Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luther King House 2 stars

Brighton Grove Off Wilmslow Road, Manchester, M14 5JP, United Kingdom

#57 of 93 hotels in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3706 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value , comfortable stay with good breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The constant slamming of doors on the last night of my stay was horrendous, going on until around 3am, so I had little sleep and had to be up early to attend the final day of a training course. Also, there seemed to be some altercation going on in the grounds outside of my bedroom window, two floors below. Two men were arguing and they sounded drunk. I didn't fall asleep until around 4am.

    My room was clean and comfortable and I loved the complimentary hot chocolate and biscuits and the little tea and coffee sachets, which were a welcome treat. I had good mobile wifi reception in my room. The staff were absolutely lovely and the continental breakfast was superb, with lots of choice including crumpets, croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. I thought it was excellent value for the money paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recommend this accommodation and would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the Wi-Fi connection which didn't seem too good but that was all I can find a problem with.

    I found this accommodation very clean, relaxing and in a good location for the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    extremy rude Asian guy working at the premises who destroyed my experience, couldn't wait to leave
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an Asian guy with glasses working at the hotel on the night of July the 17th, he was extremely rude and showed anger when asked for service. He was in a bad mood right from the begining and coughed up a lot of huffing and puffing. Really put me off the hotel.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm nitpicking then perhaps parking is tight at times - again, though, I always found a space, and there is plenty of on-road parking in the vicinity as a last resort.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and a charming environment - we discovered that it is actually a theological college that doubles up as accommodation for travellers! This lent itself to a calm and relaxing feel, boosted by its location - whilst Luther King House is in between the bustling Fallowfield and Rusholme areas and a bus ride away from the city centre, its side street is also secluded enough to give you peace and quiet. Overall no complaints, and I would definitely return here when visiting Manchester again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    1 night stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a single room, but would prefer double room as the bed is bigger. I don't like narrow beds. Unfortunately all double rooms were booked already.

    Staff were truly friendly and helpful, especially the guy at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good experience, I would definitely like to stay there again on my next visit of Manchester.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant works only to 7:30 PM and is closed during the weekend.

    The quiet place with very good public transport connectivity to city centre and also to the airport. The staff - very helpful, kind and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, staff, and breakfast. A hidden gem that's good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luther King House is a hidden gem and great value for money. The staff were extremely efficent and friendly, and the continental breakfast was delicious, with warm croissants and freshly baked muffins. Will definitely go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    relaxing stay in Manchester
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was on the second floor and I didn't have a wireless connection. But it was working good downstairs. At the beginning of the stay my room was not properly cleaned and I also had ants coming from the window (because previous visitors left crumbles here and there). But the staff was very attentive to fix this problem.

    The inner yard is super romantic and relaxing place. The fact of having a library downstairs is also an extra special for a longer stays. The breakfast a decent choice of very delicious food. Hotel is located in front of the park in a very calm location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Very clean and friendly staff excellent location for easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly staff excellent location for easy access into city centre we’ve stayed over 10 x and always our first choice when visiting Manchester

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    It was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist told me that breakfast was served until 9:30am, turned up for breakfast and I was told by the morning receptionist that breakfast was served until 9am. Was only able to have a cup of tea and croissant.

    Clean room and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely! Will come back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At around 6 am next to my room there was a really loud sound (sounded like a boiler working) and I couldn't sleep. But that was my wake-up time anyway, so no big problem.

    Excellent for the price! You cannot ask for more! Friedly staff that went the extra mile (iron, hair dryer, etc.).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall great value for money, would recommend to people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is very quiet apart from the banging of doors as people enter/leaving their rooms, the noise resounds is round the courtyard. Also I would have liked breakfast to end up little later but that’s just my preference.

    Very helpful and friendly - beds very comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Probably OK if it is not too hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both times I've visited have been hot days, and the problem is there is no aircon or fans, the windows only open a crack, and the water that comes out of the cold tap is hotter than some hotels hot taps!

    Nice location and friendly staff - good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Great looking place, staff are great, bed comfortable but needs air con.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon in the rooms, and a way to open the windows more as there was only a very small gap in the windows.

    Croissants were fine, breakfast was a little limited. Tried to be fair as it may have been because of being nearly end of breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely hot, recommend taking a fan

    Reception staff when booking us in were lovely and very helpful. Location was fantastic Great valuevening for money and would definitely go again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great find will use again if I come to Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all good.

    It was a great B&B. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location great for both airport and town on a regular bus route. Loved the courtyard very peaceful place to spend some time after a busy day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory for adults, difficult for 2 pensioners, nothing to amuse 3 small children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. We were travelling as a family of 4 adults and 3 children, 5, 7 and 9. We had booked 3 rooms. These were on different floors in different sections, which made gathering together very difficult, particularly with 1 room on 2nd floor, many steps for 2 pensioners.

    Large but limited selection at breakfast. We paid extra for sausages, as 3 children did not like croissants, etc. The chef was excellent, very helpful, always smiling and chatted to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Most memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit away from the City center but well connected

    Every thing about the property and our stay. Facilities provided were par excellence. Love to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    we left at 5.30am and we're glad to get away
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stiflingly hot and in the midst of a heatwave the radiatior was on. There was no cold water only warm. The toilet was very smelly.

    The courtyard was peaceful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location for us. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small but we know that.

    Friendly staff, good location and a great breakfast. Excellent bus routes to anywhere in Manchester. City centre walkable in 1 hour. Close to nice parks for walking / running.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Young (ish) couple 25-30 for the open air theatre, warm welcome very clean rooms in a beautiful location about 2 minute walk from a lovely park where you can pay £3 to hire a pedal boat for 30 minutes and North bay fish and chip shop literally best fish and chips I've ever had! Breakfast was amazing and literally 5 minute walk to the open air theatre and the beach! Gorgeous place REALLY comfy bed thanks for the stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    This is a very charming place. Everything was great except for the internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi was terrible. Never worked.

    The room, the location, the staff, cleanliness, safety, the gardens. I was able to do some laundry. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Good budget stay with delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The wifi was not available in the room. Even though we went to the common area, it was not stable as well. - The room is very hot and humid even with window open. We asked for 1 extra fan but that didn't help. - The bed was too soft.

    - There are several fast-food restaurant nearby so we could catch up some food when we arrived around midnight. - The freshly baked muffins and croissants were delicious. - The garden was quite nice for a good gathering.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place, excellent value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not working well in my room. Everything else was excellent! Love the place, room size and arrangement.

    Room size, organisation, bed size, assortnebt of tea, coffee. Proximity to Manchester University and great accessibility to public transport. Easy place to locate and great value for money. The staff are amazing, friendly and very professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent value for money for a comfy overnight stay and tasty and varied breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress could have been a bit more comfortable, but overall, terrific value for money. Our stay was during exceptionally hot weather and it is one of those rare occasions when air-conditioning in Britain would have been welcome. Thankfully we could open the window in the room.

    Very tranquil garden courtyard. Wonderful croissants and good range of other foods for breakfast. Very good value for money. Handy for parents visiting off-spring at Manchester university.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was lovely, good selection and made very comfortable while having it. Didnt feel your were being moved on. Homely feeling. Will stay again. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a while to get the shower temperature right, once done it was ok but a more powerful shower would have been preferred.

    This is a great location, benefitting from being close to town and Manchester University. It is a tranquil sanctuary, the room was comfortable and clean and I had a good nights sleep. The staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Martin in the dining room). The breakfast choice is excellent and I would definitely recommend staying here. I look forward to my next visit in September.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Three days of calm and tranquillity.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very helpful staff. Great location, close to our son at university and on a cheap bus route into the city. Off road parking and the tranquillity of the garden. This was our second stay and looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staff. And good location nearby public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very quite warm. And the bed is not very comfortable.

    Especially nice staff with good service. Breakfast was good and the prices quality rate is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Will go back if we come to Manchester again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were visiting the University of Manchester for the day and the location is great next to one of the Halls of Residence and a stone;s throw from the curry mile. Frequent buses into Uni and town centre. Great location. The breakfast was great for a continental - eggs, toast, muffine, porridge, fruits, yogurts, juice and tea and coffee - all self service. Nice quadrangle for a quiet sit in the sunshine. Seems to be like a hall of residence that's used as a hotel outside term time. Very clean and functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Don't expect any luxury! It's basic, nothing more than that, but it's certainly value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certainly value for money - half the price of anywhere else in Manchester and I had a good night's sleep. The room was very tired and could do with complete refurbishment. It was fine for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend longer than that there. Good continental breakfast included making it even better value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice very place and atmosphere. Courtyard looked great though I didn't have chance to take advantage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin so I could hear the other guests walking and talking through the hallway, and also the creek of the doors.

    Staff (the gent that checked me in and out) was really nice, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good for a continental breakfast. It was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.0
    Good but disappointed with the receptionist rudeness.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was though helpful, was quick tempered and quite rude in giving directions to the place when 3 different satnav direction failed.

    Location, comfort and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Let down by poor WiFi and reception staff attitude.
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival had to wait 15 minutes before someone came to reception to check us in, and we were expected to pay immediately. We had to walk through the smoking area to get from reception and dining room to the bedrooms. No WiFi reception in the bedrooms. Only one device per person allowed on the network

    There was a good selection of food at breakfast. The man staffing the food counter was very friendly and helpful. The single bedrooms were a good size, clean and well equipped. Onsite parking was OK. The property is a short walk from the Curry Mile and Platt Park so there are plenty of options for relaxing and eating. A short walk or bus ride into the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Very welcoming staff from the start
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really just that we didn't have any air conditioning in our twin room so it was quite hot in there other than that will definitely be back for when I see Katy Perry at concert again and any other shows.

    That the hotel is quite peaceful and has a nice garden with plenty of benches so if you need to sit down for a bit you can. The library looked nice and the lounge room by reception was nice too. Had a choice of a bath or shower chose a bath and got both which was great so got to have a bath in the morning before we went. Had a choice to either pay by cash or card at the hotel as requested they were very helpful. Taxi service was very quick as we needed a taxi for our concert on the night so didn't take long to come.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value, clean friendly, and multi cultural place stay whilst in Manchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wash hand basin outside en suite (in bedroom)

    Very friendly helpful staff. £64.00 for two nights B&B continental breakfast all you want to eat, excellent choice as well.. We cannot fault the value for money this presents. (£16.00 per person per night) free parking, tea/coffee en suite.......it is not the Hilton, but neither is the price. Room was clean, bathroom small room dated, TV , hot water, shower en suite....even some free toiletries. C'mon folks, do the Math. I would happily stay again in the Luther King and would happily recommend anyone on a budget staying there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Well worth the money. I woukd stay again but breakfast was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Lovely but I’d of rather had a cooked breakfast than continental. Muffins were dry due to the lights at the breakfast bar. Breakfast disappointing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Simple, comfortable, convenient - my kind of place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The food was really good quality - nice yoghurt and porridge at breakfast, a delicious nut roast at lunch. The garden was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room had everything I needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is in an excellent location, on a great bus route into the city centre and walkable to many bars and restaurants. Parking is on site and free of charge, a bonus! Room was very clean and comfortable if a little cramped . Breakfast was good, continental style and plentiful. All the staff were great! Would definitely stay here again if we needed a hotel in Manchester. You won't get better value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Was great will be booking again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to hot

    Bed was extremely comfy very friendly staff and made you feel welcome only down fall was room was very hot and got ill so had to leave other than that I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Last minute booking good price enjoyed our stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The continental breakfast was the best one I have ever seen. So much choice and a very nice friendly man chatting to everyone. A large lounge with comfy sofa's and chairs. A good bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Single female traveller on a business trip. Safe and secure accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of a refurb other than that everything else was very good

    Excellent value for money, would definitely use again, room clean if a little warn and shabby. Great friendly staff. Food good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, can't fault it. Didn't have food as I don't eat breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a very slight moan, would like a later checkout but having stayed up until the early hours it was probably my fault lol.

    Bed was really comfy, Wifi in bedroom was very fast. The staff were very friendly but not too "friendly" if that makes sense. A new guest but felt like an old friend. "Compact" room was definitely NOT compact - being a "larger" person there was plenty of room for me. Loved the range of chocolate and coffee and the biscuits was a bonus. Very cheap taxi to the Etihad (just over £6) and was just over 20 minutes - even on a day when there was a concert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    It was tranquil and a perfect place for our one night stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tranquil and a perfect place for our one night stop over in Manchester. The bathroom was a bit of a tight fit but it was spotless and the room was neat and comfortable. I wished I could stay an extra night to enjoy the superb spread offered as a 'continental' breakfast!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything

    Would recommend the Luther king to anyone going to Manchester for a visit, such a tranquil, peaceful place that was spotless and every member of staff were friendly and chatty. Very good continental breakfast with lots on offer. Next time I'm in Manchester, I know where I'll be staying

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A pleased Customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome when I arrived at the reception. I was able to check in early. My room was perfect with everything that I need for my night stay. To finished off I had a good night sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Cheerful Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Doors had to be Banged Shut so very loud but that's all we didn't like.

    The courtyard dining room sitting room etc STAFF very friendly especially Freddie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff and accommodation along with the location and value for money made our stay very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, very warm, no access from both sides of the bed, and the washbasin being outside the bathroom. Also the extractor fan went on for 4 minutes which was a pain if you got up during the night. Maybe the door being able to close quietly and not disturbing fellow guests!

    The location, very quiet. Easy bus route into the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for the Academy and excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in, but had everything we required and it certainly wouldn't put us off staying again.

    The location was great for our event at The Academy, we could walk there in about 30mins, passing lots of restaurants and bars on the way. Check-in was simple and the guy on reception was friendly and helpful. There's plenty parking and a lovely continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable with all amenities to hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy night staff, the man got annoyed cause I had to get him back up to show me how to work card key. Why he didn't show me in first place is beyond me. Morning staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Value for money basic clean and breakfast continental style was fair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A very warm welcome and a beautiful Patio with trees and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome and a beautiful Patio with trees and a water feature, nice for sitting and relaxing. Very good bus service to the city center and the airport. Although situated in Manchester and near the street it was quite silent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    My home away from home in Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. Water pressure can be a little low upstairs, but workable.

    I’m a regular and it has expanded and improved. Welcoming team. Friendly guests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin and the doors were really squeaky (maybe some oil would help).

    The room was very clean and staffed well. The city center is about 50 minutes by foot (you should definetely walk it once, there's so much to see) or a 20 minute drive with the bus (£1,50) away. The breakfast was included and we were surprised by the number of choices we had (toast, joghurt, porridge, cereals...), so for your money you get a good value and we can only recommend a stay for one or two nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    5th stay at Luther King House - will be back again later this year!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    This was my 5th stay at LKH. Staff are welcoming, the rooms are spotless and the food excellent. Very convenient bus service to the city centre. Great value for money all round!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Concert stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for a concert at Etihad. Was told not to walk back as the area was not safe off numerous locals. Would advise taxi or takimg the car if you have that option.

    On a lighter note this place is ideal if you want somewhere for a 1 night stay. We had a good nights sleep & staff were lovely on arrival & helped us get transport to stadium. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit more variety on the breakfast

    Accomodation basic but fine, bedroom a bit on the small side but considering the price this was good value. Breakfast had cereals, fruit juice, coffee, crumpets etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Kind and helpful staff in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small and tired

    The beds were really comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. Our room was off a beautiful courtyard filled with benches. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Handy for the city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist should have invoiced my employer but charged me when I booked in instead. They acknowledged the error afterwards though.

    Location was great. Access to the city really good and a vibrant part of the city with walking distance as well as a lovely park. Nice food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great place on tram and bus routes for etihad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here as part of the weekend break to see Taylor swift at etihad stadium. Room ready early which was a bonus and on the bus and tram route so great plac to stay and staff great and all positive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Not too far away from train station, bus stops, local shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. a few of the things in the room like the phone and the toilet clearly have not been changed or properly cleaned in a long time, the ear piece of the phone was white and the rest was off yellow, the toilet was also discoloured.

    Not too far away from train station, bus stops, local shops and places to eat. Quiet and out the way from the main city centre. Good powered shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Good basic well appointed accommodation with very friendly staff and very good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was small. Shower area quite cramped but clean and adequate.

    Very friendly staff; great location for Manchester uni and halls (picking up children from uni). Has a bar and restaurant and outdoor area. Off road parking; lots of it! Def a bonus. Good clean basic accommodation. Very good value for accommodation in Manchester 😊. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful - great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner found the male receptionist a bit unfriendly but he was fine to me.

    Very quiet. Lovely quadrangle to relax in. Plentiful free continental breakfast - breakfast staff very friendly. Bus stop into town about 150m away. Opposite a large park too. Small bar on premises. Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Quiet clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap and shampoo was very limited and in little satchets impossible to open if hands are wet. Had to go out and buy my own. Shower had low flow and pressure. Wi-Fi did not work even in central areas.

    Quiet clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    The room was perfect for myself and my son.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was ok but could do with improvement.

    The room was perfect for myself and my son. It didn't feel like it was over priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Serenity of the place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit difficult when busy .

    Serenity of the place . Very nice helpful staff , cleanliness , fab breakfast i would have scored excellent apart from parking , good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower temperature was either boiling hot or freezing, no happy medium!

    Very good value for money. We just needed somewhere to stay for one night while visiting family, and it was perfect for that. Room had everything you would need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended and good value for money
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet´s coffee

    I liked the tranquility and silence of the place. I loved the cloister with gardens where you can sit and have a nice time among trees and birds, listening to the sound of a little fountain. The breakfast was simple and correct, a hotel type buffet. All very clean. Well connected with buses to the center of the city, in 15 minutes there.The area where it is is very beautiful, with a wonderful park (birchpark) at the end of the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    It was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of soap/shampoo in the room. Very old bed in the room where we stayed.

    Very good localization. Very nice and quiet place. Stuff were friendly and helpful. It is a place where you can rest in harmony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, at a very good price. WILL RETURN!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the lack of WiFi in the bedroom. It was free in communal areas though.

    A lovely quiet place to stay, yet minutes away from the central road into town, 10 minutes on the bus into the city center. Collecting my daughter from uni so the location was perfect. The breakfast was more than sufficient, although continental there was freshly made porridge, croissants, ham, cheese, muffins, eggs, yogurts, juices, cereals & more..all help yourself. Will be using this hotel again as a base when in Manchester.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Holiday review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner a bit early for us so ate out although you could order a takeaway to eat in.

    Peaceful pleasant place to stay and staff good. Especially Martin the chef. He was fantastic , made you feel at ease and gave good tips on places to visit. Still waiting for the pink apron though...... Continental breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Double room was quite clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room was quite clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet was tasty. Property is not very close to the city centre, but it would be a good and cheap option for those with a car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Wish we had found it 4 years ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we had found this place 4 years ago when our daughter started uni. It would have saved us a lot of money. It was only 2 roads away from her house share and a continental breakfast was included. The bed was so comfy and the room we had was quiet. Great stay. Planning return visit soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    I liked the quiet, green cloistered space, easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old sash window hard to open to let the air in on a wam night

    I liked the quiet, green cloistered space, easy access to city, generous continental breakast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The gentleman on the front desk when I arrived and on other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman on the front desk when I arrived and on other occasions was not attentive, did not offer any introducton to the place e.g. meals dining room, where to park etc. He made me feel he wasnt interested in customer service. The shower was a challenge. Cleaner didnt change my used mug or replenish tea and milk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    I have already recommended it to friends and will come back if in Manchester again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite warm at night and the window wouldn't stay open so had to find something to wedge open. Minor concern.

    Staff were all really lovely. Food good and good value. Nice and quiet, calm, relaxed feel to the place. If you like posh hotels don't stay here - but if you like clean with everything you need and great staff - stay here. Near main road where you can get buses etc. into the centre of Manchester which are regular.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Luther King House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: