and hopefully we were going to be made welcome and comfortable here. As you can only go off fellow Trip Advisor Reviews and go off what the Hotel decides to place on their website. The only way really is to try it and decide for yourself. As it happens we were not wrong and the time we spent here went by quite slowly. We had a couple of cheeky drinks in the bar ready for our upcoming meal served in the quiet,plush surroundings of the Dining Room.So to sum up it was an exceptional experience which did indeed exceed expectations. All the staff we met were not over the top, just Very Nice and attentive . The room was spacious,Quiet, Warm and so Comfortable with Great Views of the Castle . Would we recommend this hotel for couples who like the finer things in life? Yes we would. Would we like to come back here again? Most Definitely . So a Big Shout out to the Management, the Staff, the Chefs for all they did to contribute to our stay . Cheers guys Two happy Guests......

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Langley Castle is definitely a must visit. We have been going twice a year for over 4 years now,it's a beautiful place in any season.Winter and Summer are our favourite. Staff and Food and Rooms are 100%.Location is excellent if you want to visit parts of Northumberland.Book it you'll not be disappointed,It's full of history too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Radcliffe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night was paid in full as a gift yet were charged for it the next day when leaving. The giver then had to make several phone calls and emails proving it had been paid for causing undue stress and anxiety until the hotel agreed it had been previously paid in full! There was little apology or offer of recompense for stress caused and a week later we did get our money back but this certainly put a damper on what was meant to be a fantastic night for us in a fantastic place.

    Fabulous bed, room, en suite, setting!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was certainly not displeased at all, however I felt that the bar menu available in the drawing room could offer a slightly wider range of dishes for those seeking a cheaper alternative to the menu offered in the restaurant.

    Langley castle is perfectly located in the countryside, it’s only a further 15 minutes past Hexham and has a couple of pubs/ restaurants only a short drive away which offer a range of beautiful foods. The castle and grounds itself are stunning. When we arrived there had been a slight mixup as to the room request we had made online (via booking.com and not the website I might add), however the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. This was immediately rectified and we were made to feel so welcome in one of the courtyard rooms. The drawing room and restaurant in the castle are beautiful and the food delicious. The menu offeres a range of first class dishes which, along with the ambiance of the restaurant, made the evening for myself and my partner as the perfect romantic setting and was just as enjoyable with a friend on my recent stay. Both times I have stayed I have been delighted with my room. They all have some beautiful features and the view to the castle on the evenings is stunning. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a romantic get away or just a little break away from the business of life in general.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't given the room I booked. There was no "garden view" in fact there were no windows, only sky lights. On my reservation confirmation there were 3 photos of "Castleview Suite." The room I was given was none of these lovely rooms. It was upstairs on a wing which doesn't face the castle so no "castle view" would be possible even if there were windows in the room. The shower was poor. One steps into a bathtub and the shower curtain doesn't cover well. We were cold in spite of having the radiator on the highest setting. If you dine at the hotel, you are required to order a three course meal.

    The restaurant is outstanding. The bed was comfortable, the seating area wing chairs were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Radcliffe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor cooking led me to cancel the second night in the restaurant. Instant coffee in the room. Had to request extra towel for sauna. Poor breakfast quality and awful service. Dirty glass in the bar and that was after the barman having to find two glasses from another room. Very disappointed previous chef had left.

    History and the castle itself

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Only two things One no soup spoon with a soup type dish was serviced .Two half way through my stay sugar tong appeared for two sittings and then disappeared and reappeared a day latter. This had no affect on the food or the service.

    The room was very comfortable and the food was very good and staff as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the annex supposedly with castle view, I had to stand on tip-toes and at a rather odd angle to enjoy the view. We were also horrified to find the wifi access very limited, in fact unavailable until Sunday afternoon. As visitors from Australia we were looking forward to contacting family and friends using a more sophisticated level of wifi for the weekend after the limited facilities of the farm stay. We also found our room smelt quite smoky and stuffy and had to leave a window open all night even though the weather was bleak. The other disconcerting fact was the less than perfect sound-proofing, we could hear our neighbours!

    For us it was a special weekend away from two weeks of more rustic farm stay. A little luxury. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling well so preferred to have an early night in rather than enjoy the very special restaurant on site. The castle and drawing room facilities are lovely as is the restaurant for breakfast. The grounds are magnificent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not really a dislike just a note. No children seemed to be catered for.

    Great place with excellent food, fine dining experience with an extensive menu. Minimum fixed price of £42.95 per person for a 3 course experience. Great setting, peacocks in the grounds we had a suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 en-suite bathrooms for just two of us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were willing but should have been better trained. Very long wait for our hot breakfast and ignored for our pre dinner drinks order until we got up and approached the desk requesting service.

    The ambience of the castle,the tour, food at dinner and the public areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal in the restaurant is very poor for £42+ Definitely not worth that amount I think the chef should visit a few other top restaurants to see how far short his offerings fall short

    A lady called Elaine is one of the reasons we return time after time ! Her attention to detail is second to none!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistent staffing. Some staff seemed flustered, disorganised and some a little "false".

    Very comfortable room. Amazing looking venue. Great food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit tired. Prefer a separate shower to one over a bath.

    Hotel setting. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Elegant dining room and bar upstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had stayed more than 1 night but sadly our budget only allowed one....

    Amazing castle - made you feel special staying there. Attention to detail even down to the dining room waiter who carried a cutlery box to the table when replacing cutlery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly our room in Castle View had no castle view to speak of. Some rooms had seats outside but ours did not. Other than that it was lovely.

    Staff wonderful, nothing too much trouble. I did ask for a twin room but I think the castle only provides double beds. Bed was large double which was comfortable. Food fantastic, went on roof tour and views out of this world, roof chapel lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The De Lucy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and furnishings are tired and old. It's a real shame as I've visited this castle on a few occasions over the past 15 years and it requires some love and attention. I couldn't help but notice that each picture had slipped from it's picture mount throughout the castle. Cushions in the rooms and drawing room were old and dirty and chairs ripped. Please consider some much needed Investment to bring it back up to standard.

    A special 14th century castle. We stayed in the De Lucy room. Four poster bed. Big modern bathroom and shower. The staff are attentive and friendly. We stayed for dinner which was 7/10. Hexham and Corbridge are a 7-10 minute drive away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Cadwallader Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The morning tour of the castle could have had some commentary; there was only looking around and a short film (which was informative). Wish we knew ahead of time that the way to our room was walking up a narrow circular staircase. (not all rooms are like that). We had to request being taken up in the service elevator next to the kitchen. One bummer was a wedding on the day we left which disrupted the parking area during our stay. Oh well.

    We came to see Hadrian's Wall so the location was perfect. Afternoon high tea was delicious. The room was comfortable and appropriately castle-like. Bathroom was huge. Service was spectacular. It really is a castle. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and service was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service was slow and inattentive had continually ask throughout breafast eg for tea/hot water /plate/ sugar for cereal etc food was just ok not up to expectations for this kind of establishment and houhoysekeeper musnt have any dusters also my daughters bedding had a hole in it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the relaxed atmosphere within an amazing old castle. All was very good and the peahen with her 3 chicks walking around in front of the bedrooms in the coach houses was a joy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wait staff were rushing around in the dining room at breakfast and at dinner, which is tiring when you are trying to have a relaxing holiday. And at breakfast they were tearing down tables and seemed to need us to be out of the way.

    This restored 14th century castle is astounding, and well worth the expense of the stay even with some inconveniences. I have visited several times. Breakfast is included and is excellent. Be sure to take the 10.15 am morning historical tour of the battlements and chapel at the top of the tower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tower Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the Tower Room which was lovely..but be aware the clue is in the name the stairway has a 101 steps to negotiate. Not a huge problem for us but it might be for some.

    Very comfortable room. Wide choice of dishes at both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hitch during the dinner with drinks however, the staff were working under pressure during this time. Possibly an extra server may have assisted them.

    Everything...... the room was beautiful with all the trimmings of yesteryear. From drinks in the drawing room to dinner and breakfast in the restaurant . Staff worked well together to achieve the desired result of making their guests feel as though they truly belonged to the manor. The restaurant menu was interesting and could be challenging for some if they are not prepared to experiment. Breakfast was choice of continental or cooked. Good breakfast service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were great but one or two could improve their customer service skills.

    The tour of the castle for guests, drinks in the drawing room, peacocks in the grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows are very big, and beautiful, letting a lot of light in which is lovely, but in summer, with the early dawn, I could have done with the curtains having a black out layer to keep the room darker.

    A bit like being on a film set. I almost expected to meet Douglas Fairbanks on the spiral staircase.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould +++ in bathtub, water damage below bathtub, restaurant carved the steak along the grain instead of across the grain & therefore it was a little tough

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tower Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's pricey, but it really is fantastic for special occasions.

    You're in a real castle! It's incredible! Beautifully decorated and much of the stone inside is exposed - the castle feels nothing like a normal hotel. Excellent breakfast and great staff at every interaction.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cost of food........ we got a 50% discount on the room.....at full price it would be vastly overpriced..

    superb location, food good but a little expensive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Tower Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there would have been more sights to see. The castle is outside a small town with nothing in the town to see

    It was great sleeping in a castle and getting a tour of the castle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peacocks are lovely animals, but very, very noisy at all hours of the day including the hours from 5-8 am. They are the only negatives from the stay at Langley.

    Very much enjoyed the stay at Langley Castle. The ambiance was great. Dinner and breakfast were good. The room in the outbuilding was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The peacocks were lovely, but are quite loud during the night. You might mention to foreigners how the drains open and close in the bathroom.

    Everything was conveniently located. The staff was very helpful and we enjoyed the tour of the castle. The gentleman who led the tour was very informative. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms were fantastic. The beds very comfy. The cleaning staff were the friendliest and most helpful we've ever come across. The food in the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Group
    • The Tindale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer but the room rate was very expensive!!

    We spent our wedding night at the castle and it was lovely, in particular our duty staff member Reece was outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    It was a great experience to stay in a castle and my friends from Belgium were very impressed with the surprise visit. Excellent dinner and good substantial breakfast. Overall a brilliant experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Radcliffe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Just wonderful place. The Peacocks in the grounds added a wonderful luxury note to the whole theme. My wife - my Princess - totally loved the experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but could do with more tea bags in the room. Can only have one cuppa each if you don't drink coffee. One of the mirror lights wasn't working in the bathroom and the bathroom switch cover was missing, should be checked and bulbs/repairs replaced before guests arrive. These didn't spoil our stay as everything was excellent

    Everything. Gorgeous room and beautiful, comfy and relaxing drawing and dining room. Added bonus were the peacocks strutting around by our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Radcliffe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better.

    Love the huge bathroom of the Radcliffe room and the attached sauna. It was fantastic. Great medieval castle experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A member of staff walking into our room in the evening while we were in bed with a couple showing them our room. We were deeply upset by this.

    returning to our wedding venue

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed longer!

    The rooms were beautifully furnished - and the atmosphere and setting of the restuarant amazing. You need to experience this place to appreciate just how good it is !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed with the Relaxed Dining option. The portions were far too small, there wasn't enough in the way of vegetables, and the fish needed more seasoning. For the price we expected more.

    The breakfast was very good, especially the natural yogurt and strawberries in syrup. The room was nice and quiet but not too far from the main building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a fire extinguisher on the stairs, it was covered in dust - doesn't make a good example? I didn't feel it was value for money

    The whole evening was excellent, everyone couldn't have been more friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all

    The dinner menu is delicious i ate in both nights and i was blown away by the attention to detail for presenting a superb dinner and dessert cooked to perfection

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, but in particular - The whole dinner experience was very special. The drawing room, restaurant and staff were lovely - and the food was really delicious! The setting and castle are gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The De Lucy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building in a gorgeous setting. Rooms tastefully furnished in character. Very friendly and attentive staff. Excellent food. Relaxing drawing room with a log fire. Great to have a little tour and get on the castle roof too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Derwentwater Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the whole experience of staying in a castle. Everything was just what you'd of thought you would have got from staying in a castle, the price was a little steep but an the end of the day you are staying in a castle.... just like a king

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Radcliffe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint, just a note: If you have trouble with stairs check with Reception which rooms would be most suitable.

    A return visit. Once again everything was excellent. Dinner, breakfast, room (Radcliffe) and the happy, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main bar area wasn't very warm during my January stay , despite the log burner stove . ( Away from the seat directly in front of the fire.) Bedroom ( Castle View rooms ) again wasn't particularly warm either , the two radiators weren't up to the winter temperature . Also the air conditioning unit couldn't be persuaded to blow warm air , although the control unit indicated that this could be done

    Very atmospheric building and setting . Attentive and obviously well trained staff . Excellent dinner Roomy and comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Greenwich Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping is a disgrace as was the standard of the room, we had three lightbulbs gone, the curtain hanging off and the tiebacks hook out of the wall. The bed was barely made!

    The castle is an amzing building and the location is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The wonderful friendly and helpful staff. The amazing food and service. The lovely room and everything you could possibly want in the bathroom. The cleanliness of the whole hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cadwallader Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very warm and friendly and happy to help with questions about the castle . The morning tour of the castle and rooftop battlements was great. I'm looking forward to staying in some of the other rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Percy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was beautiful. We loved it.

    The letter welcoming us and telling us about the weather and who is on duty that day was a lovely little touch. Aiden was awesome on the castle tour. Great knowledge and such enthusiasm for the castle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was not up to the standard I expected - the carbonara was undercooked and the onions were raw. The breakfast omelette I had was also undercooked and sloppy and wet. There were only 8 people in the hotel that night so it wasn't a case that they were too busy.

    The location is stunning and the hotel itself is absolutely magnificent. The room we had was sumptuous, luxurious and warm. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. a wonderful night. The staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a castle view room ,which was Lovely comfortable and.beautiful furnished.A lovely view of the castle . The grounds around the castle are pretty to walk around .The dining is exceptional ,great service,a fabulous dining room,superb food Lovely staff so friendly and welcoming.A wonderful break .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Josephine Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of an upholstery overhaul could help in places.

    Such a privilege to be able to stay here - once in a lifetime experience to stay in a real castle. So exciting and romantic - especially on Halloween! We stayed in a suite which was lovely and the spa bath was great. The food was absolutely amazing - best meal of our 10-day trip. Really lovely staff, so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were made to feel at home immediately and nothing was too much trouble. Incredible atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was a bit haphazard. I thought breakfast portion size was a bit mean. These are only minor niggles that prevent me from giving an excellent score.

    Very comfortable room (Castle View) wonderful setting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fabulous!

    This is a super location and for a castle truly amazing! The staff here really went the extra mile to ensure my comfort and enjoyment during my stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: