Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Le Friquet Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rue Du Friquet, Castel, GY5 7ST, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Castel

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Lovely, friendly hotel that met all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Beautifully cared for hotel that provided a warm welcome as soon as you entered the grounds. Excellent restaurant that served a substantial cooked breakfast and then fine dining for the evening meal. Fish and lobster were a speciality. Staff were very friendly and helpful from the receptionists through to the waiters and the lovely ladies cleaning the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    My second stay at Le Friquet and didn't disappoint. I.would happily book to stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access to light room service food beyond 9.30pm.would be helpful.

    Extremely polite and helpful staff. Very pleasant and quiet location and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    A very welcoming hotel with lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was obviously above a ‘smokers area’ which I didn’t really appreciate the fumes making their way into my room.

    A very welcoming hotel with lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel who paid great attention to customer service and detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Would have thought hotel should have been a 4/5 star rather than a 3 Excellent all round. Restaurant food and presentation and staff particularly excellent and would highly recommend Thoroughly enjoyable visit to Guernsey. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great staff, great central location making for short journeys to any part of Guernsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Add-on costs for daily newspapers were somewhat excessive !

    Very friendly staff - aways happy to chat - nothing was too much trouble. In particular, the barman Sheev, was very personable and bright (despite some irregular management issue) - and most happy to talk about F1 in particular and cars in general. Sofia, the receptionist, was most helpful, also waitress, Maria.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxed and friendly with ample green space and trees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very relaxed and friendly with ample green space and trees. Lovely bar and restaurant. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Great stay !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not having bottled water in the room

    Great hotel in lovely surroundings. The food was a delight and the service superb. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with a country house feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel with a country house feel...beautiful gardens which are obviously well looked after! Not far from town but also good bus service if not keen on walking! Will definitely book again as travel to Guernsey regularly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Tranquil
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at times was rather slow & on several occasions I had to ask more than once for certain items; butter, sugar, milk which should all have been on the table to begin with at breakfast.

    A very comfortable & cosy Hotel with excellent standard of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.6
    Very good would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed not a pleasant walk as surrounded by busy roads.Food excellent except the cold sauté potatoes at breakfast.Very

    Very pretty garden lovely to sit also nice bright spacious lounge.Enjoyed the warm swimming pool main reason l booked hotel.Dis

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in a comfortable, friendly hotel, in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Beautiful grounds, very friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast team were hardworking, and gave great service. Breakfast was excellent quantity and plentiful. Bedrooms comfortable, with individual hearing/air con units that worked very well. Great value for money, had a terrific stay! Plentiful free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Staff extremely friendly and welcoming and a high quality restaurant. An enjoyable good value stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedroom and bathroom in the eaves with a less than outstanding view downwards; mind your head - but very clean and comfortable.

    Good choice at breakfast: especially the fruit salad. Found the restaurant had enough choice and quality to last me the whole week without wanting to go elsewhere. Although the hotel is central to the island, the choice of 4 bus routes made it easy to travel to St Peter's Port and the north coast for £1 in either direction.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A very minor gripe - the signs indicating the car park entrance were difficult to spot until you had almost passed them.

    Excellent food, comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Short spring break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few miles from St Peter Port in a quiet area. Eeasy to reach by bus , parking available and a nice terrace overlooking the garden ideal for a opre dinner drink. Nice pool area with loungers. Enjoyed my dinners in the hotel, good quality at very reasonable prices. The restaurant and reception staff were always courteous, friendly and ready to help. Would definitely stay again! !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent I'd definitely book here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was right by the stairs and you could hear everyone walking past the room and talking during the night.

    Beautiful hotel with easy transport links and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    My brother johnni his lovely wife Gail & Laura said the hotel was lovely & breakfast was great too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly the receptionists was quite rude ....when I asked her kindly to put some glasses in the room & we would bring a bottle of champagne to the hotel & ice bucket in the room as we wanted to make my brother & his family welcome....I hadn't seen my brother for 10 years........ I also booked this hotel as we live near by & have been to this hotel lots of times .... so for that reason I was very disappointed in her mannerism very unpleasant on the phone she said to me that I had already spoken to her about it .... but the reason I phoned back was because I forgot to say we needed 3 glasses making me feel very awkward......but my brother said he had a lovely time at the hotel hence the score but I'm not sure if I would book again because of this reason sadly very unpleasant feeling

    Yes it was lovely my brother said that they enjoyed they stay very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    The gardener was making a lot of noise in the garden in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gardener was making a lot of noise in the garden in the afternoon and the evening when I was trying to relax by the pool which totally marred an otherwise good stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Everyone in our family said that it was a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The steps in the room between the bed area and the bathroom are a hazard at night. The stairs to the first floor are also difficult to manage for the elderly. It would have been useful to have a lift.

    The beds were very comfortable indeed. The location was perfect as all parts of the island are within a short driving distance. The staff are absolutely wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was wonderful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.1
    Fairly ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My mother with health issues was not allowed to stay longer than check in time

    Fridge wasn't present in room. My mother with health issues could have done with fridge and ground floor room as a gesture of courtesy but they didn't.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful view and nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathroom with tiny shower, could hardly squeeze in. Uncomfortable to wash hair in such a small space. For a bigger person would be impossible.

    Overall very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, could not find anywhere better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    The stand out was the quality of the staff who make you feel special, like you are the only person in the hotel. The physical attributes of Le Friquet, especially the food, are excellent but the staff take your stay to an even higher level. Would not stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    I loved this hotel and will definitely stay again. I highly recommend this for singles and couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The only down side was the location. Its a bit out from town. Although there are busses and this is no bad reflection on the hotel.

    Very comfy beds and pillows. Staff extra friendly. Nice quiet hotel. Clean hotel, great food. It was too early in the season to comment on the swimming pool unfortunately. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to all I know.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely meal and very convenient for us as just around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were dated, bathroom had been patched up. Room 19 was noisy due to stairs and music from the restaurant underneath. Sadly we got a twin rather than a double which we booked but the hotel offered a small discount for the misunderstanding.

    Lovely meal and very convenient for us as just around the corner from home but needed to have a night away from the kids!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay as it was close to people I was visiting , good car parking, and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in room 25 right In the roof. It was very windy whilst there and it sounded like all night the wind was whistling through the rafters

    The service and staff were xcellent. Good choice of breakfast too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly relaxing environment excellent carvery and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly both the lobster and king prawns were not fresh

    Friendly relaxing environment excellent carvery and professional staff. Perfect for a family gathering

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall the hotel was great in all departments the only small snag was the exit on to the road but luckily the residents were very polite drivers and gave way to us quite regularly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    Staff friendly & helpful, room great & food excellent. 2nd stay & will definately return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The room was huge, comfortable with garden view and small conservatory. The staff in the hotel and the restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly. The food, both breakfast and in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.5
    I have travelled to Guernsey over 200 times and this was my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have travelled to Guernsey over 200 times and this was my first stay at this hotel. The staff were very polite, professional and efficient. All contact by them to me was genuinely interested in my well being and of any other need I may have wanted, eg “would you like a reservation for the restaurant tonight Sir, it is Saturday and we generally get booked up in the evening”. I actually declined at first, however my plans changed later. I enquired to see if there was a possibility of eating dinner there that evening and a table was available after 30-40 minutes of which I was informed of. Food was excellent, I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in either staying or just looking for a different venue to eat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    Good location, friendly staff and fantastic breakfast. Have stayed many times as its my favorite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant food is a little expensive but you get what you pay for.

    Nice sized hotel, staff very polite, very clean room and excellent breakfast. My favorite hotel in Guernsey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    6.7
    A convenient, comfortable place for me to stay, but I dread trying to order a simple vegetarian dish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Choice of simple Vegetarian food limited Hard work trying to order a simple pasta with tomato sauce Charged extra for one extra bit of egg for breakfast

    Comfy bed Nice Bath/Bathroom Clean Nicely decorated for Christmas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Explain the breakfast is to order as I assumed the cereal and toast was all that was available

    Just what I needed after a long day. Easy to find, park and the staff were great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom needs up dating. I had already confirmed I was Vegetarian. But my breakfast came with bacon which meant it was totally wasted!

    Comfy bed. Dinner pre arranged for a late evening arrival. Dinner was simple but nice. Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in a lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was great

    The food was amazing, both breakfast and dinner were fantastic! As we were there in October we were also lucky enough to have the option of the Tennerfest menu. All the staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them! Sheev in the bar was particularly nice to us and even made me some lovely mocktails as I’m pregnant and not drinking at the moment! I stayed here a few years ago and they have renovated the rooms and restaurant since then and it’s a huge improvement on the previous decor. We stayed in a standard room which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again when we go back to Guernsey, lovely hotel, great staff, great food, comfortable rooms and good value for money! You can’t ask for more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent rest and top draw food..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pulling out into the road having to use a wall mirror.

    Day and evening Food was excellent..staff treated you perfectly could not wish for better service. Wonderful corner bath!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    A superb holiday to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to leave.

    Rooms were really comfortable and the food fantastic. The staff were so friendly but professional and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. While we were there Tennerfest started and the hotel took part. This is when several hotels and restaurants have a cheaper menu so visitors and the locals can try different eateries for lower prices. There is no lowering of care, attention in preparation or quality. Top marks to Le Friquet who produced varied gastronomic delights for their diners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Quality and class - a perfect break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    Room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Food was excellent and staff were helpful, polite and efficient. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    7.9
    The bed was comfortable, nice to have a Jacuzzi
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar staff kept getting orders incorrect and making comments encouraging us to drink which I felt unnecessary. They were not very accommodating with food requests, i.e making omelettes. Can be very dangerous exiting the car park

    The bed was comfortable, nice to have a Jacuzzi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Excellent service in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the boiler packed up on the last morning of our stay which meant cold showers! Just one of those things and no-ones fault.

    Friendly helpful staff, excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    6.7
    Know Guernsey very well as used to live. So only spent time in hotel to sleep so reasonable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to wait 35 minutes for waiting staff to take breakfast order. No system in place in dining room with those coming later being served first. Waiting times seemed to get worse as stay progressed so didn't bother with breakfast on last day. Also shower over the bath fixed just under a sloping roof (room on top floor) so that anyone over 5 foot tall unable to use shower (like my husband). Myself at 5' 4"" had to bend my neck to use it. Shower curtain also went across room not directly around bath so floor always wet. Therefore was useful that the bath was nice.

    Reception staff lovely. Hotel services staff lovely. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.2
    Good location to explore the island, outside of the hustle and bustle of St. peter's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    covered storage for cycles, resturant a bit pricey for everyday eating.

    Excellent Resturant for top cuisine and breakfast. Helpful staff, outdoor pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable, quiet, and thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would recommend it.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet seat in my bathroom was mismatched in shape to the toilet; a little more attention to detail would have resolved this. A minor problem, though.

    One evening there was a minor error with a room service order (hey, it happens) but they went out of their way to correct it - and all service was with a smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere, with high standards and staff who were friendly and professional as an overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only point that detracted was that we had booked a table for 8pm, a few days before, for the bank-holiday monday (knowing it would probably be difficult to get table booking in general on the island). We arrived a few mins before and let the maitre d know we were there - he was a little strange in his reaction and said "yes I know". 30 mins later he had not returned to let us know what was happening so I spoke to him again - again "yes" with no action and then when we finally were seated, no apology, simply "everyone arrived at the same time". For the standard of the hotel I expected a booked table to be available within a short time and if someone arrived who had not booked they should have been asked to wait. It was a pity, for otherwise the stay was excellent.

    The overall stay was excellent, Cleanliness was high level, staff very pleasant, wide choice of menu both at breakfast/dinner and very tasty. Garden areas were well looked after and peaceful to relax in, as was the pool area. The offer of beach-towels was an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    Great friendly hotel which enhanced our family holiday to Guernsey, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was supposed to be heated but was cold. I also would have liked it to have opened earlier eg 7am. Rooms a little warm, but air con was great and quiet, so no problem. Located a bit out of town and buses took a bit of getting used to. Lack of lift could have been specified, however staff arranged for luggage to be brought to rooms so again, no problem. Any problems we had were quickly solved by helpful staff, thank you.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing with lots of choice. Very clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the stay in the Friquet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room on the first 2 days were above the kitchen and therefore rather noisy. The very helpful reception then managed the change into a calm room on the backside .

    Very nice hotel with marvelous breakfast. We also booked half board and menues were excellent and very good value for money. We also enjoued the nice garden with swimming pool and very good weather.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    We have used this Hotel on several previous visits and are happy to continue to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The car park exit can be a little difficult at times, but in my opinion, no different from many of the other Hotels on the island.

    The Apartment was spacious and well equipped. The restaurant was clean and provided excellent tasty breakfasts with a wide choice of options. The Bar area was relaxing for both pre-dinner and evening drinks. Reception was staffed by very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    6.7
    We had a good 4 day stay and the hotel suited us. Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool did not look clean and inviting and was, therefore, rather a disappointment. Had been looking forward to using it but did not do so. Car exit to main road on a bend and a bit of a nightmare

    Superior rooms very nice. Standard single very small and rather old fashioned except for bathroom which had been upgraded. Food ranged from good to average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    8.8
    Very good and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived there was a problem with not getting the room we paid for but this was sorted out quickly and we were happy with the result.

    The food was excellent and the room very comfortable and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    5.4
    Underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room tired, paper peeling, wood veneer peeling. One mattress sloped. Toiled flush difficult to stop at times. Carpet needs attention. Room needs refurbishment. Pool closed during stay. Food quality variable. Worst crab ever but best lobster curry.

    Nice gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, a hidden gem 👍🏽
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really apart from the tart.

    The staff were ALL helpful and welcoming. The food from Lobster&Grill was extremely good and value for money! Lobster so fresh and cheaper than Manchester. However the lemon tart pastry was super soft,if it was crunchy and fresh it would have been a very good tart! Overall an excellent stay and we will be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.2
    good place to stay to see countryside of gurnsey after spending a few days on the sea side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    outside pool didnt look inviting-cloudy water. no good walks outside of hotel, narrow footpaths and road very very busy, BUT fantastic garden centre only 3 mins walk-everthing,-- cloths,plants nic nacks, food, one of the best garden centres i have visisted!

    we were given an appartment, wonderful garden views from many windows, plenty of fesh air, bed very confortable, food excellent, gardens beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    We had a great time away and the hotel was perfect for our needs.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Our apartment was really clean, well appointed and spacious. It was a fantastic base for our weeks escape. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was of excellent standard. The location was great and we used the buses to get around the island - regular and great value especially if you get a weeks card from the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.1
    Friendly, knowledgable staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of vegetarian hot breakfast options. They did not accommodate when we asked. Beds were too soft. Swimming pool mildly heated.

    Friendly, knowledgable staff at reception. Breakfast served efficiently. Pleasant and clean rooms. Attractive pool and garden area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.2
    Best hotel on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable room, peaceful location in a beautiful garden, restaurant was one of the best on the island and the staff were definitely the best on the island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.2
    A very stress free and relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    On arrival we were given room 26. Lovely room however noise from road really terrible . Very surprised at noise level. We did ask to be moved and were immediately moved to room at front . Also upon arrival pool was green and very uninviting. Receptionist assured me it was safe as was tested everyday. There had been a lots of rain. The pool did after a couple of days clear.

    A very calm hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice grounds and swimming pool. Very clean. Good location near fab bus net work. Cobo Beach Vazon Beach and fabulous coastline perfect for walking and sea swimming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault

    Lovely hotel, clean and staff very attentive. Rooms were lovely and good size. Loved the gardens! Food in the lobster & Grill was delicious! Excellent all round - will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.5
    Overall we were content with our choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small, view from room was not pleasant. Would have liked pure cotton sheets and duvet covers and for the room price I think it would be reasonable to expect that.

    Very clean especially bathroom (which I can be very fussy about). Swimming pool and gardens were lovely. Staff helpful and responded to any request or concerns. Breakfast was of good standard. Beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay at Le Friquet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cause for complaint in any area .

    Have stayed at Le Friquet several times , it is always an enjoyable stay . A very nice hotel with friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    The food in the restaurant was excellent , plus the service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only criticism that I found was I had requested a quiet room when booking, our room was much nearer the road than I would have liked with the resulting vehicle noise. I did mention this request this in my email to the hotel prior to our trip, but didn't receive a reply. I discussed this with the desk on our arrival but was told the hotel was fully booked & that possibly no other rooms were available. This wasn't a major problem until you opened the window to let the air in, to solve the problem it meant having the aircon on while in the room. Finally, I was of the opinion that if I booked 7 nights accommodation I would only pay for 6 nights, the bill indicated otherwise. However as our stay was designed to be stress free, ( I was recovering from surgery) I chose to let this go, plus everything else about the hotel and service were excellent.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent , plus the service was extremely good with no complaints at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Little bit disappointed with room but for the price OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room (second floor) and bathroom cramped and hot in summer without aircon on. Could do with updating. Traffic noise.

    Good breakfasts, excellent resturant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Lovely place great location in a super Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a problem for us but the room we had on the second floor was accessed only by stairs so anyone with issues of mobility would need to make sure of the location of the room when booking.

    The staff were particlarly friendly and very good at explaining things about the travel options locally or the food on the menu. breakfasts were very delicious and served to the table. I really enjoyed the kippers! Fantastic place to eat seafood. The hotel is situated inland in Guernsey but still handy for getting to the coast or St Peter port by car or Bus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    5.4
    Not the hotel for us..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some very surly staff, especially the barman. Pool was not well looked after. Very noisy room - busy road, rattling air cons from the bar/kitchen, our air con would randomly hum in the middle of the night when switched off etc. Bed was incredibly hard - not good for a pregnant wife. Restaurant food was not great, especially for the price. Service at breakfast was very poor, we often had to ask multiple times for teas, coffees etc.

    Some of the staff were excellent. Shower was good pressure. Good coffee. Breakfast selection was decent, and the cooked breakfast options were quite good (if you could get hold of the staff to order). Reasonable choice of drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Frequency of buses a bit long. Hotel wise I found no fault.

    Staff were superb. Menu was varied and food was spot on. Swimming pool was uncrowded and clean . The gardens were fantastic. The photo on booking.com doesn't do it justice. Buses were cheap. A taxi anywhere on the Island was £7-£10. The blue diamond garden centre across the road was worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    One of the best !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing.

    Very clean rooms with lovely comfy beds. Public areas and gardens are really clean, tidy and comfortable. Warm friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food, the dinner menu is superb, and the fresh cooked to order breakfast is probably the best we have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and very helpful friendly staff!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been useful so that I wouldn't to have had to carry my heavy case up the stairs.

    Our twin room was quite warm but the air conditioning unit worked beautifully and kept us cool. I particularly enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool, it was so peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Breakfast was lovely with very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the fact I had to leave. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Breakfast was lovely with very friendly helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    heaven sent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was excellent .staff fabulous. Pool area the best ever. after a failing from a previous hotel we moved to let friquet .I thought Ido died and gone to heaven

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    7.1
    Great for a short break ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in restaurant- first couple of days very attentive, but middle of week staff were slow and especially at breakfast were doubling up on jobs, however the final two mornings there were only a couple on and service was excellent.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Swimming pool area well looked after. Gardens well tended. Restaurant food well presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food choices were good and wine list and bar were great

    The food, staff are all very good indeed. I have stayed there several times now and it has always been excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    Our stay. Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue I had was the first room we were allocated was up two flights of stairs. But as I have said this was changed even without us making a request.

    The staff were all lovely and helpful. The lady on reception noticed I had difficulty with the stairs and she changed our room to a lower floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and grounds; comfy room and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super hotel. I only had b&b but stay was fantastic. Comfy, nicely styled bedroom; helpful staff; lovely setting in pleasant grounds; and freshly cooked breakfasts with v good coffee. I know the island v well having lived here before but hadn't visited Le Friquet Hotel. Will definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great staff and hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were too soft, not that it's a bad thing just not what we're used to

    How helpful the staff were, the breakfast waitress went out of her way to get us some cooked food early before our taxi arrived

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    7.1
    You could not mix the hot and the cold water in the lavatory.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could not mix the hot and the cold water in the lavatory. There were two separate faucets. The shower tub had a water mixer though. Cleanliness was great. Staff were quite friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    I had a thoughly enjoyable stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very pleased and satisfied with my stay at the hotel food was great,

    could not fault the hotel, staff, so helpful, nothing was to much trouble, if I ever return to Guernsey again will certainly try to get a booking at the Le Friquet hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    8.3
    Despite the breakfast tea saga I would have no hesitation in reccomending the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast tea was served in a small pot and luke warm with only just enough for two people to have one cup each. . We asked for a second pot which wasso weak it hardly coloured the water.

    All of the staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, comfortable and filling.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shelf over wash basin - too near, easily banged head on it. Nowhere to put wash bag, glasses etc. in bathroom. Nowhere to dry towels after shower as radiator not on. Rather noisy between 6-30 and 7-30am.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast. Pleasant staff. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: