Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lingwood Lodge 4 stars

Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3EZ, United Kingdom

#2 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 416 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Lingwood Lodge is the perfect place to stay in the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing....if I was being picky, then is was difficult navigating all the stairs into the building and up the stairs to our room on the first floor. Those with small bags would not have a problem.

    Lingwood Lodge is the perfect place to stay in the Lake District. The beds were supremely comfortable, breakfast fantastic, and for those who like to stay connected a super fast and free wi-fi. It is perfectly located, being a 7 minute walk from the model of Bowness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE whole experience was fantastic the hosts made me and my partner feel at home the room was spotless and spacious we had plenty to do we were told the best restaurants to go day trips out etc. we will be going back next year without a doubt thank you for a fantastic break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Very spacious room, comfy beds (amazing pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room, comfy beds (amazing pillows!), great breakfast options. Only 5 min walk to town centre where plenty of good restaurants and pubs (Villa Positano and Hole in T'Wall esp). Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable with good location and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real issues to mention - parking can be a bit tricky at first, but no big deal.

    Hostess very friendly and helpful regarding local amenities and attractions. Breakfast good and varied.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Delighted with our stay at Lingwood Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delighted with our stay at Lingwood Lodge. Everything from the comfortable clean room to the amazing breakfast and of course to Sandra and Carl who were really helpful and went out of their way to assist us with our itinerary. Great knowledge of the area and took time out to help us. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect holiday and we will buy a great Tom Tom Sat Nav soon!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think, my husband likes big room and big dining room. (A little claustrophobia and me too) Bruce said the stopper in the sink was not size, he was clean the face and the water was done. 🚰

    The Owners, she is very smart for Windermere and other town/villages, Very polite and intelligent! The porridge was PERFECT and the same for me, Barefoot. Barefoot in the summer and the winter. 👣

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Spacious room. Very friendly nature and also recommended places to visit and the best scenic routes around Lake District. Our previous stay was excellent and it exceeded our expectation on our current trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful property in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could be improves

    Wonderful property in an excellent location. The staff/owners were outstanding, welcoming and couldnr do more for us. The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast was wonderful particularly the waffles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Definitely worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didnt like.😊

    The location was perfect as we were attending a wedding locally. The room was beautiful..lovely views too. The owners were so welcoming that it felt like home from home. Breakfast was very nice too..😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    A 5 star comfortable excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing couldnt say anything bad.

    The couple was absolutely lovely they really welcomed me and my son they made us feel really welcome they put little details into the room as I don't drink tea so they added herbal tea in there they also accommodated me because i am vegetarian they made sure that my breakfast was cooked separately I could not fault anything such a lovely couple and a lovely place to stay. The breakfast selection was excellent I could eat a blueberry and strawberry waffles every morning for the rest of my life they was delicious the fresh fruit salad was a real hit with my son everything was clean as I've got OCD and it was absolutely spotless I couldn't fault anything a really comfortable bed as I don't sleep well and it hit the mark. A large room with plenty of space. It had a really warm friendly atmosphere it wasn't far from the main town so only a short walk away. Would reccomend to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    A very warm, comfortable and beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in is strict to the hours mentioned. Just something to bear in mind when you plan your trip.

    Delicious homemade breakfast. Huge room with all the facilities needed and very comfortable beds. A great view and to a short walking distance from the town. A beautiful and very warm place to stay. Hosts are helpful and can give many suggestions for activities and what to do in the area of lake district.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    A perfect weekend stay at the Lingwood Lodge Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room, gorgeous comfy bed and in a beautiful and peaceful location. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the lovely garden views from our room and very pretty outside seating areas to sit with a glass of wine! The very tasty full cooked breakfast made a great start to the day and only a 5 minute walk to Lake Windermere all the activities in Bowness. A perfect stay, Thank You.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sandra and Carl were the perfect hosts, attentively looking after our every need. Breakfast was superb and made-to-order. The room was spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The facility was outstanding in its cleanliness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing--couldn't be better.

    The facility was outstanding in its cleanliness and convenience to the airport. The owners went out of their way to welcome me and to accommodate me early flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Please see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    We had a wonderful over night stay, Lingwood Lodge was lovely, Sandra really looked after us, the breakfast and room we stayed in was beautiful, we would definitely return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great stay and highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The owners Carl and Sandra made us feel very welcome from the off. Beautiful kept property with tastefully decorated rooms and good facilities. Breakfast was amazing and the service excellent. Close to bowness centre and ample parking. My only regret is we couldnt stay longer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place in Bowness-on-Windemere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As my husband and I are aging, we had some difficulty with getting our luggage upstairs, but solved the problem by loading a smaller bag and carrying that to our room. The only other possible short-coming was that our shower was small (approx. 80mmX80mm).

    The location was excellent in that it was within walking distance of Windemere but away from the noise; parking was easy; the room and public parts of the premises were clean and beautifully appointed; the hosts were friendly, informative and helpful; the breakfasts were excellent, served with style and perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, just 5 minutes walk to Windermere lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, just 5 minutes walk to Windermere lake pier, some distance to road, so quiet space but with convenience. Room is bright and spacious, with huge king size bed and another single bed for kid. Host is very friendly and warm hearted. Bottle water is provided in the room. Local tour guide and service are also provided per request. I like the table and chairs outside of the house, you can sit there to enjoy guard view and read a book.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent customer service by Sandra and Carl way before check in and wonderfully warm and friendly experience during our stay. Our kids also enjoy talking with them and the lovely breakfast they serve. Definitely the best experience at the Lakes district at the passionate couple's lodge!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    carl and sandradom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh we really enjoyed our stay at this pretty lodge...the location was perfect and our room overlooked the pictureque lake side,the hosts were extremely friendly and the welcome was warm..they had an amzing collection of DVD whiich we could view...the breakfast fresh and the piping hot coffee was fantastic...would surely recommend it for tourists planning a vacation to the lakes!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    A very good place to stay in Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it is not that important, the breakfast room had no windows and the Lodge had no lobby or living room.

    The owners are extremely kind and helpful. They gave us the best tips on where to go, they even offered maps. Location was exceptional. Everything was very good. Breakfast was excelent. The room was quite good for the price with a private bath (also very good).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn’t like was coming home!!!

    The location was perfect ,the room was too and the breakfast was gorgeous,Carl and Sandra were great hosts .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was fabulous and staff knew every customers name. We were given advice as to where to travel to and made to feel really welcome - even with a three year old!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    What a welcome Sandra and Karl are the perfect hosts .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it is perfect

    What a welcome Sandra and Karl are the perfect hosts . They made me and my partner very welcome and took the time to chat and get to know us . The hotel is very clean smart and homily too . The breakfast was superb . We are coming back very soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfect! Can't wait to revisit next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sandra is an amazing host, so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much. The location is just perfect too, only a few minutes from the lake and shops and restaurants. Good sized room, very spacious, clean and comfortable. Great choice for breakfast, very smoothly run operation!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding quality of care and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast exceptional. Care and attention to personal needs outstanding. Sandra and Carl cant be helpful enough. Excellent location within easy reach of Bowness pier but set back from the road,. Therefore does have a steep drive but well worth it. An outstanding B and B

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic b and b this place is spotless couldnt do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coming away

    Fantastic b and b this place is spotless couldnt do enough for us with a lovely breakfast only stayed the 1 night but cant wait to go back ... thank you sandra and carl for making us feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous Bed and Breakfast, room was beautiful and after searching for a while was the only place that offered a family room where we could all be in the same room together. The bed was amazing...so huge and extremely comfortable. Sandra and Carl where lovely, Sandra explained the area to us and gave us some tips on where to go. Breakfast was amazing too! The surroundings where beautiful and we didn’t do nowhere near as much as we wanted as we didn’t have the time. We will definitely be back soon for more than just the 1 night!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, great accomodation inclusive of brilliant service at the right price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent from the moment we arrived to the second we left. Great all round value for money. The owners certainly know how to run a hotel offering a ware welcome within a spotless accommodation. Great breakfast and great service. The price was on the money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Will stop there again whenever possible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed pillows were a bit too soft for our situation but nothing else!

    Nice view from our room,and the owners were very friendly and would recommend the lingwood to anybody for a visit ,also it was in a very good location for the town!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We have stayed at various hotels in our previous trips to Windermere. Would rate this B & B and the hosts, Sandra and Carl as the best. Would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of steps up to house.

    Breakfast fresh fruit, full English & bread freshly baked all really tasty. Bed & room very clean,warm & comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Perfect lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless lodge. Convenient location, 5 minutes walking from lakes. Sandra is so kind and helpful and gives all necessary information about Bowness-on-Windermere. Breakfast is wonderful and Carl is perfect in cooking. Half buffet. Definitely will recommend.P

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lingwood Lodge was a fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lingwood Lodge was a fantastic place to stay. Was made to feel comfortable and at home. The owners were extremely helpful as me and my partner had never been to Bowness before and helped us with places to eat and drink and sights to see. Can't recommend highly enough, we will definately be back in the near future!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    me and me husband came for the weekend and we have really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    me and me husband came for the weekend and we have really enjoyed ourselves! Sandra and Carl were very attentive and always on hand to help. We would definitely recommend this place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What's not to like ????

    The couple who own this place are 11 out of 10. They couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was more like a 5 star plus. If you don't enjoy the food here you won't enjoy it anywhere, truly superb and I mean superb !! Been to the Lakes many many times, but now we've found this place we won't be stopping anywhere else. Great location as well, you can be in the centre of the village or at the Lakeside in less than 5 minutes max. We wish Sandra and Carl all the best. From Phil and Pat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent property. Great location. Magnificent breakfast, Sandra and Carl were great hosts, the family rooms are a really great size, beds really comfy. When next coming to Bowness we will definitely stay here again. Best b & b I have stayed in, the quality reminded me of North American accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Easy to operate shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to operate shower. Beautiful breakfast. Ideally situated to take a boat trip on Lake Windermere - 5 minutes walk away. Bowness has many places to eat, from posh hotels to good pub grub. Had a great time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent position for walking into town Excellent hosts Sandra & carl very knowledgeable about things to do & places to dine out. The room was lovely & clean & breakfast great choice Overall excellent position & nothing to much trouble for Sandra & carl Will return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Lovely welcoming, comfortable stay with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a lovely friendly welcome from Sandra and met Carl the next morning at breakfast - who was also really friendly. The rooms where extremely clean, warm and welcoming with ample space. Breakfast was lovely. Sandra very knowledgeable about the area and restaurants etc. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Perfect hospitality and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The Lodge is in a perfect location , the owners are lovely people very informative to make our stay most enjoyable the room was clean and up to date , to a standard you would excpect for a comfortable stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Clean, friendly and made to feel very welcome.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts are excellent, the lodge is spotless and nothing is too much trouble for the owners, Sandra and Carl who create a friendly atmosphere. Sandra has some very good recommendations of things to do and places to go. The location is ideal for exploring the Lakes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    The best B&B I've been so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's nothing wrong with the property

    Good Location, great staff, great facilities, modern rooms, very good breakfast. Sandra and Carl are great, nothing was too much for them, they help us with everything we asked. Definitely we'll go back there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay - right in the centre of Bowness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not find fault with anything.

    The beds were extremely comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and informative about things to do and places to go and were very friendly. The breakfasts were relaxed and plentiful. Our Grandson loved the waffles !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable accommodation in the heart of the Lake District!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit tight with a full house.

    Lovely, helpful hosts. The lodge is located in a quiet area of Bowness but with easy access to the centre and the lakefront. The rooms are quite spacious and recently renovated to a high standard. Breakfast was cooked to order with local produce. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing and enjoyable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You really couldnt find any fault with the standard of accommodation and quality of breakfast provided. The attention to detail of services given to the guests by Sandra and Carl was first class

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay, will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sandra was a fantastic host, full of knowledge and made some great suggestions for food and activities. The lodge is in a great location, within walking distance of the ferry port and Bowness, not to mention the excellent pubs! Tip, make sure you book a stay with breakfast, it's delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this B&B - lovely rooms, great breakfast, charming hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is minimal and very tight - Can be a drama if other people do not park considerately otherwise no problem! Nice and close for a stroll to town.

    Great stay at this B&B. Very welcoming hostess. Nice size room with comfy beds and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful quiet oasis within a short walk of Lake Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom were small, and it was a challenge to open up our suitcases.

    Our hosts were very hospitable and were a great source of information and advice. The breakfast was top notch with a delicious cooked breakfast, lovely breads, stewed and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, having a nice room in a good location was a great start to our time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a little tight as not many spaces and not a lot of room

    Very friendly and attentive owners. Nice large room and a lovely breakfast. Great location for Lake Windemere easy walk to the lake and to the shops in Bowness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent standards throughout . Breakfast superb ...excellent food safety standards . Very friendly hosts . Would definitely stay again. Ideal location for town and lake , less than a five minute walk to lakeside with easy access to lake cruise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    AMAZING!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay at Lingwood lodge, everything about the b and b exceeded our expectations. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was super comfy. It had the most informative guest information book we had ever seen. Nothing was to much trouble and the service was very personal. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location was great too. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to visit Bowness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    A faultless stay friendly and relaxing would recommend we will be returning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hard to single one thing out Carl's breakfasts were amazing,Sandras help with planning our stay made sure we got the best out of it.Great location. The lodge itself is well furnished ,pretty and spotless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hosts in a stunning part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave!

    The new owners were absolutely fantastic in making our stay comfortable and welcoming, the friendly and helpful service really enhanced our stay and we cannot wait to return to this beautiful area. The room was comfortable, although smaller than we would normally stay, it had everything we needed. Breakfast was brilliant. All in all, a top place with brilliant hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Everything was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the rain was actually quite refreshing.

    Fantastic stay! The proprietor were extremely friendly and welcoming, they gave superb advice and recommendations of where to visit for value for money. The breakfast was delicious and more than filling with a vast optional variety; quite possibly the best breakfast I have ever had. I cannot recommend enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited TV channels available, but compensated by DVDs that are available

    The owners were excellent - friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice and all freshly cooked. Situated very close to the Lake front and town centre. Extensive DVD library available to borrow from to use with DVD player in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    definitely worth a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can,t think of a down side to our stay.

    The full English breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room is really pleasant (as are the rooms). Carl & Sandra are both efficient & really friendly at the same time. Lingwood has to be one of the nicest places that we have stayed. The bonus is the outside terrace, beautiful place to sit and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Windemere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Everything was well laid out- Sanda was very knowledgeable about the area and greeted us with maps and lots of ideas about things to do. The food at breakfast was individually prepared and very tasty! The lodge provides umbrellas so that shouldn't stop anyone from going down the hill to town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Large well appointed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to recall any dislikes.

    Large well appointed room. Within easy walking distance into town. Excellent English breakfast cooked to order plus cereal and toast. Very friendly and informative hosts that supplied us with discount vouchers for a boat trip on Windermere, and booked a land excursion for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Lovely central B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was very welcoming. The room was beautifully furnished and they'd provided lovely toiletries and plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Superb B&B in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Great location within walking distance of town. Sandra and Carl were great hosts very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly welcome by our host Sandra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly welcome by our host Sandra. Visiting area for our 30th wedding anniversary. Breakfast was beautifully cooked by Carl. Would highly recommend if you wanted informal friendly welcome. They had lots of time to get to know us with lots of local information about area and restaurants etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful Family Weekend Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in the Large Family Room, which was a good sized room and ample for our visit; it didn’t feel at all claustrophobic. The B&B owners Sandra and Carl were very welcoming and helpful and gave us some good advice on where to eat out with small children, which was gratefully received as the restaurant served wonderful food and all staff were pleasant and good with children. The B&B is perfectly situated with a 5 minute walk to the waterfront and only 2 minutes by car to the car ferry. Breakfast was fantastic and there was a wide variety to choose from for both adults and small children and all freshly made by Carl – I can recommend the Poached Eggs – delicious. The B&B is very clean and the rooms are very clean too; the breakfast room is very comfortable and you are welcomed to breakfast each morning by Sandra, who is attentive and nothing is too much trouble especially when you have a fussy little eater in your party; there is also a fridge in the breakfast room that you can use for drinks, baby food etc. As we had gorgeous weather it was lovely to sit outside on the balcony each night. All in all we had a lovely, relaxing weekend away and we will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Perfect place to visit the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect place to visit the Lake District. Walking distance to Bowness on Windermere. Breakfasts excellent and owners very nice. Accommodations were perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Due to the friendly staff and location I would stay again but preferably in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view from the room unfortunately. The shower door was rather awkward to open especially when trying to shower my grandson.

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    A short stay in June
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Carl and Sandra are truly exceptional hosts, their attention to detail is exemplary. All in all, my wife and I loved our recent break at their lovely B&B. We will be going back for a return visit soon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable and comfortable stay, superb hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely NOTHING.

    The hosts Sandra and Carl went out of the way to look after everything. Excellent breakfast selection. Good advice and interest in our activities. We will be back again anytime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and pleasant, helpful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything

    Sandra and Carl where very welcoming helpful and catered for my wife who was recently diagnosed with coeliac disease the room was clean very comfortable and had a pleasant view towards the lake overall a very enjoyable stay would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    A very quiet, comfortable, friendly hotel with immaculate rooms and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could find nothing to complain about, I would definitely visit again.

    The hotel was very comfortable, clean and the hostess was incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local sights and restaurants etc. Breakfast was great and the hotel is ideally located close to the lake and the jetties for the lake cruises as well as being within easy walking distance of the centre of Bowness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    The owners could not do enough to help with both restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners could not do enough to help with both restaurant options & areas of interest to be visited. Only a short 500 metre walk into the centre of town. Breakfast was superb !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely emaculate, clean and fresh. Sandra and Carl were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was first class. Would highly recommend and we'll definitely come back again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    I highly recommend Lingwood for anybody to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not anything that I did not like.

    We liked the all of it! The beds were comfy. The breakfast was cooked fresh & delicious. The room and the facilities were cleaned and maintained to a high standard. Sandra and Carl were very helpful. They helped us with our luggage and also advised on what to visit and see around. They even upgraded us to a bigger and nicer room on the ground floor! Great for families!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in the Lakes district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you drive into town from the south keep your eyes open for the Lingwood sign it is a bit hard to see..

    Everything was fantastic. The room was great as was the breakfasts. The host were incredibly helpfull and really great people. Probably one of the best we have stayed in so far on this 6 week trip through UK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant place to stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to stay longer.

    The owners Sandra & Carl were very welcoming, the rooms were modern, very clean. Breakfast was delicious. I had my 12 year old son with me & there were games & many DVDs available to use. Was a great location, only few minutes walk to the lake & shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    A delightful place to stay and would highly recommend it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any faults.

    The accommodation was lovely and of a very high standard. The location was beautiful and very close to all Bowness amenities. Delicious well cooked breakfast. Excellent, very efficient and friendly service nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay theee again.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: