Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Lion Hotel 3 stars

112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop, S80 1HT, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Worksop

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found nothing to dislike within the room or members of the staff.

    We stayed in a suite and the room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff were helpful and a pleasure to talk to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a too warm. The car parks are a bit small. Perhaps a rate could be set up with the car park outside?

    The prices were very reasonable in the bar. The room was very spacious. The steak was AWESOME

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we really didn't like. All aspects were good for a weekend

    Nice size and set out room with good ensuite. Ideal base for our time in the area. Central town location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for disabled guests, car parking was chaotic, breakfast was not good in that the scrambled eggs were in warm water, the skin on the sausages were so tough had to get a steak knife to cut them and that was still difficult, instructions to arrive at the hotel by vehicle are unclear & some staff were obviously not happy working there.

    The room was clean & the beds comfortable . The meal we had in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the regulars were rowdy, under dressed and some arrived in transit vans with children in front with no child seats

    we were upgraded free of charge but as we were travelling as 2 adults one 3 year old child I thought we would have got a cot plenty of choice of food, drinks, sport on television in bar although none in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortage of staff meant that we couldn't get served at the bar, or place food order. We gave up, and went elsewhere. staff that were present were working like mad, but just couldn't meet the demand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Completely let down by the poor quality of the bed. It was so uncomfortable and hard I didn't sleep at all. The lights on the TV illuminated the room when it was dark. The breakfast was unpleasant and it did not cater for alternative diets.

    Size of the family suite was good with the dog

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and tidy, bathroom looked nice and clean. Unfortunately the mattress was very uncomfortable and my friend and I didn’t get any sleep.

    We arrived and was treated really professionally,all areas looked clean. Loved the idea about the lounge being dog friendly and being able to eat there was a fab idea. The breakfast was lovely. A nice choice of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was dreadful - cheap nasty fruit juice, yoghurt and brown bread ran out on first day. Room service refolded dirty towel left in bath, toilet paper not replenished, so ran out on second day. Stairs dangerous, one tread half way down was at a steep angle, so would be easy to fall, especially for elderly of visually impaired guests.

    Location good and friendly / helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ends at 10 on a bank holiday which naturally generates a rush towards the closing time, at 9.50 many items were depleted (no bacon, plates, glasses, tea, coffee) but staff refused to cook additional quantities because "breakfast finishes at 10". Overcharged at checkout also but subsequently resolved.

    Good room (but out of range of the wi-fi), excellent bathroom, friendly reception staff, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi unacceptable, reaction of staff inappropriate “we have too much to do to take care of this now..”. No apologies. Hotel should not advertise with WiFi if only available sometimes and then slow. Service in restaurant mediocre.. need to go to the bar to order but noone tells you,so you keep waiting, waiting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaraunt and breakfast very poor Had to order eggs but wasnt told then took 20 mins after ordering Had to ask for fresh tea.cups.juice.glasses.dishes etc

    Close to venue

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Overall everything was ok. What I and other friends were not happy about was the bar staff. Three behind the bar and too busy chatting between themselves. Should not have to wait 10 minutes or longer, also when they did get their act together, they did not note who had been waiting the longest. I have worked behind a bar and first rule is to clock your customers and serve in order.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had one glass in the room. Bananas at breakfast were inedible due to being green and raw. Asked for boiled eggs at breakfast, when they arrived they were uncooked and inedible.

    The room and bed were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived during heavy snowfall and once problems with separate entrance to our room sorted, we had a comfortable stay. Excellent room for people travelling with pets and nice to have a separate lounge area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem was being ripped off by booking.com. We could have had a better room including breakfast by booking direct with Best Western. Because my father is terminally ill we used booking.com so we could cancel if necessary. Being ripped off ruined our stay !!!!!!!!!

    The hotel was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a executive double Wasn't upto the standard of what I booked from the pictures and description I saw on booking.com The room given was dated in decor. Swapped rooms and the room still didn't have some of the facilities listed for an executive double . Spoilt our experience

    Prompt friendly receptionist Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room I was allocated had a very strong smell of alcohol, on requesting another room, another room was made available. Staff were very accommodating.

    Staff very friendly, clean and comfortable. Love the character of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom could have been a little more colourful to make a little less say formal but but otherwise fine.

    We had a comfortable room. Lovely ensuite with bath and shower. Spacious and clean. Free parking. Good breakfast. Good room had air conditioning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have any issues at all. Maybe the bfast available slightly later

    Great room. Lovely comfy bed. Gorgeous big bathroom. Very impressed that hot choc was available in the room- very rare to have! Excellent friendly and helpful staff would highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't the most comfy one in the world, a bit lumpy, but I did get a good nights sleep. No problem but perhaps I would upgrade to a better spec room in the future. Shower was ok but not great on pressure. If you have an issue with steps ie disabled, you may want to request a ground floor room, but the restaurant, reception and breakfast room still does have a couple of steps up and down. No problem for me though.

    Great location withing walking distance of local restaurants and town center facilities. Stayed many times before and perfect for a business trip. Private entrance access, at the rear for courtyard rooms is great and close to the car park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service from the staff in the bar and restaurant was dismal. The attitude was of not caring with no attention paid to us but instead their friends at the bar got the attention.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattresses have seen better days - should be replaced Breakfast old fashioned stodge

    Nothing - it was all very boring and predictable - and on-brand for a Best Western. Although there was evidence of recent paintjob - including unskilled painting - paint marks of metals door fitings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not of good quality...quite soft...not very thick.

    Clean, great location...lovely staff...great breakfast...really nice hotel...good price.. Immaculate decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of an adequate locational map of Worksop, dealing with one way streets and where the hotel is, people arriving by car do so at night. The room 210 on my second stay was very slightly noisy due to the kitchen fan being left running all night but it was not too bad, and I slept very well.

    most things, very satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of knowledge of the location. i.e. difficulty in parking and not enough spaces. A better map showing the location of the hotel and the car park, and the one way streets is necessary. ---especially when the evenings are dark.

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took nearly 15mins to check in. Receptionist when she turned up was pretty arrogant,blunt and rude. If it wasn't for the friendly maintenance guy carrying his ladders and covered in paint seeing how long we was stood we would have prob been there half an hour or more ringing that fucking bell. Then when she did turn up seemed more bothered about rushing so she could run back off to where ever she came from in the back. Got to the double room we ordered and it turned out to be two single beds pushed together and a small head board put in only down side to the room. Breakfast ordered in bed turned up half an hour early. Staff that brought it were unfriendly and pretty blunt about it to. Paid 20.50 for two cooked breakfast and it was cold. Got a shot of orange juice.. Coffee was cold.. 2 bacon, 1 egg half a tomato, and a tiny pot of beans for that price absolutely shocking would have got better service and food at the Yates pub just down the road. My partner ordered gluten free breakfast which couldn't have been done with care either as she was Ill for the rest of the day and the day after. Wouldn't advice stopping again on first experience.

    Wouldn't recommend at all. Building was really nice and room was clean. Maintenance guy was nice and receptionist that checked us out in the morning was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated, floors uneven and squeaky, mattresses old and misshapen making sleep very uncomfortable. Food all sounds nice on the menu but the presentation is poor and the taste leaves more to be desired. The hotel isn’t buggy friendly

    Good central location, good shower pressure and hot water! Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight drain smell coming from bathroom. Didn't report it as was only there one night. Hotel starting to look tired in some parts.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work my first night - and there was no one on reception to assist. The mattress was very poor. Terribly old springs and a definite sag in the middle which my flipping it over did little to alleviate.

    Bar attached was very good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park post code not on website so couldn't find it had to call hotel when we were sat outside. Room was very old fashioned and pillows were dire - lumpy!

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not very comfy and I found it hard to sleep. The parking facilities are not very big.

    Staff were very friendly and they were happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all was great!

    Excellent place to stay. Staff all pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious and had all amenities. Fab to be able to take our two dogs with us. It was close to town essentials and a park to walk the dogs too. Close to Clumber Park and Sherwood Forest, both lovely places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room really good, staff brill, pub / restaurant bit busy but still good service and right in the town so no car needed once there (unless you want to go to see some lovely places near by ) A+++++

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single rooms are small and the bathrooms are not in a good condition, need renovation immediately. The price should be lower for what it offers.

    Α decent hotel with clean rooms and high quality cooked breakfast. I also liked the professionalism of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Executive room only complaint was the middle of the mattress was joined and was a little annoying when moving during the night

    Location. Very professional staff on reception and friendly staff throughout the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of a tidy up. Lighting a bit dark in the room, fittings a bit outdated. Leaky shower and the lift smelt of something which I can't describe. If you have a room overlooking the front courtyard try to avoid. Very noisy at the weekend and we were kept awake until 01.30 by people who had a little to much drink.

    Nice friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good location Good for what we wanted. If on site parking is full there is a pay & display opposite but obviously at a cost. Sunday free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness issue in room. Failed to provide ordered newspaper. Ancient shower in 'executive' room.

    Generally friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the hotel rooms are dog friendly the rest of the building is not! Travelling alone I was looking forward to being able to pop to the bar for an easy bite to eat, and had arranged for some friends to travel to join me. On arrival I was told that dogs are not allowed anywhere anyone is eating. Had I known this prior to booking I would have stayed somewhere else. Left feeling as though I had a contagious disease (since when are dog owners treated like lepers?) having travelled with my very sociable and well behaved dog, I had to struggle to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening and had to drive out of town to get there. My friends got lost with the change of venue and we ended up eating very late. I don't understand why lots of bars and pubs can allow dogs but a dog friendly hotel does not cater for this facility. It also meant I couldn't have breakfast so I felt very short changed.

    The room was absolutely lovely and it was spotlessly clean, I couldn't have asked for better. It was easily accessed from outside and was on the ground floor, which made it much easier to come and go from as I was travelling with my elderly greyhound, who couldn't walk very far. Staff were very pleasant and I wasn't left waiting for assistance at any stage when checking in or out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at £10 a head was awful asked for poached eggs on toast and got two bullets on toast steamed eggs overdone not good value for money

    Evening meal was good bed was lumpy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room expecting one room with main beds and 2 put up beds but it was a 2 bedroom apartment style room with living room and 2 bedrooms and a small kitchen was very surprised and impressed. The room wasn't the most modern but immaculately clean my son got upset he didn't want to go home he'd liked it that much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were attending a family funeral but what happened at the hotel really upset our stay more. We went for dinner and were sat for 25 minutes before anyone came to take our order. When the dinner arrived, only one meal was brought. Sat and waited for the second meal. Waited. Waited some more. After 15 minutes I went to complain. They had completely forgotten the second meal. Very poor service.

    All you could wish for

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft Queue for breakfast was right were people came in. Tea was undrinkable. Coffee slightly better but kept running out. Wonderful large windows in dinning room but no one could sit on the first 2 rows as the sun came blazing through the window (need blinds?)

    Breakfast was nice Bed was big Room was large and clean Evening meal was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that Best Western could issue parking permits for customers who have to use the general car park at the back of the hotel when the hotel car park is full ( idealy the hotel car park should be big enough to take all customers cars). In the bathrooms there should be Shower Screens on the baths rather than Shower Curtains as this would stop any flooding of the bathroom floor. I also found it a little difficult using the key card on the doors, when you put the card in the door lock went green to say unlocked but it would not unlock without doing a bit of fiddling with the card and lock handle together.

    I thought the staff was very pleasant and very helpful in everything that you asked of them. The hotel was of a very high standard and was clean throughout the building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall our stay was very enjoyable. The facilities and staff were all very good. We travelled and stayed over with friends for a 60th party. The staff were excellent and the evening food and breakfast couldn't be faulted. However the room we stayed in (307) was extremely hot. A fan was provided in the room but didn't want to leave it on all night. I wouldn't want to stay in this room during the hot summer months. The car park was a little hard to find and better directions would be helpful on the website. Once located lots of space and free to park during the night but remember to pay after 10am in the morning as an attendant is ready in the area once 10am arrives. We were lucky.

    The staff and facilities in the hotel were all excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from other guests, but we stayed over on a Saturday night so this is probably unavoidable.

    Spacious room with a small living area and kitchenette. Excellent value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress in my room 214, has to be the most uncomfortable slept on in some years, and grubby stained carpets, if I hadn't been working so late, I would certainly have asked for another room, the springs were bulging through the surface and every move came with a comedy twang! Not what I've come to expect from a Best Western! Please check your beds, a real let down.

    The bar and restaurant was modern relaxed and geared for the business traveller, very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had didn't have all the amenities stated on the information print out. My room had no hair-dryer.

    The room was comfortable and nice and clean. It was in a nice location - close to the centre of Worksop without traffic providing nuisance from noise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff serving breakfast not friendly at all, was told what was for breakfast or where items were had to look around and sort it out for yourself, very disappointing

    Room clean and tidy reception staff on arrival and leaving very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sign post the rear car park and advise the hotel front where the bar grill is to be stated it faces onto pedestrian zone ... and mini fridge like to be stocked with additional milk so don't have to ask and water in fridge ....

    Missed breakfast by 10 minutes at 0900 which I think should be 0930 to finish ... but staff still made me some porridge which I was grateful for x

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we had to walk past 3 laundry rooms with the doors open exposing the mess inside to leave our room. On the second day I had to move sheets and towels off the passage floor to get passed. The fact that our room was not hoovered for the 2nd night and no replacement of toileties.

    The fact that is was in the centre of Worksop.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....was fab👍

    Everything it was spotless and had lots on offer in the hotel even down to wake up calls and newspaper...Loved every minute and can't wait to stay there again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No directions to the car park on the booking web site which was difficult when everything is unknown to the driver and especially when arriving in the evening.

    drawers and wardrobe for clothing which we haven't had in the last 3 Hotels at the same price.Breakfast in the room which was plentiful and hot and everything we asked for.Our pet dog was welcomed.Parking and access easy even though I am disabled.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty smelly lift. Brusque staff at breakfast. Hard poached eggs overcooked smoked haddock, no butter on toast. Room too hot.

    Scones and cream tea were good. Strong wireless.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed and pillows were slightly lumpy and perhaps due for updateing

    we had a meal in the hotel restaurant where they looked after my wife's gluten free needs very well, which gave her multiple choices instead of the odd one

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm for some reason, despite window being open and radiator not on. The fan in the room did not work.

    Breakfast was good. Beds were comfortable. Service friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some kind of generator that ran throughout the night cutting in and out - slightly disturbed sleep but would just be aware of it next time.

    Rooms was very comfortable, contemporary. Bathroom was fabulous

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not too comfy, boiler not working, cold room, no hot water, broken window in the room make the cold bad. Loud foot step when walking. Slamming doors in the morning woke me up. No fridge in the room.

    Clean, good location, polite staff. Free car park. Access to computer and printer anytime 😊

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cold room. The swinging glass shower door The noise late into the night

    An old building had been tastefully presented and was welcoming. The decor and furnishings were clean, fresh and attractive..The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked. The town was interesting having a lovely park and fascinating street market. The usual hotel where I stay when visiting family in this area was fully booked but this one fitted the bill perfectly and I would book here again with confidence.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    Overnight stay (room only). Quiet, clean and comfortable room with modern furnishings and a well-equipped bathroom. Good parking arrangements - with two hotel car parks at the rear of the premises and a public car park directly opposite that is free at weekends. Pleasant hotel bar at the front of the building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was cold couldn't get the radiator to work. My phone didn't work. Got an electric shock off the light switch. All I could here was people talking in the bar/ restaurant downstairs. Couldn't get parked in thier carpark so I had to pay in the pay and display carpark at the rear. I feel I should have been reimbursed for this.

    Bed was comfy. Shower was hot. Staff were lovely. Martin( maintenance) helped me in with my luggage, and when I complained about my electric shock they sent Martin to fix it straight away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made restaurant booking in advance for 8 people celebrating a joint birthday but without notice were put in the bar area next to the toilets with only the bar menu to choose from. Room 217 was like a fridge. Radiator not working and a very small fan heater that cut off every 3 minutes. Towel heater in the bathroom didn't work either along with smelly drains and Luke warm shower water. Been a few years since I last stayed here including getting married there and such a disappointing drop in standards. Staff seemed under trained, food was lazily prepared and no one really made you feel welcome.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sat nav took us to the front door (it was doing its job)we had to look for the carpark but that was only a little niggle

    every thing about this hotel was perfect we had a good nights sleep with no disturbance even though there was a wedding reception in the hotel and it looked as though we were going to have a nightmare sleep because of all the celebrations but no it was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 204 was a bit noisy from doorslamming on corridor Reception hallway had peices of pastry all over floor on arrival

    Good breakfast a little undercooked bacon blackpudding Plenty to choose from Otherwise ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed uncomfortable. Double formed from two singles fastened together and could feel the join between the mattresses and mattresses poorly padded. Found a carpet beetle larvae crawling up the bedroom wall.

    Good choice for breakfast, well cooked and speedy service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of walking to our room through doors, corridors and up and down steps.I have bad knees so wish accessibility had been mentioned so I could have had a more conveniently situated room.

    Clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast.Polite and helpful staff Good evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk quite a way from the breakfast buffet to the dining tables, which is difficult when it is busy and you are helping family members at the same time

    The room was very large and comfortable, and peaceful. Couldn't hear the wedding disco going on downstairs or anything, which was great. The bathroom was immaculate and felt luxurious. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door kept rattling when either of the two corridor doors were being opened, didn't feel safe to me as a single traveller since just a shake and could have opened it so I used a chair behind it for extra security (r216).

    Clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We I'd no internet all night was boring should get something as good gesture

    The receptionist very pretty good looking polite awesome smile ...very helpful young las

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky to find the room owing to the complicated layout of the hotel.

    The double room was modern and clean with an excellent en-suite. We were not troubled by noise even though there was a wedding party going-on during our stay. The reception and bar staff were efficient and polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell of sewers in the bedroom - we arrived very late (after 12.30am) after checking in earlier and felt it too late to complain. The answer given at checkout was very forthcoming and obviously well rehearsed saying that the traps had probably been cleaned out and the cleaners had not put water back into them - I am an architectural designer and this is absolute rubbish.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amount of staff on duty at the bar was shockingly low. I don't know if it was just that day or if that happens often but they seemed to be expected to serve two bars, with one member of staff each. Having said that I couldn't fault their professionalism and friendliness.

    The suite we stayed in was very spacious - much nicer than I expected. We even had a bath! Breakfast was fantastic - loads of choice for vegetarians and a seemingly never-ending supply of food! The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are very fussy, you may want to ask for a room at the back only because you can hear traffic when the window is open.

    Amazing bedroom & bathroom - all high standard! Bar excellent for food, beautifully presented at tables or settees, wherever you preferred. Did not have breakfast so unable to comment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television in room 211, could not get I.T.V 3 (one of the most popular channels)

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was child friendly, and the room was very clean. The beds were also very comfortable. Good location in the town centre, and free parking on the weekend. Hotel retains its unique character, which is a personal plus for me

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was clean and tidy, breakfast was delicious. Very helpful staff allowed us to have the room a bit later than check out due to our attendance at a christening

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: