Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lonsdale House 4 stars

Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ, United Kingdom

#23 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1180 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were over all happy with everything. It was perfect for a cosy homely weekend stay. Nothing too fancy. Clean well presented and well looked after and lovely friendly staff.

    The hotel was perfect location. A few minutes walk from Beatrix potter which was perfect for our 2 year old. We booked a meal at a lovely Italian literally seconds away which the hotel staff suggested. We highly recommend Rastelli's great food and atmosphere. The hotel was minutes walk from the lake. The staff were amazing. Especially with our little girl. We were a little bit early and they didn’t hesitate at us checking in. Our room was spacious. 2 single beds and one king (very squeaky when turning over haha but still comfy). Lovely modern clean bathroom. Shower and big P shape bath. Breakfast was spot on and the bar was so cosy and lovely atmosphere. Really reasonably priced drinks too. We chilled out in the bar till 11pm and a lovely lady brought us biscuits out. Perfect touch with a Gin haha. Overall it was a lovely surprise weekend away for Father’s Day and we will certainly be returning! The only thing that was disappointing was the weather! Fantastic hotel and even better service. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We stayed for one night in a top floor room. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. The staff were very friendly and our breakfast was great. Very dog friendly too. Would 100% recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 2 disabled ladies the location and accommodation was not suitable.I had telephoned in advance and explained our situation and even then was not told the dining room was down 2 flights of stairs.The road outside is extremely steep and straight out onto on a main road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room felt very small - we have stayed in a number of English B&Bs and know that sometimes the rooms can be quite small. Having an old fashioned double-poster bed didn't help - it cut down the light available from the one window in the room, and it also cut back the lighting which was supplied - there was a light above the canopy which was of no use at all, and the lights provided to read in bed by were inadequate. I understand that the intention is for the B&B to have old-world look, but many of the furnishings are very tired indeed - including carpets and wall linings in the dining area. The shower box is very small - with no rack to put shampoos etc on. As a keen cereal eater for breakfast I thought the offering of prunes and grapefruit only - with no variation over our four days was very limited indeed. The presence of a number of stuffed animals didn't appeal to us.

    The staff were very helpful. This B&B is an easy walk down to the lake, and is very close to a wide range of restaurants and cafes. Bus stops for all the tour and local buses are very handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wow this is so lovely, the room was amazing, the staff was so nice, perfect location, breakfast was so fresh it was brilliant, we loved it so much we have booked again for august , thanks very much x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located on a busy road, room was at the front of the hotel very noisy. Had a choice to park at the front which was very tight or around the back which proved even worst On arriving the lady wasn’t very happy, obviously overworked. WiFi was poor. Paid £90 was only worth £60

    Noisy, parking terrible, staff not happy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was too small, only option was shower as no bath. Couldn’t of showered without washing hair. Filled up at bottom and just felt too claustrophobic. Shower was very hot and powerful.

    The staff member was extremely helpful and cheerful, couldntvof been more accommodating. Allowed to park all day even after checkout. Allowed to bring dog, helpful as mother in law won’t leave dog Comfortable beds Ideal location Quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms a bit small with shower only

    Hotels I find are expensive in Bowness, and Lonsdale is well priced. We had room no. 9, which had a 4 poster bed, lots of room, lovely view of the lake and free sherry to sit and enjoy. Close to bars and restaurant. About 15 minutes walk to Bowness lake. Bar in hotel and free WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a main road so it was very noisy at night. Couldn’t have windows open and it was very warm. Some updating required in bathroom

    Excellent customer service, staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was meant to be a family room but was on the second floor with no lifts. There was literally a toilet and a shower in the bath room and no other space. Sink was in the bedroom and no bath. Luckily our 3 month old could fit in the sink (just about) but any older and you would struggle with this room. Oww and the room was on an angle so sloped down.

    The staff were kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is tight. We enjoyed the four poster bed, but to be honest it was better to look at than to sleep in.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and they made it a memorable stay. The hotel is in a great location. Our room was clean and cosy, and the en suite was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room next to road, not much soundproofing. Hot room, had to close window because of the noise made the room hotter, a ceiling fan would of been nice, only 2 channels on the tv watchable, one the news channel because of poor signal.

    Location is fine and breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was very small but the room made up for it, don’t pick this room if you’re on the plus size side of things it will be a tight squeeze

    Lovely welcoming host who showed us to the room, four poster room was nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was great.

    The hotel is clean and well looked after. The staff are pleasant and always helpful. The bedrooms are comfortable and the breakfast is second to none. The position is just a short walk away from the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on a busy street so a bit noisy. WiFi was in the common area of breakfast bar area.

    Location to lake was good. Parking was limited but free. Cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely lady who works there. Need CCTV in outside car park and also I would hav some in reception as some kids were trying there luck Saturday night . Looked dodgy & were saying they were wanting to know if any vacancies but had no luggage . CCTV would deter them . Great place though ! Would definitely recommend .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect. Only to suggest to add blackpudding to the breakfast 😉

    Whole experience was really enjoyable. The staff excellent, the house itself beautiful,location ideal, a hidden treasure. Andy was very welcoming, and also very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in only had a very narrow shower which my boyfriend struggled to even turn around in. The toilet was in the room with shower but the sink to wash your hands was in the main room

    They were very thoughtful about making sure we was in a room away from noise due to me being heavily pregnant. Have me extra pillows. Was very friendly staff couldn't do more for you. The bed was amazingly comfy and for someone who hasn't slept much this was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room 10 could have been better and the lighting was quite dim as four poster bed obstructed the main light

    Staff were very very helpful. I requested a four poster bed as it was my birthday and they arranged this even though I booked it last minute and got the final room. Also helped me with extension wires to charge my vehicle overnight. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but some additional care could be taken around the bed feet.

    Andrew is very amiable and was a good introduction to the hotel. The decor was very cosy and the four poster bed was a real four poster. Its location to the lake is a short walk and parking wasn’t a problem. The breakfast is great as are all of the staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were greeted by Andrew, who was delightful and welcoming after a long drive. All the staff were genuine, friendly and helpful to us and our dog. A brilliant nights sleep and a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower down 2 flights of stairs. Dustbin lorry monday at 7am stopped for ages under my window in back alley with reversing bleeper on.

    Bed firm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark, best to park elsewhere. The cocktails were well below average.

    The room was comfy and had everything we needed. Short stroll down the street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small especially the shower. Room although clean was in need of some paint and perhaps a new carpet..

    Staff were brilliant, the food was very nice, great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults from us was exactly what we needed for the night

    Room was clean,bed was comfy,breakfast was lovely,staff nice and friendly,they let us use room earlier than booking time to get changed as we was attending a wedding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had mould growing in it, the carpets were dusty, the bed clattered if you turned over, the curtains were faded and missing hooks,

    The staff were so lovely and were really doing their best for customers a lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Warm and welcoming without being intrusive. Room was beautiful - very tastefully decorated. Car parking was bit tricky but given the nature of a small guest house to be expected. Having said that we always managed to find somewhere to park without bother. Staff were all very friendly and professional. Breakfast was great but a veggie sausage or such like wouldn't have gone a miss! Partner said the bacon and sausages were delicious. Sherry in the room was a lovely touch and fun ! We've never had sherry before ! The bed was super comfy - perfect mattress not too soft but not too firm. Great to have an ensuite for the price of the room although the shower cubicle was a little small but given it has been retro fitted to an old building it was acceptable and we managed. We would be thrilled stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    Great stay at this friendly hotel. We asked for extra beds to accommodate the extra kids. So friendly and accommodating. Great location, especially when you want to walk close to the lake, restaurants and kids play park. Really great hotel to stay and will return. !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi doesn't quite reach all of the rooms but you can go and sit in the bar and connect if you need to get online. The shower in room 9 is OK but not much water pressure.

    Really enjoyed our stay here the hotel is really nice just our style and it has parking which is always a bonus in bowness. The facilities are good with its own licensed bar and very close to shops and restaurants. I have stayed here twice now and both rooms have been great with complimentary sherry on arrival, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The cooked Cumberland breakfast was really nice and all seemed to be good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was excellent, plenty of toast, jams, eggs poached were perfectly cooked. Staff were friendly, warm and welcoming. Location, albeit close to a road was pretty central and close to lots of nice restaurants, shops and bars. Loved the room, spacious, warm and well stocked with tea, coffees, biscuits. Bathroom was clean and the shower was always hot and powerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh fruit at breakfast. family room 4 very cramped space. insufficient parking for number of guests,, when all parking spaces taken, only two cars could exit as others all blocked in.

    Good friendly service, full english (Cumbrian) breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the bed was comfortable, the style of it meant it was quite high. It was also very creaky in the fact that every turn made whilst sleeping woke us up.

    Room was clean and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. We parked round the back and a couple of hours later returned to the hotel and found we had been blocked in but another car. With a 5.30am start the next morning we were stressing we wouldn’t be able to find the owner so we could leave as scheduled (we had a ferry in Scotland to catch...) but the hotel staff we on the case immediately and tracked the owner down and arranged for the cars to be swapped about. This is my only negative.

    Large sized bedroom with a nice view. Comfortable bed. Clean ensuite. We had a very early start the next day (only booked one night) and the lady on reception sorted us a breakfast for our room and fruits and snacks for our onward journey. This was much appreciated and gratefully received. Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four poster bed was high and was uncomfortable getting on and off. Also felt more of a single bed rather than a double. Decor very dated but each to their own.

    Friendly staff and perfect location situated at the top of the hill. Plenty of local shops, bars and places to eat. 2 minutes walk down the hill to the lake. Nice full cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very squeaky and made a sound everytime we moved. Shower room for one of our rooms was incredibly small. Almost impossible for a 6ft man to shower in.

    Staff were very helpful and were very accomodating. Rooms had a nice feel to them and were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be better but with limited room there's not a lot that can be done.

    A great stay. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was fantastic and the location was 2 mins from all the pubs, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small as was the shower. Needed some more plug sockets- an extension lead would’ve been perfect.

    Staff were wonderful, location fantastic. Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped tv poorly placed shower tiny toilet a real squeeze to use no towels on second days stay bed was un comfortable constantly creaking lighting in the place was very dull and decor really dated on checking in we were slightly early our welcome was leave your bags in the hall and come back after 2.30 breakfast was minimal also

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing we didn’t have a choice of table for breakfast and therefore being asked to move whilst eating. The staff were very apologetic though.

    Possibly the most welcome I’ve ever felt on arriving at a hotel - anywhere in the world. Thank you for the warm greeting and hospitality, Andrew.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed an extra bit of TLC and no WiFi in the room made it difficult to get work done in the evening.

    The location is brilliant and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size for our family. Parking so close to bowness was a massive help also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, the rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, short walking distance from centre and excellent value for money. what a little gem!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Delux double & got a family Delux room - slept 3 (because I had requested a quiet room). Ok but:- the extra bed made it difficult too access wardrobe as it prevented door opening properly. The posts on the four poster (bed frame - which wobbled) blocked view of TV Basically room too small for a double & single bed Given it is advertised as a luxury B&B I would have expected larger bath towels (we got 3 as family room - but for me this was inadequate given their size). Staff did provide us with extra however when requested & they were clean & fluffy

    Bed comfy, Sherry a nice touch if you like it. Staff gave a full information breakdown of where things were, any rules & regulations etc & very willing to fulfill any extra requests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication on arrival - Lack of information with regards to times for breakfast which resulted in us missing it. Sunday morning- Being rudely spoken to by a member of staff on the telephone when enquiring.

    Location to bowness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two minor things: 1. The four poster bed in our room was very high (was a laugh getting in) and although it was comfortable it was very very noisy, even the slightest movement made it creak. 2. The position of the T.V. meant only half the screen could be seen because of the bed post.

    We were made to feel welcome from the first minute, rooms are a good size with the rear facing rooms having good views of Lake Windermere. A small decanter of sherry in the room was a nice touch. We only had a 1 night stay but woke feeling refreshed and had had a great breakfast served before leaving to explore the area. Would we stop here again? A big YES.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite in room 8 is compact, to say the least! Having said that,the shower worked efficiently, and it's a characterful room.

    Very friendly & helpful welcome from Andrew; excellent breakfast; attentive staff; free parking; quirky rooms; standard of decor & cleanliness; centre of Bowness an easy stroll away

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating on between 10pm-midnight. Fix shower head. Detachable shower head in family rooms for children. Very tight parking spaces. Especially for a 4x4.

    They were very welcoming and friendly with our 2 young children.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t great and our room was on the front of main road. Quite a bit of traffic noise.

    Comfy bed, excellent breakfast and friendly, polite staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing about our stay was the TV's went down but the lady was SO helpful and brought a dvd for our baby and spent ages trying to fix it!

    There was a lovely lady staff member who went beyond expectations to help us have an amazing time. Four poster bed was super comfy! Breakfast was lovely. Our 10 month old was extremely well looked after!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room but there was also a single bed in there which along with extra chests of drawers made the room a bit small and cluttered

    The location was great the staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    just very average and i thought overpriced for what it was. decor was old fashioned and the hotel was generally not what we were expecting the room was clean though and fairly comfy so no complaints there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four poster was a bit squeaky. But didn’t affect our sleep! Overall we had a fantastic time and very glad we chose this hotel.

    Breakfast was great - no complaints at all. Nice selection of cereal and fruit juices. Location of the hotel was great for us. Parking okay but if you have a larger car or van you might struggle. In a small hatchback like ours this wasn’t an issue. Hotel room itself was comfy and cozy and staff very helpful and friendly. Tea, coffee and biscuits included!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfy....just a bit cold in the room for me...but I like it red hot 😉 breakfast great choices. Loved the overall character of the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The beds were really comfy, and the bar area was quirky but homely. I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed iv ever slept on, you couldn’t breath without it creaking! Didn’t sleep well at all!

    Breakfast was lovely and staff were too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very beautiful however was extremely small and quite hot. Also the shower was very small. The shower curtain in that room is not in keeping with the standard of the accomodation.

    The four poster bed was very pretty Breakfast was nice The staff were very friendly Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was perfect, the only reason location didnt get a 10 is due to there not being much green space directly available to take doggo out for a wee! :)

    The hotel was perfect, the only reason location didnt get a 10 is due to there not being much green space directly available to take doggo out for a wee! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could be faulted .

    Everything was excellent , cant recommend highly enough. Not as good as the people staying in room 7 , on Thursday 15/02/2018 , THEY HAD AN OUTSTANDING NIGHT IF THE NOISES WERE ANYTHING TO GO BY , congratulations pal , you are an amazing swordsman.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin door, thin walls, massive gap under door so we felt a bit exposed

    Amazing bed and furnishings, very comfy. Central location and walking distance to plenty of restaurants and the town centre. The free breakfast was also lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, great breakfast and excellent location, we will 100% be staying here again! Added the birthday package to the stay with a bottle of wine, it was a great touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is tired looking, some of the wallpaper peeling off in our room. Bathroom was small with only a shower which wasn't very powerful.

    The room was large with a fantastic view, complimentary sherry which is a nice touch! The bed was very comfortable with nice crisp bed linen.The breakfast was as you would expect....not sure about the coffee though , not much flavour.All the staff were extremely polite and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing you are amazing

    Absolutely fabulous place to stay with exceptional staff Breakfast amazing and the second time we have stayed! I’ve recomended to friends too. Cannot fault the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was spot on for us.

    All of the staff were superb - very friendly, helpful and did their job really well. Our room (number 11) was at the back, just off the dining room, and although we felt part of the hotel we also felt like it was our own little ‘annex’ - which was really nice as we weren’t disturbed by anyone or anything, nor did we disturb anyone else. Lovely breakfast too. Also a very good location for a short walk into Bowness or a little longer one into Windermere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and the bedroom was lovely and the staff and the manager was very helpful and friendly.nothing was a problem to them as they tried to make sure you had a great time while you were there.we would recommend any one to go and stay at the hotel as it is lovely and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault the hotel

    Our first stay at the Lonsdale, and we were not disappointed. the building is fabulous and very in character with the locale. Rooms are excellent with four poster beds, which our 11 year old grandson found amazing. Bar was great, the guy comes immediately you ring the bell, and prices reasonable. Breakfast freshly cooked and lots of it. Free car parking which is a boon in Bowness. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv buzzed really loudly,dogs barking in 2 rooms that were left alome, throws on double bed and single bed when turned over were dirty with what looked like chocolate and an hand print, foreign staff that didn't have a clue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Andrew checked us in and couldn’t have been more accommodating. The complimentary sherry was a lovely touch and the 4 poster bed was amazing. Breakfast was delicious and location was superb... close to all attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated. Clutterrd. With mediocre staff. Who just gave is the key and said it was upstairs. Our room was the worst room, #10,I have ever paid £155 to stay in with am overwhelming fusty old smell not to mention the poorest excuse for a never dusted 4 poster bed I have ever seen. I almost walked out but we checked in in the evening. The broken moldy bathroom window and the stained carpet...not to mention the curtains...thay were so gross I wouldn't touch them... we slept good... I can't wait to leave. I am just glad we didn't bring the kids. I am almost to scared to go to breakfast ...but supposedly its nice... lol p.s just been to breakfast.... the toast was barely toasted and well let's just say I need to go find a Starbucks and a really stiff drink... thankfully the lakes was with the nightmare lol

    The locality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think the carpets would look better to be Neutral in colour. & the sink not in bedroom...Although we didnt mind too much...just a hygeine thing really.

    Friendliness/ Character of Building & Furnishings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they have a new member of staff who we didn't really like as much as other staff . and he said unprofessional things to other staff in front of guests

    four poster bed was fab and sue is lovely and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the shower lever resulting in my husband getting an unexpected burst of very hot water when trying to turn it off, so perhaps an instruction notice and temperature warning would be a good idea.

    The cosy bar/lounge area was really welcoming and the staff were really friendly and doing a great job even though they were short staffed. Our room was very comfortable and stylishly decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing, as the room was at the front of the hotel you could here the traffic on the road.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Andrew parked our car and offered to help carry our luggage to the room which was a pleasant surprise as they had upgraded us to a four poster bedroom with complementary sherry. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and views from our room! The staff where just perfect so helpful! Also I asked my girlfriend to marry me and they did little extras to the room for us. Will definitely be coming here again. Thank you :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little tight

    Staff were friendly and helpful breakfast very nice and plentiful room warm and comfortable decor was perfect loved it will most definitely tell friends and stay again 🤗

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely creeky and bouncy so didn't get much sleep. Lots of dust on high areas (lights/top of four poster)

    The staff were fantastic and location was also very good only a two minute walk from beatrix potter world. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. The lounge area is so relaxing and the bar stocks lots of choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available but can be hectic. Room for 3 at the front of the property but you have to back out on the main road unless you can reverse into the parking bays. Parking round the rear of the property once again this can be tight.

    Everything as expected. Staff were fantastic. Breakfast was very good. Nothing was too much trouble. We were treated as we would treat people. Bed was comfortable. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: