Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lochgreen House Hotel 4 stars

Monktonhill Road, Southwood, Troon, KA10 7EN, United Kingdom

#3 of 16 hotels in Troon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    A piece of paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were huge. Wonderfully furnished and the bathrooms luxurious. We enjoyed the included dinner option which was also fantastic. They even allowed us to have one of our dinners at a sister hotel overlooking the sea. The staff in the breakfast room were particularly wonderful, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The few annoying flies in the breakfast room. Some of the trees in the well kept garden need attention.

    The restaurant / breakfast food which was excellent and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful place to celebrate a special birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bed a bit hard for my liking.

    Lochgreen has a real wow factor and is set in beautiful gardens. It has a lovely,calm and peaceful atmosphere.The food is excellent and the staff very helpful. The kitchens looked immaculate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Super place - would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection at breakfast for continental breakfast a little disappointing - I would have liked a bigger choice of breads

    Staff were very helpful. Room gorgeous and hotel in a lovely quiet setting. Food delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable hotel to stay in with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the young Matre D could have been more friendly on the first night. Loosened up second night

    Bed lovely and big and comfy . Room very big. Lounge very Country House feel. Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel we felt special from the moment we arrived - everything was perfect - thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing !

    Nothing to fault - everything was perfect - loved it. Had the amazing 7 course taster menu paired with delicious wine - all stunning. Staff at Lochgreen are so nice and nothing is too much trouble. We haven't been in a few years and wondered if the standard would be the same .......we were not disappointed it was, if that's possible, even better and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was amazing too - thank you all for making my Mum and Dad's 60th Wedding Anniversary such a special day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable drawing room and study, log fires, relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from slightly cold food at breakfast everything was fine. Heating the plates would have helped.

    Very comfortable drawing room and study, log fires, relaxed ambience. Style and comfort. Dinner was wonderful and could not be faulted. Never stayed anywhere with such a large bedroom and bathroom!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely relaxing hotel that with a few tweaks in the restaurant could be excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    seating in restaurant at dinner was too squashed in - tables were way too close together Breakfast very disappointing - after seeing the room service menu with items like eggs Benedictine, pancakes, etc., our expectations were dashed to see a hot & cold buffet. Hot buffet was only warm & no choice of eggs, just scrambled. Cold buffet wasn’t up to expectations either with very little choice . Orange juice tasted like it was cheap carton juice. Service at breakfast was rather poor - dining room wasn’t even too busy but it was slow for plates to be removed. Maybe preparations for the 300 covers for Mother’s Day lunch caused breakfast to be not up to standard but it is a 5 Star hotel with 5 star prices.

    Lovely large comfortable bedroom. Dinner & service very good. Staff very friendly. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Wish it was longer !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the experience was excellent, my only complaint was the coffee, not so good.

    The staff are always warm and friendly, the food was excellent too ! Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A BIT UPMARKET BUT FOR THAT SPECIAL OCCASION WELL WORTH THE EXTRA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    SLOW DELIVERY OF BAR ORDERS. HOWEVER COMPLAINT WAS MADE AND DEALT WITH TO COMPLETE SATISFACTION

    style, comfort, excellent service food and wine. large comfortable rooms with super comfy bed. LOVELY VIEW,QUICK ROOM . PRE-BOOKED ORDERS DELIVERED TO A TEE. SMART FRIENDLY STAFF. IMPECIBLY CLEAN MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY MADE

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Perfect experience. We can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything satisfied our requirements.

    The room was warm and a very good size. The bed was very comfortable and a perfect size. The staff could not be better or more friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and satisfied all of our requirements.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    staff are great and the rooms and food are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the lounge area, we had to go and find a member of staff to get a menu, then after 30 minutes had to go and ask reception to send someone to take our order, first course arrived ok, but after finishing that waited nearly 40 mins before having to go again and tell someone we were still waiting for second course.

    Rooms are spacious and very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location, rooms , service and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - a gym would be a welcome addition

    Wonderful views and comfort - very friendly and helpful staff - top rate dining and wine list - dealt really sympathetically with my food allergy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and the hotel is worth four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration was old-fashioned i.e. wallpaper and carpets and the varied "art" work throughout the hotel was not to our taste. It is not a five star hotel so there is no mini-bar in the room and there are no slippers and there is no trained sommelier. The service is not as good as it could be as I do not think the young staff have been properly trained, although they are perfectly pleasant and obliging. When there was a mix up with our dining-room reservation the restaurant manager said: "Well, you're here now so just enjoy yourselves"!!!! We did not think this was an appropriate response to our complaint.

    The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and there was a "real" bath as well as a shower. The dining restaurant is comfortable too and well-decorated. The venison was delicious and the food is well presented. The porter, Ivor, went out of his way to accommodate our needs and really knows his job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent trip lovely gift
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just personal taste re furnishings

    Staff , location , service all excellent Lounge and restaurant delightful Room very clean and spacious if slightly dominated by wood furnishings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Up to expectations to meet our requirements for a short stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was a little weak with hot and cold supply delivery.

    Very comfortable and relaxing hotel with attentive and helpful staff. Room was spacious with a great view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the cost is a little on the high side, we enjoyed our stay. However when we arrived at breakfast admittedly at 9.50, we got the distinct impression that the waitress was not best pleased!! The buffet was still out and guests were still eating but we were made to feel unwelcome. That, however, was the only slight problem we had and we did enjoy our breakfast.

    Everything was fantastic - food, accommodation and spa. A wonderful reminder of our wedding day in 2015.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for our anniversary but there was a wedding on and the restaurant was busy. We couldn't get a table until 8.30 although we had been 8.00 night before. We were 35 minutes late in being taken. When we finished our meal we asked to have our coffe in the lounge unfortunately all lounges were full and there was nowhere to sit us. Instead of relaxing in the lounge for a couple of anniversary nightcaps we had to go back to our room. Not great as you would expect in a 5* hotel. Reception didn't ask us how our stay had gone.

    Nice sized room. Attentive staff. Spa treatment great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    An escape to a pleasant world of comfortable indulgence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We could not offer any adverse comment!

    Food was absolutely divine - including breakfast. The staff was friendly, efficient and most helpful. The standard of maintenance inside the hotel and the grounds was excellent. The ambience was splendid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Food created in heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public rooms a bit too warm

    Dinner was the absolute highlight of our stay, food created in heaven! Attentive and respectfully friendly staff made us feel very relaxed. So enjoyed our stay we have already booked to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Another perfect stay at Lochgreen House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I booked this hotel for my fiancée’s 40th birthday. The food was delicious (as always), the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was extremely spacious with beautiful views of the gardens and sea. Absolutely nothing negative about this hotel at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful - As Usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure about the fairly recent change at Breakfast time, from table service to the buffet service. I've become a bit lazy about having to fetch my own food, but on the other hand, the buffet should always ensure that you have on your plate, only the food that you're sure to eat (though some guests have still to understand this). As you would expect, there is a wide choice of food and drinks available, and I confess I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast. Yes - I'll just have to 'get with it'.

    The ambience of the property is the main selling point for us. The staff are always first class, and our experience is that nothing is ever too much trouble (not, I hasten to add, that we're 'needy' guests}. This is one of the few properties now where we still dress for dinner (not that we're ever anything other than presentable at other times), as it would seem we were letting the side down not to do so in such perfect surroundings. The bedrooms are always absolutely first class, and we've now graced quite a few of them down the years. This is the perfect place to simply relax in comfort, and most of the clientele would seem to agree. We're sure we'll be back again soon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic retreat for peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this is a 5* Hotel I believe the Orange juice at breakfast should be Freshly squeezed . But this is a minor comment.

    Room was huge , very clean and comfortable. The evening meal at the restaurant was fantastic to say the least. Igor was a book of knowledge. Very friendly and always ready to help. I will definitely return to Lochgreen and use the Spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location beautiful room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rate was rather expensive when compared to other hotels in the locality.

    Great location beautiful room and bathroom. Wonderful staff and possibly one of the best meals taken for a number of years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    We enjoyed every minute and have no qualms about recommending it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to 15 amp plugs was difficult. They were under the desk or behind the bedside table - not good if you have difficulty bending but, a minor point.

    We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels but this one has to be the best. It is a beautiful house set in beautiful grounds. The rooms are huge and some have big balconies. The food was truly wonderful and the staff were polite and attentive. Nearby Troon and Prestwick are very nice towns and, if you are a golfer, there are several courses at both.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some miserable staff - a smile wouldn't go wrong.

    Relaxed atmosphere and excellent food. Special mention for Josh who couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Our favourite place to stay in Troon.
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathrooms could do with a bit of updating

    The staff were so friendly and helpful which gives the hotel a lovely atmosphere. Wonderful views over the golf course to the sea. The food is truly excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Oh Dear.. Read this Review you'll be Shocked
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, moved from original room that had chimney smoke coming into room plus no hot water, Saturday ruined as we had to move to 3 different rooms due to no hot water, showers are dreadful worst ever restaurant like a sauna unbearable and very uncomfortable 😣 I feel sorry for staff working in those conditions they were all lovely but I didn't pay a lot of money for smiles I went for good food comfort relaxation and extremely disasatisfied customer, very much doubt due to this experience I would go again or eat there as a consequence, really unfortunate as land and views and gardens are amazing.. live and learn.. Hotel deducted money but still a lot paid for ruining my weekend.

    Cappuccino cleanliness staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic room. Exceptional food both at dinner and also breakfast. It was our 21st wedding anniversary and the hotel presented us with a plate of sweets to celebrate. A very small but caring touch!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    worth while visit and would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was nothing to dislike

    the whole experience staying at the hotel was excellent.bedrooms were large and kept clean throughout the stay the main restaurent was excellent as were the young staff that were on each night could not have been more attentive the whole stay was a treat to be remembered ,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Location, service , food , and staff excellence .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    View from our room was spectacular! Dinner was of the highest quality and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Large bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bed was very comfortable. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    All in all an excellent visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except my wife’s fall in the showerAl

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Booked dinner for 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked dinner for 7.30. Starters didn’t arrive until 8.45. Too late really.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and nice staff,Who know their job very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely hotel and nice staff,Who know their job very well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely big room - nice old school feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a pool/spa

    Very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    as above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room.

    excellent hotel... good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wedding in hotel and it was perfect
    • Family with young children
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall standard and quality of the surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay at lochgreen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing! The staff were all so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to celebrate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed wonderful. Bathroom warm and well furnished. Breakfast had best scrambled eggs ever. Was birthday and anniversary had an amazing time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath water was luke warm only. bathroom could do with some more shelves for toiletries etc..

    both very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Size was amazing : tea coffee & water complimentary .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size was amazing : tea coffee & water complimentary . Bath& shower good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, rooms, food and service are first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room. Great view of the coast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed it so much we are planning a return journey letter this year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was top class in a beautiful dining room and we had a lovely room with a sea view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    An experience I would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole experience was excellent - fabulous place, super room, great food and attentive staff - plus the weather was glorious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing weekend with excellent food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasting with wine menu was amazing The sommelier was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not sit next to the big fire as someone had booked it Never new you had to

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff , food & facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was awesome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar as such, just a residents type lounge albeit very tasteful and comfortable.

    Dinner was excellent , the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Very attractive classic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attractive classic building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Most enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mean with milk and biscuits on tea tray in the room

    Very comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in everyway

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic food served in a relaxed environment. Accommodation was up to the usual very high standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic food, ambience, accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyable as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard

    Food was tremendous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Been at many good hotels throughout Scotland but this hotel is the best of them all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel is quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic wedding venue. Beautiful location and excellent staff. The taster menu the night before the wedding was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very happy return visit. We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rain on Wednesday

    room spacious and comfortable. food excellent service immediate, professional, friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    All round enjoyment and satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All round enjoyment and satisfaction

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel ... Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was spacious and bed very comfortable ... Very quite and views magnificent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower mixer was a bit erratic.

    Lovely big room, great staff and great food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Perfect food, service and accommodation a five star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, and I am very picky.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed a great evening at an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was spacious with beds being very comfortable.Staff friendly and food both evening meal and breakfast excellent quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Hot water took long time to come through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water took long time to come through. Might be due to us being only guests in that wing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely romantic venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful room, very comfortable. Cosy lounge with several open fires - perfect for cocktails before dinner or a nightcap before bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    Cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, comfortable country house hotel with roaring fire . Great food and service .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for gluten free options as I'm coeliac and I wasn't disappointed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Annual birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    The bedroom was an excellent size with a super view and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    The room, food etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    The room, food etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Lochgreen 'green for go'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Deluxe Room (Special Offer)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked staff, food and service Room excellent No complaints

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    We booked for a wedding , out original room wasn't ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No other complaints

    We booked for a wedding , out original room wasn't ready so the lovely ladies on the desk sorted one that was ready immediately!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.2
    There wasn't anything I didn't like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing I did not like.

    There wasn't anything I didn't like. The total ambience of the place was exceptional. I liked the idea of no a la carte menu. There was absolutely no need for one.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    Staff were excellent, and the very high standard of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reason to find faults

    Staff were excellent, and the very high standard of furnishings within the hotel. Excellent service and quality both in the dining room, bar and breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.0
    There was a smell of vinegar when we went into our room we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a smell of vinegar when we went into our room we were informed by a staff member that this was what they used to clean the wardrobes. On the second night of our stay there was a power cut in Troon and we had to eat our meal by candlelight and were not able to have our Salmon en Croute as the electric ovens could not be used Desserts were limited too as were the starters.The lights eventually came on as we ate our ice creams which were beginning to melt. We felt when we checked out there should have been some acknowledgment of the power cut and perhaps a gesture of a bottle of wine or a reduction to our bill. Not a word was said

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: