Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4 stars

Harnham Road, Salisbury, SP2 8JQ, United Kingdom

#17 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1537 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs updating. The shower produced lukewarm water. Tub had hot water. Was told it could be looked at the next day.

    Location was perfect. Lovely to sit out overlooking the river. Be aware that if you want to eat on the patio, that have to order and pay at the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner/breakfast was over priced for the quality as the food was poor. dining room was dirty (window sils could of done with a wipe down) the floor could of done with a Hoover/clean. staff did clean the tables but left the chairs with crumbs all over them. our room was considerably small with 1 velux window that didn't open very far so not much ventilation the room smelt like wet dog and was not very nice at all! the room was just too small. the bed was uncomfortable to say the least and not happy with the overall location of the room (John tobin room!!) I would not be staying here again or recommending this hotel.

    the river at the back of the hotel was lovely gave it a really nice peaceful feeling. the outside seating area was lovely heat lamps for the colder nights, a really nice romantic feel to it with swans being there too I really can't fault the back area of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and below ground level with view of the car park through a small window. Certainly not what was expected. Hotel was full so this was probably the last available room.

    Desk staff were polite and friendly. Quality of furnishings and fittings was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mildew in bath Not clean tiles around bath Careless painting in bathroom Heavy winter weight duvet shower head worn and not fixing properly for shower This really spoiled the enjoyment of our stay as it didn’t feel properly clean and for 125 a night it was poor value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly it was very noisy due to a wedding reception held close by to our room , we felt in the end the asking price was out of proportion to the room standard and breakfast was included but turned out to be a poor continental offering ( cooked option was a further £7.95 each )

    Location could not be faulted, lovely views and very pleasant staff throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality could be a little better, staying guests could be advised when the hotel holds cinema nights and given the option of a quieter room

    Great riverside location, large rooms, very comfortable bed, friendly staff, parking and walking distance to centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was tricky to access but once connected it was very quick

    The room was clean and had all the facilities I would have expected. The location was excellent. Parking was a bonus in Salisbury and it was only a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and the town centre. The staff were very good and informative. The food in the restaurant was very good and it was nice to sit out on a summer evening for coffee with the river Avon flowing past. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of a visit to Salisbury.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It’s location by the rivers edge & close to the cathedral which we visited twice (evening & morning). Huge comfortable room with everything we needed. Good food (dinner & continental breakfast) & friendly helpful staff. The GM has a marvellous sense of humour!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room hadn't been cleaned properly - thick dust on surfaces. Blood stains on cushions. Dirty bathroom. Light bulbs out in the room. The decor in the room is very dated including soft furnishings which looked like they were from the 80s! Overall the room needed redecorating at the very least. Booked to include breakfast but only received continental but it wasn't advertised as a continental breakfast! We were charged twice on departure and had to go back to get refund.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not happy with our first room, but were upgraded quickly and efficiently.

    The position of the hotel is perfect. Lovely views and an easy pleasant walk into Salisbury. The restaurant is light and airy and next to the river. Excellent food. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a lovely place. Very helpful staff, good food. The view from the back garden looking towards the river Avon is sublime and worth the stay in itself. I'll be back. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable, the staff poorly trained and the food was basic. Sadly this hotel has all the ingredients of a great experience but just lacked polish and well meaning but poorly trained staff meant we left feeling a little dissapointed..

    The Location - about a 15 picturesque walk to the centre of Salisbury, past the cathedral, lot of shops and bars and sights to see. Sited on the river - perfect The room was a good size with all the facilities needed for a couple of nights away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold water in our shower did not work so we had to take a bath instead to keep from scalding ourselves. We were showering at 4 a.m. because we were headed to Stonehenge for the 5:30 a.m. stone circle access, so we were not about to call the front desk at that hour. We reported the problem later and were assured that it would be fixed. If you sit on the terrace you have to go in to the bar to order drinks/food, instead of someone coming out to take your order. This is only a problem because we were way too content sitting on our couch taking in the beautiful view to be bothered to get up. :-) Neither of these items would keep us from staying here again. The property was charming, picturesque and peaceful.

    Our large executive double room #16 on the ground floor opened up onto the green lawn with the River Avon at our feet and a beautiful view of the Salisbury cathedral through the trees in the near distance. We weren't hungry enough for dinner, so we opted for appetizers and wine on the terrace and watched the sun go down. Parking was plentiful and easy. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bulbs were out in both of the rooms we had and feel this should have been checked by housekeeping earlier in the day and rectified. Well overpriced breakfast, we didn’t pay for the breakfast. 7.95 for continental, 15.90 for cooked breakfast however if you wanted a bit of both you had to pay for both! We went elsewhere and for four people we paid the same price for one person. Staff apologised however we know they are following directions of cost...

    Beds comfy, evening meal extremely good, staff pleasant and helpful, sitting outside enjoying the sun and the evening by the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to climb some steps to get to room

    Best, Best Location and Wonderful room!! Our room was #22. We were a little disappointed that we had to go up a flight of stairs to our room, but once we got into the room it was a pleasant surprise. It is definitely a large room. A table and two chairs, with a desk and queen size bed. And plenty of room to move around. The restaurant was wonderful too. It also is a historical place too. A must stay if you are staying in Salisbury. It is so conveniently located you can walk to the Salisbury Cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked through booking.com and ticked the hotel with breakfast included especially. This hotel specified breakfast was included and we liked the look of it. When we arrived we were told that there was a mistake and only continental breakfast was included and it would be 7.95 extra per person for cooked breakfast. The hotel said it was a mistake by booking.com. Nearly everyone sitting in the restaurant had the same compliant and were unhappy with this. Had we known this we wouldn't have chosen this hotel. There were also some problems with the room that the reception dealt with very well.

    Loved the setting of hotel and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historical charm. Room was very clean and comfortable. King size bed and and extra for our teenager. Nespresso machine always a plus. On the river bank and very tranquil. Easily walked to the Cathedral and the high street for shops and entertainment. Lunch and cream tea were superb and reasonably priced. I know we got a great deal in room rate...The room and lunch for three came in under £100. Staff is friendly and maps available at the desk with advice on all you’d care to do. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar area is a bit small for the size of hotel and it would be nice to have a gym!

    This is a lovely hotel, based around a very old inn building but recently considerably extended and modernised. It has a brilliant position on the bank of the River Avon, very comfortable rooms, very friendly staff and a good restaurant with a large menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was looking very tired and abit run down, very noisey in the morning as you can hear everyone walking past your room and all the doors slamming

    Bed was very comfy, hotel and room was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled up and down several sets of stairs to get our luggage to our room. Did find a shortcut when leaving that made it easier.

    Spectacular location! Views over River Avon to Salisbury Cathedral with sheep grazing in the grassy fields in between. Short walk to the cathedral and old town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed atmosphere at riverside location and friendly staff. Good selection for breakfast and excellent food for dinner. Convenient for our needs the following day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    earlier check in would have been good, had to request earlier check in but staff did manage to accommodate.

    stayed in the old part of the hotel, lovely room full of character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor of room a little bit shabby, e.g. cracked tiles in bathroom, curtains grubby.

    Free car parking. Perfect location for city. Lovely views (I saw a pair of otters in the river). Comfy bed. T&C facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a reaction to the carpet cleaning products which brought on an asthma attack, not the fault of the hotel, many cleaning products trigger a reaction.

    the food was amazing - well cooked and beautifully presented

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My family live near by in Salisbury and on this occasion, unfortunately, we could not stay with them as usual. With the extreme weather conditions in early March, we had to re-schedule and during this process we found the staff most helpful, especially Derek McNeill, the general Manager. We did not eat any meals at the Hotel. Our room was an Executive Double and in the very old part of the hotel. It was extremely comfortable, warm and cosy with tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you have to pay 7.5 and you have to choose between English breakfast or continental, even if everything is together in the buffet.

    Nice bedrooom with private patio. Clean and tidy place. Amaizing view from the restaurant. Free parking and walking distance from the cathedral.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was Room 16. It’s position could not be faulted. The interior could not be faulted. But the noise from the room above was disturbing. Every time someone walked across the floor you could hear it. When the cleaners cleaned the room you could hear it. The floor boards creaked and squeaked every time there was movement. The floor boards clearly need better sound proofing or thicker carpet. If we were to return I would ask for a room on the second floor.

    The staff were pleasant, helpful and polite. The location was stunning with views of the cathedral with the added bonus was it was so close to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant could be worked on, it took quite long before we were served even though staff noticed we were sitting down (I had to walk up to the bar myself to ask if we could get service, while the staff was having a meeting in front of the bar). After that the service was better.

    Amazing room, we had the largest suite. The building is a historic one so it is noisy and the floors and walls aren't straight but this is part of the charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the dining room was spectacular, especially in the rain! The staff were professionally efficient, always available (and not over enthusiastic!) and treated us as part of the family. The food in the main was of a high standard with one hiccup which was dealt with quickly, quietly and to our satisfaction. Easy parking, efficient reception and departure service. So close to the cathedral and city but with an outlook over sheep in green fields as well. A wonderful break which I am sure we will repeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite tired & could do with a refresh, bathroom especially. Curtains quite grubby.

    Liked the traditional element of the part of the hotel in which we stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing seems to have its problems. Our first room had a sink that took about 10 minutes to empty and the second room (a separate booking, so we had to move) had a sink where the plug didn't fit properly.

    It is well situated for visiting central Salisbury, a 5 minute walk from Cathedral Close. The rooms are comfortable, with large beds. Continental breakfast is fine and you certainly don't walk out hungry if you eat dinner there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the layout of room and views of the small river. Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner and drinks. Atmosphere was lovely. Staff welcoming. Parking easy on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the room was a little noisy and we were woken several times during the night with singing and chatting. There were no rooms next to us or under us so it would seem that it must have been night staff going about their duties cheerfully but a little loudly. I did mention this on leaving and the receptionist was very concerned and said that she would pass the comments on and investigate the matter. I was very impressed with her thoughtful reaction and hope this will avoid sleepless nights for other visitors staying in an otherwise truly stunning room.

    Fantastic room! It was huge and very clean, and had beautiful bathroom facilities too. It is a great location for visiting the town centre as its only an easy 5 min walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had wifi problems for the night - though it might have been because of the snow.

    This is a lovely old inn in Salisbury, looking at the Avon. It's well preserved, comfortable and with a filling and somewhat cheap Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu could have been broader but the food available was nicely cooked.

    Beautiful location by the river. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was impressive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't think of anything to complain about!

    Extremely comfortable bed, wonderful view of River and Cathedral, plenty of choice for breakfast, everywhere lovely and warm and welcoming when coming in from cold weather. Stayed here in November too and will wish to return again as such a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot fault the hotel in any way.

    The hotel is located beside the river Avon and benefits hugely from an unobstructed view of Salisbury cathedral. We last visited the hotel some 20 years ago, since when the accommodation facilities have been tastefully extended. It was a pleasure to return again for a 3 night stay. We didn't book evening meals, but the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately shower controls did not work so almost scolded myself as unable to adjust temperature.. My wife wouldn't use it.

    Good location,10 minute walk to city centre passing Cathederal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AS ABOVE

    THE ROOM WAS NOT WHAT I THOUGHT NO VIEWS AND NEAR A ROAD,ALSO CAN HEAR PEOPLE UPSTAIRS ALL THE TIME,,THIS IS A STOR FOR STUFF NOT A ROOM,NO SOUNDPROOFING LUXURIOUSLY FITTED,,BUT I SUGEST THE DESIGNERS TRY SLEEPING THERE WITH PEOPLE UPSTAIRS BANGING

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The back car park wasn’t all gritted when it snowed so it was dangerous when leaving in the morning.

    The bar and the bedroom and the bathroom was also amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken. Breakfast didn't say continental, we had hoped for a hot cooked meal. Service was horrible. The restaurant messed the orders up and didn't seem to care. Room was loud and small.

    The bed was alright. The location for tourism was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SEE ABOVE

    I was surprised to find that my booking did NOT include breakfast - this needs to be made much clearer. Also, when I looked at a room service breakfast, I was amazed to find the cost at £12.95 and the hotel had the audacity to charge an extra £5 for delivery to the room. In all the hotels I've visited across the world, I have never seen such an outrageous extra charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Manager in the Bar/Restaurant area was a little unfriendly - needs to work on his people skills and his manner towards his staff

    Lovely setting next to the river with a view of the Cathedral

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - the fried eggs were left in the heated dish far too long and they had gone hard. Not what I would expect for an additional £7.95 over the room price.

    Room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. Beautiful view of the cathedral at night from the patio door. Reception staff very good and well presented. Room cleaners obviously do their job well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much but there is carpetting everywhere, so beware if you have allergies.

    Staff was very friendly. Also we had dinner there and the food is from average to good depending on your choice. Room was huge. Looks like the place is specialized in wedding receptions and so on, and it sure is a good place for couples.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When TV and conversation stopped for the night we were conscious of a constant hum in the room as if we were above a washing machine in the room below, on a fast spin. I think we worked out it might have been an extractor fan from the kitchen, or aircon. Fortunately had some ear plugs. Booking.com did mention noisy if there's a function on, but this was more an irritant, like a dripping tap. Another minor detail is the automatic lighting which comes on above wardrobe - which is great when you need the wardrobe, but not so great if you get up at night and can't sneak past sensor without bathing the room in spotlights.

    Been here before and we're impressed then and now. Staff are very accommodating and helpful. The room was very very nice with exposed beams and sloping ceiling (5a Cardinal Room) in oldest part of building with area outside on landing like a medieval country house. Facilities in room and bathroom were excellent, and we were greeted with a plate of fruit! Food in restaurant was very nice, but don't go expecting piles of food on your plate! Presented with a rose after the meal, which was a nice touch (for my better half!) Decided to end the meal with Ovaltine because it was unusually on the menu and decided, as I was in Salisbury, to throw caution to the wind! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for 3 course valentines meal and only 2 courses so that should have been reduced

    The restaurant was lovely the food was excellent and the chef catered for my dietary restrictions. Also all the staff were very friendly attentive and helpful. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to walk through a wedding party with our bags to get to our room Would have liked to have been accompanied by staff.

    The room, the view, cleanliness, comfortable bed and fab location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room situation. Quite dark as room 26 was furthest away from reception and tucked away in a corner with not much of a view

    Very friendly staff. Clean room and good facilities. Location was reallymgood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view of cathedral and river, we stayed In room 24 and it was lovely with a patio door That opened to see The river and cathedral, Fantastic 80th birthday present for My grandma

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some confusion over what kind of breakfast was included on booking.com and some delay to breakfast on the first day but ok after that. The evening meal was also fine.

    An initial misunderstanding about breakfast on booking.com when booking the stay was kindly resolved by friendly Mickey. The room was fine with a lovely view of the river and Cathedral and included some extra touches e.g. vegetarian and natural soaps shampoos etc. in the bathroom. It was only a short walk to the centre of Salisbury.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    Fantastic location with our room looking out onto the river avon and salisbury cathedral. Staff were very professional and helpful throughout our stay. Dinner and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel Nice location, fantastic room with a lovely view . Staff very polite and helpful . Had evening meal in the restaurant food and service excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing would help stop Windows steaming up.

    View of the river and cathedral, short and pleasant walk into town, a good combination of modern and historic building, spacious rooms, good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was amazing everything had been thought of. Staff where extremely polite and helpful and the food was delicious. Will be visiting again soon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a period room which unfortunately was on the road and with leaded glass windows - not double glazed to minimise street noise. Next time we will opt for the new wing which is very quiet.

    Lovely riverside restaurant for breakfast, a drink and dinner. Plenty of character- period property with new extension wing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not very warm, therefore some heating in the bathroom would have been appreciated.

    The overall ambiance of the hotel, comfortable; attractive; lovely gardens; friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the only suite thinking it would be the best in the house. Wrong! In the old part, but no views at all and tiny windows looking at not much at all. Also it is located right above the kitchen. Kitchen very noisy at times with loud voices, radio and machines/compressors even during the night. They woke us up every morning before 6! The Manager should spend a night or two there. Also the sofa in the room is ridiculously small for two people. I will book a modern room next time.

    Delightful looking hotel. Good public areas. Very good food. Wi-fi OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice comfortable hotel, The executive room was in the new part of the hotel and was of a high standard overlooking the garden and river with views across to the Cathedral. Great location for walking into the old part of town. We ate in the restaurant for two nights and had a nice meal on both nights. The hotel had a nice peaceful atmosphere when we were there but would obviously be busier if there was a function on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely dreadful 'lift' music throughout the hotel until we asked for the infinitely preferable sound of silence, particularly at breakfast.

    Excellent location; Staff were friendly and approachable; Breakfast and evening meal were very good; Room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food other than breakfast was alright but we preferred to eat out as it was not the best

    Good Continental breakfast The view was excellent Friendly helpful staff The location is very quiet yet very near the centre Beds are comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms were a bit dated, and there was mildew in between the panes of the window but they were clean. The restaurant menu was limited and a bit over priced

    Really friendly staff, everyone more than happy to help and always had a smile. The bed rooms were very clean and very spacious. The bed was very comfy too. The location of the hotel was brilliant, right near the cathedral and also on a few bus routes but easy walking distance from the town. We had a lovely view of the river which was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect a quaint olde worlde Inn! The pictures aren't that representative and they aren't being very clear on what you get for your money. The inclusion of breakfast is continental only. They will charge you extra for a cooked one. The suite doesn't have a four poster and wooden beams. Its modern and worn. There are better choices out there than this one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only slight criticism was the lack of mini fridge to store my chilled food and also there wasn't a laundry bag. These are only minor things.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean with excellent travel toiletries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the option of including breakfast and/or dinner could be included in any prices offered.

    Breakfast was freshly cooked and hot which is not always the case in some hotels. The dining room looks over a river which is relaxing whilst eating your meal. A good choice of juices, fresh fruit and pastries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very good value for the money, really nice large room with natural bathing products. Restaurant staff really friendly and location easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More variety on the dinner menu, and less yuppie food.

    Convenient location to Salisbury Cathedral and Town Centre. Good sized room by the side of the river. All the staff are friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had pre-paid for Breakfast, as far as we were concerned - via bookings.com, and apparently we only were due to have continental breakfast and there was a whole host of additional charges for differing hot breakfast choices if you wanted.... I have NEVER experienced this in any other hotel I have stayed in (of which there have been many) : B&B should be B&B and not sneakily add on extra charges for a hot egg and bacon, when they already serve cold ham and cold eggs for instance.... if this is the case then ; it should have stated when I booked ROOM AND CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST (which it did not).... I complained about this at the property - but a shrug of the shoulders is more or less what I got - very very poor! The hotel was not up to the same standard and not what we expected for our honeymoon stay 30 years prior - and like most these days it seemed to extract every last penny out of you before you even start.... the restaurant and bar were very 3 star.... Bedroom was lovely and comfortable, but bar and restaurant were austere and barn-like and uncomfortable to sit in and the quality of furniture was poor.

    The bedroom and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was extremely soft and unsupportive which affected sleep. It was the only thing that stopped our stay being perfect.

    Room was gorgeous, warm and cosy. Bathroom was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So close to the centre of Salisbury and a lovely walk in. (Cut through down De Vaux Place to go past the Catherdral) staff were lovely. Both rooms really large and warm with lovely bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food good but a bit pretentious.... sandwiches: filling good, but huge chunks of bread an inch thick, coffee weak in not-very-large pot: scrambled egg on toast - lots of egg, tiny toast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 1 had an unheated bathroom, towels wouldn't dry.

    Bed very comfortable. Restaurant food portions more than ample. All staff knowlegeable and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Excellent bedroom with wonderful views. Staff were fantastic and the food great. Great value for money. Am definitely going back!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit too warm, but not a big problem.

    Lovely spacious black and white timbered room, very comfy, and a short very pleasant stroll into city centre. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a filthy and mouldy window, and the shower was defective, and only ran really hot water even at it’s coolest settings.

    Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: