Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leopold Hotel 4 stars

2 Leopold Street, Leopold Square, Sheffield, S1 2GZ, United Kingdom

#3 of 28 hotels in Sheffield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2029 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the iron to work . Didn't have enough time to sort it out prior to check out . No fresh orange left at breakfast ...(We were late down however and didn't ask for more )

    Central location. Well cooked breakfast. Cleanliness. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do get the noise from the restaurants in Leopold square but we didn't really find this a ptoblem

    Really helpful staff, lovely room in central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was someone else's finished room service tray with glasses on outside our room for quite sometime. No big deal to us but some others would probably have been put off by it.

    Very central. Great location and good atmosphere. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was quite noisy - there was a wedding going on past midnight one night and the music was so loud it was shaking the walls!

    Really friendly staff and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location in the centre of Sheffield. The hotel is situated in an old grammar & technical school with impressive collections of memorabilia from this period displayed in the corridors and open areas. The remainder of the old school is a beautiful courtyard square (the old school playground) of restaurants (including a highly recommended Cuban tapas bar & restaurant). Parking in the secure car park, a short walk from the hotel, was seamless (and at a considerable discount!). The hotel will store your luggage when you check out so that you can enjoy the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room overlooked a lovely square, which was full of bars and restaurants so it was a little noisy, but even with the window open it wasn't enough to keep us awake or anything like that, but if you're sensitive then you might want to ask for a room elsewhere in the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was broken! It was unfortunately a very stuffy and warm night as the windows dont open either a

    The bed was lovely and comfortable, lovely little room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy, it looked out over a courtyard of several restaurants and bars. The window didn't open, so we had to keep the air conditioning on - that's a pet hate of mine. So neither of us slept at all well, which after all is the main purpose of a hotel.

    Central, good location. Staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flush in the bathroom for the loo was stiff to push in! My parents room next door had a different one which was easier.

    Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were very reasonable for similar price of travelodge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive. Expected more for an slh.

    Hotel was comfortable and clean. Good location near to the town. Lots of restaurants and bars in the square at the back of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Helpfulness of staff - everyone was friendly and very helpful - a pleasure to deal with. The room was lovely and great value. The hotel is centrally located with a value offer on car parking, within walking distance to hotel and valid parking after checkout for the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited Sheffield to celebrate our daughters 'end of Uni'. We had a night out booked in the city centre and so the Leopold was ideally located. We were allocated a room on arrival that was small and dark and so I asked to be relocated. This was arranged, with no fuss whatsoever, and the staff even transferred our bags & accessories for us whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine and live music out in the beautiful and sunny Leopold Square. Heather was particularly helpful in this regard. Thank you to the Leopold and to Heather. Great service, fabulous light room and a really comfy bed. We would definitely stay here again..! Highly recommended..!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise. Nightclub in square until the small hours. Loud music and lots of people outside. Rattling cages in square 7 am. Ask for a room away from the square.

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud outside our room towards the end of the day.

    Loved the room, great location and just overall a lovely get away. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be coming back! X

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was excellent with Dan and Frederick who could not welcome us enough. The continental breakfast was lovely not to mention the complimentary prossecco from the Bar for our anniversary. I would highly recommend this hotel for the location, breakfast, staff and their attentive. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and very clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second visit here and we love it! Can't actually fault anything and happy to recommend to anyone. The staff are first class and the rooms wonderful, what's not to like? 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than I would expect but still very nice

    Great location with access to bars restaurants right on the door step. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything..absolutely amazing hotel, staff were fantastic and we were made to feel very welcome made our first wedding anniversary 1 we will always remember. Location is perfect. And food is amazing 5* all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a bit dated

    The room was small, but had everything that I needed and was clean and tidy. The Hotel has all the facilities that you would need for a stay and includes a bar. You are right next to the Train station and the shopping district and that is very helpful. I would recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fittings in the bathroom were a little shabby the button to flush the toilet was missing, but this did not dampen the excellence of my stay

    The room was beautiful, the huge bed was so comfortable that I did not want to get out of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and coffee were ok. But choice, freshness and taste could do with a little improvement.

    A great choice in the heart of the city. And if you find the city too loud the staff doesn’t hesitate to move you to a quieter room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad value for money. If you travel with a baby stroller you have to lift it up the stairs yourself in order to get to the reception!!! (Asked the reception there’s no other way to do it)

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the weekend there were several events held at the hotel and staff shortages showed in the drop in service standards and food quality. When these were raised with management they were swiftly acted upon and we were compensated. The manager said she had had staff members call in sick and one had simply failed to turn up.

    Lovely hotel with staff who were all extremely helpful. Wednesday to Friday the hotel was faultless. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 24hr food menu states that gluten free sandwiches are available, but when we tried to order, the staff didn't know where gf bread was kept so we were unable to order anything. Also bottled stilled water was extortionate, 2 large bottles was almost £10!

    It is a pleasant hotel with friendly staff in an excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive(!) stain on ceiling, no window only a skylight. Cramped wardrobe area where tea, coffee etc is kept. Water gushed from wall and taps when the shower was being used.

    Close to Crucible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people running the hotel and their care about the clients

    The management and employees were very helpful in caring about us when one of our member of the family had to receive doctor assistance and health treatment. They called an ambulance to make sure that the help was done immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Helpful staff. Liked the phone call 10 mins or so after arriving in the room, to check all was ok. Very comfy bed. Room was spotlessly clean including the bathroom. Great locatiob

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff we extremely attentive and professional. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the city centre. The room was nicely decorated and had everything that we required. We wouldn't hesitate at staying at the Leopold Hotel again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the service from the staff was slow from our afternoon tea to reception just seemed very unorganized...

    Lovely hotel. In an amazing location in the centre of town. The room was fabulous plenty of space and really clean and comfortable...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drop off parking bay was blocked making drop off/pick up difficult. It happened to be raining hard so this added a little frustration.

    Location & service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a rather unusual shape so the aircon worked at one end but not near the bed so it was hot overnight.

    Great location overlooking courtyard. Had early evening drinks on the terrace which were good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice comfotable suite, very relaxed and in the heart of the city, leopold square is a busy night time spot with resteraunts and bars literally out the back door so you really dont have to go farfor good food and great beer. All in all a thouroughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not ready at the time the reception desk told me so was waiting an extra half and hour, staff in the breakfast room were not very attentive but other than that I had a nice stay and would recommend this to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Malfunctioning lifts as my first experience of the hotel is not a good indicator of my stay. This was followed by walking into an OK 1/2+ star hotel room with the common accommodations expected anywhere for the price paid. Great shower, great bed, decent enough size for a business traveler or a couple. However, the fact that my concern raised with staff that the toilet didn't properly flush(!) was ignored leaves a lot to be desired, as I certainly can't be the first person to bring up that fact for the specific room. All in all, an average stay as other hotel offerings for the same price offer better experience.

    Attentive bartender and excellent food. Upbeat front-of-desk staff. Good location for my work purposes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar could be better equipped; milk for coffee served in teapot, no saucer for cup, a plate was used instead, water for whisky served in glass not a jug... Poor ventilation in room; no way to obtain fresh air. Did not require clean towels every day, no opportunity to request this.

    A friendly place to stay with excellent designed rooms. Staff very helpful. Wedding party on Fridays and Saturdays could have been off putting for other guests but we enjoyed the party atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight issue was there is a lot of noise from the Trams etc, but the hotel do provide ear plugs and I am also quite noise aware so may not be an issue for others. It would not put me off staying again though.

    We where going to a concert at Sheffield City Hall so the location of the hotel is perfect, only a 2 minute walk. The parking is also nearby and easy to find from the directions supplied by the hotel. There is a large choice of eateries to choose from so no need to go far. The receptionist at the hotel was very welcoming and helpful. Our Mezzaine room was a lovely size and liked the facilities such as Nespresso coffee and great toiletries. We didn't have breakfast but used the bar in the evening and it was very pleasant with some nice outside space if the weather is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of possibly pipes constantly overnight; toilet took some persistence in order to flush.

    The architecture of buildings and location. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly despite issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were hard. If I had realised before I got into bed I would have requested softer pillows. Not keen on the see through plastic chairs.

    Great location and a lovely building. Reception staff were professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very attentive to all our needs. We were out for the day on the Saturday so they let us keep our cases in a safe place which was a bonus.

    We were delighted 😀 with this hotel.We only stayed one night but what we sampled was A1.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some late night noise from other guests.

    Very friendly and hospitable staff & great service. The bed was very comfortable, and I liked having room service and nice places to work within the hotel. I loved the extra niceties like the scented candles in the entrance foyer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basement room felt damp and cold. Also external door to the room leading to the outside was unlocked when we arrived and only noticed when we left the hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing bad I can say about this place to be fair.

    The location is great so close to everything it's as central as you can get and the history behind the building is interesting also. Nice relaxed atmosphere to the room victorian building with a modern classic twist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the square, this obviously can not be helped in terms of location however the windows are probably the worst windows for that side of the hotel considering the restaurants, bars and drunk people are steps away

    The staff were lovely The bed was very comfortable The control over heating is spot on Shower was quite nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe double-glazing so you can't hear the people in Leopold Square at night and the recycling lorry at 5 in the morning.

    Not far from the train station, shops and the university. Comfy bed. Tea making (with added biscuits!). Powerful shower that doesn't rain on your head. Clean. Friendly staff. Good price - not much more than well-known 'budget' hotels. I liked the clips on the hangers to hang my skirts up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything nothing not to like.

    Location, staff were brilliant and welcoming and we payed for king size room which felt like the right thing to do and well worth it. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic rooms and great when I had an issue getting home, held our bags for us and advised us on the area whilst we waited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking fees are in addition to your room cost. I don't mind the long walk, but at nine pounds per night I wish they were a little cheaper. It builds up if staying longer.

    The location and the lovely big comfortable bed. I liked the fact we had complimentary bathrobes, slippers and bottles of water. Most other hotels don't know how to look after their guests, but The Leopold does.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few bangs in the night on the corridor sounded like service trolleys woke us up with a jump but other than that it was a lovely stay

    Beds very comfy staff welcoming. Big bath sheets. 5 mins to secure car Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was incredibly hot, almost too hot for some reasons and the temperature couldn’t be turned down, hope that can be changed for the future.

    Staffs were very friendly and the hotel was nice and clean. Location was central. Good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight issue with wrong receipt being given at the bar, which was queried and rectified. However, 2 members of staff then came over to explain how it was our fault as we had picked up the receipt in error as they don't issue receipts for drinks charged to the room. To do this in front of other guests made us not only feel quite embarrassed, but it also felt a little intimidating. Didn't quite see the need for 2 staff members to have to explain things to us especially given that we thought it had been resolved. Maybe we did pick the wrong receipt up, but if there is a receipt on the bar in front of you after you have bought drinks you are going to assume it is your receipt. The best answer to that issue is to keep a tidy bar.

    location is perfect. bedrooms lovely. nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy room - not necessarily because of the location but because of pipes and generators close to our room.

    Room was clean, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The faulty lift, one lift was already out of order and we came to a shuddering halt in the other lift between floors when trying to go to our room on the 4th floor. I pressed the alarm button and this did not work! We were stuck in the lift, eventually by pressing a number of buttons the lift decided to descend back to the ground floor. As my wife was in a wheelchair she could not go back to the room to get changed and freshen up. I reported this to the person on reception but he did nothing other than say he'd call the engineers, the lift was still left to run with the risk someone else would get stuck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was broken and probably had been for weeks but they tried to tell us had only just happened! The room overlooked an extremely noisy bar till small hours so not great experience

    not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it - the reception staff were really friendly. My room was lovely and comfy. The hotel is located right in the centre of town near to bars and shopping but was quiet. Even the car parking worked out well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was "upgraded" to a mezzanine room - ridiculous layout!! room was located next to busy and noisy junction with trams running late night and early morning

    location to good bars and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is going to sound a bit trivial I know, but to have a shaving mirror in the bathroom would be most welcome!

    Three stays in two months, each one in a room that was better than before. The room I stayed in this time was sublime. Gone was the 'titchy' room and the wardrobe. Instead, I had a very nice, comfortable room with a bed and a TV - once again - to die for. Ok, I think that I am getting carried away here but the hotel was extremely good. I would certainly encourage anyone to stay there if they needed to spend a night in the centre of Sheffield.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cloakroom/toilet facilities on the ground floor would be good; currently on lower ground floor. Only one lift working and other one was temperamental!

    lovely staff, comfortable bed, lovely accommodation, delicious omelette for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure if the room I had was unusual - it was on the stairs in the corridor and looked like the size was compromised (meant for example that there was no space to work at the desk). A tiny quibble.

    The staff were amazingly helpful - from bar staff to reception, nothing was too much and everything was promptly delivered. Best service ever. Everything was really well appointed and clean. My favourite hotel in Sheffield by a long shot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in central Sheffield, excellent for bars and restaurants, but remains very quiet. Extremely comfy and clean rooms. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t flush very well so had to keep pressing multiple times.

    Great staff. Attractive hotel inside and out. Decent room sizes and hotel is perfectly located for bars, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in the heart of the city. Bars and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Room was spacious and clean and staff very helpful. Only a 10 minute walk to Sheffield train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mezzanine Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh instead of plastic flower arrangement in room.

    Good responsive heating on a very cold night! Extra's inc. bathrobes, toiletries, bottled water. Large bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a side lamp on the dressing table to help with make up. Very minor point though.

    I booked this at 5pm to stay there that night after a terrible Airbnb experience. Staff were really helpful. Even calling up to our room to check everything was okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for an upper floor and got the top floor which has only a velux window with no view. Problem with smelly drains, but easily solved by running water into drains and plugging them. Cooked breakfast ok but quality a bit underwhelming.

    Comfortable, good croissants at breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were originally placed in a room were the heating didn’t work! However staff members were quick to place us in an alternative room which thankfully met our expectations!

    Beautiful facilities and decor throughout the hotel and extremely comfy beds!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed during bad weather, room was warm and comfortable.

    Lovely hotel. Room was very comfortable and immaculate. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful Only stayed one night, would very happily have stayed longer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the location excellent for our theatre. The breakfast was superb

    The staff were attentive and dealt with a problem on the day with professional curtesy and excellent customer care

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit more vegan choice for breakfast. Was an excellent selection otherwise Possible lounge area with comfortable seats if we were staying longer

    The room was very, very comfortable, smart and spotless . Excellent tea making facilities - included different teas - particularly earl grey. The bathroom shampoo and soap etc were gorgeous. Want the products for home! The bedding smelt ‘home’ washed And the quilt was superb. Might want a little lounge or sitting area. Overlooking Leopold square would be interesting. Only quibble - bit more adventureous cooked vegan food required for breakfast. Stayed with my daughter. I am 59, she is 27 and were staying over to visit my husband in hospital. Excellent value and a very positive experience. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, although larger than the one before, was still quite small - especially the wardrobe. Fortunately, I was only staying for one night but for someone staying a little longer they would struggle to enjoy their stay.

    I had been there with my wife a few weeks ago. The room was fairly comfortable - but small. Small enough to bang my head on the transparent chair a couple of times! On my return on my own things were a lot better. I stayed for one night in a room that is usually given to someone with a disability - which was ironic, as I failed to declare when I booked the hotel that I had a stroke over 10 years ago. The room was a little out of the way, comfortable and quiet. I had a reasonable - given the stroke - night's sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, clean room, decent size, and very helpful staff. Would stay here again anytime. Super Tram stop is just round the corner, Town Hall 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the downstairs room as you could smell smoke from the outside area 😒

    The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in ,staff fantastic 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold no heating in room. Too cold to take a shower when I woke up. Told reception in morning but still nothing done. Apparently there had been a power cut but rest of hotel was quite warm so seemed my room was particularly affected.

    Tasteful clean good location. Excellent breakfast great selection of food and coffee. Discount on parking at nearby car park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being put in disabled facilities room was a bit off, lots of alarms and panic buttons and unusually laid out bathroom and stuff

    Great in nearly every way

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in particular was really noisy and we had a poor nights sleep. Not sure if it was from the room aboves toilet flushing but some really loud noises during the night that woke us up.

    The building itself is absolutely stunning and the artifacts around that relate to its time as a former school are really interesting. Room was nicely decorated and in room toiletries were good quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Leopold Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They let us check in 2 hours before the advertised check in time which was fantastic. We can't wait to visit again! The location was super, only a 10 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: