Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luccombe Hall Hotel 3 stars

Luccombe Road, Shanklin, PO37 6RL, United Kingdom

#10 of 22 hotels in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 216 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bunk bed ladder has no hand rail, so this needs addressing, we told the hotel staff who took this very seriously. Small improvements could be a full length mirror and mat for when you come in from outside, but this is just very small details and not essentials.

    We were really delighted with this newly refurbished accommodation. It had a lovely area, straight out onto the outside pool and garden, my boys 7 and 10 loved our private hot tub. Really fantastic for a short break. The hotel has lots of facilities for children. Shanklin is a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had paper peeling from the corner wall and from the ceiling.

    The facilities and location, including the indoor pool, table tennis, pitch n putt ect. The Staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel looks and feels very tired, rooms quite small, saving grace - comfortable beds, so slept well, car park very tight, swimming pool ladders a health and safety hazzard wobbling about in the sockets, no gluten free options for breakfast - 'we usually ask our guest to bring their own"!!!, staff wearing broken shoes and shirts hanging outside of trousers plus not very friendly, every additional request seemed too much to ask.

    Stunning location and lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a little slow at children’s tea time.

    The view was amazing, staff were friendly and we loved the swimming pools and the children’s play equipment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great a short walk to shanklin village, hotel has had some refurbishments we stayed in a garden family room, beautiful, tasteful and a great hot tub on a decked patio, With sea views. Breakfast were lovely and the staff were so polite and very very friendly, it was my husband's birthday whilst there, a bottle of Buck's Fizz and card left in the room and a happy birthday sung from the morning staff was a nice touch. Some areas still need updating but overall very clean and would definitely recommend- lovely gardens and kids play area outside also a bonus as was the indoor play areas for the kids and the indoor pool too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    You could not fault them. The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food is excellent. We enjoyed the swimming pool etc. and will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in a wonderful location. I really enjoyed the short walk down to the beach and then strolling along the seafront, really special. Staff were ultra friendly the hotel is clean and the facilities are good. I can see this hotel being an incredibly nice place to stay in the summer months where you can be outside and enjoy the fabulous location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get the shower to work so had to have a bath & the plug chain kept braking to let the water out! The room needs a good lick of paint & a new bathroom! The receptionist didn’t even say good morning or did I have a good stay when I left my key to leave the hotel! Very poor!!

    Beautiful landscaped garden & sea view while having breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell from the kitchens, pervasive throughout our stay

    No there was nothing at all special about breakfast. Service was incredibly slow, to the extent that we had to ask for help as we were leaving for a ferry. Although this hotel describes itself as a Country House Hotel it is in fact a borderline crumbly hotel in need of a big shake up, certainly comfortable in a 1950s boarding house sort of way, but really very moldy by contemporary standards. I guess that's hard to achieve in this location and with this building, to be fair.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower screen would not stay over the bath edge so a wet floor could not be avoided when showering - feedback given to the hotel

    The Sea View from the Breakfast enclosed glass veranda and the smoked kippers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should have been told that work was being carried out so could decide whether to book or not. Very noisy at times and water cut off from room at one point. Maybe a discount would have helped.

    Great gardens and sea view. Staff were friendly and apologetic re problems but didn't really help our review.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom in need of a bit of an update. A bit worn around the edges ! No wifi at all in the bedroom but better in common areas.

    Fantastic location above the beach and a few minutes walk into Shanklin . Friendly staff. Good breakfast .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar prices and facilities were not fantastic so usually went into town for food and drink.

    The bath and shower were lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly especially the breakfast and frontdesk staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water in the room was tough to control. The overall breakfast quality could be better.

    Rooms are spacious. The breakfast room facing the sea is great. Staff is very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was first class in a lovely room that overlooks the sea. The service was first rate and very friendly . Our room was spacious with a magnificent wide of the sea and shipping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean rooms, lovely complimentary shampoo’s etc. Clean towels provided if you wanted to go swimming. Breakfast was lovely, not greasy, and cooked to your personal taste. Can’t fault the hotel for the price paid - will de consider going again but would go in the summer as a lot of things appear to shut down for the winter. Sry enjoyable relaxed stay all in all 😀

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poorly staffed, reception seems to fill in for changing bedsheets in emergency, take food orders plus their normal job. I dont blame them for poor morale & mood, if i had to do multiple roles i wouldn't be too happy! Any request out of the box the blame is on level of staffing, which we found was lame as lots of people have reported the same already! The decor needs serious uplift especially on upper floors, the loft conversion to fit in more rooms needs more room, especially for stairs. carpets are beyond their expiry date and they look filthy, ceiling is good, heating is good, toilets need uplift as well as beds. Three stars is taking a piss! I wouldn't mind if they charged more for a better service, lot of potential in the hotel but faulty management system. Its better they call themselves bed and breakfast to lower expectancy of the occupants rather then calling themselves a hotel. I am happy to rate it as 2* as a B&B not a hotel.

    The reception hall is good, the sea view from the room is very good. Its a good hotel with lot of potential, think the management has no clue! I hope they take our feedback for their own good rather than a tongue and cheek reply as they have seemed to have done on historical reviews.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi didn't really work, not at all in our room so if this is something you need in your life you will be frustrated.

    The place could do with a freshen up as a bit dated but then again that's part of the charm of the Isle of Wight. I went with my 3 year old little boy who loved the play area indoor and out, he was so happy so therefore I was too. Fantastic location and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very family friendly, ideal for keeping little ones entertained (trampolines indoor and outside; swimming pools indoor and outside; outdoor play park; indoor ball pit; games room with pool table, enclosed area for toddlers to play)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the hotel outdoor pool. Although it was supposed to be heated it was much colder than the one next door.

    The outdoor pool in the sister hotel next door was fab. Heated to just the right temperature with water jets and a separate hot tub. Kept the children busy for hours. The other guests were great and my son made lots of friends so he really enjoyed his time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    The extra facilities like the pool, hot tub were brilliant, the grounds outstanding. The staff are helpful and welcoming. You can pay £17.50 for a 3 course meal as a resident in the hotel. Meals are good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly reception staff would have been useful in a so called 'friendly run family' hotel. Not a grumpy miserable evil witch. Lovation was great but staff were NOT child friendly. Awful unfriendly sarcastic rude behaviour from one member of their staff from the minute i walked theough the door. Very awkward lady. We had stayed at their sister hotel 2 years ago and had a fantastic time but this old battle axe really spoiled our 3 day break with my young grandchildren. Everything was just too much trouble. We arrived 10 minutes too late on our last night for supper at 8.40pm and was told the kitchen was closed. The battle axe arrived and very coldly told me that we could not eat there as the kitchen was now closed but looking around the restaurant it was clear to see other diners were being served. I had to carry my 18 month grand daughter out into the cold night air along with my 7 & 11 year old grandchildren to find some food for them in the next village! The wretched woman should not be worrking within the Hospitality field unless she is cleaning the toilets. She is a disgrace to the isle of wight. What person would turn a young family away at 8.40pm on a cold evening. I am still so angry with the moron! Never ever have i experienced in all my years such fowl spiteful evil behaviour. It has put me off visiting such a lovely little island.. RIH old witch..

    Lovation was great but staff were NOT child friendly. Awful unfriendly sarcastic rude behaviour from one member of their staff from the minute i walked theough the door. Very awkward lady. We had stayed at their sister hotel 2 years ago and had a fantastic time but this old battle axe really spoiled our 3 day break with my young grandchildren. Everything was just too much trouble. We arrived 10 minutes too late on our last night for supper at 8.40pm and was told the kitchen was closed. The battle axe arrived and very coldly told me that we could not eat there as the kitchen was now closed but looking around the restaurant it was clear to see other diners were being served. I had to carry my 18 month grand daughter out into the cold night air along with my 7 & 11 year old grandchildren to find some food for them in the next village! The wretched woman should not be worrking within the Hospitality field unless she is cleaning the toilets. She is a disgrace to the isle of wight. What person would turn a young family away at 8.40pm on a cold evening. I am still so angry with the moron! Never ever have i experienced in all my years such fowl spiteful evil behaviour. It has put me off visiting such a lovely little island.. RIH old witch..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV in room too small but reception said the section we stayed in will undergo renovation so you never know. A little tender loving care will benefit the whole place and more cleaning of other areas.

    Staff were excellent, the grounds were brilliant. The view was worth it all. Indoor swimming pool was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a completely rip-off. Paid a room more than 180£ per day with 2 infant (<2 years) when they were supposed to be free. I've seen that if I had booked only for 2 I would have paid half of the price. The room was small and in a corner facing very tight another room. Worst thing is that despite my complaint to customer service (1 week) I'm still waiting for feedback and a refund on the children charged!

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tiny bit worn/dated in places but the grounds, service and incredible location make up for it.

    Absolutely lovely hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Booked in a hurry the night before for a last minute break and couldn't have been happier. We've got a bit used to staying in large, very modern city hotels and forgot how great a smaller hotel could be. Lovely staff and beautiful grounds. Would return without hesitation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the evening meal was very good. Location was very good, easy walking distance to beach and Shanklin village and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room furniture and decoration poor. bathroom fittings cheap and some loose on walls , wash basin waste bubbles up in bath . One dinner taken in hotel; main course was rubber chicken. Bill presented with 2 x two dinners when we had one dinner only

    location and view; some staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I didn't like

    Lovely hotel with amazing views. The two swimming pools were both great and there was lots of additional activities for children (play area, boardgames). The staff were very helpful, professional, and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing i would really remark about as not so good was the tired appearance to the exterior of the building.The paintwork above all really lets things down and the roof/masonary and guttering look like they could do with an overhaul.

    Friendly greeting,fantastic view,very peaceful,lovely gardens with HEATED outdoor pool,only a very short stroll to the town where there are plenty of pubs, restaurants and tea rooms,down the steps at the rear all 130 odd of them to the beach where you can walk all the way to sandown stopping for the odd coffee on route and the walk is mainly on the flat all in all excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely place to stay with stunning views and wonderful staff. Ideal location for anyone needing a relaxing break in comfortable surroundings including outside pool and gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    70s décor, needs a revamp. Booking.com does not let the hotel know you have booked a family room (they cant see that on their computer and had to squeeze a bed in. Walls are paper thin. After one polite request to the upstairs residents at 12:00 they continued their noise until myself and the rest of the residents had a firmer word at 1. I could then hear another couple talking until 2, that only stopped when they started snoring. Got 6 hours sleep to be woken by said snoring. Worst hotel Ive ever had :( No staff in the middle of the night to try and help.

    Staff polite, lots of entertainment for the kids, super location, looks lovely from outside, 2 swimming pools.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sausages" There was nothing to actually dislike" In all it was very good" It was just the sausages" They are not to my taste" Considering the Budget of the Hotel in General it was V Good" Also was the Coffee" Not bitter" Very surprised

    Enjoyable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fixed overhead showers with no flexible hand shower.

    It was an ideal 5 day break and we chose an off period so had few other guests to contend with. Very nice to have the pool, jacuzzi and billiard table for those inevitable wet spells. The dinners were OK and breakfasts good. The gallery conservatory was a great place to eat and read, overlooking the gardens and sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some areas of the hotel could do with a bit of TLC but that didn,t spoil our break in any way.

    Quiet comfortable hotel with a warm welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were excellent, genuinely friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome and valued as guests. Food was excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really maybe a bigger swimming pool changing rooms . When a family of three in there there was no room for myself and daughter so we ran through hotel in towels .

    The three course dinners were amazing so tasty and great value for money. Great choice in menu .Tim on reception was so friendly and helpful . In fact all staff were great .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm but the bed was very uncomfortable . The shower was jammed and supposed to be fixed but although it worked as soon as I put it back to bath mode to adjust temp it jammed again. Although supposedly fixed iit never worked for me .The hotel was quite shabby and I would not recommend it,

    The staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms did not have control for heating and was like an oven, air conditioner would have been an option

    The service of all staff was excellent and very polite. The best place for holidays with family in a beautiful location As the management knew it was for my birthday, surprised us with a card and bottle of champagne

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, draughty windows, very tatty decor in the bedroom and hallways - looks very uncared for.

    Waiting staff were very friendly and facilities good for children

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had the tired look Three star hotel charging five star prices bathroomwanted a overhaul Also the wardrobe

    The beds were comfortable and a great view that was all it had going for it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel had been very stylish, you still can see that, but this was decades ago. Since then, it hasn't been redecorated. As Isle of Wight is very popular, the hotel management can get away with it. However from our point of view the hotel doesn't deserve any stars at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings in the entrance and reception area are decidedly tired-looking. The carpet on the first floor was badly stained and in need of a clean.

    All staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Comfortable beds and spotless refurbished bathroom. The location was excellent with stunning views from the conservatory and garden.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom is rather dated and the en-suite bathroom in the room we had was very small.

    The staff were very friendly. The common spaces, lounges, dining room etc are very good. And as its strap line says, it has a marvellous view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of hotel need a little love but did not stop us enjoying our stay.

    Beautifully located hotel. Every member of staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Gardens were beautiful. Loved our stay so much we've booked to go back already.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 thing not right , the shower, too hot or too cold in the morning OK in the evening . Shame in the room we had last year shower was good

    Loved the hotel everything was nice and clean a staff were very helpful and friendly Only a short walk to the village with good pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do with some updating, it is a little worn in places.

    The facilities were brilliant, we used both the indoor and outdoor pools. The huge play area for children is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no disputing that this hotel would have been fantastic in its time but as with most things it has now really aged. The carpets need re-laying (or replacing) especially in the room, the wallpaper needs redoing and the bath sealant could do with replacing too. Also, for £145 a night we would have expected a king size bed too.

    The location is brilliant - just a 5 minute walk to old Shanklin as well as steps down to the beach, however both of these are steep so not for the faint hearted! The gardens and sea view are beautiful, overall a wonderful stay :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Duty manager on arrival complained we had booked through Booking.com and she made checking in very unpleasant to the extent that my wife apologized to her mother and father for bringing them to the hotel. Unfortunately first impressions have a big impact and even on check-out, dealing with guests courteously seemed to be a challenge for her. Breakfast foods were cheaper/more limited than we would expect at this type of hotel (yoghurts, juices, available selection, etc). Main lounge, lobby area and one of our two bedrooms were 'tired' and need updating.

    Swimming pool very nice. Good clean rooms of a decent size (one of our rooms had the newer furniture). Really nice location. Plenty of space in the main restaurant area for breakfast. Aside from the duty manager, other staff members throughout the week were helpful, friendly and genuinely aimed to make the stay more pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room - it was not worth the money we were charged for it.

    The pool facility and proximity to the beach as well as Old Village. We also liked the play area for our son. Additionally. the dinner at the restaurant was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to walk to the village for supper out and close to the beach although not recommended for small children as lots of steps down to the beach, a great short trip away with fantastic weather made for an enjoyable trip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely. Close to a beautiful beach, great facilities and great location. Staff really helpful and nice. Great breakfast and really nice room. Definetly coming back😊

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were never change for our entire stay, the main light in our room didn't work, the housekeeping staff did a quick cleaning job everyday!

    The breakfast and dinner was lovely with super friendly staff every morning and evening. Beautiful view from our window looking out to the sea!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No relaxing chair in the bedroom. No Danish pastries until after 8.30. Dirty teacup, swiftly changed, lack of decent teabags in bedroom ie 'Tetleys'

    Staff were most helpful and friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There should have been forewarning about the lack of a lift to the 2nd floor. A corridor to the room was very narrow. A flight of stairs was far too steep, narrow and lacked proper handrail.Holes in dirty bedlinen.Curtains needed repair and re-hanging

    A disappointing weekend. How can croissants be extra flakey when there were no croissants!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wine waiter needs to organise himself a lot better.Having to ask twice for wine and not being served until we had almost finished our main course was abysmal.We were the first in the dining room.

    Lovely room,staff excellent,especially reception.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The paintwork in the bedroom was abysmal and cupboards very dated.

    No complaints with the breakfast - nothing extra special - nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony not private but we chatted with our neighbours

    Loved the sea view and spacious balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be better.

    Location, friendly staff, lovely garden and facilities and lots of space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated but still very clean and lovely staff.

    Wonderful pool at the neighbouring sister hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff .. great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms

    Good location but the hotel is dated and the facilities tired Food ok but service slow The dinning room is full of screaming kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a superior garden room with a private hot tub which was amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    facility for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor swimming pool was a bit merky

    Great position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing, staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely place to stay, great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages at breakfast

    Ping-pong hottube

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More space in bathroom.

    Everything we expected of a 3 star hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower poor water pressure. And sauna needs to be improved .the benchouse is about to brake and door doesn't shut properly

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cathy was an amazing front of house manager, she was so friendly and accommodating. She really made us feel at home. Thank you, Barry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Yes the bed was good.Decent sauna and pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our second trip, we liked everything about this hotel, if we can't book this hotel in future, we're not coming to the isle of Wight 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Quit area close to centre, ideal for myself as a lone traveller.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kelly was lovely and welcoming on arrival. Jackie aswell on check out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One receptionist was extremely rude, which is a shame, as all the other staff were vey helpful.

    Excellent location and very good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: