Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lonsdale Hotel

9-10 Bedford Place, Camden, London, WC1B 5JA, United Kingdom

#965 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2645 hotel reviews

5.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.7

  • Comfort

    4.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    3.9

  • Staff

    4.9

  • Value for money

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying not to trip over garage and bedding in the stairwell, terrible wifi, uncomfortable bed, poor water pressure and broken shower fittings.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not sure why this hotel is listed on Booking.com as it is very run down and the staff are not welcoming in the least. The facilities are all in disrepair, the beds are uncomfortable and the rooms are shabby. The sheets were clean but the bathroom was smelly so won't be staying there again.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, unclean linen, television broken, no advertised shared bathroom and came away with bed bug bites all over me.

    Location is the only good thing about this place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super noisy when moving at night. The room was in the basement and the air was bad. The check-in process was excessively slow.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi, dirty rooms, unlike anything on the photos. It was more of a homeless shelter than a Hotel, I wonder how they can use the term Hotel to define themselves..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, blood and snot stuck to the wall by the bed/pillows (picture attached does not do justice) Far too hot on top floor with no fans or a/c. The room I booked with en Suite wasn’t available so I had a room with just a shower - although the water was scalding hot as an only option. The sink leaked and overflowed. The discount I received on the room was inadequate, insignificant and discourteous. Grotty little place.

    Leaving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didn't like anything about the lonsdale hotel

    bed bugs smelly wet floors disgusting dirty nasty staff very rude no customer service very incompetent staff they have no idea how to run a hotel need to be taught a lesson in hospitality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff manners. Untidy and overpriced rooms. Showers had next to no water pressure and one was broken. Price was too high for quality of rooming. Walls are very thin.

    Shops are around the block. Close to parks. Close to bus stops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, tatty

    Not advertised as shared bathroom, but it was a shared bathroom, no tea/coffee making facilities at all although advertised as that. Room was tatty with only one working plug point. It was more like a hostel than a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was very old and the windows were difficult to open, room was very grubby and the hotel itself is very shabby. Bathroom was unclean

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst place I have ever been never ever again dirty stinky place

    Worst place I have ever been in my life my room size was 1 mx1m stinky place never ever again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were blunt and rude. The hotel had no tea/coffee facilities For the price it was very poor and dirty and needs attention to the rooms as were shabby

    The only good thing was location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room condition is bad, especially my hands, legs and body are full of bug bites after my first night of sleep. I wonder there are uncountable bedbugs in the mattress. Road side room is noisy as window has to be opened when sleeping because of no air-conditioning. There are lots of hostels in the same street and this one is not recommended.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in basement bars on window no fire escape.Dirty stained walls. Hair in bathroom.damaged furniture.hole in sink dirty smelly carpet..when we complained it said we had asked for early check in and my husband had waited in room for me before complaining.staff didn't care.rude only booking.com got something sorted improved room but not by much

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have visited over 30 countries and never regretted booking a hotel more than I did with the Lonsdale Hotel. 3 nights we tolerated the septic smell and delapitated facilities of this siht hole. The moment I walked in and was met by the rude staff should have been enough to turn straight around and walk out. Next time I'll book an enema instead ,

    I really enjoyed leaving this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in disgusting rooms the carpet the bathrooms beds. Most recent renovation must of been 1918. The service at the front desk was rude no iron or ironing board in the whole hotel..DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR DON'T STAY HERE

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel's worth is about 20 gbp. It is not clean, there is no shower and toilets in room. there is common shower and toilet for 10 room. I saw some people in their payment list who they stay at 40 gbp. It was unbelievable bad experience. I'm happy to stay just 1 night. You should remove this hotel in your list, people can think bad views on you because of them.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *READ BEFORE BOOKING* We paid £205 for a double bedroom and an ensuite. Value for money was extremely poor and a premier inn 1 mole away cost £50 less during the dates of our stay. These prices for premier inn was for an on the same day stay as well as the following day after, no notice at all. The staff could not understand English nor speak it very well. The room was unclean and triggered my girlfriends asthma during the night due to dust and damp/mould in the air. No facilities in the room such as a kettle or any form of cups if you buy bottles of drink from shops. No toilet roll and when asked at the desk for more we had to wait 15 minutes for someone to bring some. Tv was very small (approx 12inch). Bed structure was a metal frame which was made of two parts, and supported together with a thin 3mm plate approx 1 inch x 3 inch, causing a small pivot in the middle of the bed. No quilt in the bedroom only 2 sheets to cover yourself during the night. Towels provided. 1 pillow across a double bed Room for 2 people was very small with a double bed placed in the centre and a very small walkway on either sides of the bed and the base of the bed. Ensuite was paid extra as they have a shared bathroom for all visitors, this ensuite was a large step up into the room and was very small as you could only step into the room and either turn left on the spot for the toilet, right turn for the shower and the sink was directly in front of you with a small mirror too low to use without stepping out of the ensuite.

    The location was close to nearby park however a 25 minute walk to the Thames

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s the dirtiest place I have ever been hosted in. They tried to give me a room in the basement, no windows, no bathroom nor shower in that floor (I had to go up 2 floors to use those). Bed was uncomfortable, and sheets dirty. Shared toilet and shower were unusable, extremely dirty and old. Staff was rude and bad behavioured.

    Location is the only nice thing I could say about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Would never stay here again. Clean bedding and towels but that was it! Very old and in need of refurb, dirty carpets etc ... was put in basement room, tv would not work, noisy rooms above, no tea/coffee facilities when no food/drink on offer would expect that at the very least. To top it off no hot water in the morning for a shower! Would never stay there again ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stuck me in a basement room that was about as comfortable as a prison cell, and the desk clerk was rude.

    The neighborhood is lovely and the location perfect. Do stay in this street. There are about 6 other hotels within 100m and all looked good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were horrified at the standard of bed{questionable prison} type, cleanliness, bathroom no light, toilet see through window, one curtain did not pull overlooked by next property. Bedroom window exactly the same. Carpets throughout were threadbare and dust everywhere. Staff were very off-hand and unpleasant with a "who cares" attitude! The bed was right next to the wall consequently we were very cold. The bed and room were not cleaned for the second night.

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very shabby. Peeling paint, threadbare carpets. There were 4 wall lights in my room, only one of which had a bulb in it, and that didn't work. The mattress was incredibly thin and any movement at all caused the bed to creak. The window was partly open and I wasn't able to shut it.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    except for a reasonably recent coat of paint, nothing in this hotel appears to have had a little overhaul for many decades. Everything looks very worn, if not decayed.

    cheap, central, the linnen was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On entering the first room (room 5) I noticed a large puddle of water in the middle of the floor which looked like it had come from a leak. When I told the woman at the front desk about this she just looked at me blankly until I explained it a few more times and then she reluctantly offered me another room. The next room I was offered (room 15) had three beds in it and absolutely stank of cigarette smoke (considering this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel) and the window did not open. The bathroom was essentially the same as you’d find in a caravan: a small, smelly box about 2metres by 1metre with a toilet, sink and shower which did not run hot water so I ended up washing using the sink. The bed was squeaky and uncomfortable. I actually considered getting a train home rather than staying in this hotel.

    Close to Kingsway which was where I needed to be for the business meeting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above- the only good thing is the convenient location to Oxford Street.

    Only two from 5 light bulbs worked in room. No kettle, no TV remote, no washbasin. Curtains didn't complete close. Upon arrival they couldn't find my booking. An insult to charge what they did.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearly everything. It was clean though.

    Tired hotel - needs a makeover; staff ambivalent; purely functional; very noisy at 11pm and 1am - possibly due to street of hotels; carpets dire; this is a budget hotel. Not going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was so dirty everywhere. Beds are so old and no-one can sleep in them. Not even a one glas to drink water from or anything else in rooms. Rooms are too bright also. Staff might be friendlier.

    Location was ok for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkin lady was very blunt, we were given keys for two rooms, we jokingly asked which is best? She laughed... 'what do you expect-see for yourself' One room had a shower.. the other just a sink. Communal bathroom had no light... communal toilet had no lock on the door. TV in one room did not work... the room with a sink had no cold water.. no plug. Room with the shower, window did not open...... But... the beds were comfy, and we were only one night in the city. It was like indoor camping.

    It looked nice from the outside.... walking distance of the trade show... . Beds to be fair where clean, nice sheets etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Come away covered with bites (fleas or bed bugs) - over 59 on foot , 30 on back, also scattered over arms & legs, even some on forehead & breasts! Woman on reception kept head down with no smile or eye contact & refused to acknowledge friendly greetings. Staircase dirty. Spider's web in shower. Hot water came from cold water tap. Uncomfortable mattress and bedding. No air conditioning.

    Very close to theatre land, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal is not friendly at all. I did not expect a lot for because of the low price but it doesn't cost you a thing too be friendly to your guest and show some kind of interest in them.

    price/quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. Got a taxi back to the hotel but only had a £50 for the taxi driver so asked reception if they could change it up and she absolutely refused to do so. And was very rude about it. Couldn’t even get into the room because the room was too small and door was blocked by the bed. The room itself was inadequate. The only nice thing about it was the bathroom. Will not be staying again. Not worth the £90 we paid at all. I’d be happy paying £40 maximum.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean, it was dusty and had hair in the bathroom. The staff didn't really ask how was our stay/experience, only a "bye" was spoken

    The shower was half decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although shared and a bit neglected (empty shampoo bottles lying around) the shower on the 1st floor was surprisingly good. This is basic accommodation with no pretensions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take my advice and stay someplace else The entire place smelled of marijuana Dirty bathroom Dirty room, walls, all around Dirty old carpet with stains on The receptionist did not know where the rooms where located. I spent over 20 minutes looking for our room, she did bother to stand up and help me out until I told her so. Complained about the room the smell and beds which were horrible. Metal frame ... all absolutely broken ...unsteady ...we had to put the beds next to each other by the wall so we could keep them steady. Worse night sleep, nasty place, bad customer service. She said she cannot do anything about the situation and that I should talk to the management in the morning ...which I did but I hot the same. lame answer ...that they will let head office know like that will help me with anything

    Huge room . Shame that they wont do it over

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good, close to the centre and subway.Don’t expect presidential apartment for that price. I was only sleeping in the hotel which was good enough. If I’d like to spent more time in the hotel I’d consider something more expensive. But it was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived around 7pm and the lady behind the desk was very unaccomadating. Then had to ask twice for the heating to be put in. Each time I came to the desk she made me feel like it was inconvenincing her and was more concerned with her mobile phone. Very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the hallway is old and looks unclean. Overall the whole place is old and lacks renovation.

    Like the location. There is a small shower room and small sink in my room even though the listing said shared bathroom. Toilet is shared though. When we asked the receptionist for boiled water, she told us we could use the electric kettle in the pantry at the reception area. This place is reasonably OK for my budget.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is disgusting: the common areas are completely destroyed and sticky. The bedroom was dirty, the painting is falling apart and I walked on an earing that was on the group, risking to get some weird sicknesses. The common toilets and bathrooms were disgusting, so much that at the end I went to take a shower in an other hotel close by and I had to pay for it of course. The internet connection does not work at all. The staff wasn't even nice to make up for this. It's a shame to run such a hotel, it should be closed by hygiene services.

    The only positive point of this hotel is the location which is quite central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where to begin? The place looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 1970s. The furniture is not much newer. But I can live in a dump if the service is nice. The lady on the desk was speaking on skype, stopping to talk to anyone passing by, all the while I was trying to book myself in. Took 10 minutes. Also, the keys were kept on the desk and when I walked in to grab mine, she didn't even look up. In other words, anyone can walk into your room, with a key. The sheets had stains and I wanted to go buy slippers in order to enter the en suite shower. It was cheap for the location, but not value for 85 pounds.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom are out to the room, The Inclined floor, and the bed no comfortable, the price.

    Is my first time in London the best The location! There are Manny restaurant,bank I walking for see the town. Is a old hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny plastic bathroom, tv without remote, no duvet, no bin, bothersome check-in form when all details were on booking.com, uninterested receptionist, original pending transaction for hotel fee was not finalised or reversed and instead a brand new one was performed

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was rubbish under the bed and behind the curtain in my room which was left by a previous hotel guest. No kettle in the room.

    Variety of restaurants. Plenty if good breakfast options too.High quality. Good travel access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle/ cups in room...but, I'm sure if I'd asked, they would have been provided.

    Although pretty basic...it was spotless, lovely staff, great location. You have to have a realistic expectation, given price & location...I thought it was super!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful staff- terrible receptionist attitude ( two of them). No welcome stated- gruff- keys and receipt thrown on to the reception counter. No goodbyes and thank you. They clearly do not believe in customer service and present an attitude of 'I don't care if you don't come back' which I won't be despite it's convenient location.

    Location and general street environment. Decent sized room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The structure of the floor is constructed of wood so you can hear anyone walking nearby. Weak water pressure in the shower. Anyway, I'd recommend this hotel if you're up yo visiting the city

    Good quality/price ratio. It is recommendable if you are going to use the hotel just for sleeping, in the mid afternoon/evening and tidying yourself up. It is close to tube stations and markets (24h market too).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting is very awkward, all lights on the same circuit including bathroom, meaning a very dark trip to the loo without waking sleeping partners. It was an experience

    The room was clean, 24 hour reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a loo and shower

    Staff where lovely its located near the underground in a nice area we booked last minute because of a mix up with the original hotel . We booked a double room but they only had a twin left but that was not a problem we where greatfuly for a bed it was a busy sunny bankholiday. The room was no more than a coridoor with a single mental framed bed at each end and a sink that made very strange noises no loo or shower ( communal the landing ) . The flooring was ill fitted cheep laminate . I have never been in a police cell but I think they might have been fancier than this room . That said I think £69 in London on a bankholiday seemed very cheep it was clean the bedding immaculate the staff lovely well located so if your looking for luxury mayby pay a bit more but for somewhere to lay your head on an evening after a hot busy day in London for the price you carnt go wrong

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of problems with our stay. I was surprised to find a small shower room in our room, it wasn't on the website listing, but it was tiny; it must have been a cupboard in a previous life. We had no cold water in the room at all, and it didn't work in the shared showers either. The hot water alone was scalding, I couldn't have a shower in those conditions. Despite WiFi being provided, with the name and password on display at reception, we couldn't connect at all. The box sash window was poorly maintained: I struggled to open it; a couple of times it tried to slip down and close again; and despite being stuck open and the radiator was off, the room was very warm and we struggled to sleep.

    The room was cheap, especially given the central location (next street over from the British museum); local bus connections and access to train stations were good; staff were fairly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the hotel are a disgrace. Female staff member that booked me in had an awful attitude with me and the next guests. The room was £49 and I paid £50 cash, she refused to give me £1 change as she said "the hotel does not carry change." Each time you go out of the hotel you must leave your room key with reception. Same miserable woman just ignores you when you hand your key over and whenever I asked do I just leave the key on the desk, she would abruptly answer "yes!!". She would not even put the key in a safe place, the keys are just left on the desk. Latee that evening, male reception staff with similar poor attitude to the female. Neither of these people said hello, bye or smiled, nothing, by far the worst customer service in a hotel I have ever experienced and I stay in hotels frequently with work/travel. The male reception staff member was only concerned with laying down on the sofa to sleep in the reception area. Shocking behaviour from both staff.

    It was close to central london

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photographs of the room were inaccurate, the room I got looked nothing like the pictures. The room was extremely dirty, there were sticky stains on the floor and a cigarette bud, hence I doubt that it has been cleaned. The toilet had blue cleaning residue all over it with pieces of toilet paper all over it, hence it has not been flushed. Generally the room felt disgusting for what it was worth, you can get much better deals and cleaner rooms at any of the hotels down the road, which I did after checking out immediately after seeing the room. I got no refund and no change when I paid upon check in and check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I enter the room the staff was very slow and lazy. The window is not easy to open and she didn't want to help me after few times. There is no remoter for the TV and she refused to give me one in the beginning, saying the other customer stole it...I found the room dusty and there were a very dirty pair of shoes on the floor....very creepy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst fully accepting that this is a budget hotel and not expecting luxury, the room was dirty and dusty the beds were rickety, the mattress and covers too thin I spent a cold very uncomfortable and largely sleepless night

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked well in advance a room with ensuite but it was not available when I arrived. I ended up with a room with shared shower and toilet facilities. The shower and toilets on the second and third floor have been updated but the rest are horrible. I had a tv in my room but no remote. It was locked on the one channel and it would not change channels or change the volume. I did ask for a remote but there was none available until the second night. It still did not unlock with the remote. The bedroom window has no lock. The bedroom creeks with every movement. The bedding looks ok but the pillows feel like sandbags. The stairs light does not work. It only works on the ground floor so I had to use my light on my phone. I did mention this twice to the staff but it still did not work after 3 days. The staff are miserable and it seems anything you ask is such a hardship for them. I have stayed in better student accommodation. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone. It’s a dump, dump , dump. And it’s not that cheap. It’s very run down. We were going to use the hotel as a base while our daughter was in Great Ormond Street Hospital for a few days but my wife could not stay there as she did not feel safe.

    Location The hotel is. close to Great Ormond Street Hospital and about 25 minute walk to the Thames , central London.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was disgusting. I slept 2 nights, I got bitten by bed bugs ūn my forehead my arms my neck. Hotel stinks, very dirty, no soap in the toilet. They do not clean their carpets, dust under the bed. I do not mind shared bathroom, as far as it is clean. I want my money back. There is no worst feeling than when you wake up to find out you been bitten by bed bugs!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very friendly at all. The toilet did not flush properly The shower was tiny it was smaller than one in a caravan. Every thing was the cheapest you could possibly buy. Cheap bed cheap bed linen cheap pillows. The sheets didn't even fit on the bed. There was no mattress protector. Towels were cheap. Tea and coffee making facilities were non existence. There was a kitchen but no tea bags coffee or milk supplied. No mugs or spoons. Stayed 2 nights and room was not cleaned.

    It was very warm. Good heating system as it was freezing outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning (had a pair of shoes left by previous occupant so cleaning could not have been thorough!) Staff could have smiled? Very tatty looking

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dreadful. Very dated. No plug in the sink. No remote for the TV. A piece of very badly maintained furniture. The carpet was very old and worn. The walls were a mess and just painted in mustard gloss. The shared toilet was upstairs as was the bathroom. The bed was a simple tubular single. The lady who checked me in hardly spoke and didn't even look at me. Whilst I'm always looking for value hotels in central London I still have a minimum expectation and this did not meet it.

    I liked the fact that it was in close to work. The sheets were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never again! when you step in heavy smell hits you. Bedding is clean but the rest ..., in short, cheap price is reflected in everything. What is really interesting, the street is full with hotels BUT this is the only hotel with the sign of "empty room available" on the front door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? Room was a complete disgrace. The bin was full, the bed wasn’t made, just a sheet literally thrown on the bed (not even folded). Room was filthy. Toilet and wash facilities are shared, one shower didn’t even work. We didn’t shower as we weren’t aware that they were shared. Beds were the most uncomfortable I’ve slept in. I would have rather have slept on the street. Minging is the politest word I can find! Utter dump.

    Nothing, nothing at all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were given an unclean room upon arrival and had to wait more than an hour to get it cleaned, even though we arrived later than 3 pm. We had other problems with the cleaning during the stay, but reception staff were generally unhelpful, wouldn't listen and didn't seem to be too bothered about it. We knew it was cheap, but we never imagined we would experience such a low standard of both staff and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist very grumpy and rude. Charged us for another room but demanded it was only payable in cash yet 30 mins earlier I paid for one on card so think he may have pocketed the the money himself. Rooms look like old student rooms, en suite is not nice.

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at 6pm sent to our room to find bed still had previous occupants sheets on bed. Had to then wait in reception for it to be sorted. No bar or drink facities. No ensuite bathroom/toilet just sink in rooms

    Location to where I needed to be the following day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready when I arrived at 4pm as I discovered after climbing to the 3rd floor No information given about Wi-Fi or coffee making Flimsy lock on room door Cold water tap in my room didn't work Only one coat hanger Just a sheet and bedspread, good job it was a heatwave outside.

    Good location, quiet street. Clean bathrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was shabby, carpets on stairs and bedding was frayed and worn. Doors and locks looked like they had been refitted which raised security questions !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like to sleep more than a couple of hours a night then avoid this hotel. The walls on the first floor are paper thin. It’s more like a dormitory in that regard. An appalling, thoroughly miserable experience.

    The staff agreed to move me to another room in the middle of the night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were sent to a room which had not been cleaned. The stag member huffed about it and claimed “it wasn’t his fault”. The room we eventually got was freezing cold, ants were crawling everywhere, the room was dirty and the bits of furniture were dirty too. The bed was awful, booking.com should not be supporting this place, disgrace!!!

    The only good thing was the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the stuff there. The cleaning can be also improved, but overall was fine.

    The location was good. All the main atractions were like 40 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and Bedding barely adequate .Room in dingy basement. Everything vaguely sticky.Decor and carpets apparently last updated and cleaned in the 70's.

    Nothing .No facilities to comment on eg no tea coffee or any vending

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old carpets, smelly hallways & room. Uncomfortable constantly squeaking bed. Shabby room with small bathroom. Worst hotel stay ever, it was an epic mistake to book this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old building, uneven floors, the kitchen area is messy, I was told that the use of the microwave was not allowed but then say its ok (to who was it intended for then?), probably family run and they arent the happiest bunch of people

    Location is central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's shabby and the carpets were threadbare. Bed was solid. Ensuite was mediocre. Ant infestation in room 7. Very very basic hotel. Most rooms are shared toilet and shower. We had an ensuite for £60 which was expensive for what we found in our room. It reminded me very much of the awful staff accommodation I experienced when I worked in London in the 1990s. The list price for this "hotel" is £185. It is not really a hotel but more of a basic hostel without the bunk beds. We really only booked last minute as we went on an impromptu night out and didn't want to worry about making the last train. The Lonsdale is in a great location and I must admit I was expecting more given the address. From the outside it looks passable but the carpets are threadbare and the check-in forms were on a clipboard that deserves a gold watch for long service and a send off like no other. The room was clean but very much in need of modernising. The toilet rolls were stacked on a surface and the holder empty. The shower pressure very low and shower "cupboard" not big enough to dry yourself in. We woke up to a battalion of ants sniffing around my makeup bag and overnight bag. All through the bathroom and bed. Very very disappointed and would not recommend. Don't pay the list price and be aware this is literally a last resort kind of place.

    Location was handy for Euston and walk to Soho.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you walk in you see how run down this hotel is. The staff aren't friendly and there is no lift. The place looked dusty and dirty in the lobby, so I knew the rooms would be the same. My boyfriend and I got a room with a full bed and a bathroom. The room had a smell and the carpet was so worn. The bed was squeaky and uncomfortable. You could feel the springs while you slept. The bathroom was small and didn't look clean. If this hotel actually cared about the decor and how they clean it, then they would make a lot more money. Spend the extra money and stay at a different hotel with better service and rooms.

    The location was the only thing I cared for this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camp beds used instead of actual beds, squeaked every time I moved and scared it was going to collapse on me. Room is soooo basic, really needs redecorating. Our room really should not be called en suite - granted there was a ‘cupboard’ with a toilet and shower but no shower curtain, just the rings left there and when sat on the toilet your head was in the sink. This ‘bathroom’ didn’t have enough room to get dressed in unless you stood in the shower tray. Heating on fully all night which made room too hot, opened the window but broke and wouldn’t stay open so had to put our shoes under it to keep it open a little way.

    Great location and ease of check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, the staff did not accommodate my own simple request of help with the broken radiator, and the shower didn’t even have a curtain. It was of an economy stay but with an expensive price tag.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lonsdale Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: