Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampshire Hotel Saint Helier Jersey 3 stars

53 Val Plaisant, Saint Helier Jersey, JE2 4TB, United Kingdom

#11 of 42 hotels in Saint Helier Jersey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 572 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We had a very relaxing, happy stay, made by the all the staff who made us feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The decking near the pool was a little uneven and the room could have benefited with a small fridge.

    A very comfortable well run hotel, with very pleasent, helpful staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    #livingthelife.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole visit we had very hot weather and the room got very very hot had windows open 24/7.

    The front desk staff were awesome. The owner spoke to us every day. Short walk to waterfront and town. Lots of convenience stores close by. Enjoyed the pool everyday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and staff. First time visit to jersey but will be back. Everyone is so pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the noise from the road outside. We were in a room on the third floor at the front of the property. Would recommend asking for a room at the back but that is only a small concern in an otherwise excellent hotel.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Room and all hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and attentive. Dinner at the hotel was lovely and very good value compared to restaurant prices in st. Helier. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was near kitchen so was a bit smelly at mealtimes but alright after that. The one blonde waitress who made everything look like a real effort. Never smiled.

    Our room was right at the front of the hotel. Was compact but had everything you need. The bed was very comfortable. 15 to 20 minute slow walk to harbour. All but 1 of the staff including the maintenance man were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was to much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom could do with painting, the walls were dirty and no shelving in the shower to put shampoo and shower gel on.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was to much for them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    high ceilings and dormer windows had some cobwebs in . but they were very high . the only thing I could comment on the rest was excellent we are coming again soon .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, only ten minutes walk from the harbour side...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was one that runs off of the taps on the bath. Power shower would have been better. This was my only criticism.

    Good location, only ten minutes walk from the harbour side and shopping centre. Clean room. Great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in quiet part if town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better window covering as the blinds do not keep any light out. Also in the morning would be great if the owners/ kutchen staff didnt have really loud chat outside the breakfast room door before 7am!

    Premier rooms are great. Great breakfast and you really should try their steaks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Well located, not in the centre so after about 1900hrs any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While the breakfast buffet has a large selection after a week it would have been nice to have some fish without having to pay £8 extra for a very small piece of salmon.

    Well located, not in the centre so after about 1900hrs any traffic noise from outside dies down but less than a 10 min walk away. Great staff & very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Don't let the slight walk from the centre of town put you off. It's a really great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mixer shower didn't keep a steady temperature.

    Large very quiet bedroom at the back, and large bathroom which was accessed from the entry vestibule in the room rather than from the bedroom, which is much better than the usual arrangement. Huge extremely comfortable bed. Very good breakfasts, and the 2 evening meals we had were great too. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall a very well run clean comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing & comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was over the bath (would have preferred a shower cubicle, but that’s personal choice) & it was difficult to control the heat, but there was always plenty of hot water.

    Room was large with two easy chairs (so often there is only one ina double room). Food, breakfast & evening meals were excellent. A bit of a wait for food in the evenings, but it was all cooked fresh to order. Always nicely presented and very tasty. Set menu changed daily. Also a bar menu. Breakfast was a buffet, plenty of choice, croissants were lovely, often warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Affordable Budget Hotel,Friendly Staff,Great Food,Rooms need Improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above main entrance opposite main road which was noisy even with the window shut,poor soundproofing. Housekeeping storeroom right outside bedroom door & my sleep was disturbed daily with noise & foot traffic from main stair well being very close to my room. It was very noisy with people coming & going.!! Basin was in room seperate from the small bathroom Bed matress very springy & uncomfortable

    Breakfast was excellent & waiting staff were very attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.0
    Lovely stay in a very welcoming, friendly hotel would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might have been nice to have some quiet background music in the evening. Couldn't get refreshments during the day. Hotel was about 20minutes walk to the front which was fine for us but not so good for anyone who can't walk far. Plenty of taxis though.

    The staff were all really friendly, went out of their way to put a smile on your face. Nothing too much trouble. Food excellent good selection at breakfast, evening meals also excellent good chef. Very comfortable lounge and bar. Nice area to sit around the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    This hotel excellent value for money. We would definitely book a stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was a bit difficult to regulate.

    Our room was spacious and was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and quick to respond to our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. My first time in Jersey and my stay at the Hampshire made it all the more enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is a 'bit out of town' with an infrequent bus service - stops very close but only two-hourly. However the walk to the bus station is about 15 mins. and seems perfectly safe even in the late hours. The bar stools seem nicely designed for the 'narrow hipped'

    The staff were great. Front desk always helpful. Room spotless and replenished daily. Comfortable. Good breakfast with some items fresh to order. Plenty of variety for a six day stay. Excellent Bar Meals and a la carte (changes daily). The chef clearly knows his business. Nice bar Great bar and restaurant staff. Friendly but not intrusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Potentially this hotel has more to give.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower over the bath. Rather have a walk-in shower than a bath. Some of the reception staff could be a bit more cheerful and pleasant.

    While the menu for the restaurant appeared to be unchanging the choice and standard of the food was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Had an excellent stay at the Hampshire and would certainly return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    View from the bedroom was a roof and neighbouring shop car park so not the best. Also soundproofing could be better as guest in room above liked to rise around 6.30am and march around in what sounded like tackety boots..!

    On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a superior room which was a nice touch. The room itself was extremely spacious, freshly decorated and very comfortable. We booked bed and breakfast but had one dinner in the hotel which was first class. The breakfast could not be faulted either. Would highly recommend this establishment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    It is quite unusual to get a triple room with three equally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish the pool was open - sadly was closed until May

    It is quite unusual to get a triple room with three equally sized single beds (usually one of the beds is smaller and less comfortable). This made it a very pleasant stay for the 3 of us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    It was a pleasent stay and I would recommend it
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV did not work in the room. Breakfast buffet wasn't refilled very quickly so just had to have what was left and wasn't offered any toast

    Friendly staff, nice bar area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Hampshire Hotel - excellent all round hotel in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with a lot of hotels this one had the information sign asking you to hang your towel up if it's ok for another use - so why do you take it away and put clean ones in regardless? The shower head was past it's best and the water came out in one place making for some neat moves to get the soap off. Finally Pillows, these guys should sleep on a bed with the pillows they provide to understand that they are not ideal - either way to big and puffy or as thin as a pillow case...... These are only minor gripes and will not stop me from returning.

    The staff here were great, very friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable and very clean. Location was good for my purpose and the private car park made life so much easier. bar staff were great and attentive and both evening meal and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay - will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one real negative was the shower - mixer tap, poor pressure - we only stayed one night so not a problem but would not be happy if staying longer. Hopefully easy fix for the hotel then I would have nothing negative to say!

    Great reception and breakfast staff. Very clean warm room with quality bedding and comfortable beds. Stayed in room 35 which had a spacious family room and a bonus side single room with a view of Springfield Stadium which was a nice surprise! Tea and coffee in room and basic toiletries were appreciated. No hairdryer in room but can get from reception. Free WiFi which worked well from our room. Reasonably convenient for central St Helier - only 10-15 min walk and no hills. Will definitely consider staying again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had an Excellent breakfast. Lovely Room , very Comfortable Beds . Lovely people . they were very helpful , We will return again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Better than we expected as they upgraded our rooms to 'Premier'. We would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    A big bed in a nice spacious room and lovely breakfasts with good tea and coffee. They even did me some eggs really well done , just as I wanted them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, my flight landed at an early time, the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel, my flight landed at an early time, the hotel allowed me to book in earlier than the check in time which was very helpful. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic. I stay in a lot of hotels for business and this is definitely in the top 3.... Will definitely be returning here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    the hotel is situated around the corner from my sons house, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing not to like.

    large comfy bed, plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk. Huge breakfast every morning. Nice seating area by the outdoor pool and good staff. Large enough room for the three of us. Would recommend this hotel to other family and friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift freaked us out!! Some kids things (board games, etc) would have been nice.

    Great staff. I just asked my young daughter aged 9 and she said it’s got “lovely members (she meant staff!). My 5 yr old just said “it’s got lovely beds”. Frequent use of lovely means a good experience. Great location. Chris the owner was delightful. For the price, great value with car parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely weekend away at a very reasonably priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed biscuits with our tea and coffee in the room!!!

    Extremely clean room and the restaurant food was top notch. Reception staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room 24 was of a decent size but a little oppressive in feel on a dark wintry day.

    Croissants at breakfast were good but in short supply. Triple room 29 was light and airy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, helpful staff and good location in St Helier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was lovely and all the staff were very helpful especially the lady on reception when we arrived late due to the ferry being delayed. She made us feel so welcome and arranged food for us despite the fact the restaurant was closed. The breakfast was very good especially the creamy porridge. The bedroom was very spacious and the bed itself was huge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Good, clean hotel, excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice hotel, about a 20 minute walk from bus station and about 15 mins from main shopping area. The staff were pleasant and friendly. We only ate breakfast but it was very nice, a good selection and fry up was very tast. Quality bacon and sausage and perfect poached eggs. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit far from centre

    Lovely helpful and attentive staff. Very spacious triple room Comfortable attractive bar area Food really good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Will use this hotel when we go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Room comfortable not brilliant out look but that didn't matter. Bathroom very clean shower nice hot water everyone time. Asked for extra milk and tea bags and got them with no problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Friendly helpful staff, spacious family suite (separate attached room for the children) and ample breakfast buffet plus close to the cycle path network!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric shower would have been nice but over bath one was adequate.

    Room very clean, bed very cosy,staff friendly , bar and restuarant food delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Was really happy to 'come home' to the Hampshire at the end of each day of my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were most appetising and croissants were scrumptious. Each member of staff was very welcoming and met every request with a ready smile and prompt action.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Lifestyle batteries all recharged - Everything excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    The ambience at the hotel was excellent, friendly and welcoming. The staff, especially the waiters were professional, helpful and very friendly. Parts of the hotel are tired looking but still very clean. Beds very comfortable and bedding/towels excellent quality. Breakfast was help yourself and plentiful with waiters bringing you as much coffee/tea and toast as you want (such a relief from those awful spin around toasters you have to cope with abroad.) In the evenings there is dining both in the dining room or bar meals in the lounge area - all very well presented. I'ts about a 10 minute walk to main square/harbour but its an easy straight walk. Also next to hotel is a well stocked co-op store for anything you run short of. Overall the hotel is excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to use this hotel again. Thank you all staff for a lovely stay. Angela and Dave

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Coming back with partner 4 days wasn't long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the island so much to see

    The location and staff and room where excellent.The food and menu especially dinner was 5tars thank you all for the fantastic service will definitely be back x.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel. Very highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - every need was accommodated

    The rooms are very comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent. Overall a brilliant stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    An enjoyable ,interesting week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the window overlooked a site where a building had been demolished. O.k for me as I don't mind a walk. 20 mins to the front. , more elderly people than me without a car would not appreciate the position. Tours picked up at the door.

    Changed room when the shower wasn't ' working properly, no problems

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall very enjoyable, very helpful and cheery staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV screen in restaurant, disturbed the relaxing atmosphere when football was suddenly turned on by another resident ( bedrooms have televisions so possibly not necessary in restaurant )

    Every member of staff had a smile on their face!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.5
    Nice island shame about the deceit of the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The demolition work going on next door. They started work at 6 am . The hotel did not tell us about it and still hadn’t got it on their website. As I checked while we were there . A lot of guests complained.

    Hotel was fine in a good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Happy at the Hampshire!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was just a fraction too small and privacy mesh to the window would have been good too

    Great location with easy parking and walk into town. Absolutely excellent food - surpassed my expectations! Very friendly and professional staff. Excellent hotel for the money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    I will book this hotel again without question
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird bar music Television in bar tucked into a corner so only about four could watch the football

    We always eat out but never did because the hotel resturant is superb, what a chef Don't miss the breakfasts wow All staff faultless and rooms are a great standard Short walk to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To no fault to the hotel, directly outside the room (Room 10) was construction works the build adjacent was being demolished. As staying in any hotel would expect entertainment taking place, on the Saturday night what could only be described a 'Rave' was taking place directly below the room. This was noisy but finished around 11:30pm/midnight.

    The breakfast available was excellent, options of cooked (Full English breakfast) and uncooked (cereal, fruit, pastries etc.), caters for everyones liking. Always opt for the cooked breakfast, the eggs were delicious, compliments to the chef. Also compliments to the staff servicing the morning breakfast as were quick to attend to your table.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant places to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except it's a 20 + minute walk to Liberation square and harbour. Bathroom has no bath just shower and little on the small side, Definitely 3* plus

    Very clean, crockery and cutlery gleaming. Food excellent, bed comfortable would have no hesitation in recommending

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay at the Hampshire hotel, the staff were friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit uncomfortable.

    The staff were always very polite and helpful if we needed anything extra. The kids loved the pool and the terrace area was nice to relax in as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel lovely staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel a little further out than I thought and right on a busy road. Children running round pool with water pistol and screaming. I had words with them. Then in the evening I found out that they had a Christening with 50 adults and children the noise was horrendous. I was a paying guest their and it was not acceptable.

    All the reception staff were fantastic so helpful. The chef was amazing 1st class food and best coffee. The waiters were excellent quick to serve you and clear items all very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    When builders had finished all was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building next door was being demolished and woke us every day with mechanical diggers and workmen noise constant. The hotel must have known this work was going to be done and never warned us or offered any discount as an apology. We would never have stayed there if the hotel had have ben honest and informed us.

    the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable holiday spent here and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Bathroom had everything you would need, bath and shower and gel,soap etc. Towels were replaced every day. Bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding. TV and Wifi reception very good. All staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast served each day. Nice lounge and bar to relax in and outside pool and terrace to use (weather permitting).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay with lots of great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very clean, the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. The on-site restaurant served excellent food and the location was great. 10 minute walk into the town centre, with a bus stop right outside the hotel. Large car park which was free. The beds were comfy and the decor of the hotel is beautiful. Would recommend a visit here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great selection at breakfast and evening meals superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like. It was a great break.

    Great selection at breakfast and evening meals superb! Staff incredibly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Well run, friendly, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately building work next door gave us a rather unpleasant view although there was very little noise.

    Extremely comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff, superb food at breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    A reasonable choice in Jersey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot, even though it wasn't particularly warm weather. We had to leave the windows open all the time (but house keeping staff kept closing them!). No fan in the room and no mention of them being available until we checked out. The opposite problem with the swimming pool, which despite assurances the pool heating was working, was really cold!

    A reasonable choice in expensive Jersey, where all the accommodation was pricey. Clean and comfortable rooms. An easy 10-15 minute walk to the centre of St Helier (or £5-6 in a taxi). Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. Free car park at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    was good apart from the what I have said above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The views at the back of the hotel are not good as overlooking the supermarket carpark and noisy early in the morning with deliveries. Next door is being demolished so will not be good for a while.

    The bar and evening meal area was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    About 10 min walk to main tourist area but on the flat so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 10 min walk to main tourist area but on the flat so not an issue. Sign apologising for noise from building work next door, but wasn't aware of any noise. Staff were friendly and helpful, buffet style breakfast and excellent dinner. Would stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice traditional hotel with good atmosphere although some of the facilities were a little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was wobbly and couldn't be hand held so directing the shower head was practically impossible which meant showering was rather difficult.

    The food, breakfast and evening meal were delicious. The waiters were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable and Stress free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was warm and quiet. The food was excellent and i recommend the mussels in sauce. Breakfast was standard English and also croissants served by attentive staff and in a nice facilities. Booked stay with my partner and child and the staff had adapted room to cater for an additional Child ( I foster) at late notice with ease and were please to accept the and cope with the change. I thoroughly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Jersey is a lovely Island and helps when you have a friendly lovely place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very well situated and a lovely welcome when we arrived very helpful staff nothing to much trouble we would defiantly go back and stay there again when we go back to Jersey .. Keep up the good work and see you all soon Steve & Debbie

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel. Rooms need some freshing up. Great restaurant. Nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the bad side of the hotel. Very noisy in the morning from 6 am because hotel next to supermarket parking with lots of trucks and vans passing. And then there were also works in progress in the building next to the parking.

    Friendly staff! Great food, especially dinner menus were fabulous, "good restaurant" worthy!!!!! Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    The Hampshire is a clean and well presented hotel. Staff polite and helpful, rooms clean and well decorated. A sensibly priced hotel, I'd use thislace again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist didn't know much about the area to give advice to tourists. They are the first port of call for tourists. Little disappointed.

    Car park facility, excellent breakfast standard. Good hygiene.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be good but was it a major issue

    Location is great, staff so friendly, rooms big and bright and the beds/pillows best I have ever experienced in my years of travelling. Could not fault it and will definitely be back to stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing staff, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com it suggested the room to me as suitable for my whole family and let me pick the bed types, but when I rang the hotel directly the room was actually for less people and beds. The hotel was super helpful in sorting it for us though.

    The staff were so friendly, helpful and attentive. They made us feel very welcomed and like nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok but not much variety, same every morning.

    The bed was comfy and room clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal which was excellent! I liked the fact we could relax outside by the pool as the weather was great during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but not great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was further than advertised from central St Helier. As walking long distances is difficult for me it involved a lot of expense with taxis & buses. The given time to the centre could only be done using power walking. The food in the restaurant was disappointing.

    Bedroom was very comfy & quite spacious. There was a good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Friendly staff amazing food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was incredible, jolly and friendly went out of his way to learn a bit about everyone. Will definitely go back nothing was too much trouble.. Excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable hotel, easy walk into St Helier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although can walk into St Helier is a little too far out for elderly relative to walk make sure you buy prepaid parking cards if have a car as need to use all over island

    Small and friendly with nice bar/restaurant and a pool areas Free onsite parking and no stairs into hotel from car park Has a lift Convenience store couple of doors away Good location as can walk into centre of St. Helier/promenade

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel.more like a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the swimming pool area could have more flowers etc just to make it abit prettier

    Staff very efficient and attentive. Breakfast very good.couldnt fault the hotel.food brilliant.lovely bar area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later check out than 10.30 please midday would be better please. Nearly 10/10

    Lovely small hotel, excellent food and pool facility. Super clean rooms and bathroom, friendly staff what more could one ask for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely week's holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes at 9.30 am on weekdays we would have appreciated an extra half hour!

    Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good plentiful and well cooked. Dinner was also excellent the hotel offered an excellent three course deal plus coffee that was very good value. We were a party of three (age range 55 to 81) our first trip to Jersey we were all very happy with the Hampshire Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable but very basic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms very basic and shower above bath. Breakfast cleared up very sharp. Went for breakfast at 9.40 and was told they were clearing buffet so to be quick even though it's stated breakfast is from 8-10am.

    The bar area was lovely and lobby. Nice swimming pool although didn't get to use it due to weather .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Very nice big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs a few more loungers and definitely Parasols.

    Very nice big room. Good selection at breakfast. Sky sports to watch The Lions in NZ.Staff excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely decor, spacious rooms, good Internet connection in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot, though you could open the windows.

    Lovely decor, spacious rooms, good Internet connection in all areas of the hotel , food very good. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints at all, it was all good.

    Comfortable bed, good sized room and bathroom, very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the owner was very visible and communicated well with all the guests. Maitre'D was superb. The food was all good, but the breakfast was wonderful. Lovely dining rooms and bar and pool area. It was in a good location for walking down to the centre of St Helier.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very hot in our room. It was during an extremely hot period but got a fan on our second day . Was still very hot once weather cooled . Some evening entertainment would have been good too .

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful . Couldn't do enough to help you . Breakfast was great and food in restaurant was amazing. Rooms were very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: