Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lovat, Loch Ness 4 stars

Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, PH32 4DU, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Fort Augustus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Sumptuous, relaxing and in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was polite but always in a rush and didn’t really have time to chat with you.

    The extra special touches like fruit in room and little hot chocolate stirrers. Rooom was spotlessly clean and on departure we were given home made cookies for our journey.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Really helpful staff superb facilities and a great bar...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Really helpful staff superb facilities and a great bar restaurant on site. Looking forward to the opening of the new on site restaurant soon to fully appreciate the skis and imagination of the chef.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Country hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have preferred to be accommodated within the main hotel but was not given a choice. The annex rooms are nicely decorated with a great bed albeit small but the car park lights are on all night shining into the room. We enjoyed our short visit but found it very expensive.

    The restaurant and staff were very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden room was more of a car park room to be honest, they're not part of the main hotel building. Room was far too warm, even in Sept with the window open and heating turned off.

    Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds. Nice town, interesting to watch boats go through the locks. Comfy bed and good shower. Good breakfast (if a liitle pricey). Great evening meal in the brasserie. Friendly staff. Nice bar with good cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay here and would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful room with fantastic bed and huge modern bathroom. Great meals in the restarant. Breakfast was delicious and really gave us a great start to the day. Location was excellent being only a few minutes walk into the village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!!

    Lovely common areas in the main building and we loved our outer room with little patio. The in room Nespresso was a special treat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Great - recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have breakfast as for a party of 7 it would have been too expensive (£16 or so per person)

    Great location for Loch Ness, friendly staff and the posted a jacket that we had left behind!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    The lovat, Loch Ness. Well worth a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for only one night, a little pricey but worth it and a great location.

    Very friendly staff. Netflix available which was nice if we wanted to watch something. Lovely breakfast. Lovely view from our window. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    The Lovat is a Highland Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in two garden rooms. We liked the enclosed outdoor space, it gave our girls a safe space to play. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, with a large high bed, a big screen TV and a desk and chair. They had both a kettle with a selection of teas and a pod expresso machine if you like coffee plus a small fridge and wine glasses if you fancied some wine. The bath room is large and well lit, there is a step up to the deep, luxurious bath and an powerful shower. The Temple Spa products are lovely, and there were two cotton waffle bathrobes. I like how the owners are looking to reduce the environmental impact from locally sourced ingredients to the recycled note paper and pencils at the desk. Outside there is a bistro table and chairs set if you wish to sit out amongst the stars. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely, with a wide selection of cereals and pastries and a good choice of hot options to order. Very delicious. The Lovat is very close to the caladonian canal and the centre of the village. The garden room would be perfect for a romantic getaway but also worked well for travelling with a child. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfort stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable, and the location was great. The food served during dinner was excellent. Lots of rabbit running around on the grassland.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Traditional luxury in a perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with very comfortable rooms, excellent Attentive staff and am Awsome restaurant and menu selection...was not expecting anything quite like this.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    A superb restaurant and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    in a very nice surrounding just next to the caledonian canal and Loch Ness, the restaurant offers impressive quality. Rooms are clean and well equipped. The personal is perfectly friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved to stay longer.

    The accommodation was second to none and we could not be happier to recommend this property to others. Upon arrival we were greeted with such enthusiasm and grace and seen to our rooms. They even carried our bags. Afternoon tea was provided in the sitting room of which you have a choice of 2 and was provided in splendid cups and pots. The staff attention to detail was amazing, the bar staff recommending a gin drink and then remembering that I was drinking it for the days we were there. The hotel is just a short stroll to the loch which is very picturesque. We loved everything about the stay. The restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel , in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel in a great location, stayed in garden Room, loved it, great bed, shower facilities, lovely meal, extremely tasty first class service, best hotel we stayed in while on a week's break .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rooms were very modern and cleanly, a great sleep. To have a private front garden was brilliant for an early morning sit. Staff member was very welcoming on arrival and departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A place to definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was of a great taste. Spotless! Awesome. Extremely cosy and comfortable. Super kind staff. We even got some cookies to continue our trip after a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful base to see Loch Ness and surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I had stayed here longer and not gone on to stay following night in Inverness.

    Beautiful rooms. Lovely hotel. Comfortable beds. Wonderful location. Loved Fort Augustus as a location to tour this area - preferred it over Inverness. Nice walk over to lock. Rabbits on hotel grounds were lovely to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Silver Anniversary trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spotless and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The chef did a special vegan menu, which was the same for the 2 nights, however since there were choices it meant I got to try everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly atmosphere, with an excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden units were clean, comfortable and functional but had a “motel feel” - not luxurious.

    Fantastic location within a short walk of Loch Ness and a picture perfect town centre. Truly excellent restaurant, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely. The staff were lovely. The location was lovely. The breakfast was lovely. We ate in The Bothy and the food was great.....give Fort William a miss and stay in Fort Augustus :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful! We will be staying their again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - All was great!

    Lovely hotel - great rooms and the food was exceptional. Caroline and the team have done an amazing job. It is a 'destination' hotel in a wonderful part of Scotland. the strap line says it all - Love it at the Lovat !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and genuine, the bar tender Lee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no minibar or safe in one of our rooms but it wasn’t a major problem.

    Staff were very friendly and genuine, the bar tender Lee went out of his way to be helpful and pleasant . The food was exceptional. I love this hotel and it’s our second visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe our room was referred to as a ‘Garden Room’. It had a patio, gravel garden and a gate and then a view across the carpark before the hotel’s pretty main garden with lawn and shrubs etc. If you have a strong preference on view or proximity to carpark I’d suggest phoning to discuss beforehand. Don’t assume you’ll be overlooking the lawn!

    Luxurious room with very comfortable bed and bathroom a contemporary sanctuary. Breakfast very good quality. Staff all very polite and helpful, often anticipating our needs. Convenient location for lots of local activities or a good rest before onward travel to the NC500. Easy to find and park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    PURE HELL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    IN ROOM 003 PEOPLE TALKING TILL LATE AT NIGHT ABSULUTLT FREEZING HOT WATER REPORTED TO RECEPTION AND GOT A GRUNT SORRY FOR A ANSWER NO SHOWER FOR MYSELF AND WIFE AND A COLD SHAVE

    LOCATION SWIMMING POOL

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay along the Lochs with a goup of friends and our dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was outstanding, right downtown. We also enjoyed the bar and the restaurant in the evening, as well as breakfast in the morning. A wonderful place to recover from our day of hiking and prepare for the next day. A short walk to anything in the wonderful Scottish village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very warm welcoming wtih birthday greetings and balloons in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcoming wtih birthday greetings and balloons in the room. Exellent food. We highly recomend a highspeed boat tour on Loch Ness, but the boat centrum is just few meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    A great all round hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Not much to look at from the outside but the hotel interior is lovely. Bedroom was superb - huge, comfortable bed. Lots of nice extras such as proper coffee machine (with real milk on request) and chocolate dippers to make your own hot chocolate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Reliable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were high and pushed together with a small gap down the middle so neither separate nor together.

    Second stay here, lovely hotel with great breakfast. This time we had a twin room which was ok although would have preferred a double. The lounge areas are great and dinner was also good, if a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Wish we’d stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Celeriac & Apple soup. Blue cheese apple caramel Roast saddle of red deer celeriac walnut apple Crab cannelloni prawn brew leek coastal herbs Pan fried scallop pork belly cauliflower textures. Absolutely superb!

    The owner/manager knows how to run a 7 Star ! The dinner was second to none. Best food I’ve had ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful accommodation - excellent also for dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly accommodation with your own courtyard with a wonderful view. 6 chalet rooms done up in jan 2018 to an excellent STD Restaurant was pet friendly for all meals I didn’t really go in the main part of the hotel. There are lounges, but not useable if you have a pet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The Best Hotel in Fort Augustus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb Hotel with excellent staff in a great spot. Great Breakfast and all of our needs were catered for with a smile. Would highly recommend you stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfect staff, food and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find anything wrong but being picky perhaps a selection of different daily newspapers to read in one of the sunny lounges.

    Peaceful room, comfortable bed and room. Good bathroom setup. Excellent food and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay !!! Highly recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the check in to check out was perfect !! Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable . Bathroom large and immaculate . Restaurant food was exceptional. Staff was very attentive and informative . One of the best hotels we stayed in !! We will definitely visit again !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location to enjoy the highlands from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms comfy warm and plenty of space Great building. Lovely staff. Good dining room with great food. Great bar and bar staff. Good location for us to do day trips from in the highlands and surrounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Good place to look for Nessie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff is a bit slow. The glutenfree options are limited. Breakfast is a bit costly.

    Wonderful house with spacious and very comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks. This place was better than others.

    Charming hotel with a part of the hotel being older and very fancy and a newer part with a more modern vibe. Very nice dinner and breakfast for reasonable prices, presented in an attractive way. Very friendly staff. A cookie as an attention when we left. We stayed in a studio in a side building, nicely equipped. Everything available: books, dvds, chess, fridge, dressing gown,... Extremely good price quality ratio. In our view underpriced. We enjoyed doing the 15miles (part of the) great glen walk. If you want to see loch ness, go there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful experience. We were celebrating and The Lovat made it special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it all. It was a little more expensive than our usual price bracket but easy to see why.

    Large bed, lift, comfortable lounge with open fire, adventurous, delicious menu, excellent staff in all areas, well-stocked bar, shiny clean, within walking distance of loch and canal, excellent location for walking, exploring and just an hour from Inverness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bedroom, low water pressure in the shower.

    Comfortable lounge area with fire going. All staff in hotel and brasserie were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. The room was incredible and the bathroom was even better! We even had a little Christmas tree in our room! The hotel was amazing, and even in the winter, was a great stay! Right around the corner from the Loch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Wow what a find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow few words can ever aptly describe a hotel like this. Perfect would honestly seem inadequate at this point, rooms sorry but to be blunt OMG wow and the fact that they have thought of every detail and anything you may need down to the Simple umbrella in the cupboard waiting for the unfortunate moment it rains. All we can say is thank you and the only bad moment was that we couldn’t stay another night. Ok food sorry but we love good food, if you want to have your menu designed by the chef you really do need to book in advance and is something well worth the wait, excellent staff who can’t do enough for you to the chef who creates these masterpieces, trust me they truely will leave you wanting more. Did we fall in love with the hotel and the food ? To be blunt yes and can’t wait to go back for more even with a 9 hr drive to get there this is how special this place has become if only after one night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    A nice break but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the bar area was very poor not at all welcoming seating was pretty basic,it just wasn't somewhere where you wanted to sit and enjoy a drink. Good dinner menu although a bit Pretentious and expensive. Breakfast was good although I had to have a second look at the cost if you hadn't booked B&B Very expensive for what it was.

    Rooms were a great size well furnished and comfortable. Public areas were very welcoming,lots of big chairs and setees and a roaring fire. Staff very good always available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Simply gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all, fantastic hotel.

    Lovely hotel that was classy yet relaxed, cosy room, fab location, friendly staff. I had decided to treat myself to a nice hotel for the last 2 nights of a week in Scotland, having done the NC500. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place, would recommend the Lovat to anyone travelling to the area. Beware tho ladies, you may become a Temple Spa product customer after staying here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Romantic escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The purple color in the room.

    High quality Breakfast although served with small delay upon order. Very clean hotel, complimentary sparkling water and we enjoyed the fireplace in the drawing room. The staff was willing to light the fireplace just for us. Location also was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    I certainly did "Love it at the Lovat"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't stay longer :(

    Oh oh oh!!! The FOOD!! I ate at the Brasserie not the big restaurant but the food and service was exceptional. Reception staff were a delight but I cannot fault any of the service at all. I had a pre dinner drink brought to me in the Lounge and a most delightful waiter collected me when my table was ready. Excellent Whisky menu. Oban oysters to die for!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Grand comfort in picturesque location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast selection. Lounge and fireplace welcoming, property lovely. Location wonderful, close to Caledonian Locks and Loch Ness. Room comfortable, bathroom spacious. Complimentary treats with tea. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the age of the building there are no lifts (but we were pre warned and they were quick to offer help with our luggage) - lots of stairs

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable apartment. Great location right on the main square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The perfect location and facilities for Lock Ness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was very comfortable and relaxing. The staff was superb and made our stay special. The location was perfect for Nessie viewing and the gateway to Lock Ness. Very clean and comfortable with parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel good spot but the in my mind the menu needs a good looking at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food ,I don't think for duck eggs & eel is good eating what's wrong with smoked haddock & poached egg. I'm might be called unadventurous but I just don't like food been corrupted. Most probably some people think eating odd stuff is the way forward but it's not for me sorry

    The location ,was clean ,friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Bed in the sky!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, in the exterior double room, was extremely high off the ground. My wife had to climb onto a chair in order to get into the bed! There was some difficulty at check out over the bill. No unpleasantness, but all was not clear. We received a phone message later to say that all would be explained in an email, but we have not received this yet.

    The staff were very welcoming to us and to our dog (a towel, a dog mat, a drinking bowl and a food bowl were all provided as well as two treats for our dog) + he was allowed in any area in the hotel in which there were hard floors. Other hotels should follow their lead (no pun intended).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Excellent quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of hotel and professionalism of the staff.

    Well situated in Fort Augustus, excellent dining within hotel, exceptional standard of public rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel with great staff. Definitely a gem. We stayed in garden rooms (4-5 rooms to side of main hotel) which have their own little front yards & seating areas. Very cute and the location 1 block from locks cannot be better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Perfect treat at affordable rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The late check in was ideal and very appreciated.Large car park a bonus.Room was exceptional,very comfortable bed and a large bathroom.All the usual stuff you'd expect from a high quality establishment.Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and tasty(Breakfast is extra and you could get it cheaper elsewhere if necessary).Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.The town with the Caledonian Canal was superb for an evening saunter.Decent shops which we visited in the morning after checking out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    The bar staff (also serving the restaurant) didn't seem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff (also serving the restaurant) didn't seem to know anything about wine or several other drinks... Gave no useful advice as he didn't know anything. (NB he didn't try to give advice he clearly stated he didn't know ...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper shower. Just a drain and a shower head. Seemed a little odd for Hotel of that price and quality.

    Location was excellent. Clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area at the front of hotel and the parking could benefit from some refurbishment.

    Modern room, very nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, public areas very tasteful decorated and well presented. Will hopefully return for a longer stay and eat t the award winning restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    How clean and comfy it was. Everything is high standard. Some apples and water await for you in your room. The staff is extremely dedicated. They make you feel like home. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamp/bedside table on BOTH sides of bed would be better. Rain was dripping noisily onto cars from blocked gutters throughout the night.

    Fantastic staff (Felicia, Sean, Andrei). Real fires. Superb restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    A great New Year break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have done with a few more days.

    The hotel is very well positioned for touring the area. It is very comfortable - the bed is the best we have ever slept in. My wife has a chronic back condition and she had the best night's sleep ever. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food is fantastic.We will definitely be going again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Great place to spend Christmas away.... easy location and travelling very scenic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wardrobe and bedroom too small for a 5 night stay... in comparison the bathroom was huge!

    The friendly and welcoming staff, and excellent chefs. Cosy atmosphere, comfortable rooms and the log fire accessible all day. very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    Grand hotel, but with a few issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was far too hot and we were unable to adjust it down manually. The duvet cover was fitted incorrectly, not something we'd expect from an upmarket hotel.

    Relaxing in the hotel lounge with a roaring fire was lovely. Bedroom and bathroom were spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Charming atmosphere, warm and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Charming atmosphere, warm and inviting. Restaurant food was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Good food, great staff, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food, great staff, comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast overpriced at £17

    We stayed in a garden room - very modern with own patio area Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.0
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Fabulous breakfast and even better dinner! Our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel. Best do far in Scotland.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    A delightful surprise at the start of Loch Ness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service and superb food in a charming and delightful environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Wonderfull hotel.Will return .Reception staff very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpfull staff Dinner in the hotel excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe didn’t work

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.5
    Restuarant and bar prices are ridiculous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of food

    Restuarant and bar prices are ridiculous. Breakfast at £16.95 for one rasher of bacon and half a tomatoe is taking the piss

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds are well kept and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Loved it - great hotel can’t wait to come back for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it - great hotel can’t wait to come back for longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The location and attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ll stay was great from start to finish.

    The location and attention to detail.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotelroom fine. Restaurang superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurang in hotel FANTASTIC!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Loved the Lovat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place close to Loch Ness. Super comfy bed, tasty breakfast and nice bunnies in the garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lovat, Loch Ness traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: