Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Low Wood Hall Hotel 2 stars

Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale, CA20 1ET, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Nether Wasdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Peace and quiet with a lovely restful view, good food and a good nights sleep?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside water glasses would have been useful but we managed without and didn’t get around to asking. I’m sure if we had they would have been provided

    The hotel is a gorgeous old building with lots of original features; beautifully adapted to make a country house hotel. We had a pretty and spacious bedroom with a huge bay window and lovely view of the fells. Very comfortable bed and clean, functional bathroom. Excellent cooked vegan breakfast with muesli on request and unlimited fresh coffee. Several vegan/ vegetarian choices for the evening meal. We had the superb Thai vegetable curry and delicious sticky toffee pudding. The staff were friendly and attentive and happy to chat about the local area and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Variable experience. Ranging from poor to grea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent 30 mins trying to get tiny TV to work without success. After phoning reception and waiting 45 mins moved to downstairs room. Heard ever step of people above. Poor build quality of Lodge extension.

    Breakfast and friendly chef. View from breakfast room. Location. Price. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    wonderful rural break, beautiful scenery and great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi not available during our stay

    wonderful location if a little remote but beautiful scenery. Friendlly welcoming staff. Only grumble was lack of wifi which was meant to be included. all other facilities great, breakfast hot and freshly prepared. lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    A quiet location in a beautiful area of the Lake District even on a bank holiday in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were too hard.

    View from the dining room. Birdsong and the swifts homing in on the hotel. Ease of parking. Quiet location. Good food in local pubs and farm shop on campsite 2 min walk down hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Nether Wasdale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room at the front of the main building therefore beautiful views from bay window. Breakfast had plenty of choice. We ate evening meals in the pubs in the village, luckily we had booked previous as they were busy. Weather was beautiful the 3 days we were there so that was a bonus. Great place to stay....hopefully will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    A great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was softer than we like. My partner has a back problem and this aggrevated it.

    The hotel was very clean even though they allow dogs to stay. The location was brilliant gor views walking and the pub is just along the road. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decoration and size.

    The room was small and decoration left a lot to be desired.Restaurant menu very limited but everything we ordered was freshly cooked and very tasty.No Wi-Fi in the adjoining cottage. Ideal location for those intending to climb nearby mountains.hills.Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic gem tucked on a hill surrounded by stunning scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy as you can hear phones ringing and people talking in the room next door.

    The welcome from Dave was exceptional making the check in process a breeze after a long day hiking. Lovely rooms in the lodge with extra comfy beds and all the amenities needed along with an added bonus of picture perfect views from the window when you were lay down. Breakfast included was perfect to set you up for the day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell throughout, no explanation that front door would be locked by 10pm and bar closed, spa bath didn’t work, small towels and only one hand towel, expensive small size of room

    Location, comfortable bed, breakfast , view from room at front of house

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable but not much room in the bedroom and nowhere to put anything. Excellent location though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom rather smaller than expected, bed standard double seemed rather small compared to most other places we have stayed. Layout of bedroom meant it was difficult for two people to move around. The only storage was a few hangars - no drawers. From the photos I had expected a larger room. Staff were mostly rather new and still learning the job.

    Very friendly, wi-fi worked most of the time, good shower, excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.2
    No Wi-Fi. Rooms are in a 1970s style basic annex not connected to the hotel. I could not recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I phoned the hotel before to check out the additional pet charge and was told £10 per room only to have £20 added to the bill. No wi-fi at all. Very run down with very basic facilities. Very basic breakfast. Not dog friendly anywhere in the hotel. Totally not worth the price charged. Disappointed with our stay

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing hotel. Wonderful hosts- Sue and Billy who really made us feel welcome. Spotlessly clean and in the most beautiful location- perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Love this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area for walking and this hotel has a wonderful view overlooking the wee village. Highly recommend. Sue and Billy could not do enough for us. Will be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Heart warming comfortable happy place to spend you leisure time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    People who ran it were friendly and helpful, location was picturesque and great for lovely walks. Rooms were comfortable with great views. The food was fabulous and we had super choice (I personally recommend the sea bass ) We had my 14 week old grandson with us and they were helpful moving his pram crib etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Best B&B I've ever stayed in! Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were fab! Chatty, friendly and very welcoming, couldn't do any more for there guests Food as excellent, tasty, home cooked and wouldn't be surprised if everything was locally sourced Perfect location for Scarfell Pike

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel with limited facilities but it was only a 2 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited breakfast menu and had to ask for toast to come with cooked breakfast and not after. Steep climb from car park.

    Situation ideal for me but totally unsuitable for disabled. Good bathroom/shower and comfortable bed. Television with teletext facility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Stayed here with my daughter for the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here with my daughter for the weekend. Our stay was wonderful from start to finish. The managers of the hotel were friendly and extremely helpful, they even gave us a lift free of charge to the start of scarfell pike trail and picked us up afterwards! Food was amazing absolutely delicious and a good selection to choose from. Rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The views from the hotel are amazing and there are a few pubs in close proximity. We will defiantly be returning to the hotel, thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful, pleasant, great staff and good food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly - but we couldn't take the dogs in to other areas of the hotel. Didn't affect our stay at all... but might be an idea to put that information on the website.

    The staff were lovely couldn't be more helpful. Food was good and it was a really peaceful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Lovely location, hotel a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very low. Disappointed in servicing of room during our stay

    Location, wonderful view (depending on the weather!) Good breakfast, friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in the Western Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The packed lunches we ordered were a bit lacklustre, but there are no shops in the vicinity.

    The hotel is beautifully situated with a commanding view across to Whin Rigg from the dining room. The glories of Wastwater are only 10 minutes away by car. The building itself is elegant early nineteenth century - the most striking place architecturally for miles around. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Cappucino was available as well as filter coffee. The evening meal which we took one night of the two was very well served and cooked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location! Very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small and room lighting was quite dim.

    The owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They gave us a layout of the local area, booked restaurants over the phone for us, offered to keep the bar open later for us, were'nt pushy for payment, and even offered a phone charger. 10/10 customer service, couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Great location, horrible room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the lodge building a very musty smell was evident on entering the front door. Room 16 was small, with a small amount of mould on wall, horrible gloomy brown decor, old fashioned overall, the double bed sagged severely towards the middle. The bathroom had many broken floor tiles, a rusty mirror frame, very mouldy shower cubicle tiles and the hand basin cold tap opened the wrong way around. Overall the property had a feeling of neglect. The TV was in a wierd position.

    Very Friendly management. Fantastic location with tremendous views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Wastwater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We'd nothing to complain about.

    Loved every bit of our stay at Low Wood. Our room was great and had a fantastic view and the owners are such friendly people. The food was really good and the whole place is just so relaxing so we will certainly be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Good for walking in Wast Water area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is a bit tired and hopefully the new managers will be able to freshen it up

    Close enough to Wast Water to allow waking around the lake without using the car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    A fab place in a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed - would stay again but likely bring my own mattress cushion

    Staff were lovely and food was great. Disappointed at a hard cheap mattress on bed but other than that all was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in the UK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were wonderful! Food was excellent! We loved this place. A bit out of the way, but terrific. It has two excellent pubs within walking distance. Two bits of advice: do not mix up the Low Wood Hall Hotel with the Low Wood Bay Bay Resort between Windermere and Ambleside; and do not take the one-track road from Ambleside, through Cockley Beck, to Eskdale Green. This road, the combination of the Wrynose Pass with the Hardknott Pass, is extremely rough and perilous. We blew a tire on the Wrynose portion of it. There is no cell phone service in this remote area. The only farmhouse on the road, in Cockley Beck, charges five pounds to use their phone. The Hardknott Pass is even worse. It is so treacherous, that people freeze on the switchbacks. The road service crew that assisted us (towed us out in the dark at 11 p.m.!) said that some people facing the narrow, steep (first gear), and severe turns, can't bring themselves to go forward and can't back up the incline, and have to be rescued. That said, it was an adventure and the Low Wood Hotel was worth it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stay needed a little fresh air when we arrive. Opened the windows, get lovely wind, solved!

    Location was great. Close from Wastwater by car. View from restaurant was lovely. Restaurant + Bar is there. Disable parking available. A lovely place in the cosy little village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Excellent short stay near Wasdale Head
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and hard working staff, who are eager to help in any way, lovely food, good beer, amazing views and spacious room with comfortable bed - perfect stay for walks in the area. The main building is so interesting, would be nice to learn more about its history, I would probably put a few leaflets around the hall for guests to read about it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great location, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a tad small for my liking but had everything we needed

    A great location tucked away 200yds from 2 pubs, very friendly and helpful staff and owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Great position for the big hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    As a group of three couples wanting to walk in the mountains of the lake district this was well positioned and very suitable. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing because of the poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person running the restaurant on the second evening was correct but unfriendly and unwelcoming. Sadly, the food was terrible. The worst kind of pub food, but at restaurant price. The only other place to eat was a pub in the village which was similarly unfriendly and unwelcoming. The breakfasts were poor, the scrambled eggs were almost white, clearly adulterated with milk or similar, or just not fresh. The cooked breakfast was third rate. The rule about not parking outside the annexe being ignored by some people.

    The location; the welcome from the proprietors, but see below; the friendly breakfast server in spite of the uncovered sores on her arms; the views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Perfect, relaxing break :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the moment we arrived, we loved everything about this hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were showed the bar and restaurant, which has a spectacular view, before being shown to our room. The food was delicious. The gardens lovely and peaceful. All in all a great stay, we will be returning next year for our annual trip to Wasdale :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    A lovely stay maybe week visit again and nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom size noise from upstairs In the annexe

    The staff were friendly and not too in your face and good service for meals Our room bathroom was a bit small and slightly noisy upstairs, however My wife said she'd visit again and so would I so overall a lovely stay. A beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre and other guests received 2 sausages but we received only 1 every day. Hotel states it has 5 acres but guests not allowed in gardens.

    Room was spacious and immaculate. Walks from the door. Ate in restaurant 1 evening and meal was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location for hiking in the fells around Wast Water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the open fire wasn't going, and bar wasn't open, when we returned from a tough, cold, full days hike, on a Saturday night.

    Nice room, comfy bed and modern en-suite. Friendly staff with good advice on local walks. Food was good in the evening, as was the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Hubby's Special Birthday treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, beautiful room with 4 poster bed and spa bath! Very special Birthday treat for my husband with incredible walking just down the road from Wasdale Head. Would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    The perfect Lake District location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home was the only downside 😢

    Karen was the perfect host. David the chef was excellent in catering for my wife's wheat and gluten allergy and my vegetarian diet. Lesley was faultless with her service and front of house skills. And the mysterious person who kept our perfect suite, room 4 if you are thinking of booking, pristine. The views from our room were beautiful. It was an ideal location for the 11.5 round walk to Wasdale Head Inn via a lovely Wastwater lakeside walk. And a 2 minute saunter to The Strand pub with its 36 ales brewed in their micro brewery. What are you waiting for? Book it ☺

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful scenery at the top of a hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful house, but looks a bit dated inside, and could do with redecorating.

    Beautiful scenery at the top of a hill. Great for outdoor sports. Nice home cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't eat in restaurant for dinner as menu wasn't really local specialities. Breakfast was great though.

    Friendly, picturesque, in lovely village, big Victorian rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the hotels fault but it was so remote it was impossible to get a mobile signal.

    The location was excellent with fabulous views, the hotel itself was very nice, clean, had good parking and the staff were friendly and accommodating, they even host a BBQ on Saturdays for guests. The village is small but has two nice pubs if you fancy a change from the hotel bar. Wi-fi was also available without additional charge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really - all brilliant

    Great place to stay - so near the high fells. The owners were delightful - nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice place, nice location,bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large but noise is annoying, you can hear upstairs and next door toilet and people doing their business, floor creeks loud and every door been closed or open is a boom for the ears.

    Location is perfect for a walk to the lake and to escape from the big city, great view(see images) , clean air , free parking, very nice free breakfast. BBQ available if the weather is good. Free WiFi but really slow - it was essential as there is no cellular coverage for miles around there. Two pubs and a local coffee shop in 5mins walking distance. Lake is 10min drive/30min walk , have places to park , sit and enjoy a picnic or whatever you like.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    The real Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is still the real Lake District! Lovely B&B in a fabulous setting, with excellent food. Quiet, easy access to Wasdale Head, deer in the fields and around the village in early morning - how the Lakes was and should be!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit small for £90 but other things made up for it in the main

    Rooms clean modern and comfortable Beautiful view and location for walking scafell. Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.1
    Convenient and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing in the newer lodge annexe very poor . We could hear the guest in the room below,snoring all night as well as his conversations .

    Excellent breakfast .in room tea making facilities , lovely location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more milk in the bedrooms

    Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff Good food with nice views on the surroundings Lovely early 20th century atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff, location. Beautiful rioms with a view. Top breakfast . Polite, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    very good really nice place nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a nice view from window but not a big problem

    all good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    economical simple accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small quiet simple hotel in a beautiful location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff very friendly and is in a stunning location. Room very clean and comfortable, also the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Really good fantastic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.0
    Excellent location with some of the best views you will get...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location with some of the best views you will get from any hotel in the Lake District.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very relaxed atmosphere provided by Sue and Billy , a lovely, clean,comfortable room and the food was excellent. All in all a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing and romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous room with 4 poster bed and spa bath. But the views are amazing. Sue and Billy are great hosts and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect winter break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location amazing views, excellent staff, and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely clean room, very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean room, very friendly helpful staff. Good food and nice, quiet location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Excellent food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    A great night and day oot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sue and Billy made us feel very at home

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely owners and delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely owners and delicious food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Sue and Billy made us feel very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were offered help with our bags

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    it was comfortable and close enough to drive to Wasdale head to climb Scafell pike
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy inconsiderate neighbours would have preferred earlier serving of breakfast

    staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly owners and staff, a good breakfast and a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly owners and staff, a good breakfast and a quiet nights sleep. Perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    All this and the owners are delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All this and the owners are delightful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Very welcoming comforting and relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Poster with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal attention from super friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not amazing, but not the end if the world.

    Location fantastic for doing Scafell Pike. Very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Ideal location for Scafell Pike and access to local pubs / restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant! Can't wait to go back. Thankyou Sue and Billy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sideways rain.

    Location for walking is excellent, breakfast extra yummy and amazing hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    definetly be stopping here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    best dinner ever, hospitality second to none, very friendly and in a top location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. spacious contemporary room,great food attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Ideally situated for my task of taking my daughter up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints whatsover

    Ideally situated for my task of taking my daughter up Scaffell Pike

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    ovenight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi

    room; restaurant; staff; location; views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kippers for breakfast.

    Friendly staff. Cosy hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: