Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lord Nelson 2 stars

Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven, SA73 3AW, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Milford Haven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities within the bathroom were kept extremely clean, all of the staff that i dealt with where really kind and helpful and the view from my room was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant could be better. We had to wait 45 mins for our dessert to arrive, the crumble was lukewarm and the creme brulee was burnt.

    Bed was comfortable and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was sometimes difficult to find a parking space in the hotel car park.

    Excellent room overlooking the harbour. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking space for the car. Breakfast was good but we had to ask for everything - napkins, coffee. Didn't taste like ground coffee. Room was too warm and window only opened a little bit.

    The staff were lovely -helpful and friendly. Beds were comfortable, shower good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet comfy room at the side of the hotel. Great location for our meeting up with friends in Milford. Excellent breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid more for s sea view which was the docks at milford heaven. Food was disgusting. No servetes. Cold coffee. Smelt very musty. And of detail smoke. Couldn't park . But was told there was a car park which they owned but was always full but not by visitors to the hotel and work vans. ??.room clean though and nice and big. Wouldn't book again. Other people were very upset also. Workers dressed scruffy. And not that helpfully. Couldn't care less. When asked about things.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took a while as there no one responding to the call alarm. Parking is a small number of spaces at the back of the hotel, we had to park away from the hotel. Breakfast is probably one of the worst experiences we have had. No one around, had to go and find the one server who was on. She didn’t smile once, the room was dirty and plates left on every table. We had to search around for cups, ask again for some glasses, I could go on, but can’t describe in writing how bad it was. The hotel shouldn’t offer breakfast if it cannot cope. The lady next to us took photos of her food, so I would be interested in her review. We will not use again.

    The room was suitable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a disaster. We wanted breakfast at 7 am as we had a long walk ahead. There were a few business people also eating early. Tea was stone cold, coffee was lukewarm. It took 25 mins for poached eggs to arrive(overdone). Choice of cereal poor, no sugar free options, no fruit. Only one girl serving and covering reception and I’m guessing one cook in the kitchen. I felt sorry for the staff, everyone was fed up waiting. Great hotel otherwise.

    Room was lovely, nice sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor customer service, poor security of rooms left open by cleaners, incorrect booking information, unacceptable waits for breakfast.

    Convenience to the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough staff and breakfast was chaotic & did not provide any of the basics unless you requested them & waited.

    Very nice room& view& close to the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, there was no receptionist or ways of contacting someone, the barmaid helped us, we were given a room that wasn’t serviced. This was soon changed. Everything else was ok

    We had room 101, excellent room, staff were friendly, food and beer were ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff weren’t particularly helpful and seemed quite unhappy. Also the breakfast room a very strange and extremely quiet. Not much breakfast choice and neither of our toast ever arrived.

    Large rooms, clean, good location and lovely beer garden with an amazing view! The night porter and the barman were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon (room was very hot), some fixtures are a little tired (we had a loose door handle and toilet flush in our room 212)

    Modern accommodation, friendly staff trying their best, great value for money food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window didn’t open enough, the room was hot and stuffy. Plug in basin didn’t work and toilet flush had a problem.

    Good breakfast and friendly staff. Comfortable bed and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel does not have elevators. There are two floors of hotel rooms, above the main floor, and each time we stay (for 10 days or more) it’s so hard to get all of our luggage upstairs and back down again. Thankfully most times a member of staff will help.

    Loved the location, food, and staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As mentioned the staff were very friendly, they are however understaffed which can cause some delays on check in and when waiting for service in the bar.

    The sea view from the spacious room was very nice, all staff members were very friendly, a staff member called Rob was willing to help at all times and ensured our requests were met.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and wonderfully helpful. We were upgraded to a harbour view room, which was a lovely surprise, and they also let us have a late check out. The hotel is perfectly located for access to all you need for a visit to Milford Haven.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was good, I think they must've been short-tailed in the morning because breakfast took just over an hour.

    Large, modern, comfortable room with a sofa and chairs to watch the wall- mounted TV.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Management of the place is a shambles. Cannot get an invoice when leaving in the morning as the staff available do not have authority to get into the system. Special offers have to be dealt with in the morning because their POS isn't updated to reflect the offer prices..... but cant be dealt with because the staff on duty cant get into the system!! Décor and cleanliness has continued to nose dive. Shower a disgrace.

    Decent breakfast and evening meal. Good pint at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was uncomfortably hot even with radiator turned off. The hall way was even hotter as the radiator was large and full on it could not be turned down. We was only staying one night so did not raise this issue with the hotel.

    Really good service, really nice food, staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners need to arrange for more staff - having just 2 front of house staff in a busy food bar is not acceptable - bar training also needs to be considered

    Room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the hotel was understaffed especially at breakfast time

    The room was realy nice and the bed was realy comfy . The hotel was lovely and all the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in had to look for the receptionist as the call button didn’t work. The bed board and the painting by the bed had dust on it.

    The location, available parking and room was good. Pub staff very friendly breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were pleasantly surprised at what we thought was 'just a pub'. Everything was clean and the decor was all in good order appearing to have been recently redecorated with some character personality, but not overbearing. The food was good and staff helpful and friendly. Good views from the front of the building over the marina. The only thing that separates this from a good quality hotel is that there was no phone in the room and the bathroom (whilst clean and all functioning) doesn't have ceramic tiles, but lino on the floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was unbearable for all 3 nights even after raising as issue with staff and management. Came back from trip one day and staff had left bedroom window wide open in effort to cool room, however we were concerned re security of room as it was accessible from fire escape. Staff did however leave two dans in an attempt to cool room. Asked for skimmed milk for breakfast informed only had blue top. Very short staffed, Saturday evening had event, the hotel was also local pub but only one bar man on duty and who had been working since breakfast at 8.00 am. There were no clean glasses for drinks and no ice. The hotel is shabby and in need of decoration, management were elusive and unwelcoming. Reception was not manned so on first coming to the hotel it felt unwelcoming. Evening menus were strange. Coffee in the morning was un drinkable stewed and water for tea cold, although young waiter did refresh when mentioned. There seems to be no management of this hotel. Hotel overlooked refinery which wasn't mentioned in blurb.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seem a little disorganised with no sence of urgency. One person serving behind the bar at 9pm. Went to checkout at 8am, which is when a notice said reception would be open, only to find there would be nobody on until 10am. Fortunately I was able to return later to settle the bill then find there was no roll of paper in the credit card machine and the receptionist couldn’t find a new one, consequently no card receipt.

    Fairly recently refurbished so everything is in good condition. Bedrooms are a nice size and the bathrooms have good quality fittings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I inadvertently left a bag in the room at checkout. When I returned later that day to enquire and hopefully retrieve it, there was no sign of it when someone checked. That was disappointing. Also, an available entryway from the rear car park would have been helpful as I had a few bags to carry around the building to the front entrance and then up 2 flights of stairs.

    Nicely comfortable, clean and tidy. Great view over the marina from the window. Nothing detrimental about the room. It was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eggs Benedict for breakfast! Noticed it was on the menu in the bar but not on our menu in the breakfast room. Even if we had to pay a supplement it would have been nice to have the option.

    The bedroom was big and had more than one chair to sit on. The view of the harbour was beautiful particularly at night. All staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smell from filtration system being broken and couldnt use bathroom luckily damily nearby Poor food at onsite restaurant in evening ( it was busy!) No checkout manager to speak too

    Large Bed and big room to spread out Clean overall The staff were friendly and apologetic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest> I loved everything in this little hotel over the sea port and marina.

    A real large, clean room, with a view over the marina (without asking for a view). Good pub, good food even with live music.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no problem checking in or checking out but witnessed others waiting a long time. We did wait a long time to get attention from reception on other occasions. They did run out of yogurts, & Alpen at breakfast, also beer at the bar. We ate there several times, decent pub grub, on last night had a very bad meal, complained and got a cursory apology from Waitress, as we had spent on average £50 a night in restaurant , we think some consolation should have been offered.

    The experience local staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking due to business at rear taking over nearly all spots on arrival.

    Comfortable bed and fantastic view from window. Staff were all first class for friendliness and helpfulness. Food very good and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower in the evening or morning. Breakfast room and food area was a mess. Bedroom was really noisy in the night, possibly next door to the boiler room! No key card for my room in the evening. Evening staff were pleasant but the man at the desk in the morning was grumpy and not miserable!

    Great size bed, room was nice and warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m disabled. Was not asked or told. They have no lift. I did tell them I had problem with stairs we were put on the top floor, when asked on first night if we could be put on first floor were told no rooms left on that floor, it wasn’t till the second night we asked again and were told they would change our room for the first floor, still I had to climb up stairs but not as many. I would not recommend this hotel if you are disabled. I know it’s probably a listed building but it could help disabled people

    Staff very friendly and helpful, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on reception to check us in then when someone did arrive they messed up the payment. Wet stains on carpet/walls. They’d cranked radiator up full in attempt to dry it so room smelt like hot vomit(think this was what the stain was) and was so hot we were physically sweating. Bathroom door off hinge. Hairs in bed. Sat down on the floor and a toe nail stuck to my leg. Bin wasn’t emptied after last guests. Soap dispenser empty. Shower curtain dirty and stained. Could hear other guests clearly through walls and ceiling. Key cards didn’t work so all guests inc. us needed to alert reception every time they needed to enter the room. One member of staff(felt sorry for him) covering reception/bar/taking people to let them into their rooms due to key card scenario. Long wait at bar for drinks due to this also. Spent as little time as we could there and didnt bother staying for breakfast- no one on reception to check us out.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was on full blast it was so hot, the temperature gauge valve was broken off when ok got into the room do u coukdntvturn the heating off faulty heating valve,

    It was very clean and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to enquire why there was on hot water in my bathroom, was told they were checking the boiler and water a few hours hot water was present.

    breakfast and diner was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rudeness of member of staff+ how rushed off their feet they all seemed to be

    The room was light and airy +breakfast was ample.the night porter was very helpfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was full on and the staff didn't do anything about it even we asked several times. It was impossible to sleep in that heat, though we had window open.

    The bed was comfortable and big. Also the room was very spacious. Location great for visiting the coast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water to wash basin only lukewarm. Hair in bath plug hole (quite a lot)

    Very large comfortable bed, Very good breakfast Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a double room there was only one tea cup when two was required. Breakfast table laid for four but only two set of cutlery and two cups were laid. Need to be more professional in this area of housekeeping.

    King size bed, staff made you welcome, good very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating system did not fully function, but luckily it did not get too cold at night.

    The staff was very friendly, and we enjoyed the breakfast. The beds in the twin room were large and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being end of November the heating was on constantly. .even with it off in the room it was too hot for me to sleep in the evening

    My go to stop off in milford haven Excellent location for me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffing - there was only one member of staff covering reception, bar & breakfast. He was very good, but needed more staff!

    Location & ambience were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the door key or a few occasions, not just once

    Sensitive to my brother's mental health issues and happy for him to have vegan food. Bar & restaurant staff very friendly and helpful Bed comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for toilet rolls after the room had been cleaned. Also after been out all day came back to the room and found that it had not been cleaned or the bed made. I do not think the cleaner had been used in the room. The curtains need to be rehung.

    The friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The staff were amazing . Room was Massive. The bed was like sleeping in a pillow. Food was delightful and they catered to being vegetarian. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping poor a little more effort needed on checking rooms making sure coffee facilities refilled toilet rolls refilled soap and shower gel refilled and we had a picture on the wall above bed that was hanging by one nail and no one made effort to rehang picture before we left after three nights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice size room with a little seating area. Friendly staff who managed to cover bar, reception and breakfast. Great position for Torch Theatre - 5 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cups not cleaned sticky half bottle water on bedside cab.had the bathroom cleaned because of hair in the bath ,had not been cleaned for previous guest,Asked for the manager ,unavailable .Asked to be phoned by the manager I'm still waiting .Never use Brains hotels again.

    the room was a good size ,bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the bedrooms need updating.

    Meals served any time of day which was excellent as we were going out to the theatre. The room was basic but very comfortable. We had a lovely view of the marina. The breakfast was excellent served in private dining room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner - not vacuumed. Looked as if room not finished off! Breakfast ok but items not replenished so although we were not late down to breakfast, we missed out on certain items which were advertised - pastries and croissants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not made or room cleaned while I was there. No heating on in hotel so room was cold and dining room was freezing making breakfast very uncomfortable. Coffee machine at breakfast which produced lukewarm coffee and lukewarm water to make your own tea, fresh tea and coffee would be so much better.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perhaps a smaller breakfast, and a packed lunch. A noise level outside the room on the car park a little noisy at times. Music was only on a Friday night. Would have liked Saturday, as well. Either live, or record.

    The choice. Good hard working staff. Would prefer a 10.00 finish in the morning. Food good. Able to take yoghurt away with me, if I didn't eat it in the morning. I ate all of the breakfast, to get back what I had payed, however sometimes found it filling. Could a packed lunch have been offered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no Iron in the room although I believe this was available from reception. There was no hairdryer in the room. I had a room at the rear and my view was of a brick wall. Selection of Ales on offer was disappointing.

    The hotel is in a good location, with offroad parking. It's very well kept with well equipped rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great. Leather bacon and Luke warm sausage Don't understand why large curtains block the view in the breakfast room! Bed comfy but room very dirty Black mould on shower walls was disgusting. No excuses as it wipes off with a tissue!!!

    Staff were great, nice evening meal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that the bathroom hadn't even been into for it to be cleaned. They had changed the sheets in the bedroom but that's all they did. I went to have a shower and the previous occupant had been to the toilet and it hadn't been flushed. I went and asked them to clean the room. They cleaned the bathroom but didn't seem surprised it was like that. No apologies afterwards. Wont be staying again. Avoid at all cost!!!!!

    The best thing about the Hotel was leaving the next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was clean and comfortable but carpet was dirty and full of hairs and dust on top of all furniture and fittings.

    Food was delicious and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Understaffed, mouldy bathroom, breakfast room full of dirty plates, food dreadful , would not stay there again, needs refurbishment and more staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole building was noisy/ sounds carried really far and I think we were under a courridoor so that loud footsteps above kept us awake through the night (queitened down by 1am).

    Staff were all lovely and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to do in the immediate area but we were only there for one night

    Clean and basic,, good food and great value... Good entertainment in the lounge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large, the twin beds were both doubles and really comfy.The bathroom was roomy, plenty of storage, We couldn't ask for more. We had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was really very good, the food was great and the service friendly and quick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was decent, however the only disappointment was the Mildew around the bath, and the shower hose could do with replacing.

    We had a double room with views over the Marina. The room was a very good size The bed was large and very comfortable, The room was clean and well decorated. It was excellent value for money, and exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything reception nobody on or advise about parking or anything not clean in there at all I only seen one man doing everything in there so credit to him

    Nothing and would not stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an additional bed for one of my children on the biking form. On arrival it wasn't ready and there wasn't one available but there would be one the second night. It didn't arrive, we made do in the big bed and mentioned it on departure.

    A really pleasant & clean hotel. One particular member of staff who was at both our Breakfast as particularly friendly & helpful, a real asset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelt funny when I walked in so I opened the window to get some fresh air. Unfortunately I didn't realise how unclean the room and bathroom was until it was too late in the evening to complain. The shower had mold in it and needed a proper deep clean, there were little hairs left around the basin area presumably from the last person who stayed there- shaving his beard. There was dust all over the floor and it was collecting in the corners- so obviously hadn't been cleaned in ages. There was a layer of dust on and around the tea/coffee facilities. The breakfast wasn't very nice- my eggs tasted weird so didn't eat them and the sausage and mushrooms tasted like they were overdone and had an odd flavour to them? I will never come back to stay here again, the only good thing were the staff.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was lucky with parking.I managed to park right outside the hotel. It was raining very hard.I'm not sure where else there was to park.

    Large bedroom with nice seating area. Good size bathroom. Good all round accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No access from rear car park into hotel and no lift to first and second floor.

    the rooms were spacious and comfy, the food was excellent and the staff really helpful, friendly and very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly our room hadn't been cleaner there was tissue paper bits under the dressing table , the bathroom looked very run down with mould around the seal of the bath ,however the bed was changed and clean the walls were flaking of paint. The picture above the bad was hanging off and resting on the head board. We arrived back at 11.45 pm after visiting friends and asked at the bar for two coffees. The bar had a number of people with drinks and we were refused a coffee even though we were resident. We were told the bar was closed. Went to our room for a coffee. Breakfast was another thing. On the coffee cups table were two cleaning bottles and dirty rags. I didn't manage to eat very much of my breakfast under these circumstances. All in all I will not be returning neither will I recommend the Lord Nelson to Anyone Not a good experience for£75 a very disappointing stay

    Not very much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had no negative comments.

    Didn't stay here myself. Booked it on behalf of my mum dad and sister. They said it was fantastic and would gladly recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was awful. It took over an hour to arrive, the order was wrong when it arrived and the food was poor. The staff were rushed off their feet and did their very best but the kitchen staff clearly couldn't cope. I wouldn't recommend a meal here.

    The location was good - right on the coastal path route.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a) Being in my mid-70s I was surprised they had allocaterd me a back room on the top floor (after finding out there is no lift - if they had said clearly said so on the booking form at the start I could have requested then) - they asked if it would be ok and I asked if they had anything lower - the answer was no ! b) The price for a single room was the same as for a double, so felt a bit "ripped ouf" for the back top-floor room - would have been happier if it had had a front view at the price. c) Breakfast was excellent, but only one member of staff on duty so service was very slow - on my last day I arrived at 0830 but didn't get a coffee until the self-service jug was topped up at 0910 and the main course a further 10 minutes later - that day it was served in the bar as the usual room next to the kitchen had been used for a "do" the previous night - so the sole lady who was working her socks off had been badly let down by management, especially as the hotel was known to be full !

    It was very handy for the town (but up a very steep hill) with good views overlooking the harbour Excellent comfy beds and as it was extremely hot they found me a fan - excellent PR !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to our floor Breakfast - We arrived in the early middle section of the service and found that items on the self service section were depleted eg fruit juice, coffee. Only one member of staff appeared to be working the breakfast area that morning. The coffee was not good.

    The bed size and firmness was excellent. Room size and en suite bathroom were excellent. Staff were friendly (and allowed us to watch the rugby in the bar in the morning).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food in the restaurant (for evening meals) was mediocre. Cheap but not good.

    Staff cleaning/tidying the room (211) were particularly helpful and efficient. Thank you. The room was a good size with two large twin beds, and an excellent bathroom. I liked the reading spotlight, although light in the room as a whole was rather dim. The breakfasts were very good. Staff generally were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a big staff presence and we had to wait a while wondering where everyone was before we were eventually checked in! Again when having breakfast there was only one man serving and he was rushed off his feet, we had to ask for him to refill the milk/juice etc which had run out. The tables werent cleared because he didnt have time so it looked a bit messy.

    Very friendly staff, lovely big room, very comfy and clean. Pub downstairs good comfort food, was live folk music one night which was great, not rowdy though and no noise could be heard from the bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: