Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Loch Ness Clansman Hotel 3 stars

Brackla (A82) Loch Ness side, Brackla, IV3 8LA, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Brackla

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 881 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of a revamp, looking a bit tired, especially the bathrooms.

    Staff were friendly. Great location with stunning views. Comfy beds and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for special touches to the room and info on cruises etc as I wanted to surprise my husband on his birthday. They claimed they never received my messages when I phoned to confirm. Also, I had booked a table online for the night, but this too hadn't been registered in the system. Moreover, we ended up paying 45 pounds more for one single night than people who just arrived at the hotel without booking first - a punishment for booking early? Supposedly this couldn't be changed afterwards. Nobody apologized for any of the mess, but at least the girl at the reception arranged for some last minute chocolates in the room, thank you for that.

    Superb view from restaurant and some rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can’t put my finger on anything I didn’t like.

    The Clansman has some of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept on, and the hotel restaurant is amazing. I had the haggis and steak mince pie and it was absolutely delicious. Also loved the breakfast, which was complimentary with my booking! The hotel and restaurant also have a gorgeous view of Loch Ness, and the hotel itself is a bus stop so getting around is quite easy. However, my favorite method of transportation was the Jacobite boats which are also directly in front of the Hotel. It also has a lovely cafe and gift shop, basically everything I wanted the Clansman had it and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I had an amazing time!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. The hotel was very kind to upgrade our room to king size bed to accommodate my family. They also kept the kitchen open for us knowing that we had not had our dinner upon arrival. Good job!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot of parking, but it does get busy as there are a lot of coaches that arrive for the shop and boat trips. Staff were very helpful and this never stopped throughout our stay. Nothing seemed to be to much for the staff and at one point a member staff was eating and left his food to serve at the bar. It seemed that the customers were regarded highly here and staff did not stop. The room was a good size and we had a view over the loch. Shampoo and shower gel in the room and a large bathroom and very nice shower. The bed was very large and soft and we had a good nights sleep. Coffee and tea in the room, but the snacks had to be paid for and no free biscuits. We had a good nights sleep. The food was very nice and there is a choose from the bar area to eat or the restaurant. Good size meal and happy with what were had to eat. Bar staff were very nice and helpful and friendly. View over the loch from the bar is nice to be able to watch the sum go down. Breakfast was another nice meal and the staff were very busy making sure that everyone are looked after. There is a shop on the lower level if you wish to buy some Nessie items. Overall it was a good stay here and happy to have stopped over on our trip around Scotland. Management should be proud of how hard the staff work to look after everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two rooms at late notice but when shown to the rooms, one of them was already occupied! The overwhelming damp smell in the hotel corridor was awful. The very dark bathrooms were In need of some maintenance. Both rooms were supposed to have a lake view but one of the rooms was occluded by coaches parking within a few feet of the window blocking out most of the light. The curtains were ill fitting and afforded lack of privacy given that both rooms had walkways outside the windows.

    Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and had comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 3 adults just 10das before May bank holiday weekend so really pleased to have found a comfortable room . Unfortunately the room was on the opposite side so no good views for us from our room but beautiful from the dining area in the restaurant. Forgot my iPad in the room & the honest room cleaner rushed downstairs to hand it to me just before we left . Only regret is , I should have given him a good tip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests had to walk right past our window to get to the restaurant so there was not much privacy unless we drew the curtains during the day. The rooms were quite basic and showing signs of wear. Lot of buses in the parking area.

    Nice view. Good food and service in the restaurant. Convenient location. Loch Ness boat tour departs directly across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway the room was on had a strong oder of mildew. The furniture in the rooms was in need of updating and there were no blackout blinds/curtains on the windows. At this time of year it gets light at around 4 a.m. and stays light until around 10 p.m. Guests compete with the Loch cruises as one of the embarkation points is across the street. There is also a gift store at the bottom of the hotel catering to the people from the cruises and they have use of the hotel parking lot—all of this is both convenient and annoying. Based on other similar accommodations, to include a great location, that we stayed at on our trip, the rate paid was not commiserate with the interior quality of the hotel or its rooms. It reflected more its location on Loch Ness. If there was some refurbishment of the property, to include the installation of blackout blinds/curtains, and the smell of mildew was addressed this would be a first rate place to stay.

    Each and every staff member was attentive, considerate and accommodating. They all appeared to work well together and kept things moving smoothly especially in the restaurant and bar. The restaurant had a great dinner service. I particularly enjoyed the salmon. Breakfast was plenty and filling. The view of Loch Ness was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The attitude of the restaurant staff 2. The condition of the bathroom 3. Bed rooms for 3 people were not facing the Loch, and we could only see cut down trees on a hill.

    The location of the hotel was perfect as it was overlooking the Loch. The view from the restaurant could not have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor is rather dated and needs upgrading

    On checking-in the staff were very friendly and helpful. On finding a problem with our room the duty manager visited within 5 minutes and ungraded us, as the problem could not be quickly sorted. The restaurant was excellent with friendly staff and a selection of vegan dishes for my daughter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is right on a busy road which fortunately quietens at night. The walls are paper thin so very noisy. The walls shook when people shut their doors and we could hear people taking a shower.

    The view over the loch is amazing. The restaurant does wonderful food. It's so convenient for the boat trip which is right outside the hotel . The staff are pleasant. The bed is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window was directly onto and at the same level as a terrace where people were having drinks. This meant that we had to close our curtains until much later when the terrace was empty. This spoiled our enjoyment of the view .

    The room had lovely views across the loch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly small and the bathroom was minuscule. A fat person would not fit in the shower (but luckily I’m not very fat). There are no hooks in the bathroom to hang anything. The word “comfortable” just does not apply.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful - it’s not their fault tha the facilities are so poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place very dated and looks very outdated and in need of a total revamp. Got into room radiator was bashed and handle of bathroom had fallen off and not been fixed before we arrived.

    The staff and location were lovely. Bed was very comfortable though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and smelly room, thin walls - could hear all the passage and neighbour noises. Fire door banged and vibrated our door all night. Too focused on coach day trippers. Rooms with a view may be worth it but others feel a bit like a motel. Breakfast was dry and underwhelming.

    Staff tried and were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absutly nothing

    The staff were just amazing very commadating with our ever changing needs room was amazing bed extremely comfy food delicious will definitely be back.oh also loved hearing about the beastie in reception great communication with guests and so helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is cramped. No room for suitcase. The bathroom is tight, baseboard has moldy stains, untidy! The commode wouldn't flush: we found toilet tissues from last resident still in it. Had to summon the person who checked us in to take care of it.

    The dinning area is the only place that has a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubicle in balcony room quite small.

    Excellent staff. Excellent food in restaurant & fabulous view over Loch. Adequate room size & very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was tiny, poorly decorated, not very clean and the shower was nothing more than a dribble so not suitable for washing my hair, which was frustrating!

    Our room was great apart from the bathroom. We had a double with Loch view. Room was clean and well presented and a very comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and gave great service. Food was fabulous too! Lovely gift shop in the hotel and perfect spot for a great boat trip with the little harbour Just opposite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor family room cold and surrounded by coaches that bad we didn't even stay in it they then put us in a loch view room but could only provide us with a poor camp bed with broken spring and and torn bedding only stopped for one night when we had booked two have emailed the manager and still no response 4 days later

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the extractor fan,in the next room, which kept me awake one night.I was in room 15, also shower is to small. Otherwise room is ok. Did think the food & drinks,a bit over priced. Nearly £5 a pint.

    The staff, are excellent. And breakfast is ok, but could be better. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food came out a little cold including he bar food and breakfast facilities. It took over a hour for us to have a travel cot in the room when our little girl needed to sleep. The room was very small

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice stay, a stone throw away from the loch, I found it really hard to keep the kids out the gift shop but apart from that a really nice stay, would recommend it 100%, Big thanks to Dave in the bar who made us laugh :)!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did expect a bath in a family room but shower was very good!!!

    EVERYTHING!!!,especially where The Clansman is situated and the use of the bar and restaurant which looks out onto fantastic viewsThe restaurant served food to die for!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of some customers

    I have travelled the world and tasted many types of food. The Food at The Clansmen is the most fantastic food you will ever experience. Taste,Presentation and service is second to none.And the whiskey selection is Amazing.AAA+

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a room with the view. Some staff were excellent others were not as friendly. Great view from breakfast room. Bathrooms need a serious clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find on the main road, the weather was a little adverse but it was easy to get to and I was able to get onto the car park easily. The hotel was warm and welcoming, and the beds were comfortable! Great nights sleep before a 9 hour drive!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed in the quality of the bathroom in the room. It desperately needs to be remodeled.

    Breakfast was amazing! The view from the restaurant is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms at the back are 2m from a grass bank and have no view, they are however probably much quieter than those on the busy main road (and Loch) side. The rooms on the loch side although they have great views are in serious need of triple glazing and sound insulation to reduce the road noise. The walls between rooms are also quite thin I think! We knew what the neighbours had seen and done that day anyway.

    The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel has a nice on site restauarant with a super view - this serves a hearty scottish breakfast and in the evening opens early which is good if you have children as there is nothing else in the immediate area other than the hotel and its little port opposite for nice photos in the evening

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room for three people which was £125. It was at the back of the property facing a rock wall, quite dated and VERY small for three people. We went and booked an additional room after check-in which was on the Loch side and much more up to date, spacious and pleasant. The rate they offered us was very fair at £50 but what it meant was that we paid a total of £175 for two rooms for one night (for three people) which seems quite expensive. The advice we would give others is to make sure that you book on the Loch side because the difference is considerable and that the triple room is not really value for money and not really suitable for three people.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. The restaurant meal was very good and the bar was congenial and friendly. The dining room is lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room. Tiny. Bunk room was tiny and had no windows. Felt like a prison cell. The beds were so old and very, very uncomfortable, we hardly slept. Super noisy also! The rooms could do with renovations/decor upgrades/new carpet/bathroom upgrade. Definitely still feels like it’s in the 60’s! For the £115 per night rate, we were quite disappointed with the room. Compared to many other hotels we have stayed in during our trip around Scotland this November.

    Restaurant - fantastic dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was black mold on the walls in the room and bathroom and the toilet wouldn't flush properly. The checkout was a bit haphazard (no-one could arrange our payment)

    The location was wonderful with a beautiful view of the loch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff made us feel really welcome the resturant / breakfast room was fabulous for views and comfort. The whole feel of the hotel was really nice and we didnt want to leave!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the small side. I could hear the people in the next room and at night I could hear someone snoring, it was not my husband.

    The staff were friendly, the room facilities were clean.The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indications of little or no maintenance eg showers not working adequately and leaking. Restaurant staff were unprofessional and clearly untrained: despite our being told the dining room was fully booked it was less than half occupied the whole evening and we were told to sit in the bar where we would be served dinner. The service was appalling and the evening deteriorated into farce. We were ignored by the staff most of the evening and were asked to collect our own table settings! We even had to request the dessert menu. We were made to feel unwelcome and a nuisance.

    The location was excellent and views stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities for babies. We had a 6 week old baby and were put on the 2nd floor the lift only went up to the 1st floor so we had to carry pram up and down the stairs.

    Views were amazing from our room and restaurant. Staff went out their way to make my partners 30th birthday surprise getaway better. They delivered a surprise chocolate platter which wrote "happy 30th". Such a nice gift/surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen & pillows could be improved

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Brilliant views of the Loch & good location for exploring the area. Food in the restaurant was exceptional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic bedrooms, smell of must and seating area outside bedroom window

    The location. Fabulous overlooking loch Ness. Food was nice. Staff very friendly but I felt it lacked atmosphere. Perfect just to get your head down after a days sight seeing but was a bit overpriced for what it was.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bar has a strong smell of Fish. Due to being a large group we were seated in the bar, and the attendant did not pay much attention. One of the balcony double room has the wash sink inside which is very strange. Rooms are small.

    The location is excellent for visiting scotland. The breakfast was standard Scottish and was fine. Did the purpose of overnight stay for the price. Liked the beers on the tap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little damp but very comfortable. The menu at the restaurant was limited so we eat elsewhere.

    The location was perfect for visiting the Loch Ness area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view to the loch was sideways and therefore limited. The hotel allows coaches to park in their car park even though these travellers did not stay at the hotel but looking to take a boat tour on the loch. I had to wait for a coach to move before I could leave the hotel. The toilet seemed to be attached to a maserator which churned immediately after flushing, both in out loo and next door.

    The location was great, facing the Loch. The hotel caters for coach tours which seemed to inundate the hotel on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not much around hotel and no entertainment as said if you had to go somewhere had to jump in the car, and alot of visitors buses in car park. Struggled to get into car park cause the hotel was across from boat trips

    Was right beside Loch and boat tours and gift shop was right in hotel and was only couple of minutes for other visitors centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra to get balcony and it was filthy and growing mould,weeds and could not enjoy views. The room was a shoe box everything in side was broken also could not have a shower the water pressure would not wash your hair out. The money we paid for it was a joke the whole hotel needs renovating.

    The location and the views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was well below average due to paper thin walls and being able to hear other guests at all hours, making it difficult to relax and sleep.

    The stunning views, friendly staff and really good food served in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Perfect view but hotel is so outdated and located on a busy road. It's so overdue for remodeling. The mattresses are so old, they should be replaced ASAP. We stayed at room 6, so if the management cares about their guests, they should check it. The walls have no insulation and the noise in the hallways seems to be in your room. The door should be adjusted as with every passing by car the door is making noise. Breakfast was fine, nothing extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt of damp also damp patches on walls room 12 single bed was sagging at one side and lumpy heating was turned off during the night so it was cold

    Location and food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff who smoke, smoked outside in the same place as guests do. Full Scottish breakfast. No haggis and if you don't want an item they don't double up with something you do want

    We arrived just before 4,Check in was quick and easy. We were advised to book a table for dinner so we booked for 7:30. The food was divine. Service was quick, staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there with my mum and a 2 year old. We got a lodge A, which is just below the staff room I believe.. it’s outside the hotel and you actually have to put on a jacket and everything to get to the main hotel. Not very convinient when staying with a baby. Maybe think it more through before putting a small child in the lodge.. just a suggestion tho. Evening menu could be upgraded a bit, we went to have a look but ended up not having anything. Also a bartender smelling like beer isn’t a nice touch ;) . Breakfast was really good the next morning tho. Buses outside the lodge were spoiling the stay completely. No privacy, no view whatsoever.

    Breakfast was really tasty and freshly cooked, although the staff could do with a little bit more smile ;) Room was an ok size nothing special, could use a wee bit more of cleaning. Guy at the desk to check us in was really helpful and explained everything to us in details.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst night of our holiday. Head of bed sloped downwards so I had to sleep with my head at the foot of the bed. Floodlights over carpark shone through window ALL night and curtains did not completely cover the window so the room was bright ALL night. Room was very warm and we were unable to open the window as there were lots of cobwebs and spiders just outside the window and no flyscreens. We could not even leave the bathroom window open as there were no coverings on the windows and the light was too bright.

    Wanted to really like this place but couldn't. Breakfast was nice but restaurant was tired, dated and dirty. Good touristy gift shop on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is much older than the pictures appear on booking. The floors "creaked" under the old carpet. Room was very small and the shower did not drain properly.

    Great breakfast. Beautiful location on Loch Ness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu a little limited but ok. Not sure if I would stay again as the bed was the most uncomfortable bed iv ever slept in but that could be just my room. the receptionist hardly acknowledged my disappointment about this on checkout. Everything else was fine

    Great location View from the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at breakfast was over cooked and not cooked correctly. We did notice parts of the room needed cleaning and wiping down the cobwebs would have been good too.

    Room was as pictured and the views were great of Loch Ness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Great location over looking Loch Ness. Staff were friendly and room was clean. I came to Loch Ness to see the Loch and that's exactly what you get staying here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No remote control for tv. Property situated next to main road so traffic was a problem during the night, property needs double glazing. Had to chap kitchen door in the morning to get milk for early breakfast, no juice tea or coffee.

    Location and views. Good wifi. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms not worth the money charged balcony attached to room has never been cleaned in years also spiders web on interior room walls absolute disgrace hate to think what impression foreign visitors of which there were a few though of scottish hotels. Definitely would not go back.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £3.75 for a 330 ml bottle of water and can of iron bru!!! Outrageous.

    Location was very nice. Great spot next to Loch Ness and not too far from Inverness town centre. 15 minute drive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening menus weren't very varied regarding choice but the food itself was good. The shower was abysmal in terms of temperature control and pressure.

    The hotel situation is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dreadful, dark and tiny, really dated and desperately in need of an update. Car park was manic with coach loads of tourists so hard to park and then to leave. Owners are living off the location. Shameful, could be wonderful but obviously owners are just after money.

    Location and restaurant ,Loch Ness cruise. Lady on reception was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I would definitely recommend the Clansman for a Loch Ness getaway. Fantastic location. Great facilities. Great staff. Especially Adam - he was a great host for us. Pay rise for him please!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located directly across from Loch Ness, onsite restaurant so didn't have to go back into Inverness for dinner after a long day traveling. And a well stocked gift shop!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are way too small and cramped if traveling with a family. For an overnight stay it's okay. The toilet did not flush and it was too late in the evening for anyone to come up. That's a downer as someone should be available at all times! Could use a major renovation as there is a lot of dampness, but it's to be expected in the region.

    The restaurant dinner menu and the breakfast menu outstanding. The general area and the view of the Loch Ness is breathtaking. Beware the Midges (or as the locals say, migies); take a good repellent if spending time outdoors! Very staff-friendly and good shopping on premises. Very lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the facilities. Was scheduled for 2 nights. Cancelled second night and found another hotel

    Staff was great. Dinner was outstanding with a beautiful view is the loch. And multiple spiders running around the windows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st floor rooms on lakeside are by an outside sitting area. So no privacy. You could not have the curtains open without people stirring into the room. Therefore paying for a lakeside view was wasted. Very poor

    The staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a rather poor room facing the rear actually no view at all. However we were expecting this. Other rooms do face the loch.

    The view from the fairly quiet bar was good (view over loch). Food and service was good. Again, as seems to be typical for our tour, this hotel was packed during the day with tour buses and cars using the hotel car park for boat trips but there was traffic managers on all day in the car park and everyone was found a spot. At 5p.m. the car park emptied as boat trips finished.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, the bathroom wall had black mould the shower was unusable, the head would not stay on.

    The location and staff were excellent,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room lodge A was a room with a loch view we were told on check in . But there was only a loch view after 5pm before that time , we had buses parked outside our room !! The windows were sealed shut so no air at all , curtains did not close properly so headlights from passing cars glared in to our room . The noise from the traffic was awful . We also had a toilet seat that you had to balance on or it practically threw you off the loo. We were not impressed . The prices of certain drinks was very high , £7.20 for a gin with decent tonic !!

    The staff and the food were amazing , as were the views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We'd booked a room with a view of the Loch as we were celebrating our 20th Anniversary, but didn't realise that our room was located on the same level as the beer garden, so we had people walking past at all hours, looking into our room and as there were no net curtains, just normal curtains, to maintain privacy, we had to keep the curtains closed whenever we were in our room, spoiling our ability to view the Loch. The rooms are also very basic - no luxury here. There were also lots of buses constantly manoeuvring in the small hotel car park as it was a meeting point for day trips, so also lots of people, not guests of the hotel, milling around. Some of the staff were lovely, but others appeared to not really want to be there. Food was average.

    Fabulous views of the Loch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding looked and felt dirty. The inside stuffing of the duvet cover was peaking out and looked very old and soiled. The outside was dingy and appeared to not have been cleaned in a while. I used my fleece jacket to sleep under. Also, if you are older or have difficulty going up and down stairs you may not wish to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A transfer possibility to the town would be good and useful.

    Very good localization, next to the Lake. Beautiful panorama. Great hamburgers in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan or air con or flt screen across the window in the room as it was hot.

    The room was clean if a little small and hot. There was no air con or fan or fly screen across the window as midges are rife in the area. The hotel is in a great location with beautiful views across the Loch and has a Loch tour company directly opposite. There's also an excellent gift shop for all thing Loch Ness and Scotland. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 rooms , 2 with a balcony the third a triple room at the back of the hotel with a grass bank for a view. Thought the decor in the hotel was quite dated and 2 of the bathrooms were small . The showers in all the rooms were very poor! .

    Location. Comfy bed, lovrely food at thevrestaurant .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike the rooms, the bathrooms are very small, although they are fitted with bath tubs. The staff at breakfast seemed a bit strained. Noisy road in front.

    Large rooms, located in the heart of the Ben Nevis area. By clear weather we would have had a nice view of Ben Nevis.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited way to long for breakfast. People who were seated after us were served before us.

    Helpful friendly staff. Beautiful location, a perfect place to escape to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small soft bed and pillows. Very small shower room, husband had to come out to bedroom to dry himself. Fairy lights on eves of hotel ALL night, shone under and around curtains, too bright, could not sleep. Staff efficient but snippy. Too many tour buses at one time, hence very busy.

    View over The Loch

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Loch Ness Clansman Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: