Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Langshott Manor - A Small Luxury Hotel 4 stars

Ladbroke Road, Horley, RH6 9LN, United Kingdom

#5 of 23 hotels in Horley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very slow. We left the restaurant in the end because no one came back to take our order.

    Room was nice, clean and basic, just a broken blind which I thought would have been sorted before we went to our room. Beautiful grounds. Drinks very expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed the night before we flew from Gatwick south, it was 10 mins away, beautiful and quiet had a great sleep, lift the car there and got a taxi to the airport, so easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were cold at night - although it was May and sunny and warm our room was dark and didn’t benefit from the warmth outside at all. This wasn’t so much of a problem during the day but at night there weren’t enough warm covers on the bed and we were both cold (despite being post menopausal women so we usually have the opposite problem!). Also the shower plug hole must have been blocked as when I had a shower the water didn’t go down fast enough and so flooded the bathroom. I would have told someone but was leaving very early for a flight from Gatwick so wasn’t able to.

    Beautiful historic building and lovely garden. Had drinks on the terrace in the sunshine which was lovely. Our room was a good size too and bathroom was huge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault, but the weather was terrible so we didn’t get to walk around the beautiful grounds of the manor.

    The hotel history was in a book in our room, and it was fascinating. We loved the quaintness and originality of the building and the helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Epsom room was latge, spotless and the mattress, soft sheets and pillows were gorgeous with very attentive staff. And lovely grounds to explore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of any downside to my stay.

    The hotel is a wonderful old building, the room was spacious and the staff were friendly. I did not have a large breakfast as I was not very hungry. I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was lousy and unprepared. I ordered some extras (a romantic turndown) to surprise my wife which never happened and I was initially charged for anyways. I expected some sort of compensation for the inconvenience they have caused, but nothing happened. The service is definitely not up to the market price this hotel is at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the room could have been slightly better- more variety of jams and honey, etc.

    The room was quiet with a lovely view over a pond with ducks, expresso machine in the room and excellent light food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really strange mix of cheap tacky looking decor and old features. Drinks were too expensive, even for a high end place £12.50 for a large glass of average wine is too much. Certain parts were looking a bit faded and dated

    Nice welcoming staff. Building beatiful in parts. Very good location to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed during the snow so the walk between the main building and room in separate building wasn’t great. The sitting room and restaurant were both really cold, even though they both had log fires but very few logs to properly get them going. Staff seemed thin on the ground so waited ages for drinks and food and guests had to keep the fires going as staff didn’t.

    Convenient for Gatwick with nice decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant over rated over priced poor small portions of food no atmosphere not a candle anywhere just operating bright lights this applies to the lounge areas too. Not something you expect in a small luxury hotel of the world

    Hotel setting Moved our room with ease as first room had bathroom across the passage and a curtain to screen an exposed staircase

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink needed properly cleaning around the taps. No soap to wash hands. Shower lacked power.

    A delightful Tudor Manor House, comfortable rooms and delicious foods. Desserts to die for!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, wonderful gardens and the meeting room was excellent for our needs. The manager was extremely helpful too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner (needs a good scrub!)

    The bed was really comfy Only £12 taxi ride to gatwick south terminal and you can leave your car there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the room and the decor was beautiful. It was our wedding night and they decorated the room with rose petals,gave us a complimentary upgrade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, while friendly, was very slow and sporadic. In our room, a safety light was bright enough to disturb one’s sleep, and the shower ran out of hot water.

    The staff were polite and friendly. We were spontaneously offered free wine when our meal was delayed - although we hadn’t complained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE WATER WAS BROWN.SERIOUSLY BROWN.bad enough but it was the attitude of the acting general manager which decided us to not stay the second night.He was obnoxiously indifferent .We were offered a new room but decided to abandon ship....and we will never go back.

    The hotel is very old and quirky.we stayed in the yard chalet which was beautifully renovated BUT.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an obtrusive emergency light on throughout the night. I imagine that the rooms away from the main house are less good than those in the main house.

    The bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is really fantastic - quality staff, rooms, food and ambience. The ideal place to spend a night or two prior to a flyaway hol!

    A fantastic hotel for Gatwick stop-overs (so much better that the sterile Gatwick "usuals" !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of a thing.

    The Manor was wonderful in every way. Excellent service and staff. Large, clean and comfortable rooms. Delicious food and drink.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit soft for us - but very spacious.

    Lovely room-great to have a big bath! Food in the restaurant was delicious-good variety of food, beautifully cooked & presented. Staff welcoming & friendly, helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very tired and, on arrival, cold - although after finding the heating control the room warmed up. The reception staff on arrival were distracted and not very helpful. I was downgraded to another room (at my request- as the booked room looked very dark and dusty) with no adjustment in price - a small concession would have been welcome. One member of staff was very helpful - yet he was not supported by an ethos of customer care within the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs bathroom up a narrow staircase. Small bed. Very expensive dinner which was not very good. Did not have our first choice on the menu. Reception was very pleasant. It did not have the personal touch it had when we stayed there some years ago.

    Staff on reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn’t anything not to like. The only thing I would have liked is a mini bar in my room.

    Fantastic hotel.. very beautiful & cosy. Very quiet location & wonderful service at all times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests were really rude to the lady on reception, felt very sorry for her!!! Restaurant was too cool, a chap in there still had his coat on!!

    Everything great hotel!!!! Dinner was lovely too!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to Langshott Manor from Gatwick airport took me almost as long as my flight. This is defenitely not the fault of the hotel, but rather due to the chaotic taxi situation at the airport.

    This rated building and its small park is just outstanding and full of traditional charm. Feel propelled into the past and enjoy the cosy ambiance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly cramped shower over bath. We made the mistake of going up the road to the pub, where we were not impressed with the food there.

    Lovely room with beams. Excellent breakfast overlooking the gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to stayed longer

    Beautiful old period building that had old world charm, warmth and character. Staff excellent. Restaurant excellent but a little expensive. We enjoyed the flavours and dishes served with elegance, good advice and grace. Rooms were comfortable, stylish and clean. Bathroom a delight. Car parking and access to Gatwick a real bonus and find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a beautiful building set in lovely grounds with a small lake, friendly ducks and a chatty owl! The staff couldn't have been kinder and friendlier, even allocating me an upgrade after a very late arrival; room service swiftly followed. The room itself was delightful, overlooking the lake, spacious and very well decorated in a contemporary style. The breakfast room was lovely, light and bright overlooking the gardens. It was a wrench to leave the hotel in the morning but i'm happy to say i've just booked my next stay! I heartily recommend this hotel, be it for business travel or pleasure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the 12.5% charge was discretionary I found it hard one to say no and two to comprehend a waiter in a hotel bringing a bottled beer to you and warranting 12.5%. In a hotel I understand for room service. There should be glasses to accompany the bottled water.

    The relaxing atmosphere.......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of alcoholic drinks in the restaurant was steep.

    Really beautifully decorated room and public areas. An historic house with modern comforts. I loved the extra touches like magazines in the room, quality toiletries, excellent wifi and soft linens. The bed was so very comfortable, just what you need before a long flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually getting to the hotel from the train station was a nightmare. Plus the kitchen closed earlier than it suggested on the website

    The staff were friendly and incredibly patient with our odd requests, the comfort and luxury of our first floor twin room was second to none.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could acknowledge your presence a little better, not very attentive on Reception, tend to finish what they are doing first and they were not dealing with another guest or I wouldn't have written this.

    The bed was very comfortable in Windsor, very quirky upstairs bathroom but you have to be a 3 feet tall to be able to have a shower. It's a shower over the bath and ridiculously low. Better use of the space in the bathroom could mean a separate shower. Hotel is really quirky with lots of history. I wish I'd been there in the summer to sit in the gardens. Would recommend. Granola at breakfast is great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was expensive and of variable quality. We sent back two steaks that were undercooked. The triple-cooked chips were poor. Restaurant staff were dismissive and didn't really care. No reply from management to our private complaints. So these are now public. We will not return.

    Some of the staff were friendly, but not all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have used more serving people in the restaurant and lounges. One does not expect having to wait for extended periods to be acknowledged and/or served at a luxury hotel.

    Loved the history and old world architecture of the place and lovely garden setting. Food was not inexpensive, but WAS delicious and beautifully presented. We actually stayed here two times - at the beginning, and again at the end of a vacation in Crete. Our first room - in the original part of the house - was perfectly adequate, but much smaller than our last room -in an addition to the original house - which was spacious, beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable. Reception people were warm and gracious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast added on when I thought it was included and £16 was a lot for 2 eggs and mushroom and tomato when restaurant closed and had to sit in lounge on inappropriate seat and delay due to "emergency" - not told what it was and everyone unhappy.

    Building and room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The attention to detail. It was our wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a luxury room in the Tudor wing. Plus there was a plate of chocolates with Happy Anniversary piped upon it. The Mulberry restaurant was the perfect setting for dinner with discreet lighting and quiet classical music providing an excellent ambience for the delicious food. The service too was first class. We had breakfast there the following morning which was also without fault.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a rather understaffed and they were slow to refresh the contents of the buffet. We didn't have cooked breakfast so can't comment on that.

    This is quite an expensive place to stay! However, the main building is beautiful - old Tudor bricks and beams. Lovely gardens and great facilities. Our room was in an adjacent block and was very nice with a private patio area, a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. We didn't eat in the restaurant which, surprisingly looked a little lacking in atmosphere, but opted to stay in the lounge area for "relaxed dining"! (Does that imply that the restaurant is not "relaxed?) Food was lovely and so were the drinks - excellent cocktails and wines.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to road closure and lack of signage it was extremely difficult to find at night. GPS was of no use as hotel is back off the road.

    The room was very comfortable and we were very happy to have such a nice hotel so close to the airport. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We had this for the first nights of our Honeymoon. We got a free upgrade to an amazing room with a massive bathroom with extra choccies. Very happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service etc at breakfast; we were not offered the fully breakfast menu, no muesli, had to request our drinks twice, poor selection of other food. No face tissues in either the bathroom or bedroom.

    The receptionist, the character of the hotel, and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing to dislike!

    Carolina was excellent, as were all the staff The place is tranquil and beautiful We were offered an upgrade in a call the day before we went which was fantastic and much appreciated True LY am unforgettable night!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a bit hit and miss.

    I really loved the setting as my husband and I felt very relaxed straight away .The layout of the room we were in was very unusual and impressively updated from an old house to a modern twist. Staff were lovely and food amazing( we had an evening meal in the restaurant which was top class) and breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per most British hotels in older buildings the shower was not great. I had to bend down to get under it.

    Charming character building with beautiful garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The technology in the rooms could be upgraded, i.e. TV and music port / player not compatible with apple lightning plug / play. Shampoo and gels could be more "special" for such a nice hotel.

    Very quaint and comfortable hotel, ideal for a special occasion or night away from it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu out of the formal restaurant is a little bit short. Wine too expensive.

    Excelent service!!! The people is even better than the hotel. This is key!! Bravo Carolina , Caterina , Joseph and the rest of the Team! We had a fantastic time!! The gardens are amazing and make the stay different

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The constant green light in the room, on what I guess was a fire safety light, but was too bright and kept the room lit all night. Also no air conditioning and room was WARM, luckily they provide a fan which we had on all night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the Wakehust bedroom which was long narrow and in the eves of the annex property giving limited headroom, so felt rather small, which was difficult for my 6'2'' husband.

    The service was great, very helpful and attentive staff. The restaurant meal was delightful and the property building and gardens were stunning. We were collecting our son from the airport who was arriving on an early flight, he came to us at the hotel in a cheap 10 minute taxi ride and joined us for breakfast, it was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit awkward if it's raining as you're located in a wing but they provide an umbrella.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant superb great food deserving of a Michelin star in my book. Room very large and extremely quiet. Lovely contemporary design in a unique property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some road works on the way in which made the Hotel difficult to find - although this was in no way the Hotel's fault. We didn't realise that we had to pay for breakfast as an addition, which was quite expensive.

    We received a free upgrade to an absolutely wonderful room in the main hotel. The bathroom was across a little landing and the bath was huge. The grounds were very pretty, although as it was raining we didn't get to enjoy them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exit sign on by the door to the room shone bright green all night. The bar area was pretty dull, no music and had no atmosphere. The WiFi when I needed in the morning for business wasn't working which was frustrating.

    Quirkiness of the hotel, I stayed in one of the outhouses which was different.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bar or draught beer in the hotel, but this is compensated by the excellent waiter service, so you can order a drink in the downstairs and outside areas. Drink prices are a little steep but the effort put into giving visitors a good experience counterbalance this to some degree. There is a pub within walking distance but the hotel atmosphere is better.

    The ambience of this small historical hotel is very peaceful , the food and service excellent and sitting , having a drink in the large picturesque garden was lovely escpecially when the sun shone. Location is good. South Downs can be reached within half an hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like, though had I been any taller than 5'8" I wouldn't have been able to stand in the bath for my shower as my bathroom was in the eaves and so had a slanting roof! The towel radiator was also on in July so made the bathroom far too hot, which I mentioned to Reception so hopefully the next person wont cook!!

    Lovely 'olde world' hotel with very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road leading to the hotel is unmade, drive very carefully!

    Rooms were large and very comfortable. Staff, especially Carolina, went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little cumbersome - split level with bathroom up some tight steps. Shower was in the bath with not much headroom.

    Quirky hotel - lots of character, lovely gardens, excellent service. Also very quiet which was welcome given its close proximity to Gatwick.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit pricey but excellent food.

    Room had a balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Room tastefully furnished and decorated. Staff wonderfully attentive. Gorgeous manor house set in glorious surroundings. Big stylish bathroom with lovely shower and luxury toiletries. Fantastic views of gardens from restaurant. Food and service in restaurant exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just a very hot day in June. Record breaking and with out A/C a bit uncomfortable in late afternoon. Did cool off at night and the fan provided was essential.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unusual for me to say this but nothing!

    The stay was perfect I would always recommend this over the local chain hotels I have stayed in when my office do the booking for me. I felt like a person the girl on reception took me to the room and explained how everything worked. The staff had a good local knowledge and aided me to find everything I needed for a relaxing stay pre flight. The Henry V111 room is great and on a warm evening the balcony brings a certain air of relaxation. I enjoyed the place so much I will visit again when I have the chance!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 5.30pm on one of the hottest days in July. This followed up from a phone call the previous day to ask when we would arrive and if we required dinner. I explained it was our anniversary and my birthday. I was told that the hotel would have to do something special for us ! We were showed to the first floor and our room Lewes. The windows were open looking out on the terrace below. The room was a good size with low ceiling and en-suite bathroom. The room was a mixture of old and contemporary fittings, small tv and a slightly tired look. All needs updating. There was a card wishing us a happy birthday and anniversary ! The temperature in the room was extreme so I phoned down and asked for a fan. I was told there should be one in the wardrobe, there was no fan, so reception told me they would bring one in a minute. Bearing on mind this was just after 5.30. At 6.00, I phoned down again, 'its on its way' ! At 6.30 my wife went down to reception and was told the fan was on her 'to do list' ! At 7.00 I phoned again and explained that we had spent a very uncomfortable hour and a half and surely a fan could be found. Still no fan !! At 7.30 I then went down to reception and asked to see the manager, I was told he was out and then a minute later he walks in with a fan, and asks if I am Lewes !! No apology, no exclamation, hands me the fan !. After this we had a very expensive, mediocre meal on the terrace and went back to our room at about 9.30. Our bed had been turned down and a note inviting us to order breakfast in bed, only problem was that there was no breakfast menu in the room ! With the fan working well with all the widows open we then had to listen to the other residents drinking and celebrating to about 11.30, they might has well as been at the end of our bed ! In the morning we did not stay for breakfast and I recounted our stay to the morning receptionist and asked him to remove the added gratuity to our bill before leaving.

    Location. Large comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The £100 held in case we purchased anything beyond what we already paid for has so far taken 2 days to clear as a debit from my account other Hotels don't do this

    Boiled Eggs done perfectly and even though we did not arrive until 3am we were well attended to. Lovely grounds a little oasis near the airport will use instead of airport parking next time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor consideration, but the ultra low ceilings in one corridor took a little getting used to.

    Staff were exceptional; nothing was too much trouble. Little things like a modern shower which was easy to understand (!) and (subtle) hot and cold markings on the taps (!!) showed that guests had actually been thought about and didn't have to suffer an ice-cold shower while working out how to operate. Lovely gardens were perfect for an evening drink on the terrace,even at 10 p.m.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Croissants gone by 8am in breakfast room. No whole wheat bread. Better fan in room would have been useful. Time to fix the septic field as the walk around the grounds were fouled by the smell of it. No smoking on the outside patio, or at least a separate section for smokers.

    It was quaint and lovely gardens. house fascinating. Room was ultra clean and very cozy. Food was good, staff very professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing that let langshott down was the black in the water that smelt and needed attention, and you could here upstairs in the stables very clearly but if thats all then its pretty damn great :))

    i liked the attitude of the staff nothing was to much which is great when you are travelling, the location was great, afternoon yes looked amazing although i didnt try:))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was terrible and I was told this was because there is lead inside the hotel. But each room could easily have its own hotspot for minimal cost (far less than the cost of one room for one night stay). So this is a very poor excuse for the hotel having unusable internet for business travelers.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive and for the price was not fantastic. There was a stain on the bed cover but the sheets beneath were fresh and clean. From working in hotels I am aware these only get washed periodically so never use them anyway.

    We stayed here on our wedding night and the room we had was beautiful (Anne Boleyn). The bathroom was stunning. Room had great tea making facilities and a coffee machine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt main restaurant options were pricey unless a special occasion. Although bar lounge options were available there was limited choice for vegetarians.

    Very comfortable spacious room and a special treat of luxuriating in a roll top bath. Quiet location even though near Gatwick airport, and beautiful gardens. Very helpful staff throughout my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the bedroom was too warm so we opened the windows. The step to the bath is quite dangerous and the shower head low. Due to a wedding party event our lunch booking at Langshott was messed up even though I had personally spoken to a staff member. Another booking was made for us at Fox revived however when we arrived there was no booking.

    The staff at Langshott Manor were friendly, professional and helpful. Very well trained and excellent management. Local knowledge was also very good. Our bedroom Bodium was beautiful. Lovely toiletries. Gardens are really nice to walk around and we found some surrounding public footpaths for an hours walk through forests. Love the architecture of the manor house and the furnishings. Best bed I have ever slept in apart from my own. Great pillows. Good coffee facilities. Dinner excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner on the patio. Although the food was very nice, the dish was miniscule. Three tiny pieces of fish and a smear of potato. It was not cheap and I was still hungry! The service was excellent though. Both blinds in the bedroom and bathroom were faulty. The manager came immediately and tried to sort it out. He lowered the large bedroom blind but did not have the required piece. So in the morning I was unable to raise the blind.

    Beautiful hotel and grounds. Exquisite bedlinen. Room and bathroom recently refurbished. Staff were excellent. I loved it. So convenient for Gatwick where I had an early start.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor internet (possible interruption of service) prefer stronger coffee!

    Location, comfort, cleanliness, friendly, gardens, parking, rooms, service, evening meals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 'mini suite' was beautifully decorated but very cramped for space. The four poster bed was only a double size but took up too much space.

    Langshott Manor is a haven of peace and quiet, in beautiful grounds but just minutes from Gatwick airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was awful. Requested a firm bed, but my room had a soft, unsupportive thing for me to sleep on. Had to put top mattress on floor to sleep. Baffling to me that many hotels don't take (or fail to honor) firm bed requests when for many it is not just a preference, but part of a healthy living lifestyle.

    Great location, friendly staff, beautiful site, good food, etc., BUT...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at Langshott was truly outstanding. The property was beautiful and the rooms were spacious, clean, and just lovely. The staff was warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived and happy to oblige any request. Ella and Carolina were in reception and they were both so sweet and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was smaller than anticipated and the bed was frankly too small for us ( and we're not enormous people). Dinner, while delicious, was served in less than generous portions and was, we felt, overpriced. My husband's skate wing resembled a child's portion.

    The house itself is lovely, full of character and surrounded by beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar at hotel, limited choice on drinks, mainly wine and champagne. Only 2 beers to choose from, no vodka etc. Al a carte restaurant starter and dessert fantastic but main course looked like dumped on plate, with minimal taste. Made to feel common in restaurant as did not know name of drink and waiter informed me as though if I stay at a place like this I should know. Shower flooded bathroom, floors creaked therefore we could hear every step made by occupants above. French doors onto garden was not locked correctly and room had been tried to be broken into to as door handle was hanging off, notified reception who promised it would be sorted by bed time but was not.

    Room was tasteful in decoration, situated in private place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The history of the property was amazing. The gardens and grounds were lovely and a delightful place to sit and relax or enjoy the company of friends with pre dinner drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Langshott Manor - A Small Luxury Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: