Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lochend Serviced Apartments 4 stars

149/1 Lochend Road, Leith, Edinburgh, EH7 6ET, United Kingdom

#367 of 475 Holiday rentals in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 510 apartment reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the beds because they're too small and was very uncomfortable in the night.

    I was happy with the parking because it was closer to my apartment. I didn't have to walk a distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for a group to stay all together for one night in the city! Not the most luxurious of places but was exactly as we expected & was clean enough, clean linen & beds comfy (though put up in lounge not quite as comfy).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a late check in and this was organised with ease. We were only there for one night but have stayed previously and would definitely stay again. The facilities were clean and comfortable and central .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is old tired and unkempt Very smelly in the corridors - I think it’s old flats converted to ‘apartments ‘ Not cheap but cheerful in the actual room Staff were pleasant Water was freezing cold boiler had switched off There is 24/7 person around but we weren’t made aware on arrival

    Comfy beds and property was clean Not far from Murrayfield Stadium Good parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One outlet in the kitchen “fried” two of our power cords. And we could never figure out the living room TV. WiFi worked fine, though.

    Beds very comfy. Roomy accommodations with all comforts of home, including corn flakes, oats, coffee, tea, marmalade, and condiments!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to turn heating off in the current muggy weather the over the bath shower could not be turned on, wi-fi worked for only Android devices. Kitch light switches were slightly damaged making it hard to operate. But to be honest these were all minor things,

    space, location local amenities overal security.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi never worked and the sheets on the bed didn’t fit so the end of the mattress was uncovered. There was also a hole in the wall of one of the bedrooms.

    The apartment was spacious and clean enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners came into our apartment to use a cupboard that was located in our place. No excuse me or apology or anything.

    Location convent to town centre. Taxi rate very reasonable. Reasonable price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were difficult for the children to flush.

    The space in each room and the comfort of the extra bed. Lots of loo rolls and starter foodstuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no broom or hoover to clear up after the kids. There was a bed switch/ removal after the first night which was a bit strange. The Host did replace it. It would have been nice to see some Scottish art work in the lounge rather than Ikea finest prints of London landmarks. The area isn’t the best but I would say it is up and coming!

    Pleased that the key collection was easy as arrived late after drive from England. The location is fantastic for city exploration, there is car parking, there is a lot of shops nearby and we drinking hole. Where the Land Lady is a lovely lass. It is value for money! Overall was pleasant and people were accommodating! The touch on breakfast is nice too! I would say that a small pint of milk would make the breakfast more inviting as I wondered how you eat dry cereal. Would stay here again if in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no heating,no hot water,no internet access. We complained next day,but the staff said that you could call 24hours number,but we did not know it. It have to be mentioned somewhere in the room.we arrived at late night and it was freezing and no bath!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waterbed cold and lumpy. After no sleep asked manager to do something. Said fully booked so we asked for fold up bed. Had a doona when go back and no bed. Rang and he gave a combo for one in wardrobe. No sheets , had to put our towels on .one towel per person , no hand towel bath mat and no extra blankets . Very uncomfortable 2 nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was definitely difficult to connect to Wi-Fi with the phone.

    Spacious, clean and fully equipped apartment! We were very satisfied with standard and cleanliness and overall look of apartment. Beds were comfortable and kitchen had all necessary utensils. We couldn't expect more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I was to be picky the water pressure in one of the apartments was very low and barely any water came out the taps but as we were merely staying overnight this wasn't really an issue

    Very large apartments with all we needed and more for a short stay. Plenty space and very good facilities and easy to get to from the centre :) good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really run down place. It really smelled bad of cigarettes and drugs. We only stayed a night due to emergency stopover wouldn’t stay over again. It’s not family friendly and felt more like a hostel. The central heating in the apartment didn’t work. Didn’t see one person in the reception. Left the key on the desk and made a video as a proof. Apartment need a facelift amd good airing out.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one light in the bedroom worked, fridge wasnt plugged in and had to locate the plug and run it from an external socket. Check-in was from 2-4 which was more restrictive than the description suggested. Thankfully that didnt impact on the trip.

    Nice big appartment, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no shower products provided. in need of some TLC. tea and coffee provided but no milk

    Location and size. off street parking. only 10 minutes taxi ride to city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few issues in the apartments we rented, such as broken appliances, taps not working and toilet not flushing

    It was spacious and comfortable, staff were helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise travels very easily within and outside the apartments. Take earplugs! Some things weren't working like lights and oven.

    Good location with frequent and easy transport to city centre. Good value and decent sized apartments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv in the front room

    Has everything you need for over night stays. Clean/tidy. Was very quiet of a night. Not far from centre of town. Cost me £7 in taxi to get to centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture not good! The Sofas were really old! Initial reception service not great during out of hours time, as phone line which connects to staff was really bad and could hardly hear what they were saying

    Small , clean, with all required amenities, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think somd areas of the compartment complex are long term rentals which made the area quite loud especially with some people hanging around the car park revving their engines every evening. Seem to be popular with big groups which caused noise. Our first morning in the apartment, 3 members of staff knocked on the door to check or do something in the apartment which I thought was a bit excessive.

    Location was ok, not very central as reflected in the price. 30minutes away from edinburgh airport; apartment was basic and clean, has basic items to be able to cook, small supply of tea, coffee, sugar, cereal etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The geezer and heating needed to be switched on by the main machine and steps needed to be followed to reset as per instructions noted. It would be more ideal if this was prior to our arrival.

    Spacious, comfortable, good value for money based on the size of the apartment and how many guests it can accommodate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of towels could have been better. I did not use and bought new one for ourself. Even the bed are small, mattresses Okay, and they were not set for a couple (unless they fought ;-) . Two single beds placed separately. Wifi. Every time you step out and then step in, you have to do the whole process of registering for wifi network. Quiet cumbersome. Room heater were turned off automatically during day all the till late evening.

    The kitchen was well equipped. Furniture were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in bedroom broken, alarm button in lift broken (luckily I didn't need it), no frying pan, curtain rail in bathroom not properly attached.

    Extra flexibility of an apartment compared to a set of hotel rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The recurring problem with the "non-flushing toilet" made complete comfort difficult. On second thought, being the Easter weekend, the lack of maintenance staff can be appreciated, although the issue lasted nine days.

    Spaciousness of our two bedroom flat was accommodating and comfortable. The proximity to the downtown is wonderful - either for self driving with onsite parking or public bus service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the area really but didn't affect our stay. We had lots of fun

    We stayed for 5 nights this week. Super comfy beds and everything was clean and tidy. On our first night we decided to eat in but then realised there were no baking trays in oven. A quick call though and within 15mins someone was at the door with 3 brand new ones! Location is okay, area a wee bit rough but bus stop was literally outside our front door so only a quick bus ride into city centre. Kids had a great time (our nearly 2 year old and our 9 year old) we had our car too but found it easier and quicker to get around by bus most days. Apartment had everything we needed, even a washing machine and washing up tablets which was a bonus! On reading other reviews before hand, I actually took our own towels but the ones available were ok. White and a bit stained but clean and smelt fresh. Beds were clean and fresh too. Most of kitchen utensils, cutlery and plates were all brand new with stickers still on. Apartment was cozy and warm and water lovely and hot too. Will definitely book again if we go back to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment wasn't the one we booked, manager was rude, the place was old fashioned. Dirty bed sheets, mold on cereal container, dirty fridge and drawers, wardrobe was filled with random bedding so couldn't use it.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a little further out of centre than thought it was bit too far to walk and look around town Apartment was beginning to look tired and in need of a spruce up in bathroom and kitchen area

    Good parking for car apartment was what it said clean and ready on arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels. One small towel each is not enough for 2 days. Kitchen needed a frying pan and oven gloves.

    Spacious apartment. Hot water. Great shower. Fantastic kitchen facilities. Good Public transport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was closed when we got there, rang the helpline, went to answer phone, left a message and no one rang back. Lookily managed to find keys ourselves

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    You couldn't pay me to stay here again. It was dirty, unsafe, noisy and they allow smoking inside (fine if you also smoke indoors but not good if you don't) And don't bother complaining to the manager, he is unapologetic and rude to his guests.

    There was nothing good about this apartment, other than that it had a roof and four walls.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night it was a bit roudy

    The apartment was good a little expensive when I went on line started at 99pound which was fine but ended up being 159 a little over the top but we had come to do my mum's ashes and hadn't much choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far away from the downtown and the entrance is not really easy to find it. However, it did not bother me because there is a bus stop just outside the house. The room is clean and big. Just meet what I need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find out the location. The name of the road for entry into the apartment is different than what’s stated. Very congested entry into the lifts for our block of rooms with loads of people with luggages waiting to check out/in. We have stayed at better apartments in the past and this one is at the bottom of our list now. There’s no soap provided in the toilets - 1st time experience of all this!! Kitchen bin was not properly emptied when we entered into the rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 12 oclock after requesting through booking.com for an early check-in. We were then told the room wasn't ready for us and they had nowhere to leave our bags. Then the guy explained if we wanted to pay £20 in cash then, we could have a room that was ready. I understand sometimes there is early check-in charges but this seemed to be a totally made up amount for the guy to get £20 of us.

    Good location, good facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries could have kept

    We arrived late night to the apartment but the keys were placed inside and the front office person was very polite and explained the process to get the key

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was awful, the room wasn't ready, we had to be moved, the room stunk of smoke, the rooms were not clean, we had drunken people banging on our door at 4 in the morning for over an hour, the cleaning ladies were rude, there was no help when needed, there was no one to check us out and it was over £200 for one night which was a night of hell!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of damp , the central heating broke twice and we had no hot water twice and we were only there overnight. The host did however respond immediately when we telephoned for assistance

    The flat was nice & bright and large enough for six

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to improve other than usual refurbishment at the appropriate time b

    Ground floor apartment with well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was on the ground floor situated right next to the entrance, stank of smoke even post for the owner when we arrived! lots and lots of noise, doors banging and noticed a person (who lives there I'm guessing)climbing in thru the window.

    It was a large apartment nothing provided apart from towels and lots of toilet rolls! Bus stop right outside of apartments No 34 to Edinburgh Princes Street. Was ok thankfully we weren't there long.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is a bit tired and some of the furniture was in a poor state and curtains were frayed. The double bed was two single side by side and one of them seemed to slope to the side. Quite a lot of noise from outside could be heard, windows did not seem to provide much soundproofing.

    Location was fine and apartment seemed to be clean. Heating kept the place warm despite very cold weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the showers didn't work.

    2x twin-bed apartment with 2 bathrooms (one en-suite), small kitchen & lounge. Very good value, 5 min taxi ride from the centre. Clean & comfy enough for us lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door came away in my hand and several light bulbs out. However all issues were quickly rectified.

    Clean and tidy apartment. Quiet. Beds were comfy. Ample parking. Convenient to bus route to city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room stank of smoke despite airing it out with the windows open all day. There was no hand soap and no hand towels, very basic, and it said breakfast included yet there was practically nothing in the kitchen, no milk for the cereal, or tea. Definitely not worth how much they were charging.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its easier to list the things we expected but didn't get like a warm, secure flat with electricity & heating would have helped. A lift that worked, doors that locked and so much more. I'll send the photos to Lochend & Booking.com & Trip Advisor & Google Reviews & anywhere else I can think of.

    Nothing. No heating or electricity, dangerous broken light switch, insecure, entrance doors broken, flat door unlockable, scruffy kitchen, milk off etc etc. I could go on & will to Lochend Appts & Booking.com. Ruined our weekend away. I want my money refunded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating wasn't working. Phoned contact number and they never responded. Managed to get working myself. Next night same problem, phoned contact number said they would send someone out, no one appeared. Again managed to fix myself. Not very happy as it was very cold on both nights. Number of lights had no working light bulbs.

    Parking was very easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived earlier than expected. There was no-one available at reception to speak to or advise us about collecting keys. We called someone, using the phone provided but had to wait 15- 20 minutes for someone to meet us.

    Basic but clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hand towels as well as the bath towels and somewhere to hang them.

    Location. Easy to get to various locations either on foot or local buses. Quiet, seldom heard noises from adjoining flats. Easy accessible parking. Comfy bed and warm throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One or two minor items like a loose bathroom door handle but nothing major that affected the stay.

    Apartment was very spacious and comfortable for stay. Overall cleanliness was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, didn’t sleep well both nights. Apartment in need of an upgrade, cooker was missing dial details. Couches uncomfortable, common areas poorly lit. Has great potential just needs a refurb and family groups should not be located over entrance where people were shouting, screaming, smoking and talking all night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen smelt of cigarettes. And we could smell weed being smoked in the foyer. The z beds were very old and uncomfortable sofa beds would have been better. Clearly the sofas had been used for sleeping on as they were very worn and tired.

    The apartment was clean and easy to locate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pest control, family visited by a mouse in the wee small hours. In fairness a previous client had damaged an internal wall allowing entry. Property is treating symptoms as poison is used to catch mice in flat but root cause of Mice in walls etc needs to be addressed.

    Location excellent and property modern & well maintained. Plenty of Parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially sent to the wrong room; bathrooms were dirty; one shower didn't work; the sofa bed and fold out bed were both padlocked and so unusable; there was also a horriblen smell from the bed linen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning. Bedding. Bed. Attention to detail on damaged furniture,curtains/blinds. Carpets dirty. Cigarette damage to fireplace. Bleach and other cleaning products left out. Boiler cupboard left open.

    Look like new appliances in kitchen. New hairdryer. Gardens. Host quite helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue at check in. Reception wasn't manned and followed the instructions to contact by phone. Waited 25 mins before somebody got back to me. He did apologise though.

    Clean, modern apartment and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money as what we paid in comparison with what we got at other places for 1/6th of the price. Needs refurbishing. Floors were sticky, fridge flooded, towels were smelly, bedding was old. Internet was sketchy.

    Spacious They supplied oats for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff attitude.they were told to put up travel cot for my child by instead they just told us to do it

    apartment was on a ground floor which was were helpful cos we had a pram with us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds in the room with the ensuite were only 2.5 feet whereas the twin beds in the second room were full size singles i.e. 3 feet. This doesn't make sense as the adults were in the ensuite room! There was no extractor fans in either of the bathrooms and no mirror in ensuite. No outside key provided on arrival however this was rectified shortly afterwards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was confused with the apartment not ready so we were provided with another that did not have a sofa bed as expected, smelt of cigarette smoke, had blood stains on a duvet, no batteries in the TV remote, a broken extractor fan in the bathroom, a broken bath panel and filthy carpets both in and outside the apartment.

    Very little.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flat had tea, coffee, sugar, milk, marmalade and cereal but had no soap or shower gel which you would expect before any of the mentioned above. Also only had 4 towels for 6 people staying. Maybe we were meant to use toilet roll lol bateau as the flat had about a years supply in both bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding a parking space became a little difficult late at night.

    Rooms were spacious, did not expect breakfast extras (butter,milk,bread and cereal) nice touch. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient Parking facilities, very clean and well equipped self catering apartment, Bus stop close by the apartment with easy commuting distance to Edinburgh town centre,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom stunk. After using the toilet it leaked all over the padded floor. It was located in a scary neighborhood. These were run down ghetto apartments. They were awful. Never again! Could not wait to leave.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived early 10am cleaners had just finished the room but we had to come back later. (I forgot to book early arrival with Genius)

    5 people travelled and there was plenty of room for all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was fine. What I didn't like was the fact we were given the wrong key upon check in meaning we entered someone else's property. Luckily no one was in. The staff then tried to call me a liar when I rang up to say that was no my room, until he realised his mistake and and gave me the right key with a half arsed apology.

    Loved the fact it was reasonably priced, clean tidy and sufficient for a night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The flat stank of stale smoke, the cupboards were falling off the hinges. The place was generally run down and looked like a run down bed sit.

    Nothing about this apartment was enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was poor, location terrible, waterbed in second room which was dreadful. Property felt generally unclean.

    Nothing at all as property was grimy, grease in kitchen, dirty and waterbed in second bedroom, absolutely dreadful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far when compare to other accomdations. But it was not a big problem as Edinburgh was small, I can get anywhere by bus or taxi easily.

    Basically all of them

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We hadn't high expectations - we had booked last minute and the cost was very much cheaper than most in Edinburgh. Pity that our initial impression was 'let's go and find something else' - however we did a bit of a clean and polish ourselves and didn't use the main bathroom. The reception area and communal area are not inviting. The apartment had whiff of cigarette smoke/pets and the main bathroom though looked clean did whiff too. The kitchen was a bit sticky and though complimentary coffee/tea/sugar and cornflakes were there we hadn't the 'want' to use any. It would have been good to have mattress/pillow protectors too. The duvet covers and pillow cases were laundered but need updating. Clean enough isn't really good enough for holiday accommodation. I am sure the cleaning staff get limited time to attend to each of the apartment - but given a little more time it would make a heap of difference to the overall cleanliness and impression of the apartment. There was a lot of commercial sized cleaning products stored in the coat cupboard, perhaps not the wisest storage place. I got the impression that the apartments are very popular with hen/stag party's.

    Didn't mind the walk to the city which took about 25 minutes. Bus 34 to the city and to the dock just outside so had the option of that. Beds very comfortable. Sheets and towels very clean. Lots of room and although the apartment faced the main road, the double glazing was superb at blocking out the traffic noise. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cutting board in kitchen and hand wash gel / liquid in the bathrooms would have made the experience excellent.

    Everything was well set and easily accessible on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Two Twin Rooms)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not very well provided for in the kitchen, no bowl for mixing, very sparse cutlery, no scissors, had to go to reception for lighter for hob. Two cleaners came in without knocking on morning of departure could have been embarassing !! Window blinds scruffy, kitchen surface damaged leaving sharp edge. You need a spoon to operate the shower !!

    The location is good on bus route into City Centre and Leith, buses every 15 minutes. Apartment has good heating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Twin & Double Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception could be a little smoother regarding the call service at the main area on check in. The night manager is not always at hand.

    Apartment was fully equipped including tea and coffee and all kitchen appliances for longer stays.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to elevator even if in my booking its written there we have an access to upper level 6 of us and we have 6 luggages no elevator nobody help us and no internet they keep saying everyday they will fix it.... host is not friendly and there is no internet we stayed there for 5 days no internet 😔😔😔

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No-one on reception to hand keys back and I know there were no breakages but still unsure if will be charged for any?

    The bed was very comfortable, shower good, apartment clean and we had all we needed

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lochend Serviced Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: