Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Lindeth Howe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Longtail Hill, Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3JF, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.3
    Quirky Decor, beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit quiet in the bar/lounge - perhaps a bit of music would have improved the atmosphere.

    The quirky decor! Downstairs in the lounge/bar area is beautifully decorated - the room wasn't quite as quirky but the hotel might be doing this in stages. Service was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find. A bit run down. Staff mediocre. I was given a lousy room - had a feeling that I was 'rubbish from the internet'. There are probably better rooms. Just old fashioned British rubbish - a Premier Inn would have been better and half the cost.

    Was clearly good once and seems to have quite a bit of history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing, cozy rooms and an interesting place to stay. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I left my beautiful Indian white cotton beach dress in the room but it was never found.

    We were pleasantly surprised to find this beautiful old home in the country. We enjoyed the meals, sitting out in the garden and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Superb location set in beautifully spacious grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Curtains in room require upgrading as pad there use by date

    Very professional and polite staff, excellent food size also bed size, only criticism would be the curtains require updating as past there use by date, the backing is falling off, other than that excellent, we will use this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from Bedroom

    The room was quite small and overlooked the car park, we felt that we didn't get value for money, as it was quite expensive overall, and played on it's connection to Beatrix Potter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.4
    The bar and lounge area were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a really let down, expected a lot more. The walls were dirty, bathroom was full of dust and unkept. Rooms really run down.

    The bar and lounge area were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gorgeous hotel. Quite historic looking. Newly renovated. Fantastic floral patterned interior. Beautiful garden. Spacious hotel with lots of natural light. Really welcoming staff happy to chat to you. Everywhere had great character. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    The location was beautiful and the hotel was beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seemed like a chore for some of the staff to be accommodating but I believe this is more of a management issue. The restaurant and bar were consistently inconsistent! We ate dinner there three nights and meals were never what they claimed to be on the menu. This could prove to be a problem especially for people with food allergies. The hotel is lovely and someone has obviously put a lot of money into the interior. With some weeding and care, the gardens could be magnificent. The bottom line is that The Lindeth Howe has a lot potential but it needs to be run properly.

    The location was beautiful and the hotel was beautifully decorated. There were a few staff standouts like Carlos and Warren.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    It was lovely, the weather was great so got to enjoy indoors and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm a bit of a fussy eater so struggled a bit with breakfast but dinner was fine.

    The hotel communal areas and the rooms were lovely. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The staff were really polite and helpful. What more could you wish for?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a long walk into Bowness, but offset by a tranquil location.

    One of the best hotels we have stayed in. Beautifully furnished, stunning gardens and very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Lovely room,very comfy bed. Hotel is in an excellent location. Very pleasant gardens for sitting out. Many interesting areas to sit in inside. Newly refurbished throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    Except for the room the hotel was good and the staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was in the roofspace which made me walk slightly bent. I banged my head 4 times. The views out of the Velux windows was excellent but my wife and I were on a walking break so did not spend a lot of time looking across the lake out of a window.

    Staff and food first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Lovely break, breath of fresh air the hotel was x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t like the price of breakfast so I went somewhere for breakfast, I have dressy jeans and nice converse shoes but the dress code put me off dinner cos I wouldn’t have got in

    Loved the surroundings,it’s a beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Just perfect - girlie weekend away for some rest . This recent refurbished hotel is a delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi

    Room was great especially having my dog with me. She got her own bed and some treats! The beds were comfortable. Fab wet room ensuite. Only negative was the WiFi didn’t work in our room but as we were away on holiday it meant we really couldn’t work! So a bonus but would have liked the option!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    Perhaps take off dog friendly in your advertising.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi could not be reached in our room only out in the lounge or hallway Very disappointed in the fact the hotel advertised as dog friendly - only your room! We had to pay extra to eat breakfast in our room and eat out in the evening. This was only explained to us once we had checked in and not as I booked. At the lordor derwent water. They have a complete section for dogs, please visit.

    It was A very welcoming room clean warm comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    A short break holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The allotted room was on the small side and felt cramped . Being in the eaves the lighting was poor with no ventilation . There was also a lack of headroom. This is not a suitable double room.

    The choice of accommodation was for an anniversary break and to assess the potential for a future venue for our significant anniversary. The catering was excellent with a lovely presentation of the evening meal and a wide choice of options for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meals felt a little rushed and not relaxed enough. Probably down to young waiting staff following a process. Staff were very pleasant though

    Very comfy, large size bed. Very individual, quirky decor with Beatrix Potter theme, in the public areas. In a very busy market, this makes Lindeth Howe stand out Good restaurant and good menu choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing in a quirky environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had our massage in was less that relaxing due to refurbishments, I would love to come back and see how this has improved once they are completed. One of the staff members on the bar had a very brusque demeanor, often we felt as if our questions were a bother or we are in his way, particularly when we asked what non alcoholic drinks were available. For that extra special experience it would be nice for bar staff to be trained in drink recommendations and friendliness.

    The decor was superb and the atmosphere very relaxing. We were upgraded to a nicer room as it was our honeymoon which was a wonderful touch. Our room had a gorgeous view of the lake. The meal in the restaurant was delicious as was the the food from the bar Breakfast was made with high quality ingredients and was very fresh. I highly recommend trying their granola as it is delicious! The staff in reception were wonderful and helpful, nothing was too much bother. The housekeeping staff were very cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    4.6
    The location is good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked here as it's pet friendly but we were refused check in on 01/04/2018 as our little bichon frise was with us then the manager came saying he'll bend the rules for us so we can stay but when checking out I was asked to pay an extra for the dog

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Ideal location away from the crowds but easy access to Bowness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above. Plus excellent parking and grounds

    I do not like the fact that the hotel charges more for a handicapped room and so my husband struggled with the stairs. We have stayed before and we love the new decor etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    The restaurant was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking and the room a bit dated. No complaints though.

    The restaurant was phenomenal. Amazing food and fabulous service. The bar was tastefully updated yet kept with the style of the house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    5.0
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor service, staff just disorganised not very welcoming or friendly. Left our 15% dinner voucher in the room and on checkout would not allow us to use this despite spending £300 in this hotel in 24 hours. Not even so much as to take the 1 drink of our room bill. Coming from a hospitality background and being a waitress myself I could of served myself better. My partner ate alone because my steak was not cooked well done it was medium rare.

    The hotel its lovely, the food was really really good. Peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, great food, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definately the view. There was no view.

    Lounge bar and dining areas were lovely very comfortable great decor. Room was very nice, but dissapointed there was no view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Want to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A pool would have been nice.

    As we live most of the time in the Lakes we know it well. Our break was to enjoy the hotel and have a relaxing break with good food. The hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel and stay here again! Stunning interior in the grand rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting could do with being brighter by dressing table. I know you can use bathroom but with the wider shelf behind the sink and toilet it's a struggle to get closer to the mirror when putting eye makeup on. Maybe also compile a map to the centre as on way in we thought we can't walk to the centre but when we come out of hotel and went right instead of left it was in walking distance but also from £3.50 in a taxi depending on time and day.

    All my requests were met. All staff were very helpful. Beds were comfortable and rooms spotlessly clean and cosy with heating on in this cold wet snowy Weather! Breakfast was excellent too. Will definitely be back. X

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Beautiful property and grounds in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The history of the property and loved everything about it. The sights and the look of the building is amazing.

    Beautiful property and grounds in great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Meals were very good the staff were very professional and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sorry but don't think there's anything only one would have nice to be on the first floor but will should have asked when booking but we did not.

    Meals were very good the staff were very professional and Helpful and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay at Lindeth Howe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful stay at Lindeth Howe. The room was excellent, dinner superb and every single member of staff was exemplary in looking after us during our stay. We hope to return for a longer stay in the summer as we enjoyed it so much. Thanks again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable. Would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was cold so we were unable to use it Breakfast was nice but not outstanding, just average considering how expensive the evening meals are we expected breakfast to be a little more impressive!

    Cosy lounges to relax in with lovely decor. Rooms were comfortable though we would have preferred a room not overlooking the car park!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I’m honest the taps and round the bath need a good bleach. Bit scummy

    Beautiful dinning room , carpets are out of this world. Big breakfast, our room was huge as we asked for an upgrade. the first room offered was smaller than we have had before when have stayed. Jade was happy to assist us with showing us what was available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Very special night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was cold and radiator was not working.

    The hotel has been newly decorated and looks amazing. We had dinner in the evening and was outstanding. They had a man playing the piano during dinner and it was just beautiful. Want to go back soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Really happy we chose the hotel we’ve stayed at a few around the lakes and this is best to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could of been better.

    Stayed for one night for my girlfriends birthday. Staff from the minute we walked in were really helpful even gave us a tour and told us some of the history of the hotel before showing us to our room. The lounge and dining area looked amazing having only just been refurbished. Definitely going to be staying there again. 10/10 for service and the actual hotel it’s self.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    PEACEFUL,COMFORTABLE AND SUITED US ON THIS PARTICULAR SHORT BREAK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SIZE OF ROOM , SMALLER THAN EXPECTED. FAN IN BATHROOM RATHER NOISY, TELEVISION DID'NT RECEIVE MANY CHANNELS DISAPOINTING AS THERE WAS APARTICULAR PROGRAMME I WISHED TO WATCH AND COULD'NT

    WARM, COMFY BED, COMFORTABLE LOUNGE, GOOD LOCATION

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent long weekend away in a lovely comfortable hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bathroom could have been a bit bigger but it was not a problem

    The bed was especially comfortable and there was always plenty of tea & coffee in our room. We ate in the hotel one night and the quality of the food was excellent as was the breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful retreat from the frenzy and bustle of the Christmas period!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi is always a little iffy but we managed. The comfort, attention to detail and friendliness of the staff is a real treat, so no real complaints!

    The hotel public rooms have been brilliantly refurbished - quirky and stylish and very fresh looking! The restaurant, as ever, is superb with attentive and unobtrusive service and delicious food, beautifully presented. The quiet location, the marvellous scenery of the Lakes, make this hotel one of our favourites.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Beautiful,comfortable and super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Enjoyed it all . Has just undergone refurbishment of some parts which made the unrefurbished parts look a little tired. Once the refurb is complete in all areas it will be magnificent.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    They really do make you feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed here previously but this time our room was at the rear of the hotel where there is a neighbour who was cutting wood most days with his chainsaw (It seemed that way at any rate). not much you can do I suppose....he needs firewood at this time of year.

    Everything but especially the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.3
    accomodation great, bar snacks expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some bar staff were a bit set in their ways, and not very informative Cost of bar snacks was extortionate eg: charged £13 for modified BLT (or bacon sandwich) for a child x2, cheeseboard was very disappointing quantity and quality wise - the fruit cake was bigger than any of the pieces of cheese and there were 2 fruity cheeses on the board ??? This shouldn’t be the case when the cost of the accommodation is fairly expensive in the first place

    Reception welcome from the lady was very nice, breakfast was excellent, pool facilities were a pleasant surprise and enjoyed by the children In our group Room was very spacious, comfortable and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    The room was amazing and beds very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazing and beds very comfy. The staff were first class, especially as one of our friends was poorly at the time and the food was excellent. Cant wait to come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    5.4
    Hotel difficult to find. More signage on the road would be helpful as sat nav struggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture and decor in the lounge areas is cosy but needs revamping chairs looking particularly tired

    Reception and housekeeping staff exceptional Some restaurant staff quite grumpy and miserable Not a welcome on either day! Sad as reception so helpful and friendly The waiting on staff are letting this hotel down

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel, would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can honestly say there are no bad points about Lindeth Howe.

    We love coming to Lindeth Howe, the location is amazing and the staff are so warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    8.3
    Nice relaxing stay.good value and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a pool but this wasnt on the website so we were unable to use it.as we had no swim wear

    excellent food nice relaxing sitting room.Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful a treat for mine and my husbands birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the bedroom could be freshened up we were on the top floor.

    The restaurant is absolutely lovely we have been to this hotel about 6 times now and the food is exceptional every single time. The attention to detail both in the bar serving canapés and the restaurant sevice could not be better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    perfect weekend family break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi is hit & miss but thats down to BT rather than the hotel

    Beautiful hotel with lots of history, nice large family rooms with super comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    6.7
    Really unmotivated staff, especially in the bar and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really unmotivated staff, especially in the bar and the restaurant. I had to ask for something to drink or for food without being approached by the personnel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    4.6
    Poor overall experience unfortunately - wasnt worth £284 at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty swimming pool, and smelt awful, and terrible smelly changing rooms Ocer priced for what it was

    Location and room size, 2 mins srive from lake windermere and the town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.2
    Overall, a most pleasant and relaxing gourmet experience. We look forward to our next visit!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was too weak to check my emails. Nearer to Reception was stronger signal we were told.

    We liked the friendly helpful staff. The food was delicious and of a very high standard. We feel it should be rated five star. We shall return! My Birthday weekend was extremely relaxing (apart from the awful Lakes weather!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.0
    tel had an event on which we weren't warned about. Room was above the event and the music was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel had an event on which we weren't warned about. Room was above the event and the music was awful and playing loudly until after midnight. Not a relaxing stay.

    Location was great and reception staff were very welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Happy, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Silly people parking petrol/diesel cars in the electric charging bay.

    We received what it said on the tin. Particularly pleased that charging facilities were available for my car. Excellent all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the top floor and rather tight for space. We have stayed before and had a fabulous view.

    The food was very good in the restaurant and the service was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    2.5
    This was our worst hotel experience ever. Robbing the blind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indifference from arrival to departure, staff's muddy boots at the "reception", we were rushed to take the room keys to our rooms and hinted that we needed to leave the staff alone. One room like a cave, dark dingy and small, no paying customer should be offered such dungeon. See attached photos. The other room was more two star accommodation. This place does not deserve 4 * and the information on the website is greatly misleading. We had no hot water for over 20 hours and could not shower and properly wash during our entire stay. No sincere apologies were offered and when we tried to provide a staff member with our honest feedback they seemed bored and could not care less. We traveled 6 hours to get to this place and hoped to have some quality time. Unfortunately it not only turned our whole stay into hell but we left the place with very bitter aftertaste. Shame really as the Lake District is an amazing place and "hotels" like this should have no place there.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    5.4
    Overall it was good except that it is seriously expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service is a bit flat and not very friendly or engaging but prompt and otherwise ok. Very expensive menu in the restaurant and breakfast charges are astronomical, the food is good but the prices are outrageous. The accommodation costs are also very pricey for the standard of hotel and given the time of year.

    Breakfast good choice. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. The location is very good, nice and quiet and good views. The room was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.3
    Another great time at Lindeth Howe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ours was a Standard room, which was spacious and comfortable, with a large well appointed bathroom. The wardrobe was positioned in an awkward place and it was a struggle to use. But that would be the only minor complaint.

    This is the second time we have stayed at Lindeth Howe. The staff are all very pleasant and attentive; nothing is too much trouble. On the second evening a jazz trio played in the restaurant who were very talented and made for an excellent atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.6
    An excellent stay, a real treat though, not an every day night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff really went above and beyond - service in the bar and dining room were exceptional. The beds were also very comfortable and you were made to feel very special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Enjoyable short stay, would re visit and stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom clean and functional but in need of an update, however this didn't impact at all on our comfort or the enjoyment of our stay.

    The hotel had a nice ambience, very calm and comfortable. Our room was at the top of the hotel and it was very quiet with lovely views over the lake. All staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    4.2
    ok, but really wouldn't return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very unkept, there was flaking paint and mold on the ceiling, the grout was mouldy,just very dated.

    Location, and receptionist were 1st class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.4
    Stayed there many years ago, it was great then, so disappointed this time.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oh dear! Went to celebrate 70th birthday with son and grandchildren. Everything seems to be an effort. We were put in a dining room alone, not much attention . room cold. main dining had piano player, we had silence - not much fun for a special birthday. 9 year olds meal came last, by which time we had reminded them, and tall the very hot plates were by then cold!!

    Great building. nice warm pool. bedrooms large enough, nice bathroom. Open fire. good details given on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Sumptuous, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel. It was just as described and we weren't disappointed

    The decor and furnishings in the communal areas were delightful, in keeping with the period of the property. The bedrooms were well maintained and comfortable. We had a velux window as we were on the second floor and the ceiling was vaulted which made the room lovely and light. The staff were welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, from sourcing some extra wine to have in our room before dinner to a pot of coffee after 11pm when we returned

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay and loved exploring the Lakes District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have breakfast as we felt it was too expensive considering the high cost of the room.

    The accommodation and surrounds was beautiful and the room was quiet. There were rooms to relax near open fires and the gardens were lovely. The history was interesting especially the Beatrix Potter connection. It was only a short drive to the town and all its amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.9
    Apart from little niggles. We had a great stay in the hotel. Everyone was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was abit small. Couldn't get to the mirror close enough because of the skin. Toilet was too close to the door. The lighting in the room could have been better. It was very dark. The iron board of the closet door was a phaff

    Rooms with a gorgeous view. The surroundings. The whole experience was great. My first time visiting Windermere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    8.8
    Really relaxing in full comfort making it a wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was small and unnecessary for our stap

    It is a lovely home and very comfortable with excellent service. Our room was an executive room with a double aspect with wonderful views. Couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    I would recommend this hotel because of it's history and stately beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers were difficult to maneuver in, narrow with a shower curtain that clings to you. The food was a bit pricey. I say that because getting a few fries with a small steak for 28 Pounds didn't seem as special as it could have been. Being charged to walk along the walk paths too seemed a little greedy. Still, I will come back in spite of my little gripes.

    The interior was as gorgeous as the exterior. The staff was helpful and service great. A real historic feeling. It was the history connection with Beatrix Potter that drew us there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel but not the best I've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom needed a little work done. I also didn't like that it was cheaper to get room service then eat in the restaurant.

    The view from the top floor over the lake was very nice. I also liked the décor of the hotel I felt I was getting what I paid for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great venue but hidden charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £20 per night supplement for parking if not booked direct with hotel.

    Great view from room across to Lake Windermere. Excellent restaurant. Good base for walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Relaxing and an enjoyable stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the room it was so comfortable and the view where amazing. Staff very friendly and helpful would recommend to family and friends. Food was of good quality and good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful grounds/ home...shame about the rude staff and some crummy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in staff were very rude. The first room given was appalling with severe damage (pics), Mould, and the only view of an immediate roof. I demanded to speak with a supervisor after being refused to be helped and she then moved us to A "premium" room which was lovely and what I would've expected. Really, at 140£ per night it should've been the room to begin with and the previous room maybe 80£ Tops! Still though, none of the staff were kind after several interactions. We hope it was simply that they hate Booking.com customers and are nicer to others. Also as an aside- everywhere on trip advisor and the inn was advertised breakfast but that and parking are both charged and parking (20£) more than surrounding areas. Hopefully they polish up the place as it's tired and retrain/rehire staff- then the Inn would be a joy to return to often as a getaway. Not sure we will unless it does as we can get breakfast and a nice room at any local establishment for the same without the sass.

    The gardens and grounds around the facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    5.8
    Ok, but not value for money and you will be hit with parking fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking fee of £20 for 1 night was NOT appreciated or made clear before booking. This and a continental breakfast should be in with the price of the rooms! Location a bit out of the way.

    Rooms were nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    5.4
    I was very unhappy when checking out they handed me £20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very unhappy when checking out they handed me £20 parking ticket for parking outside the hotel. Phoned the hotel when I got home to speak to manager but wasn't there, was told he'd ring the following day but never did, it's a joke how they charge you for parking, I wouldn't of stayed there if a had of known that

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.6
    A "just right" break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have nothing to contribute.

    The food, whilst on the expensive side, was very well cooked, and there was a good choice. Because I don't eat large meals any longer, I was able to get lighter meals in the lounge, which were also very well cooked. The lounge was very comfortable, and I spent a relaxing day reading in there, since it was raining. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Just the place I need d for a two night break to relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    We would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV is not a priority or even a requirement, but the channels on offer were very limited with almost nothing but reality or home shows to view. If this discourages anyone, they will have come to the wrong place.

    The corner room with beautiful views across the lake; very comfy king bed; immaculate grounds. Bar, restaurant and lounge areas very comfortable and cozy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    6.7
    Nice peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location. Far from downtown. If you are driving yourself, no problem.

    Nice peace and quiet. Lady came and asking for add more amenities at every evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.1
    Staff were nice, and breakfast good, just a shame about bedroom being up in the eaves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was rubbish cramped. Sloping ceiling in front of toilet. Couldn't Stand up straight to go to the toilet. Would not want to stay in the room ever again.

    The view from the room, and breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room that we paid £211 for one night didn't come with breakfast also when checking out got hit with a £20 parking fee the room wasn't worth the price we paid even tho the hotel looks fab our room was literally a bed and toilet they also wanted £15 each for breakfast I will not be coming back here at all the parking fee was awful it doesn't state in my booking so think it was so wrong for them to add it to my bill very.

    It had a swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.9
    Overall we had a pleasant stay, the house is beautiful and the grounds are gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room in the attic space, very small. No sound proofing, so could hear snoring, coughing and conversations! There was a bottle of red wine and 2 glasses in room, believing it to be complimentary, we opened it and drank it. Shocked to find £21.50 added to our bill!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    10
    We were a family group consisting of husband (me) and wife,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My Son in Law didn't allow me to pay for anything!!

    We were a family group consisting of husband (me) and wife, 7 year old daughter, Mother-in-Law and dog. We had two rooms. On arrival at the hotel, the receptionist, Jade, was a welcome sight as she magically and personally, opened the front door for us as we approached. Even our Golden Lab Retriever got her own personal welcome. We were shown to our rooms by Jade, after being checked in, which was a very nice touch. Our dog had her own bed, bowls and food which was a wonderful surprise. From that point, to departure, we were all relaxed and made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. If you are going to the Lake District and planning a stay, we would highly recommend this hotel and will be returning later in the year.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: