Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Llechwen Hall 3 stars

Llanfabon, Pontypridd, CF37 4HP, United Kingdom

#1 of 8 hotels in Pontypridd

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 486 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were friendly, the ONE barman was friendly, sadly the rest of the staff clearly were unhappy with something, the room was incredibly overpriced, the gazebo had a leak.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    All in all disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms outdated and in need of attention. Bed felt like a 3 Quarter and had both my husband and I rolling off the sides. Linen was however good. Be warned its not close to the village and a pretty far walk up the hill. Booking.COM gave option of Diners card but this was not accepted (even though they had the sticker on the door!) The floors upstairs are wooden and you hear every step in the middle of the night! The function room was below our window so no quietness for reading/sleeping .

    The countryside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal to recharge your batteries after a long drive ahead of a business day
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a hint for improvement: cooked breakfast coud be more nicely presented.

    The location is definitely outstandig: Amazing gardens, nice rooms carefuly furnished with confy beds and fluffy towels to pamper you properly. Breathtaking views over the hills from most of the rooms. I particularly appreciated the plumbing and the fact that you have curtains able to make the room very dark. Satff is nice and welcoming. Dishes at the restaurant are tasty and very well presented, but cooked breakfast coud be more nicely presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Comfy bed and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking, request that you do NOT have room 5. It is very small and pokey and when the kitchen fans are on there is a continuous drone. The vibration is so bad that the cups rattle in the saucers on the table.

    Comfy bed and lovely location. The lounge bar has very comfy sofas and is a nice place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay an extra 11.95 for breakfast but all i ate was 1 bowl of cereal as was nothing left on the hot buffet the rest of my family said what they had was cold and nor good quality very dissapointed

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    The room very very small creaking floor, leaking toilet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old property needs improving before more done to the new extension! Too many steps everywhere I am registered disabled and found them quite challenging.

    The room very very small creaking floor, leaking toilet, that made an awful noise banging noise when flushed. Bed much too small had to hold on to the edge as afraid would fall out. A couple at breakfast stated the same problem in room 10. We were in 9. First breakfast awful mine was burnt but had an appointment therefore could not complain. Our guest family whom came up next day stayed in coach had dog woke them up Sunday morning at 6! Saturday evening meal, steak not good thin and not well cooked as requested. Sweet was awful dry and not edible very disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    A bit quirky, don't expect luxury and you probably won't be disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast bacon was a bit leathery. Takes a long time from order to eating - 15-20 minutes. Not the fault of the hotel, but if you need to travel South in the morning, leave plenty of time. Room and bathroom fittings rather tired; hot water and shower not reliable. Never been offered a 4-poster where there are no drapes - just a wooden frame!

    Liked the fact that breakfast was cooked at the time and therefore hot unlike many chain hotels. Although there were niggles, it is a pleasant and quiet place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Second visit to Llechwen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange damp smell in the bathroom in room 2, but it didn't spread into the bedroom and didn't put us off our stay.

    The staff were friendly and the location was perfect for our visit to the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Ideal to recharge your batteries after a long drive ahead of a business day
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a hint for improvement: cooked breakfast coud be more nicely presented.

    The location is definitely outstandig: Amazing gardens, nice rooms carefuly furnished with confy beds and fluffy towels to pamper you properly. Breathtaking views over the hills from most of the rooms. I particularly appreciated the plumbing and the fact that you have curtains able to make the room very dark. Satff is nice and welcoming. Dishes at the restaurant are tasty and very well presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place to chill out whilst boys went bike riding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge area with all-day food/drink menu, food generally was excellent (lunch, dinner and brekkie) and I was able to relax with a newborn without being made to feel uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place, lovely staff and handy for a lot of what Wales has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really can't complain at all, but if I had to pick one negative, it would be the lack of a bottle of water in the room on arrival... but that really is being picky. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed as it was my friend's wedding here. The staff were all exceptional (the lady on the front bar was a bit of a grumpy gus, but she was still good!). The room was clean and of a reasonable size with everything you needed, other than airconditioning as it was exceptionally warm! That said, it is an old property and doesn't lend itself to aircon at all... the window did open nice and wide, and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Great staf and great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the rooms have a walk-in shower, therefore not good if your disabled. They are building an extra 20 rooms and I hope they will include walk in showers to accommodate disabled as well as those who find it difficult to move. Walk in showers a must or wet rooms

    Breakfast was great and a wide choice. Staff were absolutely accomadating and I had a issue with my room due to the bath. Upgraded free of charge to 4 poster bed...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, private and tranquill, but not geared up for big occasions, slow servive at the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough staff for the bar during the wedding we attended. Very long waits for drinks at the bar.

    location and views, food was delicious in the wedding we attended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Wouldn't go back
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room over priced but had no choice as attending a wedding at the hotel. Breakfast lukewarm and had obviously been stood for at least 30 minutes as it opened at 7.30am and we went at 8am to breakfast and were the first to arrive. Eggs hard, beans dried up, sausage and bacon hard and hash brown cold.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting up on the hill over-looking Abercynon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit dates in areas, such as the bathroom and some of the decor.

    Lovely setting up on the hill over-looking Abercynon. Fantastic value for money. Comfy bed. Staff were great, very welcoming, helpful and thoughtful; when they heard we had recently gotten married they brought us over a glass of prosecco each.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Good atmosphere, warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot and cooking smells coming up from the kitchen. We were moved to a much better room after the first night.

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Only stayed 1 night with adult family for graduation at nearby University of South Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All beds rated as extremely comfortable. Unfortunately, we did not have sufficient time to try restaurant facilities (no, not even breakfast). Peace and quiet appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff were pleasant and helpful and the restaurant food...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was difficult to control and needed some maintenance - just a small point.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful and the restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Out in the wilds and close to towns!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed not as good as say a King. More and observation than a complaint.

    Young staff who were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were great. Quiet except for the wild-life (And there were plenty of animals and birds in abundance). Zero road noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Ideal retreat after a hectic night at the Stones’ gig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    Superb location very scenic. Staff are excellent. Rooms very comfortable. I really enjoy staying here especially when they have Felinfoel on draught !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant manner ,efficiency and general gg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pleasant manner ,efficiency and general gg,//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////eaminess

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely old building whch is a bit tired in places although there s a lot of development going on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom - quite dated and tired. The shower went from freezing cold to scalding hot with no warning. Disabled access to restaurant was outside, across the car park and round the building. Pleasant on a sunny day, not so much fun in the wind and rain.

    Surroundings - quite well kept grounds with far reaching views and full of wild life. Food - reasonably priced, well cooked and presented with good quality ingredients. The room was large and comfortable - Room 14 in the Coach House.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, comfortable stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are urgently in need or renovation. Shower is appalling.

    The water feature on arrival sets a good entrance to the hotel. The beds are amazing. Rooms are very relaxing and spacious. Views are beautiful and the gent on reception was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant, relaxed and comfortable stay in a quiet and attractive setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One staff member at breakfast.

    Splendid location and relaxed atmosphere. Staff most helpful and courteous. The only flaw was a young lady staff member at breakfast who was curt and largely indifferent to her guests and who needs some retraining. Dinner was good though the wine selection was limited and some items were not available. Despite this I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic venue .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit tired . Toilets in public areas need a bit more attention. Dated bathroom in rooms

    Fantastic venue . Great staff really nice food . A really nice atmosphere and feel around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely staff, value for money, beautiful views, dog friendly! Perfect!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we had noisy neighbours in the room next door (no fault of the hotel) and they were awake until 2am!

    Bed extra comfy. Staff extra helpful. Everything you could wish for in our room. Extra clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful surrounding but very noisy at night .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night . Floor boards need replacing and screwed down in corridors as they are old and very very creaky . For an old building the walls in the bedrooms are thin and you can even hear neighbours tslking . There was also a very loud drilling sound every hr at night which reception said was probably the extractor fan of the next bedroom . Don't expect a good sleep

    Bed was comfortable , beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, would definitely return,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic service from the staff, friendly and professional. The room was beautifully clean and comfy with a lovely view. Plenty of free parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Would I stay again? No, I wouldn’t. Would I recommend the hotel? No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress’s in the evening were very poor, we had to ask for water 3 times & the wine was poured without being asked to taste. However, the food & wine were excellent although we waited a long time for our second course. People that entered the restaurant after us were being served before us. At breakfast the waitress appeared to limit the toast to 2 slices each, fruit selection was very limited both in choice and amount. In my opinion the cost of a bowl of cereal and 2 slices of toast together with 1 cup of tea is somewhat expensive at £8.95. The bathroom door was jammed on arrival and the floor in the hall moaned & groaned whenever anybody walked down the hall.

    On arrival the Receptionist was very pleasant and the evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay at Llechwen Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t pick anything that’s we didn’t like.

    The bed was extremely comfortable; the best that we have experienced so far in our holiday in the UK. The room was in the coach house and was very comfortable and quiet. Wifi wasn’t blindingly fast but more than adequate for our needs. Excellent room and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Fabulous location and excellent breakfast, very happy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t warned there was a mid week wedding on and there was a lot of noise till 3-4am - not great in a creaky, old building where you can hear everyone moving about - so not much sleep sadly :-(

    Fabulous location and excellent breakfast, very happy to cater for us in a different room so we could keep our dog with us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    pleasant and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i am disabled and there was cones and hazzard tape left in the disabled area. no alternative give. leaving me to walk across a stoney car park

    the peace and quite. remote location stunning views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A Stay at Llechwen Hall April 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have previously been lodged in the Coach House where the ground floor suits us but this time we were upstairs in the main building and we found the wooden stairs slippery.

    We like the location, the smiling staff and the fact of them being very dog friendly. The restaurant is also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is good and the staff were very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the bridal suite. The bathroom door lock became jammed and took some doing to get undone. The silicone around the bath was coming away and the shower head holder wouldn’t stay on the wall. The hotel creeks and squeaks and the 4 poster bed....has seen some action given that every time I took a breath it too creaked!

    The location is good and the staff were very friendly and professional. The food in the restaurant was great, if a little over priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    We accidentally left with key in pocket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We accidentally left with key in pocket. Though no way receptionists fault would have saved us a long way back to return key if she had just asked for it. Otherwise excellent stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic staff and bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed a bit expensive, we didn’t opt for this so it may well have been worth the price.

    Staff were friendly and we felt very welcome. The bed was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant customer service 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was going to arrive late at night, and reception rang me when I was en route to see if they could prepare me something to eat on my arrival. Service like this is unheard of at this sort of price range. This place is very special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    lovely location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room was looking very tired and could do with re-decorating. Being an old building when a guest walked by in the corridor it actually moved the bed as the floor boards moved. I really enjoyed the food and the restaurant and Bar are were very nicely decorated.

    lovely location. Food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have been greeted at breakfast and shown to our table, had to move twice. waitress was not very helpful. All the other staff were great.

    The bed was great so comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for a 1 night stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite expensive for what it was, it was tasty though. Would have liked a bit more desk space to be able to work comfortably

    The bed was very comfy and all of the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful location, graceful old property, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some difficulty with the stairs, a lift would have helped.

    Staff very helpful, efficient and friendly. Nice casual feel to the lounge area. Menu good, food good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful position and excellent food !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room in the Coach House, which was large but a little tired especially the bathroom.

    The setting of the hotel is beautiful and there is plenty of car parking. The restaurant was a new modern space taking full advantage of the view, service in the restaurant was excellent as was the food at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Happy stay up a mountain ( large hill)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and comfortable room. Typified by the advice we received after a heavy snowfall overnight the reception advised us of an alternative route down to the town that was much safer than the direct road. Very attentive service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Booked for one night. Snowed in, so stayed for two and very pleased to do so!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

    Superb setting, very comfortable and warm. Food excellent, Felinfoel on draught a real bonus. Helpful, friendly and conscientious staff. A delight to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    A short but comfortable stopp off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom could have done with some form of heating, say a heated towel rail, I know it was especially cold during our stay. The bedroom and rest of the hotel were well heated and comfortable with a homely feel about it

    woke up to deep snow so owing to the remote location of hotel, not all the staff were in, those who did arrive made every effort to attend to our needs, so not a perfect breakfast but under the circumstances a very acceptable on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very comfortable and scenic place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff in the breakfast area were not very acknowledging and friendly. It took us 30 mins to get served on one occasion. Hot breakfast took at least 40 mins to arrive which I personally think is too long, this meant I stuck to continental breakfast most of the time.

    Room was upgraded for free as the standard double room we stayed in wasn't ideal as there was a generator that was going on and off intermittently during the night. Bed was really comfy and we had a good nights sleep every night. Upgraded room in the coach house was very spacious. Continental breakfast was sufficient and the croissants always fresh. Staff at reception were always very helpful and nothing was too much of a problem for them. On our last day, we were able to request for a late checkout which they did free of charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't have a heated towel rail.

    Lovely and warm on a cold weekend,staff very friendly and accommodating . Welsh staff which was lovely. A great location, good restaurant.very clean a good place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here on route to the breacon becons and it was the perfect location! Food at the hotel was amazing- have already recommended it to all our friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no desk or surface to work on in the room I stayed in - not the end of the world but is a convenience.

    Friendly hotel - warm - good selection at the bar and restaurant -really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxed and comfortable stay, staff professional, welcoming on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the four poster room in the coach house, it met expectations but a few minor errors could be rectified to make it even better. Eg rusty mirror in bathroom, broken pieces of bath panels, crack in the tiles, cap missing off shower pole, radiators were hot at the bottom but not the top so needed bleeding to make the heat come out fully. Lovely bed but it was noisey when turning over to sleep, plastic bin in the room. Found rose petals on sofa from previous customers stay.

    The staff were very welcoming and professional. It was hidden away in a quiet location, the lounge and restaurant were very comfortable to relax and eat in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice night away lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom which we paid for a four poster room needs decorating there was a damp patch and the painting was a bit shabby, the decor needs to be updated

    The place was lovely set up on the mountain the food was beautiful really nice so was the full Welsh breakfast staff can't do enough for you downstairs decorated very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the bridal suite but the bed was very noisy, even just turning over in our sleep the noise made us wake up, good job we weren’t consummating a wedding night 😀

    Was overcharged by young man on the desk, was quickly rectified and refund of overcharge was corrected, quick smooth and efficient, mistakes happen not going to hold this against them, was extremely happy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    staff excellent comfortable bed & good size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room 17 best avoided unless you like listening to the boiler revving up and the water tank filling up

    staff excellent comfortable bed & good size room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, very polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom need a revamp i think. Shower wasnt up to much

    A guy called corey i think dealt with us and he was the nicest person to have dealt with us in different stays we have had

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly unorganized and lacking in social skills and on occasions quite rude , everything appeared be be too much trouble . Breakfast was overpriced and when we arrived nothing was ready even though we were told it started from 8am we were there 9am and had to wait !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Defo stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was lovely,the restaurant food was some of the best we've ever had!.The chief a lovely chap,cheers! All the staff lovely,the only small negative was caused by another guest who thought it was ok for him to speak loudly on his mobile whilst walkin past the bedrooms at seven in the morning,( not everyone has a business meeting!!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed all except breakfast experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed breakfast not included. Poor service at breakfast Served ourselves to everything including hot drinks. No welcome to breakfast just request for Room Number.

    Excellent room and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Good value mid level hotel away from it all.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift and a bit of a Fawlty Towers layout. Tiny Tv screen Also part of its charm Same for the location on top of a mountain with a winding single track hairpin narrow road - not fun to drive at night - but no traffic noise, and clean air, and great views No pretension to be 5 star - it suited our needs for a weekend visit - decent room and food, fresh beer, in summer the top of a Welsh mountain looks much better than November cold and rain. It helped that I know the town- and this hotel - outside visitors might want to arrive in daylight.

    Daily newspapers generally friendly staff, and a 2 night stop for 2 with decent breakfasts and some bar snacks and drinks for less than 200 pounds was a fair price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having more teabags and milk would save making a request. 4 bags for two people after traveling isn't what we needed.

    Wonderfully comfortable bed! The room was much larger than I expected with great views over open countryside. I would definitely stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floorboards very noisy, very disruptive when people moving around in their rooms or in the corridor

    Very nicely presented, lovely views, welcoming staff, warm, comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Mae e'n da,da,iawn- magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive could do with resurfacing and That's about all.

    This is an amazing venue in a stunning location. The staff are young and vibrant the food exquisite. The cleaning staff deserve a special mention. I would get married here again and Laura is the wedding planner extrodinaire. Welsh chutzpah times infinity. Easy to find and warmly welcoming BENDEGEDIG..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Would gladly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down side, four poster felt unsafe and if held onto moves around. Also the original shower he’d had been replaced with a very poor substitute which not only provided very little power was coming off the wall. These were the only things I found wrong with the room.

    Lovely staff, fab scenery. Room was a very good size and decor was in keeping. It was worm and comfortable. Had an amazing view out of the window and was quite so able to sleep without any trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very poor. Low connection speed and I lost the network on various occasions. If you need a hotel to work from this could be an issue and may not be the best choice

    I stayed here for 3 nights and my room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is very well kept and the public areas are a great place to relax. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised that tea and coffee at breakfast was self service from thermos jugs (Tasted ok but most hotels of this standard supply freshly made tea or coffee brought to your table by waitress)

    We had a lovely big room in the Coachhouse. The beds were extremely comfortable - best of any hotel we've stayed in! Stunning setting with beautiful views all around. Friendly and helpful staff on reception and in the bar. Freshly made cooked breakfast was nice. (NB we paid extra for our breakfast, booked the previous day when we arrived)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service only a little slow

    Nicely decorated comfy room. Food in resturant was very good. The service at breakfast a little slow (i was the first one in shortly after 7am) I will stay again it's a good option fairly close to my business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely country hotel, dog-friendly and great food!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Country hotel so all rooms upstairs then down a few stairs so not ideal for travelling with dogs but fortunately mine coped well a slept like a baby both nights.

    Comfortable room, lovely high bed with cosy duvet. Plenty of hot water. Great gardens/grounds for the dog to run free. High quality of food -taste and delivery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    A friendly, nice hotel in a rural location
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bedroom was difficult to keep at the right temperature.

    The food in the restaurant off the à la cart menu was excellent especially the vegetarian ravioli. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasent and friendly staff with nice relaxed atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little dated in the bedrooms and lounge areas but this was reflected in the overall cost of my stay.

    Nice dining room, the food was very reasonably priced and good quality and the staff were all very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Everything you'd expect and need in a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two minor things- TV too small Cracked black pepper on the table.

    Great hotel, clean and tidy and was the sort of hotel I would I come to with my family. The decor was traditional and cozy and well maintained. Service was fantastic, warm and friendly. This is my new hotel in Wales. I have stayed in most hotels in Wales and even Celtic Manor. I preferred my stay here and will be booking again next week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Memory foam mattresses in all rooms, so wouldn't go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was memory foam. Meal was under cooked and chicken still had blood on the bone; I was offered another meal. I checked out after one night as I couldn't sleep on the memory mattress.

    The double dragon beer was good. I was not charged for dinner. Staff tried to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Lovely historic building in beautiful area but disappointing once you get inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once you enter the main hotel first impressions are good but as soon as you enter the rooms that is when it goes downhill. In great need of refurbishment or even a bit of tlc would help the situation. The first room in the Coach house was unacceptable.The bath had old wooden bath panel falling off exposing rusty nails and you could not stand on the vinyl floor without sticking to it. We immediately asked to be moved and the young gentleman on reception handled issue extremely well and moved us. He upgraded us to four poster room in main hotel but not really an upgrade as the room was in poor condition again. The four poster had none of its drapes, the chairs in the room badly stained and damp on the wall that needs attention. Wardrobe door was broken and in general the furnishings could have been chosen better to reflect the history of the building. Attention to detail lacking, thick dust on four poster, window reveals need cleaning and no sockets in the room near mirror where hairdryer provided will reach. It was late and as we were in a remote area we stayed the night. We asked to use the restaurant but were told there was a limited choice on Sunday evening.Upon being seated in the empty restaurant we found the sticky substance we had experienced on the bathroom floor again on the table surface. So much so we joked with the waiter when the plate was stuck to the table.We commented it could be a hot pot of coffee and cause a nasty accident one day. He said it was the cleaning products they used. The background music was obviously designed to try and please all but definitely didn't with a mixture of Robin Thick, Shirley Bassey, Matt Munro and 'I can't touch this' rapping. The redeeming feature of the night was the bed, so comfortable we decided to avoid the hassle of moving and stayed the 2 nights we booked for.

    The staff were excellent despite all our problems when we arrived. The hotel looks beautiful and grand in the most lovely setting. Great scenery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    An elegant hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room was very quiet and lacked any atmospere. It was empty when we arrived for breakfast and we had to go and find staff. Breakfast was extra, seemed a shame in a hotel of that quality

    An elegant hotel in a lovely location. Our bedroom was very large with a sitting area, and a good bathroom. Good bar and a very comfortable lounge area. Beautiful views from many of the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed not recommended sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very dated and tiered looking. The headboard was very noisy along with the squeaking floor boards and extremely noisy pulmbing even from the room next door.The walls were thin leading to hearing every cough, sneeze and noise from the bathroom next door.

    The surroundings were quiet with great views of the valley. The bed itself was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any dislikes.

    Everything from checking in to checking out. Attended a wedding as a guest and could not find one fault. Wedding breakfast was superb as was the full breakfast on the morning after.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    The location as a wedding venue was 1st class but disappointed with the room and bar service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was booked as "Deluxe double room with views over the Welsh countryside" in fact we were in an annex on the ground floor looking on to the car park with the front door constantly opening and a noisy wooden staircase the other side of the wall to the headboard!! I paid for Deluxe room but got a poorly located room in an annex.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: