Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lovat Arms Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Beauly, IV4 7BS, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 hotels in Beauly

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Warm hospitality - if you jag the right staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beauly is a beautiful little village in the heart of Fraser Clan territory - and the Lovat Arms celebrates it's link with the Clan through it's decor and collection of amateur family history files available in the lounge. I arrived a quite early in the day, and was warmly welcomed by the young guy in the lobby. My early arrival seemed to cause a bit of consternation to the young lady in reception, but this was delightfully compensated for by the afore mentioned young guy offering me tea in the lounge, and some local knowledge about Fraser connections with the town. The fire was warm, the tea pleasant and the family history files an interesting read (as this was the purpose of my visit to Beauly).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    A very pleasanr stay. I'll recommend the hotel to anyone who asks me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a complaint, just a thought: If the hotel had a lift it would help the staff as well as elderly guests.

    The staff were all charming and helpful, willingly carrying my case up and down the stairs. I ate in the bar both nights and the food was super. Plenty of choice, and served with a smile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great property. Extremely friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room. Great food and drinks. Went above and beyond by taking me to Inverness and not accepting payment because my train from Beauly was delayed. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel with friendly and accomodating staff. Good choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues.

    Slept like a log so the bed was comfy and had good breakfast the next morning. Add a pint or 2 the night before and its just what the doctor ordered from a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    I arrived later than expected but this wasn't an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the listing on Booking.com could have been a bit more accurate. It's terrible to not have a working phone and thus having to proceed online only to discover the listing caused some confusion. I'm not sure this was the hotels doing though.

    I arrived later than expected but this wasn't an issue. I've discovered that 24 hr front desk isn't a guarantee of someone being able to check you in. Happily the girl who is responsible for the front desk and check-ins during the day lives there (?) She was quickly located and was very nice about checking me in. The room was nice. I happily like tartan, plaid Americans. The room was very decorated for I believe Clan Gunn. The carpet of the hotel was pattered with a clan badge even!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying in this historic inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in front of the hotel is a bit limited but there is space on the other side of the street.

    Enjoyed staying in this historic inn. Food and drink were fine. Bedroom was clean and comfortable but very hot with the warm weather. An extractor fan or air conditioning would have made sleeping a lot easier. Staff were friendly and helpful. good location for onward touring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place, and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really I liked it all no problems

    easy to find the place, its in the middle of Beauly so you can wander about there, a few walks around. The food in the restaurant was excellent. and breakfast was excellent, staff were all very friendly. The room was a large room and nicely decorated, comfortable bed and quiet location I slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Very nice short stay, lovely room, staff very friendly and helpful - and wondeful food!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have time to wander outdoors due to time of arrival, but looked nice. Did stop at the local Co-op on way in to village, extremely friendly locals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Gentle, leisurely, relaxed stay in beautiful, Beauly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our four night stay wasn't long enough!

    We breakfasted at the local ' Deli on the Corner ' which was our attempt at supporting the local economy. A little expensive, but worth the treat. Our evening meals were in the Lovat Arms. These were very good. Our compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The Lovat Arms is comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lovat Arms is comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming. It is a celebration of Frazer Tartan which adds to the pleasure of feeling you really are in Scotland. William, in Reception, could not have been more charming or helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice decor, good food but poor service due to understaffing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the main desk very poor. Clearly short of staff and our booking was on correct. Having booked 6 months prior and paid the top rate we expected more than a small room in the annex over looking a car serving garage. Arguments over additional breakfast charge on check in and then on check out big it was an inclusive rate did not help. We were very disappointed as this was the last night of our holiday and we had decided to treat ourselves to what we thought a lovely hotel. We will not be back simply for the lack of service we received and the very poor room we had.

    Good food and lovely staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    The warm hospitality by hotel manager, Euen, is extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    That our room was in another building but realised it is the same with some other hotels - probably due to expansion. The manager Euen, who is so helpful, even helping his staff in the restaurant, makes up for the property.

    Manager Euen was most helpful, going out of his way to resolve guests' issues. He even drove us to Inverness after helping us to arrange to rent a car. In fact, we have found the Scots to be most friendly and helpful. Due to high tourist season, it may not be the best value for money for this time of year. It is ideal for those driving in Scotland, and offers a good night rest with a taste of local life. It is probably the most popular watering hole for the local residents, who are friendly. It offered a band on Saturday evening which makes the place lively.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.5
    Lovely big spacious room with a large bed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not too great. After doing the NC500 this was the 6th hotel we stayed in, and the poorest breakfast. Very greasy. Had to eat in the lounge and listen to drunk locals swearing loudly in the bar. The barmaid tried to quieten them on several occasions. My husband felt that the bus company was given preferential treatment by being able to eat in the dining room. The evening meal that we did have was fantastic, however.

    Lovely big spacious room with a large bed. Plenty of space for our dog's sleeping bag. There was a strange smell in the room, our dog was quite concerned about this, and found a pair of old smelly black sport socks behind the curtains which we binned. The carpet smelled quite nasty in places but we saw no marks. Young waitress was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Excelent Breakfast , Good Choice and Service..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High Tea needs refining a bit. Got my main meal within 2 minutes but had to wait 20 minutes after I had finished it to get my Tea & Toast. Half a scone already creamed and jammed. Fine but I only have butter on my scone so another half scone found and chucked at me. Some of the staff need to listen more to customers and not just chat among themselves.

    Warm friendly Scottish welcome. Decoration just what the tourists like old world Scotland. The mannequin in Scottish dress needs a wee tidy up though. All rooms I seen were of great quality & décor. Excellent breakfast good choice and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking on line I do not recall at any time being advised that our room was in an annex which was situated in a house at the back of the main hotel. A bit of an inconvenience as it was raining!! We had difficulty in finding a car park space and eventually parked on main road along from the hotel. The hotel is a bit dated but I would not let that stop you visiting.

    Staff on reception and in restaurant area very friendly. We had our evening meal in the restaurant. It was reasonably priced and a selection of traditional style food. Thoroughly enjoyed! Bedroom with en-suite shower room was functional and had everything you needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Staff were mostly pleasant & friendly although somewhat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very old fashioned, no screen either& I had to stoop to avoid sloping ceiling- not ideal for 70 year old with arthritis. Breakfast rather basic.

    Staff were mostly pleasant & friendly although somewhat laid back. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing old coaching with bags of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one minor comment. One bedroom skylight window let in too much light. Could do with a small roller blind maybe.

    The location on the main street. The staff are very friendly and helpful and gave good advice about the access to local glens. Nice bar area and meals are served in very comfortable tables in the bar. Bedroom was quite spacious with plenty of places for clothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Highland Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,the Lovat is one of the best highland hotels I have ever stayed in.

    Immaculately clean,well equipped large bedroom,beautifully furnished in the style of this highland hotel. Large comfy bed with good quality linen. Nice bar and resturaunt on the premises but also other choices a short walk away. Convenient free off road parking at the front of the hotel. Good strong reliable wifi everywhere. Very large excellent cooked to order breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Centre of Beauly - traditional Scottish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking at the front of the hotel, but plenty of street parking available

    Traditional Scottish hotel in the middle of a lovely small town. Room and bathroom a little small, but clean and well furnished. Would stay here again - that says it all really

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Historic resting place for tired munro baggers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about this historic hotel in Beauly.Could have stayed longer.

    Friendly staff,lovely spacious bedroom and nice relaxed bar/restaurant area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    Very nice, very large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very " Scottish " which some visitors may find a little overwhelming. Bathroom a little small & dated

    Very nice, very large room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfy hotel in Beauly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was just okay. Our room was a bit worn, but overall very comfortable for the price.

    The staff was very friendly and the hotel has historical items and documents for the Fraser clan. We had dinner in the pub one night and it was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Though just one night, absolutely first class restaurant, service and ambience. highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely staff couldn’t have done more for you. will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff. Bathroom a bit too small. Breakfast, after tour groups, a bit depleted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel. Great nights sleep. Very comfy beds and very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    One of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. Bed was also very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent brreakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Excellent brreakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable with good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I needed a secure location for my bicycle and this was provided (indoors with easy access). Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice family hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard ,, like sleeping on a table

    Nice family hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in quiet Highland village, close to sporting and leisure activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift for disabled guests

    Central location in quiet village close to all amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Traditional style in shops meaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional style in shops meaning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    A good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Location very convenient for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Location very convenient for my purpose. Lovely characterful village.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room in good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they is not l did not likeThe

    the bed was comfy and lovely hot shower the

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was adorable and the tub heavenly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant hotel in a very pleasant setting.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pleasant hotel in a very pleasant setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    A nice hotel. A bit tired but clean and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great scottish breakfast. the black pudding was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    ok for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not well cooked. Hotel generally a bit worn around the edges, could do with updating.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant room, clean and warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An earlier breakfast as I had to check out at 7.30am

    The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    Hotel needs to be updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel, no lift and couldn't stand up in the shower. Very poor breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location , clean but slightly overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location , clean but slightly overpriced

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    If I require to be in that area in future, I would not hesitate to reside at the Lovat Arms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    For what I wanted, the Lovat Arms was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Would be unlikely to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dark and dingy needs redec

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Great value hotel in a prime location with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor dated

    Very friendly and helpful staff Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Short but nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came to get car serviced at garage next door location arms was a great location to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and pleasant lounge.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but quite expensive.

    Very comfortable room and pleasant lounge. Liked traditional features

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very courtious...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very courtious and friendly. A definite go-to hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Overall good, but potential to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very outdated and walls cluttered with tat and pictures.

    The food was spot on

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. No biscuits in tea tray Noise from mext door apparently a tour

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Good food, staff excellent,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking.Room a bit dated!

    Good food, staff excellent,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Quiet night in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly with good food . Good rooms with comfy beds. Relaxing bar and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay before Highland Cross
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great service. Cosy, spotless rooms with comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Decor and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating in the bar - noisy. Food and service not fantastic.

    Decor and history. Service was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    No lift and therefore not suitable for those with mobility issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had requested a room with wheelchair access and unfortunately was given a first floor room. Disappointing as there was no lift.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Pleasant peaceful relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Good evening meal. Quietness. Good hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Great bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy

    Great bed Wifi was working

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Good night in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly staff. Good food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    5.0
    Meals poor - tough meat, off breakfast ingredients
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals poor - tough meat, off breakfast ingredients

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Business stay in Beauly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Atmosphere and quality of food Staff are excellant .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Welcome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The service was excellent and I will be returning in 2017

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    good again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    warm welcome food good nice friendly bar & staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Staff as always look pleased to see you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff as always look pleased to see you

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    There was good central heating in the room , that was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing to dislike

    There was good central heating in the room , that was available all day and night ,which is essential in the Scottish climate. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is good to know that it acceptable to bring my dog.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    3.3
    We waited a long time at reception to check in, only for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We waited a long time at reception to check in, only for member of staff to answer and deal with a phone call in front of us with no apology for our long wait. The bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were poor quality and worn. There was ripped upholstery on bedroom furniture. The pipes were very noisy, and a lot of noise travelled from other rooms. We had a very sleepless night, due to snoring coming from another room and then early morning noise, eg plugs being plugged in on the other side of the wall. The hotel is tired but with some love and attention would be a great base for exploring the area.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.4
    Staircase from ground floor grand and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of follow up to a request in dining room. Moved table when asked without thanks. Lack of warmth from staff. Severe rationing of toilet paper for last 24hrs. Rabbit warren like passage and narrow staircase to our room. (Room not cheap.) No biscuits to accompany coffee and tea.

    Staircase from ground floor grand and inviting. Fish meal lovely. Tartan decor and theme pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    The setting was nice and the hotel was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked for a double bed and got two twin beds... The internet did not work and and no one seemed to care.

    The setting was nice and the hotel was clean

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Decor was excellent, staff were very nice and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor was excellent, staff were very nice and helpful, location was good; close enough to Inverness and Loch Ness but far enough away in a quiet setting. We did a day trip to Skye and Elean Donan castle from the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only minor failing was the antiquated plumbing. Everything worked fine but there were some alarming banshee-like noises from the pipes at odd times.

    The location is excellent. The staff were very helpful and left me alone except when I needed them. .

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    Like the town of Beauly in general.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed in room 6 was not comfortable ! It felt like I was sleeping on the floor it was so hard !

    Like the town of Beauly in general. Lovely , relaxed place set in beautiful countryside.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Room 2 very special.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room 2 very special. Had dinner in hotel very good.The South African waiter who served dinner and breakfast gave exceptional service.He also checked us in and out .His service would be the reason to return,

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.1
    The friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    long wait at reception on arrival. I had to press the bell two/three times before anyone appeared. very small bathroom in my room.

    The friendly staff. The food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.2
    Second stay here in the last year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Second stay here in the last year. It may only be classed as 3 star hotel but has character and charm that you don't find in your chain hotels of same rating

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.3
    Wi-Fi only in the lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi only in the lobby

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.3
    Quirky, good location homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi not great

    Quirky, good location homely

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: