Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lodge at Bristol

Aztec West, Almondsbury, Bristol, BS32 4TS, United Kingdom

#23 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't as clean as I would have hoped for. There were plug by the tv and working desk but none by the bed so if charging your phone and you have to check something it was a case of getting up and going across the room to answer. It would be nice to have a plug next to the bed. The wifi was a bit spotty for me. Also, to check in you have to go to Starbucks next door to do so. When Starbucks is closed you have to go the other hotel close by which is about 2 to 3 minutes walk away which is not a lot but it would be better to have one at the property.

    Good location for where I needed to be. Good size room. Great powerful shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    •Requested a Business Receipt - was refused. Claimed I'd be given one when I checked out - no staff were there when I did despite assurances they would be •Ignored my emails and messages •Advertised a bunch of TV channels that couldn't be watched •Lighting was dim and had confusing switches

    •Double Room for the same price as most Singles. •Provided multiple bins for Waste, Paper and Plastic & Cans

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door handle to the bathroom was falling off so it didn’t shut properly , the shower was leaking, the pillows were flat , the bathroom floor was dirty, the window wouldn’t shut, the reception wasn’t open so couldn’t ask to switch rooms , the apology received was lack lustre. Will not stay again.

    Rooms appearance was nice , tv was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusually cleanliness was poor, we have used this accommodation previously and was excellent but this time had staining on shower wall, staining/soiling on curtains and a cracked sink

    Value for money and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly when i arrived, I parked my car in the car park having been given a ticket from the machine, Ok no big issue,(We will come back to the car park) I then went to check in at Starbucks, It was explained that there was nobody around to check me in until 6pm, I was informed i could either wait 2.5 hours or i could go to the hotel over the way and check in there, Ok... no initial big deal but the whole process to check in just seemed a little long winded from pulling up in the car park to finally being able to access the room, I was put into room 10 (Disabled room!?) First impressions were overall very good, spacious room etc! However the lack of cleaning that had been done prior to my arrival was noticiable....i.e....cup stains on bed side table,Dirty teaspoons, long hairs found all over/in the bed, Also the shower and wet room needs attention when it comes to being cleaned, Meldew and (pink) bacteria on shower hose, Room just appeared to off been rushed during the turn around.Having then tried to leave the car park with car you need to then go to Starbucks to get a code at a cost of £3 to be able you to leave the car park,Is there not an easier way to do this? Maybe make codes available in the room upon check in, I presume the code is changed on a weekly basis.I just feel if i have gone somewhere for a nights rest,I dont really see why a a guest should be running around trying to sort out codes to get out the car park, There were no major issues at all during my stay and i did really enjoy it ...it is just those issues with parking tickets/codes, Having to go over to the other hotel to check in etc, Hygeine standards in the room, Just those little things that i find annoying and uneccesary in a hotel like this, those kind of little niggles i would expect in some crap b&b/ Lodge where staff levels have been shortend to such a point that staff are over stretched to a point where standards are never going to be consistent.

    The bed was very comfy, great location and area, little extras in the room were cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower setup is in the contemporary style - has no shower base to contain the water spray - so the floor mat has to be located 2 yards away unless you want to step on a soppy towel. Fortunately the shower room is large enough to accommodate this.

    The 'family room' and the ensuite were large and spacious. The facilities were clean. Liked the multiple power points located around the room and the work desk. The bed was comfortable and the window curtains the block-out type. Check in is in the Starbucks next door. An access card is provided along with the code to open the car park barrier. The closest restaurant dining option - we're not talking about pre-packaged food from Starbucks - is in the Aztec Hotel across the road. Strong water pressure from the shower. There is a small LED light that is continuously on near the toilet and that allows you to use the facility without having to switch the light on in the wee hours of the night. However, the frosted bathroom glass means that the faint glow from this lamp can be seen inside the bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door leading into bathroom, frosted glass 🤔 very heavy especially if you have children. My grandson were with us and he hurt his toe on the door. Every shower I had the floor outside the shower got soaking wet.

    Lovely location, quiet at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in about 2000. Sign said if bar/coffee place was shut to press intercom. Waited over 15 mins for someone to bother to answer to be told we should go to reception is sister hotel over the road. Perhaps the sign should say that especially as we were left waiting outside with 2 young children. Were loads of hairs over chairs/carpets which we noticed after the baby was crawling around and was covered in them!

    Big room. Plenty of space for travel cot as well as sofa bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other residents banging their room doors as they leave, we always ensured that we held our door until it clicked shut quietly but at 7am we had many a door bang closed while they went off for breakfast.door lock on the shower room was very wonky, hard to click shut?

    This was our 3rd visit, its great location and love coming back, it was our wedding anniversary and had a nice relaxing celebration. Room was amazing and comfortable and they even made sure i didnt have feather pillows due to my allegy. A great stay. The shower is so powerful, its amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food being served at the pub next door although advertised on the website. Had to eat at the partner hotel across the road which was exceptionally expensive

    Great quiet location but still convenient. Excellent fittings and fixtures. Exceptionally clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor complaint is because the bathroom door was glass it let a lot of light into the room at night which could disturb a sleeping child.

    Room was lovely, perfect size for a family and the desk meant I could work once our child was asleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very informative about the opening times for the bistro. Plus seemed rather unhelpful when we asked if we could check out a bit later the next day.

    The room was great, clean and we had plenty of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked bed a bit bigger. Confusion checking in regarding pre-payment not showing on system but quickly resolved.

    Excellent value for money and great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Room was clean. Had to wait long que for check in. Should have two staff on for this on an event day.shower splashed into bathroom through door but overall wad very happy for the price. Would use again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot room so opened the windows but couldn't shut it after temperature was good. Droning noise coming from outside!

    Shower was fantastic, had to turn heating down though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room quite dusty, a lot of scuff marks on the walls.

    Stayed here with my fiance while visiting family in Bristol. Room was lovely, corporate but to our standards. Had a bit of trouble with the WiFi but a phone call to reception solved the issue, also requested two extra pillows which came straight away. Room a little dusty and a few scuff marks here and there. Situated in a lovely quiet area, quiet for the weekend anyway. Ideal spot for close links to the motorway. Free parking on the weekend which was a nice bonus. Comfortable few nights stay, thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 lamp didn’t work in our room, but that didn’t bother us as there were plenty more and it didn’t affect our stay. Nothing was bad.

    Such a lovely bedroom! Very cheap for the high quality! Extremely clean and very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few snags in the room. Faulty door catch for bathroom so door wouldn't close. Window very difficult to open and close. Uncomfortable pillows.

    Location, parking and easy check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have stayed at the lodge quite a few times but very dissappointed with this stay. Pillows are in need of replacement (flat as pancakes) and no additional ones available. Very noisy guests in adjoining rooms talking and banging on doors in the early hours of the morning. Not a very good night sleep. Couldnt speak to anyone as the Check in shut at 6

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold

    The biscuits were delicious (and vegan which is a plus for me!) The bed was super comfy and I slept all through the night which doesn't happen a lot :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find at night. We had to check in at the hotel across the road. There was nobody on reception, no bell to attract attention and no staff to be seen anywhere. It was about 12.30 at night. We didn't appreciate having to hang around for 10-15 minutes in the hope that a staff member would appear.

    The room was perfectly nice, clean and reasonably spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better located for business rather than leisure. On a business park near major trunk roads. No rail station nearby

    It had every facility you could need for an overnight stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, clean and comfortable. Recycling bins in the rooms was a lovely feature! Just off the motorway and only a short drive from Bristol. Amazing value for money! Free parking at weekends. I had a ground floor room and heard no noise from above or anywhere else, very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all was perfect.

    Great sister hotel to the larger Aztec across the road where you can use the facilities . Comfy room, great shower , fantastic helpful staff, everything that makes a brilliant stay. Will certainly use again when in Bristol.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slightly strange smell in our room which even with the windows open we couldn't get rid off,

    The room was great, very spacious, brilliant value for money, the room was clean, very comfortable beds all in all was a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queued to check in (Starbucks customers took priority) Door to bath room did not shut. Poor information about parking. No extra pillows (no one available after 7 pm on a weekend to ask unless we went to neighbouring hotel?) Desk was dusty

    Bed was comfortable. Basic facilities good. Reasonably priced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and shower head needs descaling. Water overflowed in shower tray. No food available in hotel..unless you go to the bar or Starbucks. Starbucks had no hot food available next morning due to ovens not working.

    Room was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not seeing staff on arrival, was stood out side ringing the intercom bell for 25 mins, with no answer, with young children in the dark and freezing cold temperatures, the Starbucks was closed at 7, so unable to have a hot drink, went on a wild goose chase trying to find someone to help us, after 45 mins we decided to take the children across the road to get them warmed up, was told then that they can check us in, we told the reception that we had been ringing the intercom for a long time with no answer, her reply was " yes we have a problem with that" and that was it.

    Room was clean, cheap price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the bed, 2 more pillows would be nice, double bed too small. Window in room 25 a bit hard to close. The door had a gap underneath, so you could see light from the hallway and also people in the hallway can hear your girlfriends moans! I put a blanket over the gap. Missing bulb in the tallest lamp in the room.

    The styling, not cheap, Easy parking, phone in the room, Clean, Staff are quick to help, being able to recycle In Your own room, Nice chairs, spacious room, first impressions will were great for me nd my lady.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in. No flexibility on checking in before 3pm as we'd arrived 3/4 hour earlier after a long journey. We didn't want to sit in a crowded room with other early arrivals. The computer network had broken down and we had to walk across to the Aztec Hotel to check in. It was cold and wet and inconvenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy at 4.00 pm broke my sleep got up at 6am and left. hotel very well finished like most modern hotels most likely timber framed and sound transmission is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr plug was stuck so the basin wad overflowing. The shower door wouldn't close and the shower basin overflowed onto the floor and bedroom carpet

    Room was very comfortable and the decor was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an industrial park, so it is important to note this when travelling to Bristol. You will need to catch the 73 and 75 to arrive there, which can take 45+ minutes. Other than that, I cannot find any other issues.

    Good Lord, this room is properly suited for business professionals and travellers alike. Check-in actually occurs at the Starbucks and recently-added restaurant next door. Staff were friendly and explained how to use the facility. The room itself was very modern and spotless, with plenty of outlets for charging devices, an excellent TV (which can pair with Samsung devices, which is perfect for Netflix and YouTube), a lovely toilette with new amenities, toiletries, and plenty of towels, a full-size workstation, and a nice wardrobe. Comes completely stocked with kettle and plenty of tea and coffee. The bed itself is exceptionally plush and I became unconscious in a matter of minutes when trying to fall asleep. Hotel, whilst not central to Bristol, is close to the massive Cribbs Causeway Mall and a few other things.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was only a double so felt quite small, only 1 pillow each, and the mattress was quite hard for my liking

    There was a iron, ironing board, hair dryer in the room Shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom USB port for the tv so we could watch Netflix with our fire stick

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival to a part building site there were workmen outside trying to fix something in the kitchen. The was a sign up saying bistro would close at 6pm so could not get an evening meal. There is also nothing around but offices so had to drive a long way to get food. I looked to check in and found a huge long que which was luckily for the starbucks which had 1 member of staff on. I walked past and went to a desk where the man in front was complaining so that had already put me off. The man asked my details and then said you are too early come back later. I was not happy as had stayed at many places and have always been able to check in slightly early. I came back later and the starbucks que was long again and the man had to then stop serving coffees to check me in. I went to the room and found a fold up cot for some reason. I had not asked for this so had to fold it down and put it out the way. I came down to the car to get my luggage and notice what the man in front of me was complaining about. It would seem to get it you need a keycard but to get out the door just opens automaticly. This is very unsafe for children who can then just run into the road outside. Most places have a button to press to get out. This is just unsafe. The next day i checked out and then got a phone call from the staff saying please come back and get my luggage as it was left there. I checked the room before i left so did not see how i left anything. I called the number back who left the message and it kept saying number not in use. I then called the hotel and was put through to somewhere else as they did not know what i was talking about. I then callec again and was told oh sorry our mistake there is nothing left. The Hotel was clean and good just the staff are rather useless if you ask me.

    The room was clean and lots of space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow, but not exactly a complaint or anything that can be done

    Hotel was great with nice Starbucks on site. Cinema, shopping centre and restaurant all within 5 minute drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    inconsiderate young people shouting as they returned to their rooms around midnight and beyond, however that is not the hotels fault

    very comfortable bed clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos showed what looked like larger beds. We were slightly disappointed to find a standard double.

    We chose the location to be near family living in that area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easily accessible and fantastic facilities. The attached pub was great and served a limited but very good menu. Used this hotel for work purposes which was positioned brilliantly. 15 mins in to Bristol. Staff were very good, chatty and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were right next to the entrance so we didn't get a good nights sleep as guests still coming in at 3am

    Really spacious room nicely decorated and comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower could drop cooler than expected randomly but not cold enough to shock the skin. Windows were difficult to close after opening in a morning, Had to ask maid for help.

    *Bed was comfy and shower was powerful. *Shower gel and shampoo was provided. *Good quality tea, coffee and biscuits provided. *Hair dryer and Iron provided. *Felt safe in room since no one could get into building without a card to a room. *Heated towel rail, ability to make room warmer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 38 is close to the lift and stairs and has some sort of small room next to it which makes noise 24/7. There is no 'real' breakfast, just standard Starbucks fare in the associated Coffe Shop and Bistro.

    Comfortable room, large TV and desk. Great shower. The food is ok in the attached Bistro which is effectively a Starbucks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glass door on bathroom so whenever one of you goes to the toilet & puts the light on in the night it wakes the other person up, crazy idea to use a glass door!

    fairly quiet location on bristol outskirts, the benefit of a nice starbucks next to it, rooms are fairly light modern and airy & overall good value with comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bistro wasn't open for food on Saturday night so I ate at the restaurant at the sister hotel over the road. Whilst the staff were excellent and the food was very nice, the prices are pretty steep. However there isn't anywhere else within walking distance so factor this in if you are staying over on a Saturday night.

    Staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Room was large and very comfortable with great shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was SUPER comfy. The check-in and the check-out are very easy. The entrance for the rooms is separated from the Reception which gives you the opportunity to be super independent at any time of the day/night. Free Parking in front of the hotel on weekends. Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in- had to wait by the Starbucks queue and it took a long time to be served. We thought we would were paying for a room with 2 standard double beds but one was a fairly small sofa bed with a very thin mattress so not as comfortable. We would have liked to have a bath- our room had a walk in shower which wet the entire bathroom floor when used- not ideal with 2 young children.

    Size of the bedroom, space for storage, cleanliness, easy access to motorway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door at the bottom didn't close properly so the bathroom floor flooded, and could do with re grouting round the bottom of the shower tray as it's turning a little black in places

    I had a double room which was a nice size, tea making facilities, TV, room was clean and comfortable, bathroom is good size, love the power shower much better than mine at home, location is OK if you have a car so you can drive into the centre of Bristol, other than that there isn't anything much within walking distance as it's on a business park, will use this hotel again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to get the keys from the pub next door,waiting for someone to serve you. Bathroom door opened onto the side of the bed,ir was glass,which meant overtime someone went to loo/had a shower the other person was woken.There was also a light under the loo all night which lit the bathroom up ,and shone in my face all night! The pillows were like pancakes ,we had to ask for other ones.

    Next door to the spa.Near cribs shopping mall.Modern interior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying over the weekend when the hotel bistro isn't open in the evening. Whilst it wasn't a problem to go across to the Aztec West hotel for dinner (and the staff there were great - really friendly and helpful), the prices for food and drink at the bar were pretty steep. Over £50 for a 2 course bar meal for one with 2 glasses of wine was more than I expected to pay (given that the accommodation wasn't much more than that!) - happily the food was delicious.

    The accommodation was excellent - big room with all the basics that you need and lovely big shower room. The check in staff were great, and the location is extremely convenient for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    kids running up the corridor screaming, and noisy drunks singing and talking really loud no respect for other people in the early hours of the morning

    the room was beautiful and comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom's disappointing compared to the room but functional. Cleanliness, the outside areas weren't the best, Starbucks cups/drink glasses lying around, whilst this is mostly due to the customers, I appreciate, it needs attention. By bathroom smelt of "fish" to put it politely, upon raising this with the staff " we will mention it to the cleaners" no acknowledgement that it might have effected MY stay.

    Carp park is right next to the room and secure. Extra towels. Nicely decorated room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location. Too far from amenities. Did not realize The Lodge was in the middle of a business park.

    The bed was very comfy really good sleep. Shower was brilliant. best shower I've used in a long time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on a business park and not being a motorist there wasn't really anywhere of interest to walk too, a cafe instead of a Starbucks would be nice so you can get a cooked breakfast, and the grout around the shower try needs replacing as it was showing signs of black mould

    Nice size room, big TV and a kettle in the room, loved the power shower, good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming facilities were available but extremely expensive. For 2 adults and 2 under 3 we paid over £21!!!

    The staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a family room and had a super king, sofa bed out and a travel cot and still room to move around and the kids to play. Was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Very nice and clean room, comfy bed and lovely en-suite shower! My family and myself have been enthusiastic with our 1-night stay there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The team from Barnsley FC were there and were extremely disrespectful to at least one of the female staff, whistling and saying inappropriate comments. She was obviously embarrassed but faced with a number of males in a room away from the crowd, she didn't feel in a position to deal with it, nor she should have had to. Not the hotels fault, and the staff remained professional and helpful at all times.

    I loved this hotel. We got upgraded from The Lodge to The Aztec which was amazing. Rooms were lovely, big with great facilities. My 8 year got left a few treats on her bed as well as cold drinks in the fridge. There were gowns and slippers to use, and a morning swim in the pool was a real treat for us. The breakfast was wide ranging and lovely. I would love to stop here again, it's the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in and an absolute treat on the kind of budget I have. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors very noisy when they closed.......especially at night, when people arrived late!

    Beds very comfy. Area surrounding hotel very well kept. Express check out was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get into our room, due to a function we attended in Bristol, until 1.30am and didn't appreciate the housekeeper knocking and then entering our room at 8.15am! My children were sleeping but got woken up by this! We didn't need to be out of the room until 11am!

    We arrived early and the staff were super friendly and accommodating in getting us checked in (room Wasn't ready but that was fine, i just wanted to pay and save paperwork later) as we knew we wouldnt be back to the hotelUntil quite late

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy. But would benefit from king size bed. The shower head had a drip which was quite annoying in the middle of the night.

    Lovely staff room very clean. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not a double and uncomfortable to sleep on

    Fire alarm went off no staff would tell you anything and how long it was going to be before it was safe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was not for us. The bar closed early and we had to use their sister hotel over the road.That closed 10.30 Thursday and Friday.There was a 15 mile detour on Friday and Saturday nights due to road works. On the Friday we were too late to get a drink. The fire alarm went off at 1.00 in the morning and again shortly afterwards.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar should be open at weekends to give better service

    Hotel to a high standard , but main Hotel just a short walk across road. Bar linked to Hotel rooms closed so felt cut off from main facilities bit disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were roadworks on the road leading from the motorway and so I spent an hour trying to find another way in. If it wasn't for the workmen I wouldn't be able to find the place at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise? For some reason this year we experience way too much door banging and were woken up every morning at 7.30am. Bang,bang bang, then hoovers starting. When i investigated the cleaners were the culprits, opening rooms to see if they were free to clean and starting their cleaning at 7am? I put in a complaint as this is not acceptable, not everyone stays their for business visits and we hardly got any sleep for 4 nights. The hotel did contact me a few days later to apologise but it ruined our visit and the start of our holiday, this was completely different from last year, we had 2 nights there last year and it was completely quiet with no noise at all? Something gone very wrong in 12 months

    We have stayed before and loved it so decided to come back, the food was amazing, real Italian pizza cooked by an Italian chef, it was yummy, good range of drinks on offer, friendly and helpful staff, 1st night our shower was dripping and kept us awake all night, they were very quick to give us a new room. Amazing showers, you feel like your getting a massage as well as a shower. Its was great having a Starbucks downstairs, i just popped down every morning to get our coffee's and bacon rolls

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ! Self service at a Costa coffee bar inside the Hotel , Sausage sandwich was rubbish.

    Lovely rooms . great shower, large and powerful no dancing about to get wet like in some places, strange book in procedure , but then it is a pub (rooms are separate so no noise from bar etc .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nowhere to have breakfast - more of an inconvenience when travelling with children. Starbucks is handy, but limited and a little pricey. (Aztec Hotel wanted £29.80 per head to eat breakfast) phone signal a little poor

    easy access to wedding venue we were attending. great for parking cleanliness of rooms facilities in rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in is in Starbucks next door and we had to wait for the guy to come along to check us in. The room was very hot and only 1 window opened. The hotel is more suited to the business traveler as the location is in a business park.

    The room was clean and location near motorway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot. The light fixtures in the room was broken.So we have very little light. The bathroom was full of black mould in the shower and limescale on the tap. The bed was so old you can feel the springs as you sleep. I am so very dissapointed having driven for 3 hours for an overnight stay. Never again.. dont waste you money...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room allocated the shower permanently dripped and could be heard it in the bedroom. We requested another room and got moved. In the next room the Shower cubicle had black condensation in the silicone seal, this was also the same in the first room. My shower was shortened as the water didn't drain away and shower tray overflowed on to the bathroom floor. As it was 11.00 o clock at night I didn't want to request yet another room. My partner again had a very shortened shower to stop water overflowing onto bathroom floor. The bed was comfy and location good for motorway however shower experiences let stay down.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was clean(ish) and the bed was comfy but that is about the only good points. You have to pay to use the car park through some complicated system which the member of staff never explained very well. We went into the bar at around 9.30 pm on Friday evening and the member of staff asked us to hurry up as she was closing soon! This was a bar in Bristol that doesn't sell any proper cider, just imitation fruit flavoured rubbish! On the Saturday night, we were hungry so at about 8.00 pm we went to the bar to order some food and it was locked up, so we had to drive into Bristol to find something to eat! There was black mound in the bathroom, the shower was constantly dripping loudly and there was not enough towels. All in all, a very disappointing weekend and we won't be going back there again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. The non air con which the rooms get boiling hot and I mean boiling hot and not even any windows. Used tampons in bin and toilet, blood on bed and kids sofa bed and a stained carpet. Vile

    Absolutely nothing. The fact the restaurant isn't open on weekends and the bar closes at 7. Staff are incredibly rude

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot, fairly noisy wedding party music until 01.00hrs, directions for registering when we got there on Saturday afternoon not very clear.

    Big room, comfy beds, power shower, good TV.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a faff checking in - you have to check in across the road at the main hotel if you arrive in the evening. This wasn't really clear until we buzzed the intercom and spoke to someone. Shower was too powerful and the plug didn't drain fast enough so we had to keep turning the shower off so as not to flood the bathroom.

    Convenient location, comfortable nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities. .there wernt shops or many restaurants or food provided in hotel wrent very child friendly. .apart from TV in the room there wasn't much value for money

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room at all so very uncomfortable. A skylight window so as it poured down all night it was very loud in room. Could not have skylight open although the room was boiling because of the rain! So a relaxing night away turned into tired parent and children... No staff upon checkout because Starbucks was closed on bank holiday Monday so could not even talk to anyone about it. Will not be returning !

    Location close to motorway and pool facilities nice and warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: