Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lion & Pheasant Hotel 3 stars

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1XJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 15 hotels in Shrewsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift, however the staff did offer to take our bags upstairs

    The staff were very friendly and professional which made our stay more enjoyable. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, the cooked breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed only 4ft 6 so although it was a small room felt it more suited to a single room. No lift but yes it in old building so ask for first floor if you have mobility issues.

    Breakfast and dinner were superb and a they have an exc lent chef.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside of this hotel was the noise through the window to the front, which had to be open because it was a very warm night when we visited. I would recommend a rear facing room because of this.

    The property was quirky and different and within easy walking distance of the centre. The room was comfortable and light and the bathroom very clean. A good quality breakfast was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful receptionist, changed our booking as we’d made a mistake with date, answered question about car parking andgave us the quiet room we’d asked for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe air conditioning in front rooms as noisy when window open.

    Bed comfy and nice feather pillows. Very clean. all the little extras were there---tea coffee biscuits-ironing board and iron. Water bottle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Décor was impressive throughout, really felt like a luxury hotel. Everything about our say was great. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for a superior room and really our room was quite small / cosy - I'm not sure how small a standard would be, you really wouldn't want a smaller room than we had. The room was very hot and we couldn't open the window, however our room faced onto the street and was extremely noisy from about 5.30/6am with street cleaners etc and this was with the window closed. I would definitely stay again but would request a room at the back of the hotel not one overlooking the street.

    Excellent location, very clean hotel. Room was tastefully decorated if not a little plain, bed was extremely comfy. Exceptional breakfast selection. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was airless. made for an uncomfortable nights sleep! There is secondary glazing on the window which only allowed a small part to be opened

    Dinner was good and musical entertainment very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't attempt to turn into the hotel's car park from the same side of the road the hotel is on; it's too narrow to turn in without approaching from the opposite side. If approaching from the east, best to turn right into the NCP almost opposite then drive out into the hotel car park across the road.

    Real, cask conditioned ale kept well. Exceptional meal in the restaurant at a very reasonable price for the quality. Cooked breakfast options better than most 4* hotels. Buffet options more limited, but the cooked breakfast more than compensates. Walk-in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After booking on booking.com I re-read some reviews and people suggesting to book a room at the back of the hotel due to traffic noise at the front, so I emailed and requested a room at the back of the hotel for this reason and had a email back saying I had to pay and extra £20 for an upgrade, which I did, but that evening all we could hear was the humming of the heater/air conditioning which was on a flat room outside our window, so we didn't get a piece and restful night sleep which was the purpose of our stay away. Room 14.

    Beautiful building, lovely décor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loft suite access was a little difficult if carrying a case or bags, however the staff carried the bags up the stairs so all was well.

    Loft Suite was good but a little quirky,fabulous breakfast, the staff were extremely friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the front window was disappointing, with the car park and derelict shops, but this could not be helped.

    The bedroom was comfortable and the public area was very nice, especially the dining room. We had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very narrow entrance to the car park but it does have a car park! There is no lift and there are a lot of stairs.

    Our room was lovely, very bright and cheerful. Very comfy bed and linens. Although our room overlooked the street it was very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only constructive feedback would be to upgrade the flimsy mattress and pillows in room 11. Breakfast was lacking in culinary inspiration and not as impressive as the dinner the night before which was Michelin quality.

    The decor is lovely very fresh, clean and elegant. Staff were excellent, very on point, intelligently attentive, and quick to assist or serve. Room was very clean, warm and nicely decorated. Food in the restaurant was worth every penny, first class and beautifully presented. Happy hour was a real bonus! Very nice boutique hotel, look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (3) faced the busy thoroughfare. As there were no curtains, only pull down blinds, I had a close up view of passing pedestrians and occupants opposite. They could of course could reciprocate. I ended up with the blinds pulled down throughout my stay with the lights on in order to get privacy. Easily resolved.

    The Lion and Pheasant is a boutique type of Hotel which retains its historical layout in a modern type style. You walk in to the reception with the adjoining bar. There are lots of nooks and crannies to discover. All staff were welcoming and knowledgable. The room was immaculate having been recently redecorated. They are blessed with an excellent Chef. The food was outstanding as was the presentation all I thought at a reasonable cost. I enjoyed my dinner by the open fire, enjoying their real ale. I would certainly highly recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park is small and quite tight however there is an NCP just across the road. Property opposite is a derelict curry house which just brings the area down... No fault of the hotel of course but the vista from the bar is brought down by this

    Hotel was located very close to all attractions, Shrewsbury is full of historic buildings this being one of them. Friendly staff, clean, rooms very comfortable. Nice bar and good restaurant and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I was hoping for was a magnifying mirror as its so bulky to carry and helps if i have one available in room

    we loved the whole stay very friendly and warm welcome relaxing and approachable staff. Felt at ease and happy to ask questions and everyone very accommodating to our needs. We would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all to dislike

    We were celebrating a special anniversary and this hotel was absolutely lovely. We loved the decor in the bar made special by a log fire and the dining room upstairs was really quaint. The evening meal was superb , lovely flavours -starter of goats cheese was fab and our sea bass was so delicious , a superb chef at this hotel. The rest of the staff are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was also superb a good selection of cooked items available. The bedroom was very comfy and recently decorated to a high standard. Would definately recommend and return. Top marks to you all at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were blackout blinds but the voiles were for decoration only - there needs to be voiles on window for privacy but allowing in light. The other rooms didn’t seem to have this problem. The loft suite was stunning and the twin room for the children was lovely/

    Design lovely. Attention to detail- loved all the thoughtful touches- the wooden art hands pointing directions;the comfy sitting area in hall; colours used; the old books and art work; friendly staff; brilliant location to walk into town & overlooking the river. Simply great - a perfect boutique hotel for all the family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is too noisy. No acoustic softeners. Poached eggs were too hard at breakfast. They were replaced when asked.

    I liked the decoration, comfy beds and pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on small side and was extremely warm even with radiators off and window open

    The entrance, bar and restaurant area were really lovely and staff welcoming but not in your face Dinner was really good if somewhat expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting into the car park is a bit of a faff - don't miss the turn or you'll be stuck in the one-way system (and all the roadworks) for an extra 15 mins!

    The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the range of drinks at the bar was excellent. Really well placed for seeing the sights of Shrewsbury and a welcome respite at the end of a long day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant fairly expensive with limited choice although the food was excellent.

    The staff were extremely helpful. I arrived late - I phoned ahead as I wanted to eat in the restaurant. They kindly kept it open for me and the food was excellent. The room had a certain old world charm about it while being spotless and the bathroom modern and fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was poor. Selection could have better. Staff forgot orders. A bit ‘half-hearted’ especially as dinner had been very good. Also, a fire alarm going off accidentally at midnight was a little concerning.

    Good staff and lovely quirky room - The Loft room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    Perfect small independent hotel. Wonderful reception on arrival. Very elegant room and fabulous shower room. Great location for the town. Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the people in the room next door. But understandable in such an old building and difficult to alter.

    Lovely old building with tons of character. With a modern twist that made it comfortable and smart. Great breakfast in fantastic old surroundings. Efficient friendly staff. Comfortable bed and bedding. Classy place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room dirty carpets woke up at 2.25 am by shouting outside then at 7am by two bin lorries and we paid £115 over a month in advance then the same room last night on booking.com £89 how is that possible to offer a worse rate for bookings you’ve already had the money for

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast coffee weak and tasteless, everything else excellent

    Lovely room with views of the river (room 19), excellent restaurant and bar, good breakfast (except for the coffee which was weak and tasteless). The hotel was in a really good place close to the river and the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 7 was quite noisy from the street traffic, had to move to a different room and that was done very well and the second room was much better.

    Nice breakfast and friendly staff, overall nice decoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow entrance to car-park and room was a long trapse up and down a few staircases which was hassle with my bag - but once there room was great.

    Breakfast was amazing and hotel is in a great location right in the middle of Shrewsbury.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location on main road means significant noise at night in front bedrooms from boy racers and wannabe karaoke stars.

    Interesting mix of the old and the new works really well, staff welcoming and food excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was by the road so was a bit noisy up until 3am (friday night).

    Very clean and contemporary, great location, friendly staff and a really good cooked breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Shrewsbury. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The room my wife and I had was large, comfortable, clean and extremely well maintained. Parking on site is an extra plus. Breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the evening we arrived everyone was extremely helpful and attentive. The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a lovely atmosphere. We chose it because of the restaurant and we weren't disappointed, we had a fabulous meal in the evening followed by a very tasty breakfast the next day. Just wish it was nearer than four hours away as we would go regularly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, food and bar were excellent. The manager and his staff team were friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to meet our needs. Really nice atmosphere, would thoroughly recommend if visiting Shrewsbury.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was very friendly and even though we had declined the New Years Eve meal at the hotel we had a really positive conversation about the restaurant we had chosen as an alternative. The room was very cosy and oak beamed. The entertainment for the evening was very good and the atmosphere was positive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced. We paid £185 for a "superior room". Yes, it was large-ish, but only because it was a weird shape. You couldn't see the TV from the bed (not a deal breaker because we were out mostly, but if I were travelling alone I'd want to watch tv from bed). The bathroom, whilst spotless, was very small and only had a shower. Recommend the hotel itself but I definitely wouldn't bother upgrading to a "superior room" again - I can't see how it was worth the extra money when all you seemed to get in addition was a bit more floor space.

    Nicely styled hotel, friendly staff and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit cramped and close to the main road although the owners very thoughtfully provided ear plugs. Could be better signed as we drove straight past.

    A quirky architectural mixture and our room was on the slope! Comfortable and the staff and facilities were good. Great food at a reasonable price. Overall a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 17 overlooks sex shop. Can’t open windows. Top floor unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues.

    Spotlessly clean, fabulous food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowt!

    Great location. Beautiful comfy hotel, lovely open fire for cosy wine drinks! Tricky parking but it’s a coaching inn and they sorted us a space so v helpful. Plus there an NCP opposite so no drama!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price the room less £120 max Turn down the heating so that its comfortable. Get staff to be more organised at breakfast time eg missing butter milk and sugar and cutlery.

    Room was a £185 for the night it was a nice room but not worth the money it was a £100 room nother special and the room was very hot in winter time had to open all the windows but apart from that lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle in bedroom had short lead for safety but it was to short to connect to the socket adjacent the dressing table subsequently it had to be balanced on some books on a chair making it unsafe

    Staff were all excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car was full so we had to park across the street and pay £10 for the night.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and breakfast was delicious. Very good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected creaks from it being an old building, however the noise intrusion from room above was too much, could hear voices and heavy walking caused the ceiling light fitting to rattle and it did disturb us

    Excellent sized shower, comfy bed, hospitality biscuits were replenished on the 2nd day (nice touch not just on arrival), breakfast (and food in restaurant in general) was simply amazing, very engaging and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really cannot think of anthing.

    Friendly, informative staff who made us very welcome, for whom nothing was too much trouble and who rapidly responded to issues (ie heated towel rail in bathroom not as hot as it should be). Excellent food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was a little disappointing for a well-rated "Foodie" restaurant both for the evening meal and breakfast, not quite up to the standard we were expecting. The room was attractive and very clean having had a new carpet fitted the day before our arrival but the layout was poor. The television needs to be wall-mounted as it was difficult to watch it either from the bed or the day bed and storage space was very limited especially as we were staying for a few days. Negotiating the entrance to the limited car parking area is very challenging!

    The underfloor heating in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in bathroom. Partner could not see to shave.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Good location. Good shower. Free earplugs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was aware of limited parking from website information. We managed to park for 1 day out of 3. That is the only negative comment I have to make.

    Very stylish decor, quirky touches. Excellent location near great shops and river walks. Delicious food, good bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom window could not be opened which made it a little stuffy

    The room was very comfy and the bathroom was clean .We both enjoyed the breakfast with plenty of choices to suit everyone.We would return without a doubt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rear-facing room meant there was some noise from the kitchen’s extractor fans with the windows open, but the cooking smells were good!

    Great location in town, just a moment’s walk from the English Bridge over the Severn. Friendly, helpful staff and convenient on-site parking. Room was comfortable, clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for the best room in the hotel ( loft conversation) unfortunately it was directly above the restaurant and kitchen . It was incredibly noisy throughout the night and again early morning. Which significantly reduced the enjoyment factor. In fact in hindsight I would have booked into a different hotel . On check out I meantioned to the receptionist how disappointed I was with the noise to which she replied oh the staff have been told to keep the noise down!

    Food in the restaurant was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Specially the welcome reception and his efficient manner. Everything was easy and fast. Best service and dedication I have found in a lonnnnggg time👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very central location and the room we had was very comfy with a really lovely en-suite. Just regret we were only able to stay for one night. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Off street parking was a bit awkward and restricted. The bathroom of our "deluxe double room" wasn't very big.

    Brilliant Chef (Harri), wonderful selection on the menu for dinner and very expertly presented. Worth a visit just for the food. The breakfasts were also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift but understand why in a period-hotel. The carpet is hard and grazed my knuckles when I wore my socks.

    The staff is friendly, pleasant and helpful. The room is clean, bright and airy. The English breakfast is excellent. Dinner downstairs has a great atmosphere. We had rib-eye and sirloin beef and the taste is awesome. A beautifully-furnished period hotel, it has no air-conditioner, but is equipped with a fan, iron and heater. Our room is equipped with a fair collection of teabags, coffee, milk and some biscuits. We are given a big room No15 for 3 persons overlooking the street. But we slept soundly for 3 nights. Also a thumbs-up to be given to the helpful waitress for ordering pizza for us after 10pm as the kitchen has already closed. The bar is still open though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely tight entrance to the car park, and maybe bays would help as some patrons were artistically parked. Three day camel trek to the bedroom. I was asked if I required help with my bags, but wasn't made aware of the distance involved. (Old age setting in). I suppose the exercise was good for me.

    Great location in the middle of Shrewsbury. Clean, comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food... dinner and breakfast. Free Parking in the town center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom, and only a fan for 'air conditioning'. Hot summer sun would make the roon unbearable: luckily for us it was a cloudy day but still too warm for comfort.

    Good breakfast and good bar. Friendly re

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredibly noisy, hardly slept during my two night stay - found earplugs in the bedside table on departure, why did no-one mention they were there, clearly a common issue! Disappointed to have been allocated a room at the front of the hotel when I had specifically requested a quiet room.

    Good location and nicely decorated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is for really able-bodied visitors, the floors upstairs are fairly uneven, ceilings are low and the corridors/landings all look very similar. You need to be nimble to get around the hotel.

    The food was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few more surfaces in the room to put things on.

    Really excellent stay, food and accommodation. Staff very efficient and well-trained, loved the quirky nature of the hotel and the enamel teapot in a bird cage!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, we can't think of anything apart from the fact that it was a little noisy when the windows were open but earplugs were provided and we had a lovely view of the bridge and river so we didn't mind. It was also quite expensive but we didn't hold back and all agreed that it was well worth paying a little more than we usually dofor such a lovely stay.

    The rooms were small but beautifully equipped with everything we could have wanted including lovely big showers and extremely comfortable beds - we even took the name of the mattress suppliers! The staff, particularly the waiter and waitresses who were on while we were there for 2 x dinners and 2 x breakfasts, were truly excellent and couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and attentive - we travel quite a bit and were very impressed with them. Both dinners and breakfasts were delicious and the hotel's central location and being able to park the cars in the private parking behind for the duration of our stay, meant that we could walk everywhere, including to the Shrewsbury Flower Show which was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the front of the hotel, and there was a lot of traffic noise at night, which made it hard to get to sleep. We couldn't open the window because of the noise, so it also got very hot and stuffy. We were given a small mini-fan but it didn't help much. Just as well the breakfasts were so delicious!

    The food served in the hotel restaurant (both for breakfast and diner) is outstanding - whoever is running the kitchen seriously knows their stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful loft suite was spoiled as it was located over the noisy kitchen. Industrial fan and chatter of staff most of the time. Room was also cold as the radiators failed to work. A fan heater was provided. We stay in expensive locations and sadly this was definitely overpriced. A small gesture of goodwill reduction was applied.

    Food in the restaurant was superb and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second time we've stayed in the last couple of years. And we love the hotel. However on this occasion the evening meal was abysmal compared to last time. It cost £46, and it was our wedding Anniversary meal but, we were very disappointed. I had steak and my wife ordered a vegetarian meal (feta cheese pastry with veg) costing £16. I understand the concept of smaller portions, but her meal was embarrassingly small; I mean the pastry was the size of a mug coaster, and the veg was two tiny broccoli florets three peaces of rocket, and one or two potato cubes. All of which would have fitted on a tea cup saucer. (Terrible value) I had to give her some of my chips to compensate. I was really unhappy about this, but because it was our anniversary she wouldn't let me complain. Come on guys unacceptable, there was literally £3 worth of food on her plate. We'll stay again but book another restaurant next time.

    The Hotel is great. Lovely and clean - stunning modern/vintage decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were lovely breakfast was excellent except one of our party asked for a continental breakfast and even though it stated various pastries on the menu there was non available. The rest of our breakfasts were really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, I couldn't open the windows, I rang reception and they came and opened them for me. There was a cool fan in the room which I used. It was very noisy with the traffic as I was on the front, however they do supply ear plugs, didn't really help.

    Walking distance from town centre. Room was ok Food was lovely, small portions but very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy because of the traffic and we couldn't use the fan they provided because it rattled . Much worse however was the very loud noise from the extractor fan in the bathroom of the room next door at 6.30 in the morning!

    The bed was very comfy and the location near the town centre was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were small, we couldn't open a window and as the weather was unusually warm we did feel a bit hot! However there was a small fan provided.

    Lovely "quirky" hotel, unique. Beautifully furnished and decorated, very clean, comfortable beds. So individual it felt special. Certainly intend going back later in the year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was too small. I didn't feel cleanliness about the towels in the bathroom. It was very hard to keep the moderate temperature in the room. Small windows were very old and dirty and it was just hard for me to open them to let fresh air into the room. Our room was badly ventilated.

    The staffs were very kind and nice. Breakfast and the location were very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, although very clean. Very hot room - heating on in corridor - glad we were not there last weekend in the heatwave. Very small fan provided. 2 sash windows opened out onto kitchen air con / extractor so a little air flow, but the smell of frying onions and noise of fan not nice. seated outside kitchen for evening meal so lots of 'traffic' parking tight - but didn't move the car until we left so ok morning paper arrived on Saturday after we had returned from breakfast - would have been better to go out and get it ourselves 5 coathangers and no drawer space for clothes - I don't like to live out of case but had to - probably due to tiny room hot breakfast arrived before fruit plates cleared not a great choice of evening meal - only just warm enough

    excellent location very clean recently decorated nice breakfast lovely town with quirky shops

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Onsite parking: yes they have onsite parking but if it is full the NCP car park opposite charges £10 per day.

    Close to town centre and the room was bright & plenty of space. They supply earplugs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 14 - didn't like the beam above the bed -my husband bumped his head on it several times - not funny. Not keen on so y stairs.

    Liked the staff, cleanliness&afoot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beer wasn't well kept in the bar.

    The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Also very professional and we were looked after well. Breakfast was freshly cooked and we could hear the chef singing in the kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic selection at breakfast. Rooms are amazing, 3rd time there, just the room was a little warm and couldn't seem to get it any cooler this time. Highly recommend it and will be back again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy, but location is very central, so not really a surprise. Could do with more parking spaces, but there is an NCP opposite.

    Nice boutique hotel with friendly staff. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with all food locally sourced.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: