Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lloyds of Chester 3 stars

Brook Street, Chester, CH13DU, United Kingdom

#34 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet and shower unit although clean were very cramped with no way of keeping toilet area dry. There was also quite a step down out of the shower which would be difficult for older residents.

    Suited our requirement to be close to the rail station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were brilliant.. I didn t like the fact they took the money of my card a few days before.. I understood by booking. Com.. You pay the property when you leave. And your credit card was just to secure the booking. . I wanted to pay cash.. And I had to ask for my receipt of payment when I was leaving... So I would suggest booking. Com are advertising terms and Conditions wrong or the hotel is at fault. ..you can't book with out a credit card.. So there for the hotel should wait for you to make the payment. Of your choice. It's different if you don't turn up.

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok but I won't book the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - 2 Adults and One Child
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was awful. It's a plastic pod with toilet, sink and shower area which reminded me of festival cubicles. Silicone in pod was discoloured and mould stained. Did not use the shower for this reason. The step to get into the pod could have been a leg breaker as you had to step over the lip of the pod to step down. Not ideal for kids. No fans available so the room was stuffy however the owner did apologise for this.

    Good location. Friendly reception. Room was big enough for all of us and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Was worried because of some bad reviews.... but we found it to be excellent for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a couple of things could have made our stay a little better..... the bathroom (although very clean) was TINY! The same as you usually see in a caravan. It was well lit, shower worked well and small toiletries/large bath towel supplied...... does the job on a budget!! .... Our room unfortunately was on the top floor, which was a lot of stairs to climb.... I should have requested a ground floor room on booking but didn't.... so not the hotel's fault!

    The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station and tour bus stop.... which is ideal if you're getting on a bit, or can't walk too far. The city centre is only about a 10/15 minute walk as well.... but catching the open top tour bus is even better! Very clean in the hotel, bedroom (twin) was large and nicely furnished, although a bit dated..... but for the price (which was excellent) it was all we needed. Dining room was lovely.... and so was the full English breakfast. Manager is very helpful and friendly, and it's good that you get your own key to the front door to come and go as you please at any time day or night. We were at the front of the hotel but noise didn't bother us. Highly recommend this hotel for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Outdated & lacking in amentities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of bathroom - no bigger than a cupboard Only 2 plug sockets & they were located on the far side of the room Only a small fan provided, which was insufficient for the size of the room. Tv was tiny, too small for the size of the room. Sheets did not fit the bed.

    Location to train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was disappointing as it was tired and cramped. To be fair period rooms are often difficult to accommodate own bathroom. The pod style chosen appears difficult to maintain to same standard of rooms. Saying that shower was good.

    Best customer service I have experienced in a while, nothing was too much trouble for the staff team. The room has been recently decorated and had a new carpet and was lovely and clean. Convenient location; 5 minutes walk to train station and 10 into the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en-suite was very similar to that of a caravan bathroom, the windows shook when you walked across the room and rooms in need of an upgrade and good clean.

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were disgusting stained mattress and sheets. The toilet was broken the shower was blocked. One double pug socket only with adapter. Could go on. All in all awful and would not go again.

    The location was good. The breakfast was fresh cooked. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    I am glad I chose Lloyd’s and would stay there again as only five minutes’ walk from the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an excellent room on the first floor but our friend was on the ground and had a frosted window. Our view was a car wash but it was a good vista because it wasn’t built up.

    The beds were very comfortable The staff at breakfast were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    I had just driven up from Padstow in Cornwall . I wanted somewhere to sleep close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like. The staff were helpful and the building was exactly as I thought it would be.

    It was inexpensive and near the railway station. A bit jaded, but exactly how I thought it would be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Didnt have breakfast , ate else where, while out shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All pretgy satisfactory with overall complaints otherwise

    Didnt have breakfast , ate else where, while out shopping, beddi g was clean & tidy, comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely little place, would definitely stay here again and have already recommended you to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was on the small side, however it was clean and just what we needed.

    In a perfect location to explore Chester. Lovely staff and very comfy beds!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was so small and difficult to move in and in and out off. Room near main ring road and noisy. It was a lovely day and the room was too hot at night - could have done with a fan. The hotel is in need of refurbishment.

    very friendly and helpful staff - location near to town, train station and river. Room large. Breakfast very good and only £5!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    position of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness was shocking, skirtings, radiators covered in dirt & dust, carpets not very clean and the whole place could do with painting, floor boards creaked badly, we had breakfast one morning only which was a good price £5, and would have been good value except it was very greasy, hence we ate out for the other mornings.

    position of hotel. clean bed, daily room service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Not an ideal area a bit rough, rooms spacious and comfortable you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was like a caravan bathroom all plastic and small claustrophobic,breakfast was awful swimming in fat

    Rooms spacious bed comfortable room clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Really nice was a bit in sure after reading bad reviews but I don't have a bad word to say.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so early

    Rooms are big have everything you need for a couple of nights. Beds were comfy. Clean bedding. Staff were fabulous and really friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Budget hotel done properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We waited a little longer than we expected to check in, but with a small hotel that is understandable. As previously mentioned, the bathroom is small, which may put you off if you're used to larger ones, but it works.

    Completely exceeded my expectations! Bed was very comfy, there were tea and coffee making facilities, decent area close to the train station. Only potential gripe you may have is the tiny bathroom, but it's fit for purpose and has everything you need. 24 hour access was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.5
    Closet bathroom but comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room (facing street) extremely noisy. Smallest bathroom ever and not enough light but it did the job. Breakfast no good either.

    Second room we moved to was very quiet. Management did their best to try and make things right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay in a great location, owner goes above and beyond expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really the room served its purpose, comfy bed, shower tea and coffe facilities, what more do you need!!

    Comfortable beds, excellent service from staff, you get what you pay for in the location your in Chester! We would definitely go back again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for money stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old building so very noisy when other guests moved around in room above and on stairs. Bathroom smaller than average portaloo.

    Friendly staff, value for money, good breakfast, comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A slight initial problem with the shower room, but that was rectified immediately when we mentioned it to the manager.

    A nice little B&B, clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful manager and staff. Minutes from the station and only a short walk into the town centre. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast for £5, with juice, coffee, toast, cereals and Full English. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely Stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    Really friendly owner, easy to find, value for money and easy access to city centre. The breakfast was £5.00 each but well worth the money it was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Did not see any staff, the bar was not open for any of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 2 Adults and One Child
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not see any staff, the bar was not open for any of our stay. We had a room facing the road and traffic noise was a problem, on our first night both my daughter were both cold. It’s was a clean room and tidy when we got back later in the day .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at LLoyds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing that could be improved on is ....providing a hand towel as well as a bath towel would be appreciated. Only a bath towel for each guest was provided. Not ideal for drying body and hair after a shower (especially for the ladies) Guest's can pay £5 extra per head for breakfast...which I believe includes cereals and a cooked breakfast. But due to late 'lie ins' we didn't get to sample.

    Good Value for money.... 5 mins from the train station if you travel by train and approximately 10/15 walk from town centre. There is limited parking at the Hotel. The rooms reflect the room rate ....no frills but there is tea/coffee making facility in the rooms. We found the place clean, tidy and comfortable, ideally located for a short visit to Chester.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Diabolical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the floor in the bedroom sloped the toilet made a noise after flushing the cubical shower smells and the handle fell off our door when we went in and you had to push the door open as it had new carpet and no one had bothered to take a bit off the door so it would open properly !!!!!they were hard up for teabags they only put 3 tea bags in !!!!!and we were told that the breakfast had gone up to £10 not £5 per person as when we booked !!!!!!!!!

    It was near the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely awful. I am sorry about the review but this was not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness,decor not revamped in many years, smell and the "en-suite" pod. And the price!!

    The place was abysmal - we would not even be tempted to have a coffee there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is tired and needs a clean with a bit of money spending On staff and cleaning it could be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management were less than helpful and aloof we got the impression we were an inconvenience to him we were told we could have breakfast in the morning by the man who booked us in but in the morning we were told there was no breakfast that day . I wouldn’t go back again to that hotel because we were not made to feel anything other than an inconvenience to person in charge

    Location was great bed was clean and it was value for the cost

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    Hurendess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner,a better toilet area it was like a caravan toilet you couldn't even hardly sit on the toilet cos it was that small.stains on the matrest cover,IT NEEDS CLOSE ING DOWN

    WE DIDN'T LIKE IT AT ALL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Lloyds of Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the en-suite I felt was an after thought and it had the look of a caravan shower room. No room to put arms sideways and the sink was also in the small space. Anyone with leg problem would struggle with the step up and down into the bathroom

    The bedroom was clean with clean bed linen and only 1 bath towel, no hand towel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good budget accomodation in an excellent location walking distance from station and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower tray filled up quickley and needed monitoring .Sheets on bed moved very easiliy and the fitted corners came off too easilyl.

    good budget accomodation excellent location . We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for 2 nights close to railway station and short walk into Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite was very small

    Room was big , comfortable bed and able to leave luggage after we checked out and collected them later . Very close to railway station .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels old, the bathroom is not efficient for anyone taller than 5ft7. The bed was clean and comfy. It was a hot weekend so felt uncomfortable but that's not the hotels fault...but a fan would have been welcome. For the price I don't think you can moan to much. Breakfast was cheap and freshly cooked so 5 * for that.

    The location is good and the cost is fair for what you get.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Was ok for somewhere to try and get your head down for the price, not somewhere we would return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, very noisy when people coming back early hours and from the main road outside and the smallest bathroom/ cupboard in the wall we have ever experienced!

    The hotel was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, good price and fairly basic but with good friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom pod was a little snug - there really wasn’t very much room. Whilst the bedroom was adequate the standard of cleaning wasn’t to the level I would expect.

    The location was ideally placed for exploring Chester & close to the railway station. The value was good, as we didn’t want to spend a fortune. Breakfast (at an extra cost of £5) was very good value. The manager was so helpful - we found the room too warm and couldn’t turn off the radiator and the manager came and sorted it out. He also provided an extension cable so that we had access to enough plug points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and would recommend located 10 mins walk from town and 5 from train statio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room very small but shower itself very very good and hot and powerful .. would not put me off. Coming again though

    Breakfast was very good value for money and plentiful and tasty. Bed was very comfy Room very roomy and clean Good tv Coffee and tea making facilities Iron and ironing board Hairdryer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Top location with great staff, less than 5 minutes to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location with great staff, less than 5 minutes to the station, pub straight facing with shops cafe etc over the road, also offered free breakfast for two 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff welcoming, rooms clean and good value breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although rooms had en-suite facilities they were clean but very poor. An old building with need of updating. Steep stairs and lots of steps.

    Staff welcoming, rooms clean and good value breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towel in the bathroom only bath towels , tiny ensuite more like what you would expect in a tiny caravan . Staff friendly enough but didn’t seem to be many about . Breakfast ok .

    The location was great .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Basic and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small, especially for tall people. There were no extra power points and the information provided by the staff member was not always clear.

    The room was a good size. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location, with very friendly staff and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very cramped.

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly welcoming staff. Comfortable room, with lots of amenities (TV, hair drier, iron & ironing board, kettle with teas and coffee). Quiet at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Had a great stay ideal family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower room and toilet took a bit getting used to but was clean and adequate

    Location was great Breakfast was great and good value for money served by pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was the smell of the air freshener sticks and not having a bedside table at my side of the bed.

    We had a great 2 nights at Lloyds. We received a warm welcome and were given a map which was really useful. Our room was quiet, warm, clean and spacious. The second day we got clean towels which impressed us considering how reasonably priced it was. It was brilliant being so close to the station and being able to leave our cases on the last day. The breakfast and staff were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    The location was great as we were travelling by train and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lick of paint and some tlc could make a huge difference but if you're on a budget we would recommend Lloyds.

    The location was great as we were travelling by train and lloyds was just a couple of minutes walk from the station. The room was basic, with no frills, but was great value if you're looking for budget accommodation . The room was clean and warm and the bed comfortable . The staff were all helpful and pleasant. We were allowed to leave our luggage after check out as our train was not until the afternoon. Breakfast was good for a fiver and we were not at all rushed . Extra toast and coffee / tea was offered. We had seen some poor reviews prior to booking, which did not deter us and having visited we do not feel they were justified. We had a nice nightcap in the little bar opposite and all in all enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    A GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL - VERY BASIC BUT CLEAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BATHROOM IS A PURPOSE MADE POD IN THE CORNER OF THE BEDROOM, MUCH LIKE YOU WOULD FIND IN A CARAVAN WITH PRE-MOULDED FITTINGS. IT IS SEPARATED BY A DOOR BUT IS TINY. ALSO IT IS A GOOD 10/15 MIN WALK INTO THE TOWN CENTRE WHICH I DON'T THINK IS TOO CLEAR ON THE WEB-SITE.

    I ASKED FOR A BOTTLE OF PROSECCO & AN ICE BUCKET TO BE IN OUR ROOM ON ARRIVAL, NOT REALISING THE HOTEL DOESN'T SELL ALCOHOL, BUT THE OWNER SAID HE WOULD GO TO THE SUPERMARKET & BUY ONE FOR ME SO HE COULD DO AS I ASKED - HE ONLY CHARGED ME £8, THE COST FROM THE SUPERMARKET WHICH WAS BRILLIANT AS I WAS EXPECTING AT LEAST A 50% MARK-UP.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was clean, but very tired and in need of redecorating. The en-suite was not clean to a standard you would expect. The shower walls and shower head were quite grimy.

    The bed was very comfortable. It is very close to the train station and a short walk into town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    A bit disappointing. Chester is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Very small toilet and shower. Whole place needs sprucing up. Picture suggested a smart street. It was opposite a sex shop and car wash. You have to pay for parking. Up to 35 ish quid for a week. Doesn't come across in hotel spiel. He did kindly let us park around back but room for 2/3 cars only. Street is generally run down near a busy main road so noisy at night.

    Breakfast was decent for a fiver

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Really good, a pleasent stay for our weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The hotel was perfectly situated for both the train station and the city centre and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room was clean, a good size with the bed being very comfortable. The full English breakfast was really good value for £5.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Lloyds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities where not up to much.. Very basic and not at all big enough for a 6 foot 3inch guy. Look like it had come out of a caravan.

    It was near to the city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Didnt get a good nights sleep on the first night cos of noisy guests. No double glazing so on the second night we could hear the pub or club that wss nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Clean rooms and comfy, staff friendly and we coming,closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs for myself as am classed as disabled but apart from that every thing was ok

    Clean rooms and comfy, staff friendly and we coming,closed to city centre and railway station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for! Cheap and cheerful, great as a base/bed to explore Chester and surround.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty and dated, the shower leaked from the cupboard-bathroom onto our carpet in the bedroom due to a lack of shower curtain. Not the quietest of hotels, due to lack of double glazing and creaky floorboards. We could hear the guests above walking around their room until the early hours.

    The location was great for local amenities. The bed was clean and comfy, close to the centre and local shops for them few missed essentials. After reading reviews of this hotel, I didn’t expect the ritz so wasn’t too disappointed. Good value for money compared to other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    budget accommodation, but still clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny and there was an unpleasant smell. Double glazing would be beneficial as the rooms at the front are near a noisy road.

    Nice big room, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    Poor management and hotel in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't available on arrival had to walked round Chester for hour; but was offered free breakfast next morning, very noisy neighbourhood to stay so not good for getting a good night sleep but convenient into Chester Centre.

    The bed was extra comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    We are not coming back to here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was too small (not enough space in there), no view from the window, not enough light in the room, the bedding was dirty and smelly.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable bed, everything else lacking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was far too small, with the toilet moving on the plastic floor. No shower curtain. Stains on the inside of the curtains and cigarette burns on the carpet. On check out, the receptionist was initially nowhere to be seen, then when he did appear, he was more interested in his telephone call.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    Need to concentrate on cleaning!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to pay more attention to cleaning!!! toe nail clippings on the floor and dirty shower. The room was so hot and I could not settle at night with the window open as I was on top of a fire escape. It was the first room at the top of the stairs and people up and down with creaky floorboards.

    Good size room, value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Not for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a plastic wet room In the corner of the room, the toilet was literally in the shower. The carpets needed a good hoovering and windows a clean! Unfortunately we were at the front of the hotel which was very noisy as it is adjacent to a main road. The whole place needs a spruce up! I’ve left this break feeling really tired as the noise from outside is very loud.

    The room was really spacious, the hotel is in walking distance to Chester city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Defo would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little further from town that we anticipated nothing a £4 taxi didn't sort

    Good enough for a weekend away, clean, bathroom was no problem. Great value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not have any negative reviews for this hotel. Great location. Clean hotel and friendly staff. I would defiantly stay here again. I would recommend stay here. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    This is a basic place to stay but staff were friendly, the...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suite toilet/shower cubicle was clean but very small.

    This is a basic place to stay but staff were friendly, the bed comfy and the place was generally clean. We got what we paid for basically!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    I didn’t like the bathroom, was very tight!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the bathroom, was very tight! Toilet was too close to the shower. Also noticed bathroom wasn’t very clean. Very noisy room, could hear a lot of noise coming from upstairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite facility was restrictive. .shower could of been more efficient. .

    Good central location. .adjacent to town and station...comfortable room and bed...good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    The room was quite large for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was caravan-like and very small like stated, wasn’t a problem for us though as the size of the room made up for it.

    The room was quite large for the price! Bathroom was very small and caravan-like but wasn’t important to us as the price was satisfactory and the room was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.8
    Pods for bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information was provided at check in. The room was tiny. The double bed was very small. The bathroom was a plastic pod. Bizarre. The sheets didn't fit the bed. It was overbearingly hot in the room. Got about 2 hours broken sleep. The card machine wasn't working. A pile of booking forms with bank card details on were stacked behind the check in desk so after we paid in cash we asked that our bank details be shredded but he said don't worry , he was responsible for the paperwork. It wasnt destroyed. I won't go back .

    A warm welcome . Person on check in made friendly conversation re our journey etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    It was ok,we were only there for one night,which was enough.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise factor,aun suite,im seventy years old and think im reasonably fit,i think people of my age would find the bathroom difficult to negotiate.

    the breakfast had a taste,what it was fried in??

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    3.3
    My wife and I were expecting a lot better. Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t private.Hotel closed at 8.00pm ,so late comer’s had to use side door which was next to our room,noise was terrible.Bathroom was very,very small. Room overlooked kerb side ,so people were walking past our window.

    Breakfast was very good.Tea and coffee and milk were well stocked up in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "en-suite" was cramped - toilet, wash hand basin and shower cubicle all crammed in one little cupboard. But, I guess with the hotel being an old building, it would have been difficult to make it any larger.

    Good sized room, very convenient for walking into town, parking at nearby train station 2 minutes' walk from the hotel. Clean towels daily. Warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very dirty. Stained sheets, and they had a very unpleasant odor as well. The towels looked like they had been used before. No shower curtain, and the bar of soap were used and dirty. The roof outside of our window was covered in dirty socks and cigarette butts. Not a very good nights sleep with the swinging sign outside our window either. Disgusting!

    Good location. And that's about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Lloyds of Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property on arrival presented with clean reception area pleasantly greeted and room was ready. Property itself was a little dated in need of revamp. But beds were clean and comfy. The ensuite pods were a tight squeeze. But again presented clean. Breakfast was great value for £5. But the room could do with some form of heating. Lovely 2 night stay. Would certainly go back.

    Willingness to please of the Manager/owner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    2.9
    Bed was cormfy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only single glazed on the front ground level very noisy with traffic into the early hours got no sleep bathroom very high of the floor and very tiny with mould up the walls

    Bed was cormfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money close to train station and interchange bus service. Would recommend to fellow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was adequate but a little small, however better than sharing a bathroom.

    The location and the curtesy of the staff. The breakfast was adequate . The place was a little tired, however everything was very clean and inviting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in a perfect location for shops, bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a bit noisy through the night

    The hotel is situated in a perfect location for shops, bars and restaurants. We were very pleased with our room and the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Close to the train station, places to eat and drink at night...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the poor guy who worked there seemed to be doing everything so booking in was slow, he was very polite and helpful though.

    Close to the train station, places to eat and drink at night and a short walk into town. Just cheap and cheerful really.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, friendly and accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side, which the hotel cannot be held responsible for, was the road noise as it is situated close to a busy dual carriage way. Perhaps would benefit from double glazing. Temperature in the 3 rooms we had varied between each room. It wasn't cold in any of the rooms but the temperature was definitely varied.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing seemed too much trouble. As we didn't fancy a full English breakfast we were offered cereals & toast with either tea or coffee as an alternative at a reduced price. We were a group of 4 so had 3 rooms, all of which were spacious and clean. The Ensuite facilities were on the small size, almost resembling a self contained 'pod' similar to that found in a caravan, but they served their purpose. Easy walking access to city centre. Adequate parking nearby at train station, at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely comfy clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/wet room very small needs updating. Drafty by window but with curtains on was ok.

    Lovely comfy clean room. Nice helpful staff. Security/access really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: