Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Lord Haldon Hotel 3 stars

Dunchideock, Doddiscombsleigh, EX6 7YF, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Doddiscombsleigh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Very nice location, real calm during nighttime, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get there. Only real narrow roads - mostly one lane only.

    Very nice location, real calm during nighttime, kind staff. The room was absolutely clean, provided a huge bed and a clean and as well huge bathroom. We will definitly visit that place again - maybe next time with our dog.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Good country location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was slippery for shower as no bath mat. Bar service was very slow . Long waiting time for evening meal .. 1 and half hour wait

    Bedroom was comfortable. View from window good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely views, quite location, nice clean room and helpful...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic, no fresh fruit, apple juice was off and the only waiter for both mornings came across rude and very unfriendly as if us having breakfast was a great inconvenience to him

    Lovely views, quite location, nice clean room and helpful friendly reception staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    This was a short break to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Won't be going back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On checking in told room not ready. Waited for two and a half hours until it was! Other people also told rooms not ready, lots of complaints at the desk,not a very nice atmosphere. Not enough staff!

    Food and drink nice. Room nice also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    An adequate stay for and overnight rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the hotel was very restricted and not shown accurately on the website. It should be made clearer that this is not a location that is suitable for anyone with reduced mobility. No ground floor rooms, no lift and very narrow stairs for access to the upper floors. Even access to the bars and restaurant required the use of stairs. No disabled parking anywhere near the reception or in the car park. A walk in shower that was stated in the facilities does not equal an ordinary sized shower cubicle

    The breakfast was good and the bar meal we had was okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    nothing to mention in particular
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite remote location, difficult to acces with a single lane road, dinner closes at 21:00, we arrived at 21:15 and there was no possibility to eat except sandwiches, so we had to go in Exeter for eating. Since the hotel is so remote, it would be good to have the dinner closing at least 22:00. Breakfast was a nightmare - we waited 30 minutes just to order - there was one single waiter that was doing everything (I would guess that he is also cooking ...).

    nothing to mention in particular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the dining/breakfast table could be better. Food was ok, but didn't meet expectations and not value for money. Fruit available at breakfast time didn't taste fresh and the pineapple had gone brown.

    Staff are very friendly and gave excellent service. The location of the hotel is great with fantastic views and really quite and peaceful. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice old place - could do with updating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty tired - (but OK for the low cost I paid). I would not pay any more. My room was like an oven when I arrived - (although to be fair, it was the hottest day of the year). I ended up sleeping with the window wide open on the ground floor. Not a problem for me, but for many people, the security concern would have been too much. Shame they don't think to air the rooms on such a hot day.

    Older building in fantastic countryside with lovely views. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not go back or recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful, hot, dark and overlooking the oil tanks. We asked to be moved and were told it wasn’t possible. One day our room wasnt cleaned at all. We arrived at midnight to find the bed unmade, towells on the floor, etc. No compensation was offered, just an apology from receptionist following morning after I complained

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfy room, good food, helpful staff. Stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very hard to find. Sat nav took people up a dirt track. A few more signs once off the main roads would be a great help.

    Wonderful cooked breakfast with a super view of the countryside as a bonus. Continental breakfast also looked fresh and delicious. Staff friendly and competent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, clean, comfortable rooms, nice friendly staff, food was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Air conditioning in the room or use of fan in hot weather.

    Staff were very friendly, food was lovely, good choice for breakfast and evening meals. Location was beautiful. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Not happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning in bedrooms - a fan was supplied but made little difference although I accept the weather was extreme. Having been sent a text advising there was a wedding the day we arrived, I was told that our room was the 'other side' of the wedding area and we would not be affected by the noise. On arrival and finding our room overlooked the open courtyard I requested that we might be able to change. No luck. We were kept awake until gone midnight by very happy but noisy wedding guests talking and singing loudly just below our window, which we then had to close on the hottest night of the year. So not the relaxing stay we envisaged.We did receive our meal money as a gesture but a bad start to our long day. I have a recording of the noise we had to put up with. I cannot understand why guests attending the wedding where not given those particular rooms.

    Breakfast good and freshly cooked

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it, would stay again. Only 2 hours to Truro from here, so a good stop-over location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved, a bit short-staffed, generally

    Great location, but don't miss the turning of the A30, otherwise it is long way before you can turn around. Liked the gardens and walk down the little lane.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the best room in the house and were bombarded by a music speaker right under our bedroom. It ceased at 11.00pm and restarted at 06.00am !

    Super views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant overnight stop surrounded by beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite hot due to limited ventilation. Not sure if this was a room specific issue. Hotel needs to give specific advice on best way to reach it as the route we used was nerve wracking due to high hedges and no passing places.

    Fanastic views, interesting building, pleasant and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Alright, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs modernising. Food at dinner was OK, could have been better. Unwanted alarm calls each morning despite complaining.

    Friendly staff,pleasant situation,quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff in a beautiful setting!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! In good weather it would have been great to explore the surrounding area on foot. We took the local walks from the hotel leaflet to explore next time.

    Lovely hotel in great location. The breakfast was excellent. Good choice of food with lovely local yoghurt and nice warm toast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall enjoyed the staff but with a few niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driveway approach littered with pot holes, need urgent attention. Evening meal in restaurant a la cart only so ate in excellent local pub.

    Pretty location, small but comfortable room most staff courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Noisy, dirty bar, and indifferent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our overnight stay coincided with a 40th birthday function. The noise in the hotel before the function had started was considerable. Our original room was lovely but was above the function room. We were then moved to a very small room. Bar staff were preparing for the function and the bar was unmanned and a tip, with dirty beer glasses and empty crisp packets across all of the tables. We eventually found someone to serve us. Dinner times were restricted due to the function. It was clear that the function was the priority and as a result of this and the noise we left the hotel. A shame because it is in a great location.

    View from the window of our first room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only disappointmet was the draught beer was not available on the evening I was staying, so had to settle for lager.

    The location cannot be bettered, beautiful scenery - have been using the hotel for a couple of years now whenever working in and around the Exeter area - it is superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    The Staff make the memory - the building and furnishings are merely an adjunct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location is a little difficult - have you added a Lat & Long on the hotel website - this would be handy as most cars these days have SatNavs.

    We were snowed-in on the second day of my visit and lost power for 18-hours on the Friday/Saturday. It was only thanks to Lesley Bainbridge (Reception) and Billy (the hotel handyman) that the handful of guests at the hotel were looked after and kept in high spirits. I only hope that the management and upper management understand the value of customer service, something that is sadly missing in this modern world. The two above named people are the reason I have scored the hotel so highly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating in the room has been switched off even though it was no more than 2 degrees outside. The shower had very low pressure and the water was not very hot even though I had it turned up to maximum

    The room was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the food was well cooked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    A good one night stay in a rural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage for Reception could be better.

    Convenience for us visiting relatives for a one night stay. Good all round hotel. Good bar meal and excellent breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent and I would use the hotel again
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thin they have a deaf chef. I ordered pineapple not eggs with my gammon and got eggs. My wife ordered scrambled egg with her breakfast and had to ask for it again after her meal was served.

    They take pets and serve food on a Sunday night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    All very average , okay if you are just using it as a one night stop for onward travel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were in part tired and out of date and the whole Hotel lacked any atmosphere.

    The area was very good for walking dog and the hotel made dog very welcome . Food was good and the chef very accommodating for children requirements.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Such a beautiful venue.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is not instantly clear where the the entrance is, it seems everyone comes in the side door.

    The most amazing room for our wedding night. We have already recommended to family and friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Sorry, but won't be having a return visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overwhelming smell of BO in the room. I had both windows open all afternoon and night. Maybe get the quilts themselves laundered occasionally! I'm blaming the quilt but to be honest I was unable to absolutely confirm where the smell was coming from. Used up a can of deodorant as air freshener! Although I've marked low for cleanliness this is because of the BO smell. The rest of the room was of a good enough standard. Housekeeping can only clean what's there they're not to be blamed for old tired bathrooms, carpets, furnishings etc. I've marked down for comfort and facilities because, unfortunately, although the hotel is a lovely old building with beautiful views it needs a bit of an update, everything was very dated and tired looking. The doors to the rooms could do with maybe another lock or a different form of locking. When in the room I was unable to secure the Yale lock. They are also very old doors with gaps at the bottom so I was able to hear every tiny sound from the corridor, especially when other visitors came back to their room at 4.30 am, then tried to lock their door at 5.00 am! I had to complain about my dinner, something I've never done before. Beefburgers obviously frozen then deep fried, pretty dreadful. If the food prices reflected oven chips, frozen burgers etc fair enough but they didn't. Overpriced for very poor quality.

    Staff were friendly. Beautiful setting. Although if I'd known it was down a single track lane I'd not have booked in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    The staff were lovely and very attentive and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs a complete update as it didn't look like it's been decorated in decades! The bathroom was bizarre but clean enough.

    The staff were lovely and very attentive and the food was really tasty and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    Very nice surroundings, female reception staff miserable. Restaurant tables, crockery and cutlery on tables dirty. Sat at same table 2 days in row and was dirty from us using the day before.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    A nice hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast time seemed unable to cope with the very few customers present. One in particular had a dismissive attitude. Mushrooms at breakfast time tasted awful as if they had been cooked in lard. Didn't taste of mushrooms, they were disgusting.

    Bed was comfy. Receptionist incredibly welcoming and helpful. Atmosphere very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Manager gave us free breakfasts which made stay a little more enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulb at bedside table not working so exchanged with desk bulb,dark room no view, no toilet brush!

    Views from car park and x2 tables in Dining Room at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    It's really difficult to find for the first time if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really difficult to find for the first time if you're coming from Exeter. Sat navs are useless. Make sure you get proper directions from the hotel itself, and then it's quite simple.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    The Lord Haldon is set in beautiful countryside in Devon nr...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the easiest hotel to drive to, internal decoration is a bit tired particularly the bathrooms. Breakfast was very slow coming with staff not coping with a rush of clients coming down at once. WiFi was poor.

    The Lord Haldon is set in beautiful countryside in Devon nr Exeter with beautiful views. The staff are friendly and willing to assist. Rooms are well lit and airy. Breakfast is cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful with glorious views of rolling Devon hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good when it arrived but had to wait over 45 minutes which we felt was too long even if "a large group arrived just before us"

    Peaceful, great view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Weekend break in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had our 2 small dogs with us so we had limited room choices . We paid £7.50 per dog/night , meant £ 30.00 for our weekend stay in addition to our own accomodation cost. For that , we should of had a choice of which room type we wanted, but alas no, only a standard double due to having our dogs with us. Showering was a bit of a challenge , was extremely small and quite difficult to get in and out ; lighting in the bathroom very dull as well. The walls between the rooms were very thin ,so the sound of others next door was quite evident.

    Quiet location and wonderful views ; excellent breakfast , lots of choices ; we had dinner in the pub one of the nights and the quality of the food was good, portions were enormous. Ample coffee/tea and biscuits in the room. Staff were very helpful and polite. Close to Exeter City which , once we knew the route , only took 15 mins.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Great getwaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist gave a poor first impression - filthy unkempt nails. We could hear the bathroom next door & the occupants seemed to love taking showers!

    A pleasant surprise, wasn't expecting a great hotel based upon price but it was clean and comfortable. Gardens are beautifully kept & views are wonderful. Booked for a romantic tryst and we got just that!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could do with an update, and a gym would be good, but for the amount it costs its good value I'd say.

    Great location, very pretty. 15-20 minutes from Exeter, easy to find. Food was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    A pleasant surprise, a little gem tucked away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plug points in the room would be handy. Corridor heating set too high.

    Outstanding steaks, superbly presented desserts. Polite efficient staff, fantastic mattress and shower excellent. Breakfast was great, very good selection and local meats were tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Country escape 10 minutes from Exeter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant is the only food option in the immediate area. The food was decent rather than exceptional but not particularly good value for the money

    Excellent location, grand old manor house hotel peacefully isolated in the countryside but only 10minutes drive from Exeter. Friendly staff and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    Easy check in and out.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little happening at the hotel. Rooms dated and just seemed like a little more energy and care was necessary.

    Easy check in and out. Lovely rural setting with beautiful old buildings

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dated though clean. Generally hotel a bit stuck in a 1990s time warp. Dinner and breakfast tasty but why no tablecloths on tables would have made the dining experience a bit more special.

    Friendly and attentive staff. Quiet & picturesque location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyable stay
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather rich food menu. Food was good but some more 'plain' would have been nice. But this being picky.

    Excellent staff and bar made us and our dog very welcome. Merlin our dog felt right at home with hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff, amazing food (especially the chocolate cookie...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really - perhaps real coffee for breakfast and better WIFI.

    Lovely staff, amazing food (especially the chocolate cookie cake!). They couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Tranquility and good service, a haven from the pressures of life.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Such a silly gripe, but the shower curtain could do with refreshing.

    Peaceful and picturesque location with very welcoming staff. A great place for our Christmas break. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Peaceful and quiet.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was free wifi neither of us could get our devices to link to it. However, we have found most of Devon to be an Internet black spot so this is not the fault of the hotel

    Beautiful and peaceful location with friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    A very enjoyable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had good personal service on arrival and enjoyed a light snack in the bar before retiring for the night. Breakfast was very good. Would like to go back there in the spring or summer when hopefully the weather is better.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.3
    Staff were helpful and friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find the hotel. It is NOT in doddiscombeleigh. It is just outside dunchideock .....hotel said everyone thru booking.com had trouble finding them!!

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    A very happy and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad point for me, but the room and hotel had a slightly dated feel. Which I loved as it reminded me of happy summer holidays in family run hotels when I was a child. This is what I actually liked the most about this hotel, but if you are used to staying in modern big chain hotels where every room is identical you may not.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable bed and room, with all the facilities we needed to have a great nights sleep. The breakfast was amazing with all the staff being so nice. Set in a really beautiful quiet location it didn't take us long to get out into Dartmoor. I felt very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    Peaceful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pub food at restaurant prices, Frozen chips and peas, The evening meal service was courteous and attentive yet sloppy, water spilt on table and not wiped up, Being addressed as guys was irritating, Not a standard I would have expected for the price , We have stayed before at this hotel and our first experience was professional and excellent, therefore we returned , maybe it was an off day , but we will not return.

    The Location was peaceful and beautiful, views from the room .The home made Pie was very tasty, !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel needs tweaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff stains on jacket. Service staff with metal stuck in face... Maybe in a travel lodge but not for your style of hotel.......... Would not happen if I was the owner. No one in bar when going for a drink ,felt like it was closed. No one to greet us or seat us at breakfast. Your getting the basics wrong,you have a good hotel needs some tweaking .....

    nice clean room with comfy bed. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Amazing escape to the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Apart from having difficulty finding the hotel everything else was amazing. The staff as a whole were helpful and friendly the meals wonderful. The bed very comfortable and the view to wake up to was fabulous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Peace, quiet, comfort, clean and made feel very welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a longer stay

    The location is superb, as was the cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general. The staff were very friendly and very professional. It was nice to wake up in the peace and quiet of the countryside. The food was extremely good and quality excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would recommend this hotel.

    Very nice place to stay. Was happy with everything. Nice bedroom and bathroom. Could not fault it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Picture perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff and the relaxed feel made our stay very enjoyable. The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Quite location, close to Haldon Forest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessed via very narrow roads from certain directions...

    Quite location, close to Haldon Forest

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Very clean hotel, room was best room for comfort,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Very clean hotel, room was best room for comfort, cleanliness and space we stayed in. Lovely views from room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Needs a safe in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a safe in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Breakfast included

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Super scenic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet free dining area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a little bit of tidying up but for the money this is acceptable

    Fabulous location, excellent service and food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult to get to but really that just added to the enjoyment!

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and unexciting just what I was looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access road could be wider, we were blocked in the car park by a delivery van

    Very quiet location just what I wanted

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Everything about this place is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been better

    Everything about this place is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    disappointing considering the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was located directly above the events venue and the D J did not finish blasting us with his noise (music??????????????????????) until 1 a.m

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent. Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Lovely views. Well kept accessible gardens. Fab staff. Clean comfortable room. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Only used as a one night stopover.. beautiful grounds.. squeaky floorboards.. characterful.. 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was a bit slow.. seemed a bit understaffed... which was fine with us as we didn’t have the kids

    Beautiful food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location and very friendly particularly if you have dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Nice, quiet, comfortable room with friendly staff. Very dog friendly but didn't mention charge for dogs before arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with beautiful view of countryside very clean and modern. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Would happily stay there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could make the dog pooh bin a bit easier to find!

    comfy bed, dogs welcome, staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Lovely gardens to walk in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal choice limited and not well cooked

    Excellent location close to Exeter Beautiful views across valley

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. Friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor signposting. Bar closed early.

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was an excellent size.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: