Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Berwyn Road, Llangollen, LL20 8AD, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Llangollen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1826 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, would definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minus for me was that I found the bed a bit hard, but this is simply personal opinion and others may not feel the same.

    We really enjoyed our stay, everywhere in the hotel was clean and up to date. We ate breakfast and evening meal ,both of which were tasty and well cooked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    A Pleasant Nights sleep and great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was spot on.

    All the staff I came in contact with were very polite and helpful . They are very professional here and help you out with any enquires. I stayed one night and the room was clean, large with a power shower. It had great comfortable double bed and I had a pleasant nights sleep. I also recommend having an evening meal here. food was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place friendly and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe a little warm in breakfast area while eating

    Great location and friendly staff, excellent breakfast,food lovely and great experience would recommend and will return

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable stay. Will definitely book again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a robe as well as towels provided in the spa, but did not take anything away from the high standard.

    High standard of accomodation set in lovely grounds. Only 10 minutes easy walk into Llangollen. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Overll a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very hot and we did not have a thermostat to control it even though the radiators were not on. On of the small pools in the SPA (round one) did not function the jets. There was something wrong with the button preventing the whirlpool effect. This did not work the last time we came a few months ago either. Needs seeing to

    Could access the SPA which was the purpose of our visit. Stayed one night and could access SPA on both days. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way for us. I attended with my sister

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Clean , warm and friendly staff and nice food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no filter coffee at breakfast only instant, how lovely the hotel is it’s something you would expect

    Clean , warm and friendly staff and nice food . Spa facilities very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    Nothing to write home about
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated room near the bar. Noisy revellers until 1.30 am Unsecured Wi-fi Breakfast was a hit & miss affair - first morning it was good next morning it was below average.

    Location, ample parking, well maintained garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Really pleasant stay, loved the bathroom in particular and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so sure about the spa - the showers are a little lacklustre, and it would be great if they had robes and nice shampoo / conditioners to use.

    Really pleasant stay, loved the bathroom in particular and lounge/bar/breakfast area. Great fry up and good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bit more choice on the evening food menu.

    The spa facilities and all decor hotel was very modern and comfortable. Staff at the hotel were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Overall a nice hotel with clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move rooms due to a terrible smell coming from the shower drain and some of the reception staff didnt seem genuine, interactions seemed very forced.

    After the move of rooms it was very clean, the bed was super comfortable, good location. The sauna/spa were very welcome in the morning and the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff In restaurant very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed dipped in the middle so little uncomfortable No staff in the spa available for any treatments during our stay

    Staff In restaurant very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.1
    The room was adequate, requested a room off the ground floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool available yet one advertised in the photo gallery. That was the main reason we booked there.

    The room was adequate, requested a room off the ground floor, and got one overlooking a skip (for building renovations) with no view at all as jammed at the foot of a mountain.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold shower by the side of the spar not working , very minor detail.. showers in the changing area worked just as well.

    The staff are amazing , helpful and friendly. The restaurant was delightful for our evening meal, starters, mains and afters were presented beautifully and tasted amazing. Thanks for a lovely rest on the Offa’s Dyke walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food could of been warmer breakfast was lovely but let down by being cold and the evening meal was cold hence why we only eat there one night

    the location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Lovely, beautiful hotel, nice & clean with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gowns could be included with exec room - £115 per night, I wouldn't expect to pay an extra £10 for dressing gowns. X3 lights not working in room

    Beautiful hotel, lovely helpful staff, Great breakfast and very helpful with GF bread. Bar man also allowed us to order evening snacks off the lunch menu as we weren't very hungry.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Room was spacious, dinner was absolutely delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve appreciated a bottle of water in the room for the price we paid. Also the restaurant staff seemed a little untrained.. couldn’t get us a drink so we went from the table to the bar to get one. Second time round we went to the bar and they sent us back to the table.

    Room was spacious, dinner was absolutely delicious. Spa facilities looked exceptional although we didn’t have time to use them. Location was great, only a short walk into Llangollen so ideal. Free parking so close to town was handy too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Loved the hotel, the staff friendly and helpful, great location need to improve on breakfast tho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on first morning was ok, fried eggs had been there a while . Second morning we were down a little later and there wasn't a lot left. People who came after us had little choice.

    Great location for Llangollen just a short walk into town mostly along the river.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location, got a spa with hot pool access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only let down is the room itself. Bathroom had stained ceilings and Mold and missing sealant around the tiles, looked tired. Small bedroom with old furniture, stained ceilings and walls. A lick of paint and some attention to furnishings and the room would be transformed. For clarity I was in a standard double room, room 302.

    Great location, got a spa with hot pool access. Bar was nice and the food, although I didn’t have dinner look really good. The breakfast was brilliant and the staff are very friendly and welcoming - really nice people. I would certainly go again, but I’d try a nicer room. See below.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Really good location, the staff were lovely and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was very spacious, the jacuzzi bath did not work properly and that’s the main reason we paid extra for the room. The shower was blocked and some of the bulbs had gone as well. The breakfast was ok although the sausages was a bit over cooked.

    Really good location, the staff were lovely and the room was very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't turn the radiator on when it got cold, the little electric heater barely took the chill off, the heating did come after two cold nights. Ok after then. This is not a complaint, it was a cold snap.

    The food was to die for, the service was good, Lovely Hotel and parking good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.5
    Very comfortable stay and convenient for the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather . Didn’t have time to use the spa so may have to make a return visit

    Very nice comfortable room opening onto the garden. Very convenient for walking into Llangollen . Would highly recommend it .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable relaxing atmoshere great for a weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities were not up to standard when I went to use the shower gel the container fell off the wall. There was another broken container on the floor.

    the rooms were comfortable. breakfast was delicious The location is good for a nice walk into Llangollen The spa was enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing 2 night stay, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices a bit expensive, had one double pink gin with lemonade and one bottle Smirnoff fruit cider and the bill came to £11.80.

    Comfy bed, clean room with toiletries provided. Tea and coffee making facilities in room and extra milk in reception. Great location, 10 mins walk to Llangollen centre. Breakfast very enjoyable and dining staff very polite, even some welsh speakers present. Used the spa and was really good quality and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    We liked the location having been to Llangollen before and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t too keen on the location of the room....room 309....it was too close to reception. It got to way past midnight before we got to sleep because of the racket being made which sounded like the staff clearing up etc after the bar had closed. We didn’t like having to ask for our towels to be changed after leaving our dirty ones in the bath as suggested in the guest directory and when the clean towels did arrive, the cleaner did not remove the dirty ones! We also didn’t appreciate arriving back to our room to find a regional manager had been given access to it to measure up for new blinds! We’d have been none the wiser if they hadn’t left the key in the door. This is unacceptable and should be done when the room is not occupied. Breakfast was chaos. Hardly any room and seemed to run out of things like bread and hot breakfast items quickly. Lastly, upon checkout the receptionist was quick to hand us the invoice for a drinks bill we needed to pay and did not at one point say ‘Hope you enjoyed your stay’, ‘thank you’ or even ‘goodbye’. It was very rude! This was a 2 night break for my husbands 40th birthday and although mostly Ok we would not return

    We liked the location having been to Llangollen before and it was good to have use of the spa facilities, which we enjoyed. The hotel was pleasant enough and the guests friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant say anything bad about this place spot on

    My wife and I this is our second visit in 4 weeks, I must say the check in was so efficient and when we got to our room plenty of space and a big comfortable bed, the whole place is spotless clean, also the Spa is clean and relaxing place which also has a sauna and steam room, The breckfast is really nice and greeted by very helpful staff with a choice of pots of coffee or tea, Also the cleaning deserve a mention we stayed for 2 nights and rooms were made up and hoovered while we were out for the day. Really would recommend this place 10 out of 10

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Comply bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serving Sunday Lunch at 8.30 pm not so good as can tell prepared lot earlier. Staff 'all over the place'! But all in all suited us.

    Comply bed. Nice room. Perfectly located for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a quiet room. We were put in a room at front of hotel with road traffic noise, and directly over the Heating or AC units which we quite noisy. Room was also over the spa which left it very warm. Despite opening both windows the room was too warm. AC did not work properly. Toilet was difficult to flush.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Had a good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. comfortable beds and clean room. Quiet hotel. you are roughly about 10 minutes walk into the town centre. value for money. Sauna and jacuzzi pool is a must. Friendly and helpful staff. \rthe bar area clean and relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were good but they were few in number. We also weren't told in advance that they only serve Sunday dinners on Sundays. There were no smaller or lighter options available.

    The spa was lovely. Shame that the steam room was out of order and one of the features in the pool, but the rest was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Well kept and clean hotel with large room and the spa was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere in the bar and no room service

    Booked as a stopover on a trip from Scotland to Swansea, liked the hotel so much that I booked another night for the trip back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Rooms nice and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They struggled at Breakfast time a little as there was a wedding party and I think everyone turned up at the same time, so refilling items was a little slow.

    Rooms nice and spacious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    I cannot remember the waitresses name but she was fantastic,...
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot remember the waitresses name but she was fantastic, friendly helpful, a credit to your hotel. She is small older lady, name begins with M something like Mere. A real star

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a buffet and most of the items had been there for a while so were overcooked and dry.

    Lovely location, close to Llangollen with plenty of parking. Nice, clean room with very comfortable beds. Newly refurbished hotel with spa facilities. Good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condensation on inside of windows in room, windows need updating. Double glazing would help with this and also drown out the sound of the kitchen extractor fans!! Hard to regulate shower temperature. Hot tap in bath, VERY hot but no sign warning of this!

    Restaurant staff were very attentive, food was of high quality. Good to have tea/ coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryer in room. Bed very comfortable. Very clean. Good location with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Pamper yourself at an excellent spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was slow and not very professional.

    Great spa facilities. Lovely room. Good restaurant and food. Nice buffet breakfast, plenty of variety. Intend to return specifically for a spa pamper.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Excellent , could not fault hotel or restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used spa pool was spoilt from four women( not staying at hotel) who were the worse for wear with alcohol , two of them not wearing swimwear but beach clothes, did not shower before entering pool. They also bought bottles of drink into the pool. Think someone should be attending the pool to check on things. Cushions on lounges around the pool very badly stained.

    Excellent , could not fault hotel or restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful and relaxing which is what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like

    The hotel had plenty of guests but was lovely and quiet,so we had a nice peaceful stay. Spar was nice though the steam room was out of order. Really close to the centre.All things considered we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    The spa facilities were amazing and the ladies really made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we had a fantastic stay!

    The spa facilities were amazing and the ladies really made you feel welcome! We had an evening meal which was to die for, very tasty and excellent service! Breakfast had lots of choice and tasted great! I would definitely recommend to friends :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend at the wild pheasant note and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was there not to like about this hotel and spa.

    The staff were very friendly and informative and helpful. We thought the hotel was in a lovely location and the walk up to the town via the river Dee was a added bonus, the spa facilities the hotel has got to offer is also a added bonus, the room we had was nice and spacious and the breakfast lovely , a hotel you can truly relax in situated in a lovely part of North Wales

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The size of the suit was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was the steam room was out of order and there was no slippers available

    The size of the suit was amazing. The food was top quality and staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    A good hotel , well situated, gardens pretty, nice rooms if you ask for the right one.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room that had been allocated to me was right on top of the kitchens and the noise from the ventilators was very loud and the smell of cooked food in the corridor outside the room very off putting. The staff were great and changed my room when I went to the reception to ask? The one they gave me was much bigger, no ventilators and no smell. one minus point as the doors are not completely airtight , big gap under the door which means that if you get loud guests in room opposite the noise travels. The cooked breakfast is ok but I think it would be better if the eggs were cooked as and when the guests order them because cooked fried eggs kept hot under a heater are not the best .

    The bed comfortable, staff nice ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    A convenient and comfortable place to stay whilst visiting the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area drab and characterless. Cooked breakfast buffet not very appealing

    Very convenient for Llangollen without being in the centre. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    could have stayed longer......hope to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was brilliant and went out of her way. Thank you Natalie. rooms were very clean and upto date with nice bathrooms. ample parking. good location for either playing golf, walking or visiting the town, which also has some nice pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at breakfast was awful, I travelled with 5 other people and none of us could eat it. The staff were very unorganised, leaving tables covered in plates so there was nowhere to sit. I also rang and asked for early check in as I was attending a wedding that started at 1, when I arrived I was told they had organised for check in at 1 which would be too late for me, the staff were uninterested and unhelpful.

    The hotel was beautiful. It was in the centre of Llangollen which is also beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The grounds and position of the hotel are perfect. Everything you need in the room to make a comfortable stay and the breakfast buffet has all you would expect to see, plus items cooked to order if req

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay, let down a little by trivia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors and bedroom were just beautiful, spoiled by trivial things caused by the designer never having had to sleep there. There is no electrical plug near the mirror/mirror near the plugs so you cannot use a hair dryer whilst watching what you are doing. There is no useable shelf in the bathroom to keep your toiletries. There is only a small towel rail for the hand towel and nowhere to hang the bath towels. The bath/shower switch is difficult to use because the designer made it a slippery cylinder with no finger hold. There is no handle to help you step out of the shower. None of this should put you off this very beautiful hotel (reception informed of this but I guess changes will have to await the next refurbishment). The breakfast is a "British standard buffet" i.e. large and perfectly edible, if uninspiring.

    Beautiful hotel with adequate parking and easy walking distance to Llangollen. The staff were, without exception, friendly and smiling. We were offered access to the spa but time was against us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Paradise in Valley of Llangollen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this place

    Loved this place from the quick check in, the rooms plenty of space and comfortable beds, And the Spa is fantastic, Also the buffet breckfast plenty of choice, Also a little walk into Llangollen village definitely stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    The spa was the only good thing about the pheasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff was VERY SLOW & it was a expensive bar the breakfast was COLD there was only filter coffee on offer yuk. Not sure what was happening but sounded like a party going on I think above us could not get to sleep THEN ...... The fire alarm sounded at 3.30 AM everyone out no staff to be seen 15mins later 1 turned up no explanation what was going on all could go back to bed could not get to sleep as the party started again (noise )

    The spa was the only good thing about the pheasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it's self was very clean staff were very happy and bed was great to sleep in food was lovely and the poeple that did treat ments were great really enjoyed it thanks a lot 😊😊😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the carpet in the bedroom either hadn't been hoovered or they need a new one!

    The whole experience was lovely. We'd definitely like to go back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Comfort and relaxation as standard. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and amazing value for money. Room was 10 mins late being ready and we got a free drink for this, just the little touches make all the difference.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not ready for check in at 3pm due to a staffing issue and also a fire alarm at 3am and only one member of staff on duty so nobody to advise what was happening

    lovely rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Spa was amazing and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In adequate fire evacuation procedures and cleaners not cleaning the room due to “short staff” (Their words)

    Spa was amazing and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off on the Saturday. Building was not fully evacuated. One person Checking reason alarm went off . Do not feel fire evacuation process was followed

    Loved the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Good stay apart from room not being ready on arrival and a 3am wake up call from the fire alram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and our room was not ready, when i emailed earlier in the week to check our check-in times. I was informed 2pm we didn't get our room till about 4.30. No apologies. Then we were woken up at 3am to a fire alarm and stood outside in the cold. To be told it was a false alarm.

    Spa facilities were lovely and very clean. The room was very clean and comfy bed. Resturant was very clean and the breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great maybe two chairs in the room would be nice

    The hotelis fabulous and the breakfast wasthe best ive had while ive stayed at this hotel - great to have the fresh fruit back !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in beautiful part of the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that the water from the shower went all over the bathroom as there’s no door or curtain

    Everything lovely. Great breakfast and nice atmosphere in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Good quality hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant, helpful staff. We had a problem with the shower not working which they resolved quickly. We like to have porridge for breakfast which was possible and came beautifully presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Amazing stay for my friends mini hen do
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were amazing. The lady who now manages the spa was absolutely fantastic. I treated myself to a massage and my friend had a full body exfoliation treatment. The hotel was so comfortable and really great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing break in beautiful safe surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs tray in shower to hold shampoo soap etc,sorry.

    Gorgeous decor,beautiful setting,rooms nice and big,bedding lovely and crisp,fantastic location,food in the restaurant divine,attentive friendly professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The Hotel was fantastic Lovely staff made to feel really...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was fantastic Lovely staff made to feel really welcome , Close to Llangollen , Rooms spotless , Breakfast plenty of choice staff in morning always smile made you feel welcome , Reception staff Very helpful, couldn’t fault it ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Amazing Anniversary 2 Night Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our break at the Wild Pheasant hotel for our anniversary. We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly from when we first checked in, to the staff in the bar/restaurant. The room itself was very large, with a separate living room area. The hotel offers free Spa access to all guests which is something that we have found hard to find. The Spa was nice and quiet when we were in there. It has a hydrotherapy pool and a great selection of herbal teas on offer. We had dinner at the hotel on the first day and as we arrived quite late we were thankful they could fit us in. Really great value for money as could get 2 courses for £21.95 and the food was excellent quality. Also the breakfast was also a very high standard with a lot of options. Lastly it is set in beautiful surroundings with a short 10 minute walk along the river to the centre of Llangollen. Overall a fantastic break and thanks to the Wild Pheasant hotel for making it so memorable for us. Will definitely be revisiting :).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were too soft for us.

    Great value for money. Very impressed with all of the staff - very friendly and helpful. Lovely walk into town alongside the River. Enjoyed using the spa. It was very relaxing after a days walking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Initial problems with room but other than that OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room allocated noisy as sited just above kitchen fan/generator. 2nd room no bath as ordered so given executive room. Very nice except toilet seat wouldnt stay up so had to report that.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Location good, food good, parking good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside light broken, lamp on desk broken, bath plug left on side of the bath - complete with someone else's hair! Not all facilities in spa working.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful place and grounds great staff just food very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control underfloor heating in bathroom which made the room extremly warm and stuffy. Bathroom fan very noisy and came on every time you used the bathroom. Evening meals were very rich no simple choices for a delicate stomach and small apitite .

    Very peaceful quite place to stay. Nice and relaxing. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A really happy experience which made the trip an excellent short family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff made this stay excellent. They really went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner and the waiting staff were brilliant particularly with the little one. Our group included an 89 year old and a 2 year old and they were both made as welcome as everyone. High chair provided for the little one and everyone looked after Mum including letting me take her breakfast to her room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Good experience in all and great for the romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at breakfast could have been better - it was a little disorganised and at one point, there was only one member of staff to be seen for a while

    The room and facilities were to a good standard and in all, a good experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    One night stay with a Almost Spa experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room- and hallwaydoors could use some noisereduction > now Every door that is closed is closed at hearings for the whole floor. The same towards the rooms : frontdoor have no real isolation-privacy : you can hear the whole floor, and they probably you :-) Both easily to fix to my known.

    Good normal hotel with bar, restaurant and Spa at the place : so Easy and relay. Big parking available. Friendly staff. Good coffee at breakfast. Regards I did check-in around 8.30pm I could not use the Spa that evening ( included in the roomprice ) > the Staff did offer me the possibility to use the Spa after check-out the day after : Top splendid service ! Sadly i needed to leave early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    The overall look of the hotel when we arrived .
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double room was very small compared to the twin room I booked aswell for another single guest ..which was the same price as the double ... Much bigger shower & bathroom The room wasn’t cleaned properly ,rubbish on the floor ,dust on the lamps ..there was no toilet roll ,& empty bathroom toiletries ...not impressed ... The breakfast was poor ,food not upto standard ,nothing left to choose from when we arrived ..everything came out to the plate at different times ... Not worth the money ...

    The overall look of the hotel when we arrived ..looked lovely...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    I found the bed very hard for my taste, and there were a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed very hard for my taste, and there were a few spiders/ spiderweb in places, but other than that the hotel was lovely, staff lovely, and spa was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    The location, ambiance and the feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really. But could do with adding sound proof to the doors as you can hear people leaving and entering their rooms. Steam room was not working which was a shame.

    The location, ambiance and the feel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Such a shame because the hotel looks nice from outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was awful looking out onto a skip with a kitchen extraction fan making a terrible noise can't believe they give guests these rooms we were moved to an executive room which we were grateful about. The breakfast was awful, no yogurts and just about edible hot food.

    The spa was ok but on the whole the hotel was very poor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and relaxing, just what I wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could of been better, few cobwebs around and the odd nail clipping on the carpet and the toilet seat was a little aged.

    Lovely room set in a beautiful place, spa use while we stayed was very nice but could do with a little more attention to detail throughout .. evening meal and breakfast was beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom design a little odd toilet roll holder no where near toilet?

    The staff are welcoming and friendly,the spa is lovely and the rooms are large sort and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: