Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lincoln House Private Hotel 3 stars

118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9LQ, United Kingdom

#3 of 47 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous visits there was bottled water provided, this time there was none.

    The location is great. Scenic walk through the park along the river to the center is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welsh cakes on breakfast buffet weren't as tasty as the ones we bought from shops. If it's going to be the only Welsh cake you try I recommend you to get it from outside.

    Great staff! Spacious room. Free car park had space. Hot breakfast dishes were tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel with very friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room. wonderful Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely Hotel with very friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room. wonderful Breakfast. A short walk through the park behind the hotel and along the river to the centre of Cardiff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    One night in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were too soft for us but other people may prefer them this way. This sounds really picky but for the standard of the hotel the loo seat was a cheap, lightweight plastic! The rest of the bathroom had nice fittings and a good shower so it didn’t seem to fit - maybe it was an emergency replacement?

    Elegant building in a leafy area of Cardiff very near Bute Park. It was great to have free car parking at the rear of the hotel or if full there was free parking on the road. It’s a walk to the city centre but we enjoyed it - might be less enjoyable in wind and rain! Our room was on the top floor so a bit of a climb if you have any mobility issues. The room was nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good - lots of fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses and cakes plus a very nice Welsh breakfast with a veggie alternative. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Great for an overnite stay, not too far to walk in to town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wardrobe was quite small & would have liked an iron or perhaps a trouser press.

    Lovely modern bedroom, great bathroom & a good powerful shower. Good size tv with nice tea / coffee facilities. I liked the fact that biscuits & hot chocolate were provided. A really nice clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor ventilation in the bathroom. Set the fire alarm off by having a shower and the office response was I don’t know what your doing but stop. They need to sort that out.

    Great location and fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and comfy. Breakfast piping hot and again friendly service from the restaurant staff. Hotel in pleasant wide avenue and easy parking outside. A traditional style hotel that we will definitely be staying at again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Warm, friendly and welcoming. A really charming welcome to Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delightful. The proprietors and staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was excellent and spotlessly clean. The service was impeccable. Great Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely welcome, very helpful staff, comfortable room, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome, very helpful staff, comfortable room, great breakfast. This was the perfect location for our overnight stay in Cardiff- short walk into the city centre through the park. Staff recommended restaurants nearby which were both lovely. We had a perfect stay and will be returning soon for another.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Really helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strangely, there was a used towel on a hook behind the door. We assumed that house keeping simply hadn't seen it because the door hid it.

    Really helpful receptionist. Breakfast was pretty awesome, especially the laverbread. Very clean and well organised rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    It was slightly diffiicult to locate the hotel but only because I am a Luddite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was not 'on'. A quick word to the desk person resulted in the manager bringing in an electric radiator so all was fixed.

    The location, so close to the city centre, is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place , in a lovely area !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in my room needed cleaning , and the kettle element was a little rusty , but that's all !

    The best breakfast, service , location, and the hotel was super cute !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Nicely decorated Victorian property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, but wasn't a problem as we had little luggage. Could be a problem if you have a lot of luggage.

    Nice Victorian building, well furnished and pleasant. Comfortable bed, toiletries supplied, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We loved everything from the location to the friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing me nor my wife could say negative about this hotel. It has been many years since we've stayed in a privately run hotel and experienced a more welcoming feel then we have ever had at a chain hotel.

    We loved everything from the location to the friendly staff to the beautiful hotel itself. We strongly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to visit Cardiff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal spot for discovering Cardiff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appreciate the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment. Some areas were looking a little tired. We’d like to go back when all the work has been done.

    The decor was good, as was the size of the room. Very comfortable beds and good quality bedding. Breakfast set us up for the day and the service really was excellent. We loved the hotel’s position in Cathedral Road. Great pubs and restaurants in the area and The Chapter (arts centre) is well worth a visit for soaking up the local atmosphere! The hotel is right next to Bute Park and a great walk into the city centre along the Taff. The ferry ride to Cardiff Bay was worthwhile, with a little history thrown in, too. From the Bay you can walk to Penarth along the barrage. If it’s too far to walk back again, you can catch the train into Cardiff Central - as we did!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming pleasant staff, Lovely breakfast, very comfy beds...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 204 blinds let the light in at dawn, Couldn't sleep from 5.30 onwards as a result. Could maybe do with a blackout blind

    Welcoming pleasant staff, Lovely breakfast, very comfy beds and an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Just the Ticket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. Both suffer from knee joint erosion.

    The hotel was ideally located for the city visits and connections. Neighbouring bar and Italian restaurant visited for anniversary celebrations; 3min walk from hotel room. Car parked securely on site over period of stay. Bus connections 1min walk from hotel. 20 min walk through Sophia Gardens to city and river trips to The Bay. All staff including owner were personable, attentive and professional. Access to hotel, bar and lounge readily available into early hours. Night receptionist on hand for whatever the need. Possibly the best breakfast spread and menu we've ever encountered. Toiletries and towels of high quality. Bed was super comfy, room in keeping with hotel style and deco. No hesitation in recommending and will definitely book next stay in Cardiff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A very welcoming, homey atmosphere, and good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot. The decor is a bit gloomy.

    Fantastic breakfast, very very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, lovely quiet room - as requested. The room was just a bit hot, in the current heat wave, although a fan was in the room and it helped a lot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    I think the place is fine. Price absolutely ridiculous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of the room for the room that we got was ridiculous. $500 Canadian. Will not use Booking.com for a long time. We have been told to book through the hotels directly next time. We will do that

    We booked a trip to Wales using Booking.com and this hotel was the most expensive of all of them. Certainly not worth $500/night. Apparently you add on a commission that increases the rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Quality hotel with excellent breakfast and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old sash Windows could do with replacing and double beds with kingsize if there is room.

    The Lincoln hotel is several linked victorian houses and common area of the house still give this character impression with old style parlour etc. However bedrooms are well presented and bathroom shower are very modern. Overall a quality hotel with a really excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, welsh scones as well as a full english breakfast. Hotel is ideally located close to the county / national cricket grounds a 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Carl was extremely helpful after a nightmare journey on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carl was extremely helpful after a nightmare journey on concert night there was nowhere for us to park, he moved his car from the car park so we could get parked and make our concert on time (just) the breakfast was amazing and included in the price. The rooms are very spacious and bed is so comfortable. The hotel is in great location for all major events we will certainly be back. Thank you to everyone for looking after us we had great weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice cosy hotel, love the decor and the furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice cosy hotel, love the decor and the furniture. Floor in the entrance hall is beautiful. We had a fantastic 2 night stay and breakfast was plentiful and gorgeous! Was bery hot but provided a fan in the room. Very nice, polite and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A very lucky find and we'll be returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best quality and range of breakfast I've seen at a small hotel. Decor in keeping with the age of the house. Helpful friendly staff with 24 hour desk assistance. The best things about a small hotel and a large hotel combined. The park is 2 minutes walk away and is a lovely route into town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location and comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. The hotel is close to Pontcanna and within walking distance of Cardiff's main attractions. The car park at the back was very handy. Everything was spotless, very comfortable and just as we expected. Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    The property is in a very good location, and breakfast staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having booked a king room we were disappointed to find a very small room that can only be described as a double room (Room308) which was also very hot. Also we were charged for the room 24hours prior to us arriving at the property We also would have liked to have addressed this with the reception at the property but unfortunately there was nobody there when we checked out.

    The property is in a very good location, and breakfast staff were great, along with the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable place to stay in pleasant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good choice of freshly prepared breakfasts. Beautiful house in attractive area of city. Pleasant walk through park past castle to city centre and railway station. Good pubs and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Room whilst small was attractively furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fully scaffolded and under external renovation. Not warned and initially charged full room rate for luxury room with view. View heavily obstructed by scaffold.

    Room whilst small was attractively furnished. Bathroom tight but hi-spec

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The Lincoln is a well sited, comfortable and extremely welcoming hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very comfortable - but too soft to suit either of us. In the en suite - we would have liked an additional light which could be operated without the noise of the extractor fan. There was mild inconvenience caused by renovation work on exterior stonework of the building - this is apparently soon to be completed, and its also reassuring that the fabric of the building is being taken care of.

    Friendly & accomodating staff - on arrival & at breakfast. Our 3rd floor room was quiet & undisturbed. Convenient location for our visit to see family - including easy parking arrangements. Clean & fresh bathroom - spotlessly clean & bright. Dignified decor throughout. Good quality breakfast with enjoyable choice of local produce.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Loveky hotel friendly staff food and facilities good quality and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating the breakfast was lovely and the surrounding park area only a short walk away was stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Not up to description given on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park inadequate often blocked. breakfast room not big enough for no. of guests/ rooms we waited 1hr for vacant table. Not informed of outside renovations in progress dust ++ and back access to hotel difficult with suitcases.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A real find and worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely clean and tidy rooms, friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast was amazing. Excellent location for visiting Cardiff with a pretty walk along the river to the city centre taking about 10 minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast you had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renevation work going on outside the building! No clean towels only one hand towel in the bathroom. Went down to reception to ask for some rang the bell but no one came. On the positive side staff we very apologetic.

    Great location hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast you had loads to choose from fresh fruit,cereals and a choice of cooked breakfasts. Staff really friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast - lovely fresh fruit and creamy Welsh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have been told beforehand that the hotel would be swathed in dust and scaffolding - it looked closed when we first approached it! As water vapour from showers sets off the fire alarm if the connecting door with the bedroom is left open, then there should be alerts about this in the room.

    Great breakfast - lovely fresh fruit and creamy Welsh cheeses ... and lavabread! Room newly decorated with super deep pile carpet. Really friendly staff. In a beautiful street with good access to city centre by foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We would return in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was friendly, informative, helpful and responsive to every question about our room, area attractions, restaurants and transportation services. And the breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff & freshly cooked to order breakfast included
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel very last minute. After booking I turned up 30 minutes later and was greeted by name by the friendly staff. The room very spacious & the bed super soft. Clean throughout and plenty of plugs (including plugs next to the bed!). powerful shower with plenty of hot water. At breakfast the woman who took the order was extremely friendly & showed a genuine keen interest in making sure you had what you needed. Breakfast cooked to order and done exactly how you want it. I chose this hotel rather than booking a big chain and I am happy I did. on my next trip to Cardiff, I will definitely be booking this hotel again. Very positive experience all round.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend The Lincoln. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have been able to eat in during the evening but they only serve breakfast (which are fantastic by the way). There are some good restaurants and bars on the same road as the hotel though.

    Friendly and polite staff, free parking, comfortable bed, amazing breakfasts. Set in a beautiful location next to an attractive park and river. A 10 min walk away from a water bus that takes you to the Bay area. Great location for visits to the city centre, shopping, museums, shopping etc. I would definitely use the Lincoln hotel again for future visits to Cardiff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Short but fine for what was needed at the time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. The scrambled eggs were the driest ever. Otherwise, fine.

    Bedroom and facilities in the room were very good. Staff were delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    The character and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small with a step perfect for tripping over and the pillows were like lead!

    The character and location. Staff were amazing, very helpful and breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, very good breakfast. Good location near the park . Thank you.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although room faced into side road , traffic was noisey from main road at 3 am !! No remote control for tv but staff soon rectified that. In the morning no hairdryer in the room . Probably gone walkies.Difficult to get staff when rang on telephone.

    lounge available for short birthday party before going out.Staff quickly gave us coffee & welsh scones on early arrival. Very good fruity breakfast + extra

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Relaxation in history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact we were too early to see completed renovation work

    Beautiful building, relaxing and attention paid to the little extras. Welsh Cakes amazing thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Friendly and welcoming stay in a beautifully maintained hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager and staff were all very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of advice about Cardiff, things to do and local history. Also, when we checked out it was great that we were able to still leave our car in the car park for a few hours. Lovely breakfasts too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Easter stay and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and had a lovely stay. Our room was nice size and had a very comfy bed. There is free parking on-site with plenty of spaces available which was a relief after a long drive. The hotel is about a 5 minute car journey into the center and only 10-15 minutes walk. The hotel is in a great location and the hosts were lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Very nice traditional hotel in a leafy part of Cardiff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit cold on the first day as the radiator did not heat up but this was very quickly resolved and heating was perfect after that

    Very nice traditional hotel in a leafy part of Cardiff within walking distance of the city centre; windows can be opened; staff is extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    All we could ask for, a wonderful hotel to enjoy Cardiff from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point only, a shelf in the shower would be helpful to access the toiletries needed when showering.

    All communications before our stay were courteous and extremely helpful. Lovely welcome on arrival and indeed throughout the stay we found everyone very pleasant, well presented, knowledgeable and provided thoughtful and pleasant service. Breakfast choices were amazing, all freshly prepared and well presented. Great location, easy to find and parking onsite. Our room was spotless, great quality fittings and decor. Bathroom extras lovely and piping hot water at all times. The whole house was beautifully decorated and carpeted, warm welcoming, it was a real pleasure to be spending time there. Thank you to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    A long weekend break. Shopping eating and general enjoyment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives!

    Full Welsh breakfast - excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. left the car in the car park and walked everywhere. city centre 25min stroll. Close to very nice park and river. Our room & facilities appeared to be newly refurbished. The Cricketers inn close by very popular good food & local beer. What more can you ask for?. Wherever you eat it pays to book early in the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay and I would definitely recommend to other travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small niggles in the bedroom such as the ensuite door not shutting properly.

    The staff were very friendly and couldn't have done more. The breakfast was one of the best that I have had in a B & B. Location was excellent for Cardiff City Centre. There were some issues with the mattress which were resolved quickly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Particularly enjoyed the breakfast the choice on offer was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift we did know in advance and for us not a problem

    Particularly enjoyed the breakfast the choice on offer was amazing. Parking free and in easy walking distance for the centre. Great Italian restaurant just down the road

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast with a great selection of fruit and cereals. The room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable, the hotel is in a lovely part of Cardiff right next to the beautiful Bute Park. I would definitely come back here next time I’m in Cardiff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the experience and will return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft which didn't help a bad back but other than that there's nothing negative.

    Fantastic location for watching the rugby at the principality stadium. The room was clean and bright and it was nice to have fresh supplies of tea, milk, hot chocolate and biscuits throughout our stay. The staff were very pleasant and courteous. Would definitely book again next time we've got an event at the stadium!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous Welsh Breakfast and not just the cooked option (which included laver bread) had local salt and welsh cakes, fruits and yogurts all from Wales. Wonderful. All fresh ingredients and prepared specifically for you. I loved the mismatched bone china tea cups. Free car parking a great bonus and only a 20 minute stroll through the park to the city centre. As a single woman travelling alone I also felt very safe in the hotel. The room and the lounge areas are cosy, and personalised with antiques mixing with modern amenities easily. bedrooms exceptionally comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    From start to finish the staff were always helpful and very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t disappointed with any aspect of our hotel.

    Location was a nice walking distance from train station along the embankment. Hotel was warm, clean & comfortable and all the staff we met were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them..Breakfast had a lot on offer and the staff again were so lovely & welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in room when we arrived but warmed up when we put heating on. Shower room never warmed up though (no heating).

    Really great breakfast and very friendly staff in breakfast room. Good value for money. Nice big airy room Powerful shower. Easy walk into town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Good clean accommodation, breakfast was very good and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, Excellent, will use again when in the area

    Good clean accommodation, breakfast was very good and friendly staff. The hotel is close to some fine restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far too soft, woke up with a very sore neck but that's about it!

    About a 20 minute walk into town which was nice, the breakfast was fantastic and staff very pleasant. The room was large and light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A very comfortable, relaxed and pleasant place to stay with exceptional staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and accommodating staff. Very good cooked breakfast in addition to a wide variety of fruit, welsh cakes etc . In a good location close to the centre with good parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Interesting late Victorian house with many original features...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting late Victorian house with many original features, sympathetically converted. Wonderful breakfast. Good value for money. Would certainly visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Good location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. It was easy to walk to the city centre. The hotel was lovely and homely, would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Inviting, comfortable, clean, very friendly and loved the quaint extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park small

    Attention to detail, china crockery, quaint salt and pepper jars, breakfast buffet exceptional with welsh cakes, lovely fruit, cheeses, cosy fire in sitting room, decor of rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    A reasonably-priced stay in a grand Victorian home.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the bedroom door locks could be upgraded. A bottle of water in the room would have been nice.

    Very friendly staff. Very clean room. Nice, modern bathroom. Great location with easy access to Bute Park, and a short walk to the city centre. Pleasant, traditional building offering the best of historical Cardiff that might be missed in a modern chain hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Lovely gem of a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located. Just a few steps away from a beautiful park which leads you into town (approx 20 min walk). Excellent breakfast. Infact one of the best ive had. Fresh fruit salad and so much choice of local cheese. Friendly staff as well who made you feel welcome and relaxed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for a quite getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too far to walk into town. Our bathroom sink was dirty and even after informing staff was not cleaned. When booking I informed hotel that I was allergic to dairy. One staff member thought that meant I couldn't have bacon and gave me a vegetarian sausage and was told the manager was away to say what ingredients were in the normal sausage, surely this lies with the chef.

    The room was very cosy and a lovely modern bathroom. The room we were in had no traffic noise so no disturbances. A great selection of fruit, cereals and cooked breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean, pleasant staff, extortionate price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was ridiculouslys expensive at £160 per night but in fairness comparable to other hotels, as a major event was undewrway at Cardiff that weekend..

    The staff and the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The hotel was closer to the city centre than we thought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was closer to the city centre than we thought. It was immaculate and all the staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely and beautifully furnished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was all you would expect. It was made enjoyable by the friendly helpful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Friendly helpful welcome from Carl. Lovely fresh smelling and clean room, comfortable bed, and sparkling clean bathroom. The service at breakfast was helpful and friendly, a very good breakfast with choices to suite all tastes Welsh fare included. My full Welsh breakfast was served hot and tasty on a hot plate preventing the food going prematurely cold (a pet hate). A well laid table and regional choice of condiments available, along with timely offers of another pot of tea, coffee and more toast . We will be booking at the Lincoln again on our next visit to Cardiff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable and welcoming!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, comfortable clean and very cozy!! Excellet value for money, lovely welcoming staff that help you with anything you need and a very good breakfast I didn't realise was included!! Overall a very good surprise !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel, Staff were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows on top floor need replacing, heard traffic most of the night. Told owner in the morning and they are being replaced. We would definitely stay there again.

    Lovely Hotel, Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and comfy, great for work overnighter
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an early meeting so had to rush breakfast which started at 7.30am, so one thing I'd change is have even some light uncooked options available earlier.

    Extremely comfy bed (I have a bad back and few hotel beds are any good!), great shower, lovely spacious room. Nice and quiet but good access to main roads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Visiting family in that locale, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing

    Perfect for our requirements including superb breakfast, spotless bathroom, free WiFi in lounge, lovely biscuits with the tea & coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got back to the room the heating was off. We asked to reception if we could have it on again and they were very nice and turned on for us again.

    Our room was very clean and had anything we could need. Also staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with lots vegetarian options. Parking on site is available and the Hotel is at walking distance to Cardiff centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to like. The room felt a little too warm in the evening.

    The selection at breakfast was wonderful, cereals, fresh fruit including strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, grapes, melon, Welsh cakes, chocolate muffins and a good cheeseboard as well as many hot choices including a full Welsh breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    we have stayed once before & will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I didn't like

    the staff are friendly & helpful. The place is immaculate! lovely touch having port & mince pies & welsh cake as complimentary in the lounge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect as just just ten minute stroll to city centre, with several places eat and drink just a short hop from the hotel.

    Was absolutely lovely, the house had so many original features that made the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    The downside was the heating, which for me was turned up far...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downside was the heating, which for me was turned up far too high. This is a nice hotel, and is good for the City Centre, but I do think it is a little too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Really good would not hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little too soft.

    Excellent place to stay. On arrival parking was plentiful even in hotel car park. Staff were really friendly and helpful.Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and cooked to order perfectly. We went for the rugby and the ground was an easy walk from the hotel. as was the city itself. Would stay again with out looking for any where else. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Warm stay in victorian town house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Tea making facilities kept in the drawer. Bath a little short.

    Reception staff very helpgul, lounge was lovely; breakfast was really good with attentive service. The room we stayed in was on the small side, with basic facilities- but bathroom was nice and modern - everywhere was spotless; good heating throughout.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: