Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Country Living Hotel Lansdown Grove, Bath 4 stars

Lansdown Road, Bath, BA1 5EH, United Kingdom

#16 of 39 hotels in Bath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 870 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was inadequate. It cost the same price as the twin bedded room which was in comparison palatial. The room was cramped. Parking cost a £10 additionally. This was advertised in very small print and very easy to overlook.

    Breakfast selection good. Twin bedded room was good. Reception staff were pleasant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, generally relaxing but not polished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a lot of stairs in the hotel and the lift was out of action for the 3 days we were there. We carried another guests luggage from her room to reception as she was struggling. There didn't seem to be a standard way of doing things; one day the reception staff were hesitant about holding suitcases for guests seemingly unaware that this was possible but staff the next day had no hesitation. Breakfast was a bit chaotic with hot drinks served in different containers and with different accompaniments depending on the staff. Sunday the hotel ran out of marmalade!

    Richard, our host on Sunday was attentive and seemed to be everywhere working really hard. The staff were generally friendly. Thank goodness the park and ride bus pulled up nearby as the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill. Beautiful decor and ambience in the hotel. Lovely view from our cosy and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.4
    A great weekend in a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was very small, it was clean and comfortable. All the staff were presentable and friendly. The hotel was situated on a very long steep hill, it was cheap and easy to get an Uber home at night. When we needed to get back to hotel during the day, we used the Park and Ride bus at £1.00.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reviewed as the 3 star it is and nothing disappointed.

    Everything... excellent presentation, friendly staff, lovely breakfast and pleasant walkable distance into central Bath.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced, underwhelming and offering a poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start... • First of all, everything looks better on the pictures. You get there and you're slightly disappointed from the moment you step in. • We paid to get one of the biggest rooms and it still felt crammed. • The decor is magazine-pretty and new but the place is soulless. No character at all. • We paid extra for view and apparently what they mean by 'room with a view' is two little windows with view to the city which you could only see sitting by a certain angle - what a joke. • The room was painted a dark grey which made it look so depressive. Honestly, it was like something very sad had happened in there. • Breakfast was the most underwhelming hotel breakfast I've ever had, and it costs £14.95! Extremely limited selection in both the buffet and the a la carte menu. Everything was constantly running out. Pastries were supermarket pastry quality and cold. Full English breakfast from the a la carte menu was sad to look at. We had brilliant weather and we wanted to sit in the garden but the garden tables looked like they haven't been cleaned in months. Honestly, with all these beautiful tea rooms and cake shops in Bath, the breakfast at this hotel was a complete waste of money. • The lift was broken but we've been informed about it when booking, so I have no issue with that. However, we were allocated a room on the top floor and they never offered help with our luggage. • Overall the place is underwhelming, soulless, offering a poor breakfast experience - certainly overpriced. We booked the room at a discounted price, had we paid the full price we'd be fuming.

    Very easy check in/check out process, relaxed, not asking much, no deposit required. The hotel is also quiet and its decoration looks brand new. Nice shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    I was disappointed at first because the hotel was at the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed at first because the hotel was at the top of a steep hill and a long way to the center of town. However, a bus ran every 15 minutes to the town center so it was not a problem at all. Lift was out of order but I got more exercise. Room was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful historic building, excellent full English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it wasn’t at the top of the huge hill but only because I’m lazy! 😊

    Beautiful historic building, excellent full English breakfast every morning. Staff were lovely and very accommodating! The room was huge and was decorated perfectly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable, nice staff. Didn’t like the idea of paying so much for parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy as near a fairly busy road, my room was a little chilly as the window had been left open and I didn’t arrive until late.

    Lift still not working, seems to be an on going issue although there is a tool bag next to the lift so maybe it’s being fixed now. Very creaky floorboards, typical fot the age of the building but quite noisy late at night. Parking is £10/night in the car park but I managed to get a space on the road outside. Freshly squeezed, thick orange juice in the morning, beautiful. I had the salmon and scrambled eggs, not bad.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return if we visit Bath again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold sometimes.

    Spacious and comfortable rooms , excellent parking. Good location, friendly and accommodating staff. Dressing gown and coffee machine were both good added extras.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    The young girl with glasses on reception at both check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The young girl with glasses on reception at both check in and check out was extremely rude with quiet an attitude which unfortunately sets a bad tone for the hotel. The hotel itself was overall good however we were in a deluxe room and to use the hairdryer you had to sit on the floor or on the bed (with no access to mirror) due to the poor positioning of power points (the same applied to boiling the kettle). Also the central heating was not turned on although we were there during a very cold weekend - when we enquired the young girl told us they would not turn it on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    Will definitely be back for another stay😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really the lift was out of use and although being on the third floor meant some hefty stairs .... The staff and room were worth it.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was very comfortable and clean. Nice walk into bath city centre but would recommend a taxi back. The breakfast was great and the staff very accommodating as we hadn't booked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel; clean, comfy, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was being charged for parking at the hotel when the car park belongs to the hotel - I think it should be part of the package. But, this seems pretty standard for hotels in Bath, to charge you extra to park.

    We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. When we arrived we were invited to sit down at reception to check in by staff. Staff were incredibly friendly from the start and as the lift was out of action, they carried our bags up to our room for us (we were on the top floor). We received an email in advance to say that the lift wouldn't be working for our stay, which is good customer service. The room was very clean and comfortable with an amazing view over the City. Breakfast was delicious and although the restaurant was very busy, staff were always friendly and attentive. We really can't fault this hotel, it exceeded our expectations! Never experienced such friendly staff at a hotel before. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay and very friendly staff. Clean, comfortable hotel but atop a very steep hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift wasn't working and we were 3 flights up! Not really a problem for us but definitely a problem for people with mobility issues. Also had huge cases of 'butterflies' on dining room wall - not real but I am phobic of them and it was a problem for me!

    I really liked the shower (very good size and good flow of water) and the bathroom in general - room comfortable and very clean and nice terrace outside the patio doors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say I didn't like it but the only thing we found was the room was very warm and we couldn't get the temperature down. It may be an idea to have fans in the rooms.

    The staff were exceptional. We were upgraded to a beautiful room. Very clean. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly lovely hotel with nice staff and really tasty food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice, and spacious, but the bathroom not overly exciting. A very mediocre size/shape bath actually. And the feather duvet was VERY hot and heavy but the mattress superb. I did tick the box for a morning paper at check-in but one never materialised and, when questioned, the front desk said they had no record of it. So just make sure you double check that if a newspaper is a must.

    the food was amazing. the staff were extremely friendly, if slightly clueless (but in their defence I think we had new members to the team so they were learning). The location is good - a 16 min brisk walk down the hill to town. The decor was nice, too and, being newly decorated, everything feels clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel just a few things which could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really hot and we couldn’t open the window. We had to hand our keys in every time we went out of the hotel. The beds and quilt cover wasn’t comfortable, we didn’t sleep very well due to this. Our room was right next to the main road so it was really loud with cars going past.

    The staff were brilliant, very polite. The decor of the hotel was lovely. Great location for getting in and out of the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Staff are very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and the first was a great experience. This time was less enjoyable, small room, hot and very noisy both form the road outside and inside from other guests. The lift was out of order and I was on the third floor. I paid a very reasonable price for this room however it was disappointing compared to last time.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    When we arrived there was an issue as to whether we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was an issue as to whether we had booked breakfasts for both rooms. We showed the process through the App, which clearly indicated breakfast for both rooms. The meal prices were a bit expensive for the "faggots" which was essentially just a pork burger. The rooms were very hot with no fans. At the end of the day these things can be improved and it was nevertheless a great place to stay. This is just provided by way of feedback and is not a complaint.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, bed was very comfortable, although the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, bed was very comfortable, although the room on the 3rd floor was extremely warm, as the heating was on and it was a very warm day. Excellent choice for breakfast and very friendly and accommodating staff. The only criticism would be that the lift was not working but they did offer to have our bags carried up the stairs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.0
    They charged me £10 for the parking which was not clear when...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy

    They charged me £10 for the parking which was not clear when I booked. If I knew that the charge for parking I would not book in this Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    A potentially lovely Hotel with Extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of order and our expensive room was a long long way from reception and 3 floors up and our phone didn’t work in our room! This meant we had to use our mobile to phone for milk. Everything was an extra!! So after the room there was another £10 per night for parking plus £12.95 each for breakfast and the breakfast was very average and a small cooked affair and no croissant left even though we were down at 0920am on a Saturday morning. The whole experience was ruined by the costs

    It was classy clean fresh and well presented The food was good and the staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.0
    An enjoyable stay in a stylishly refurbished hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small touches would have made a difference to experience and perception. eg. pillows were OK but not particularly comfortable; retro alarm clock was fun but a bit dusty - a small complaint but attention to every housekeeping detail is important.

    It was lovely to see a previously sad, dated and dingy hotel come alive!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    The staff team were friendly & helpful. Highly recommend and definitely will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed my short stay at this gorgeous historical hotel choosing to return after having stayed there on a previous occasion. The hotel has a beautiful decor and a homely feel about it. The room was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Hotel in Bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not centrally located in Bath. Unless you're arriving by car or bus you will need to walk up a hill to get to which we found was good exercise. Unfortunately the lift wasn't working but we were already aware of that. There was also a construction site right next to the hotel which we found annoying at times due to the noise. Just be sure to check with the hotel beforehand to see if the works are finished, or if there are any roadworks.

    The check-in process was very fast and smooth. The staff at the reception was very helpful and told us what to see and how to get around. We stayed in the premier double with a view, which was fantastic and you could really see quite a lot of Bath town. Although the effect was slightly ruined by the ongoing constructions. The hotel itself I would describe as modern, yet homely, welcoming and warm, having been curated and inspired by Country Living magazine. It's simplistic decor is aesthetically appealing. They offer a nice selection of breakfast although we felt the price was a bit high, and decided to eat at a few of the many cafés available in Bath. The bar was a great place to chill and chat. They had a nice selection of beverages, especially gin. The staff were very friendly and had good knowledge of the drinks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Great little stay in Bath! Worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were advised before we booked that the lift was out of order however it wasn't very pleasant since our room was 3 floors up. Staff did offer to help with the luggage, which was very kind.

    Really comfortable room, with everything needed for our 1 night stay in Bath. The food in the restaurant is worth trying, and the prices are accessible. Would come back another time!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Friendly and comfy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift being out of order as there are a lot of stairs.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Well stocked and comfy bar area, loved all the little window seats. Room and bathroom very spacious. Bed, pillows and duvet very comfy . Loved the decor and soft furnishings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable haven after a days driving and touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator out of service for 2 weeks. Needed help to bring bags to 3rd floor room.

    Stylish décor throughout and staff were friendly and professional. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Lansdown Grove Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay £10 for parking

    Everything else, lovely hotel and fittings, very clean room and staff were very friendly. Excellent breakfast. 10 minutes walk to city centre downhill. Hard work walking back up.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stiflingly hot rooms, even after all the heaters had been turned off. Very noisy, constantly hear the people walking around upstairs which is annoying late at night. Parking at £10 a day seems excessive considering the price of the hotel itself. Lift broken during our stay, and apparently has only worked intermittently for months.

    Great location. Polite staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfort, great decor, good food with excellent choices at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift not working! I was warned before hand but the walk to the attic was excruciating!

    Comfort, great decor, good food with excellent choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was out of order and there are lots of stairs. The parking spaces are very tight and we struggled to get in and out of the car park in our large 4x4

    We got a very good last minute rate on Booking.com and on arrival were upgraded to a superior room. It was exceptional value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Stylish and comfortable hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in and staff.

    Style and comfort excellent and a fantastic location, not far to walk into the centre of bath but far enough away to be peacefully quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, would definitely visit a Country Living Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift wasn't working but it did us good to walk up the stairs!

    The firendliness of the staff - couldn't be more helpful and wen tout of their way to give us the best time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Staff were really great and friendly with smiles, made you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet was a little warm and the room was a little noisey being on a main road.

    Staff were really great and friendly with smiles, made you feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    4.2
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rudeness and unhelpful on arrival. Guy called Richard was very rude to us. Lifts out of order and we were on 3rd floor. When leaving we were told we had to pay for parking our car in the carpark. We were not informed of this on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Great short break in a period setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room offered opened onto the rear car park with fully glazed patio doors. To have had any privacy we would have needed to keep the curtains closed at all times. We got the management to allocate us an alternative room which was much better and matched our desires.

    We stayed half board so had a limited dinner menu but still thoroughly enjoyed the meals; two night stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s at the top of a hill, not the hotels fault in the slightest but we hadn’t researched enough and it was a hike with our luggage. It didn’t ruin our stay as it’s still very close the centre, but would have got a taxi if we had known.

    Lovely hotel, very clean, lovely staff and excellent breakfast. Very comfortable and we had a lovely few days here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a perfect location for bath city centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel in a perfect location for bath city centre with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Felt very welcomed and comfortable during our stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.2
    Breakfasts were OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appalling staff attitudes. Very poor management. Lift not working. No air conditioning. Long wait for table for dinner. £10 per night to park car.

    Breakfasts were OK

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.3
    we were pleased when at the end of our stay the manager gave us £50 off the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room you gave us was very near a busy road and directly opposite a noisy building site. No privacy so the curtains had to be drawn. We asked for an upgrade and would have paid more but were told that the hotel was full. The parking space had an awkward flower tub in the way. These are not required in car parks. Also we wanted a king size bed. Also we were on the 3rd floor and the lift was not working.

    the food was good and the staff helpful. most of the time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Ok, but the heating issues need to be resolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold, the radiators were all turned off and when I set them to the maximum setting they still did not get hot. We complained about this and were offered a portable heater. We sat beside a radiator in the dining room to warm up! The room, 219, is at the far end of the hotel and I suspect that the heating system is simply not up to dealing with the distance from the boiler. Perhaps the pump is faulty or too small? It needs to be sorted out before the weather turns really cold. We had exactly the same problem when we stayed in your Harrogate hotel a month ago. The radiator was stone cold. There they moved us to a different room where the heating was fine.

    The staff were excellent and we liked the way the hotel had been decorated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and a place to stay again and again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The hotel was clean, Smelled nice and everything felt new. Decoration was lovely and the staff was beyond helpful. I would definitely recommend and will be staying there again. I particularly liked the heated floor in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (room 202) was slightly small for two people. We had a standard/classic double and I can say that the bed was a little bit small, my partners legs were hanging off the end as well. The room itself was also extremely small and the floor boards in the bedroom above were really noisy - I understand its the effect of an old building - however I'm sure there are ways to help prevent this? The window also rattled in the night.

    The Hotel was a great experience. Parking was readily available. The Hotel setting was excellent with fabulous views over Bath. The interiors of the common areas were modern and stylish (what else would you expect from a Hotel curated by Country Living magazine?), I did feel like this could have been extended into the bedrooms a little bit more as I felt like the standards in the bedroom were not as high. The room itself was ok. I understand that it was a standard double, however we didnt feel as comfortable as we were expecting. The room and bathroom was clean and pretty modern. Our friend was staying in a twin room and that was bigger, with higher ceilings and a bath (she was very happy and comfortable!). The view from boths rooms was great. The breakfast was great. Served in the grand dining room with magnificent chandelier. We had dinner here the night before and that was absolutely excellent. The breakfast also didn't dissapoint, there was lots of choice, different bread types, cereals and yoghurts. There were plenty of cooked options too. The service was excellent, with lots of staff on hand. This was enough for a one night stay. We enjoyed it regardless!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Location, Friendly and a noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately are room was right on the road so a lot of traffic going past late at night and early morning. Would of preferred another room.

    Great location just up the hill from the main town centre. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotless.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, the citiy of Bath and its surroundings are wonderful in the autumn. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has been built on and that makes for quite a walk though a maze of stairs and corridors, at least for our room. And the elevator did not work, which was no problem for us but might be for some people.

    We were upgraded from a simple double to a larger room which also had a terrace going out on the back of the hotel, really lovely. Very friendly and prompt staff, excellent breakfast. While the hotel is on a steep hill, the walk to the city center is enjoyable and you can walk by the Circus and the Royal Crescent on your way down. And don't miss to see the Lansdown Crescent and Somerset Place, little jewels! Coming back from the center you can catch the bus 31 which stops right at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff,friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was fine, but for couples it's worth mentioning that the hotel is up a reasonably steep hill from the city. However,there's a good bus service and the hotel do mention this.

    Excellent staff,friendly and helpful. Well furnished though bed was smaller than others we've visited.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    Not Quite Right!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working for duration of stay. Lovely outside space not maintained. Extra fee to park in their own car park! Refurbishment just lacks quality finish. Views over Bath only from high rooms, no public areas. Long wait for breakfast on second day, eggs not cooked on two attempts. Sausages tasteless. Most staff seemed a little odd, helpful but odd!

    Typical beautiful Bath architecture. Location close to 'park and ride' bus stop, so easy access into Bath without the car (£1 each way).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Location perfect, hotel nice but staff were poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff came across rude and unhelpful at every exchange.

    It has a countryside feel to it but is only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bath. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    okay but not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 11.30am , room not ready so we left bags and were assured they would be taken to our room when it was ready. We returned to hotel at 9pm, to our room on the 2nd floor (lift not working but that's fine we are fit) no bags in room, I rang reception, no answer, went back down stairs, no one at reception, eventually found someone who found our bags. The member of staff was apologetic and knocked £5 off a room service charge. I paid a premium for what I thought would be a king size bed, however it turned out to be a 'large' double bed. The quality of furniture and decor in this hotel are cheap so it presents itself as a luxury hotel but actually there is no real quality.

    The view if you pay more for an upgraded room Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a nightmare and very unorganised. I unwittingly "stole" a woman's space ( despite not knowing this and having no numbers anywhere, no cone etc ). The lift was out of order, I was on the 3rd floor, no real apology or offers of help with luggage. the reception staff were quite brusque. My single room overlooked the car park and also was just above where the hotel staff smoked, so was a little noisy and impossible to have the window open because of smoke. I asked if I could change rooms but was told a flat no as they were full. I understand that but perhaps it could have been done a little more sympathetically. It is up a very steep hill from the city.

    Breakfast was good, nice staff. the hotel décor was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    New renovations done well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated and a great result ,rooms at the back of hotel benefit from the rear entry saving quite a long walk from reception, food at dinner was very good and well priced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Amazing, Perfect for our honeymoon:)
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved our stay very relaxed hotel for our honeymoon. A lovely warm cosy luxury feel with the hotel everyone so friendly. Lush breakfast to start our days, finished with a night cap relaxing in the bar. Great stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed ourselves very much. The hotel room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasn’t working. A long wait for breakfast on second day. The complimentary bottles were not refreshed on the sec9nd day, indeed the half used ones were removed, which I thought very odd.

    Food a delight. Staff excellent anticipated our needs. Excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.0
    Good value for money, and I'd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think some of the restoration work is continuing. The room was fine, but the shower and sink drained very slowly. Staff were friendly and pleasant, but probably not quite at the top of their game yet. Small points but could have been better.

    The hotel has recently opened after refurbishment, and this has been well done to restore the Hotel to its former elegance. Nice, relaxed style in the reception, bar and restaurant areas and pretty comfortable all round. Tastefully done; bar small but good ambience and excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Great accommodations; comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked it all

    The breakfast was excellent; you had a variety of choices plus we the ala carte menu was great. Dinner menu was good, too. and I like the idea of having a bar in the hotel open at all times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    noisey making for an unpleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was beside a very busy road and the constant noise was very unpleasant---would benefit from double glazing that might reduce the road/traffic noise. On top of the road noise there is major construction work that compounded the noise and made for a very disappointing stay.

    The hotel was well decorated, friendly staff, the breakfast was good and overall the hotel was very well kept and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The staff couldn’t be more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn’t be more helpful. The room was a delight. Parked the car and used this Hotel as a 3 day foot tour of the City. Perfect for the mobile lady and gent, and on local transport route if help up the hill is required.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast and breathtaking views from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was not working which did detract from the whole experience as we were on the top floor.

    Very good breakfast and breathtaking views from our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Good Weekend Break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Labyrinth of corridors and stairs to get to some rooms, although there is a rear door opening direct onto second floor and the lift was out of order while we were there.

    Very clean and comfortable, good food, very friendly and helpful staff, close to Bath centre (for those who don’t want to walk regular bus stops nearby)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    . Beautiful hotel but a bit out of the way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all the fault of the hotel but I hadn't fully appreciated how far up a very steep hill it was from the centre of Bath. There's a frequent bus service through the day and it only takes a couple of minutes but at night I had to use taxis. Something to consider if, like me, you have 'knee trouble'. Also the lift was out of order during my last two days and my room was on the 3rd floor (though helpful staff carried my case downstairs and out to the taxi). At the moment there is building work going ob next door to the hotel. It wasn't a problem from my room but other guests were disturbed by it.

    Lovely bedroom though it would have been small for two people. Decor throughout the hotel very nice indeed. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh well cooked food. I loved the library and supply of morning papers. The staff were very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay! Would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extra comfy bed, superclean and large bathroom, spacious bedroom with access to a lovely terrace / garden with table and chairs to relax, cozy common rooms all over the place and the whole building retaining its Georgian character after massive refurbishing. Not to forget the complimentary wellies and umbrellas at the front door...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    All other staff were super friendly, the rooms were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was at an additional cost of £10 per day, which I hadn't seen stated on the website prior to booking. The beds could have been larger than a standard double, it was a bit uncomfortable my friend and I sharing. The reception staff didn't acknowledge anyone on entry to the hotel.

    All other staff were super friendly, the rooms were very generous proportion and it was a very lovely building and well decorated hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the property,the decor,comfy bed lovely views over bath.The public areas were very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and the food very good. Apart from the walk up the hill to the hotel after walking round Bath all day(there are always taxis!) I couldn't fault the accommodation. Loved it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Very relaxing in lovely surroundings. Cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic. We overslept and missed breakfast so they gave us some croissants!! Hotel spotlesslessy clean and beautifully decorated. Very spacious. Breakfast and dinner were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant country style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast looked great but was not so tasty, e.g. the french toast had by my daughter just tasted like eggy bread. Possibly we chose poorly. Juices and coffee were good. Unfortunately the lift was out of order and there was no offer to help us navigate the three flights of stairs with our suitcases. We managed but others might not.

    The room and bathroom were spacious, tasteful and well furnished with a lovely outlook. Bedding and towels were very comfortable. It is a nice quiet location on the edge of town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    It met our needs for a short city break and we particularly enjoyed dining in there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could do with a topper as we found the bed to be quite hard. The bedding itself was cosy and warm. We chose a larger room to be able to spend more time in it but it really needs some bigger , more comfortable chairs or a small sofa in it . Finally the lounge areas would really benifit from some better ambience eg candles on tables, more lamps and table decorations etc They seemed quite dark and uninviting despite the beautiful decor .

    The food was very good we ate there both evenings of our stay. Breakfast equally very good. Staff very friendly and helpful . Beautiful decor. Our top floor room had great views of the city . There is a pretty enclosed garden which would have been lovely if the weather had been better .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointing really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, a load of grey paint and duck print cushions can’t turn this old folks home into a contemporary hotel I’m afraid. It feels like it needs a load of investment to back up the excellent staff. Confusion of paying £10 per night for parking at a hotel that isn’t near the centre of town really didn’t start the visit well. We were told this was because we booked through Booking.com...well, it wasn’t very clear I suppose, but at the room price, it’s a bit stiff to charge more for parking. A good location at the top of a decent hill allows you to walk off the excesses of lunch!

    The restaurant staff were all fantastic, check in could do with a bit more customer service training, but were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay if you don’t mind walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quiet except for the squeaky floorboards above. The hotel is at the top of a long hill so you might want to take the bus.

    Pleasant , relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect to celebrate our 25th anniversary,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift - size wise was fine but it would not take the 2 of us plus our luggage.

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Shower was spacious & worked well,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Mixed opinion..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready on arrival at 3.30pm. An initial house-keeping issue with the bed and an insincere apology from Reception; breakfast not included despite paying £180+ per night, long distance (and lots of steps to) superior rooms (had stated in advance that one guest was partially sighted); no offer to assist with luggage from rooms on last day. I would not stay here again on this basis but you may enjoy it by mitigating the above issues.

    Beautifully decorated, good WiFi, great dinner, wine & gin choices, friendly restaurant & bar staff, fluffy towels, complimentary tea & biscuits, quiet rooms towards back of hotel, spacious power shower, bus stop nearby for city centre (or taxi £7).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately, would not stay again purely because of the pay for parking rule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meals mediocre for price charged. Soundproofing of rooms not great. Could hear TV, people talking and shower in use in room next door, and could hear people talking when passing through corridor outside of room. Having to pay £40 to park two cars for two nights. Although I was aware of this at the time of booking, I do think that parking should be free for residents of the hotel.

    cleanliness, comfortable bed, friendly restaurant staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Accommodation was excellent staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill down towards bath very step and not good returning if you are not very physically fit.

    Accommodation was excellent staff very friendly and accommodating food lovely but expensive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on arrival wasn’t as pleasant as all the other staff, they managed thankfully to offset our initial disappointment.

    Food was exceptional and the service by restaurant staff also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived after a long drive and had prepaid for my room but was informed if I wanted to park my car overnight it was £10. All it says on the website is parking is limited but no mention of cost which was a bit annoying. The room I was allocated was tiny considering I'd spent the previous two nights in a Premier Inn near Weston Super Mare that was cheaper and three times as big and had free parking. Also I thought there'd be tea and coffee making facilities in the room ONLY to find they had been hidden away in the wardrobe!!! I didn't find them until I was checking out the next day and was checking to make sure I'd got all my things. The breakfast was ok but I won't be booking there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant decor, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some issues need addressing. The room we were in had very thin walls so when the guests had their tv on in the adjacent room, very late until 2am, we could not sleep. Very loud, we could hear every word. Also the towel rail on the bathroom wall came away completely with crumbling plaster all over the bathroom floor. Quite a surprising event, to say the least ! However the young man that was sent up to clear away the debris was very helpful.

    Pleasant decor, clean and comfortable. Lovely welcome from the porter, and very pleasant restaurant staff. Mark also on reception was very pleasant. Parking very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: