Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lasswade Country House & Restaurant 4 stars

Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells, LD5 4RW , United Kingdom

#11 of 15 hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    A very relaxing break with excellent food and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good,

    Everything was just great,lovely room fantastic view very comfortable bed. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Food excellent. I look forward to a return visit it was so relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful relaxing stay in a welcoming and excellent B and B at the foot of the Cambrian mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the view from the room of the beautiful surrounding hills and mountains. The owners' emphasis on organic products and food is impressive. We enjoyed the cooking of both Emma and Rodger at breakfast and of course it is probably the best place to eat dinner in the village. Their daughter was very helpful and welcoming too, so it is really a family business. The presence of their beautiful cat was also a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed celebrating our wedding aniversary at the Lasswade Country House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm and friendly welcome as soon as we arrived. The evening meal showed Roger's culinary expertise with the main course duck dish one 'to die for'! Breakfast was first class. Thank you Roger Emma and Rebecca for making our stay an enjoyable one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    An absolute gem, excellent hosts and we can't wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Emma and Roger were extremely friendly, made us feel very comfortable in their home and helped us make best use of our time in the area. Our room was pleasant with a lovely aspect, plenty of good quality tea and coffee etc and comfy bed. The standard of the food was unexpectedly high and absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly and comfortable with top class food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely Hosts made us feel very welcome. The food was amazing both the delicious evening meal and fabulous breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable with the most amazing view of the Welsh countryside. We discovered the next morning that we had been upgraded which came as a lovely surprise. Many thanks to Emma and Roger, you are amazing hosts and full of enthusiasm for what you do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved it and will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom chilly as had windows so an outside wall. Shower strength was not very good which was a bit of an issue as the bathroom was cold (was November and 4C outdoors though)

    Cooked breakfast excellent. Lovely rural views across open countryside to hills from our bedroom and the breakfast room. Very quiet. Owners very friendly and even loaned us personal clothing (waterproof legwear) so that we could hike with our friends on a wet, sleety, snowy day and the hike was briliant. Well beyond the call of duty and much appreciated. Short walk to both train station and village so ideal location if you are travelling without personal transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Lasswade to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First and foremost, Roger and Emma have created a very relaxing and welcoming environment, epitomised by the beautiful lounge, elegant dining room, exquisite food and first-class service. But they go well beyond that, adding value to your stay by asking about and adding suggestions to the trips you have planned. Their tips really helped us to get the most out of each trip. We stayed for 5 days and at least 3 of those were made considerably more enjoyable by adding their extensive local knowldege to the general idea we already had. We found Lasswade to be a wonderful base for exploring the wonders of mid and south Wales

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and to dine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    You arrive as guests and leave as friends! All the great reviews that have been left by others are all true. The food was exceptionally good. The brekfast scrambled eggs were deliciously creamy. The view from the bedroom was breathtaking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Impeccable hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners run everything themselves making it more homely, the welcome at the door was amazing and they were very hospitable throughout our stay even recommended lovely walks, restaurants and places to see even providing us a map of their favourite ones! Roger's cooking is not to be missed! Wonderful all round service!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Real ale ramble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over the shower bath could have done with a curtain or screen. having said that lots of hot water for a bath!

    Great location for the wonderful mid Wales scenery. We stayed to do the 'real ale ramble' a lively walking event with live music entertainment in the local pubs and beer festival. We were given a friendly welcome, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast nicely cooked.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The room was wonderful and the meals delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was wonderful and the meals delicious. Had drinks in the sitting room followed by a chef cooked meal. Breakfast in the conservatory.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Brilliant Value for money , a very pleasant experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful Views from room, owners very friendly and helpful . Great location - Off Road Parking and lovely food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A wonderful homely gem in the beautiful Welsh countryside. Amazing gourmet food from local ingredients and a really comfy room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Completely satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Completely satisfied

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable room and pleasant welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and pleasant welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    It was a good location, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovel venue with lovely staff and lovely food what more could you want. Had a great time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Loving Lasswades
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Wonderful welcome. Friendly owners and fabulous food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Neil and Anna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hospitality, fantastic food, thank you Emma and Roger, we will be back to see you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners were very attentive and the food was of an excellent standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    fresh milk for tea and coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no cotton covers on quilts and pillows

    fresh milk for tea and coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location with great views. Comfortable homely guest house with friendly hosts. Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Quiet location, comfortable hotel and friendly hosts,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    The excellent Welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The excellent Welcome The excellent food of Roger The excellent room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful owners. Good local knowledge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area possibly needed

    Excellent food and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic anniversary weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! Roger and Emma were fantastic. The food is excellent. Views wonderful. Would recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    The bed was extreamly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extreamly comfortable.very friendly hosts.very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    A little old fashioned but superbly clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing as it was all to a high standard.

    A little old fashioned but superbly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and both Emma and Roger were great hosts.the scenery is outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely friendly staff, Roger was a star and fountain of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only criticism I could possibly have is that we were woken up by the cleaning of the room next door before 8am on a Sunday, our one and only chance for a lovely lie in.

    Lovely friendly staff, Roger was a star and fountain of knowledge!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is very elegant and stylish, settled in the quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NA

    The hotel is very elegant and stylish, settled in the quiet beautiful countryside. Roger and Emma are extremely nice hosts! Roger is an excellence chef, and also expert in many other things:) Definitely a superb place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely spacious room with country views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely spacious room with country views. Modern clean ensuite. Charming guest lounge. Elegant dining room. Bright spacious breakfast room overlooking meadows. Wonderful breakfast cooked to order. We had dinner at night. Set price for 3 courses was at the higher end of the scale, but the meal was top quality and beautifully presented. Wonderful hosts who were great company after dinner.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Roger and Emma and Rebecca were a pleasure to stay with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I can not think of anything we didn't like

    Roger and Emma and Rebecca were a pleasure to stay with. The hotel had everything we needed. The food was some of the nI eat we have eaten, very good. Our couple of days were made even more brilliant by Rogers knowledge of areas to visit. We did the castle, a cave, an awesome waterfall walk, then on the second day we went and visited all the Dam, we walked and drove through beautiful countryside out to the Red Kite feeding place. Breathtaking. We would visit again and highly recommend Lasswsde as a home from home but with much better food :)

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    8.8
    Roger and Emma are welcoming and considerate hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bedroom/bathroom on cold side but bearable

    Roger and Emma are welcoming and considerate hosts The menu and quality of food is outstanding The lounge and wood burning stove

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Great food cooked from local fresh produce to a very high...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great food cooked from local fresh produce to a very high standard with friendly service and Roger was great to have a drink with

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    Extremely helpful as I had an issue with my vehicle so the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely helpful as I had an issue with my vehicle so the owner gave me a lift and waited with me until recovery arrived.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    6.7
    friendly owners--facility a little old fashioned which added...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the evening meal was a little pricey

    friendly owners--facility a little old fashioned which added to the character

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Personal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was all brilliant

    Personal service. Exceptional food. Very helpful with travel advice and local knowledge.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Great views and what we expected for the money and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great views and what we expected for the money and location.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    2.9
    Breakfast was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tiny.didnt like sharing room with so many cobwebs and spiders dead and alive. Was so disappointed.

    Breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    The location was great so was the food and the owners were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great so was the food and the owners were very hospitable.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and relaxing environment. The meals are amazing!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    The food and company of hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and company of hosts

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: