Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Laurel Cottage 4 stars

Park Road, Windermere, LA23 2BJ, United Kingdom

#39 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 259 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great base for any Lake District adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely friendly and helpful owners. Lovely breakfast made to order with different daily specials available such as smoked haddock which is a nice touch. Nice area at side of property to sit and relax anytime. Easy check in using a code provided in a text message to obtain the front door key anytime even if owners are not in. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    A perfect weekend retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quiet room was comfortable, clean and stocked well. Breakfast was amazing! A buffet with homemade treats followed by a perfectly cooked breakfast. Great hosts giving us information on local walks and restaurants. Just a stroll into the town or down to the lake. An amazing weekend being treated like royalty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodated our dietary needs perfectly and ahead of time, texted to make sure we had access when we checked in as well so there was no confusion. Very friendly couple and excellent location for a walk into town or to Bowness-on-Windermere. Amazing price for value!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect apart from one morning we asked for extra toast and got half a slice between us (1 quarter each).

    Lovely clean room friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    A very pleasant stay but the room was cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold even with an extra electric radiator. The weather was very poor at the time.

    The hosts were very friendly and helpful, especially suggesting a walk and supplying directions and a map. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Stay here if you're looking for nice, clean, friendly accommodation with a bang up breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only disappointment was the bed, which was quite small, but not too small to fit two people in.

    The breakfast was excellent (credit to Wayne) and both he and his wife were very friendly. They gave us a lot of advice about where to walk, even lending us a map to use. There is street parking nearby and the room itself was great - I'd 100% recommend staying here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    A peaceful, comfortable, warm and cosy B&B with all that's needed for a great stay in the Lake Distr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    A warm, friendly atmosphere with great hosts - Wayne and Allison (and Sherlock, their dog!). We couldn't have been looked after better. Excellent breakfast and only a short walk into town for lunch/evening meals (advisable to book in advance!). A quiet spot opposite a pleasant park and parking (we were lucky!) right opposite. Lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. Definitely a return visit on the cards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Located in excellent area just a short walk from shops pubs and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were extremely friendly. Excellent choice of breakfast and very tasty. The owners were very helpful in advising us of local walks and also supplying a map and directions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Lovely room, friendly hosts and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room very clean and comfortable, shower gel, shampoo, soap, hairdryer all provided but Wayne & Alison even provide tissues and make up removal pads. Breakfast selection excellent with daily specials provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    pleasurable good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisey people above us

    superb bed breakfast spot on bit early though as up early every day for work an didnt bother havin brecky on sun as didnt want to get up 8.15

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing, would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I disliked about the BnB was leaving to go home.

    Fantastic little BnB cracking breakfast and both Allison and wayne where brilliant. They showed us where to go for walks and the best places to see. The room had views of the mountains room4. Very quiet area and only a 10 minute walk into Windermere. Walking into bonas takes around 20-30 minutes depending on how fast you walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Laurel Cottage Windemere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issue bathroom extractor went on for a long while before turning off

    Welcoming,comfortable and ideal location for what we needed. Alison and Wayne were lovely people with a good knowledge of places to eat and drink in the surrounding area. Great base for our stay and would come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful with flexibility of what time we arrived, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful with flexibility of what time we arrived, great breakfast on both days (I especially loved the smoked fish on day 2), great knowledge of the local area! A lovely stay for my partner and I on our Lakes getaway, thank you Alison and Wayne :) would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We were greeted with a warm welcome and given lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were greeted with a warm welcome and given lots of information on the local area. There was lots of choice for breakfast including a different specials option. The room was clean & tidy and the bed was very comfy. We would definitely love to stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    10/10 would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Lovely hosts who were very helpful in providing information about the local area. Breakfast was delicious and the daily specials were always interesting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the parking ,which, at first, was a concern. It was found not to be a problem in the end and most of the b&b's around there had the same lack of hote parking and you have to park in the road nearby.

    Very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Gorgeous country getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very welcoming and the property was well presented. Very clean and comfortable. Great location - walking distance to the train station and Bowness on Windermere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and lovely surroundings. nice short walk to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like...honestly!

    Everything about Laurel Cottage was lovely,fantastic choice at breakfast, lovely comfortable bed and 1st class hosts!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing room for the price travel lodge and premier inn rooms far superior
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small to be classed as a double and no wash hand basin in the toilet very small on suite window cant open only at top . Would be better to take the large wardrobe out of the room maybe for more space

    Great Breakfast but very cramped room and no wash hand basin in the toilet ? there was one in the room .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    It ticked all the boxes we asked for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view wasn't brilliant and because there were houses/properties opposite it meant having to draw the blinds if undressing/dressing which then blocked out the light.

    The "special" breakfasts went down a treat! Very friendly owners, lovely comfy room and a very good choice of breakfast along with the specials. Would book this hotel again if we are ever back in the Lake District.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Laurel cottage is beautiful and nicely decorated. Our hosts, Wayne and Alison were hospitable and provided us with suggestions of nearby attracti Our room and bathroom were clean and cosy, our hosts Wayne and Alison were also hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and also served very quickly, despite being freshly cooked. Location is convenient; walking distance to Windermere rail station as well as Bowness-on-Windermere. We had a great stay, thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    lovely b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfy with a luxury duvet and pillows and the full english breakfast is amazing with perfectly cooked fried bread. Located in a nice quiet street overlooking a park but only a few minutes walk to the shops, cafes etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    very welcoming and cosy..lovely friendly owners to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have like a bath instead of a shower!!

    beautiful cottage, a real homely feel hen we arrived. we were made to feel so welcome. Excellent breakfast!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, cosy and plenty of room. Great hosts, really helpful and friendly. Fantastic breakfast, lots of choice and lovely homemade ingredients. Would recommend to anyone, and would definitely go back if I am back in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay at Laurel Cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage was parking but still parked on road near b&b.

    Wayne and Alison were very welcoming they met us at the door and shown us to bedroom which was excellent. Clean and very comfortable. They provided a fridge, iron and ironing board. Breakfast gorgeous on both mornings. Both come to saygood bye. Will definitely stay there again. We give 10 for everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite shower was very basic and couldn't turn it on on the 2nd morning . Most of all we disliked the wash basin being the other side of the bedroom . The bedroom was very small and no bedside table or lamp on one side . Also we were woken before dawn each morning by a cockerel who lived next door ,

    Friendly owner and comfortable bed and a nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    22 Victorian stair treads to our room on the top floor. Good excercise for two disabled persons. It could have been otherwise if we had asked for a ground floor bedroom in advance.

    Comfortable bed, excellent full English breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk to Bowness. Got a taxi back to cottage as couldn't walk back up the hill.

    Not a lot of shops in Windermere. Didn't use the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in Windermere! Would recommend Laurel cottage for your stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A everything was brilliant!😀

    Laurel Cottage was excellent I could not fault anything. Alison & Wayne were excellent host! Giving you ideals of were to go& visit. 😀

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing stay at Laurel Cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was only available 8am-9am while the buffet was available 8am-10am. Not so relaxing having to wake up so early on holiday if you want cooked breakfast, considering the room prices. Alison was rather cold when welcoming us on arrival and thereafter. Not sure if this was our subjective experience (seeing other reviews speaking positively). We suspect that it is unusual for a young couple to stay at their cottage? All together we expected a warmer welcome and were quite disheartened as we saw that other guests were treat differently.

    The four-poster kingsize was very comfortable to sleep in, bedding clean and warm. Additional couch in the room was also great to relax in. TV stand nifty as it could be turned facing bed or TV. Bathroom clean with everything supplied (local and ecofriendly shampoo, shower gel, hand soap, big clean towels etc.) Kettle and plenty of local coffee, tea, hot chocolate and even buiscuits available in the room. Enough space to store clothes. Breakfast had a good selection of cooked breakfasts and the standard English breakfast while also having the option of a continental breakfast. All cooked to order by the owners. Little breakfast buffet with cereal, fruits, cheese, cake and homemade jams and condiments available. Owners knowlegable of surrounding areas and able to give recommendations for hikes. Wayne provided us with maps and descriptions of hikes. The cottage was beautiful and well kept by the owners. Recommendable also that the BnB is ecofriendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom large bed comfortable every were very clean enjoyed the breakfast special had each day of stay good variety of other options at breakfast a lot of homemade recipes

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Excellent location, Wayne and Alison very welcoming and Breakfast superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was very good for both the Lake and the town center. Both Wayne and Alison were very welcoming and had great knowledge of places of interest to visit and places to walk. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of selection and dietry needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    5* all day long
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    The overall service was impeccable. They were both very helpful offering an array of equipment combined with a wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area lead to the best trip of the Lake District i have had to date. Could not recommend more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that i couldnt add my son onto our booking as they dont allow under 5s.

    Excellent location, yummy breakfast, lovely owners. Fantastic experience. Deffo recommend to others. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Homely feel b n b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to fault anything our towels weren't a big size :-/

    Staff very helpful and friendly, couldn't fault them , breakfast very good range on offer

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Great stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Home made jam, cakes, biscuits & granola! There was a "special" option for breakfast each day. The owners were friendly & welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    A Gem of a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, warm, friendly and inviting. Breakfast options were superb and we loved the breakfast specials board - just another personal touch that went with the homemade and local produce. The room was clean and comfortable with all amenities in great working order. This was definitely a gem of a find and we will be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Breakfast daily specials were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast daily specials were excellent! Wayne and Alison were very accommodating and knowledgable. They recommended excellent restaurants and bars for us!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Superb Relaxing Weekend At Laurel Cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing. No niggles at all.

    Everything from our welcome, to our departure was spot on. The room was clean, the bed extra comfortable. Wayne and Alison went out of their way to look after you. Breakfast was superb. Freshly cooked to order and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    FABULOUS 3-NIGHT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything. Such a good find. Glad we booked it. Easy on road parking no problems parking outside the property even at New Year. Wayne & Alison very friendly and helpful. Very clean, crisp white bedding (lovely) and great breakfasts. Less than 5 minute walk into Windermere town. We will be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    A lovely, friendly place in a great location to Windermere town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very friendly little gem of a guest house within walking distance of Windermere and only 15 mins to Bowness. A lovely breakfast in the morning and so much to choose from. The owners are so friendly and very helpful giving advice about the area. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, comfortable and it had all we needed. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of things to choose. We are vegetarian people and they give us a lovely vegetarian homemade sausage. The owners, Alison and Wayne, are very kind. We had some lovely chats with them and they gave us very good advice to visit the area. So we highly recommend Laurel Cottage.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome to good accommodation in a good position in Windermere. Not far from the shops and around the corner from a good pub serving good food. Breakfast was one of the best we have had on a trip. Definitely recommend .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic facilities,hosts exceptional, beautiful area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic facilities,hosts exceptional, beautiful area, within main access area of the lakes, cleanliness excellent,very relaxed atmosphere. Hope to visit again soon. 10/10.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Faultless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alison and Wayne could not have done enough for us, the room we stayed in was huge (number 3) and the King size 4 poster bed was amazing. Would recommend to everybody.. Windermere town 2 minute walk, Bowness is 1 mile away and Kendal is only a 20 minute drive.. Will be back here very soon as could not fault our stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    The best getaway ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was having to leave!

    We loved everything. Beautiful location, welcoming, cosy and clean. Breakfast was fabulous, especially the specials. Would recommend highly to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Perfect place for a weekend break to the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super comfy bed, great breakfast selection, plenty of helpful information about the local area. 2 minute walk into town. Good sized room (4 poster bed room). Lovely powerful shower

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Idyllic autumn break in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault it at all.

    Wayne and Alison are the lovely owners who are so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had a little chat each morning at breakfast about places to visit and eat which was really helpful. Laurel Cottage is absolutely beautiful and in an excellent location too. The four poster bed is extremely comfortable with high quality bedding. I slept like a log. The room was decorated very tastefully too. We enjoyed a cooked breakfast mine being the veggie option which included a home made veggie sausage/pattie. I opted for scrambled eggs on toast the second morning and they were cooked to perfection. The hubby enjoyed a full english with toast each morning which he thoroughly enjoyed. Home made granola, yoghurt, fruit cake, jams and fruit compote was available each morning and I must admit I had a bit of everything. Great start to the day and absolutely delicious!! We were very lucky with the weather during our stay with beautiful sunshine and falling autumn leaves. Will definitely be returning, loved every minute. Thank you Wayne and Alison.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Booked for my father and his partner, both came back raving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked for my father and his partner, both came back raving about the place! Loved it all, lovely couple who run it and lovely bedroom, nice and close to the main street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Comfortable lakes stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath. But that's asking too much. I paid for a room with a shower.

    Very friendly people running the b and b. Breakfast was lovely. They went out of their way to help out and get to know you. Nice large room too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast choice and totally delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast choice and totally delicious. Four poster bed, amazingly comfy. Excellent helpful hosts to us newbies of the lakes. Definitely be back, highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Good hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite could do with an upgrade but all in all a comfortable b&b with lovely hosts.

    It's quiet location within 5 minutes walk of Windermere and 15-20 mins of Bowness. The bedroom, thou compact, had ample facilities and was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place to stay. Great location. BB was spotlessly clean. Large bedroom with seating area. Delicious breakfast and Wayne and Alison made us very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    The special breakfasts were a lovely touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The special breakfasts were a lovely touch. The breakfasts were fantastic, home made jam and granola, it was lovely. Great location for visiting the lakes and within an easy walk of the station. Lovely four poster bed and a cosy sofa with a convenient TV.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Lovely stay at Laurel Cottage.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Wayne and Alison were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was first rate. The hotel is fantastic and in a really quiet area (being a smoker I would go and stand in the garden on a night and it was so peaceful). Lovely location also which isn't too far from Lake Windemere or the village. The four poster bed was so comfy to sleep on.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    A home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many breakfast options with lovely daily specials. Owners have fantastic knowledge of the lakes and will give you suggestions and loan maps that take you away from the tourist traps.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    An excellent B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a larger shower room but it was still adequate. Did not like the liquid soap supplied.

    We liked the breakfast specials, excellent cooked breakfasts and variety on offer, the convenient location and helpfulness of the owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no fault with laurel cottage whatsoever

    The hosts were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was excellent and if you had everything you would not need to eat for the rest of the day. The bed was more comfortable than my own 10 out of 10 all round

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable, convenient, affordable guest home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The timing of breakfast (08:00-09:00) was quite early and the room was a little compact, but neither of these facts caused any major problems. Would definitely stay again!

    Fantastic location and wonderful value for money. Alison and Wayne very chatty and friendly, and great cooks too! Recommendations for local eateries much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is quite late in the day. Throw on bed could do with updating.

    The hosts were very tentative, supplied excellent breakfast choice and supported us with local information. Really friendly lovely people.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked breakfast time to have run a little later to allow for a lye in bed in the morning. That's me being picky and a bit lazy but hey we were there for a break.

    The premises were situated in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and made you feel at ease. The breakfast was excellent and the house was lovely, clean and homely. We would definitely recommend this to others and go again ourselves.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom a little cramped and in need of updating also the en suite shower very small and controls stiff.

    Very good location, friendly owners and great breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to explore the lakes from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Friendly hosts, exceptional room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Clean, nicely furnished, good location, owners friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, nicely furnished, good location, owners friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    It was nice to come back to a clean, comfortable room after a long day of walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, friendly proprietors, tasty breakfast. Within walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transport and Orrest Head trek.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.5
    Very nice b&b we would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i did not like

    Lovely comfy bed & great hosts freindly informative about days out were to go ect& lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Delightful short stay accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful short stay accommodation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed will go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The accommodation was excellent and we had three lovely nights around Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent, breakfast great and owners were very friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could not fault anything!

    Excellent & excellent hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly & helpful. Great location, setting, & homey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional cottage with great staff! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent specialty breakfast on both days of our stay. Amazing hosts!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine!!

    Excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Four-Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Great place

    Very comfortable and hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: