Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Goil Inn 2 stars

Main Street, Lochgoilhead, PA24 8AD, United Kingdom

#3 of 9 hotels in Lochgoilhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was perfect.

    Location is fantastic. Not too isolated but out of the way enough to be peaceful. Staff were excellent, especially Colin the manager. That made our stay special.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic Scottish Hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Really nice location. Great staff. Superb bar and restaurant. Excellent atmosphere. Rooms are basic but comfortable and anyway who would want to stay in their room in a place like this? Unbelievable value for money. Prpoer Scottish btreakfast with haggis and Lorne sausage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay & would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed in the food.Although well presented it didn't live up to our expectations eg my chicken looked like it would be nice and juicy but it was dry.

    We loved the setting of the hotel - overlooking the loch. We also liked the convivial atmosphere in the bar and the friendliness of the people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    You need to improve the running of the business, staff attitude and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving I was told I was not expected. Reception staff in a ‘tiz’. After much phoning and checking I was told I was expected! I was told I was lucky the room had not been let! No visitor pack in the room. Could not get tv to work. I feel lucky I was only there for one night!

    Good breakfast and breakfast staff. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Stunning location, very comfortable stay.food was excellent. Would recomend to anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One down side as it is a dog friendly hotel a dog was barking quite a lot though the evening while having our meal.

    Location fab. Comfy Beds. Sky tv. Excellent food. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    perfect quiet retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast! The location is perfect if you're looking for a tranquil spot. Beautiful even in the rain and low cloud. The last five miles of the drive to the hotel is in spectacular surroundings along well maintained single track roads.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel means that some rooms have loch views and others overlook the back yard. We had one of the latter. Of course, not every guest can have a good view, so you need to be prepared to have a room at the rear.

    The hotel was comfortable and well-located. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were excellent and the evening meal was good . The local area is attractive with good walking routes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room spotless, bar very welcoming ,had lunch on terrace good food great views and plenty of sunshine. Great location a couple of hundred yards from Drimsynie hotel with all its facilities. If your looking for a short break I would recommend the goil and it’s staff !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location with breathtaking scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got off on the wrong foot by saying that our payment hadn't reached them yet. This was despite us having paid Booking.com early in June. They checked again and gave a reason why they might not have received payment. I showed the bank details and insisted there would be no way I was paying again. A second check seemed to reveal everything was okay now. The service was good and the food was fine. My wife and I agreed that the twin beds were not particularly comfortable. A good nights sleep was made impossible by the chat and laughter of a member of staff and some random person right under our window. I was awoken at around 2.30am and seeing my agitated state (she was wearing ear plugs) my wife had to ask them at 2.45am to kindly move along as they were being rather loud. They did move along but peace and quiet was not fully restored until around 3am. This incident was an unfortunate episode which is hopefully rare. The road to the hotel is something else as well. Single track and quite unnerving in places. The locals handle it with ease, obviously through experience.

    The location is superb. Our room had a wonderful view down the loch. The WiFi was surprisingly good and the TV reception was good too. The bar prices were reasonable and the breakfast was lovely. There is ample parking available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, decent food, nice staff, but ruined by a minority
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly a good stay, apart from people being very loud on the benches out front and keeping me up till past 2 in the morning, I wouldn’t mind if it was a weekend, but it was mid week and I was up for a job interview, I knocked on the window several times, and it was a member of staff! No consideration for guests staying the night.

    Staff were fairly friendly, fantastic location, comfy room, food was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Ten stars for location, the Goil was totally exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little less sun, because it was incredibly hot all weekend. Scotland isn't about lazing on the beach!

    The location was fantastic, breakfast amazing and the staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money overall!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room at the back of the property which unfortunately had no view and was a very small twin room although the bathroom was large!

    The staff are very welcoming and the breakfast and evening meal was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    What was a idilic location was spoiled by the general condition of the hotel room (room 1).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Negative points the hotel is long over due a complete refurbishment especially the bedrooms ie shower head broken, mixer tap ready to fall off, broken towel rail, dirty marks on carpets windows covered in dead flies, public area smelling of disinfectant, public toilet cubical framework broken.

    Positive points staff very helpful, food excellent use of local leisure facilities and a superb view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes but a bit more attention to details in room needed

    Comfy beds in spacious room with wonderful loch and mountain view. Hearty breakfast in spacious breakfast room overlooking Loch Goil

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    A scenic, friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was as expected for a pub, though we understand that they are due to be refurbished. The staff were absolutely marvellous. Very friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Good food, good company, excellent location, great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold on arrival, but it was -6 at the time and we hadn't specified an arrival time. Soon warmed up when heater was turned on.

    Ambience in Bar and the service were first rate. Takes you back in time, very relaxing. Bar guy was utterly brillient, worked his socks off. Food was supberb and very reasonably priced. Excellent weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The Goil Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great.

    Very clean and excellent location with wonderful views. The staff were amazing and friendly, especially Mhairi, she went out her way to help us when we were snowed in for few hours. The food was amazing. I was there visiting my boy who was kayaking around the North. The rooms were very clean and lovely little toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Very Enjoyable, Scenary out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower very small and water burning hot you had to be careful not to burn yourself.

    The staff were great made our stay enjoyable. Food could have been better. wasn't always hot,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish that there were wifi in the rooms (but I knew that it was in communal areas only before I arrived as it's clearly stated on booking page.)

    Beautiful location and comfortable room. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming environment with good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used to love a game of bowls at Drimsynie. Wasn't much to do with my elderly mum as the weather was very wet. Hopefully your new leisure facilities might offer something for adults as well as children.

    Welcoming environment with good food and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds were particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Small bedroom and bathroom but the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom (a single) was small and the bathroom very small. No wi-fi in the bedroom, only in the public rooms downstairs. The selection of cereals at breakfast was very poor, just rice crispies, muesli and wheatabix

    The staff were super - very friendly and helpful. I was a bit disappointed when I arrived having come from an excellent B&B elsewhere, but the staff made up for the small room. Meals in the restaurant/bar in the evening were straightforward but good, and the service was very quick.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    It was a wonderful stay. Wish we could have had a couple more days. There was so much to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was nice - did not dislike anything.

    Friendly staff. The inn was set in spectacular scenery and we received a very warm welcome. The room was light and airy with a view of the Loch. The shower was very good. Everything spotless. The breakfast was delicious and the young lady who served us was very pleasant and ensured we had everything we required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really lovely, and helpful with information. They went out of their way to give me extra information about walks and transport in the area. Plus food was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Great wee hotel to enjoy a lovely break in the Highlands with magnificent views of the loch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We didn't eat at the hotel. The rest of our family were staying in a chalet at Drimsynie and the hotel gave us "space" !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Stunningly located Inn. Reasonably comfortable with friendly hospitable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room a bit cramped.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful location on Loch Goil. Would have liked to stay and enjoy it for another day! Simon the manager gave us a very good early breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent break away,here's to our 40th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stoorey bathroom fan and dirty shower head. However blame shows like 'Four in a Bed.

    It was our 30th wedding anniversary and the management supplied flowers for my wife along with a bottle of Cava and a card.The food was excellent,the staff were friendly and attentive.The Inn itself is dated but extreme modernisation would be hard to do because it is a listed building.For what we paid,it was excellent value,the breakfast set us up for the day.I'm actively trying to arrange for me and my mates to go back next year.Fishing,out door bowls,boat hire,canoeing,hill walking and views to die for. Can't wait.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    had a brilliant time and the sun came out which made the view even more amaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was a bit uncomfortable

    the staff make this a great place to stay and everyone is so friendly the view is amazing the food great and the shower was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    The access to the Goil Inn is down a seemingly harrowing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was microwaved :(

    The access to the Goil Inn is down a seemingly harrowing downhill single track road at the top of the "Rest and Be Thankfull Pass". Thankfully not as harrowing as the map indicated. Great value, and a bar quiz! Felt like I was in the Detectorists. Nice amenities.Nothing fancy, just a local inn, but we liked it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall we had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of fresh or tinned fruit at breakfast ie tinned grapefruit. Instant coffee at breakfast was cheap and nasty.

    Staff friendly and competent . Location good for our purposes. Meals priced ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.3
    Good location but very basic accommodation. Poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude barman who tried to intimidate us. He obviously took a dislike to us as we were English and didnt even say hello or goodbye. He should not be working in service industry.

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Not bad at all for the price charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs up to the rooms very steep...we were unable to carry cases up....luckily lovely staff member Scott Burns was on hand when we arrived...he took over and also arranged for help in the morning....

    Staff good.....breakfast good.....towels clean and comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    loved the location stunning views , good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service a bit slow, it was busy the first night we stayed but over all no bad .

    Meals good value , staff very helpful when my husband took ill ,thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    staff were very friendly the bedroom was immaculate and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant area was dated and more like a café - the floor was hard wood so very echoey - fine in the evening but you could hear every comment / person talking at breakfast there was no veggie option for a full breakfast other than to simply remove the meat elements without giving extra of anything else so a bit small for my large husband!

    staff were very friendly the bedroom was immaculate and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Mostly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the single bed felt as if I was lying on a slope, mentioned this at breakfast and chap was very apologetic and would look into it, no reason to think he wouldn't.

    Great food, friendly staff, lovely position, clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Peacefull retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the breakfast was a bit limited in choice.

    Comfortable beds and tea and coffee facilities in room. Breakfast included in room price. No added supplement for single room user.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Remote and beautiful - when it's sunny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bedroom (but massive en suite!). Ask for a room at the front overlooking the loch - the back overlooks gas cylinders and skips. No easy chairs in room - or lounge downstairs to compensate. Very poor wifi.

    Great breakfast, helpful staff. Lovely views (when not raining)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing here ( and it's very minor) was the lack of music/background sound in the breakfast room.

    The view from our room was amazing and the staff were really friendly. The bar was busy due to a charity event, but we still felt very welcome by staff and locals alike. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning which couldn't be faulted in the slightest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great stay! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views, comfy cozy rooms, exceptional staff and food I will have to come back for!

    Stayed in the Goil Inn with my mother visiting Scotland for the first time. I could not be happier with our stay in this lovely hotel. The location was amazing, with Loch Goil on the door step and hills where ever you look. The room was clean, very comfortable and cozy. The views from the room were just breathtaking! Plus, it was great to see a variety of coffee, tea and hot chocolate with biscuits left out for us! Little things matters and this was a lovely gesture showing that the hotel appreciates their guests. From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. My mom did not speak English and I had to translate everything, therefore, I was greatly thankful for staff being so patient waiting for us till we figure out our dinner, breakfast, drinks etc. Now the food! We had dinner in the hotel/pub, but they do have a restaurant too which looked great. We sat outside admiring the views and when the food arrived we could not be more pleased. The prices really do not bite but the food quality was great! Not often you can order a meal in the informal pub and receive a plate full of taste and aroma. Plus, of course, the service! Orders were taken on time and meals arriving quickly after despite the restaurant and the pub being fairly busy! Full Scottish breakfast was great too, plus they had few other great breakfast choices! Not only toast and cereal as mostly in hotels. In conclusion, lovely hotel, in a stunning location, comfortable rooms, and great, friendly, helpful staff! Thank you, Goil Inn team, I will be back for my next holiday! Best wishes, Mo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, stunning place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal in our room was inexistent unfortunately. Could always sit in the restaurant to use it though.

    Breakfast was superb and staff extra friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location with friendly staff but find a better chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. Lorne sausage had been kept warm and was dried out and hard around the edges. Mushrooms tasted of stale sausage fat. Poached egg had runny white.

    Great location and views. Comfortable bed and good shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely views from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a bit difficult to access by public transport. We got off at a stop a few miles out of town and no way to find a taxi. However, the man at the chip truck knew the local taxi driver (I think there's only one) and was able to call him for us. The property itself was very nice and not touristy, which I liked.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and even helped us up the stairs with our bags. The food was quite nice and the view across Loch Goil was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Fathers Day Treat
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the choice or lack of in cereal and fruit juice. Some croissants and yogurts would have been nice but it would not put me off going back.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. We had a slight problem with our bar meal at night but it was soon rectified and staff always kept us informed as to what was happening. Room spotless and very comfy. Bathroom was a great size. Food was excellent as was the quality and choice of the cooked breakfast. Views fantastic and it is pet friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good, but could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no drawers or shelf to put any clothing in/on. As we were there for four nights it would have been nice to get some clean towels as the weather was inclement they didn't dry out very much. The staircase to the first floor was very steep and difficult to manage with a suitcase.

    The room was at the front of the property and offered an amazing view of the loch, when the weather allowed. The beds were comfortable and the shower room adequate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    peace and tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike.

    loved the view of the loch from our window, watching people in their canoes . loved sitting outside in the sunny evening having a couple of glasses of their house wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Well worth another visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm afraid I liked everything about the Goil Inn. They even provided me with glorious sunny weather.

    The beer was positively ambrosial, the food was excellent and the location was idyllic. The staff, who behaved like normal human beings, were both friendly and efficient and didn't once say, "Enjoy!" or "Have a nice day."

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable refurbished hotel with loch and mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking process. The establishment called me to say credit card was not accepted yet the booking.com site accepted it and emailed confirmation. The card was good all the time. Then I arrived at the hotel and they did not have my booking. The office had booked me in the wrong month July instead of June :-( However the hotel provided a room which was bigger at no extra charge so all okay.

    Lovely loch view from room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    A straight forward enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi that could reach the rooms. An instruction guide for the TV/Cable.

    Friendly staff, good atmosphere, great location, a good selection of biscuits/tea/coffee & bottle water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value in amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm going off at midnight. Thankfully no fire, and good that it was working, I guess.

    The amazing view, the food being served outdoors, the friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Great
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Gail and Colin were lovely. The area was a little remote and I checked out early to get back to Manchester to catch my flight! Breakfast was really good! Hotel was convienient for my purposes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is overpriced.

    Service was great, continental breakfast was fantastic, view of the loch was incredible, beds were comfy, and they had Sky on TV which was super relaxing after a long hike.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Basic but clean & comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a back room overlooking garages & a rather shabby roof plus bins.

    Staff lovely & very helpful, Room though basic very clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice place shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What can I say - my dinner was appalling. Manager very apologetic. However, it did leave me with a very bad impression of the place. I had clearly stated on my booking that I am gluten intolerant and allergic to fish. I had stayed here before and had enjoyed a perfectly acceptable gluten free meal. However, this time, I was presented with a plate of food which was badly cooked, tasteless and not what I had ordered (despite discussions with the waiter who liaised with the chef about what I could eat from the menu. Quite honestly, I have tasted better hospital food and that's saying something. I was supposed to get pan fried chicken, salad, chips (oven baked) and coleslaw: what I got was flavourless pan fried chicken, par cooked boiled potatoes cut into chip shapes and tasteless, partially cooked frozen vegetables (carrots and turnip) - and...NO SALAD. It was disgusting! By the time I had complained to the manager, the chef had left the building - no wonder! The saving grace was the gluten free sticky toffee pudding, obviously 'Brake Bros.' or of that ilk and, so good, definitely not cooked by the 'chef'. Very poor effort and absolutely no excuse about it being towards the end of their shift. Incidentally, we chose to dine at 8pm because the manager said they had a number of tables in at 7.30 so we thought we were doing them a favour dining a little later to let the rush pass.

    We were very impressed with the fresh smelling and, obviously, refurbished room. Warm welcome from manager and friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    excellent stay in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing could have been better

    It was a fantastic location and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was very well cared for with a high standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Wake up to magnificent views of the Loch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a fantastic location, just across from the loch. The staff were really friendly and we really enjoyed the music on the Friday night. Beds comfy, would definitely stay again. Thanks !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    2.9
    Most over priced disappointing stay possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was dirty. Rooms smelt terrible. Most basic and horrible bathroom I've ever stayed in. Staff were unhelpful and did not give us full information. Cost of the room was absolutely unbelievable considering the facilities available. Really cannot believe how this place has the rating it does on booking.com. I stayed in cleaner hotels travelling through India for a tenth of the price. The room had a threadbare carpet that appeared dirty, dead flies all over the windowsill, terrible smell, and although the bathroom was clean, it was so basic and run down. Horrible stay. Just glad it was only one night. Did not use restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky Twin room beds one felt like mattress was on a slope downwards away from wall perhaps mattress just needs flipped.

    Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Incredible views and priceless relaxation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. With the most incredible scenery available, very knowledgeable staff and a very friendly community. Not for people who enjoy the hustle and bustle lifestyle but for anyone who wants relaxation and rest highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.9
    very pleasant and told by friends better value and condition than their hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit cold but heating being repaired. First day breakfast a bit dry, second day excellent.

    Staff very friendly, bar area cosy and wonderful log fire early morning and throughout day and evening. .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not burning the toast and setting off the fire alarms, although the staff were very apologetic ,just had breakfast a bit earlier than planned

    nice breakfast really great atmosphere and a great fright night disco

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great friendly staff. Beautiful area. Good food.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was a bit lumpy. Could do with a new matress or topper.

    Great breakfast. Couldn't eat it all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Good food, nice staff, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Good food, nice staff, clean room. Very quick and easy to check in. Breakfast was lovely in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant brilliant brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.0
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Breakfast well looked after by colin.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    location and the pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too basic

    location and the pub

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location, stunning views, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything adequate for our 2 night stay needs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and helpful.the location is perfect.very clean and good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view of the Loch from our room. Good breakfast and evening meals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need refurbishment, very tired looking.

    The view. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Right on the Loch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow and didn’t work in our room.

    Great location right on the Loch with very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    7 mile single track road to lochgoilhead was a bit daunting
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet in rooms a lot of menu items not available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    the food was good, staff were helpful and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sleeping in a uncomfortable single bed, as it was only for 1 night I did not express my concern

    the food was good, staff were helpful and efficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish breakfast finished at 11am. Apart from that everything was perfect.

    Everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Would go back. Great view of loch from room one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff great dinner and brekfast

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: