Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lantern Guest House 3 stars

3 Windsor Street, Leith, Edinburgh, EH7 5LA, United Kingdom

#83 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A nice piece of Edinburg comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv wasn't working but it didn't affect me anything bcoz I didn't stay for watching tv

    The room was very neat n clean. Richard was very helpful. The location was near halal restos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location, within walking distance of Princes street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't work the coffee machine. All the tea/coffee/biscuits were stored outside the room in the hallway, but the cups and kettle were in the room? These are minor complaints and actually everything was really nice.

    The location is excellent for all the amenities and events during the Edinburgh fringe. The host is extremely helpful and organised. There were comfortable seats with footstools inside. The host let us leave our bags in the hotel until we caught our train which was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    The owners Richard and Rachel are very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Richard and Rachel are very accommodating. Richard gave suggestions for dinner near the location. My room wad comfortable and very clean. Coffee, tea and biscuits are offered all day long. Since Edinburgh is a rather small city, it was easy to find all major sights in waliking distance. 18 min to the Old Town, 15 min to the New Town and 20 min to the sea side. Have breakfast or small lunch in the Elm Rose Café (3min from the Inn). Very inexpensive and delicious food and coffee. The Hop on Hop off bus for Majestic Tours leaves from Leith Walk, 3 min from the Inn, every 20 min. But start your tour at North Bridge (18 min walk in direction of Old Town). You will have a lovely stay. Great stay!! I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Silence is not all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive according to services (not)offered. No breakfast, room too tiny. Bathroom not heated with no shelves or cabinet where to put your toiletries. Besides, a hand towel for two persons for four days is quite poor. The fridge and microwave (no oven) in the hallway are supposed to store some first-hand food you buy.the problem is there is not any room or space where you can stay and eat properly. Disappointing.

    The silence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean room, friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the bed and blanket - too small and blank barely fits 2 people. Water in the shower has low pressure.

    Good location, clean room, friendly hosts. Also good that you have a fridge in the corridor to share.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed a cozy room in this lovely old guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed a cozy room in this lovely old guest house...hosts Richard and Rachel were helpful and welcoming, making our short stay in Edinburgh a happy one!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A great stay, very private and felt at ease.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, was a 10minute walk to the centre, parking was easy once I knew where to park. We parked in the same location for whole stay and walked everywhere. Very quiet location. Room was immaculate with use of fridge and microwave just outside the room. Loved the separate acces to the property just for guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Good, clean budget accommodation, reasonably close to Old City center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that my room was below street level and consequently a bit dark and unappealing.

    The host was welcoming and accommodating. My room and bathroom was clean, quiet and reasonably comfortable with all necessary amenities I had no need for public transportation as it was only a 15-20 min walk to Waverley and the Old City Center. It was good budget accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome; fresh milk for tea available; large room; entrance independent of rest of guest house; good location close to nice cafes and restaurants; 15 min walk to old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, central yet on a quiet side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't made clear on Booking.com that our room was not ensuite - whilst we did have a private bathroom, it was along the corridor, which was not ideal. Had this been made clear on the website we would have chosen a different room type. I advise other guests to check this with the owners before they stay. Room was very small.

    Fantastic location, central yet on a quiet side street. Owners were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    It was a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a nice stay. Richard was very nice to help us carry the luggage to our room and offer free brochure. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfy. It is very close to Calton hill and it takes 15-20 minutes from the house to the railway station on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel staff were so welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were so welcoming. They greeted us with a map and a great list of recommendations and were on hand to help again the next night when we wanted to find a good comedy haunt.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Richard and Rachel were very accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishing is a bit modest and the bathroom is down the hall for our particular room. But we were more than alright with that given the price we paid.

    Richard and Rachel were very accommodating and helpful. Bus runs directly outside of the hotel, but it's also very walkable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location,easy to walk to many sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in the room.

    Good location,easy to walk to many sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.5
    Own bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Own bathroom. Pictures on the wall :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view Everything else was fine .

    Good location & very peaceful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating was not work the whole day but could be arranged.

    Perfect location and very nice and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints!

    Convenient location, great host, comfortable room, good value!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and price for a weekend away in Edinburgh. Would definitely recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location and price for a weekend away in Edinburgh. Would definitely recommend to others! The host was very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    only three left to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No replacement shampoo for second night of visit

    Very handy for city centre and all I needed to do whilst in Edinburgh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Really good stay. Lovely place and owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding and bed sheets need to be freshened or replaced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Perfect home from home feel, very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect home from home feel, very welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    It's easy to reach the station and city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's easy to reach the station and city center. Staff very nice and helpful; gave us tourist information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    We were taking 2 days 1 night off from our cruise ship the Zuiderdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Host was very helpful great location to the train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Central clean cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small

    Central clean cozy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff and good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included but close to lots of local restaurants.

    Clean, Friendly hotel in excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Loved it so much, we didn't want to go home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Richard and Rachel were so welcoming. Very quiet room Excellent bathroom Immaculately clean Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    It is a good place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle is very small

    The room was large and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Cosy room, centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy and well-equipped room in a good location. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place to see edinburgh from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty firm bed

    Nice area of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Ok for a small nap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very slow, the bed was so hard the floor would have been better.

    How close the theatre was to the lodgings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Big Room, Hard Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard.

    Great location with lovely owners. The room we stayed in was huge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was very comfy and clean with everything you could want. The owners were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Richard is so nice and warm, he helped us with all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Richard is so nice and warm, he helped us with all the things we need: )

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed and External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent value for a great location. Friendly hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Edinburgh is a very enjoyable and interesting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cramped, thought a bit overpriced

    The location was good very friendly couple and gave good advice on surrounding area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    The owner was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want to pay by card, the owner enters all your debit/credit card information to a software without showing it to you, it's not clear how secure it is.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. Small but cosy room, perfect for 2 nights stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was cold, very limited heat. No heat control of room's temperature. Room small. Bathroom adequate. Very small common area with very small shared refrigerator. No area to sit outside of room. Below street level/basement.

    Location. Close to tram and bus stops. Walking distance to many areas. Good shower with plenty of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.9
    Very good location, near Calton Hill and a step away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room 2. The bathroom could use some work, there was quite a bit of mould on the walls, and the fan might not be pulling air as much as it should, but the shower was clean.

    Very good location, near Calton Hill and a step away from the bus stop. A few minutes walk to town and the tram that takes you directly to the airport. The owner was very friendly and kind, kept our luggage for us the morning of our checkout so we could keep exploring the city! We had room 2, the bed was comfortable and the room small but cozy. Microwave and small fridge in the hallway an appreciated bonus as we could have breakfast in our room. There is a small Tesco less than 5 mins walk to buy some groceries.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Location for us was great, plenty of bars, restaurants but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was a bit of an issue of the TV kept losing signal, but if we switched it of for a few minutes and back on it sorted it for a while

    Location for us was great, plenty of bars, restaurants but in quiet area. City centre was only 15 minutes walk away (and I'm a slow walker!) Bed was very comfy, private entrance and courtyard was great especially for us as we both smoke, so had and outdoor covered area. Richard the owner was very friendly and helpful, we will definitely be returning to Edinburgh as we loved it but also definitely returning to the Lantern as for us it was perfect, clean, comfortable, ideal location and really good value for money, also parked free all weekend! 😊

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    8.8
    The location was excellent, within walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not that it is a huge deal to me but unless I'm paying dirt cheap prices, I'd appreciate getting my room cleaned on a daily basis. Not a disaster for me and I would stay here again but wish I had known, your room is not cleaned during your visit.

    The location was excellent, within walking distance to the sites. The fresh milk in hall fridge which was also available for your food was a big plus. The magazines in the hallway and room also were enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    The room was spacious and very comfortable, in a central but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious and very comfortable, in a central but quiet part of Edinburgh. Feels like having your own flat rather than staying in a hotel which is really nice. Richard, the host, was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.3
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was comfy. At breakfast it was not croissants, but we have breakfast with milk, corn-flakes and yogurt, coffee. We are off a good start. They are very polite because we left our luggage here.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Walking distance to the main street and 15mins to castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out is 10.30am, even on Sunday.

    Walking distance to the main street and 15mins to castle. Good cafes and restaurants nearby. Room is clean and comfortable. Check-in was really quick and friendly. Bed is really comfortable. Would definitely recommend. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    I liked everything the room was charming and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything the room was charming and very clean. The owner of the guest house was very helpful and friendly and we felt right at home for the two nights we were there. I would highly recommend!!

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    8.3
    The owner was a very nice and helpful guy who gave me all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are under the ground level, which was a bit uncomfortable for me. The heating stopped at 11PM and it got freezing cold in the room, even though i used all the blankets i had found.

    The owner was a very nice and helpful guy who gave me all necessary informations including parking etc. The room is just a short walk from the main city attractions, yet it is in a quiet location. The whole house felt a bit spooky to me, which was quite exciting :)

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    Lovely room, convenient location, nice host, availability of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room, convenient location, nice host, availability of a microwave and cutlery in the hall. WiFi worked fine. Loved having a code to open the doors instead of keys.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    It was a very clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very clean and comfortable room.The staff was very kind and helpful.The price was very good and the location very closed to everything. we needed just 6-7 minutes walking to reach the center!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    The bus stop right in front of the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bus stop right in front of the house. And another one round the corner, 50m. Almost 2/3rds of busses call these stops. There are Thai, Chinese and Turkish restaurants and a nice pub all within 100m. Richard pops out from anywhere and is always ready to help, so the place is super clean and tidy, although the furniture is a bit old style.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    We liked everything about the room we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about the room we stayed. It was clean, roomy, comfortable, in-suite bathroom, coffee and tea tray, flat screen TV, High speed WI-FI, etc. It is a great location with nearby buses, city tours, quiet at night and mostly a very friendly helpful host.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.9
    The guest house owner (Richard Hattersley-Smith) was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had booked the Double-Private Bathroom-Room 4 and as the name suggests was compact and I was aware of it being small while doing the booking. The furniture if reorganized a bit would be great so that luggage can be placed properly without being an obstacle.

    The guest house owner (Richard Hattersley-Smith) was very friendly. On arrival advised on how to tour the city. Free wifi in room and free fresh milk & tea/coffee with a fridge and microwave in the communal corridor was great. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    The ownet was very nice and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ownet was very nice and helpfull. Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Great location and Richard was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and Richard was very helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    The cuteness and cosyness of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV didn't work all that well

    The cuteness and cosyness of the room

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.5
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit cold in the morning.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The position is great. Richard, the owner, is very kind.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.1
    Location and friendleness of Owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Weather : - (((

    Location and friendleness of Owner ( Richard )

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.6
    Excellent Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent Location. Own Entrance for easy access. Friendly Owner. Real value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.2
    Location and price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room.

    Location and price.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.5
    Localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room window does not open. We stayed 2 nights and they did not clean the room.

    Localization. Facilities to prepare breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Very clean unit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed sheets were a little rough

    Very clean unit. Location was most convenient to the royal mile and transit to the airport and to restaurants

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Fool location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fool location. Nice host

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.5
    Richard is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Richard is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Quiet, yet close to the busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, yet close to the busy city.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent host. Close to the city. Very quiet room.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: