Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Loch Fyne Hotel and Restaurant Kenilworth

High Street, Kenilworth, CV8 1LZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 10 hotels in Kenilworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 761 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Doubtful I would go back. I don't like to give a bad review but there we have it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was impossible both at the hotel and in the immediate vicinity. Check in experience was lousy. Unmanned reception with a sign saying ring bell. After 15 minutes of ringing bell nobody had arrived. Went on a hunt, eventually tracked down the rather disgruntled manager. No apology nothing. Guess he was having a bad day. Room was very hot but so was the weather so kind of understandable but also suffered from excessive traffic noise late into the night and from early in the morning.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but low on resources
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was good but had sold out of several types of fish. Our room was very nice but being an old building the windows wouldn’t open fully and there was no air conditioning. We had a fan but it was too noisy to have it going during the night, so my husband slept on the floor as it was the coolest place to sleep. Breakfast could have been better. There was no yoghurt left, no croissants, Danish pastries and only two measly looking bananas and a handful of similar looking apples. I’m not sure if they had been extra busy on the Saturday BUT...

    Stayed on a Sunday evening on one of the hottest days of the year. Have stayed here before. A wonderful location in a beautiful place. The staff were excellent and thoroughly attentive, especially Neesha!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    It gives the impression of a restaurant that has rooms almost as an afterthought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was never anyone at reception. There was a sign at reception with the hotel’s telephone number for you to ring. On your own phone. As there was no phone at reception. Tired rooms and corridor in need of decoration and modernisation. No air conditioning. Fan on in room full pelt. Which was essential as would have been stiflingly hot otherwise. Shower difficult to adjust. Most of all -on-site parking near impossible. Small car park ram-packed by evening. Enjoyed circling the car park waiting for some of the diners to leave. Never happened. Eventually parked in council car park.

    Bed was horizontal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean nice room, staff helpful, great location, breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot - no air conditioning Very noisy in the evening/morning as room over the street with a popular pub across & all traffic in the morning Almost impossible to sleep in a hot summer night

    Clean nice room, staff helpful, great location, breakfast ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, staff gave us the option to book in slightly earlier which was a nice touch.

    Room was spacious, away from the restaurant. Shower was powerful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Very good for tourist travel, Excellent Staff and food, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception should be 24/7, rooms should have better aeration in summer, secure safe is a must, TV should be little bigger, bathrooms are slippery and should have more towels, some towels are teared, even though I like the place but for business travel some small things that can improve the hotel a lot

    Breakfast is very good (best croissant), employees welcoming and guidance, location, restaurant food is excellent,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Glad we've found it and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with more staff in the restaurant for Breakfast, they couldn't cope with taking orders and filing up the buffet

    Excellent staff and lovely location. Food, as always, was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    V pleased I picked Loch Fyne for my stay- lovely location, beautiful hotel, welcoming & well-run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the staircase a bit tight- tricky when carrying cases up & down. Also, just a small thing- some instant hot chocolate sachets could, perhaps, be included in the room drinks choices.

    The offer I secured online(single room inc breakfast) proved excellent value! Lovely, cosy room; well- equipped & planned. Shower top notch- bright, spotless. Plentiful, tasty breakfast choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    It was OK but I'd look for somewhere else when I return to the town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was very small with a tiny hand basin. Breakfast was nice but the dinner was quite disappointing.

    Nice location within walking distance of the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    ideal for a lone traveller, well located, clean, attractive and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a lovely stay at this hotel. I had dinner in the restaurant, a fish dish very simply but perfectly cooked and an excellent dessert. The room was clean and comfortable and looked recently refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had run out of Prawn Cocktail for our evening meal. They had run out of bananas when I requested banana pancakes for breakfast - but they substituted strawberries which was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Just what we needed for a relaxing overnight break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with modernising the bath /shower , room 16 , a little dated.

    Comfortable , clean accommodation , good bed , nice location with easy walking access to the castle and Abbey Fields . Very good food , both evening meal and breakfast. Very good overall value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    the room was comfortable and sufficient for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 17 was so hot at night that I had the fan on all night. The bathroom smelt slightly of drains.

    the room was comfortable and sufficient for a short stay The breakfasts were good and the staff very attentive. As the car park was full on Monday evening a member of staff sat in my car and directed me to another parking space otherwise I would have been lost!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did struggle climbing into the bath. Maybe should have asked if a walk in shower was available when I booked.

    Staff over everything else. They were so helpful and friendly. I liked my room it was cosy although a little hot. Food was first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Hugely enjoyable stay with great food in a delightful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was rather too soft.

    Excellent breakfast on both days; Kippers and scrambled egg/ smoke salmon. The best smoked salmon I've had for a good while. Friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    OK but could easily do better - needs a better managerial control.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    The hollandaise sauce was tasteless - the reception staff thin on the ground (one staff member - one shift - no other shift covered) - wifi was almost non-existent, went to the pub across the road, Virgins & Castle where wifi was perfect and menu looked very interesting - the entry to the car park at the rear is still a mystery to me and also the receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great fish restaurant with rooms in historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight issue with shower and lack of bath towel, but quickly rectified by very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Lovely old building, excellent restaurant, staff who went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and we will stay certainly recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying and eating were both extremely pleasant. The staff were excellent and friendly and the meal in the restaurant was first class and it had a lovely atmosphere generally.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was bad, and having to sign in to an external provider is not the best way for this to be provided to guests.

    The staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Provided with fan...noisy. Room on the small side but it is an old building of historical value.

    Finding out more of its history and surrounds was worthwhile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay albeit only overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall setting is good for visiting the castle and the local park which would be good for children of all ages. I can also not fault the staff being both helpful and friendly.

    The breakfast menu was extensive and the staff very attentive at breakfast as well as reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    It was a really pleasant place to meet up with close friends we do not see very often.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Five of us had an evening meal. Three were fine but two main courses had been kept standing for too long and were dried up; however, our waiter was excellent and agreed our complaints were justified and £20 was deducted from the bill.

    Excellent breakfasts, comfy room, free parking, real ale in the bar, characterful hotel, great location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely return. So convenient, good value, excellent breakfast, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the lack of light switch in the bathroom (it has a sensor) and it was a pain as it ran on and on. Radiator came on in the middle of the night which made the room really hot (unusually we were having a spring heatwave!)

    Really great service from the team - sadly it is the exception rather than the rule to get great service which is why it is worth a mention! Straight over with coffee and the breakfast menu, friendly and efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    I’ll be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy early morning when I think they were changing barrels - but that wouldn’t stop me staying again.

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, help with my case

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Took the risk of ordering porridge which was excellent, always a surprise when porridge is done well! My partner had full english breakfast which by all accounts was also good. Good helpful reception. Comfy beds. All said, good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Would definitely eat at the Loch Fynne again but would ask for a better room if returned to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if room at front of hotel - ask for a room at the back. Bed not the most comfortable. Could have had a few more little additions in room - glasses/water, etc

    The restaurant food was delicious both for dinner and breakfast. Bed & breakfast stay very good value for money. Location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful location and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose a seafood platter and , because there was. No crab available, had to have the much more expensive lobster. We had to request items that should have been included but weren’t and the food was not served all together.

    The hotel was excellent but our meal on Saturday night was disappointing: very expensive and not up to usual high standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    fantastic stay, very welcoming but room let it down but we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above wrong way round but we liked it as the staff and location excellent.

    We stayed in room 9 very small and cramp, the TV was hanging off the wall plus couldn't watch it because it was tilted to floor. We didn't complain as w e were only there for one evening. Would stay as staff brilliant but not in that room. My son also stayed in room 10 far superior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    a shame that the saggy bed spoilt an otherwise good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sagged, leading to an uncomfortable night's sleep. Only one large towel in a double room.

    Good breakfast, large bathroom, simple decor. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff good, breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough tea and coffee in room and difficult to find replenishments. Main hallway (front to car park) smelt unpleasant.

    Staff good, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good but not as good as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2bathroom ceiling lights not working.Staff in restaurant seemed very stretched with having to go to bar for drinks as well as managing orders and food service.Kitchen personnel also seemed stressed. Food not quite as good as usual, waiting too long on the pass so not hot.

    Interesting menu especially breakfast choices with avocado and various variants of eggs benedict. Kippers excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Our room was quaint and charming with all modern facilities. Great breakfast and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean with modern facilities but also quaint and charming. The staff were attentive but not over fussy. Lovely breakfast, would definitely go back there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    great trip to Kenilworth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Task lighting near desk/dressing table....little dark for putting on makeup etc .....but that is all can think of

    Staff couldn't do enough! Excellent customer service...especially duty manager...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Goid rooms and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small but minor quibble.

    Nice rooms. Comfortable bed, very helpful staff. Understaffed at breakfast only one chap rushing around from 9.30 as other server disappeared, but we were on no rush. Breakfast was excellent though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the cups both in the room and at breakfast - only a couple of mouthfuls, very frustrating. And, most importantly, the size of the kettle. It was far to big to fit in the bathroom sink to fill!

    Breakfast - amazing kippers! And haggis with the full English (or Scottish, should I say?!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel/restaurant is located in the older part of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single bedroom is small, very small and dated, somewhat overpriced in my view! parking is a lottery - The main parking is around the back of the hotel, if you get there late its more than likely going to be full, its also very tight. additional parking is in the main street although these spaces are normally full with visitors to the restaurant and the pub across the road, note parking on the main street is free of charge between 18.00 and 08.00. there is parking at the Abbey Fields car park about a 100 yards away - just £1.00 between 18.00 and 08.00. Not sure if its standard practice or i was unlucky but no way was my Salad a main meal, very Small, really a starter! Good WiFi down stairs BUT problems in the room, ended up tethering with my phone.

    The hotel/restaurant is located in the older part of town close to the castle and park (10 minutes walk to the castle) in a street with the oldest pub in Kenilworth and a range of buildings that take you for a trip through the architectural phases of English history. . it's a very relaxing comfortable place to socialise. nice food and good beers, as a chain and modernised accordingly the venue does retain it historical pedigree but only just. the room had everything you would like to see with tea and coffee making equipment, bottled water, an ironing board, (didn't see an iron though must have to request that from reception). The bathroom had a shower over the bath, top tip close the door between the bedroom/bathroom or you risk setting the fire alarm off with the steam, (oh yes i did that, thankfully only three squeaks)!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice location with a nice bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lick of paint and the toilet hadn't been cleaned in our first room, we had to be moved.

    Nice location with a nice bar and restaurant. Food very good with a great pub opposite. Short walk to castle and town centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay yet again, great dinner and breakfast, staff very friendly and accommodating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little hot.

    Food at dinner and breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant too. Room was just right for what I needed. Location is great, easy transport to both the University and the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Heelpul staff very welcoming.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this stay there was limited fruit salad with less vqriety of chiice and less choice of fresh fruit. When watching weight fresh fruit important!

    Heelpul staff very welcoming. I was onmy own but felt very comfortable and at ease.room really comfortable and facilities good.good situation for visiting kenilworth.breakfast excellent cooked breakfast cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot for me and bathroom was cold and needed updating .

    Lovely position in Kenilworth, easy check in and parking. Room was fine with tea and coffee but bathroom could do with an update. Breakfast and dinner were superb with excellent waiter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, cramped rooms, dried out breakfast every day, understaffed, although staff tried, attitude was generally 'I can get it if you really want it' which gave the impression that it's was a hassle. Overall room need modernising. Only stay if no other options and not for more than one night.

    Checking out!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and a nice vibe in the restaurant/ bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it’s advertised as specializing in a Fish Menu, but a bit more non-fish options would be nice.

    Friendly staff and a nice vibe in the restaurant/ bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Very cold but the staff were so friendly we will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating had broken down in the bar & restaurant & the outer doors were still left open despite it being the coldest weekend this year with heavy snow, only 3 or 4 small fan heaters were not enough.

    The staff & food were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Accommodation with the attached high quality restaurant made our stay excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower didn’t work properly.

    Great customer service, particularly from the restaurant staff. The room was spacious and characterful. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Would stay again & recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late room service would have been helpful, but they were upfront that they didn't have it & so I made alternative arrangement knowing I would be a late arrival.

    Breakfast was truly excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Adequate but not comfortable accomodation. A bit pricey for what was offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had no view, other than a brick wall. The room was a little chilly but it was the coldest night of the year and the bedding was warm enough. Only complaint was the TV where reception for BBC 1 and BBC News was awful. I mentioned this to staff shortly after arrival. As I only had a short stay, it wasn't a big issue for me but it would have been if I had been staying longer.

    Hotel was generally good and very clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location was excellent for my purposes. Wardrobe and other furniture better than most for this type of accomodation. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    It has been better, much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No space in the restaurant for one, even though there was an unlaid table in the bar. When asked if I could eat in the room, he said he would ask, he didn't. Ground floor room next to the restaurant, the book club meeting and someone who I think came from office and telephoned for some time in front of my door.

    People in reception are friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant but meal experience put a blight on weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff in restaurant - run off their feet . We waited far too long for evening meal which spoiled whole experience . Even at breakfast food took ages to arrive . Only one server on duty . Disappointed !

    Staff were lovely .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel, but too slow for anyone there on business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is in a pay and display exposed car park 50yds from the hotel. Overnight payment is only 50p, but you have to put in another £1.50 at 8am (not before) or you get a ticket, and breakfast at the weekend doesn't start until 8am. I had to be at work by 8.30 Saturday and Sunday and was told I should forgo my included full breakfast and have continental. I tried to have breakfast, but despite arriving at breakfast before 8, I didn't get served by 8.20 the first day and had to leave hungry. The next day I was earlier, ordered the standard full breakfast, but everyone's else's food arrived first and I had to wolf mine down at 8.25 and be late for work.

    Pretty hotel, nice decor, nice room and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing and disorganised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking in, the receptionist misinformed us about vehicle moving time. We looked out onto a roof. Other than a soap dispenser above the sink, there was no shower gel/basic toiletries in the bathroom. We were told breakfast was from 8-10am, but on arriving at 08.15, there was no hot breakfast available and we did not have time to wait.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    My stay was comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of parking would deter me from staying again. I found the food rather bland & disappointing. The sauce and shellfish with my seafood tagliatelle was heavily creamed with no discernible taste of the star ingredient ... the shellfish.

    The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    It was a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold and drafty especially in the bar. Our bedroom was small for the price charged. A real fire in the bar would make it much nicer.

    It was a lovely old building. Retaining lots of its original features.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Receptionist eager to find larger room so two small...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial very very small double bedroom and tiny width steep steep stairs to it.

    Receptionist eager to find larger room so two small suitcases could be placed without tripping over them as initial room very very small. Luckily an alternative was availble. Fabulous meal in excellent Loch Fyne on site. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Would stay again but would request a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but had character, a slightly larger TV should be installed and some bottled water provided. Bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen / bath should be removed and replaced with wet room as far too cramped. Would benefit from a deep clean as cleanliness of bathroom let stay down.

    Staff were all great, hotel has character and excellent location. Breakfast was the excellent even had full size glasses for juice 😀

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Staff very good and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too hard, not a good nights sleep. We normally take our own but we thought we would be ok for one night unfotunately it wasn t.

    Staff very good and friendly. Food was excellent. Room and beds very good. Location very good for access to Kenilworth shops and castle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant half way stop off on way to our weekendin Suffolk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit warm for me but that maybe just me.

    Brilliant half way stop off on way to our weekendin Suffolk. Good restaurant. Good value for money. Our 3rd visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely place to have a meal and stay for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small, but it was still very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small too.

    The food was excellent, fresh, beautifully prepared, creative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    a lttle disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clear if all the choices was covered by the overnight charge because the menu gave prices so we had to ask which I did not like. When it came the breakfast was cold and the salmon did not seem fresh

    very clean hotel, parking was excellent we could leave the car there even after checking out . Well positioned

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small and the breakfast not the best.

    Bedroom and bathroom small breakfast not the best. Staff very nice. Probably would not stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.2
    overpriced and lifeless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reeked of air freshener we had to have the window open the entire evening. apart from the restaurant manager the staff were surly to the point of rudeness. the receptionist's were condescending and the breakfast was very average. no life in the place!

    good location with parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow restaurant service both evening meal and especially breakfast a cooked breakfast took 30 mins and it was only order stopped us ordering on 2nd morning.

    Uniqueneas dated 1538 comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Good base for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room was a little bit of a let down for price .

    Good location for sightseeing in and around Warwick. Friendly staff able to check in before time . Good Breakfast and lovely local traditional English pub just across the road .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you had to give all your personal details to link up to Wi fix so chose not to.

    Wonderful breakfast and lovely restaurant with friendly staff. Bed very comfortable. A nice relaxed ambience. Will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything just ‘Fyne’
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable clean room just right temperature. Good bathroom with plenty of hot water. Amazing water pressure. Excellent full English Breakfast (with additional small portion of Haggis). Will try the Fish Restaurant nrxt time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    rooms impeccably clean, staff great and helpful, but was disappointed, that the Lounge area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room initially was noisy the 2nd room did not have a tv that worked properly. but the staff came to the rescue and allowed me to go into another room, just to watch x factor

    Definitely the STAFF they couldn't do enough, even moving me in the early hours of the morning, due to the constant noise of dryers and boilers of the chineese boilers next door. I was moved around 4am as I had had enough by then

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Good as a high-class fish restauant but not to stay overnight.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small as was the bathroom. Although the amenities were present, they were difficult to use due to the minimal space. There was a stool to sit on but no chair, I doubt that a chair could be fitted in anyway. The restaurant was mainly fish (very upmarket) so a limited menu and expensive.

    The staff were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money stay with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner eager to service our rooms at 9.30 although check out is set at 11.00.

    Food in the restaurant was excellent- dinner and breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the room had everything I needed. Bathroom is compact but everything works well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    The Restaurant smelled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant smelled. The menu did not appear to reflect products from loch fynne, disappointingly there was only two items of smoked fish on the menu. The service was slow.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Very welcoming, great staff, great food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BBC1 TV reception was poor, but that may have been due to the weather. Floorboards creaked every time someone walked along the corridor waking me up!

    The food was lovely, as were all the staff I met. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is located in the old of town part wich is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much, we really liked our stay, maybe the ventilation in the bathroom could be improved.

    The hotel is located in the old of town part wich is really nice and very close to the Kenilworth castle. It is nice and quirky with loads of charm, the staff is very friendly and helpful. the breakfast in the restaurant is really good. Having the restaurant also in the hotel is very nice if you don't want to go out and just have a nice dinner in the venue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    The big non event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very upset due to stay for our wedding anniversary,but received a phone call at 10.15am when we had already travelled 100 miles saying hotel closed due to a flood. A room reserved outside of town was too far away. No compensation/resheduling was offered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    A great little hotel with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had two excellent evening meals in the restaurant, and the breakfasts were also excellent. The hotel is situated in the prettiest part of Kenilworth, and provides a great base for exploring Warwickshire. It's the second time we've stayed here, and we will definitely go again and again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovey stay at Loch Fyne, possibly the smallest doorway made...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit tired.

    Lovey stay at Loch Fyne, possibly the smallest doorway made for hobbits to our room, very quaint, comfy bed and great Breakfast, hospitable staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Limited room sizes, some difficult stairs but excellent food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to age of property it would be difficult if not impossible to improve room or bathroom dimensions so be prepared for lack of space and corresponding limited bath size not aided by overbath shower located at bath side rather than at the end. For us "older folk" getting out of bath was akin to a gym exercise and showering was shall we say an exercise in maintaining balance. Being an old fashioned bloke I would have preferred for the toilet seat to be adjusted to permit it to remain raised on "stand up " visits, and the provision of two hand and bath towels for couples sharing a room. Yes I could have asked but I shouldn't have to! TV understandable wall mounted and fairly small but has the tinny sound quality designed to make you switch it off asap. Will I stay again - yes no hesitation; but next time I will bend your ear Mr Manager because you were away on holiday this visit.

    Excellent food, good choice, excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Disaster averted for Anniversary celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being contacted by the hotel and informed of a problem which affected our stay "No hot water in the guest rooms". The hotel had contacted other local hotels and arranged rooms for us prior to calling; so we were able to plan our stay and still celebrate our anniversary meal in their restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: