Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Livingston Lodge Hotel 3 stars

Hawkbrae, Ladywell West, Livingston, Livingston, EH54 6TW, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Livingston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant nights stay in the Livingston lodge hotel! Stayed due to my partner having training at the Lidl Distribution Centre! Fabulous location with friendly and helpful staff! Booked bed and breakfast, which was filled with a variety for continental and a super cooked breakfast. Shall definitely be back. Great atmosphere in the hotels bar, filled with such friendly locals. Such a great experience !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was noisy from the bar next door, as it seemed that there was a party on every night. The restaurant next door was dirty - there was the same old food on the seats and floor on the second night that I saw on the first night, but unfortunately, there is little to choose from in the area. There was the option for a free taxi to another restaurant, but I did not like to the look of the menu choices there.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.. Maybe a light sleeper should ask for a room away from main road.

    Everything. Great location.. Er y friendly staff. Mandy very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were recently refurbished and the bathroom, wet shower room was immaculate. Train station around the corner, ideal just a 20 minute train ride into Edinburgh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower adequate but not great (electric) No hot water to the sink for shaving Breakfast adequate but not great

    Staff friendly and helpful 24hr check in , really good as I was late Good value Bed comfy Easy access

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice.

    Was not aware that dinner was not available at the hotel until we arrived.this was not made clear at the time of booking. We booked a superior room but although our room was clean and comfortable we did not consider it to be "superior ".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to speak to the night porter. No where to be found and no answer to call.

    10/15 minute walk from Livingston North train station. Close to small supermar2. Friendly welcome upon arrival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt awkward as a hotel. It feels like a venue with a basic pub/bar in the middle and a hotel shoved on the side. The reception isn't clearly visible (from the outside once pulled up). My room had a single window looking onto the main road. The worst part for me was the breakfast arrangement. It was served in the venue's hall. The coffee was stone cold and the poor lady was the only one there, serving us and also manning the reception too!

    Decent location (for my traveling) Room exceeded my expectations (bathroom especially) Parking is ample

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adjoining Chinese restaurant & takeaway . Antisocial behaviour of youths loitering at Chinese. Noisy cars picking up food into late. Incident with fire alarm during breakfast which continued for an hour. Towels appeared old & thin.

    Staff & service. Clean room with nice decor. Discount at nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally the place is just a little scruffy and down at heal. The odd burn mark on the carpet, a little paint run, what looked like a food smudge on the bedside light switch, nobody at reception etc. I'm all for energy efficiency but the lights were poorly thought out, either white Led or old D fittings that took too long to light up. Its not that the doors were missing or there was no bed, its just a bit shabby.

    The bed was made well with clean linen, the tea tray was laid out well and the shower was hot enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed in room 1 was ok but slightly uncomfortable and the shower in the en suite didn’t work properly- this is just a mere observation and wouldn’t put me off staying again. I could hear the people upstairs moving about early in the morning but this is not really a fault of the hotel.

    I booked in for a last minute stay on Saturday. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I was happy with my room and the hotel is in a good location. Had a fab breakfast in the morning, wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL, IMMACULATELY CLEAN. THE BATHROOM BEAUTIFUL. THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT. HUGE CHOICE . BEAUTIFUL CLEAN WHITE TABLECLOTHS STAFF WAS SUPER AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not the comfiest, cobwebs on ceiling above the bed, you could hear every foot step in the room above.

    Chinese restaurant was very nice - if staying for a longer period would have to have looked elsewhere though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was wakened by the toilet\shower room light being switched on by my wife. The door faces the top of the bed. It would have been better if the bed had been positioned away from the door. I do not envisage this being a problem for most guests.

    I liked the friendly staff and the breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside and entrance to property not so visually inviting..and it was difficult finding the right entrance to reception but folk friendly.

    The bedroom was newly decorated and spacious..as was the bathroom. Beds very comfortable and linen crisp and clean. Staff very accommodating. The meal room was lovely..fresh flowers on tables nicely set..also very nice and clean and the breakfast served was really superb. It was a birthday celebration visit and staff really went out their way to ensure things went well..Thanks to Mandy and Nikki. Pub on premises..staff very pleasant..music good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving we waited about 15 minutes ringing the bell before anyone actually responded. They were all hanging around the bar having a laugh and it appeared they were drinking as well as the customers. When phoning in the morning re breakfast as no one was around, it took ages to get an answer. When asking about breakfast the reply was 'aww I'll need to stick everything on'. Felt awkward so called baxk and told him to forget it as I felt like an inconvenience. No one advised of leaving times so when we left we got 'checkout is 11am quite rude. Nothing on the website or up in the hotel rooms to advise. Only nice person spoken to was the nightporter as advised above.

    The look of the rooms. The nightporrer who was Friday night 26th/Saturday morning 27th

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the bed was better and the shower was working properly

    We had problems with the bed and the shower the bed I felt the springs through the mattress and the shower went from warm to roasting hot to freezing cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather was very windy and there were lots of drafts especially in the rooms onto the car park. Rooms were dirty her very hot or very cold

    Handy location for travelling into Edinburgh. Whilst this is a pub with rooms, there was no noise though our room was at the back. Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent facilities and welcoming staff definatley going to use it again... great choice of breakfast too and very accommodating for children cant fault it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there WERE NO GRAB RAILS WITHIN THE SHOWER AREA ITS, SELF SO CONSEQUENTY I WAS AFRAID THAT I MIGHT SLIP & FALL THIS IS THE ONLY SHORTCUMMING THAT I COULD FIND

    I ASKED FOR A ROOM WITH A WALK-IN SHOWER DUE TO MOBILITY PROBLEMS AS I CANNOT USE A BATH. I WAS DELIGHTED TO BE GIVEN A ROOM WITH A WET ROOM FULLY EQUIPPED FOR A DIABLED PERSON HOTEL VERY DISABLED FRIENDLY AS THERE ARE NO STEPS ANY WHERE IN THE HOTEL EVEN THE ENTRANCE HAS AN ACCESS RAMP

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very busy pub also on the same site, at kick out time the customers were outside shouting and making lots of noise this was around 2/3am

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 reasons....1 no where to go except your room & a bar no lounge to sit down...2 to far away from the big shops

    room was clean & comfortable,staff very helpful & kind

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and breakfast room were poor, very shabby. We were near the pub part of the place it was very noisy. A very shabby,place

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great. Just wish we had managed to stay the full night!

    Great for shopping at the designer outlet which is what we used it for. We even got upgraded for free to move us away from the bar area which was very thoughtful. The woman on reception was lovely as were the bar staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when we were there there was a small group of lads making a lot of noise staying there to

    The staff in particular Duncan was extremely helpful and made a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from faulty sqeeking floorboards in the room above. Unable to get a wink of sleep. Manager unhelpful, stated I should of reported it, but there was nothing he could of done to prevent this noise as it was floorboards and not the person.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE WAS NO LUNCH OR EVENING MEAL PROVISION NOT EVERYONE WANTS TO EAT CHINESE EVERY NIGHT GOOD THUGH IT WAS

    I HAVE A MOBILITY PROBLEM OF WHICH I ADVISED THE HOTEL .IN TURN THEY ALLOCATED A ROOM WITH A WET ROOM WHICH ISWHAT I HAVE AT HOME iDEAL SOLUTION TO MY PROBLEM

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds were in a strange position , the cups were not washed from the previous day, the pressure in the shower was very low, there was a lot of noise from outside during the night!

    the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was fine. There was nothing I didn't like.

    very clean . the beds were very comfy. amazing breakfast , nice friendly staff. Also handy for Chinese and Indian takeaways and Pizza with a co-op nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The breakfast was superb it was the first time I'd ever had a full Scottish breakfast there was plenty of other choices as well and the dining area was nice and comfy and clean, the food was well cooked and presented. The bathroom was very roomy and the shower was easily accessible for myself and my partner as we both have disabilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not sound proof, could hear the shower running two rooms down and every cough and sneeze and creaking floors. Not great as they were up early ! Car park was not secure. Bathroom floor not cleaned behind doors/in corners.

    Easy to find and get to

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought I'd arrived at a social club, not very appealing on the outside, plus glass of a car window in the car park so instantly worried about security. Nestled in between a housing estate and a few local shops on a parade. Room was mod and clean but very nosey from the bar (local pub) and room situated directly near the bar area so a lot of nose from music and people passing after the bar closed. Large bathroom, smallest sink in the world that you would find in a cloakroom loo, then a mirrored cabinet above the sink that protrudes over the sink so you physically cannot brush your teeth properly, never mind wash your face! Stated hairdryer in room on booking.com but found the nozzle from the end only and no hairdryer. No phone to ring reception for a hairdryer so went along to find it unmanned and reception closed as gone for the evening. This was approx 9.30pm. Asked in the bar ref a hairdryer, got a don't know what to do reply. Rang the reception number but no answer and also emailed reception and no reply. Emailed again in the morning and still have had no reply but they are glad to take your money for the room. Filled in the breakfast card stating egg, bacon and tomato at 8am. Arrived in the breakfast lounge with the sound of my breakfast coming from a microwave. One undercooked bacon rasher, one greasy over cooked egg and a plum tomato from a tin. Worst ever breakfast, totally disgusting and should be £1.50 for standard not £7.50.. No one in reception in the morning at 8.30 to check out, so left key with lady from breakfast lounge.

    Lady on reception as I checked in really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of road noise.

    Lovely modern, clean well decorated and large room. Shower was great and the bed very comfortable. Everything I needed for my stay. I was sleeping during the day and the room was very quiet which was appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were times that there was no one at the front desk. I had to ring the buzzers to have someone working in another area to come and help.

    I didn't arrive at the facility until 8:30 pm or a little later, I was tired and hungry. One of the bartenders got me checked in, showed me where my room was and carried my bag up the stairs. I next two days when I seen he said hi to me by my name.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not that good,

    breakfast was not really good, I think they should do more for it, staff was really good and helpful and it was pleasant stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was rowdy . Chinese on site needs customer service training . I had to ask for napkin . No placemats .was a bit like a truckers cafe

    We were flying from edinburgh early next morning . Bed was comfy and clean shower was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a poor down market Motel type property. Its not in the centre of Livingston as described and is a 10 minute car ride away from restaurants and shopping. Décor tired and dated. Room tiny. Staff did try by presenting towels nicely on the bed, but you cant polish something that cant be polished. Wasn't cheep and so wasn't even value for money. You have to pass the drinking den pub to get out the hotel and through all the smokers smoking in that area. Wont visit again - sorry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having a map of the pedestrian walk ways around the hotel would really be good eg using a walkway route to station 10 minutes map of bus routes would also help following the roads 15-20 minutes

    the accomodation and room was fine the breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excessive noise from the adjacent bar between 11.00pm and closing time - gone 1.00 in the morning - seriously affected our sleep resulting in missing breakfast and some morning appointments in Edinburgh. Cancelled second night.

    Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful using their local knowledge to help us plan some leisure time in Edinburgh. Having to speak with the manager after we got home (see below) he was most helpful and efficient in organising a refund.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tired and location off putting, noisy neighbours and had to stop the door from shaking every time another door was open on the corridor. Wireless was flakey, wanted to do my work but concerned about reliability and security.

    breakfast, staff and cleanliness, good for a last minute booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 25 and the pub was right outside the window. It was just too loud at night. The takeaway/restaurant below us the staff were just too noisy so if it wasn't the pub making a racket it was the staff in the restaurant below. The bathroom was just too small as you had to wedge yourself into the toilet area to shut the door.

    The lady that worked there was lovely and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed just a little more attention to detail, e.g. there was only decaff coffee sachets in the room, could have done with a non-slip bath mat, shaver light/socket not working. Nothing important enough to spoil the stay. Don't bother going in the bar for a quiet pint of real ale. We found the whole atmosphere of the area rather grey and depressing sadly - maybe it was the weather. I would like to think that there are some very interesting and attractive parts of Livingston and we'll try to visit them next time!

    Very clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £50 for a single bed on a Saturday during the Fringe is pretty good value. The locals in the busy bar downstairs can be pretty boisterous but friendly enough fellas. The room had been (mostly) done up recently. The bed was comfortable. The TV worked. Everything was clean. Its not luxury accommodation by any means. But clean accommodation it is and with the friendly staff, this place is decent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience of my friends who stayed in another room. The inconsistency amongst rooms is alarming and especially at the price.

    Shower and location of room within the building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the towels could have been slightly bigger, although this is just a personal preference there wasn't anything actually wrong with them.

    Very friendly staff and the accommodation was very cosy, rooms were spotless also bathroom was spotless. Very comfortable beds, good tv, storage, tea coffee etc. Very peaceful and private at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a karoke bar and sports bar so very noisy in some rooms ,, if you have a main road room noisey .from cars and people passing when coming out if the bar

    The beds were comfy, indain resturant very nice ,, near shops , and a large retail park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super helpful in getting an early checkin for us, Kirsty went out of her way to make it happen. It was so appreciated and set up our day perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with the booking and the staff didn't seem intetested in resolving the situation and didn't give me the impression my custom was important to them. They tried to pass the buck on to you guys! Also the room had mould and stains on the wall which i have pictures of and the room was really noisy. Beds and pillows where very uncomfortable and one of the pillows had a stain. There was also a problem with the shower which had a damaged hose pipe. All in all very disapointed and will not stay there again.

    Room did seem ok at first and modern, but that got shadowed by my over all experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    When I arrived, I thought "Oh dear"...how wrong could I be? Friendly reception staff, who took me to my room. I only had a single room, but it was clean and tidy, with tea coffee etc, an extra pillow, 2 quality towels, good crisp bed linen - even a chocolate on the pillow (and I forgot to eat it). A good shower too. A good - and busy public bar with a patio area for good weather. Sadly no evening retaurant, but a good Chinese restaurant next door (also friendly staff) and a couple of other takeaways fairly close by. BREAKFAST..... unfortunately payable extra, but it was added to the booking and no complaints at all, I asked for bacon (proper bacon came, not streaky salty bacon), sausage (it arrived with flavour!!) and Lorne sausage, plus a fried egg and haggis. The choice on offer was excellent and I got what I asked for and good quality too. All in all a good end to a nice stay. I was even offered a choice of semi skimmed or full fat milk. No qualms at all about recommending and also going again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It ok if you don't want a noisy bar with Scots drunken and screaming. directly outside the so called hotel I was approached by drug dealers and drunks. Bouncer stands by the reception door. the room was to a hostel standard.

    The only redeeming thing about this place is the nice guy who was at reception, very helpful and would suit working somewhere better

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels in bathroom are too small for full body use. Shower is very low powered. Lighting over desk is inadequate for reading. A desk lamp would be good.

    Made choice on room card, breakfast ready when you arrive in the dining room. Could do with a 'proper' coffee machine instead of instant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints

    The receptionist Mandy was extremely helpful went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed recommended Oscars restaurant that was excellent delicious food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here to be close to Edinburgh airport and it is a 20 pound taxi ride away. WE also took the train from Livingston North into Edinburgh for the day. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. THe room was small but clean and comfortable and even had an iron!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was far too small for a couple. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was very small and the door of the room could easily be kicked in if someone wanted to. It was cold - nearly couldn't shut the windows. On arrival we were unsure if the place was a hotel or just a pub. There was a man in a van drinking with music full blast in the carpark. Although the surrounding houses and cars looked well kept the 'hotel' was off to the side of a housing estate of flats. We had to go to the bar to find the man to check in, he seemed alright but wasn't the usual friendly hotel check-in you'd expect. They did try with the room in regards to towels rolled up and placed on the bed and a sweet on the pillow. My husband and I felt uneasy sleeping here and really only stayed as it was late in the evening before we got there. we didn't sleep that night at all and we were very glad we had planned to travel around Scotland and only booked this the one night. On check-out I had to find someone who looked like they worked there and he told me to just leave the key behind the desk rather than the normal hotel check out procedure.

    Nothing really at all, parking was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double glazing not adequate for the noise level outside and needed a lick of paint to the walls

    Close to the motorway, staff friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More of an observation than a dislike, but their in-house restaurant is actually half a mile away. The adjacent Chinese restaurant is not connected with the hotel, but the food was actually perfectly ok.

    Perfectly comfortable room, friendly staff. Close to local amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar underneath not really like a hotel bar tables sticky, felt like a good clean would make it more pleasant. I think the bar is used by locals living near to the lodge

    Square sausages the future excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chinese restaurant was okay. I was the only person in at the time. Food was acceptable but not the greatest quality and the portions were so large it rather put me off (I know shouldn't complain about a large portion). These are only small points to what was essentially an excellent stay.

    Staff were excellent nothing too much trouble. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Chinese restaurant was acceptable (great service by the way) but have had better food. Bar was nice and everyone very friendly. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely return there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel public bar dirty and dangerous.

    the hotel is let down by wher you book in and the public bar disgracful would not return . pity as hotel and staff great,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and was very noisy, so 2 poor nights sleep. No man light in the bathroom. Reported but nothing done. Room not cleaned during stay. Thought it was very expensive for what it was.

    All staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small TV in the room. Situated in a very poor location. Rooms not soundproofed in any way. Lots of noise from a joining rooms and pub & Function suite downstairs.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking in adjacent rooms. Paper thin walls and ceiling. You can hear everything - no privacy. Entry and egress door adjoining our room made an obnoxious shutter and screeching noice everytime somebody came In and out. This juxtaposed with noise pollution from above made it impossible to sleep. We had one pillow each that was so thin and worn it was disgraceful. Definitely not conducive to a good nights sleep. We decided approx @ 12am that it was impossible to sleep and managed to speak to the night porter, who to his credit was quite apologetic, moved us into the room that sits above the Chinese. Unfortunately the Chinese Restaurants ventilation system sat just under the window of the room, so with the window open on our arrival and the room saturated with the stench of greasy Chinese food, we unfortunately woke up smelling of Chinese food and our clothing was subsequently contaminated with foul smelling Chinese food too. The manager called us on the afternoon we left and offered a superior room for free the next time we stayed and we declined. We honestly would not stay there if we were paid. We have stayed in better backpacker accommodation. To suggest this hotel is 3 stars is preposterous and at best false advertising; notwithstanding an abuse on hotel accreditation rating system. We are loathe to leave negative feedback anywhere, but this was so bad and had such a deleterious effect on our day (we were on a course - not good when you can hardly keep your eyes open), we have felt compelled to leave some. Probably the worst place and nights sleep we have ever had.

    Nothing to like - abysmal place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a basic single room because at short notice, that was all that was available through Booking.com without paying silly money. The room was very small - the shower even smaller - and had very little pressure. I did ask at reception for a bedside table light so I could at least turn the light off without skinning my ankles whilst making my way back to the bed - there was gap of only about 12" around the bed and shower-room door - but they didn't have one. The so called Wi-Fi just didn't work, and neither did the plug in aerial which was stuck on the window ledge. I don't think that I have never stayed at an hotel which doesn't have an external TV aerial. Anyway, the TV to constantly froze and therefore rendered the TV unwatchable! Anyway - as I say you get what you pay for, and I shan't be paying again.

    You get what you pay for, and I guess I got what I paid for! The one member of staff that I spoke to was very pleasant and helpful, although already mentioned, unable to help with my one request - a bed-side light for my room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had the fan from the restaurant outside very noisy should never have been a bedroom

    The beds were very comfortable, the pillows past there sell by date. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room number 24 .check in was 2 pm we arrived at 2.50pm our room had not been prepared we were asked to wait until it was cleaned we decided to leave and go back later, when we arrived we were taken to our room, the room was still dirty, it was very noisy with the Chinese restaurants extractor fan directly outside our window which were not sound proof and the room smelt from the Chinese restaurant, the baths front panel was smashed the sealers were mouldy, truly worst ever stay

    when we left

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't really dislike anything,it was what we expected with the price for being close to Edinburgh and it was a perfect location for our trip to the Livingston Designer Outlets which were only 5 minutes away

    We had a full breakfast which was adequate but have had better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was an economy room, no bed side light just a ceiling light, room so small (around 10 ft by 10ft) I was unable to open the bathroom door fully, the only coffee cup was used to contain all the items for tea and coffee making. room was noisy, right above the smoking area, whole evening of yelling , screeching and shouting. Breakfast (£7.50) was almost entirely out of a tin or packets, 1 barely cooked sausage 1 egg, 1 piece of bacon and a lake of baked beans even the mushrooms were tinned and on the plate in what tasted like the brine solution from the tin, some strange square meat product around 6 cm square and 2 mm thick on the plate which had no discernable taste, flavour or smell and no real coffee just more nescafe sachets, poor paper table cloths and a TV on the wall tuned to some strange Satellite Crime channel describing brutal murders???. for £40 I wasn't expecting too much but even so..... but for an additional £7,50 for breakfast, I was at least expecting someone to try to provide some sort of value for money.

    Staff were pretty friendly and trying to be helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and accommodating. I was working nights had no problems sleeping in the day, with noise. They even let me check out late. Room was very clean and fresh. If up that way will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No usable Wi-Fi. Uncomfortable Bed. No Power sockets near desk area for laptop (if you could get Wi-Fi) No plug in the sink Adjacent Chinese restaurant very poor service and food £7.50 for breakfast way overpriced

    Receptionist was pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a touch cold.

    Awesome place. Easy to find. Ample parking for works van. Lovely staff and place and a amazing Chinese restaurant next door. I'd travel 400 miles for that orange sause any day. Thank you so much. Had a amazing time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was a superior double room(the normal rooms werent nice) on arrival the receptionist told us she moved us further down due to the noise from the bar but that night the noise was very loud and never stopped until 1.30am,theres only a corridor between the bar and room,we spoke with the receptionist and she was happyto move us rooms into a twin room which was further down,the second night was much better and we never heard any noise from the bar that night.breakfast was nothing special and was bland,had asked for black pudding but there was none,price was quite high for what we got but would book again but would book into a twin room.

    Room was nice and clean,bed comfy and room was cosy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent don't have any bad to say at all

    My stay was so comfy quiet and hotel and service was really good I will be staying over a lot now thank you for your stay x

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, just a little bit of noise till 1am (maybe) from the bar but not enough to get asleep (me)

    Close to the airport (15 min aprox.) Really nice room, comfortable bed, new furnitures and nice bathroom. Also, you have a bar just down stairs!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like being charged another £15 to upgrade to this room after being told the first room are the rooms that you get with online booking. Maybe you should state on your site that upgrades are advised. The first room was well below basic and run down bad decor and patched up plasterwork on ceiling.

    I liked the fact I was moved to another room because the first one had the extract vent from the restaurant below venting the smell into the room and the noise was intolerable . The second room was away from the noise and smell and was OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change my booking to a newly refurbished room because on the photos they dont show you the other rooms which arent refurbished, misleading.

    There were lots of local shops etc and a friendly restraunt next door. Lovely staff and nice new refurbished room. Very close to livingston shopping centre. Very clean!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The biggest bug was the night office is next door to the room i had (room 1) and the staff were allowing the door to bang each time they entered or left this kept me awake all night. The cost of the room was £134 for the 2 nights room only breakfast was and extra £7.50 which is more than i have payed in London at the County hotel which was a double room at £132 for 2 nights including all you can eat breakfast. i also found that the paint smell affected my allergy at first and i found it hard to stop coughin.

    The accommodation was nice a lovely single room very clean and newly painted

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: