Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lifeboat Inn 3 stars

Ship Lane, Hunstanton, PE36 6LT, United Kingdom

#16 of 28 hotels in Hunstanton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 479 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal menu was lacking in the quality I would expect for such a gastropub. Beer prices were more expensive than London as well

    Excellent room with all mod cons in a quiet location. An impressive choice of breakfasts too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has been given a makeover, presumably by a 'designer' with predictable results. The overall effect is ok but it lacks true character. The restaurant is awful. Same menu as the public bar. Just pub grub. Very poor furniture. Our meal was spoiled by loud children, despite reserving a table for eight o'clock. Our food was very ordinary and very expensive for what it was. £15.95 for small fish pie.

    Comfortable well appointed bedrooms Friendly staff The older part of the building including the bar has retained some of its old world charm and character The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit cramped considering that this was an expensive stay. No proper wardrobe in the room, just a shelf with a hanging rail underneath it. Would have preferred a chest by the bedside rather than a table; no drawers to put things away although there was a chest of drawers at the end of the bed. There were also a number of useless cushions on the bed. Hoteliers across the country think that this is a good idea. Like folding the end of the lavatory paper this is a hospitality trope that is impossible to avoid. We ate in the conservatory on our first night. This was rather noisy; there was a party of young women all talking at the tops of their voices just next to our table. The hard floor amplified the noise in the room. The table top was uncomfortably sticky. It was a plain unvarnished pine table probably impossible to clean properly. The tables in the restaurant were much better in this respect. Don't visit this hotel if you are not a dog lover. There were four dogs in the conservatory on the night we were there and quite a lot more in the rest of the hotel.

    Comfortable hotel in an excellent semi-rural location. Large car park directly in front of the hotel. Well appointed room with a sea view. Very tasty evening meal and excellent breakfast. Local ales served in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff were brilliant others needed more training. Bu tall in all they coped well

    Good décor and comfortable rooms. They've maintained the good character of hte pub and building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was well apportioned and very comfortable. Excellent bathroom. Restaurant very good. The Eggs Benedict for breakfast are a must! Lovely area with plenty of opportunities to walk and get with nature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal location to enjoy lovely surrounding walks. Great ambience for a relaxing stay. Full of old world charm but with modern stylish touches. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 5 nights but needed more hanging space for our clothes, only had small rack system in the room.

    The room was very comfortable also the bed, beautiful roll top bath and a separate large shower. Location was perfect, we took our 20 week old puppy and the staff who are fab spoilt him as much as my wife and I. Food was very good and plentiful, yourdog even gets a sausage for brekkie every morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn’t great, it was a shame for somewhere that promotes itself as dog friendly you have to pay £10 surcharge and can’t have them in the restaurant which means you can only have a very limited menu which wasn’t really that exciting. It was a shame as I was really looking forward to sampling more of the menu and that was a big reason I wanted to come here. Staff were really unfriendly bordering on rude apart from the lady on reception who was nice. I didn’t feel it was a welcoming atmosphere and I felt I was inconveniencing them at all times. We came for our anniversary but the experience was little to celebrate or remember.

    Room was lovely and location was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish we could have stayed longer!!

    Excellent breakfast. Room fab overlooking the sea. Has a very "homely" feel. Large car park. Overall a lovely place to stay a few days. Hope to go back later in the year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One half of the bed was so uncomfortable, the slats under the bed were broken / hanging to the floor so no support for the mattress Poor night sleep for me

    Excellent location and fabulous views, also the breakfast was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant disappointing given the overall excellence of all other aspects of the inn.

    Entrance hall with real open fire. Traditional bar and good real beers. Very friendly reception and being taken to our room. Location of hotel excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite being a perfect stay, £170 per night is rather expensive. However, I don't begrudge a penny

    The cuisine was exceptional. The whole establishment was impeccably clean and well equipped. Lovely staff. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked for my Daughters birthday she loved the place, we will be staying in the near future. Sunset was beautiful on Saturday. Very good choice at breakfast. Room and staff 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been a tiny bit bigger.... but hotel was fully booked.

    Atmosphere fantastic, superb and friendly staff, great food, very dog friendly, beautifully maintained property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    extremely welcoming ,,pleasant staff ,, nice reception with real log fire & dog friendly including bar & conservatory restaurant ,,top food choice & plenty of it ..will return again for a relaxing break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a sea view room on-line but was gazumped and was given one out the back. Not really a problem as the sea is quite a long way off anyway!

    The location and parking were great. The room was spacious, stylish and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a B&B basis and also ate dinner in the hotel which was added to our bill On checkout we were asked if we’d like to add a gratuity but this is then applied to the WHOLE amount and not just the food as you would if you tipped for your meal. Ramped up the price quite a bit!

    The waitress was amazing. Friendly professional and fun. Food was equally good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant offering in the evening was very very poor. We were the only two people eating in the bar area, our food was tasteless and little things like, our plates weren’t cleared before dessert was served. Plenty of staff doing nothing... Starter was not as described and waiter didn’t know what was supposed to be on the plate? Fish and chips were poor. I’d tolerate it in a middle of the road pub but you’re pricing doesn’t indicate middle of the road! Your accommodation certainly isn’t middle of the road, it’s very very nice. I’m happy to pay for food if it’s decent, but it’s really not. I wish we’d have eaten elsewhere, our stay would have been perfect then! Shame....

    The room and breakfast were excellent. Comfy beds, good shower and plenty of space. Breakfast choice is great and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and atmospheric pub with huge roaring fire and terrific location within walking distance of the sea. Pity that the bed in the best double was small with a cheap mattress. The room would have fitted a king size and we would have slept much better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A real welcome and choice of food was excellent ,also a real roaring fire . Our son and partner stay often and have two dogs who are treated well and receive a sausage each for breakfast . Our rooms were beautifully clean we will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing not the greatest. We had lovely room over the kitchen and luckily all the conversations finished by 11 pm. Could hear next room’s shower in the morning. None of this was a “problem”.

    Breakfast was very good - great choice, well cooked and presented. Evening menus were very good too. Didn’t realise this was “the greatest dog hotel” but the animals and their owners were kept separately to non animal guests having rooms in different part of the hotel and their own restaurant, which was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hanging space in the room very small as was the drawer storage space. Wouldn’t like to stay for more than a couple of days because of this! Also glad we had small suitcases for our two nights. I think if you were staying for a longer holiday one might get bored with the menu. Great for short stays - delicious, tasty and well presented. Sandwiches at lunchtime were super.

    Breakfast was excellent and the croissants were very good (I am fussy!). Dogs are made so welcome with treats etc. Able to walk out for long walks and not drive - a bonus! Local beers. Staff were excellent - helpful, friendly and loved dogs!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic gem set on the Norfolk coast. Extremely dog friendly and a special mention to Sandra who was a superb host, happy, energetic always with a smile on her face. Thank you Sandra, you added that extra personal touch x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was decent, only complaint was that the yogurt was warm, and could do by putting more that just one bottle of water. Also there is not enough coffee in the cafetière, coffee really really weak.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. Rooms were really clean with comfortable bed and bedding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few communication problems with some of the staff.

    Great room with sea view, lovely location with lots of wildlife close by. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked via booking.com for a premium room, the room we ended up with was the second least expensive room! Disappointing.

    Fantastic family dogs were allowed to stay Super atmosphere with open fire and comfy chairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately the room was sold to me and I thought Id booked a sea view room , this is not the case, the sea was over a mile away and was a represented by a blue line on the horizon behind all the mud flats. the room was sold as the best room with sea view but we wear there with friends how book a standard room and there room was just as good as ours and the view was better!!!!!!!!

    the food was lovely , the wine was very nice the hotel had a lovely cosy feeling! and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to come home ☹️

    Breakfast Lunch Dinner, Rooms & location. All the staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and very relaxing. We felt part of the hotel family before we left!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My duvet was only a 4.5 tog which on a frosty February night was way way too thin.

    It's a real old inn - walking in on a cold evening feels fantastic. Roaring fires, lovely bar, good restaurant and great food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our particular room was situated next to the generator or boiler room. At night the rattling, rumbling and vibration from the machinery turning on and off disturbed our sleep.

    Dog friendly, and the ground floor twin room we had was ideal for our dog

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had frosted windows to obscure a view of the kitchen roof- neither pleasant. Dinner was competent but average whilst pricing was on a par with restaurants serving better food. Did not expect the dogs......if someone arrived without a dog there was somebody else with two.

    Excellent breakfast , lovely roaring fires,great locality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff excellent, helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom very, very comfortable and reasonable in size with great view. Locals in the bar very friendly but that usually is down to the staff. Excellent dinner and wine at reasonable prices and very good breakfast. I would have liked to stay longer to try more of the menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little choice for vegetarians or vegans. Felt like a menu from 20 years ago. Fantastic quality tho. What l did order tasted amazing but these days you expect a good few things to choose from.

    Everything was perfect apart from their being very little choice for vegetarians or vegans in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!!!!!!

    My daughter and I liked the relaxed atmosphere with taking her 5mth old puppy to get him used to staying away with her as she is an actor having been in Dr Who,Call the midwife and many more! We will definitely tell our doggie friends! As we came from Cambridge a nice close hotel!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable, we ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent,very good portions and the staff very friendly and helpful - thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing we didn't like all our expectations were meet...... even the dogs.

    Myself and wife loved the location, that our every need in room was facilitated for even the dogs. There was special touches in our room home made biscuits speculated coffee and doggie bowls biscuits and his own bedding. We had evening meal that was fantastic and all fresh produce and made from scratch. At breakfast the selection was vast ..... help yourself continental and English as well as an extensive breakfast menu. The wife had eggs Florentine and the dog a doggie breakfast at no additional charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Good menu and good beer. It was very warm and inviting with a real fire. Very dog friendly! The bedroom facilities are excellent with even a cafetiere and filter coffee and bowls for the dog. Breakfast was great table service which I much prefer to a buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was abit bumpy

    Rooms exceptionally clean, generally of a high standard. Very large bathroom with both bath and shower. First class breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable accommodation. Lovely room, very comfortable bed, great shower. Food was excellent and dogs were made very welcome. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had a great stay.

    A great location, with a warm welcome from wonderful staff, good food, a great little bar with recently refurbished accommodation. Will look to go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, characteristic property. Links to the properties origins dotted around giving you a lovely feel of its history. Fantastic location to the Marsh walk if you had a dog or even for a lovely brisk walk without. Extremely accommodating for us with our dog, even down to providing sausages for her breakfast. All the staff are lovely, friendly and extremely helpful. Cannot fault The Lifeboat at all.. Yes it may seem expensive but I can assure you... Worth every penny.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting on arrival rood and uninterested, broken toilet seat, breakfast reheated as bacon was rubber , we were above kitchen so could here all staff shouting and laughing also extractor fans going till gone 11 then started up at 7 not relaxing stay when complained didn’t want to no , not worth 170 for night if took all above in consideration and charged 130 not a problem

    Evening meal, waiting staff polite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu stated there were dairy free options for some dishes - however the beef with mashed potatoes simply came without the mashed potato as this had apparently been prepared in advance. A bit poor!

    Wonderful location. Excellent breakfast choices, delicious food in the restaurant (although the dairy free options need tweaking). Very comfortable lounge area and magnificent fireplace!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame the menu didn't have any changes from night to night - minor gripe considering the food was great

    Great fire in the hall/seating area Quality breakfast - set us up for our walks each day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the kitchen ventilation system and it was noisey. The window in the bedroom had opaque glass which gave us no view at all and it felt claustrophobic. Our thoughts are...Stay in a room on the front of the building to experience a better night sleep!

    Location was great and the staff were welcoming. There was a log fire and cosy seating in the lounge area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had asked for a better sea view room and were a little disappointed. It was very cramped and the bed wasn't very comfortable. The bathroom, however, was fabulous with an extra large bath, very efficient shower and good products.

    The staff were extremely helpful and went the extra mile. We loved the cosy, relaxed atmosphere and the food was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Bedroom very comfortable with a great view of the sea. Breakfast was amazing made using fresh and quality ingredients. Throughout our stay the staff were so attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view at all out of the window- windows opened onto flat roof and fully obscured. should have been made clear at booking. Service in restaurant patchy at best

    Great location, newly refurbished room, spotless, great bathroom, comfy bed/pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food choice is very limited now and there are no exciting blackboard specials to choose from. Very poor choice. Restaurant updated. Not impressed with food in general apart from Breakfast!

    The overall ambience of the place is varied and well appointed with a recent refurbishment. Breakfast, and the way they look after the dogs is great. Even a special "bed" in the room for pooch!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dog friendly - even food and water bowls and blankets placed in the room with a couple of dog biscuits. A sausage for breakfast - for the dogs! - and just generally very helpful. The room was lovely, particularly the bathroom which had a roll top bath on a plinth overlooking the countryside and sea. Open fire was lit every evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could possibly fault is the size of the room as it was on the small side but that is being very picky. Everything else was faultless.

    The rooms were lovely and clean, the pub was charming and the food we ordered in the restaurant was delicious. The breakfast was particularly good! Lovely, clean rooms with White Company products, internet TV and v.good tea/coffee making facilities. The beds were very comfortable too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed in at back of property. Kitchen underneath very hot, no view, kitchen smells. Room needs to be discounted.

    Rooms beautifully decorated. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    This is the first time we have stayed at The Lifeboat and we wasn't disappointed. The room was lovely with a comfy bed and a great view of the sea. The food was excellent with a lovely evening meal and a great breakfast. The staff were very helpful and the service was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conservatory window is blown and glass needs replacing also could do with a deep clean, but forgiven as the atmosphere was lovely Background music would have been nice

    Liked complimentary bottled water and hand made biscuits nice touch although we didn't eat them . Cozy, relaxing lovely staff and comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather!!!

    the rooms were comfortable and well furnished and decorated and the bed very comfortable. we dined in the restaurant and the meal was excellent and well presented and the Spanish wine was also excellent. The staff were all very helpful very friendly and made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble and special thanks to Sandra and Jesus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent luxury rooms especially for staying with a dog. Great that dog gets a sausage for breakfast too. Reception also have towels ready for drying your wet pooch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room "Mitchley", which turns out to be directly above the bar. I was unable to change rooms as the hotel was full, but I checked how late the bar is open (11pm) and thought that at least after that, my sleep should be undisturbed. The last local left at 11.45, then 2 staff or guests carried on chatting until 12pm. I slept then finally, but at 2pm was woken up to the sound of chairs /tables being dragged around, sounds of a bucket, so cleaning in progress? also murmured sounds of conversation, plus occasional laughter, which carried on until 3.45! There should definitely be a warning about this room on your website.

    location. water and biscuits in room. food at dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of dog

    Room was very well equipped, best bathroom and everything was clean except presumably the carpet and the smell of wet dog was almost unbearable- a reminder that if you are not a dog person never stay in a place which claims to be 'dog friendly'

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature not great but bath was amazing and bathroom could of not been cleaner

    The breakfast was second to none had cooked Lifeboat full English was perfect both days

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very comfortable. Great location and good food. Very friendly and will definitely be going back again as this was my third visit to the lifeboat

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water for shower wasn't very warm on two occasions.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious and really impressed us. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location right on the coast on a very quiet road in Thornham. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Good was fabulous. Recommend eating in the restaurant - great wine list too. Would like to come back soon and stay longer. The room we had was well appointed and the bathroom was fabulous. Would imagine a weekend break in the winter would be very romantic. Lots to do locally too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisey night

    A nice hotel, with a good evening meal and breakfast and friendly staff, however I was expecting a better evening meal and it was a little noisey through the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How picky of us - found lack of light in dining room and entrance a bit oppressive (loved eating in conservatory though) but suspect that a roaring fire in entrance in the colder parts of the year could off set this. Not so sure of entrance to reception as wondered if being faced with a blank wall ahead of door threshold not the best entrance? Aside from knocking down wall (!!) could plain of wall be better set off with a decorative finish - a wonderful floor to ceiling depiction of boat/sea/landscape - or some reflective décor? - though NOT a rectangular mirror!

    Liked up to the minute, refurbished room. Levels of cleanliness. Homely, sense of humour, warm waiting staff - particularly at breakfast. Excellent dinner menu. General ambience was relaxing. Didn't have a dog with us but noted that there were many well behaved dogs staying; all lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant hit and miss, had ran out of some food although table booked at 8pm. Glasses and ice bucket not clean and had to be changed. Flies at bottom of patio doors not been cleaned away in breakfast room. A lovely pub but housekeeping needs some attention.

    Great location, close to coast path and in walking distance of the village and other pubs. Lovely room although on the small side, excellent luxurious bath room.Cosy pub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small.

    The food was vey good, the room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and the whole place felt warm and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic accommodation, noting too much trouble. Towels provided for dog after walking and food great. Ideal spot for walking and getting around - We will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did indicate that this was a honeymoon stay when we specifically asked for a bath in the room - I wasnt looking for `freebies` but must admit I was a little disappointed that none of the staff seemed to know this or wish us well - there are only 13 rooms so its not like there are 100s of guests. On the second night we were very coldy told that the Conservatory area was all reserved for 7pm. This was at 630 and upon checking at 730 there were still several tables vacant. We were not even given the option of an alternative until we complained to the Front of House Manager - who was very attentive and gave excellent customer service it must be said.

    Super deep and quick fill bath and a lovely bed. Well appointed room, although would agree with other reviews I have seen that the colour scheme is neither exciting or calming so they seem to of missed both boats there. Overall very friendly staff, super location that is very quiet and perfect for that quick getaway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the restaurant in the evening. Service Very slow. Food Disappointing. Fish dish had no taste. Would stay here again but wouldn't use restaurant.

    Great little Inn in good location. Lovely bedroom, comfy beds. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather but we can't change that!!!!

    Super dog-friendly accommodation, our Border Collie had his own bowl with treats, blanket and a welcome message when we returned from breakfast ( which included a sausage for him ) on our first morning!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed that when we requested for a table for dinner when we checked in, they had no record of this come the evening, BUT they very swiftly found some else another table for us to eat.

    Little extra touches like a sausage for the dog at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful in every way, whether it was reception staff, cleaning staff or serving staff, they made our stay a real pleasure. The position of The Lifeboat was absolutely perfect for us: Our room had a view across the marshes towards the sea which gave us glorious vistas all day long but particularly at dawn and dusk when a beautiful barn owl quartered the field in front of us. We were able to run along the coastal path in the mornings and do a short walk after dinner in the evenings, not for everyone, but just perfect for us! The food at breakfast and dinner was superb, made even better by the choice of atmosphere in the evening, i.e. formal or informal. Although we didn't have pets with us the guests with dogs seemed to be very well catered for and didn't interfere with those guests without. We definitely intend to return to this little gem!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service a bit slow.

    Lovely location, friendly staff, good food in the restaurant. A great view from our room with the sea in the distance. Recently refurbished so great decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grey, grey,grey...brown, grey, grey everywhere. A bit overkill. Tried to be contemporary and end-up being OTT. Looks like they had a deal on same paint. This is a seaside and you would expect a decor relevant to the are and building itself - 5oo year old building will never be contemporary. Missed the trick there, also, food not too fresh as we were served mouldy toast. Put me off for life and been coming there for years... but no more :(

    Very comfy bed, great location, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside seating - picnic tables- was not in keeping with the rest of the facilities and were uncomfortable.

    Comfortable beds. Food was good with good service. Later checkout was good. Characterful public areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: